Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

50 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

50 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

34%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
31
1-20 of 48 total reviews
34%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Very cheap, and totally unreliable
7/12/2010

Customer review by Gumyroach

1.0 stars 7/12/2010 by Gumyroach
by Gumyroach

My brother and his wife invited me to go camping with them. They said they had just bought a camp stove, and that I wouldn't need to bring mine. Yes, there is such a thing as wanting to save some money if you're on a tight budget, but sometimes you do get what you pay for. This camp stove was a complete JOKE! Just like others had mentioned, it worked fine the first time we used it. After that, it worked very inconsistantly. The burners wouldn't stay lit, and when they would finally light, the flames were inconsistant. One minute the burners would barely hiss and you couldn't even see the flames, the next minute, WHOOSH! All this without making any adjustments to the control knobs. It finally quit working altogether. At first we thought maybe the propane tank was empty. We swapped the tank with a new one, but had the same problem; We couldn't get it to stay lit. So we settled for potato chips and cookies instead of a cooked meal. I'll take my old, trusty Coleman gas camp stove any day over this piece of garbage. I'm glad this was just a simple weekend camping trip, and that we brought snacks along, otherwise we would have been very hungry. My advice is when it comes to camping gear, don't go with the cheapest thing you can find. Spend the extra money and invest in some reliable gear.

Was this review helpful? (52) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gumyroach
Salt Lake City, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Does NOT work!!!!
7/16/2010

Customer review by pperrone

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by pperrone
by pperrone

Purchased this stove for our camping trip today to replace the 30+ year old Coleman stove that I had trouble lighting. Upon my wife's suggested I tested the product. I could not get it to light. Followed the instructions to the letter, but still no flame. Decided to try to clean the old Coleman. After cleaning, we have a WORKING 30+ year old Coleman camp stove. Do not purchase the Ozark Trail 2-Burner Camp Stove.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pperrone
Eustis, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Don't Buy!
7/13/2010

Customer review by SupperSailorGirl

1.0 stars 7/13/2010 by SupperSailorGirl
by SupperSailorGirl

Bought this stove for a camping trip as our sole cooking source. Took it home, threw out the box and packed it up for our trip. First time I tried to use the stove it wouldn't light, no matter what I did. Luckily there wasn't a burn ban and we ended up cooking on an open fire. Now I'm stuck with a brand new stove that won't light. Very undependable, piece of garbage. Don't Buy It!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SupperSailorGirl
Seattle Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very bad product
7/5/2010

Customer review by erinecat

1.0 stars 7/5/2010 by erinecat
by erinecat

lighted well the first time and never work again! after a exchange for a new one, the same thing happen again! don't buy this stove, you will regret it especially if you depend on it in a remote place like me the first time! I had to build a fire everyday to cook!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
erinecat
trapper creek AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Junk
7/7/2010

Customer review by lesbal

1.0 stars 7/7/2010 by lesbal
by lesbal

Had the stove ready to go in the camper for 2 months, never took it out of the box until we went camping last week. Set it up and used ONE time, after that it would not work, pretty much ruined our camping trip as there was no Wallmart around to exchange it! DON"T BUY IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lesbal
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Waste of money.
4/3/2011

Customer review by Tampa1979

1.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Tampa1979
by Tampa1979

i read the reviews and decided to take a chance anyway. Took the family camping this weekend. what a big mistake. I hooked up the propane tank and tuned it on to test before I began to cook dinner. It turned on with no problem. I turned it off to grab the pot and when I returned to turn it on, it wouldn't turn on. I tried turning both knobs, put a different propane tank, disconnected then connected again and nothing. Never turned back on. Pay the extra $20 and get one that works. We ended up cooking the food on the grill.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tampa1979
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Short Term use only!
10/16/2010

Customer review by case615

1.0 stars 10/16/2010 by case615
by case615

We have had the product for about 1-2 years, but only had used in about 10 times (if that) when day 2 of our week long vacataion sent us scrambling to the store for another stove..the Regulator would not work. We take very good care of our equipement to point it still looks brand new and ensuring proper usage and safety, yet it will be sent to the scrap pile. I have tried to find a part..no luck ANYWHERE.. Ultimately will be shopping elsewhere for a new stove, if your gonna sell a product, you should have a place to get replacement parts without hassle I was even willing to pay for it but now...not so much.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
case615
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/14/2010

Customer review by Genesis007

4.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Genesis007
by Genesis007

Good product and works great. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Genesis007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Thin durable
7/6/2010

Customer review by protorom

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by protorom
by protorom

This is thinner than most other dual burners out there. I like this one because it is thin and has a lot of cooking power. We have fried with this using a heavy pan and had no issues. Only thing missing is a flame starter/clicker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
protorom
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
4 years and works like new
2/14/2011

Customer review by pokechopsnapplesauce

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by pokechopsnapplesauce
by pokechopsnapplesauce

I've had no problems whatsoever with my Ozark Trail burner. It sets up and lights very easily. The flame adjusts just like the one in your house, but this does not self ignite. It folds into a small suitcase shape, holding the propane attachment inside. It's four years old as I've said, and maybe they've changed the design or builder, by the looks of these negative reviews. I don't know. But I've always found Ozark Trail gear to be no frills functional equipment. It's good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pokechopsnapplesauce
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
So far so good
7/17/2011

Customer review by Jeff10236

3.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Jeff10236
by Jeff10236

Well, I've owned this stove for a few years now, but when camping, I usually either go out to eat or cook on the fire so it was used for the first time this weekend. I forgot how fun and convenient using a camp stove can be (it is worth the extra bulk) and I plan to use it, or at least bring it as an option, on most of my future camping trips. I hadn't read the reviews and came on here expecting to write a terrific review: -Worked perfectly, lit easily, burned HOT- it boiled water faster than my home stove let alone any camp stove I've ever used. -It is a little flimsy, the metal feels thin, but that didn't seem to effect the performance. -Used it for 3 meals, so I am still on the first tank of fuel so I can't really address its efficiency yet. -Even though it is years old, it has only been used one weekend so I can't really address its durability yet, though the flimsy/cheap materials make me wonder on this point. I was going to give it 4 stars (perfect, even impressive, performance, docked one since I have long-term durability questions based on the cheap materials). Then I came here and read 13 1-star v. 3 4-star and 3 5-star reviews- that is 6 good reviews to 13 terrible reviews. That has me worried and for the loss of peace of mind I docked it another star. Before reading these reviews, I was impressed and I would have confidently brought this stove with me on future camping trips. Now, I still plan to bring it as long as it lasts, but I'm thinking about buying a Coleman or another well-rated camp stove to bring as a back-up for WHEN this one dies. My dad had a Coleman liquid fuel stove for 30 years which worked perfectly, though he finally sold it at a garage sale since he doesn't camp anymore. I know people with decades old propane Coleman stoves that work fine. Those I know I can trust, but it is too bad when you can't trust what you have to work. I checked "no" for recommend to a friend. Before I read the reviews, I would have checked "yes" based on my (limited) experience with it so far (in fact, earlier today I suggested it to my dad should he ever decide to get back into camping). However, the reality is, I would also consider the other reviews and with 68% of the reviews being horrible, with consistently the same issues, I really doubt I would ever suggest this to anyone again (even if it never gives me an issue).

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeff10236
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
You might get a couple trips out of it; Maybe
6/28/2012

Customer review by ChuckMc814

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by ChuckMc814
by ChuckMc814

My fiance bought one of these two years ago. The stove worked faily well for her on a couple of camping trips with the Boy Scouts and we used it on a trip last year, about this time. I'm very careful with my equipment, keep it clean and perform routine maintenance whenever needed. For example, I bought an MSR Dragonfly multi-fuel stove back in 1999 and have used it regularly, all over the country, in all kinds of weather and temperature extremes from triple digit dessert to below zero moutains; no problems. In February, we were on a trip in Cloudcroft, NM and just couldn't get this stove to stay lit. At first we figured the fuel bottle was empty, so we put a brand new one on. Same problem... Propane can sometime freeze in extreme cold, so I boiled some water with my Dragonfly to defrost the propane inside the bottle. Still no luck. I'm really glad we had my Dragonfly; took a little longer to cook breakfast with only the one burner, but it could have been a total disaster if this was our only stove in cold weather. As others have reported; the regulator went bad. Save your money and buy a better quality stove. Coleman makes a good quality propane one which this one is modeled after. If you don't mind handling liquid fuel, their white gas two burner stove is a better option but the propane version is very simple to use. The Ozark Trails products are fine for one or two uses, but know you will need to replace them after only a couple of uses. They are an inexpensive way to get started, but they will not last. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChuckMc814
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awful, do not buy!!!
5/29/2012

Customer review by schwabiewife

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by schwabiewife
by schwabiewife

My husband and I bought this stove last summer, used it once or twice. Went to use it this weekend and I remembered how much I disliked it. It takes FOREVER to cook something.... It's ridiculous. You would think with all these bad reviews they would fix it or quit carrying it. So, we are now in the market for a new stove... Don't waste your money on this, spend another $20-$30, you will be glad you did....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schwabiewife
E. Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Worthless garbage
5/5/2012

Customer review by Amessnger

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Amessnger
by Amessnger

My husband and I are hardcore campers. We bought this to replace and old camp stove. The price looked really good so we bought it. We used it 4 times on a 3 day trip, and were very disappointed. The burners did light fine, but one kept going out. We would have to relight it multiple times when trying to cook. It was not a wind problem, it just wouldn't stay lit. Second issue we had was that one burner cooks at a different temperature than the other. It was just cheap stuff, and we decided to return it as soon as possible and get a Coleman.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amessnger
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Compact and easy to use
9/6/2011

Customer review by MistressOfTheThreads

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by MistressOfTheThreads
by MistressOfTheThreads

Doesn't take up much room and works almost as good as my gas stove at home. Flame control is very consistent. Had pancakes for breakfast all 3 days of our camping trip and none of them were burned!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MistressOfTheThreads
Blue Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
great stove
4/6/2012

Customer review by calvinw

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by calvinw
by calvinw

we just bought this camping stove and used it , its a great stove for the price !!! i have no idea why so many bad reviews about this camping stove ..the one we bought works perfect we also bought the coleman 5' hose to connect to a 5 gal. propane tank , the coleman hose fits the ozark trail stove

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calvinw
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9/3/2011

Customer review by YouCanToo

4.0 stars 9/3/2011 by YouCanToo
by YouCanToo

I guess I have been lucky with this product, seeing all the negative reviews. I use this product all the time for camping. It has always worked and worked well. I have used it from the beach to the high mountains. It has not failed me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YouCanToo
Lebanon, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bad Regulator
10/1/2011

Customer review by vtbrownjs

2.0 stars 10/1/2011 by vtbrownjs
by vtbrownjs

I used this stove on 3 camping trips without any problems. It worked great. Then on the 4th trip, I tried to light it and found the tank empty. I put on a new tank and it started venting at the connection - the seal had broken inside. So the stove itself works great. The regulator is the problem. I've seen a bunch of other comments about bad regulators on Ozark Trails stoves, so this is probably par for the course. I tried to find a replacement online, but apparently, they don't sell them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vtbrownjs
Berlin, VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Cheap
10/26/2010

Customer review by moeshow22

1.0 stars 10/26/2010 by moeshow22
by moeshow22

I bought this home and tested it. No problems out of the box but when I pulled it out a month later to go over my pre-camping checklist, it didn't work. I went and got a Coleman and it works fine. Spend the extra money so you won't be stuck. I've had other products from Ozark Trail and they are fine but the stove is a no go.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moeshow22
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Regualtor pipes fail quickly.
6/20/2011

Customer review by Gllarm

1.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Gllarm
by Gllarm

We used the Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove on one camping trip. Then, we planned to use it for 6 days in Yellowstone. We tested it before we left. By the time we arrived in Yellowstone, the regulator pipe failed. We purchased another Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove without the wind guards at a local camping store. It lasted 5 days. The regulator pipe failed again. The paperwork that came with the stoves said "DO Not return to the store". So, we called Ozark Trail. They weren't any help. Thankfully, we were able to return the 2nd stove to the local camping store, and Walmart refunded my money for the first. I'm glad I had my little electric hot pot to back up my TWO Ozark Trail stoves.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gllarm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews