Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-11 of 11 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Ozark Trail Single Mantle Lantern
5/27/2011

Customer review by JT562

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JT562
by JT562

Paid $10 online for two of these lanterns, because of their compact size. Initially I was a little underwhelmed by the light output, which is just less than as a 25w light bulb. I've tried experimenting by changing out the mantles to see if there would be any improvement in the output. Coleman #51 mantles shrank too much at initial burning and did not work well at all, producing less light than the original factory mantle. I settled for Century Model 2295 mantles which formed a nice 1" ball shape after burning. You actually don't get much more light by turning up the gas, just a very warm light. I think this is just a limitation of the design of this lantern. I found that I had to adjust the gas dial quite near the OFF position to find a sweet spot which gave me a whiter glow on the mantle, with an optimal light output at the same time. Turning up the gas just turns the light warmer, but not necessarily any brighter. The "sweet spot" is in a very low output setting on the dial control, which resulted in making this lantern extremely economical to use. The Piezo starter is very handy, and the lantern lights first time, every time. I would recommend this lantern to compliment a full size lantern, as it's output may be too limited as your only source of light.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JT562
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
2/25/2011

Customer review by tweeter80

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by tweeter80
by tweeter80

the best 10 bucks you can spend on emergency lighting.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tweeter80
baltimore, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Enough for Back Country Camping.
6/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Gives a bright glow enough to cook by and to see for a safe distance. Not super bright but consider its size. The mantles take a little patience to put on because the globe is so small. I used Coleman size 51 mantles and they worked well and are durable. The gasflow adjustment knob worked smoothly. Easy to operate. I bought to use for backcountry camping and I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
not very bright !
8/29/2010

Customer review by 1oldfart

2.0 stars 8/29/2010 by 1oldfart
by 1oldfart

It gives off about as much light as a 20 watt light bulb.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1oldfart
antioch ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ozark Propane Lantern
9/2/2010

Customer review by Luvdogz1

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Luvdogz1
by Luvdogz1

Love this little guy! So much easier to take along than the big Coleman one we have! Gives great light for one mantle! Glad we bought it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvdogz1
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great value lantern
4/22/2011

Customer review by linux13440

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by linux13440
by linux13440

We use these lantern in our scout troop. We replaced the coleman 2 burners because the globes were always breaking. These small globes are quite thick and take a beating and don't break. Goodbye coleman.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linux13440
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
most awesome lantern i have owned
9/6/2010

Customer review by thekidnewyork

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by thekidnewyork
by thekidnewyork

i love it so much i bought 2 more and got rid of my big name brand lantern that failed me - would buy this lantern again but don't think i will ever need another it is so nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thekidnewyork
walworth ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Decent Small Lantern
1/26/2011

Customer review by ChicagoShop4less

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by ChicagoShop4less
by ChicagoShop4less

I bought this lantern for only $10. No product can bit this price. It is claimed to be 300 lumen. I think it is close to, but not that much. It is quite compact and bright, although I expect smaller and brighter. It is very convenient with the clickie ignition. The cartridge it needs is the cheaper type of propane, so save money too. I love this lantern.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoShop4less
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not impressed
11/28/2012

Customer review by magistooshort

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by magistooshort
by magistooshort

yes its a single mantle not a double so i expected half the output of my dbl mantle lanterns. half would have been impressive. . . .heck 1/3 the light would be ok...but its maybe a 1\4. 2 candles do about the same. the only reason to use propane is for it's power. might as well use a cheap battery job , they are just as bright. oh yeah, the snap down top just pops open if you hang it from the chain. poor product. get something else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magistooshort
newark nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not so good.
5/11/2011

Customer review by Fadac

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by Fadac
by Fadac

This a small lamp that sits on a full size fuel bottle. No real saving is weight then. Also not very bright. It feels like the mantle is not really getting all of the fuel it needs. It's sort of a bright red, rather than blinding white like most gas lanterns. Also am not sure that the proper mantle is available at Wall-Mart. Don't buy this, spend a bit more and get a good one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fadac
La Plata, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
12/17/2011

Customer review by nightglo

1.0 stars 12/17/2011 by nightglo
by nightglo

A very cheap version of the Coleman perfect flow lantern, nowhere near as bright and very flimsy. Must be more $ made on this model then the Coleman. They don't carry the Coleman so I'd advise finding a store that does.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nightglo
Would recommend to a friend? No