Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 352 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

352 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

352 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
238
4 stars
74
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
19
1-20 of 311 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 311 total reviews
1-20 of 311 reviews
Nostaligia icecream maker
12/14/2013

Customer review by HASNC

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by HASNC
by HASNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts. Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream. The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream

Was this review helpful? (48) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HASNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for homemade ice cream
6/1/2014

Customer review by bjb5

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by bjb5
by bjb5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this ice cream maker to make sugar-free ice cream. We have only used it once so far, but the machine worked fine making the ice cream. We had tried the kind of makers that use a frozen bowl instead of ice, but that one didn't work very well. The bowl didn't stay cold enough to freeze the mix. So, we went back to a regular style of machine with ice. The results were just what we were expecting too. We had also looked at the makers with the wooden buckets. Those were more expensive though for the same size machine. We like the plastic bucket with this one because cleanup was very easy - just rinse the bucket out. Another nice feature of this machine is the clear top to the canister. It allows the ice cream to be seen while it is mixing so you can have a better idea of when it is done. The only part we wish would be better is how the motor mounts to the bucket. It fits into two slots on the top of the bucket that can be a bit of a challenge to insert. Otherwise, we really like the machine.

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjb5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ice cream maker
7/11/2016

Customer review by Tgreen

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Tgreen
by Tgreen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitate to order this machine because all the other plastic makers I have had or looked at were pieces of junk. This ice cream maker is very hard plastic like the old ones, freezes quickly, and is a lot quieter than others I have had in the past.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tgreen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
8/10/2016

Customer review by Kisha

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Kisha
by Kisha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works just like my great great grandmothers old I've cream maker.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kisha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
8/11/2016

Customer review by Johnny

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Johnny
by Johnny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Better than expected. Great for memories with the family.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Old fashioned ice cream maker
6/20/2016

Customer review by Laurie1641

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Laurie1641
by Laurie1641
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ice cream maker was wonderful! It made its "debut " yesterday for Father's Day and it produced the best chocolate ice cream we've ever had

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laurie1641
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute ice cream maker
6/22/2016

Customer review by nelliepigs

4.0 stars 6/22/2016 by nelliepigs
by nelliepigs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It took longer to freeze than the directions said, but the vanilla ice cream recipe was great!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nelliepigs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
6/23/2016

Customer review by Familymemories

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Familymemories
by Familymemories
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought 2 4-quart ice cream makers so we would have plenty of ice cream for our extended family and could have 2 flavors. They loved the final product. The ice cream was a little grainy. I followed the ice/salt directions but must have done something wrong. Need to let it go longer than 30 min . Next time it will be better I am sure. Ice cream was very soft even after being in my freezer for an hour. Makes for a great family tradition and memories.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Familymemories
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product is awesome, I love it. .
6/26/2016

Customer review by PatO

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by PatO
by PatO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great purchase ever, my ice cream came out perfect. It was my first time making ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Ice Cream Maker
7/27/2016

Customer review by Grammy

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Grammy
by Grammy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have several ice cream makers; 6 quart, 4 quart, 2 quart by another company (they are not round and you add ice to 2 sides rather than all the way around). While they make ice cream well, they don't keep the ice cream frozen for long. My daughter bought the Nostalgia and we both made ice cream. Her maker made ice cream quicker, was firmer, and kept it that way for a lot longer than mine. So, I went online and searched for the Nostalgia ice cream maker. This is a great machine, easy to use and the handle makes it easy to move the ice cream. Love this ice cream maker!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have!
2/6/2012

Customer review by eacsck

4.0 stars 2/6/2012 by eacsck
by eacsck

Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard.

Was this review helpful? (56) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eacsck
Herriman, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great price
8/11/2016

Customer review by happy

4.0 stars 8/11/2016 by happy
by happy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great price so far just used once but did a great job

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ice Cream Maker
8/1/2016

Customer review by letstrade

3.0 stars 8/1/2016 by letstrade
by letstrade
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Price was good, however again you get what you pay for which in this case was a very low end plastic tub and small amp electric motor. We've used once and got soft serve style cream and the directions tell you that to get harder ice cream put it in the freezer. It took about 30 minutes to make and by that time the motor was very hot. I think for a quick outing this would be a great cheap fix, but for a long term family use get something bigger and better

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
letstrade
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Ice Cream Maker
9/2/2014

Customer review by MrsBrownRN

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by MrsBrownRN
by MrsBrownRN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading a few reviews I decided to buy this ice cream maker and am glad I did, becuase it works great. I'd like to address some of the issues the other reviews had. 1) Ice cream comes out like soft serve. I'm. Not sure if people don't read instructions, but it very clearly states that the ice cream will come out that way and will need to be in the freezer for 4 hours afterwards. Even my ice cream cookbook (which is not associated with the ice cream maker) states that all of the recipes need to frozen for at least 4 hours. 2) The ice cream maker is loud. It's a metal cylinder scraping against ice, so it's going to make noise. Overall, if you read the instructions and use common sense, you shouldn't have any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (97) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBrownRN
Columbus, Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
7/16/2014

Customer review by AdMaMom

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by AdMaMom
by AdMaMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used this twice since getting it 3 weeks ago. I used one of the recipes included for the peanut butter ice cream. It was great. I've had an issue with it not stopping after around 30 minutes like they say, but I'm always right there, so I stop it myself. I thought the issue might be that I didn't use enough ice or salt, so I used more the second time. The ice cream did thicken more that time, but the machine didn't stop itself. To me that's not a huge deal because I make sure I'm right there in case of ice jamming, etc. My kids love the homemade ice cream. Does it save money? Maybe because you are making a gallon. One thing for sure is that you know exactly what's going in it and you always have the option to find other recipes if you want to make it healthier.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdMaMom
Warrenton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
6/20/2016

Customer review by Cecilia

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Cecilia
by Cecilia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great! Easy to use too! This was the first time I ever used an ice cream machine and it was easy to use. No problems! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER!
5/13/2013

Customer review by linda0982000

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by linda0982000
by linda0982000

I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (142) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
linda0982000
Cleveland,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works Ok
6/15/2016

Customer review by Dons

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Dons
by Dons
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is inexpensive and functions well!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dons
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great ice cream maker
8/23/2016

Customer review by toyatoy

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by toyatoy
by toyatoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first ice cream make and it was very easy to understand, operate and clean. It seems durable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toyatoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nostalgia ice cream maker
2/26/2016

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Paul
by Paul

We had two ice cream makers of a different brand prior to purchasing the Nostalgia machine. We like to make two flavors of ice cream at the same time so we had two ice cream makers. Recently, one of them died, and we could not find the same brand of machine, so we purchased a Nostalgia brand to replace it. When we made ice cream last week we noticed how quiet it was compared to the older machine. That prompted us to replace the old noisy machine with a second Nostalgia ice cream maker. We like them very much and would recommend them to anyone who likes to make homemade ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 311 total reviews
1-20 of 311 reviews