Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 385 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

385 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

385 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
124
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 stars
60
1-20 of 366 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 366 total reviews
1-20 of 366 reviews
We have a Dyson...it's now in the garage.
5/8/2011

Customer review by GearReviewer

3.0 stars 5/8/2011 by GearReviewer
by GearReviewer

I have to write this in context. I bought a 500.00 dyson 6 years ago. Ok...so I didn't religiously follow the cleaning schedule, but who does. Faced with a failing dyson I shopped around and decided on this Hoover. The suction is VERY strong. We have a Pottery Barn very thick pile rug and a blue heeler that is shedding his winter coat. Besides the dog, there are 2 of us. The hoover whipped up the hair in 1 pass. It did a similar job on a thin pile carpet. It worked great on the hardwood floors...really like that it has the option to stop the rotating brushes. It did come with the trim around the cord door cracked and a few scuffs...but it worked fine so no need to return. I do have these recommendations...it should have included a hand attachment with brushes that do not rotate so not to scuff up items. So, instead I use that dyson tool with the hoover. I also wouldn't have nested the crevice tool inside the hand wand...you tend to pull the crevice tool out and leave the wand attached to the vacuum. Things I really like about the hoover: 1) it's light 2) retractable cord...works great 3) strong suction 4) easy emptying 5) location of on and off switch 6) clean/empty filter indicator 7) price...if it fails in a couple years, I won't feel bad about the money spent. The dyson is now only used to pick up dog hair in the garage...it isn't good enough to clean hardwood floors (a task it never did well, even new) or rugs. To think, for the price of that 1 dyson could have bought 3 of these.

Was this review helpful? (299) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GearReviewer
ShenValley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful vacuum, works great. I Love it!!
10/24/2011

Customer review by LoveOurPups

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by LoveOurPups
by LoveOurPups

This is a GREAT vacuum! The only reason that I gave it 4 stars is that the canister is a bit small. I have 2 adult Labs and 2 indoor cats. They shed a lot, so I have to empty the canister often. I used to have an old Dyson Animal and the canister was so much larger. I had forgotten to check this new canister the first time that I used it. I vacuumed the first room and noticed that I had gone WAY past the full mark! It works that good! Now I have to be mindful to check more often. This was a great price and it works so well, I would HIGHLY recommend it! I love the features like the auto rewind and all the tools that travel with it. I also kept the dusting brush from my old Dyson as I really like this and there is not one that came with this vacuum. Very happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (88) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveOurPups
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works great
1/1/2012

Customer review by Ihatepickinganickname

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by Ihatepickinganickname
by Ihatepickinganickname

This is a very nice vacuum. It is lightweight and has simple easy to reach controls. The only negative so far for me is that the hose accessory is a little on the short side, but other than that I am very happy.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ihatepickinganickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Totally amazing!!!
2/26/2012

Customer review by thunder792

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by thunder792
by thunder792

I have owned a number of different and expensive vacuum cleaners, and have NEVER come close to one as great as this model. And that is regardless of the low price! It gets 5 stars in any and every catagory. Such strong suction, rewind cord is great feature, one touch with your foot stops the brushes from spinning for going from carpet to hard surface, easy to clean filter and no bags to buy, love the fold down handle- fits right into my coat closet under the hanging jackets! Although this is called 'PET' and has great tools for handling pet hair, I have a yorkie that doesn't shed... but the attachments are great for so many other uses... like grandkids! This thing only weighs 17 pounds so if you need to move it to a different floor it's super easy! There is also a larger version of this...and that weighs about 30 pounds... and just could NOT be any better than this model. THANK YOU HOOVER! YOU REALLY SUCK!!! (in the GOOD way!)

Was this review helpful? (69) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thunder792
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really Strong Suction
6/26/2013

Customer review by Babylunadenoche

4.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Babylunadenoche
by Babylunadenoche

The vacuum is extremely powerful and sucks up everything. I have cat and it picks up a crazy amount of fur. The carpet may not even look dirty, yet somehow the vacuum manages to pick up lots of dirt. I can vacuum every other day, and it will still pick up lots of dirt. The retractable cord is also a nice component. The vacuum is not too heavy, but it is also not the easiest to maneuver. It does get overheated occasionally. This is probably due to it working so hard and having such a strong suction. The hose is not the greatest. It is kind of short and not as powerful as the rest of the vacuum but it does a decent job. The vacuum also has add-ons to pick up pet fur off of furniture which is nice. Another thing that I have noticed is that you can't turn off the spinning bristles at the bottom of the vacuum. You can step down on a lever to momentarily turn it off, but there is not a switch to turn it off completely. Overall, the vacuum has great suction, but it's not the best.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babylunadenoche
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works well, but has some cons.
2/26/2014

Customer review by Collmn

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Collmn
by Collmn

The vacuum cleans very well, pulls up a lot of carpet dirt. I have a Siberian Husky, and 4 cats, and about half of my 1100sq ft space is covered in carpet. I have to empty the canister 2-3 times during a typical vacuum, which is about what I was doing with my last vacuum. But it leaves NOTHING behind. So basic performance wise I say it rocks. Other things that people mentioned though... -It's heavy. This isn't a vacuum for people with multilevel homes. However, I don't think that it's colossal either. -The hose is short. You have to use the extender attachment to really get the most out of this. -The attachments work well, I like the addition of the rubber to them, it really picks up hair. -The power cord is long enough to do a typical bedroom, I haven't had any issues with that. -Emptying the canister is a bit messy, but not the trial and tribulation some people make it out to be. I put the whole canister in a large garbage bag, and then actually take apart the components, so all the dust stays in the garbage bag.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Collmn
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vacuum for the price.
1/21/2013

Customer review by doggyluvr

3.0 stars 1/21/2013 by doggyluvr
by doggyluvr

I had high expectations for this vacuum, hoping it would wow me (since we decided to retire our Dyson to workshop use only when it would no longer pick anything up). It's done a great job cleaning the floors and the floating mounds of dog hair we constantly have (our dog's a big shedder), and I really like the rubber parts on the pet attachments. However, the hose is very short, even with the attachments, which makes it difficult to move around sometimes. The biggest downer, though, is the cord. It is too short to go from one room to another (it's constantly pulling out of the wall socket), and its location on the base of the vacuum is terrible. It gets caught behind the vacuum and under the wheels a lot - it really is a hassle. I do like the retractable part, though, when it works (it too seems to get stuck inside when rewinding). Overall, for the $125 I paid (on sale) it works way better than our other worn out vacuum, and we didn't want to shell out $400 for a new Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doggyluvr
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/9/2011

Customer review by Kentucky914

4.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Kentucky914
by Kentucky914

So far this has been a good vacuum. It isn't anything "amazing", but it does the job. And going from a vacuum that wasn't working to this one it makes me feel like it is doing a really good job. But honestly I just think it is a normal vacuum. That being said I am a little frustrated at how expensive it was. Makes me wonder if I got a vacuum $50 cheaper if it would have worked just as well... But most vacuums are way over priced these days. Pros and Cons: I love the fact that the handle folds down! It tucks away nicely. I also like that it has a button to push to empty the canister, BUT I almost always have to stick my hand inside to guide the dog hair out. So because the dog hair gets easily compacted and stuck in the canister preventing it from whirling around I tend to have to stop and empty my canister more often. Like mentioned in other reviews the hose is short. I figured most are short so didn't care about that review, but yeah it is actually really short. I also think it is difficult to clean out the entire canister, the top of the canister (accessed from a different way than the push button) seems to get dirty very easily. I vacuum every other day (if not every day), so maybe just using it often shows it quicker. I just can't help but to compare it to my old vacuum which I loved (it was a Eureka) and I never had those type of problems. The pet attachments are really nice. And I love having a retractable cord! The bare floor option is a nice option to have. But I do think that it only works "so so" on the bare floors. So over all, it is a "good" vacuum. Gets the dirt up. But nothing too special. And I think that it should be cheaper. But hopefully I will start liking it more and more as time goes by (I have had it for 2 months). And it better last longer than 5 yrs because that is how long my old one lasted and only cost me $75!

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kentucky914
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to Use
5/26/2012

Customer review by TT71

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by TT71
by TT71

I was looking for a vac that could handle lots of fur (4 critters) and do hard wood floors as well as carpets without sucking them off the floor and jamming the vac. This is it! Excellent price, easy to use, and it does a great job on both without that annoying kick back I got with my old vac. This even cleans up cat litter without a problem. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TT71
Rockland, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does a very good job for the price
8/17/2013

Customer review by Hikingggirl

4.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Hikingggirl
by Hikingggirl

I have only had the Wind Tunnel for a month but so far I am very happy with the purchase. In the first use, it picked up a lot of stuff and I had to change the canister twice. The canister is easy to remove and empty. I do have to put the canister way down in the trash can so the debris does not fly out (some people recommended emptying it outside). The Hoover was easy to assemble and I really like that it is lightweight. One of the reasons I got it was the foldable handle and the retractable cord. Those are great features. It is easy to store in the closet. Some of the reviews said the cord was too short but I have not found that to be a problem yet. Another reason I got this one was that you could raise the roller bar and stop it from turning when you vacuum wood floors and tile. I feel better when vacuuming wood floors that the roller is not turning and scratching the floor and is rather just picking up the debris. So far it is a very good vacuum, good value for the price, and has some nice features that I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hikingggirl
East Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Vacuum, Excellent Value!
5/4/2012

Customer review by TiggerT69

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by TiggerT69
by TiggerT69

I did many days of research when looking to replace my 14 year old Hoover WindTunnel Bagless, which by the way was still in good condition with very little maintenance over the years because I wanted a "no loss of suction" vacuum cleaner and power tools. I compared the WindTunnel Pet to Dyson, Eureka and Bissell and this was by far the best vacuum for the money. The power was the same, offered the same kind of tools including the power hand tool for quick pet hair removal on furniture etc and the best BONUS is that the cord rewinds itself!!! I find this vacuum to be lighter and easier to use than my previous WindTunnel Bagless because it pretty much propels itself across the floors. It is not self-adjusting like some of the Dyson's but I'm thrilled that it can go from a tile floor right on over a rug laying on the floor without sucking the rug up into the vacuum and I keep mine set on the lowest setting to keep the brush and vacuum closest to the carpet or tile surface. It seems like it does self-adjust even though it is not advertised too and the bare floor option that allows you to turn the brush off is awesome! My only disappointment in this vacuum is that the cord is not as long as my previous Hoover and neither is the hose for the attachments. I'm hoping the hose will loosen up over time but regardless there is no denying that this vacuum is an excellent product for the money. One last thing, I've known many people with Dysons and they love them but why spend $300 to $500 more when you can get the same performance and tools from a Hoover??? I had my last Hoover for 13 years and its still going strong - nothing speaks like experience!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiggerT69
Great vacuum for people with allergies!!!
5/17/2012

Customer review by happymomofoneboy

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by happymomofoneboy
by happymomofoneboy

I bought this vacuum because my son and I both have allergies and live in a carpeted apartment. Although this is kind of a pet vacuum, I figured it would just do that much better at suctioning everything out the carpet. I also needed one with a HEPA filter, that was bagless, and had all the perks this one does. The first time I used it, I was in amazement and disguss all at once lol! I had just moved in a month prior, and carpet was cleaned by professionals. My carpet didn't even look dirty, but when I finished vacuuming. . .the canister was half full of all kinds of stuff. Lets just say that if your looking for an awesome, DEEP cleaning vacuum. . .THIS IS YOUR PRODUCT! I am beyond pleased (even though it is a tiny bit heavy).

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happymomofoneboy
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Hoover WindTunnel Pet
4/29/2012

Customer review by HayNay

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by HayNay
by HayNay

I love this vacuum. Picks up pet hair, dust, dirt and even more hair. Emptying the container is not difficult, maybe a bit dusty, but then, the OLD very expensive vacuum had obviously NOT been doing a good job for a very long time! The facts that this machine comes with a reusable filter, the "rewinding" power cord and the on-board tool storage, just makes this one a totally usable solution for my home. When this one wears out, I will be purchasing another! Not that I expect this one to fail anytime soon, but 5 years down the road, I know what to look for! I reccommend this to anyone who wants to never buy bags or filters again!

Was this review helpful? (34) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HayNay
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Viva Hoover WindTunnel
2/7/2014

Customer review by Piagretamama

4.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Piagretamama
by Piagretamama

Well...my Dyson had officially died...so I read review, after review...searching for a replacement. The Dyson NEVER was impressive from day one on area rugs, carpet, stairs with carpet. After reading rave reviews on The Hoover WindTunnel on several sites, and speaking to others who have had Dysons and switched to The WindTunnel...I finally made my choice.....and boy am I glad I did!!!!!! This sweeper is awesome! I thought my living room rug was ready for replacement, but, it has been revived from this sweeper! My Dyson did not have a choice for carpet height..which makes a huge difference. It is not exactly light weight, but, it's not too heavy...pushes with ease, and very easy to use attachments. I have not had any problems with emptying the canister...cat hair/dust falls out easily. The cord rewind is pretty nice as well..occas it has slight trouble rewinding, but, I usually just straighten cord more..and it goes right in. My ONLY complaint (reason for only 4 stars) is that there is not much stretch to the hose when using attachments, the Dyson had way better length...so, stairs are tricky. Overall, I very much love this sweeper and when it dies...it will be replaced with another one just the same. Viva Hoover wind tunnel!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Piagretamama
Weirton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/18/2012

Customer review by Susiehomemaker2

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Susiehomemaker2
by Susiehomemaker2

Great vac....have two cats and this is great on pet hair. Very lightweight, great suction and the cord rewind is awesome! Also the fold down handle works great fitting it into a closet or tight space. Putting it together was literally one screw and presto! I used to have a bagged vac and this is my first bagless but this was a good one to choose!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Susiehomemaker2
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love it!
4/1/2012

Customer review by buyerboy1

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by buyerboy1
by buyerboy1

We have had our Kenmore vac for over 25 yrs. Although it was still running, my wife said it was time for a new one. Got this vac and used it in a room recently vacuumed and filled the whole canister up. What?? She also commented that there was absolutely no smell from running it. That was a huge change from our other one. She loves being able to freely move around being an upright as our other was like pulling a ball and chain. And at 17 lbs it is easy to lift. Floor adjustment, retractable cord, & attachments all are excellent. We like it so much that I recommended it already to another family member. We are truly happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buyerboy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT Low-cost, high-suction pet vacuum !!!
6/29/2012

Customer review by kmakie

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by kmakie
by kmakie

My Hoover Concept 1 lasted 33 years. I loved it so much that I wanted to stay with Hoover. Because I always have 2 big dogs, after researching a few other brands, I chose the Hoover WindTunnel Pet Rewind Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70210 for the following reasons.... 1. Carbon filter...Works great. I smell no dog hair while vacuuming! 2. 12 amp motor...unbelievably powerful suction!!! I have a small ranch house and I can vacuum the whole thing 2-3 times before emptying the waste, which is extremely easy. 3. Attachments on board...I love that the hose and extensions are right there...ready to use for the hard to reach places. The suction is still as strong while using them...!!! 4. Retractable 27 ft. cord...It makes for a quick and easy vacuuming and neat appearance when stored. EXCELLENT VACUUM FOR THE PRICE...I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmakie
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best vacumn ever
7/14/2012

Customer review by catlady80

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by catlady80
by catlady80

I have 6 cats. Most of my expensive previous vacuums did not pick up much of the fur. This vacuum picked up everything. It lives up to it's claims!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catlady80
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have researched vacuums for a year now and needed one for pet hair. We adopted two dogs from a shelter and had NO idea how much they shed. CAN'T say enough great things about this vacuum cleaner!!! Picks up hair on carpet, rugs, hardwood floors and couch! Light-weight and easy to use. Just a great vacuum for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Flowery Branch, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/24/2012

Customer review by Good

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Good
by Good

I have had my hoover for only a couple of months but so far so good. I purchased a Dyson on sale for $341 but didn't even pick it up when I read the reviews for the Hoover. It also has no loss of suction at half the price. The vacuum is not as light as I had imagined but that's okay because it really does suck up a lot of pet hair and my two year old carpet really does look like new. My husband and I were amazed at how much dog hair it picked up. Other reviews mention that the cord is kinda short but it's fine for me because my house is not that big so that wasn't a deal breaker for me. I would recommend this hoover.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Good
memphis,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 366 total reviews
1-20 of 366 reviews