Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

139 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

139 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 123 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Great device for the money.
7/18/2011

Customer review by Sam238

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Sam238
by Sam238

This usb adapter performs just as described in the manufacturer's description. Couldn't be much easier to set up. Install the drivers and software from the packaged cd and plug it in and go. I am currently using it only with a 54g router but it performs well. I purchased this adapter due to the other user reviews and the fact that it is backward compatible with older wireless routers and will work with my future purchase of an "N" router. I recommend using this with a usb extension cable if using for a desktop or fixed device (i.e. not a laptop) so that you can get the adapter into a suitable area to pickup the best signal and signal strength. I have mine attached to a bedroom desktop with a usb extension cable placing it about half way up a wall to get the best signal. Great product for the money and has not given me any trouble since installation over a month ago. It picks up signals from other access points around the neighborhood my old adapter did not showing it has great ability to catch far signals.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sam238
Tulsa OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
9/29/2010

Customer review by tibbidytabbidy

5.0 stars 9/29/2010 by tibbidytabbidy
by tibbidytabbidy

I was very skeptical when purchasing this item because every other wireless adapters with similar capabilities were far more expensive. I live in an apartment where free wifi is offered, so I was worried it would not reach my apartment. I couldn't be happier. I can stream netflix, download music/software, and browse with ease and speed. Buy this adapter!

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tibbidytabbidy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get what you pay for in this case
8/20/2011

Customer review by TxSage

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by TxSage
by TxSage

I had hoped to take advantage of "N" capabilities on the cheap. The product came and software installation was performed. After a reboot the system recognized the network and gave an excellent signal strength, although no different from my "G" adapter. Speed was the same at 54 mb, so I wondered what the advantage was. Then the system could not recognize my Linsys router. No matter what I did, the efforts were fruitless. The bare bones startup guide was useless and referred the reader to the website, cnet.com/tw, which doesn't exist. The cnet website has no information on the adapter and has not been reviewed by them. Hoping against hope, I tried the manual which is an option on the installation screen. No help in troubleshooting other than to try a different USB slot. No indication of the relevance of some fields located on the adapter/network profile was available. I'm being generous in giving 2 stars only because others have been successful. I'll spend a little more and go for a name brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TxSage
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Buy It. Great Price. Easy Installation.
9/9/2011

Customer review by Chipmonkey

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by Chipmonkey
by Chipmonkey

I bought this to set up wirelessly a 5 year old Dell desktop running Windows XP 32 Bit. I'm using a Linksys Wireless G Router. The setup was flawless and the adapter was online the first time. Be sure to install the software before plugging the adapter in for the first time and follow the setup instructions precisely. Meter shows a full 54MB speed. Although this adapter is wireless N it easily was backward compatible to my Wireless G. router. Some questioned if it will work for Windows 7. The box states that it does. I ordered this to be delivered to my Walmart store free. I ordered it at night and on the third day it arrived at my local store via Fedex. Easy to track online with Walmart's Fedex tracking. I was looking for a economical way to place my older computer online for the Grandkids without being hardwired. Wireless is the only way to go, for anything. This adapter is priced right, works right, easy to set up and I would recommend it to anyone. Best price on this item anywhere. It works right.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chipmonkey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple to go wireless
12/15/2010

Customer review by Amabell

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by Amabell
by Amabell

I wanted to see if my old XP computer could go wireless but without an expensive adapter. I ordered the Cnet adapter for $15. I plugged it into the usb slot and within 5 mintes I followed the 4 directions given and it is now wireless. Easy directions and it doesn't cost alot. Now I can buy a wireless printer and have 3 computers share it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amabell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
mis lead
12/4/2010

Customer review by shirltressler

2.0 stars 12/4/2010 by shirltressler
by shirltressler

i would recommend this product if your not using windows 7 this product does not support windows 7 dont be fooled i waited all day for this adapter to be shipped to my house was so disappointed when i found out it wasn't compatible.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shirltressler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Deal
8/6/2010

Customer review by NewtoWireless

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by NewtoWireless
by NewtoWireless

Thanks to the Verizon Rep, I was able to find this product, and not over pay for this item. It was about $10 less on-line, but not available in the store. Walmart associates were very helpful, and very surprised this was available. No technological issues. It works great!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewtoWireless
Meadowview, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good performance, but....
11/20/2010

Customer review by offrdguy

4.0 stars 11/20/2010 by offrdguy
by offrdguy

I was supriesed to recieve the product 5 days ahead of schedule. The device works good once you find the latest drivers from the mfr and have no wireless on your computer, but if you are looking for fast internet speed, go with a broadband device. I was a little disappointed to learn that it dosent matter if you have 802.11g at 150Mbps or 80211.n at 150, 300 or 450Mbps, you are still going to transmit at 54 Mbps unless you are transmitting to another computer with 802.11n and 300mbps, otherwise your stuck at 54mbps for internet speed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
offrdguy
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great price for N connectivity
9/10/2010

Customer review by ybnvsbu

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by ybnvsbu
by ybnvsbu

The USB adapter installed easily and works well with my D-Link 615. My desktop is approximately 20 feet from router separated by two interior walls-connection rate is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ybnvsbu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap/Simple/Fast
7/16/2011

Customer review by Dobsonian

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by Dobsonian
by Dobsonian

Wifi died on my wife's PC and based on web feedback the only real fix was a USB wifi device. Looked all over the web and in several stores but they were expensive or poorly made. I saw this and some reviews and opted to go this direction. Loaded the drivers, inserted the device, found my wireless access point SSID and entered the WEP key, the PC now has wireless again. Wish the form factor was a drop smaller but it's no larger than a USB memory stick and the length probably accounts for the great reception with a DLS Router/Switch 2 floors away.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dobsonian
Andover, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap, but awkward
10/19/2010

Customer review by knetworx

3.0 stars 10/19/2010 by knetworx
by knetworx

It's a very cheap way to get wireless-N connectivity, but its awkward design made it pretty useless to me. My laptop has three USB inputs. One is next to the power cord, the other two are next to each other on the other side. This adapter is very wide, so not only was it unable to fit next to the power cord, but when I put it in one of the other two slots, the body of the adapter blocked the slot next to it. It's also long and floppy, so it doesn't feel very stable in the USB slot. I'm not sure how well it would stay in if I tried to put my laptop on my lap. Unfortunately I can't test that out because I already returned it. If your USB slots are stacked instead of side-by-side, and not in a location where this adapter would get in the way of anything, then I'd say it's a good deal. Otherwise, I'd recommend a more compact design.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knetworx
Urbana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good product, great price
8/9/2011

Customer review by Boss10101010

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Boss10101010
by Boss10101010

Installed per instructions. Had connection problems until I figured out that I needed to disable the lan connection on the Network Connections screen that I normally use with an ethernet cable. This was NOT in the instructions or online help. So far it's working great after that problem was resolved. Have not moved my PC to its new location so the range hasn't been checked yet (currently sitting next to WIFI router). Speeds seem ok; using an older Dell with XP.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boss10101010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
6/9/2010

Customer review by papa3131

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by papa3131
by papa3131

Good product. Meets my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papa3131
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works real well no hasles......
8/29/2010

Customer review by bulldzr

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by bulldzr
by bulldzr

connects to my wireless router real well with no problems...... i made sure i downloaded the newest drivers before i put in the system.... drivers are realtek. that chipset i like a lot so i know it is going to do me real awesome for connections......

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bulldzr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unbelievable Range, killer price!
9/11/2011

Customer review by carvakaguru

5.0 stars 9/11/2011 by carvakaguru
by carvakaguru

My HTPC in my bedroom about 4 rooms and 1 floor away from my main wifi router would barely show 1-2 bar of signal with its internal wifi and give me only about 1-2MBps speed max. I did quiet a bit of research and decided on the alfa series which is suppose to be the best. Only thing it was about $40 which I think was steep. While researching online this one seemed to have good reviews too and was 1/3rd the cost so thought it wont hurt to try it out. After all its walmart, I can always walk in and return it. :-) Well I won't need to do that. This thing is amazing! Just plugged it in and bam within a couple of minutes (of auto installation of drivers etc) my HTPC showed wifi connection with a full signal and consistently gives about 12-13 MBps (not bad on a 15MBps FIOS connection). I was seeing wifi networks in my neighbourhood that I have never seen before (10 - 12 different ones!!!). I can finally use my HTPC to stream netflix in HD without any stutter, I can access my movie collection on my NAS and play it in full HD in my bedroom. Not sure why anyone would pay more for a usb wifi adapter. This IMHO is an amazing device and for the price it is a no-brainer. Walmart as always ROCKS!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carvakaguru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/2/2011

Customer review by donnadu

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by donnadu
by donnadu

I was very hesitant to buy this as the price was so low and never heard of the brand, It works excellent, much faster than the belkin i had. Instant access to internet. LoveIt!! I actually had read the reviews before i bought it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnadu
Boston Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
handy, small wireless internet USB drive.
7/19/2011

Customer review by sas56

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by sas56
by sas56

This was only 12 or 13 dollars, and only took a few minutes to load onto my computer. I haven't had any problems with it at all. It does stick out a little further than a regular USB flash drive, but is less than 3 inches.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sas56
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
7/31/2011

Customer review by hotleenie

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by hotleenie
by hotleenie

Although I had to do site to store (as my local Walmart only sells expensive electronics) the wireless adapter works great in Ubuntu!!!!!! I would recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotleenie
Starke, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible on older computers.
6/3/2011

Customer review by Sianide

3.0 stars 6/3/2011 by Sianide
by Sianide

I got this a few weeks ago, worked fine on my newer windows 7 pc that i just got rid of. Had to switch to my old computer so i plugged this thing in. The computers slow already but this didnt help on the internet. Made my high speed internet seem 10 X slower! Thought it was my computer but as soon as i unplugged it and installed the wireless card i found for the pc the internet speed went right back up. Computer hasnt changed still the same thing! So if your using a new computer this product is great! Dont want to get rid of your old computer just yet? I wouldnt recommend this for a pc with lower than 256 MB of RAM. Haven't tested this on anything higher.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sianide
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
well... it works
11/29/2010

Customer review by R00sta

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by R00sta
by R00sta

this thing took forever to get installed. i used the drivers on the disk and wasnt happy with the performance. so i downloaded the newest drivers and got even worse performance, so i switched back to the old drivers. im running windows xp, and after alot of testing i opted not to install the adapters internet application and instead use windows' own internet program. i still dont get full download speed, but still better than my old G adapter(slightly), and also better ping times. im only 20ft. max from the router, with one wall. i would prob. try a different adapter if i had to do it over again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R00sta
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews