Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 stars
25
1-20 of 161 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
8/26/2010

Customer review by billyendive

4.0 stars 8/26/2010 by billyendive
by billyendive

We use these in a bank of DVDs to run our video arcade system. They run 16 hours a day, and 24 hours on weekends, so they see a lot of service. We date each one when placed in the system, and keep track of how long they last. For the value, we have never found any other brand to come close to price and durability.

Was this review helpful? (174) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billyendive
Marcy, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for Kids!
9/9/2010

Customer review by DavidFamMOM

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by DavidFamMOM
by DavidFamMOM

I absolutely loved the value to this product. I bought it for my kids and it has taken MUCH abuse over the years...it still keeps on ticking. We bought it back in 2007 for my daughter, but now her and my 2 year old use it for their movies. Very helpful...we have our TV back and it is very easy for kids to operate. There are not too many buttons for them to get confused over. It is also not too sensitive. It plays scratched DVDs too!!! I would recommend it to anyone. Even if we had to buy another one, we have gotten our use from this one.

Was this review helpful? (73) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavidFamMOM
Harlingen, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, easy to use and very affordable.
2/5/2011

Customer review by OnlyLoveToShopOnLine

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by OnlyLoveToShopOnLine
by OnlyLoveToShopOnLine

I just wanted a DVD player that simply played DVDs period and nothing else. This player does this very well and didn't cost me an arm and a leg. It is also very easy to operate and doesn't take up much space. A very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlyLoveToShopOnLine
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful Inexpensive DVD Player
12/25/2010

Customer review by shawk123

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by shawk123
by shawk123

I love this item, so far I've bought 6, I own 3 myself and the others I gave as gifts. I bought the 1st one 2 years ago and it and the others are playing beautifully. Great value for a low price!

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shawk123
Murfreesboro,TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
does what I was hopping it would
7/15/2010

Customer review by VeryPicky459

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by VeryPicky459
by VeryPicky459

I had a Sonny DVD player and it would skip on the smallest scratch. This one will play through anything. I am very pleased. And this cost a whole lot cheaper then a Sonny.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeryPicky459
Shelley, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Doesn't play burned DVD's
5/16/2011

Customer review by WeaselWeasel

1.0 stars 5/16/2011 by WeaselWeasel
by WeaselWeasel

I thought this would be a great player to play my DVD's on. It turned out I was wrong because I have a lot of burned DVD's, and this player does not play them. Going to return the player tomorrow and get a better one in a few days, hopefully.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeaselWeasel
Warr Acres, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Value
8/1/2010

Customer review by Hobbes029

4.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Hobbes029
by Hobbes029

This product has done very well. It had been dropped (alot) and kept on ticking. The player only failed, because my spouse stepped on it. I have a much more expensive dvd player and it didn't even come close to lasting as long as this one did.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hobbes029
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not for heavy users...
1/15/2011

Customer review by Liquesence

2.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Liquesence
by Liquesence

I watch a LOT of films, at least 2 per night. Generally, a DVD player will last me ~2 years. I picked this cheap one up after my last one died, and it has lasted only 2-3 months. That's it. Data started becoming corrupted (like a satellite signal during a storm) and will no longer successfully play any DVD. Perhaps it's meant for the occasional viewer, but i wouldn't trust it, not to mention the fact that there is no display: while watching something, you have no idea how far along you are in the film, and in the event you eject the film before finishing it, you have no way to know where exactly you stopped, with neither run time nor chapter. So, if you need something quick and cheap to play the occasional DVD, go for it. Otherwise avoid.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liquesence
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great service-great value
1/31/2011

Customer review by annagram

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by annagram
by annagram

no frills-just does exactly what I wanted-great basic dvd player-at a steal-and very helpful customer service-I love Waly-World-this was my first online purchase and it met all my expectations for Wal-Mart service and value

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
annagram
Ladson,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/3/2011

Customer review by dub531

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by dub531
by dub531

Great value Performs beyond expectations Would purchase again

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dub531
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Cheap and not a great quality
8/11/2011

Customer review by laudie05

1.0 stars 8/11/2011 by laudie05
by laudie05

I have had so many problems with this DVD player. The first I bought just stopped working and wouldn't turn on so I bought a new one and I have had this less than 6 months and it broke on me again. It turns on but won't play DVDs or recognize anything. This player has cost me more on buying one right after the other. I will never buy this product again!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laudie05
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lasted 7 months
9/2/2011

Customer review by ledeof

1.0 stars 9/2/2011 by ledeof
by ledeof

This unit died after 7 months. It has a 12 month warranty but Wal-Mart won't take it back after 90 days. I called Magnavox support and wasted 20 minutes. They just gave me another number to call Funai support. Funai are only open Mon. - Fri. 8:30 - 5:30. For the sake of $29, it was easier to just pay the money and replace it. It's a basic unit but it did the job... until it died. The only reason I bought a cheap brand was because it had to fit in a very small space. It's hard to find these smaller sized units. The only manufacturers still making them are cheap. I've had at least 6 different makes/models of compact DVD players and they last only last 6-14 months. On the other hand, my full size DVD players (that get more use) seem to last forever.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ledeof
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The warranty says it all!
4/5/2011

Customer review by Sali95

2.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Sali95
by Sali95

I bought this dvd player for my daughter last Christmas. She tried to use it over the weekend and it wouldn't turn on. I called the 1800number on the dvd player. The guy was kinda helpful, though he had me do everything I had already tried. He then told me I could have it serviced. HaHa in Chicago. I asked "you don't have a replacement warranty?" He said well yes but the warranty is only for 90 days. Hilarious. I wouldn't reccomend this dvd player because they won't stand behind their product for more than 3 months! A dvd player should last for more than a year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sali95
Vermont, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Don't waste your time.
7/20/2010

Customer review by WaryWallyConsumer

1.0 stars 7/20/2010 by WaryWallyConsumer
by WaryWallyConsumer

I bought this to replace an old failed APEX unit. This Magnavox player either won’t play DVDs past the Menu or it plays for a few minutes and locks up. After that, the only way I could get the player to respond to any remote control buttons or buttons on the unit itself was to shut off the power and turn it back on. I tried a half a dozen DVDs including a new one, all with the same results. If the DVD will play and plays long enough the picture will lock up. The manufacturer instructions warn the player may produce occasional digitized pictures for a moment?! Even if I could have gotten the player to play DVDs all the way through, why would they think I would except digitized picture conditions right out of the box? Warning me in the instructions justifies their presumption the consumer should accept this problem? I would dare them to post that condition on the outside of the box. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store for a refund. I would compliment Walmart for a hassle free return.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaryWallyConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? No
DVD player
4/5/2011

Customer review by lhcjack

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by lhcjack
by lhcjack

For the price this is a fine machine. People that like to travel in RV'S might find this small and light recorder just what they need.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lhcjack
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good bargain
3/4/2011

Customer review by FGGS

4.0 stars 3/4/2011 by FGGS
by FGGS

We've had our doubts about buying a cheap dvd but it was a good buy. Works well, easy to use, lightweight and durable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FGGS
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I have not had luck
11/29/2010

Customer review by Darla

2.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Darla
by Darla

I am writing this because I read reviews before I buy online. However, I have read the reviews of this DVD and all seemed to be good, so I got one for me and one for a friend. Mine worked for about 2 weeks and just quit playing DVD's. I talked to my friend and hers was not working right either. So, I packaged mine back up and exchanged it for a new one. I have had the new one about a couple of months now and it has quit working. One day it worked-- the next it doesn't. I have tried different DVD's and still nothing. So, I give up. Going to trash this and buy a Sony or something. Most all DVD players are inexpensive now, so if I were you, I would go ahead and spend just a few dollars more and get a different model/brand. This is just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darla
Sulphur Springs, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value
11/27/2011

Customer review by wallyrocks128

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by wallyrocks128
by wallyrocks128

I was looking for a cheap but dependable DVD player to use in my travel trailer, which is used mainly on weekends. I saw this player for a little over twenty bucks, and the reviews were mostly positive, so decided to buy one. After five or six weekends of use, the picure started to freeze intermittently. I tried other dvd's-same problem, so I took it back. I considered trying a different brand, but decided not to, figuring what are the odds I get two lemons in a row. The second one has worked flawlessly-I have used it for two summers now. It has some great features-the slow motion has four speeds, and it plays back the small mini-dvd's used in camcorders (DVD-R, and DVD-RW), and it is very user friendly. For the money, this is an excellent player; defnitely not for use with an expensive home theater system, but perfect for bedroom, camper, etc. I highly recommend this player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyrocks128
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
DVD Player
11/21/2010

Customer review by CaptBob

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by CaptBob
by CaptBob

Best deal for the money, I'm getting another for a spare.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptBob
Western Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy operation
6/6/2011

Customer review by djsolelady7

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by djsolelady7
by djsolelady7

easy operation complete instructions how to hook up. I have always believed in magnavox products!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djsolelady7
Lakeland, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews