Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 201 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

201 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

201 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 stars
31
1-20 of 162 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews
A lot more than I expected
2/16/2011

Customer review by CarefulShopper111

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by CarefulShopper111
by CarefulShopper111

When I was looking for a new toaster oven to replace one that was "toast," I researched almost every brand. I was willing to pay $100 or more for a good, well-designed, quality unit. I doubted that this Black & Decker model could be very good - the price was too low. But the reviews were good and I risked ordering one. When it arrived and I started to use it, I discovered that it was extremely well designed. It is compact in size, the ergonomics are excellent. It works well. It reminded me of the first toaster oven that I bought in about 1976 which I think was a B&D unit of similar design. I realized that B&D has refined the model over many years, correcting minor problems and irritations. This one works! It cooks well and quickly. It is a pleasure to use. When the door is open you do not have to risk burning your fingers to reach under the door to grasp the handle. The "keep warm" function works extremely well and will keep items just slightly warm or very warm. Toast comes out just the way I like it - but be careful not to set the timer for too long! There is ample room for four slices. It heats up very quickly. I love the way the pan can slide under the grill to catch drippings - works well with steaks and for reheating slices of pizza. The mechanism that pulls the grill out when the door opens is convenient and remarkably simple for its effectivenss. I really like the small size - it takes up very little space on the counter. This is a well-engineered appliance. The unit appears to be reasonably well-made and I imagine that the toaster oven will last physically for a long time. Our experience with our last three toaster ovens that the electronic controls burned out or quit long before the body, door etc. was worn out. They all were still good looking (and only several years old) but electrically dead. Don't worry about the low price - this is one of those delightful situations (for the consumer) where the cheapest item is well-designed and a pleasure to usel

Was this review helpful? (355) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarefulShopper111
eastern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
functional and looks great
5/21/2011

Customer review by neckybones

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by neckybones
by neckybones

I was skeptical to order after reading some of the reviews but I must say I would have been sorry if I didn't give it a try.This toaster oven works well, toast very fast and forget about one review saying why 3 knobs-it is so easy to use and the ticking timer not too loud and you just turn last knob off if finished early so you don't hear timer. It looks great with all my new stainless steel appliances and doesn't take much counter space.Worth every penny and I had it delivered in three days!

Was this review helpful? (88) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neckybones
Fishkill NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
1/14/2011

Customer review by suchtheshopper

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by suchtheshopper
by suchtheshopper

This toaster oven meet all my expectations. I can heat up most of my meals due to its semi-large size when cooking for two. Do not have to heat up the big oven. Am able to preheat and time cooking. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suchtheshopper
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice size and design
11/14/2010

Customer review by mishka1804

4.0 stars 11/14/2010 by mishka1804
by mishka1804

I liked this toaster oven because of it's relatively small size and simple design. The only negative I find is that the three control buttons are a bit cumbersome to use. For example, if you just want to toast a piece of bread, you have to set each of the three buttons on "toast". It is also not easy to get the setting for the darkness of the toast in just the right place. The oven gets quite hot so it will easily burn the bread while toasting. To bake something works better but it is still confusing and redundant to set the controls. If I get used to these controls, I think I will be happy with this toaster oven.

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mishka1804
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this! Looks great, performs well, good value!
7/12/2011

Customer review by AlleyDee

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by AlleyDee
by AlleyDee

Nice appearance and economical design for my limited space. I cook many meals for one, this does an excellent job and saves me heating up my full size oven. There are multiple dials to set but this little bit of extra time is worth it for the quality cooking results. One of the few toaster ovens that had everything I was looking for, temperature control, timer over 20 minutes and fit my counter space. Very affordable. I am extremely happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlleyDee
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TOASTY
1/9/2011

Customer review by TEACHER8037

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by TEACHER8037
by TEACHER8037

It never seems that toasters really toast. This is the toaster!!!! This Black and Decker looks good with the stainless steel finish and cooks better. It doesn't burn your food and evenly toasts both sides of the bread. Great value for $30.00

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TEACHER8037
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't evenly toast top and bottom slice of bread
3/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this toaster oven and ditched my toaster because of the added benefit of having a second (albeit quite small) oven. I've used the oven settings several times and have yet to be disappointed. Everything that goes in there comes out perfect...except toast! I've tried moving the rack higher or lower, removing the crumb tray and changing the amount of time but the bottom either comes out burnt or not toasted enough. It's not a huge thing, but it is sorta annoying since I bought this as a replacement to my toaster. Overall, it's good if you're primary use of it will be the oven feature, otherwise, you'll be settling for burnt or undercooked toast.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
2/22/2011

Customer review by CollegeAway

4.0 stars 2/22/2011 by CollegeAway
by CollegeAway

This oven is one of the best values I've ever purchased. We purchased it for the four slice toaster feature which works very well but we were very surprised that the oven bakes better than any other toaster oven we've ever owned. We'll get a lot more use from this product than we had expected. It looks great and works well. A great all around value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollegeAway
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product for the price.
10/19/2011

Customer review by GrabItRabbit

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by GrabItRabbit
by GrabItRabbit

Having never owned a toaster oven I didn't know what to expect from the device. I had recently been diagnosed with a wheat sensitivity and can no longer use the family oven to cook my meals. So, I researched every T.O. on the market according to performance and price. I must say that this T.O. is excellent and deserves its high rating. I have cooked chicken, meatloaf and GF pizzas. Everything has turned out very well. Before I made the purchase I thought that I might have to upgrade to the convection T.O. if it didn't bake well. There was no need. Don't bother paying $100+ for other ovens.......they all seem to go out after a few years anyway.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrabItRabbit
Normal, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good oven for the price.
9/17/2012

Customer review by cher8805

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by cher8805
by cher8805

I usually buy more expensive toaster ovens. This time I thought I would try a less expensive one. This oven works every bit as good as my last two more expensive ones. It toasts perfectly--yes, if you do more than just toast, you do have to set all three control knobs but somehow or other I am not yet so old and mentally infirm that this has proven to be too much of a challenge for me. It broils my steaks just the way I like them and bakes perfect baked potatoes and pizzas. This is an excellent choice and I am very pleased that I took a chance on it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cher8805
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price but burns food easily
2/13/2012

Customer review by frisbee1970

3.0 stars 2/13/2012 by frisbee1970
by frisbee1970

I bought this because it was the least expensive stainless steel toaster oven I could find. It is good for the price and gets the job done, but I do have two complaints. First, the heat for toasting things is way too hot. I burn things more often than not even setting the timer down very low. Also, the door doesn't open all the way to lay flat on the counter. This makes it a bit challenging to get the tray out from under the rack. Would I spend a little extra money on a different model? Yes.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frisbee1970
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toasting? Not so much...
1/14/2012

Customer review by jbb303

3.0 stars 1/14/2012 by jbb303
by jbb303

This is a basic toaster oven and works fine for heating up leftovers. But not so much for toasting bread. The elements don't get hot enough so it takes longer for the bread to turn brown. Because it takes longer for the bread to turn brown, it completely dries it out and makes the bread hard throughout and not just on the outside of the bread like real toasters. Would be fine if you have a separate toaster.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbb303
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!
6/14/2011

Customer review by joni38

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by joni38
by joni38

Makes great toast. Used to bake canned cinnamon rolls on a camping trip. My daughter has used one for years. She loves hers and recommended it to me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joni38
Sherman, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent small toaster oven
6/30/2011

Customer review by Zubrin

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Zubrin
by Zubrin

My old Black & Decker toaster oven was dead after 10 years and I tried to find a replacement with similar small footprint. This toaster oven is the final winner after my search at Costco, Target and Walmart. I like everything except two: 1) it takes a lot longer to toast slices of bread comparing to my old one with just a button to push. 2) the hooks that help sliding out metal rack and pan when ribs are done will be in the way when I try to close to door. I have to close the door in 2 stages: first close the door a little bit just to push the pan in then I can close the door completely. Overall it is a nice looking toaster oven.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zubrin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
lovin this !!
1/23/2011

Customer review by lovelovelove2eat

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by lovelovelove2eat
by lovelovelove2eat

well I've never toasted anything other than the toaster for breads and bagels . never had a conventional oven toaster until now when my bf suggested it since I'm inlove in fries and cookies right now during my second pregnancy . he toasted me some of my cookies that ii eat at night right before ii fall asleep and wow oh wow ! hahaha the microwave does not seem to exist anymore other than sanitizing my baby's bottles ! lol . anyway the product is great . ii love the simplicity and the 123 obvious ways to use it and gain great results :) it's been toasting and baking everything we've tried perfectly . no burnin yett . awesome first time toaster :) ii love it !

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovelovelove2eat
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good for the price!
6/28/2011

Customer review by PinchingPenniesEveryDay

4.0 stars 6/28/2011 by PinchingPenniesEveryDay
by PinchingPenniesEveryDay

I'm very satisfied with this toaster oven. I wasn't sure, because of the price, if I'd be happy with it but knew I could take it back to the store if needed so I bought it. It arrived in good condition and very quickly. Because I took the time to read the manual, *cough, cough* :) I had no problem understanding the different settings - and it's quite easy to use. It has a crumb tray (yay!) and cooks/bakes just as described. The only negatives, to date, is that that the door doesn't shut tight (waste of electricity) and the cord is VERY short (had to get an extension cord).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PinchingPenniesEveryDay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/21/2012

Customer review by Richie61

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Richie61
by Richie61

It was missing a a rubber stopper on the bottom so it wobbled. After contacting Black and Decker Customer Service in hopes they could just send us the missing piece, we had to return it to WalMart. Rather than reordering online, we purchased the same model at Macy's because it was on sale in their store. We got it home, and out of the box to find it was missing TWO rubber stoppers on the bottom. To add to our frustration, we noticed that the door did not have hooks connected to the rack, sliding the rack out when the door is opened. The photos on the box show hooks on the inside of the door, and the one purchased at WalMart.com did have these hooks. Upon further investigation...the more recently manufactured models are missing the hooks. B & D claims to be addressing this, but I am doubtful. It's a beautiful appliance, seems durable, and I have been pleased with Black and Decker in the past. My last B & D toaster oven lasted over 10 years. However, I am very disappointed with this experience. I cannot recommend this particular model because we had missing parts with both purchases from different stores.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Richie61
Norwich, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy this toaster oven
11/25/2012

Customer review by roastbeefonweck

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by roastbeefonweck
by roastbeefonweck

Two major problems, first, when you use it to make toast, the heating elements heat up to maximum heat, than shut down for a few minutes, than heat up again to maximum heat making your toast hard on the edges. Second, you have to reach in with your hand to remove the toast, as the rack is not attached to the oven door.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roastbeefonweck
Commerce, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value for the money
2/21/2011

Customer review by Armelle

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Armelle
by Armelle

It is the right color. It has the right features. It works great so far. It fits my dimensions. We'll see how long it lasts. Black and Decker has a solid reputation. So we'll see. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Armelle
Chester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/20/2011

Customer review by Happy2008

4.0 stars 3/20/2011 by Happy2008
by Happy2008

The toaster oven is great. Too small for a pizza though. I did the site to store delivery....I was so disappointed. I had to wait almost 3 weeks for the product! It was such an inconvenience. Apart from that, it is a great product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy2008
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews