Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 161 reviews
5 stars
130
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 144 reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
2/24/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this flat iron because the one i had was pulling my hair and smelled like burnt hair every time i plugged it in. I have very think, curly hair and not many worked on it. After reading all the positive reviews on the Remington Frizz Therapy Straightener, i decided to try it. Whats the worst that can happen, it doesn't work and i return it. Well low and behold it worked great. Only thing i didn't like is the placement of the buttons always risk of shutting it off while using, but that's minor. GREAT straightener!!!!! I have also uploaded a picture of 1 side done with straightener and the other not touched yet so you could see the difference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Highly Recommend
7/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by the far the best hair product I have ever used. For 58 years I have been trying to find something that works for my hair type (dry, frizzy, thick, course, kinky, curly), in other words the worse hair ever. When I was a kid I used to iron it, roll it in big beer can rollers. I've tried every frizz product I could get my hands on. I never found anything that worked. I've always wanted to try a flat iron. I came across the Remington Frizz Therapy the other day and read all the wonderful reviews, so I figured I'd try it. As soon as it came in the mail, I took it out of the box, plugged it in, and within less than 5 minutes, my hair was soft, smooth, and full of body. For the first time in my life it looked like normal hair. I love it. It also stays that way for 2 days or more, until my next shampoo. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with frizzy, curly hair; or any hair type for that matter. I'm so glad I stumbled on this product. Well worth it at any price. You won't be dissappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Flat Iron
5/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently bought this flat iron to replace the one that I've been using for years. A lot of my friends and family have the CHI which I have used and really liked but I was not about to pay $100+ for a flat iron that is known not to last much more then a year. The reason why I decided to go with this Remington was because of all the great reviews on several different sites. When I used this iron for the first time I was really impressed how well it worked on my hair. It made my hair look just as good, if not better, then when straightened with the CHI. I really love this flat iron... It leaves my hair smooth, straight and shiny and frizz free. I would definitely recommend this iron to everyone. I will, however, be keeping the box and my receipt for warranty purposes thanks to the reviews that stated that this iron just stopped working after a few months. Thanks for the heads up! But until it breaks I am a happy customer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product is fabulous
9/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did a lot of research before purchasing a straightener that I needed because my sister needed to take ours to college with her. I am someone with naturally curly/wavy and frizzy hair that I can make straight with the straightener. The problem was that with other irons it would straighten my hair but it would only last a short period of time, then it would be fuzzy again...especially if it was raining or humid outside. This straightener works 100%. It straightens my hair fast and easy. No more than 1 or 2 buttons to press. My hair stays straight all day and it doesn't frizz up even in the humidity. It was the best choice hands down. I say if you have wavy, curly, and frizzy hair like me and dread the humidity- This is definitely the iron for you. It is worth the investment! Plus it comes with a 4 year warrenty. You can't beat that. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (167)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This hair straightener works great!!
12/29/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an amazing hair straightener, and i'm not just saying that. I've been straightening my hair since the 7th grade (I'm a senior in high school now). I have the worst type of hair imaginable. Picture a person stranded in a jungle for months...yup that's pretty much my hair. I straighten it just about every day, and as you can imagine that leaves my hair quite damaged. Of course i'd been using the Remington "wet 2 straight" flattening iron, which was probably sucking all the moisture out of my hair, but it straightened it great. This straightener however leaves my hair very shiny and healthy. And as for the anti-frizz part, today was rainy, wet, and humid, and my hair stayed perfect! Also, my hair normally takes like 2 hours to straighten, but using this straightener it took an hour if not less. I'm kind of a perfectionist with my hair though, so i'm sure it would take others 30 mins at most.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wasn't really sure if this straightener would work for my hair because my hair is usually hard to straighten, but it did an amazing job! I used my cousins solia hair straightener which is about $80 and works well for my hair and I thought this straightener did just as well as that one but maybe a little better. It's really easy to straighten my hair with this because it straightens a strand after running it through only about 2 or 3 times. My hair definitely doesn't frizz after being straightened with this also. Some people think they need really expensive straighteners like the chi but this one gets the job done, so it's better to get. This one is still expensive, but definitely worth it. Sometimes I've read reviews about products that many people liked, and when I got them they didn't work for me, so I was really skeptical about getting this based off of the reviews, but the reviews were right and I'm really glad I got it. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is an amazing salon quality appliance!
7/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have very thick, coarse, naturally curly hair. I have purchased numerous flat irons over the years of straightening my hair. I started with inexpensive ones and then discovered the salon quality ones, which can cost as much as $200. For example, I have used GHD ( my favorite), Chi, and FHI. I loved them while they lasted but they would burn out right after the warranty expired!:( I decided that there had to be a reasonably priced and high quality flat iron for me, so I started reading reviews. I purchased this product with hopes of getting good results. I am so happy with this flat iron. I will NEVER waste my money on over-priced products again! Try it, you'll love it! One time over each section of hair and it is stick straight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Flat Iron!!!
5/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this flat Iron after my Revlon one broke down (only after a year of purchase).. I love thick wavy long FRIZZY hair, and I live in a humid state which can make my hair look horrible at times.. I tried this flat iron and it only took me 25 minutes to do my whole hair.. My hair stayed straight and frizz-free for THREE DAYS after that.. I only had to brush it and go.. I absolutely love this flat iron and would recommend to anyone!! I am glad I bought it and I love that it has a 4-year warranty! :) The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that it tends to snag the hair a bit if you go fast, but if you go easy on the strands there won't be any snagging I guess.. But, overall it is a GREAT buy!! If you are debating if you should purchase this product or not, go ahead and do it..you will not regret buying this flat iron! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
8/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had never tried a flat iron but my hairdresser used one on my hair last time I had a cut. I had read a review of this Remington flat iron in Goodhousekeeping so decided this was the one to get. Couldn't find it locally so ordered it from Wal-mart--best price too. I have EXTREMELY fine, dry, wavy, frizzy hair and this flat iron makes my hair stay frizz free all day. I never thought there would be anything that would help me. I love the way it makes my hair look. Wide range of heat settings for all hair thicknesses. I would recommend this without any hesitation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An investment you won't regret!
7/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the do it yourself kind of girls out there who want that "just out of the salon" look for less, this is perfect! Its cheap and very effective. It heats up incredibly fast and to any level you need(well, up to 430degrees). And what got me the most is the softness and sheen that it leaves on your hair. Its just an all-around awesome product. Finally, a flat iron that HELPS your hair, not leave it burned and damaged...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
like butter!
5/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this product for the first time this morning, and it goes through your hair like butter, no pulling, no snagging, its very nice! I actually ordered it online instead of buying it in my local store, because it was was cheaper on the website. I don't know about the frizz therapy part yet because my hair only really gets frizzy when its humid ouside, and today it isn't. But i already really like this straightener. Before this one, i had a more expensive one, and it pulled my hair when i ran it though, i'd have to go over the same piece of hair a few times, not to mention the fact the paint started coming off of the outside of it, and the coating on the plates started peeling off. The only downfalls i could see with this straightener is that the plates could be a titch longer, but i guess they are average, and i could see how maybe some people would bump the buttons on it accidentally. But its a great straightener at a great price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Chi
11/26/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a Chi before this which started to work only sometimes. Since it wasn't even 2 years old, i didn't want to buy another one. I used it about once a week maybe even less. I decided to try this and I can flatten my thick long wavy/curly hair in about 10 -15 min. it took at least 20 with the chi. It also lasts longer than with the Chi. I am so glad I tried it it is a great product. Chi users don't be afraid to save money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bulletproof hair!
1/7/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a flat iron I was very satisfied with but after a few years it stopped leaving my hair as smooth as it used to so I decided to try a new one. I guess it's good to change them periodically because, WOW, what a difference it made! This flat iron leaves my hair shinny and stick straight for days. I usually had to retouch my hair in the morning but I haven't had to since I started using it. Things I like: -there is a digital indicator that shows the exact temperature -the heat can go all the way up to 390 -it beeps when it reached your desired temperature (which happens FAST) -you can lock it in closed position for storage
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
CANNOT GO WRONG
1/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a Reminton T Studio straightening iron which I LOVED, but it just stopped working recently. I was going to get the same one, but researched this iron and because it was a Remington and because of all of the great reviews, bought this one instead. I was somewhat apprehensive because this one is much thinner than my T Studio, but I am so glad I purchase this one, although my other iron worked great, I chose this one because of the "Frizz Therapy" feature. I must say, I have FRIZZY waivy long hair, and although my other iron worked great, my hair went back to being FRIZZY when it was raining outside or foggy. This iron has SOLVED this problem for me. It was a rainy week when I purchased it, and my hair looked great and did not frizz up when I went outside. I am so happy with this iron, you cannot go wrong. Only thing, I did have to put it to the highest setting, and when locking the heat setting, the instruction said to press "+" to lock it, and "-" to unlock it. That was not true with mine. I had to press "-" to lock the setting and again "-" to unlock the setting. Other than that, it is well worth the money, and trust me, to me, that was a little high, as I would NEVER pay that much as it is, call me cheap or budget conscious, either way, it was well worth it!!!! Thank you Remington! Oh, and did I mention, you can also CURL your hair with this iron.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OMG!!!!
10/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Let me first explain that I am half black/half white, and so my hair is a pain in my butt. Its too fine and fragile for harsh chemicals or high heat, but always so wavy/FRIZZY and uncooperative! This straightener is BY FAR THE BEST I HAVE OWNED. (and ive gone through 4 others) I did not even need a new one, but had to try this one out because of all the good reviews. And now my other ones are going in the TRASH! It took me like 20mins to straighten my long hair and its PERFECTLY straight and SOFT. My hair has NEVER looked this good! I now have that perfect "Sammi Sweetheart" straight hair(:
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing!
9/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is definitely worth the money. My old straightener quit working and that's why I had to buy this one. With my old straightener I would have to go over a section hair 2+ times, but with this Remington straightener I only have to go over it once and I don't have to hold it on the hair as long. I love that I can choose exactly what temperature to set it at, as I have very fine, thin hair that can burn and damage easily. It is very light, thus easy to use. I also like that it has a swivel cord, so now my cord doesn't get all looped and twisted and it stays out of my way. This straightener made my hair SO soft and it really does help with frizz and fly-aways! My hair is pin-straight, soft, and very smooth. I am extremely pleased with this product and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I am impressed
10/30/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had two chi flat irons and one Paul Mitchell. They've all only last a year or two! I didn't want to spend the $$ since I just purchased my Paul Mitchell 1.5 yrs ago! I have very long medium-thick hair. My bangs are frizzy and easily burned. This flat iron works fast and straightens on the first pass. I set the temp to 390 since my hair has a natural wave to it. The only reason(s) I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is because the bottom of the flat iron is rounded instead of flat and it rocks around my countertop as I'm doing my hair and I'm afraid it'll fall and burn me. Also, the outside of the flat iron is very hot to the touch and if you try and straighten too large of an area, it'll catch your hair and pull it. Otherwise, I am impressed with the way this irons heats quickly and straightens my hair! I recommend you spray your hair with a heat protector because this flat iron is HOT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Superior Quality at a GREAT Price!
5/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Back story: my hair's texture has changed very much over the years ... from almost completely straight to extremely wavy and a bit frizzy. Regular trims helped to no avail until my hair stylist told me what I needed was a hair straightener and a thermal spray to protect from damage. The hunt began, but my hair NEVER took on the silky sheen of the beauty parlor until I purchased and used this straightener. And I used it without any product at all then went out into the rain shortly thereafter. The result? Completely straight, shiny hair. No weirdo curls. No frizz. This product actually does exactly what it says.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfection
3/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Can I rate this more than 5 stars? No? Well just pretend it did. I love this straightener so much! I've had it for a few days and it works amazingly. Had a $200 Paul Mitchel before this one and it had to be turned up all the way (400) to get my hair even close to what this one does at 370. I have thick frizzy hair so this straightener immediately caught my attention. When my last straightener died I figured I would just go the cheap rout since everyone tells me the expensive ones aren't worth it , and I would just get a better one eventually but is exceeded my expectations. I love it! I get compliments all the time about how straight my hair is and I tell them about this wonderful device. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. The only negative thing I have to say about this is the site says audible something or other when it reaches your desired temperature but mine doesn't. I don't know if i didn't understand what it meant, if mine is defective, or if I missed something in the manual. But that really doesn't matter so I have no complaints. :) LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely amazing
9/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this flattener when my other one died. I had no clue what kind to get but when I saw the "frizz free" I was sold. I never thought I would pay $50 for a hair flattener but I knew I could return it if it did not work, so I got it. I wanted to test it out so just as I hoped, the next day it was very rainy and humid for my naturally curly hair. I used the flattener and could not believe my hair did not frizz all day. I kept showing everyone at work my hair because I could not believe how straight it was. Everyone said it was so smooth and shiny. I knew there was no way I was taking this back. My sister is interested in knowing how it works cause she also has frizzy hair. I decided to lie and tell her I didn't like it so I can buy it for her for Christmas :) It's going to be the best gift. However, I will buy it on walmart.com where it is $10 cheaper. Very excited.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643949, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-