Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
1-20 of 131 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
BlackBerry 8530 Prepaid Cell Phone
11/12/2010

Customer review by Billybay

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by Billybay
by Billybay

I am very happy with the BlackBerry cell phone as of this point in time I am very happy with the phone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billybay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
screen too small
4/11/2011

Customer review by BlackBrid

2.0 stars 4/11/2011 by BlackBrid
by BlackBrid

The screen is too small for web use. The camera takes very poor pictures in low light, has no flash.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackBrid
Stone mountain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Regret the purchase
11/25/2010

Customer review by ppax

3.0 stars 11/25/2010 by ppax
by ppax

I initially purchased this phone at $279, as the plan of $25 per month unlimited data, unlimited text, and several hundred minutes was a great deal to coordinate with a smart phone. At first I loved the phone. It was my first time having the email pushed to the phone and the data access was very convenient. Love the gps option as well. I do fully appreciate being connected and it has helped with the constant work emails. The downside has been the less than stellar reception, which is a phone issue. My daughter has a Virgin Mobile phone, a cheap one that picks up the signal much better. The battery life is depleted with a day of typical use, and I do not use the data all that much. I really don't like the extra $10 I have to pay for the blackberry package either. Wish I would have bought the Rumor or waited for the Droid. The shipping was fast from walmart and the overall online experience stellar.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ppax
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Blackberry, highly recommend!
9/10/2011

Customer review by NanaNKY

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by NanaNKY
by NanaNKY

I absolutely love this phone. The phone has e-mail, SMS texting, web browsing, calendar, blackberry apps and soooo much more! The best part about this phone is that if you go to blackberry dot com you can find a very nice interactive tutorial/demo for the BlackBerry Curve 8530. On the Blackberry Curve 8500 series page, scroll about half way down and you will see a link for a demo for the 8530 and this provides you with a lot of great tutorials to walk you through all of the neat features this phone has to offer. It comes with about 75 ringtones already on the phone and it should have a 2GB micro SD card already installed. Signal is great, texting is easy and I have not had any issues with the keyboard. I highly recommend this phone and you cannot go wrong with the $45 Virgin Mobile plan, which includes unlimited everything except talk and you get 1200 talk minutes on the $45 plan -- if you want unlimited talk (with everything else) get the $55 month plan (these prices were current as of September 2011).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaNKY
Central, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my phone, getting Son one too !
12/4/2011

Customer review by needaname2011

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by needaname2011
by needaname2011

I purchased my phone back when it was $99.99 - and 8 days later the price was reduced to $79.99. I thought $99.99 was a STEAL, afterall, my friends paid $159 - $189 in the last 3 months for the same phone, different carrier. I have had absolutely no delay in text messages, email delivery or dropped calls. The only problem I could imagine is the screen is smaller than the Android, ect. phones. I told my son how much I love my phone and offered to buy him an iphone and he said 'no way, I know too many people who have problems with touch screens right now'....I guess he is hoping there will be a solution to that issue. I purchased my phone on-line and the delivery time was 3 days (I have ordered on-line before and the delivery time was 2 days). I would tell anyone investigating new phone service (we had at&t for 14 years and I switched to Virgin with this phone) to seriously consider the Blackberry 8530, with the Virgin Pay-as-You-Go plan.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
needaname2011
Towson/Baltimore, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Great Phon..Virgin Service Reps Stink
6/8/2011

Customer review by kestner09

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by kestner09
by kestner09

The great thing about Walmart selling this phone is that I saved $50 on the phone purchase. Regardless of whether I bought it from Walmart or Virgin Mobile directly I had to deal with the Virgin service reps to get it activated and the entire lot of them are useless. Lots of empty promises, random dates, and excuses are what they do best!!! It was a joke. Needless to say I did finally get activated but what takes other carriers 24 hours or less to do, Virgin Mobile took a week. That is terrible and whether they meant to or not, they give you the impression that they have no idea at all what they are doing. By the end it was comical, all of the double-talk, stammering while trying to explain why nothing was going right etc. So if you want Virgin Mobile, you can't beat the price and buying the phone at Walmart is very smart but be prepared for a bumpy ride getting the phone up and running.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kestner09
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Phone
3/24/2011

Customer review by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool
by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool

The BlackBerry Curve 8530 is perfect for my needs. I ordered the phone through walmart.com and saved $40. In Walmart stores and on Virgin Mobile's website, the phone was $199. Virgin Mobile's "Beyond Talk Plan", was the push I needed to consider a smartphone. I've been a Virgin Mobile customer for a couple of years. I'm not tech sauve. I don't talk, text and/or surf the web 24/7. Yet, I have all of those features available when needed. I chose the BlackBerry over the LG Optimus, and the Samsung Intercept. The BlackBerry's keyboard sealed the deal for me. I type with my thumbs. (Only on the BlackBerry, not a full sized keyboard). The keys are solid and easy to distinguish/manipulate before pressing. It's the perfect phone for me. I get my emails, texts and calls without any problems. I like the track pad. Sound quality is good. Battery life seems decent for a phone that does so much. I have a spare battery just in case. I suggest buying an OtterBox Defender Series case to protect your investment. They retail for $50 new. I purchased mine on eBay for $32 with free shipping. The cases are bulletproof. If you're reading my review, you're probably shopping for a smartphone. If you want the "latest, greatest" smartphone...the BlackBerry might not be your best choice. I hope my review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (243) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool
Raleigh, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/27/2011

Customer review by Reggiee

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Reggiee
by Reggiee

Reluctantly, I have to send it back, because the signal is far too low and it is very poor. There are missing features. I've contacted Virgin Mobile Blackberry tech support several times and they are clueless. It's a nice looking phone, but it would be nice to use it. My location is not a factor, because I have to go out of town weekly and regardless of where I go, my signal is poor. Oftentimes, I am unable to make a call. I can't even download anything from Blackberry App World and I am paying $10.00 extra. Unfortunately, RIM is located in Canada, so it cost me to contact them, because it is an international call. This is not my first Blackberry. I have a Blackberry Tour that was activated through Alltel. I activated this same Blackberry Tour through PureTalk USA via a SIM card and the service was excellent at $40.00/month, but they did provide internet service. I would not recommend purchasing any Blackberry through Virgin Mobile....or any phone through Virgin Mobile. My son has a LG and his service is poor also.

Was this review helpful? (12) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reggiee
Danville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!
12/7/2010

Customer review by ohhsooflyy

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by ohhsooflyy
by ohhsooflyy

I'm absolutely in love with the phone! I love the cheap rate, i love that i always have service and i love the fact that i can cancel at anytime! I also love the fact that you can use the blackberry massager !

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohhsooflyy
Setauket, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally, a REAL prepaid phone
1/16/2011

Customer review by mnstar

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by mnstar
by mnstar

I've had many Blackberrys over the years, loved the phones but hated the expensive plans and cancellation fees. None of that with Virgin Mobile. $35 and I can cancel at any time. This phone is awesome, a true smartphone with all the features I want, and the BB push email is something no one else in the industry has. LOVE this phone and plan.

Was this review helpful? (241) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mnstar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best
3/16/2011

Customer review by olmjr

4.0 stars 3/16/2011 by olmjr
by olmjr

Great features! All around great phone! You can multitask. Keys may be a little small but you can still text and type pretty quickly. I don"t think that you can open more than one web page at a time. It would have gotten a 5 out of 5 but the battery life is not that great. I use the phone a lot and have to charge it every night. Virgin Mobile needs to expand there network but for the price of the plans I can live with their service for now. Got it cheaper here at Walmart than what they had it priced on the Virgin Mobile website

Was this review helpful? (168) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olmjr
LI NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Contract Killer
4/29/2011

Customer review by tamslek

4.0 stars 4/29/2011 by tamslek
by tamslek

Sure you can sign a two year agreement with one of the major carriers and get the phone for next to nothing, or you can drop the coin up front and just pay $35.00 a month for a smartphone with all the Blackberry apps. Um, why dear review reader are you still paying $100 plus a month when you sincerely don't have to

Was this review helpful? (103) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tamslek
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
7/5/2011

Customer review by Celestia28

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Celestia28
by Celestia28

I love this blackberry. I previously had an older version of the blackberry phone. When my two year contract ended, I decided to try out a prepaid phone. The price of this prepaid blackberry was more expensive on other websites. I like the customer service provided by Virgin Mobile. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Celestia28
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the cell phone I got was useless
9/27/2011

Customer review by berryfan

1.0 stars 9/27/2011 by berryfan
by berryfan

I really like the black berry cell phones so much but this one that I got was totally useless I was so dissappointed at walmart and Virgin mobile for this cell phone even IF I am a big fan of both of them at least until I GOT THIS PHONE , the battery could not hold the charge for more than 2 or 3 hours even If I was not using it and when I try to charge it it does not charge sometimes it was just useless , I wasted my time and my money by buying this cell phone and when I tried to return it there is no number to call so I had to email them for that and I am not sure how long it will take for them to reply.. I had another cell phone that I stopped using after i got this one but I really regret doing so because even the other one was a very basic one and the coverage was not that good but at least it was a functioning one and I could use it for more thatn 2 days until the battery dies , this black berry one I can't use it for more than 30 mintus then it dies for ever..????

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
berryfan
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Deal
10/15/2011

Customer review by Vicki9

1.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Vicki9
by Vicki9

If you are looking for a great blackberry experience with a reputable carrier stay away from Virgin Mobile. Their customer service is awful, they do not respond to queries on a timely manner and if you can understand what their "international" customer service reps are saying you are way ahead of the game. Further, their billing practices are questionable and I am being kind. It was not good that the first time I activated the phone and paid the month's charge - they charged me double plus some other "mystery charge" that no one couild explain. To make a long story short - if you buy this phone with this carrier and have to give up in frustration and cancel the service, you can NEVER use or activate this phone again. I can't believe that's legal and it sure is not ethical. So unless you are prepared to take a big financial hit -- forget it and buy another phone from another carrier. This one is a big ZERO and doesn't even rate 1 star. You have been warned!

Was this review helpful? (6) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vicki9
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A recommended smartphone
3/10/2011

Customer review by harry1020

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by harry1020
by harry1020

I have this smartphone for two weeks and I have to admit that this product goes far beyond my expectations. The batterry life lasts for an entire day, if fully charged (even with heavy use), and the monthly payment (it's not even contract) are as low as $35 everything included (BlackBerry tools, 300 minutes, unlimited data, web, and texting). You can't get that with an iPhone. There are plenty of free helpful apps, which makes the use of the smartphone more convenient. My new motto is: When you go BlackBerry, you never go back!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harry1020
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What attracted me was the low monthly service fee!
11/4/2010

Customer review by SLancaster

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by SLancaster
by SLancaster

This is a decent Blackberry...a few things bug me. For instance, the camera doesn't have a flash - that seems ridiculous for a Blackberry & I know other versions of the Curve have a flash. Also, I have found that some apps aren't supported by Virgin. However, what attracted me to this was the low monthly service fee & no contract, so I won't complain too much. I think pay-as-you-go is the way to go with a cell phone these days & even though I won't get a new free cell phone every two years, the money I save in two months on my monthly plan would buy me a new phone.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLancaster
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
7/4/2011

Customer review by elbangador

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by elbangador
by elbangador

great smartphone, but virgin mobile customer service to transfer a number is quite an ordeal. but once you finally get your phone activated it is a great device. GPS, MP3, BBM, all included for the one low price. the phone runs smooth, speaker could be a bit stronger but at $99 I can't complain. best bang for your buck in terms of prepaid smartphones

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elbangador
ny, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
blackberry
4/20/2011

Customer review by lovetousewalmartcom

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by lovetousewalmartcom
by lovetousewalmartcom

I have tried the rumor and others but i decided to try the blackberry and a friend had one so i wanted to see if it was that good. Guess what its great and would not go back to the others , and the price at walmart is great i bought online .

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetousewalmartcom
elberta ala.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Decent Phone - Horrible Cell Provider
9/15/2010

Customer review by greg30127

3.0 stars 9/15/2010 by greg30127
by greg30127

The Blackberry 8530 is what some call the "baby Blackberry". It's not quite as sturdy or feature rich as the more expensive Blackberries, but still runs the 5.0 operating system with the same basic menu layout that all but the newest models have. You have your standard 5000+ contact list, GPS capability, calendar functions, and note taking abilities that Blackberry users love. A newly revamped app store isn't nearly as elaborate as Apple or Droid, but still offers the basics. The keyboard is small but easy enough to type on for most with normal sized hands. The screen is very bright and text shows up clearly. Battery life is pretty low, and with moderate use you will only just barely make it through a day - heavy users will want to invest in a $60 extended battery found online. Call quality is dencently clear via the earpiece, though the speakerphone isn't quite as loud as it could be. The biggest issue with this 8530 isn't the actual phone - it's the provider. Virgin Mobile experiences frequent text and picture message "outages" that can sometimes last for several days at a time, and during these outages their automated customer service system simply tells you to call later and then hangs up on you. While the $35-and-up price for using the Blackberry through them sounds nice, you get what you pay for, and in this case, you're getting extremely poor service through Virgin Mobile. My ratings are based on this phone when used with Virgin Mobile. The Blackberry 8530 is available however, through most of the other major carriers, so while I'd recommend avoiding Virgin Mobile, I'd say it's a "decent" version of the Blackberry for those on a budget, provided you use it with a real cell carrier.

Was this review helpful? (85) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greg30127
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews