Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
1-20 of 131 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Excellent Phone
3/24/2011

Customer review by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool
by OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool

The BlackBerry Curve 8530 is perfect for my needs. I ordered the phone through walmart.com and saved $40. In Walmart stores and on Virgin Mobile's website, the phone was $199. Virgin Mobile's "Beyond Talk Plan", was the push I needed to consider a smartphone. I've been a Virgin Mobile customer for a couple of years. I'm not tech sauve. I don't talk, text and/or surf the web 24/7. Yet, I have all of those features available when needed. I chose the BlackBerry over the LG Optimus, and the Samsung Intercept. The BlackBerry's keyboard sealed the deal for me. I type with my thumbs. (Only on the BlackBerry, not a full sized keyboard). The keys are solid and easy to distinguish/manipulate before pressing. It's the perfect phone for me. I get my emails, texts and calls without any problems. I like the track pad. Sound quality is good. Battery life seems decent for a phone that does so much. I have a spare battery just in case. I suggest buying an OtterBox Defender Series case to protect your investment. They retail for $50 new. I purchased mine on eBay for $32 with free shipping. The cases are bulletproof. If you're reading my review, you're probably shopping for a smartphone. If you want the "latest, greatest" smartphone...the BlackBerry might not be your best choice. I hope my review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (243) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldSchoolMeetsNewSchool
Raleigh, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally, a REAL prepaid phone
1/16/2011

Customer review by mnstar

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by mnstar
by mnstar

I've had many Blackberrys over the years, loved the phones but hated the expensive plans and cancellation fees. None of that with Virgin Mobile. $35 and I can cancel at any time. This phone is awesome, a true smartphone with all the features I want, and the BB push email is something no one else in the industry has. LOVE this phone and plan.

Was this review helpful? (241) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnstar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Contract Killer
4/29/2011

Customer review by tamslek

4.0 stars 4/29/2011 by tamslek
by tamslek

Sure you can sign a two year agreement with one of the major carriers and get the phone for next to nothing, or you can drop the coin up front and just pay $35.00 a month for a smartphone with all the Blackberry apps. Um, why dear review reader are you still paying $100 plus a month when you sincerely don't have to

Was this review helpful? (103) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tamslek
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Best
3/16/2011

Customer review by olmjr

4.0 stars 3/16/2011 by olmjr
by olmjr

Great features! All around great phone! You can multitask. Keys may be a little small but you can still text and type pretty quickly. I don"t think that you can open more than one web page at a time. It would have gotten a 5 out of 5 but the battery life is not that great. I use the phone a lot and have to charge it every night. Virgin Mobile needs to expand there network but for the price of the plans I can live with their service for now. Got it cheaper here at Walmart than what they had it priced on the Virgin Mobile website

Was this review helpful? (168) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olmjr
LI NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!
12/7/2010

Customer review by ohhsooflyy

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by ohhsooflyy
by ohhsooflyy

I'm absolutely in love with the phone! I love the cheap rate, i love that i always have service and i love the fact that i can cancel at anytime! I also love the fact that you can use the blackberry massager !

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohhsooflyy
Setauket, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Facebook App Not Supported and Other Shortcomings
12/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was really excited to get this phone and still enjoy it as it is my first smart phone. But I want people to know some important shortcomings. I can't pinpoint all of these points as being due to Blackberry or Virgin, Mobile but I suspect it is mostly due to Virgin. First some good points though. The trackpad is awesome. Was concerned about this feature over the traditional trackball you see on Blackberry. Bottom line here is the pad is better. It won't get jammed with gunk, etc. Some users reported Virgin stripping out the MP3 player; not true. Some users reported Virgin stripping out the ability to use an mp3 as a ring tone; also not true. The media player is great. I didn't have an mp3 player before, but I don't need one now as I've got it here. There is even three media player buttons on the top to stop, start or skip to the next song, etc. Will support a 32gb micro SD card so you can take quite a bit of data with you. 1). Doesn't support the Blackberry Facebook App. Sure you can still log into Facebook via the web, but that is slower and less convenient than the stand alone app. Luckily I'm not that into Facebook, so I can live with it. The problem is from Virgin Mobile, not Blackberry. This I discovered when I tried to load the app straight from the Facebook site; says "your carrier does not support this feature." 2) Does not support the Yahoo mobile app. This again is not too big of a deal for me. It does have Yahoo instant messaging built it and my Yahoo email is fine through the Blackberry client. This again is due to Virgin, not Blackberry according to Yahoo. 3) Won't get on the web unless there is a WiFi signal. The Virgin Mobile plan I have states it has unlimited web, text and email, but apparently that doesn't mean you can use their network to surf. I'm new to smart phones, but I thought you could still get on web, but it would just be slower without WiFi. 4) Yellow Pages App does not work. This is a drag since you can't use the web when your on the go unless you find a WiFi signal. What saves me here is the google mobile app. I can usually find a phone number, address or map with the Google Mobile App while on the go. Just don't try to click any of the hyperlinks. On that point, the Google Mobile App workds really, really well. 4) Slow browsing. Even through WiFi, it is a VERY slow browser. My wife's iPod cruises along seamlessly on the very same wireless network. 5) Slow desktop app/ desktop interface. When you connect your phone to do anything with the desktop app, allocate some time for this. 6) Battery drain is quick. I know all smart phones get drained quickly, but this device seams to go down quicker. I commonly charge at bed time and usually at least once during the day. 7) Blackberry App World. The phone comes with a previous version of App World. If you go to the Blackberry website, you can get a newer and much better/quicker App World app. This would be fine except the desktop software will replace it with the previous version when you do anything there! To me this one looks like a Blackberry flaw; not Virgin. All in all, the Virgin Mobile Blackberry is a pretty good deal for a smart phone with a lot of features over any non smart phone. Just be aware it's not going to be everything it should. I'd investigate the Samsung Intercept Android phone for Virgin Mobile instead. This would save you $10 per month as well.

Was this review helpful? (94) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brighton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Phone - Horrible Cell Provider
9/15/2010

Customer review by greg30127

3.0 stars 9/15/2010 by greg30127
by greg30127

The Blackberry 8530 is what some call the "baby Blackberry". It's not quite as sturdy or feature rich as the more expensive Blackberries, but still runs the 5.0 operating system with the same basic menu layout that all but the newest models have. You have your standard 5000+ contact list, GPS capability, calendar functions, and note taking abilities that Blackberry users love. A newly revamped app store isn't nearly as elaborate as Apple or Droid, but still offers the basics. The keyboard is small but easy enough to type on for most with normal sized hands. The screen is very bright and text shows up clearly. Battery life is pretty low, and with moderate use you will only just barely make it through a day - heavy users will want to invest in a $60 extended battery found online. Call quality is dencently clear via the earpiece, though the speakerphone isn't quite as loud as it could be. The biggest issue with this 8530 isn't the actual phone - it's the provider. Virgin Mobile experiences frequent text and picture message "outages" that can sometimes last for several days at a time, and during these outages their automated customer service system simply tells you to call later and then hangs up on you. While the $35-and-up price for using the Blackberry through them sounds nice, you get what you pay for, and in this case, you're getting extremely poor service through Virgin Mobile. My ratings are based on this phone when used with Virgin Mobile. The Blackberry 8530 is available however, through most of the other major carriers, so while I'd recommend avoiding Virgin Mobile, I'd say it's a "decent" version of the Blackberry for those on a budget, provided you use it with a real cell carrier.

Was this review helpful? (85) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greg30127
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Regret the purchase
11/25/2010

Customer review by ppax

3.0 stars 11/25/2010 by ppax
by ppax

I initially purchased this phone at $279, as the plan of $25 per month unlimited data, unlimited text, and several hundred minutes was a great deal to coordinate with a smart phone. At first I loved the phone. It was my first time having the email pushed to the phone and the data access was very convenient. Love the gps option as well. I do fully appreciate being connected and it has helped with the constant work emails. The downside has been the less than stellar reception, which is a phone issue. My daughter has a Virgin Mobile phone, a cheap one that picks up the signal much better. The battery life is depleted with a day of typical use, and I do not use the data all that much. I really don't like the extra $10 I have to pay for the blackberry package either. Wish I would have bought the Rumor or waited for the Droid. The shipping was fast from walmart and the overall online experience stellar.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppax
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone
7/5/2011

Customer review by Celestia28

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Celestia28
by Celestia28

I love this blackberry. I previously had an older version of the blackberry phone. When my two year contract ended, I decided to try out a prepaid phone. The price of this prepaid blackberry was more expensive on other websites. I like the customer service provided by Virgin Mobile. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Celestia28
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
blackberry
4/20/2011

Customer review by lovetousewalmartcom

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by lovetousewalmartcom
by lovetousewalmartcom

I have tried the rumor and others but i decided to try the blackberry and a friend had one so i wanted to see if it was that good. Guess what its great and would not go back to the others , and the price at walmart is great i bought online .

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetousewalmartcom
elberta ala.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A recommended smartphone
3/10/2011

Customer review by harry1020

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by harry1020
by harry1020

I have this smartphone for two weeks and I have to admit that this product goes far beyond my expectations. The batterry life lasts for an entire day, if fully charged (even with heavy use), and the monthly payment (it's not even contract) are as low as $35 everything included (BlackBerry tools, 300 minutes, unlimited data, web, and texting). You can't get that with an iPhone. There are plenty of free helpful apps, which makes the use of the smartphone more convenient. My new motto is: When you go BlackBerry, you never go back!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harry1020
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Great Phon..Virgin Service Reps Stink
6/8/2011

Customer review by kestner09

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by kestner09
by kestner09

The great thing about Walmart selling this phone is that I saved $50 on the phone purchase. Regardless of whether I bought it from Walmart or Virgin Mobile directly I had to deal with the Virgin service reps to get it activated and the entire lot of them are useless. Lots of empty promises, random dates, and excuses are what they do best!!! It was a joke. Needless to say I did finally get activated but what takes other carriers 24 hours or less to do, Virgin Mobile took a week. That is terrible and whether they meant to or not, they give you the impression that they have no idea at all what they are doing. By the end it was comical, all of the double-talk, stammering while trying to explain why nothing was going right etc. So if you want Virgin Mobile, you can't beat the price and buying the phone at Walmart is very smart but be prepared for a bumpy ride getting the phone up and running.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kestner09
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What attracted me was the low monthly service fee!
11/4/2010

Customer review by SLancaster

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by SLancaster
by SLancaster

This is a decent Blackberry...a few things bug me. For instance, the camera doesn't have a flash - that seems ridiculous for a Blackberry & I know other versions of the Curve have a flash. Also, I have found that some apps aren't supported by Virgin. However, what attracted me to this was the low monthly service fee & no contract, so I won't complain too much. I think pay-as-you-go is the way to go with a cell phone these days & even though I won't get a new free cell phone every two years, the money I save in two months on my monthly plan would buy me a new phone.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLancaster
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
7/4/2011

Customer review by elbangador

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by elbangador
by elbangador

great smartphone, but virgin mobile customer service to transfer a number is quite an ordeal. but once you finally get your phone activated it is a great device. GPS, MP3, BBM, all included for the one low price. the phone runs smooth, speaker could be a bit stronger but at $99 I can't complain. best bang for your buck in terms of prepaid smartphones

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elbangador
ny, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Great Deal
11/9/2010

Customer review by SeanEE

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by SeanEE
by SeanEE

Another great product. Phone is great, I love it. Service has been flawless so far. Can't ask for anything more - sure beats the contract pricing I just gave up...

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeanEE
Farrell, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone. great price
7/28/2011

Customer review by ruthayy

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by ruthayy
by ruthayy

great phone. camera isn't that great indoors unless there is a lot of light. great outdoors with sunglight. no flash. mms isn't working on my phone. i dont think it does on any of these phones but honestly i don't care because i don't text pics, i just send them to twitter or facebook which is SUPER easy on a blackberry. you can copy and paste. see and use microsoft word and excel documents. push email is AWESOME and the main reason why i turned down the love of my life for the past year-iphone, for a new bb. the 10 dollar data plan is necessary because when you put in the activation numbero nline they automatically know it's a blackberry. maybe you can get away with it by calling them but i don't think so. great phone. worth price! internet is great. sometimes when i use facebook app and want to view my notifications is gets wonky but i dont really care. 9/10 it allows me to view notifications and i get notification delivered to my email anyway. also when status is updated or pic is uploaded from phone is says that beloved "uploaded from blackerry" and has theose five blackberry squares. lol also if you dont want the virgin mobile tag on bottom of phone get black nail polish to cover it, and if you dont want home screen to say virgin mobile then use your own pic as wallpaper, so no one will even know it's virgin mobile. you can get cute cases for 2-7 dollars, depending on if you want plastic or hard, in any color, on Ebay and screen protectors and screen protectors which look like mirrors for like $1.50 from Ebay.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ruthayy
Towson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Virgin Mobile Blackberry
12/1/2010

Customer review by FLBlueTick

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by FLBlueTick
by FLBlueTick

Bought this phone for my daughter so she can text. The only issue is that you must sign up under the $35 Virgin Mobile plan if you purchase the Blackberry. For this you get access to Blackberry App world that allows you to download apps for the Blackberry. You will get tired of this after a few weeks and then you are paying $10 a month for it. $35 is still cheap compared to AT&T or Verizon. Daughter is happy with it so that's all that matters. No issues with Virgin Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLBlueTick
Pace Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Deal!
4/12/2011

Customer review by smrtblnde1

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by smrtblnde1
by smrtblnde1

This was my first stab at the whole smart phone world and I must say I am very impressed with both the phone and the excellent customer service from both BlackBerry AND Virgin Mobile. Excellent connection, reasonably fast browsing, way cool BB apps. I am very pleased and feel I have gotten a really good deal.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smrtblnde1
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be Careful!!!!!!
10/2/2010

Customer review by jasonw237

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by jasonw237
by jasonw237

I recieved my blackberry 3 days after ordering online, thats great! I had taken a week to activate the phone and numerous phone calls to virgin wireless. It seems the are a group of serial numbers which are not processed into there system if there is a 8815 in the xerial number you may have problems activating right away. Otherwise the phone itself is great.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasonw237
Ossining, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone, great features, good price.
11/24/2011

Customer review by rdinsea

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by rdinsea
by rdinsea

This BB 8530 is feature-rich and reliable. What more can be said? Well, a lot more. . . 1. The Screen: I am fairly rough with my BB and the screen doesn't have a scratch on it. A set of keys and coins rubbing against it for hours on end, no screen protector (that's right, none#, and not a single scratch. 2. The Back plate #taken off to access the battery, etc.# I've read some reviews online elsewhere about the back coming off on its own, that has never happened in the 3 months that I've been using it - and that includes my tossing the BB onto my bedside about 3 feet when I get home. . ."plop" but no damage. 3. Accidents Oh yes, and dropping it - you guessed it: no problemo. Works fine. And once again, no dents #of course not, it's plastic# and no scratches which is kind of amazing #although I did have to reset the memory card - which by the way, is SUPER simple to do#. 4. Reception: Both phone and Internet The phone reception and clarity is great with the ability to increase/decrease volume. The Virgin Mobile connectivity availability for Internet connections is fantastic - 24/7. 5. E-mail and Apps Can I get my own e-mail? Are there apps? Yes and yes. I've got multiple e-mail address being forwarded into my BB's inbox, e.g., Yahoo and Hotmail #others available as well# and it is very smooth. The available apps for the BB - there are free apps and pay apps. There are some super free apps available; and the BB already comes with a nice set of apps to start you out. 6. The Virgin Mobile price plan Is it "really" as inexpensive as it seems? Does it really have all those bells and whistles? Yes, it's really inexpensive - I have the $55 plan and guess what? Each month, I use the AutoPay feature and pay. . .drumroll. . .$55.00. Those extra fees, taxes, and whatever that other companies always tack on #sort of like, surprise!#, I'm guessing are calculated into the cost already. So the price shown is what you are actually charged #that was a big sticking point for me, so hence, the big paragraph - sorry#. And as you can see from the huge review, yes, it has all the bells and whistles - well, more honestly, many more bells and whistles than were expected at this price point for a Blackberry device. 7. Customer Support - any good? I think so and here's why: I put in a question to Virgin Mobile regarding a service that I was unclear about the morning before Thanksgiving. I received an auto-response with a "we got it, we'll get back to you" type of thing. I received a personal response from VM support Thanksgiving Day morning! Answered my questions to the letter. Now I don't know about you, but I think that's pretty darn good. 8. Do I work for Virgin Mobile as a sales rep or something #this review is WAY too long and pro-Virgin Mobile#? Totally not. It's just that I rarely see something really good that has services that are really good - so a good review seems to be the way to go so that others can benefit. I'm in IT and not even in the telecomm industry. Used to have AT&T and switched over. The prices and features as well as "no contract" from Virgin Mobile were too good to pass up. Now, my only regret is that I didn't switch to Virgin Mobile sooner!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdinsea
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews