Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 28 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Larger Cake Pops Than Starbucks
12/11/2011

Customer review by redpam61

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by redpam61
by redpam61

The thing I was wondering about most when I was researching which Cake Pop Maker to buy was whether I wanted the product that makes 12 smaller cake pops, or this Nostalgia Electrics product which makes 6 larger cake pops/donut holes. Well, it turns out that this product's cake pops are much larger than the ones in Starbucks (just as a point of reference). So, I kind of wish I had gotten one of the brands that make the smaller sized cake pops. The cake pops that this maker creates seem almost twice as large as the Starbucks ones. That makes them kind of heavy for the sticks to stay in place really well sometimes. Anyway, I picked it up today, so, of course, I had to try it out right away. I wanted to make cake pops that are similar to the ones available in Starbucks right now. I used brownie mix to make my cake pops, and coated them with the meltable vanilla "chocolate" from the WalMart baking aisle, and rolled them in crushed peppermint candy. I haven't tasted them, but I baked the brownie pops for 10 minutes each (filling while unplugged as instructed on a YouTube video), and they seemed to come out a tad over cooked on the edges, and possibly a tad undercooked in the middle (the sticks had trouble staying in on some of them even though I coated them with icing first as the YouTube video suggested). I think having smaller sized cake pops would eliminate this "cooking all the way through" problem. I hope this review helps people who are wondering about size reference before you choose a product.

Was this review helpful? (70) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redpam61
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Product!
11/19/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought one of these from Sears/Kmart online and have been using it to bake just about everything from donut holes to bread balls (DELICIOUS, but I used gluten free recipes instead of the ones in the manual)to meatballs (NOT A RECOMMENDED CHOICE FOR THIS APPLIANCE). The meatballs were also delicious, but the grease from cooking them in this machine was spread all over the counter afterward, and the machine took a long time to clean. I would have liked it to have had a timer and an automatic off when done switch instead of having to pull the plug to turn it off. Incidentally, the filling injector was found in the back of the styrofoam packaging packed inside a plastic bag.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
SANTA ANA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice product!
8/10/2011

Customer review by susies1955

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by susies1955
by susies1955

I've used the donut maker twice. Once for glazed donuts and once for cake balls. I found you do have to turn the balls over to get them to bake the same color on both sides. Wish it came with a tool to turn them and wish it had a timer but for the price a nice product. Fun and tasty!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
susies1955
northern NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Way better than I expected
1/2/2012

Customer review by BridgetLea

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by BridgetLea
by BridgetLea

This little machine is so much better, and far more usable than I imagined. It goes beyond just a cake pop and donut maker. We've made things like brownies, cornbread, and cookies in it as well and they all turned out great! The cookies were the packaged refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough type that aren't meant to rise so much, so they didn't turn out round, but we knew this would be the case. I'm going to attempt to make eggs in it by cracking an egg into each well. I'm fairly certain it'll work, and they'll turn out like a soft boiled egg. I can make 7 eggs at one time if it works! Other ideas are round corndogs, pancakes, muffins, biscuits... the possibilities are truly endless. The foods we've tried so far cooked quickly and perfectly. We did take the advice of other reviewers and flipped the unit over about halfway through the cooking process to get a uniform round shape. Easy clean up and fun for the kids too! We love it!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BridgetLea
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Did NOT Work!!
11/9/2010

Customer review by mystdragyn

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by mystdragyn
by mystdragyn

I was so disappointed when I got this. It was missing the little injector thingy and the first time I used it, it got so hot it burned them within seconds and then the lights shut off and it stopped working. Taking this back to the store. Very Unhappy!!! Nice concept but don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (29) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mystdragyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
2/4/2012

Customer review by mnjh

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by mnjh
by mnjh

Purchased another brand that was defective (not Walmart) returned for a full refund then decided to browse walmart.com This was a xmas gift for my son's family. I am happy to say that they love it and think it is much better than the other one that was defective. They like the larger size and have made many batches. My granddaughter is very excited about making more for valentines day. I have also purchased many other products from Nostalgia electric and everyone without exception loves their gift. I would recommend their products to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnjh
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/8/2012

Customer review by afterlife3861

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by afterlife3861
by afterlife3861

On sale at x-mas time, great price! makes uniform cake balls. Filling cake batter to top of baking hole will make huge cake balls. only fill half way to fit better on a stick. I turned my over to get an even cook look, just used a chopstick. Came out great. only issue is the latch in the front of the machine that should lock down when cooking, most of the time, it just catches and its a real effort to fully close it. Great fun! Novelty item, i don't expect it to last with continual use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
afterlife3861
95136
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun for everyone.
1/4/2012

Customer review by yoursewnice

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by yoursewnice
by yoursewnice

I purchased this for both my daughters-in-law and they love it. I purchased one for myself at the same time. Lots of fun decorating cake pops and making chocolate covered brownies. Can't wait to make donut holes!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yoursewnice
Seneca, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
2/19/2014

Customer review by benjaminlrd

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by benjaminlrd
by benjaminlrd

Great Product, meets my expectations

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
benjaminlrd
Nuevo Laredo, Mex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/16/2012

Customer review by GrandD

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by GrandD
by GrandD

Purchased as a gift. Toddler learning tool working wonderfully.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandD
Mitchellville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by wcirlo

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by wcirlo
by wcirlo

I find it a little hard to open when hot. Easy to use, daughter wants one now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wcirlo
marshall MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/27/2011

Customer review by CakeAmas

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by CakeAmas
by CakeAmas

I just bought it today! I loveee it! Defiantly recommend to anyone and everyone. Good idea for kids!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CakeAmas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great to make your donut holes
1/20/2014

Customer review by latin1

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by latin1
by latin1

It was worth the money and my daughter loves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
latin1
clearwater,florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Over heats and undercooks
4/16/2014

Customer review by LexiiHudson

1.0 stars 4/16/2014 by LexiiHudson
by LexiiHudson

Was gonna use for my daughter birthday but it ends getting over heated without cooking anything fully. The insides are always under cooked.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LexiiHudson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
1/26/2012

Customer review by Carrie211970

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Carrie211970
by Carrie211970

I thought this would be great because I didn't need to heat up the kitchen with my oven. I was wrong. It gets way too hot and burns a ring around the middle of the balls. They do not cook evenly and if you fill them so that it fills the ball space they come out looking more like eggs. I think the regular cake ball pan might be a better idea. I also planned on buying the donut maker too but now I'm not sure if I should.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carrie211970
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Purchased for a donut lover
12/30/2013

Customer review by StephanieTheShopper

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by StephanieTheShopper
by StephanieTheShopper

I bought this gift for my dad. He is quite obsessed with donuts. He absolutely loves this & uses it all the time!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StephanieTheShopper
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pop goes the cake ball
1/15/2015

Customer review by Hotrodnanna

4.0 stars 1/15/2015 by Hotrodnanna
by Hotrodnanna

Great for your little baker. 7 year old granddaughter loves it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hotrodnanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plastic Odor Problems
2/21/2012

Customer review by SS494

3.0 stars 2/21/2012 by SS494
by SS494

This 'baker' is adorable & we were so looking forward to using it. Major problem tho! The unit still smells like plastic when it heats up. The first 2 times of use, the doughnut holes smelled & tasted like plastic. We had to throw them away. Now we tried it again using a chocolate cake mix. This batch was better - the cakes didn't taste like plastic, but the unit still has a horrible plastic smell. Because it is so easy to use & I think it a great idea, I am plugging it in & spraying baking oil on it; then I will wipe it down & replug over the next few days. Perhaps this will solve the plastic odor problem. If not, I'll have to return it to WalMart...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SS494
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/13/2011

Customer review by zorazora

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by zorazora
by zorazora

dose not do what it says it will very bad luck with it will return it to walmart

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zorazora
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Too expensive for the quality
4/17/2014

Customer review by Dchavez0208

1.0 stars 4/17/2014 by Dchavez0208
by Dchavez0208

Will be returning item because I found it cheaper at Best Buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dchavez0208
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews