Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 331 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

331 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

331 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
221
4 stars
72
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 stars
19
1-20 of 290 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 290 total reviews
1-20 of 290 reviews
Nostaligia icecream maker
12/14/2013

Customer review by HASNC

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by HASNC
by HASNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts. Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream. The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HASNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for homemade ice cream
6/1/2014

Customer review by bjb5

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by bjb5
by bjb5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this ice cream maker to make sugar-free ice cream. We have only used it once so far, but the machine worked fine making the ice cream. We had tried the kind of makers that use a frozen bowl instead of ice, but that one didn't work very well. The bowl didn't stay cold enough to freeze the mix. So, we went back to a regular style of machine with ice. The results were just what we were expecting too. We had also looked at the makers with the wooden buckets. Those were more expensive though for the same size machine. We like the plastic bucket with this one because cleanup was very easy - just rinse the bucket out. Another nice feature of this machine is the clear top to the canister. It allows the ice cream to be seen while it is mixing so you can have a better idea of when it is done. The only part we wish would be better is how the motor mounts to the bucket. It fits into two slots on the top of the bucket that can be a bit of a challenge to insert. Otherwise, we really like the machine.

Was this review helpful? (51) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjb5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Old fashioned ice cream maker
6/20/2016

Customer review by Laurie1641

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Laurie1641
by Laurie1641
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ice cream maker was wonderful! It made its "debut " yesterday for Father's Day and it produced the best chocolate ice cream we've ever had

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laurie1641
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute ice cream maker
6/22/2016

Customer review by nelliepigs

4.0 stars 6/22/2016 by nelliepigs
by nelliepigs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It took longer to freeze than the directions said, but the vanilla ice cream recipe was great!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nelliepigs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
6/23/2016

Customer review by Familymemories

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Familymemories
by Familymemories
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought 2 4-quart ice cream makers so we would have plenty of ice cream for our extended family and could have 2 flavors. They loved the final product. The ice cream was a little grainy. I followed the ice/salt directions but must have done something wrong. Need to let it go longer than 30 min . Next time it will be better I am sure. Ice cream was very soft even after being in my freezer for an hour. Makes for a great family tradition and memories.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Familymemories
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product is awesome, I love it. .
6/26/2016

Customer review by PatO

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by PatO
by PatO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great purchase ever, my ice cream came out perfect. It was my first time making ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
6/18/2016

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this ice cream maker. Bought it for a cookout it is awesome. Makes 4 quartscoops everyone loved the ice cream. Planning to use alot this summer.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
6/20/2016

Customer review by Cecilia

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Cecilia
by Cecilia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great! Easy to use too! This was the first time I ever used an ice cream machine and it was easy to use. No problems! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Ok
6/15/2016

Customer review by Dons

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Dons
by Dons
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is inexpensive and functions well!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dons
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have!
2/6/2012

Customer review by eacsck

4.0 stars 2/6/2012 by eacsck
by eacsck

Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard.

Was this review helpful? (52) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eacsck
Herriman, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Ice Cream Maker
9/2/2014

Customer review by MrsBrownRN

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by MrsBrownRN
by MrsBrownRN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading a few reviews I decided to buy this ice cream maker and am glad I did, becuase it works great. I'd like to address some of the issues the other reviews had. 1) Ice cream comes out like soft serve. I'm. Not sure if people don't read instructions, but it very clearly states that the ice cream will come out that way and will need to be in the freezer for 4 hours afterwards. Even my ice cream cookbook (which is not associated with the ice cream maker) states that all of the recipes need to frozen for at least 4 hours. 2) The ice cream maker is loud. It's a metal cylinder scraping against ice, so it's going to make noise. Overall, if you read the instructions and use common sense, you shouldn't have any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBrownRN
Columbus, Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yummy icecream
6/6/2016

Customer review by Tray

4.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Tray
by Tray
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked well. Easy to clean up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tray
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
7/16/2014

Customer review by AdMaMom

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by AdMaMom
by AdMaMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used this twice since getting it 3 weeks ago. I used one of the recipes included for the peanut butter ice cream. It was great. I've had an issue with it not stopping after around 30 minutes like they say, but I'm always right there, so I stop it myself. I thought the issue might be that I didn't use enough ice or salt, so I used more the second time. The ice cream did thicken more that time, but the machine didn't stop itself. To me that's not a huge deal because I make sure I'm right there in case of ice jamming, etc. My kids love the homemade ice cream. Does it save money? Maybe because you are making a gallon. One thing for sure is that you know exactly what's going in it and you always have the option to find other recipes if you want to make it healthier.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdMaMom
Warrenton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nostalgia ice cream maker
2/26/2016

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Paul
by Paul

We had two ice cream makers of a different brand prior to purchasing the Nostalgia machine. We like to make two flavors of ice cream at the same time so we had two ice cream makers. Recently, one of them died, and we could not find the same brand of machine, so we purchased a Nostalgia brand to replace it. When we made ice cream last week we noticed how quiet it was compared to the older machine. That prompted us to replace the old noisy machine with a second Nostalgia ice cream maker. We like them very much and would recommend them to anyone who likes to make homemade ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well designed Freezer.
7/18/2016

Customer review by Ashley

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A quiet and good working freezer. Nice sturdy handle on the bucket. A plastic cover for the paddle hole in the lid makes it nice for serving the ice cream. It is a Great freezer. It would have been nice if it had a fill line marker on the cream container, I just had to follow the freezer recipe quantities to not overfill. I.e. My old fashioned recipe converted to 6 cups of whole milk. Bonus...It comes with a recipe book with several different kinds of ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wedding Shower Gift
7/8/2016

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Cindy
by Cindy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived at the store on the date promised. Pick up was by far the best experience I have ever had at the Smyrna Wal-Mart. An Associate by the name of Christopher assisted me even though he does not typically work in that department he took the time to assist me and had a very positive attitude and thanked me for being patient with him.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER!
5/13/2013

Customer review by linda0982000

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by linda0982000
by linda0982000

I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (140) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
linda0982000
Cleveland,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not so great
7/23/2016

Customer review by chihuahuabulldog

2.0 stars 7/23/2016 by chihuahuabulldog
by chihuahuabulldog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does freeze the ice cream. However, it takes an hour and I was indoors doing it. It does not make a hard freeze except at the very bottom, touching the can. I plan on seeing if I can exchange it for a different one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chihuahuabulldog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Electric Ice Cream Maker
7/18/2016

Customer review by Terri

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Terri
by Terri
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this because I thought it would be fun to make homemade ice cream. It is some work but worth it. Tried a recipe out of booklet that was included and followed it exactly and ice cream came out good. Be sure to follow instructions exactly!!! Read booklet first and be prepared for making ice cream to take some time. Ice cream maker worked fine but I followed directions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed in advertising
6/21/2016

Customer review by Mam2

2.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Mam2
by Mam2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does NOT hold 4 qts. Of liquid. If you want to make a gallon of ice cream you have to do it in two batches. Not convenient.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mam2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1-20 of 290 reviews