Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

16 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

16 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

19%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-16 of 16 total reviews
19%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Do not buy!
2/4/2011

Customer review by clechien

1.0 stars 2/4/2011 by clechien
by clechien

Don't buy this machine! This is a response I got when I contacted SInger after opening my brand new Pixie and the bobbin would not pull up the thread: Thank you for contacting Singer. It sounds like the timing has been disrupted on this unit. Unfortunately if that is the case, it is not repairable as we do not carry replacement parts for this small disposable machine. Disposable! They called it disposable. I bought the Brother Project Runway machine for the same price and it is amazing. i will never buy another Singer product.

Was this review helpful? (86) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clechien
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/14/2011

Customer review by magicsewing

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by magicsewing
by magicsewing

Seems very easy to set up, but dont work. I couldnt use at all. Had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magicsewing
Beverly, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
bad
5/27/2011

Customer review by cheyenne96

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by cheyenne96
by cheyenne96

i bought this for my sister it broke the first time not because of her so we returned it for a new one that was exactly the same and it broke again not worth the money

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheyenne96
Would recommend to a friend? No
MENDING MACHINE
2/14/2011

Customer review by heyjules

3.0 stars 2/14/2011 by heyjules
by heyjules

This is a cute small sewing machine that will meet my purpose - mending only! It would be a great machine for a beginner sewer or young girl. I did not realize it was made mostly of plastic, but seems to be a good machine.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyjules
Lebanon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Spend the extra $30 and save yourself some time.
2/28/2012

Customer review by selkiegal

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by selkiegal
by selkiegal

The price tag was nice, and when I initially bought it I was looking for something light and easy to carry, as I travel a lot. However, it broke after only an hour's use, and I was sewing crushed velvet (which is a very thin material). Everything is plastic, including the underside feed (usually these are metal even with cheap machines). That was its downfall, as that snapped right off. I returned it the next day and used the refunded money to buy a slightly more expensive model (still singer) which has served me well for a couple years now.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
selkiegal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Major Disappointment
2/2/2012

Customer review by jodymarie83

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by jodymarie83
by jodymarie83

Gently used for 10 minutes and it broke. Bobbin mechanism jammed and now doesn't work. What a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jodymarie83
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
HORRIBLE!
1/4/2013

Customer review by momtotwoboys

1.0 stars 1/4/2013 by momtotwoboys
by momtotwoboys

Please, save your money and do not buy this machine. Especially for a young girl as her first machine. This machine would make anyone hate sewing. Cheaply made, doesn't work half the time, a true piece of garbage. Way to go, Singer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momtotwoboys
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Wonderful Machine!
1/29/2011

Customer review by MyEverAfter

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by MyEverAfter
by MyEverAfter

This is my first sewing machine, I wanted something very basic, inexpensive and it had to be a singer (that's what my mom always recommended). This was perfect! I did have a little trouble at first when trying to wind the bobbin, but it turned out to be my own error. It runs great, and is perfect for my shop's needs!

MyEverAfter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
singer pixie
10/30/2011

Customer review by kathy

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by kathy
by kathy

I bought the pixie and love it for arts and crafts. it is lightweight, easy to carry and store has ,several different stitches, and is easy to use. plus you can use batteries or plug it in.

kathy
stafford, virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs more durability
12/9/2010

Customer review by Kimi

3.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Kimi
by Kimi

I bought the Pixie Plus as a first sewing machine for my 9 y/o daughter. She loved it, the features were easy to use and setup was a breeze. It worked well for small projects, then we started working with fleece and then the problems started. Foot pedal was inconsistent, sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn't. Then the thread would get caught on itself and snap, so I was constantly rethreading the maching. Last night the bobbin stopped spinning mid project and we had to stop sewing. The best I can tell is the magnet (I didn't realize that there was one) came loose and the bobbin can no longer detect it. The internal bobbin tray is loose so I will have to open it up and get a better look. Long story short, great concept for a beginning sewer/crafter and the price *would have* been right except that mine only lasted for maybe ten projects, five sessions, over a period of four weeks.

Kimi
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointing
2/23/2011

Customer review by emtizzyca

2.0 stars 2/23/2011 by emtizzyca
by emtizzyca

I purchased this machine for occassional projects. I'm not a big sewer but sometimes like to dabble with it. I got the machine about a year and a half ago. The low high speed settings did not work out of the box but the pedal worked fine so I figured no big deal. Used it once was happy with it. Started a project for my step daughter and the pedal died. plastic piece inside melted and could no longer connect the metal parts to get power to the machine. had to start using the broken low high switch again. Had to proceed with my project mostly with the manual turn knob. The plastic tray that holds the bobbin somehow broke too and the tensioner on the upper arm did not seem to loosen the thread the way I needed it to. It is now beyond repair and my project is only half done. I am very disappointed in the operation of this machine. Would like to know if there is a program to trade in my old machine for a newer one that works? That would be very helpful considering I cannot take this one back.

emtizzyca
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Did not work right out of the box
12/24/2010

Customer review by GSDGirl

2.0 stars 12/24/2010 by GSDGirl
by GSDGirl

I can not get the bobbin thread to pick up. I took the machine out of the box, followed the instructions exactly and it just does not work. I will be attempting to return it and try a better quality machine. I only wanted to use it to fix a few clothing items and did not want to spend more but I guess I will have to if I want a machine that works.

GSDGirl
Elverson, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quick Fix
12/13/2010

Customer review by pdtomtom

2.0 stars 12/13/2010 by pdtomtom
by pdtomtom

I have been sewing for over 40 years and my first machine was a Singer (loved it) I needed a machine to travel with and this one seemed perfect. From the time that it was taken out of the box it never worked. The bobbin thread could not be picked up. I wish that the quality was there. Now we are traveling in Central America and I am stuck.

pdtomtom
Hudsonville, Mi / Utila Bay Islands Honduras
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Purchase Ever
2/26/2011

Customer review by AndrewsAngel

1.0 stars 2/26/2011 by AndrewsAngel
by AndrewsAngel

I have been sewing by hand for more than 10 years and decided it was time to get a sewing machine. After looking at machines for over a year, I decided to start small with this machine. It could have very well been the worst mistake I have ever made. The machine broke the first day I used it, but with grim determination, I managed to figure out that somehow the plastic piece that holds the bobbin tray misaligned itself and caused the needle to hit plastic instead of negative space. I figured out how to fix it and continued on with my project. I managed to complete that project, but have not been able to complete the second project I attempted with my machine. After about 2 hours of trying to figure out why the machine is not working I have thrown in the towel. I have always heard that Singer is an excellent company with great products, but I am severely disappointed in this product and would advise others to look to a different Singer machine.

AndrewsAngel
Bellevue, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible Product
9/24/2011

Customer review by kps626

1.0 stars 9/24/2011 by kps626
by kps626

I really wanted to get into sewing smallish projects. Things like nightgowns for my daughters. I thought this would be a great machine to start with. I used it over a few days for one project. It was constantly snapping the thread making me have to rethread it. Then the needle stopped fitting correctly into the bobbin area. I finished that project by hand. Then took the machine back. I just tried setting up the new one for the first time. Straight out of the box and it won't thread. The bobbin piece just sits there. The experience I have had with this machine has made it very hard to bother trying to continue creating a new hobby. I wish I had read the reviews on here before buying!

kps626
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
how the pixie doesn't work!!
10/28/2011

Customer review by beth

1.0 stars 10/28/2011 by beth
by beth

I have bought two of them and both of them didn't sew paper or fabric. I got them for small crafts, but they didn't work. I wouldn't get a pixie again. I always buy singer sewing machines, but the pixie was disapointing.

beth
Would recommend to a friend? No