Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 379 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
80
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
21
1-20 of 338 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 338 total reviews
1-20 of 338 reviews
Nostaligia icecream maker
12/14/2013

Customer review by HASNC

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by HASNC
by HASNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts. Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream. The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream

Was this review helpful? (69) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HASNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for homemade ice cream
6/1/2014

Customer review by bjb5

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by bjb5
by bjb5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this ice cream maker to make sugar-free ice cream. We have only used it once so far, but the machine worked fine making the ice cream. We had tried the kind of makers that use a frozen bowl instead of ice, but that one didn't work very well. The bowl didn't stay cold enough to freeze the mix. So, we went back to a regular style of machine with ice. The results were just what we were expecting too. We had also looked at the makers with the wooden buckets. Those were more expensive though for the same size machine. We like the plastic bucket with this one because cleanup was very easy - just rinse the bucket out. Another nice feature of this machine is the clear top to the canister. It allows the ice cream to be seen while it is mixing so you can have a better idea of when it is done. The only part we wish would be better is how the motor mounts to the bucket. It fits into two slots on the top of the bucket that can be a bit of a challenge to insert. Otherwise, we really like the machine.

Was this review helpful? (74) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjb5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have!
2/6/2012

Customer review by eacsck

4.0 stars 2/6/2012 by eacsck
by eacsck

Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard.

Was this review helpful? (67) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eacsck
Herriman, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER!
5/13/2013

Customer review by linda0982000

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by linda0982000
by linda0982000

I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (156) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
linda0982000
Cleveland,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great Ice Cream Maker
9/2/2014

Customer review by MrsBrownRN

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by MrsBrownRN
by MrsBrownRN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading a few reviews I decided to buy this ice cream maker and am glad I did, becuase it works great. I'd like to address some of the issues the other reviews had. 1) Ice cream comes out like soft serve. I'm. Not sure if people don't read instructions, but it very clearly states that the ice cream will come out that way and will need to be in the freezer for 4 hours afterwards. Even my ice cream cookbook (which is not associated with the ice cream maker) states that all of the recipes need to frozen for at least 4 hours. 2) The ice cream maker is loud. It's a metal cylinder scraping against ice, so it's going to make noise. Overall, if you read the instructions and use common sense, you shouldn't have any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (142) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBrownRN
Columbus, Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use!
12/8/2010

Customer review by CountryPiff

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by CountryPiff
by CountryPiff

Purchase came BEFORE scheduled date(s) :). Very easy instructions & use. Performed exceptionally well...had medium soft set ice cream in a short time...look forward to trying ALL the recipes that were included :). Exceptional value for the price and you get a FULL 1/2 gallon of ice cream for your money, not the ''faux gallon size'' that is now available at the grocery store...gone are those days when you could purchases full pounds, gallons, etc....now everything has been down-sized & you still have to pay full price. You also have the advantage of knowing & being able to pronounce the ingredients of the products you ingest...no additives :).

Was this review helpful? (211) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryPiff
Tunkhannock, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Easy to use
7/16/2014

Customer review by AdMaMom

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by AdMaMom
by AdMaMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used this twice since getting it 3 weeks ago. I used one of the recipes included for the peanut butter ice cream. It was great. I've had an issue with it not stopping after around 30 minutes like they say, but I'm always right there, so I stop it myself. I thought the issue might be that I didn't use enough ice or salt, so I used more the second time. The ice cream did thicken more that time, but the machine didn't stop itself. To me that's not a huge deal because I make sure I'm right there in case of ice jamming, etc. My kids love the homemade ice cream. Does it save money? Maybe because you are making a gallon. One thing for sure is that you know exactly what's going in it and you always have the option to find other recipes if you want to make it healthier.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdMaMom
Warrenton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ice cream recipes great too!
12/5/2013

Customer review by gotoptions

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by gotoptions
by gotoptions
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this electric ice cream maker to make my own ice cream with real ingredients. I am very happy with my choice of this compact maker. I've had a manual one in the past and found the hand churning a chore after a while. The Nostalgia Ice Cream Maker works very well, just as described, by following the directions as given and using the recipes included as your starting point. The ice cream comes out creamy, has a thick consistency right out of the machine and tastes like the best store-bought minus the gum, fillers and E stuff. I do slightly cook the egg base before churning as suggested in the recipe booklet. I find the directions true and the machine auto stops when done after about 30 minutes. The noise is like that of any mixer. The ice and salt layering is easy to do. I usually add some of both once during the process. Since it makes a gallon of ice cream and I like to vary flavors, I divide up the soft ice cream into 4 parts after churning to add flavors and mix it up, one with peppermint candies, one chocolate chip, one pecan etc. To get really hard ice cream, it goes in the freezer for about an hour. It keeps easily a week or more, if not eaten up before then.

Was this review helpful? (60) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gotoptions
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good ice cream maker - great value
8/28/2016

Customer review by Emcc

4.0 stars 8/28/2016 by Emcc
by Emcc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use a lot of salt with the ice and a smaller batch, and the ice cream freezes to a decently thick consistency. I also have one of the freezer bowls that you can use to make ice cream using your mixer, and I like this Nostalgia one that uses ice better. I think the ice cream freezes faster and you get a better consistency. I don't find the machine that loud: I don't think the motor itself is very loud at all, and I don't mind the noise of the can moving around the ice.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emcc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large Ice Cream Maker
4/12/2014

Customer review by patrick2525

3.0 stars 4/12/2014 by patrick2525
by patrick2525
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We thought we were buying a large Ice Cream maker from the size pictured of this item. We were surprised to find out it isn't all that large at all, the outside contain is large because of the amount of ice needed to make this item preform well. 6 to 8 bags of ice for each batch! We would ad there is nothing quick about this process, after reading the instructions we are really disappointed about the time required to make a single batch of ice cream. We will NOT be recommending this product to anyone, & may I ad we will probably not use this product all that often. We were thinking this would be a cheap easy way to make large batch soft style ice cream around the home for family & friends. However we found out it not only is an expensive endeavor it takes a long time to produce a little more then a quart of ice cream. Additionally there weren't even recipe's included in with the instruction pages.

Was this review helpful? (37) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patrick2525
Cincinnati, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nostalgic Electrics 4-quart Ice Cream Maker
3/10/2017

Customer review by akosua

5.0 stars 3/10/2017 by akosua
by akosua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a Christmas gift for my nieces. They were so excited to receive it. I read many of the reviews on this website before deciding which ice cream maker I would choose. I believe I made a very good choice. And I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akosua
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yum
2/13/2017

Customer review by Superdave123

4.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Superdave123
by Superdave123

Works well, and is not as noisy as some of them out there. I've had a few ice cream makers over the years and this one does a good job. Easy to use and easy to clean up. Who can ask for more? Good machine at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Superdave123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet Operation, Efficient Design
9/24/2012

Customer review by Nitpicker3

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Nitpicker3
by Nitpicker3

The motor head's arms have tabs that interlock in the ears on the turquoise tub. Efficient design! I put the freezer in our kitchen sink and plugged it in. It ran quietly. Be sure to layer ice and salt. I used ice that I froze in plastic gallon paint buckets I had cleaned out. Ice-picking the ice in the buckets (I used two for one freezer of sherbet.) worked for me. Use a quarter cup of Morton Ice Cream Salt (in a box at Walmart on the sugar/salt aisle) on top of each quarter fill of ice for even freezing. Be thankful that you are not dealing with an expensive wooden bucket that is heavy and whose wood will shrink so much that soaking it in water is necessary to re-swell the wood so it will hold the brine. The parts of the Nostalgia Electric Ice Cream Freezer are easy to rinse clean and store in the colorful shipping box. Good instructions are included.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nitpicker3
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
DELICIOUS!!!
6/24/2011

Customer review by Dealanator

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Dealanator
by Dealanator

This is the first time I have EVER made Ice Cream by myself. Usually my Dad or Husband are the ice cream makers. lol My husband's Aunt gave me a custard based (I recommend custard based recipes) Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe and I made it last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight. When I got home from work tonight I took the canister out of the freezer and the mix out of fridg and started it up. It took over an hour; but as stated I am a novice. It was very easy to use and turned out a top notch batch. It is a nice looking machine and isn't at all as noisy as others I have been accustomed to. Why waste $200+ on one of those wooden ice cream tubs when this one does just as good!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dealanator
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great, economical freezer
7/17/2011

Customer review by scrappergal

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by scrappergal
by scrappergal

We made two freezers the first weekend- Chocolate and Vanilla. The recipes were really good. The book says not to fill the canister more than 2/3 full, but you can go to about 3/4 without overflow.

Was this review helpful? (158) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrappergal
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Anyone could use it just follow the directions
11/30/2013

Customer review by Redoll

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Redoll
by Redoll
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the freezer worked great the ice cream froze wonderful was easy to use and easy to clean up

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redoll
Center ridge,Ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this
4/1/2017

Customer review by Cassie

5.0 stars 4/1/2017 by Cassie
by Cassie

Works great not to loud and not expensive. Love love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cassie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ice cream maker
7/11/2016

Customer review by Tgreen

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Tgreen
by Tgreen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitate to order this machine because all the other plastic makers I have had or looked at were pieces of junk. This ice cream maker is very hard plastic like the old ones, freezes quickly, and is a lot quieter than others I have had in the past.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tgreen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nostalgia ice cream maker
2/26/2016

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Paul
by Paul

We had two ice cream makers of a different brand prior to purchasing the Nostalgia machine. We like to make two flavors of ice cream at the same time so we had two ice cream makers. Recently, one of them died, and we could not find the same brand of machine, so we purchased a Nostalgia brand to replace it. When we made ice cream last week we noticed how quiet it was compared to the older machine. That prompted us to replace the old noisy machine with a second Nostalgia ice cream maker. We like them very much and would recommend them to anyone who likes to make homemade ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for both KIDS and ADULTS!!
4/9/2013

Customer review by CuriousFellow2

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by CuriousFellow2
by CuriousFellow2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There are many ice cream makers on the market. I chose this one as a birthday present to a kid based on the reviews I read online. It was a great choice! The very first batch turned out great, and everyone was pleased. The process was easy and so was cleanup. I think it will be used frequently.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CuriousFellow2
villa park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 338 total reviews
1-20 of 338 reviews