Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 55 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
excelent value
10/24/2010

Customer review by gbyyucygfrewuygdguy

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by gbyyucygfrewuygdguy
by gbyyucygfrewuygdguy

excellent value..trackphone double min. great quality product.very pleased in all respects. What would we do without WalMart

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gbyyucygfrewuygdguy
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
It works!
12/14/2010

Customer review by Ottomanners

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Ottomanners
by Ottomanners

Couldn't believe that this $20 phone actually offered me more than just talking and texting. I know it is a bit more expensive than the cheapest tracfones out there. But I thought that was because it looked so much better then the other tracfone cellphone options. That's mostly why I chose this phone. The fact that it looked good, and it already came with double minutes for life included with the phone, which makes any of the tracfone plans very cheap. So the phone has a vga camera, which is alright. My only gripe is that it doesn't have a flash for taking photos at night. The blue tooth works real well to compliment the cameras files. Transferring them to a computer, or someone else's phone never proved to be a problem. The talking, and texting is very good. But saying that it needs mentioning that I used to have a phone that was really really bad at picking up signal, and have conversations with. I suppose I'm just massively relieved that this phone works.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ottomanners
Bowie, ML
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Two thumbs up for Tracfone
10/15/2010

Customer review by TouringPro

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by TouringPro
by TouringPro

Alas, circumstances change and I just went the other way, back to a contract. I used Tracfone for the past 5 years and was very pleased with the phones, features and services. I travel extensively and it was quite rare to find a place I couldn't use it and that was due to no signal available from any provider (Tracfone piggybacks on other providers). I'm here now to purchase one as a gift that I know will be greatly appreciated. Depending on where, how and when you buy airtime, your cost to talk should be around 11-13 cents per minute. Texts cost 1/3 of a minute each, in or out bound. Either is an excellent value for low volume users like me. If you're purchasing a phone for a chatty teenage girl or you talk/text like one, you might be better off with a prepaid unlimited plan available from Walmart but through different providers.

Was this review helpful? (86) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TouringPro
Nationwide, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great, but read on if you use the alarm...
1/12/2011

Customer review by NoWallyFan

4.0 stars 1/12/2011 by NoWallyFan
by NoWallyFan

A number of TracFone LG420G users have discovered a bug that seems to be related to using the Alarm and Calendar Reminder feature of the phone. The one reviewer here who reported 18 hours of battery life probably has encountered this exact bug. On at least SOME LG420G phones, if you set an Alarm and then stop it before it rings to completion (60 seconds), the phone get 'stuck' and the key backlight and screen backlights remain at full brightness all the time, regardless of Power Save settings. At full brightness, the battery is discharged within 24 hours or less, instead of standby times of 10 days or longer. Once this condition is encountered, the phone may also 'hang' when powering it back on, and never get to the main screen. Removing the battery for at least an hour and up to 8 hours restores the phone to 'normal' behavior. Letting the alarm ring through the full cycle (60 seconds) before turning it Off in the Alarm settings seems to prevent the problem. Search for the phrase 'LG 420G on the blink--any suggestions?' in your favorite search engine to find a pretty thorough discussion of the problem in another user forum not affiliated with either TracFone or this store.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoWallyFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love this phone
11/19/2010

Customer review by mktgGirl

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by mktgGirl
by mktgGirl

this is a great phone to use with TracFone. i haven't had any issues with reception and you can't beat the price. i have been using TracFone for 12 months now and have been totally happy with the price and quality...

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mktgGirl
orlando, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Deal
1/4/2011

Customer review by Doctor7

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by Doctor7
by Doctor7

Great phone for occasional use. No Contract - No surprises. Great service even in rural areas. Low cost plans for minutes - which never expire - no long term obligation. Previous Trac-phone still in use no problems after 2 years. Highly Recommend.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doctor7
Williamstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
pre-paid
9/2/2010

Customer review by Dbalok

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Dbalok
by Dbalok

This is a great little pre-paid phone. you can take and receive pictures on this phone. Down side, you can not take the sim-card from another Tracfone and place it in this phone. Tracfone sim cards are not interchangeable when up-grading to different phones. the sim card that comes with a Tracfone stays with that Tracfone.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dbalok
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a non-cell user
2/26/2011

Customer review by SeniorCrafter

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by SeniorCrafter
by SeniorCrafter

Purchased this trac fone because I do not want to have to pay for a cell phone monthly when I very warily use it! Have owned other trac fones and found them to be what I need. This one allows me to take pictures!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeniorCrafter
Springville, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lots of bang 4 the buck
2/23/2011

Customer review by Milwrkr

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Milwrkr
by Milwrkr

Bought the lg420g Bonus Pack for under $15.00. Came with a rather nice case, a car charger, and the usual wall charger. Also included Double Minute for life feature all part of the package...I have one issue with this phone, I find it hard to open while driving my car. I bought a blue tooth headset to fix this problem...One glitch is when you use the alarm the display stays on after you turn it off. I've found to turn the phone off and then back on the display will go back to normal standby mode...Good battery life so far. Not a bad phone for the price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Milwrkr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Say what you will...
11/22/2010

Customer review by DoogC

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by DoogC
by DoogC

Buying a snazzy mobile phone for $20 and adding time as required is the good side of globalization. This phone created no NA jobs but makes life a lot easier and less expensive. At least talk is cheap in the new economy!

Was this review helpful? (49) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoogC
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice cheap phone
9/3/2010

Customer review by Stackedguy

4.0 stars 9/3/2010 by Stackedguy
by Stackedguy

My contract was up and I was done with phone companies stealing my money so I went with Tracfone. I needed blutooth and a camera so I didn't mind paying $50 to buy the phone. With no start up or termination fee I felt competent that my investment with the LG 420G was sound. It is reliable and it has nice features plus I got double minutes for life!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stackedguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only an OK phone
8/28/2011

Customer review by jbphillips2001

2.0 stars 8/28/2011 by jbphillips2001
by jbphillips2001

I've owned a tracfone for 8 years and of the 3 units I've had, this is the only disappointment. I only use a cell phone for emergency use or when I'm well away from home or work and I depend on them to hold a standby charge for several days. This phone only stays charged for about a day on standby and then needs recharging. Tracfone actually advertises an unrealistic 23 days of standby so they are way off. I've returned the first LG420 due to freeze ups but it had the same battery life as the one I have now so I know it's probably not the battery. This phone also seems to struggle to get service in my house which my previous two phones did not. I have to be in exactly the right spot and sit there to get service with this one. Both the LG420 I returned and the one I have now had the same level of service. I had anywhere from 3 to 4 bars on my previous phone. I simply cannot recommend this phone due to the above since I know it won't have service in the odd places I go like National Parks that are pretty remote if I don't have service in my own house. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbphillips2001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/7/2010

Customer review by brad050

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by brad050
by brad050

Nice looking phone for tracfone other than that there is not to much to say about this phone its pretty basic. There are 2 things I do not like about this phone the 1st is the ringtones and w/e no big deal the 2nd is the battery and it is pretty bad. I get about 14 - 15 hours off a full charge and that is minimal to no usage. just the phone being on

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brad050
Would recommend to a friend? No
TracFone LG 420
2/1/2011

Customer review by TDDM

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by TDDM
by TDDM

I don't use a cell phone much, so I don't need a monthly plan. I like the camera accessory and the phone is very easy to use. The double minutes for life program is great and will give me a phone for just a few dollars a month!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDDM
Cape May NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Its a Great Deal
10/13/2011

Customer review by Consumerologists

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Consumerologists
by Consumerologists

The picture of it doesn't show how shiny black and attractive this is which is surprisingly durable. I'm hard on mobile phones and expect a lot because I know how they should operate and as a senior on a fixed income that can't have landline and cellular all the time like it should be, I want performance and high quality. It has a beautiful screen resolution and works like a far more expensive unit; the cameras great (I am highly picky) and after initially charging for about 14 hours it holds the juice very well. Longer than the specs said. It has many options for personal preferences, like larger very bright fonts, pleasant default ringtones and message alerts, fast connection (I'm rural) many more. I get daily heavy usage and rarely drop a call plus the double minutes probably work out to $30 every 50 days and I receive daily bank texts so its worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Consumerologists
Barstow, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/1/2011

Customer review by SSgtCal

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by SSgtCal
by SSgtCal

a VERY GOOD phone for the money. It was a hassle when I bought because the sim card was unuseable in my area but after I got a new card I love the phone!!!Plenty of minutes for such a cheap price!!! I work as a plasterer and it actually works even when it gets a little dusty -if i get it wet all i need to do it dry the battery and it works good.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSgtCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's nice BUT
11/10/2010

Customer review by Olmecatnight

3.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Olmecatnight
by Olmecatnight

Yeah for $20 I got this phone expecting no more than a talk , and texter. And that's fine, cause all I really need it for is talking and texting. It came with a very ordinary camera. Which suffices if all you want to do is take happy snappies of your friends, or even worse, your pets (!?) The blue tooth is the one feature to me that really stood out as eing the best thing of the phone - it never gave hassles, and file transfer between phone and desk top is easy. That worked well for my affinity for mp3's and playing tunes. If it wasn't for the fact that the battery was so bad, I might even still be using the phone as a source of music. But once using the blue tooth, and playing music, I could rest assured that I'd have to charge the phone again that same day. I did ask around about this, and was informed that maybe it's the screen that stays lit. And that the only was to get around this, was to switch the phone off, and then on again. This is one hassle that alienates me greatly. Other than the extra features, the basics are pretty ordinary too. Although I've never dropped a call, the call quality I've had has left a lot to be desired. Textin though, is good. There is no lag from the time of pushing the button, and the buttons themselves are well spaced and big. I know my little sister is going to be very pleased with this gift phone, as it is a step up from what she curently has. But for me, there are a lot more, much better tracfones out there.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Olmecatnight
Harvard, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love Tracfone
11/13/2011

Customer review by antilaura

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by antilaura
by antilaura

Even though when I put in my info the ad says that this phone won't work in my area, I have had a Tracfone for 10 years (which was my son's phone for 5 yrs before that!) It worked fine ALL ACCROSS the country on a road trip last summer. The microphone is finally wearing out and I will be buying a new Tracfone. All I need is the phone portion for occasional calls. No camera, no frills, no bells, no whistles. It is perfect for what I need.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antilaura
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone/great price/great company
2/22/2011

Customer review by FallenAngelStar

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by FallenAngelStar
by FallenAngelStar

The phone takes great pictures, is easy to use,and is backed by Tracfone, a wonderful company. I purchased this as a replacement, because my dog decided the old phone looked like a chew toy. The employees at Tracfone were really helpful in transferring my number, restoring my service time and minutes, and not laughing at me because the dog ate my phone. Not only would I purchase this product again, but I'm sticking with Tracfone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FallenAngelStar
Smithfield Twp, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good holiday gift idea
11/12/2010

Customer review by CarlJinFL

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by CarlJinFL
by CarlJinFL

I already bought 2 Tracfones for my mom and grandma. I have been worried a couple times and unable to reach them. They have not been interested in purchasing a cell phone, but I know they are going to like the Tracfone. It is cheap, reliable and they dont have to worry about paying another bill every month!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlJinFL
ft lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews