Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 29 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Works as advertised
2/13/2011

Customer review by OllieOxen

4.0 stars 2/13/2011 by OllieOxen
by OllieOxen

The Wagan Solar Power Battery Charger provides a trickle of energy that will keep your car battery topped-off with enough power to start your car -- as long as you drive it every 24-hours. Depending on what type of problem is causing your battery to drain when the engine is off, you will still have to drive your car regularly to fully re-charge the battery. In my experience, the trouble lights on my dashboard will not turn off, ever. That small amount of energy drain was enough to leave me with a battery too weak to turn the engine over. After a jump-start and a 40-minute drive, I put the Wagan Charger on my dash, parked the car in a position where it would get the maximum amount of sunlight during the day, and plugged the charger into my car's power outlet (the old "cigarette lighter" outlet.) When I went out to start my car the next day, the Charger's red LED light was blinking, and the car started with no problem. I discovered, however, that I needed to take my car for a spin AT LEAST ONCE EVERY 24-HOURS, or the battery would drain away. I skipped one day of driving, and my battery was stone-cold dead the following day.

Was this review helpful? (27) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OllieOxen
Willamette Valley, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Motorcycle charger
2/8/2011

Customer review by twodogs6

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by twodogs6
by twodogs6

This charger has a long cord about 8-10 feet. I have a trailer I keep my bike in. The panel can be mounted like a slotted key hole but I sat mine on the roof and ran the wire through the side door and inserted in my power outlet. No more removing seat and battery cover to jump it off during bad riding months. My battery would only "click" the starter and two days later it had enough charge to start. Really surprised me as it is not intended to recharge battery just maintain charge. Overall works great. Great price too. Found similar charger on china import website and was same price. Would like to see optional alligator clips for direct battery applications such as lawn mowers, ATV, autos with switched outlets, etc.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twodogs6
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No blocking diode!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Shin0bi272

1.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Shin0bi272
by Shin0bi272

The solar array doesnt have a blocking diode in it... a 4 cent, IN4007 diode would have kept this from draining everyone's batteries by preventing the electricity from flowing backwards through the system at night/low light when the solar array wasnt forcing power through the system... but they couldnt be bothered to do that. So it kills your battery.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shin0bi272
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
solar...
10/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

a more of a vehicle/car battery maintainer. if you have a plan on storing your vehicle/car or will not use it for a longer period, this one is good. it keeps the battery charged and you will never have to worry restarting the engine. pls note, this will never charge a dead battery.

Was this review helpful? (61) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Improved solar cell, misleading light
12/4/2011

Customer review by ColoradoWalmartCustomer

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by ColoradoWalmartCustomer
by ColoradoWalmartCustomer

The solar cells are protected from breaking better then the one I just broke. The blinking light only means "charge" as in the panel is getting sun, it shows nothing about whether or not current is going to your battery, (misleading description). I put in my own circuit to indicate when current is actually going to the battery.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradoWalmartCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't seem to work
8/26/2011

Customer review by BluegrassCharlie

2.0 stars 8/26/2011 by BluegrassCharlie
by BluegrassCharlie

Bought this to keep my boat battery charged. Hooked it up for the first time exposed to full sunlight. Came back a week later and my battery was too weak to crank the engine. I usually unhook the radio wire so the radio clock/preset current won't slowly drain the battery. I figured that the solar charger would be enough to compensate for this small draw without having to disconnect the radio every time, but apparently the charger doesn't have enough output to even keep the time set on the radio. Either that or it is actually draining the battery. Anyway, it's not doing what I bought it for.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BluegrassCharlie
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time and money
3/15/2012

Customer review by AliMc

1.0 stars 3/15/2012 by AliMc
by AliMc

The product did not work at all. The indicator light flashed for 1 second on first use and then never again. Total disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AliMc
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
12/18/2012

Customer review by JERRYSR

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by JERRYSR
by JERRYSR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used to Maintain classic car battery while in storage. Measured 20 volts and 4.5 amps on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JERRYSR
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
did not last the weekend
10/14/2012

Customer review by sean1313

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by sean1313
by sean1313

Recieved the charger took it out of the box,, saw that the red LED was flashing and pluged it in to my lighter and left it on the dash.Checked it after a couple of days and the light was not flashing.Took it apart to check for loose or broken wires,and found none.Checked the LED on another charger and it would flash,so it is the charger,not the LED being burnt.For all I know the thing did not last 5 minutes!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sean1313
gulf coast,fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Don't Buy It
12/5/2013

Customer review by JVGreen

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by JVGreen
by JVGreen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the led on the charger flashes saying it's working, gets a minimum of 8-10 hours of direct sunlight (I live in San Diego) but I didn't notice ANY difference in the charge of my battery on my seldom used vehicle. I'm returning it...don't buy it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JVGreen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maybe a good idea
8/15/2011

Customer review by Tulsa838

2.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Tulsa838
by Tulsa838

This is something that I would have liked to use, but my car's 12V slot requires a key in the ignition. Have not used, but will keep.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tulsa838
Lincoln, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
best buy
7/10/2012

Customer review by Hawk1980

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Hawk1980
by Hawk1980

After the panel was bought, I was waiting on a friend for an hour or so, popped the panel into the sun side of my van and listened to the radio, even had a fan going the whole time. Van started up just fine. would be great for tailgating, sporting events and camping.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawk1980
knowville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it's O.K
10/13/2015

Customer review by Dave

4.0 stars 10/13/2015 by Dave
by Dave

it's not very good. The solar sometime charge sometime not. Just use for the trickle charge maybe O.K

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Maybe I just was unlucky and got a rare lemon.
5/20/2013

Customer review by EdEdandEd

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by EdEdandEd
by EdEdandEd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Maybe I just got a lemon and the solar panel works fine otherwise. The one I received didn't charge my battery but discharged it within a week or less despite being in a sunny state. I hated to have to send it back and won't go for a replacement even so it would've been the cheapest, easiest and most economic way to keep my battery topped. So I'm back to the wired trickle charger/maintainer which runs from a 120 V outlet for now and maybe I give it another try at some point with the same (if I find out that it worked fine for other customers) or try another brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdEdandEd
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good
2/26/2012

Customer review by Maurice101

1.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Maurice101
by Maurice101

I plugged the battery charger up in my truck so it could charge the battery. I let it charge for 1 week. When I tried to start my truck the battery was more dead than before.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maurice101
La Mesa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Working great so far
9/1/2013

Customer review by BAmM124

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by BAmM124
by BAmM124
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Almost a weeks I have this wonderful product and yesterday I have checked my car working wonderful. Great so far. :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BAmM124
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2012

Customer review by FILMIL

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by FILMIL
by FILMIL

Easy to operate and reasonable cost Perfect!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FILMIL
Pleasanton,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Matches what is described
9/9/2012

Customer review by MasterDiver

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by MasterDiver
by MasterDiver

works well and does what I expected it to

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MasterDiver
Canfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/17/2012

Customer review by motorexpert

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by motorexpert
by motorexpert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only draw back I have is you can't connect it directely to the battery.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motorexpert
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Drained my battery!
8/25/2012

Customer review by Rockytopva

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Rockytopva
by Rockytopva

This product drained my battery instead of charging it. So I took it back!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockytopva
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews