Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 485 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

485 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

485 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
208
4 stars
155
3 stars
27
2 stars
28
1 stars
67
1-20 of 466 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 466 total reviews
1-20 of 466 reviews
Thrilling
1/30/2017

Customer review by Risa

4.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Risa
by Risa

Amazing suction! Pulls dust out of carpet superbly, including through the attachments! No wasteful bags. Easy-to-wash filter. Cord winds itself up like a charm. The only (small) drawbacks are that: 1) it's louder than other vacuums 2) the wand is short and thus not ergonomic. Even when you attach the Crevice Tool you still have to lean over while holding the wand or the end of the tube doesn't touch the floor at most angles.

Risa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value, sturdy machine
7/15/2016

Customer review by Samcar1

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Samcar1
by Samcar1

We bought this 2.5 years ago and pitted it against our brand new Roomba 880 (same night). We were shocked at how much dog and cat hair and other gunk it picked up. It's like having new carpet! The "no-touch" debris disposal can be gross, and I do have to shake the canister or reach up inside (with a bamboo skewer) to get compacted stuff, even though I empty it after every single use. But at least this schtuff isn't on my floors anymore! I also have the hot machine problem, but I try not to vacuum more than a couple of spaces at a time (for a number of reasons!). The telescoping extension tube collapses on itself from time to time, so I make sure I twist the integrated coupler extra tight. The turbo tool has stopped working, despite being clean, so I'll contact Hoover about that. Since 90% of my vacuuming is flat floors, I can say that this machine is really good, esp considering our 3 long-haired pets and 2 active tweens.

Samcar1
Fermilab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible Canister Design for Multiple Shedding Pets
12/27/2016

Customer review by Big Dog Mom

2.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Big Dog Mom
by Big Dog Mom

I really want to love this vacuum - it's fantastic in every way but one of the most crucial for my household. It's powerful and picks up dirt, hair and debris like a champ. It's one of the only models I've had where the "bare floor" setting is effective - huge bonus for the option to turn off brush rotation! The handtools and hose accessibility are decent. It's easy to clean the vacuum itself. This could be phenomenal if the dirt cup design were different. I admittedly have multiple dogs that shed quite a bit. They also track a fair amount of dirt in from the yard. Vacuuming is literally a daily to every other day chore. Hair constantly ends up around the filter so I have to separate the top portion of the canister to remove it. Hair in the cup clumps in the very narrow channel it has, so it cannot "fall out" of the bottom as it is supposed to be designed to do. I have to manually pull it out. Even doing a very small area with only a little hair picked up, I still have to do this as it clumps even a small amount in a ball... or I have to bang the heck out of the canister, scattering dust and dirt into the air. The "no touch" feature is useless If you have pets with longer hair. I have two friends with this model and similar problems. I purchased on the recommendation of one of them, who later admitted she had the same issue. Very frustrating. The vacuum performs excellently ... unfortunately the design of the dirt canister makes it all but a completely unnecessary chore to use.

Comment from Karissa - 12/29/2016

Hi Big Dog Mom! If the debris is becoming stuck towards the top of the dirt cup with use, this can indicate a clog in the hose or filter. We have a few troubleshooting suggestions that should help: 1. Rinse the primary filter from under the dirt cup lid and allow it to completely air dry before use. 2. Tap off the HEPA and cyclonic filter over the trashcan to remove excess debris. 3. Disconnect the hose from both ends of the unit and gently run a broom handle through to clear out any debris. If the hose is not completely cleared out any clogs would continue to build. 4. Check inlets behind the dirt cup and bottom nozzle for any obstructions and remove. The brushroll can be removed for easier access to the bottom nozzle. You can clear the lower hose from both ends, but do not use anything that could puncture the hose. Once completed the debris should make its way into the dirt cup more easily. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

Big Dog Mom
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/8/2013

Customer review by rralston02

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by rralston02
by rralston02

I bought this vacuum back in 2010. I loved it from the minute I bought it. The suction is wonderful and never lets up. I have 3 dogs, 2 cats and a bird. I don't pick up my bird feathers like I probably should and I only vacuum once a week. This vacuum is a beast and cuts through dog hair and feathers with ease. I DO dump the container often (about 1-2 times per room) because it is on the small side and I also make sure that the little holes that lead to the filter stay clean. I have NEVER had a clog on my vacuum. It might be luck but I think it is because I have kept up with maintenance. The only issue that has recently occurred (within the last month) is with the plug, it does not want to stay out. I think that is to be expected though since the vacuum is coming up on three years old. I just put a hair clip on it and go with it. I still love my vacuum just like I did on day one and if something happens to this one I will buy another one just like it, if I find one available. I do and have recommend this product. 

Comment from Ian - 7/10/2013

Hi Rralston02, we're so happy o hear that your T-series is running strong. We'd recommend taking it into one of our Hoover Authorized Dealers: http://hoover.com/locator/ in your area to get that cord rewind checked out. Let us know if you need any more help. Thanks so much.

rralston02
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worst Vacuum Ever
11/28/2016

Customer review by MPerry

1.0 stars 11/28/2016 by MPerry
by MPerry

I purchased this vacuum about 6 - 8 months ago. It replaced my old Shark, which I gave to my daughter when she moved out on her own and she is still using it. I have all hardwood and ceramic tile floor with the exception of one area rug under my table and one walk in closet with carpet. The vacuum has NO suction. I have taken it apart including removing the hoses, running a broom handle down the hose, which there was nothing in the hose, and still NO suction. The belt is brand new you can even still read the writing on the belt if that tells you how NEW this machine is. I am replacing this vacuum tomorrow but it will NOT be with another Hoover! I'm going back to being a Shark customer!

Comment from Kenya - 12/5/2016

Hi MPerry! That seems strange. Your WindTunnel T-Series should always give you great suction. We have a few suggestions that shoud help. Take a look at this brief troubleshooting video here: http://bit.ly/1jvx3tW. Complete these steps to get your Hoover running like new!

MPerry
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
A solution to my German Shepherd's excessive shedding.
12/21/2016

Customer review by MeinBuro

5.0 stars 12/21/2016 by MeinBuro
by MeinBuro

Finally a pet vaccum that works! We have all hardwood floors and a German Shepherd (aka German Shedder). I was fighting a losing battle with the fur, but now I have not only won the battle, but the war. The cord rewind is very cool and the attachments are easy to use and very effective.

MeinBuro
Fairburn, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clogs alot
12/18/2016

Customer review by Jazz53

2.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Jazz53
by Jazz53

I bought this vacuum quite a while back. I have pets so I thought that I'd give it a try. Not really impressed with it. It gets clogged very easily. Also doesn't seem to have good suction.

Comment from Kenya - 12/21/2016

Hi Jazz53! With proper maintenance your WindTunnel T-Series shouldn’t clog. We have some tips to help. Please try the troubleshooting in this brief video to get your Hoover running like new: http://bit.ly/1jvx3tW. Hope this helps!

Jazz53
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Poor Product
2/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have owned this product for less than a year and this vacuum has consistently over-heated within 10 minutes since the moment I first used it. The retractable cord system has already broken and retracts the cord a quarter of the way back into the vacuum within 5 minutes of use, the hose to use on laminated floors already has a hole in it decreasing its suction power, the lever to tilt the upright handle back has jammed not allowing the roller to tilt down onto the carpet, the pet brush attachment roller has never been able to rotate due to poor power. There is so much wrong with this vacuum. I live in a 1,000 square foot condo, only half of the flooring is carpet, and my wife and I are already running into these problems! I couldn't imagine using this in a home of 1,500-3,000 square feet. I would highly encourage you to immediately look for a different product if you are looking at this review. Save your money and put it towards a better vacuum.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/3/2013

Mitch, overheating usually indicates that there is a clog and the thermo fuse is shutting the unit down since air is not getting to the motor. If you're sure there is no clog, we recommend having a service center take a look at it. your cleaner has a 2-year manufacturer's defect warranty. Visit http://hoover.com/locator/ to see a list of service dealers in your area. Thanks!

An anonymous customer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
12/11/2016

Customer review by Lorna

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by Lorna
by Lorna
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our Hoover Wind Tunnel. Does ALL we want! However we could use a Hardwood Floor Attachment - Do you have those available?

Lorna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing!
2/22/2016

Customer review by alisonmayne

5.0 stars 2/22/2016 by alisonmayne
by alisonmayne

I bought this vacuum at a big box store because I had a gift card. I have 2 long haired dogs and I was using a much smaller vacuum that worked for both the hardwood and carpet I had. The second dog coming in changed the whole dynamic and I needed to upgrade the vacuum. We read some reviews and decided to try this vacuum and I'm so glad we did! This vacuum is awesome! The pet hair attachment has little rubber fins that pick up loose hair like a charm. It works so well on the couch cover and the duvet cover and it is super quick and easy. The crevice tool is really long, so it's actually effective and it has an extender which puts it right over the edge for me. We read some reviews that say this vacuum is loud, but once I saw how effective and easy it is, the volume did not matter at all. I actually never found it that loud. It goes from carpet to hardwood very easily and since the floor brush is so wide, it cleans more area at once and that is fantastic. I bought this 9 days ago and I've probably vacuumed 4 or 5 times because I'm so happy with the results.

alisonmayne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Engineer says Hoover has great design for cost vs quality
11/20/2016

Customer review by DavidAmosBrown

4.0 stars 11/20/2016 by DavidAmosBrown
by DavidAmosBrown

I normally don't bother but when I see a good mechanical design it's note worthy because there is so much junk out there. If I could change anything it would be the attachment hose configuration but as I saw, this has already been addressed. I think (and I used to sell Kirby's) that Hoover is like Toyota - so much thought has gone into the detailed use of the product and it shows every time you have to do any maintenance.

DavidAmosBrown
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
power. tilt handle
11/19/2016

Customer review by newblue

5.0 stars 11/19/2016 by newblue
by newblue

purchased in july 16 this ia a great vacuum cleans very good i love the tilt handle to get in tight areas and the easy cleaning dirt cup and HEPA filter!

newblue
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT the Hoover vacuum of the Whirlpool past!
6/5/2016

Customer review by ChrisY

2.0 stars 6/5/2016 by ChrisY
by ChrisY

I purchased this vacuum 6 months ago to replace an aging Hoover vacuum from 2004. Much to my surprise this machine is NOT as sturdy, easy to operate or clean as well etc as the one from many years past. Taking the bagless unit apart to clean it is a painful chore and putting it back together is even worse. Suction on this unit is not as good as the other Hoover vacuums I've owned. Was also disappointed in the cleaning tools (or lack thereof). Power switch is in an inconvenient place below the handle. It is also too light because it likes to "skip" over the top of the carpet instead of staying against the surface to really clean. Overall a disappointing purchase that I will replace soon with another brand. This vacuum is mostly suitable as a cheap unit for a dorm room or someone that does limited cleaning.

Comment from Michael - 6/6/2016

Hi ChrisY! We don't want you to be disappointed with your WindTunnel T-Series. If you're experiencing a loss of suction and maintaining the unit, please check out this video: http://bit.ly/1jvx3tW. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

ChrisY
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
I would buy this model of vacuum again.
6/28/2012

Customer review by Vacuum Dad

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Vacuum Dad
by Vacuum Dad

This is a pretty good vacuum. It has lots of power and does a good job on the carpet. While I do not like bagless vacuums, this seemed to be the best choice for the money. Cleaning the vacuum is a real chore as there is too much dust. However, I found that using dryer sheets helps a great deal when cleaning out the inside. Paper towels are a mess as the dust does not stick to them, it just pushes the dust around. We do not have pets, but we do have people with very long hair. Being able to remove the roller and clean the hair off of it is a real blessing. The hair still winds up on the roller, and I have to cut it with scissors to get it off of the roller, but at least it can be removed. The roller on my last vacuum did not have a removable roller and it smelled like burned hair all of the time. If you know what you are getting in for, then yes, I would certainly recommend this vacuum.

Vacuum Dad
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SO FRUSTRATING!!
12/17/2015

Customer review by Bjett

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Bjett
by Bjett

My husband bought me this vacuum a little over a year ago as a gift. It worked for all of one month. I am CONSTANTLY unclogging it after every use. I have taken it completely apart multiple times, checked the belt, checked the filters, checked the hose for clogs. Even after thouroughly cleaning, it works half par. It has no suction and shuts off after a few minutes. A short vacuuming for an apartment that should take 15 minutes takes multiple days of frustration trying to get the vacuum to work. It is junk and will be going to the dumpster. I refuse to buy another Hoover vacuum after this experience! Too much time, trouble, and frustration. It is pretty clear from other reviews that these complaints are not user errors, they are simply a result of terrible equipment. If I could give this review no stars at all I would. A new vacuum will be added to my Christmas list.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/17/2015

Hi Bjett! This is certainly not good to hear and in no way do we wish for you to be disappointed in us or our products. If your WindTunnel T-Series is constantly overheating and your filters and hoses are clean and clear, it could be attributed to an internal motor issue. Take a look at this brief instruction video: http://bit.ly/1YllqZ6, for some tips to help get everything back in order. If you're still having trouble afterwards, we have plenty of authorized Hoover Repair Centers available. Your vacuum carries a 2 yr. limited warranty that covers motor/mfg. defects from the date of purchase. Find a location here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Bjett
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great but design flaws
10/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This Hoover works so well and i wish i could give it 5 stars, but there are just a couple of design issues i experience every time i use it. The Hose, even with the extension attached, is just not long enough and it tries to retract all the time, you really have to pull hard to use it. I am a homemaker and vacuum daily, as i have a cat i really looked to get the Dyson pet but went for this cheaper version as i had good experiences with hoover in the past. My brother-in-law has the dyson pet and the hoover is just as powerful as the dyson for a much more reasonable price. But as someone that likes to thoroughly vacuum, using the hose is a daily struggle. I also find it overheats every time i use it for 20 mins or more, it has an automatic shut off, so i have to stop and start frequently. As it really works so well, I would definitely recommend it to someone who'd rarely use the hose

An anonymous customer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very disappointed
6/19/2012

Customer review by Terese of the Ark

1.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Terese of the Ark
by Terese of the Ark

I bought this vacuum because I have two dogs, a cat, a guinea pig and a pet rat to keep up with. The rotary upholstery tool did not work very well-it seemed like a lot of power got lost between the motor on the vacuum and the motor on the tool-which made the tool pretty darn useless. My daughter tried to use the vacuum to clean up the shavings around the guinea pig cage without success because there is a serious design flaw in the suction line-several 90 degree turns in the hose and other places where stuff can get stuck-and continuously does. It seems that I spent more time trying to discover where the latest 'stuck area' was on the intake line and trying to reach this area with a long brush, a hanger and whatever else I could find, than actually vacuuming. It does say 'Pet Vacuum' but hardly works for any real pet messes or issues. Worst [$] I ever spent. From now on, I check every vacuum I buy to make sure there is a short, straight, direct line from the pick-up area to the deposit bag area. That should solve this problem. You would think engineers would know this when they design something. duh.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/19/2012

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase but we appreciate the feedback and would like to help you solve this issue as quickly as possible! Please call our Customer Care Department so we can learn more about the problem. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Terese of the Ark
Fenton, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Probably my last Hoover...
3/31/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been buying Hoover vacuums for years, but after buying this one, designed for pet hair, it will probably be my last.  I was willing to overlook the "no headlight", no big deal.  The attachment hose is so tight, its a struggle to keep it stretched out, and you have to have the vac right next to whatever you want to use the hose for. The power cord being so low on the vac is annoying also.  I am constantly pulling it out of the way, or accidentally running over it.  Should be higher up.  I've only had this one for a few months, and now there appears to be a clog somewhere, the attachment tools no longer work, and I can hear more air coming from somewhere, suction is being cut off. I've cleaned the canister twice, and thats a messy chore also. No matter where I remove the canister, I will be dusting and vacuuming that area again too. Bad design all the way around.

Comment from Ian McCormick - 4/2/2013

Hi Deetay, We appreciate your concerns and want you to know that we are here to help. There is a cord hook located on the handle of the handle grip that should keep the electrical cord out of your way during use. Just pull the cord our and "clip" a piece of the cord in. Use of the machine should be considerablty of more ease. There is a optional longer 16 foot hose that you can purchase on Hoover.com for above floor cleaning. It is very affordable and may be a better fit to your needs at home. http://hoover.com/parts/details/304079001/upper-hose-assy-16ft/ As far as your concers about a potential blockage, the first thing we may want to check is the system check indicator (the little green window on the side of the dirt cup lid). If this window turns red, when the unit is running, you likely have a blockage in your airway. It may be your rinsible filter, or possibly the main flexible hose that wraps around the back of the vacuum. Here's a video to help you out with that. Please feel free to contact us with anymore questions or concerns. Thanks so much. http://hoover.com/products/details/uh70210/t-series-windtunnel-pet-rewind-bagless-upright/

An anonymous customer
Council Bluffs, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Well designed and rugged for home use UH70210
9/6/2016

Customer review by Redwoodturtle

5.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Redwoodturtle
by Redwoodturtle

I bought this over 7 years ago and today is the first day I have had to replace the belt. Having kept it clean, washing the washable filter regularly and emptying it after each go through the house it is on to its second dog. It cleans my laminate floors, oriental carpets and wall to wall carpeting well. I only knew the belt needed replacing when I saw the brush stopped turning whenever I pulled back as I swept the carpets. Keep making them Hoover they make having Australian Cattle Dogs easy, at least in the hair removal task.

Redwoodturtle
NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
May not work well in my household.
1/29/2014

Customer review by Snowyali

3.0 stars 1/29/2014 by Snowyali
by Snowyali

I'm curious as to who you have test these "pet" vacuums. When I read the reviews, most people have 2-3 pets and the vacuum works great for them. I have 13 cats and so far it's not working "great". It does an adequate job but one of my cats has very fine kitten fur and it doesn't pick up on the first swipe of the vacuum. This vacuum also does not pick up all the kitty litter that gets scattered on the carpet. Most of my vacuums last 6 months or less. I've only had this one for a few days. I guess we'll see how it holds up. I was also a bit upset that when I got it, the belt was not attached and I had to put the belt on. The bottom of the vacuum was not attached either. The one thing I do like is that even though it weighs 17 lbs. or so, it is very easy to use. I like that because I have back problems and most vacuums are very hard for me to use.

Snowyali
San Antonio, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 466 total reviews
1-20 of 466 reviews