Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 76 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
I Love It!
12/7/2010

Customer review by Gretchen1988

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Gretchen1988
by Gretchen1988

This is a great machine because instead of buying the special cotton candy sugar you can use hard candy. Which is great and saves me money. It makes great cotton candy! :)

Was this review helpful? (107) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gretchen1988
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Not for a crowd but, gets the job done!
5/31/2011

Customer review by SMHopkins

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by SMHopkins
by SMHopkins

Bought it on a whim when there were no machines left to rent at the party rentall places in town. It works! It is a little slow. I wouldn't recommend it for a large group, but very nice when you are just needing a small amount. I love that you can use hard candy, instead of sugar. If you get the suger from the party rental place, you have to buy a large carton for about $13 and you'd have to spend a fortune to get multiple flavors. With this machine you can buy a variety bag of hard candies for less than $3 and have a large selection of flavors. My son loved the root beer! I love that you can use sugar-free candy!!

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMHopkins
S.E. Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
My Niece Loves this!
1/5/2011

Customer review by shoppin4others

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by shoppin4others
by shoppin4others

I bought this for my niece, she and her friends have so much fun with it. They can use any hard candy with it so they don't have to buy special products for it. This allows her to come up with all kinds of flavors.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoppin4others
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/7/2011

Customer review by kklyn

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by kklyn
by kklyn

this is the most fun great for family entertainment. easy to clean and use.

Was this review helpful? (54) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for family use
1/6/2012

Customer review by Fingers3

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Fingers3
by Fingers3

My wife is a cotton candy junkie and I bought this for her as a present. First of all, if you expect this to be just like the cotton candy machines you see at the fair, forget it. Those are commercial machines designed to make a lot of candy for large crowds and to make it fast. This is a home machine. It does exactly what it was designed to do and it does it pretty well. The head is heated by two quartz elements. The manual says it takes five minutes to heat but make that at least five minutes. Give it eight to ten minutes to fully heat up, cut the machine off and put in the candy, cotton candy floss or sugar, turn it back on and you're good to go. The machine produces a fair amount of floss quickly and then tapers off. If you want bigger cones, cut it off, refill and go again. A decent size cone can take a few minutes to make but the end product is genuine cotton candy. Some reviews have said you can't use regular sugar or it will ruin the machine. That's a silly statement. Cotton candy is nothing but spun sugar. Using regular sugar yields a very nice textured and fluffy candy. To add flavor, crush up your favorite hard candy and mix with the sugar. Experiment with the ratios to of sugar to crushed candy to find the flavor you want. My wife likes spearmint. I like cinnamon. The possibilities are pretty much unlimited. The machine is easy to clean with no more than warm water and a dish rag. The head should be periodically cleaned by soaking it in hot-warm water for 10 or 15 minutes. I have experience with larger machines and they're great. They also cost at least 4 times what this one sells for. For home use by a family, this is really a nice little unit.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fingers3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!!!!
4/30/2011

Customer review by AudtheBargainShopper

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by AudtheBargainShopper
by AudtheBargainShopper

I was a little concerned about buying this product but it works great and using hard candy gives a great flavor to your cotton candy!!! It doesn't make a lot but we added a tables spoon of sugar in with two jolly rancher pieces and it made more and still tasted good.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AudtheBargainShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!
11/26/2012

Customer review by jenilynevette

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by jenilynevette
by jenilynevette

Like many others, I read the reviews on this product and decided to get it despite some bad reviews. This thing is pretty awesome! I've tried many types of candy in this, some work, others don't. The one's that work very well are really sugary hard candies. Lifesavers work great! Old fashioned rootbeer & apple drops work great too. Jolly ranchers work as well, but they have a scratchy looking texture. Rock candy & dum dums do NOT work. Feel free to experiment.. afterall, its just sugar... if it doesn't spin the candy, then just wash it out and try again later. I do have a few things to say about this item, it's great for a once in awhile use, however, using it ALOT causes candy to burn on the metal plate, this is pretty hard to get off. I soaked mine in oven cleaner and it came right off [however, I did have to soak it for a day or so to make sure the oven cleaner was off it]. Next thing on the list is that I found that the candy didn't spin on the sides for me, but rather a web over the top.. so.. instead of going around the barrel to collect, I just hold my stick ABOVE the metal plate and twist with my wrist. Perfect candy! I also used this for my work, you can make additional cones out of paper or cardstock [both work, but if you're going to use paper, you might need to make the cone a little tighter. My machine only takes 3-4 minutes to heat up, its pretty quiet, although, sometimes if the lid is slightly off centered it rattles. I've had a great time with this machine and I'm very glad I bought it. Oh, one last thing. For those folks having trouble getting candy to spin, here are some tips. CRUSH candies work best, spaced evenly on the heated plate. If you don't want to crush them, you can place two candies opposite of each other. Basically, if the dish isn't balanced when its spinning, you won't get much of a result. Lastly, when you pickup your machine, I would suggest you get one of those big bags of lifesavers with the 24 flavors [or however many they have]. Mix and match flavors! My favorite cotton candy is lifesavers banana! YUM! Overall, this is a great machine. I feel that many of the bad reviews are from folks who may have only tried 1 type of candy that wasn't sugary, or.. perhaps it was user error [like offsetting the balance of the plate]. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jenilynevette
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Top 100 contributor
Fun Times
1/5/2011

Customer review by 3311

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by 3311
by 3311

The kids have lots of fun making different flavors, well worth the price, it made cotton candy the way you use to get it at theme parks, FRESH.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3311
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!!
6/6/2011

Customer review by matco

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by matco
by matco

I read the reviews and went with this since it had good reviews. I tried it out and it works great. I like being able to use sugar free candy so it doesn't hype up the kids. So far it has been a blast. Once it heats up you just keep adding candy and keep making it. I like that it has the two plastic cones so you don't have to keep buying them. I need to practice more on how to wind it up on the stick but that is just practice. Some people complained the it made to little. Well it does make a little but come on, you are only using 2 candies. What do you expect. The only negative and that is not negative but it is NO fun to clean up. LOL Too much fun!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matco
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Kids love this!!
7/29/2011

Customer review by rchtinsl2

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by rchtinsl2
by rchtinsl2

My kids went together and paid for this. They had a ball for the first couple weeks, eating cotton candy constantly. Which, seeing how one stick is only 1 hard candy, isn't bad. They got it out during a small family gathering, and it held up to the many flavors everyone wanted! (think about how many flavors are in a bag of Dum Dums). All in all, I stil hesitate at the price, but guess it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rchtinsl2
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
interesting
12/29/2010

Customer review by wanttohelp102

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by wanttohelp102
by wanttohelp102

This product is not quite what I expected. You use hard candy that creates the cotton candy! It comes with plastic cones that are reuseable, which is good. The candy melts which makes the cotton candy web. You have to put the cones in the machine and swirl the cotton candy around it. So far, so good. It is entertaining to watch the cotton candy being made. We have only made peppermint cotton candy because we had candy canes on hand during Christmas but will get other types of hard candy to make it interesting!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wanttohelp102
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Detailed description of a good product:
11/21/2012

Customer review by Jenshopin4xmas

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Jenshopin4xmas
by Jenshopin4xmas

Okay, I've heard that small cotton candy machines never work well but this little model really surprized me! The cotton candy is not as perfect as the professionals, but it's still really good. The directions were short and simple. It did not come with sugar or candy, so we picked up a bag of life savers hard candies, which worked great. Kids need some adult help or supervision, because the cup that you put the sugar or candies into gets hot (obviously, since it has to melt the sugar# and kids may touch it and get burned. We have enjoyed ours, which was a birthday present for my 10 year old son and has worked perfectly every time as long as we: 1. Turn it on for about five minutes to heat up before starting the first batch, as the directions say to do #with the cup empty# 2. Have the sugar ready to put in the cup for the following batches as quickly as possible; if the unit is left to cool for very long between batches it makes the cotton candy come out like easter grass #it needs to be hot before you start a batch# 3. We used life savers and the flavors were really strong. You need hard candies, not chewy ones, unless you have the flossing sugar kit. Two life savers candies, broken or not, only took about a minute to go through the machine and turned out to be ball of cotton candy approximately the size of a large man's fist. Clean up was really easy. The two plastic pieces that make up the bowl came off easily, as did the cup that the sugar goes into #just wait 'til that part is cool before you handle it) and you can soak them in a sink of warm soapy water. The sugar disolves off without any work or scrubbing, so all you have to do is wait, then rinse. I gave the surface of the machine a wipe with a paper towel and it came clean easily, too. I'm getting more of these for nieces and nefews for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jenshopin4xmas
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good
12/30/2010

Customer review by mamaleelee

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by mamaleelee
by mamaleelee

We have only used this cotton candy machine a couple time. So far it works very well, doesn't make cotton candy very fast but does the job. Kids really enjoyed it. We haven't used hard candy yet, only cotton candy floss....

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamaleelee
Hawkinsville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
lots of fun!
10/4/2011

Customer review by queenlizzie

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by queenlizzie
by queenlizzie

I purchased this for my daughters 13th birthday....she squealed when she opened it and went right to making the candy...only took a few "oops", and now she's a pro! (we learned you really DO have to let it warm up!) I had purchased beforehand a large amount of hard candy (the harder, the better!) so her and her friends had hours of making flavor after flavor. highly recommended for lots of fun!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queenlizzie
wadsworth ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No Replacement Parts (Heat Bulb) Available :(
8/28/2012

Customer review by MomShopping4Two

3.0 stars 8/28/2012 by MomShopping4Two
by MomShopping4Two

My 6 year old daugther LOVES this machine! However, when the bulbs went out, which is how the unit heats up, I called the customer service number in the owner manual, sat on hold for several minutes, so I filled out the online form on their website. I inquired about getting a replacement bulb because without the bulb, the unit is useless. I was told that a replacement was not available...what? There is nothing else wrong with the machine. We have had it less than a year and that is the only thing wrong with it...no bulb and you can't get replacement parts? Especially one of the main parts to make it work? Other than this hang up which now renders the machine useless, my daughter LOVES this machine. We made cotton candy at least twice a month if not more. However, now she is sad that we will not be able to use it again even though a $1-2 part would make it useable again. I would recommend this machine to anyone! Fun Times and Love the results...But since I can't get a new bulb for this item, there is no way I can give it a 5 star rating based on the feedback that I received from the company customer service.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomShopping4Two
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Didn't meet expectations
8/10/2011

Customer review by madamawesome

3.0 stars 8/10/2011 by madamawesome
by madamawesome

I read the reviews on this website then looked up some videos on youtube, I was really excited to get my product and have some fun. I was disappointed with the first use. it's easy to make, and fun to watch but the amount of candy that came out was a big let down. I wasn't expecting large fluffs at all, but there was a minuscule amount. The second use yielded a slightly greater amount. The cotton candy that forms isn't the fluffy, pull apart kind you get at the store or a fair, but rather a hard, stick to your everything kind. I'm keeping it, but I'm a little disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madamawesome
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Makes tasty cotton candy from sugar free candy.
8/5/2011

Customer review by PatZZZZZ

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by PatZZZZZ
by PatZZZZZ

Machine looks good and works great. Cotton candy made from sugar free hard candy tastes great. The only drawback I found is that the metal spinner unit that holds the candy is very difficult to remove for cleaning. Other than that it is the perfect at home cotton candy machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatZZZZZ
Detroit, MI area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good machine
9/6/2011

Customer review by householdceo

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by householdceo
by householdceo

I really like this machine and so do my kids. It is best suited for home use and your kids. It doesn't make huge amounts of cotton candy but it's only $40. I've only used Floss Sugar from Smart and Final and it works pretty good. Clean up is not too bad. We pull it out when we have guests and it's always a hit. I like cotton candy and if you do too, then I definitely recommend this product. You don't use it everyday, just like the Sno Cone machine which I totally recommend, too. I really love both these products by Nostalgia and highly recommend them. I have four kids and they love them. They are so good that I'd highly recommend them as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
householdceo
El Dorado Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good Enough For Me
10/6/2011

Customer review by TJNB

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by TJNB
by TJNB

I bought it and bought some hard candies to make some when I got home and the first time I tried it didn't make the best cotton candy at all.That's when I figured out that I just wasn't good at collecting it properly so after a couple of makes I got a good amount of candy.It doesn't make alot but what do you think this small machine makes?When you make it you have to be very careful because sometimes it's a small amount then sometimes it's more than you've ever got.I would prefer this product.Love it and is easy to clean so you can use it again!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJNB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/22/2011

Customer review by OOWA

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by OOWA
by OOWA

The candy machine was a big hit at my granddaughter and nephew's birthday party. I let everyone who ask where I got it and I said, "Online with Wal-Mart". The replies was really.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OOWA
College Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews