Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 880 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

880 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

880 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
540
4 stars
277
3 stars
39
2 stars
9
1 stars
15
1-20 of 727 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews
WOW! Great specs for the money!
12/25/2010

Customer review by ScottGreene

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by ScottGreene
by ScottGreene

I had been searching all over for the perfect laptop for my use (somewhat heavy multitasking, gaming, etc.) and just couldn't find the right one. Then I saw the Inspiron 15R and I knew it would be perfect. The processor is insanely fast (which means quick boot times), the hard drive is plentiful, and the Intel HD Graphics actually beat my desktop's ATI Radeon HD 4200 in the WEI (4.5 vs. 4.2). I think the function keys are great because I rarely have to use F1, F2, F3, etc. but always want to change the volume or turn off WiFi (when I'm on the road). The computer has very nice build quality but the one complaint I have is that the palm rests/lid catch fingerprints really easily. Besides that, this laptop is probably the best deal for the specs it comes with. I would highly suggest this to normal-to-heavy users!

ScottGreene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Glad i waited for this laptop!!!
6/24/2010

Customer review by FloridaRN1

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by FloridaRN1
by FloridaRN1

I have been shopping for laptop for a couple of months. I found this model on Wal-Mart.com on 06/21 and my local store in Union City,TN had it in stock. Well with specs like 4 gb ddr3, intel I-5 Processor, 640 gb hdd!, & for only $799. Only had for 4 days but was super easy setting up and connecting to my Netgear WNDR3700 Wireless-N router. Blazing fast. Highly reccomend. Store only has black but would have gotten blue if they had it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaRN1
42050
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dell Rocks !!!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Mohnish

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Mohnish
by Mohnish

I purchased N5010 with the following configuration: i5-450, 4GB RAM, 320 GB HD, 1 GB Dedicated Graphics Card. The windows rating it showed was 5.8(Thats low just because of my HD capacity i.e.320 GB and partly because of the rpm which is 5400. Anyways DELL doesnt allow to choose 7200 rpm for its Inspiron Model) Pros: 1. I got my system 2 days prior to the estimated delivery date. I got my system within 8 week days of placing the order 2. The design is just superb...I have fallen in love with system Cons: 1. Dell doesnt ship the OS DVD with the Model. Though the system allows to create recovery disk but what if i want to change the Hard disk partition by reinstalling Windows(i.e. formatting the hard disk). I dont want to keep just one partition. So Since the customers are purchasing the OS, i personally think DELL should start Shipping the OS DVD with the system or atleast keep the ISO image on the HD. Even that would do. Anyways as promised by DELL got a nice, powerful machine. Thanks DELL.

Mohnish
Mumbai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is our second Inspiron 15R
7/13/2011

Customer review by jcdist

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by jcdist
by jcdist

Pros - I already had an Inspiron 15R and was thrilled to see they were still available when my partner needed a new laptop. Her old Dell was dying, and she was concerned she would go into withdrawal if we didn't get a replacement soon. I ordered this system and it arrived two days later, so she was saved! Cons - I have had occasional "hangs" where the system will freeze up for a couple of minutes, but then everything returns to normal. This system is heavier than the 10" Dell Netbooks we used to travel with, but worth the extra power and screen size. I have purchased nothing but Dell computers for the last 10 years, both for home and business use. I wouldn't use anything else! We use them for hours each day and both love them. We use them for internet browsing, video streaming, Facebook, email, video and photo editing, publishing, webpage maintenance, Skype, word processing, spreadsheets and many other uses. We are currently visiting the Czech Republic and wouldn't have thought of leaving them behind.

jcdist
Tennessee - USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome value for money
12/10/2010

Customer review by AG

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by AG
by AG

I bought my Dell Inspiron 15R( i3 350m, 512 Mb Ati Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 4 Gb Ram, 320 Gb HDD, Windows 7 Home Premium) this August and Id say Its a pretty good machine. Ive recommended this to a few friends of mine and they all seemed to have agreed with me. This particular configuration can handle most games with reasonable ease. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare worked without a hitch with everything topped off, and Black Ops with everything topped off except anti-aliasing which was turned off. Mafia II worked in full and DiRT 2 in Medium settings. The laptop easily crunches Photoshop CS4 and almost everything thrown at it without struggling too much. However while gaming, it does heat up a fair amount, with the graphics card running at about 70 - 80 Degrees. The placement of all the ports are just perfect and the battery life as pretty good at about 3 hours as well. Overall a VERY GOOD BUY and highly recommended to anyone who wants fairly good performance at a budget. Kudos to Dell for coming up with something so great. :)

AG
India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Out of the box problems
2/3/2011

Customer review by FragileBuild

2.0 stars 2/3/2011 by FragileBuild
by FragileBuild

I had a Dell desktop computer run perfectly for over 8 years until the HD crashed last week. I decided to purchase a dell lap top and unfortunately have had a few problems in the week that I have owned it. The back left USB port is so poorly attached that the slightest movement of the lap top causes the external HD to loose connectivity which is not helpful when you are trying to backup your data. I then ran the hardware diagnostic that came with it and found that it has a HD error although the diagnostic was not entirely clear and simply stated I was supposed to contact Dell if the problem occured after a 2nd diagnostic run. The error was persistent. If you decide to purchase this lap top, go over it thoroughly b/c it might take a few tries until you find one that is made properly. During the streesful time of looking for a job, being bothered with problems after paying good money for a working computer is not what I expected.

FragileBuild
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspiron 15R-----An Awesome Laptop!!!
8/3/2010

Customer review by Ganesh NeshBoy

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Ganesh NeshBoy
by Ganesh NeshBoy

wow,inspiron 15R laptop really a fantastic laptop i had ever purchased...no problem with playing games totally, really smooth,and i will also use to do some college works like presentation,the MS 2010 really cool no problem with that,entertainment was the main atraction for me coz the sound system and videos really realistic,watching movies,playing latest games and etc,....mine is i5 proccesor,4GB ram,1Gb video card....but i see some reviews says this laptop is not better for gaming,but for me its excellent laptop for other works and also for GAMING, i 100% sure coz few day before i juz install the call of duty:modern warfare 2 game,really very smooth to play in this 15R inspiron laptops.... But one thing really gives me problem---the battery,only can stand for 2hr something like that... Totally this 15R inspiron laptop is an all in one machine,u can do anything with this laptop,but dont forget to bring charger together ...

Ganesh NeshBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid laptop for the price.
12/22/2010

Customer review by Someguyouteast

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Someguyouteast
by Someguyouteast

Purchased the laptop for use doing assignments and research while finishing my degree. The keyboard is fine for my use and I appreciate the number pad on the side. A little flex noted on the right side of the keyboard. The esata and hdmi ports are welcome. The touch pad is responsive and works well with no fuss. I installed Ubuntu linux and decided to keep the windows as a dual boot option rather than removing it entirely. Ubuntu 10.10 worked fine. Wireless and touchpad work fine. Restricted drivers needed for the wireless. The display on this laptop is very nice, I haven't tested the battery life. Speakers are adequate for basic use. The i3 processor and 4gb ram are more than adequate for my needs on this machine. I did encode a video using handbrake and was pleasantly surprised at the speed. I have the intel graphics and nexius a FPS played fine. The laptop is quite cool when not under load.

Someguyouteast
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 15R
6/15/2011

Customer review by LeeRS

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by LeeRS
by LeeRS

Bought my 15R a few months ago (end of December 2010). I read a lot of the reviews and different magazine reviews before buying this one to replace my 9 year old Dell Latitude. I love this computer and the operation of the computer!! I load a lot of programs and different components (label writer/postage scale/postage printer/printers (3) wireless & USB/separate scanner/both wireless & Bluetooth keyboards-mouses and it seems to be able to handle the items I use. The only "hiccup" that has occurred is the Bluetooth keyboard/mouse will disconnect once in a while. Maybe there is a fix out there that I have not checked out yet. I have had a few occasions I wish the screen was not "glossy" as a glare under certain conditions will make me need to tilt or turn the computer slightly. The 15.6" is plenty big for me, as I almost bought the 17' and that would have been too big for what I need.

LeeRS
Minnesota/Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a teacher
12/29/2010

Customer review by ESLTeacher

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by ESLTeacher
by ESLTeacher

I use my Inspiron 15r as a tool for my work, as well as to keep in contact with friends via Skype, play music and movies and also to sort through my pictures. So far so good- There are some definite nice features- the HD monitor and its composting really nice feature for viewing photos and movies. The stock speakers produce a nice crisp sound- though they do have a bit of treble, they do not sound like the music is coming from a tin can. The duel core processor is great for running music and downloading while doing work. The download and upload speed is outstanding. My only real qualm is that the battery life is a little short- but the problem is easily solved by buying a larger battery.- That in turn is the nice thing about Dell- most of their computers are highly customizable, so making sure that you have all the features that you want shouldn't be a problem (for a cost of course). If you're a computer gamer, graphic designer, animator or are running programs like autoCAD, this computer would probably not be the best option for you, but for the average pc user, I confidently recommend this product.

ESLTeacher
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron is a great choice
4/17/2011

Customer review by mrjk

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by mrjk
by mrjk

We bought the Inspiron to replace our family computer, a desktop that was about 6 years old. We wanted a laptop because of the size and portability, but it was also important that the laptop be able to handle the needs of our homeschooling family with processor speed and memory. On top of it all, we didn't want to spend a fortune. After looking around, we found just what we were looking for in the Ispiron. The computer functions well and has great features. Every member of our family loves it. The main downside that we have found is that the glossy exterior to the computer is hard to keep clean. The positives: it's lightweight and easily portable, good sized screen, easy to plug in for battery charges and USB port access, Windows 7, great processor speed, ability to customize, and is overall a great computer. I would definitely make this purchase again.

mrjk
Tennesse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheap and best
6/26/2010

Customer review by ajith

4.0 stars 6/26/2010 by ajith
by ajith

i brought this model two weeks before. it is the best model available below 35k, the display is superb, it gives 3 hr + battery backup if using word or excel, built quality and finish good, the keyboard area comes with metallic finish.it comes with a face recognition feature. i3 processor in just amazing. i even run three or four software at a time , it never hanged up till now.graphics performance is also good . no need to go for a dedicated graphics, if u are not using for extreme gaming, it nicely plays HD movies and NFS carbon-most wanted-undercover etc,the intel website itself says no need of a septate graphic hardware for i3,i5and i7 the the ddr3 ram gives a fast data transfer, the touch pad have a mac (i phone)like feature to use zoom features. sound quality is gud...dell service is also good they will immediately send the order conformation as soon as they got the online fund, soon they send a estimated date of delivers, i got the laptop 4 days before the estimated date of delivery, but the online order status in not updated correctly,,,i do not come with a CD of windows 7....tks and rgrds to dell for such a nice model

ajith
india
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
15R for gamers (Function Keys are pain)
5/3/2011

Customer review by Larik

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by Larik
by Larik

Bought the laptop on 24th of april , came within a week. well packaged,good looking. turned it on and straight away turned on task manager to take a glance at the processes,and load (ram/cpu) ram load was 2.0 which is not good at all, so i went in to control panel/add remove program. found out that Dell installing alot of unnecessary stuff on the system lately, so i just reinstaled a fresh windows 7 ultimate. now my memory usage is 1.4 without dell provided programs/tweaks/agents and helpers. The laptop is fast and dont overheat! cooling system is very good. one disappointed thing that i found through my usage is FunctionKeys (Fn) f1-12 keys are made as function keys. you actually have to press and hold FN to use f1-12 otherwise you will brighten up your desktop/volume up or turn off your wireless. this gives me a hard time while playing.

Larik
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value workhorse for the price
6/22/2011

Customer review by BlueMags

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by BlueMags
by BlueMags

I bought this as a replacement for my four year old Inspiron E1505. The good news: performance wise, it is on par with my old laptop, not better but about the same. The screen is clear, the battery life is a little better than the other and so far (3 weeks after purchase) I am having less problems with Windows 7 than I had with Vista. It boots up fast and looks good. The bad news: nothing much to report other than the keyboard feels a little cheap, the keys clack although its perfectly functional, the sound is average (although one reviewer on CNET gave a solution for this). I would recommend this laptop if you want a solid workhorse rather than a speedy game player. Overall I think it is great value for money. As far as longevity goes, I will have to wait and see if it is half as reliable as my E1505 which is still going strong.

BlueMags
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value for money
6/2/2011

Customer review by JP Sinha

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by JP Sinha
by JP Sinha

I had to choose for a good laptop and that too as fast as possible, as my a decade old Compaq Presario running on a Pentium Mobile Pentium Processor failed due to motherboard failure. There were numerous options. Lots of retailers had their own opinion for each brand. But at the end I had to follow my heart and instincts and choose a Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop running on Intel Core i3 Processor. Coming from my decade old compaq, the machine was fast thanks due to the fast intel processor. However the build quality does not feel classy, with use of glossy & cheap plastics on the bezels. My 3 months old laptop had already suffered minor scratches et al which looks awful. Dell should try using a matte finish instead of glossy finish as it retains its looks for years as my old lappy did. OVERALL A EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY..

JP Sinha
Guwahati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
User's Take on Dell Inspiron 15R
7/1/2011

Customer review by Viatrophy

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Viatrophy
by Viatrophy

Dell Inspiron 15R is perfect for anyone- from the oldest person to the youngest- in any family. It is a high performing machine that you get for cheap. It is easy to use, comfortable, and a necessity for everyone. The cons of the laptop is that the screen size is not enough. The quality of the games or videos is really good which makes one realize that a bigger screen would have been perfect. Also, I prefer a larger keyboard (which I could have had if the screen was bigger). Now coming to the pros...well, it is just perfect. Nothing can beat the laptop. It is just too good. The configuration that I bought was not the best one, but it was the ideal one for the price. Dell has done a great job. I regret though that I bought the laptop earlier because now 15R comes with much better config with much better price.

Viatrophy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent!!
6/11/2011

Customer review by Musica22

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by Musica22
by Musica22

I bought the Lotus Pink model at christmas, and so far it has been excellent!! Being a teenager myself, I highly recommend it for other young people. Pros: The battery life is exactly as described, with at least 4 hours of charge on the 6-cell battery, after only a couple of hours charging. The webcam is great and although the speakers aren't that good, the quality of sound through headphones is superb. The laptops graphics are brilliant, and videos always look good on it. The outer casing is very resistant to scratches .etc. and the design is perfect. Cons:None Overall, I would recommend this to everyone as it is easy to use, even though the touchpad could take a little getting used to if you don't use it often. The keyboard is very high-spec along with everything else and i'm so glad i bought it!!

Musica22
England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
5/25/2011

Customer review by mrw17

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by mrw17
by mrw17

Purchased this 15R laptop as a desktop replacement about 3 weeks ago. We use it for internet, email, i-Tunes, word processing, and spreadsheets. Overall, we are very pleased with it. I got the i3 processor, 3GB RAM, 320GB hard drive, Windows 7 Home Premium Edition, Office Home and Student. Pros: - Solid feel. - Keyboard is a big improvement over the Inspiron 1525. Nice feel, solid. - Sleek appearance. - Fast processing speeds. - Quiet fan. - Great display (clean, crisp, vibrant colors). - Windows 7 (WAY better than Vista). - Easy set-up. - Quick delivery. - Reasonable price. Cons: - The number pad is a little small for big hands. It's fine for normal-sized fingers. It's workable and just takes a little getting used to. - I got the 6-cell battery. Would recommend getting the 9-cell battery instead.

mrw17
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bible of all Laptops !
6/18/2011

Customer review by ProudDelluser2011

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by ProudDelluser2011
by ProudDelluser2011

I have been using Other Brand laptops and decided to buy a new one since I needed speed , ease of use and - No surprises during presentations – plus My lack of technical background where I really wanted a laptop that is hassle free ! A friend of mine recommended Dell for me. He has been using Dell for a very Long time and showed me his own laptop and ran a demo on it. After using Dell for the past seven Months , I can say that : if you are looking for a reliable ,fast , user friendly and tech-hassle free laptop then it’s “ Dell” – . Regular – ordinary – users without Technical background who are the majority of people who are looking to buy laptops look for a Tech -Hassle free laptops and Dell will make the excellent choice ! – If you want to believe, you read the (Bible = Dell) of all Laptops.

ProudDelluser2011
Abu Dhabi - U.A.E
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my world
7/5/2011

Customer review by lamenter

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by lamenter
by lamenter

hey..guy whenever any of my friends asks me or tells me that she/he is going to buy a new laptop for herself/himself......I with my eyes closed and 100% assurance recommend him/her only dell one...recently 4 of my friends bought dell notebooks..they are like super happy with them...not only they I too had a great experience with dell vostro 1500...2years had passed it was working like bread and butter...now also it is on a satisfactory platform.......2 months before i bought this inspiron 15R ..........what to say..has everything.. i-3 processor 320 harddisk amazing voice quality(dolby version..) awesome hd screen incredible speed...ram 4gb so..if one of you are planning to buy a laptop for yourself....dell is gonna be your thirst...and priority too!!...so good luck with..and an enjoyable life.

lamenter
india
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews