Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

114 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

114 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
28
1-20 of 105 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
Poor quality battery
6/30/2016

Customer review by Abcde

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Abcde
by Abcde

Purchase this 6 months ago after the first 30 days the battery would not hold a charge more than 30 seconds

Comment from Michael - 6/30/2016

Hi there! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. If y our Gator 10,8V is experiencing a short run time, please try this: Unplug the charger for 10 minutes and deplete any remaining power on your handheld. Once this is done, please allow the unit to charge for 24 hours. This should restore the run time on your handheld. If further assistance is needed, please call us at 1-800-321-1134 between 8am-6pm EST M-F. We’re here for you!

Abcde
MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good unit at a very good price
6/27/2016

Customer review by dave22q

4.0 stars 6/27/2016 by dave22q
by dave22q

Bought a month ago, use it on my sailboat. Good performance, very convenient ti charge or stow and very easy to empty and clean. I wish the battery charge lasted longer but I was pulling lots of dirt.

dave22q
Marathon, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Bad design
9/27/2015

Customer review by eereviewer

1.0 stars 9/27/2015 by eereviewer
by eereviewer

I do not normally review items but this one was so bad in design I just had to take my time to review it. The main issue here is the built-in Lithium batteries discharge very fast in about 15-20 minutes of using so you can not finish the task on hand,. Charging it again takes a full 6-8 hours which is pointless. Now If you leave the unit unplugged for a while the batteries will drain so much that plugging back the wall charger will not charge the unit! Why? because the wall charger over-current protection cuts off charging! I had to use another stronger linear wall charger to charge the unit for 15 mins before re-plugging its small weak 130ma wall charger. I finally gave up on this item entirely, but being an electrical engineer I opened it and wired it to 10 feet fire and a plug to use it with a car 12V cigarette lighter socket so I would not throw it away. Now I have a corded hand vacuum i could have purchased at half the price and not spending time fixing it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eereviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent hand vac
6/24/2011

Customer review by KatieinPA

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by KatieinPA
by KatieinPA

Looking to buy a cordless hand vac, I did a lot of reseach and found this Dirt Devil to have a very high rating. I'm very happy with this purchase - this hand vac is so easy to use, lightweight, and very effective at picking up dirt and lint. Walmart had the best deal and fast service.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatieinPA
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little vac
5/18/2011

Customer review by ausableriverkayaker

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by ausableriverkayaker
by ausableriverkayaker

I can't believe the power of this little vac. It came at just the right time when all the little buds are falling off the trees and getting tracked into the mud room. I just grab it an clean up the mess and plug it back in. What convenience, and it is really a breeze to empty. It was delivered a couple days after I ordered it, and I couldn't be more pleased. My daughter just bought her first house, and I think I will get one for her.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ausableriverkayaker
Fairview, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Sucker
6/5/2016

Customer review by oldbaha

4.0 stars 6/5/2016 by oldbaha
by oldbaha

I am very pleased with the pick up power and ease of cleaning.

oldbaha
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hassle Free
5/30/2016

Customer review by ElAM

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by ElAM
by ElAM

A gift that I thought I would probably use "once in a blue moon". I find it is easier to get to than my regular vac and one, two three, what I had to get done is done.

ElAM
Norton, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Good little hand Vac...
10/11/2011

Customer review by TonyAGC

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by TonyAGC
by TonyAGC

Just started using this hand vacuum and it works great...Has good power for it's size and it is lightweight and easy to empty once full.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TonyAGC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice -- when it works
5/6/2016

Customer review by DonewithDirtDevils

2.0 stars 5/6/2016 by DonewithDirtDevils
by DonewithDirtDevils

This is the second one we've had as the company had to replace the first one because it quit charging. This one is now doing the same thing so we won't be buying another Dirt Devil in the future. I love it when it works though.

Comment from Michael - 5/10/2016

Hi there! Oh no, the battery on your Gator 10.8V should be holding up better. We want to help. We recommend performing a battery reset once a month to maintain battery longevity. In order to do a reset, try this: Run the handheld’s battery down comepletely. Disconnect the charger from wall for 1-2 minutes. Charge the unit for 24 hours. This should bring power back to your battery. We advise to remove the unit form the charger once fully charged. This will prevent overcharging of the battery. Hope this helps!

DonewithDirtDevils
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Received free product:Yes
7/10/2011

Customer review by JSV333

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by JSV333
by JSV333

Perfect for little jobs around the house... especially with two cats running rampant.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSV333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful Hand Vac
8/15/2011

Customer review by willievester

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by willievester
by willievester

This is the best hand vac I've ever had. Real good power and lasts a long time on a charge. So easy to empty, I find myself using it so much more than I ever used other ones. I just wish it mounted on a wall plate like the old ones did for charging.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willievester
Bell, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Second time around
5/4/2016

Customer review by mike the lover

2.0 stars 5/4/2016 by mike the lover
by mike the lover

This is my second Dirt Devil product I hope it lasts longer.

Comment from Karissa - 5/10/2016

Hi mike the lover! Your Gator 10.8V Cordless Bagless Handheld Vacuum should run between 8-10 minutes on a full 24 hour charge. To increase battery longevity we recommend disconnecting the unit from the charger once fully charged. The unit will stay charged until ready for use. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

mike the lover
Ripon, Québec, Canada
3/2/2012

Customer review by delicia28

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by delicia28
by delicia28

This unit is a little powerhouse! It works well on carpeted stairs and those hard to reach places - also works well after you've swept the floor and you don't want to haul out the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delicia28
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do Not buy
4/26/2016

Customer review by Big AL

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Big AL
by Big AL

The battery became very weak after less than a year of light use. Battery is not user replaceable. Battery is dead in less than two years. This problem seems to be common.

Comment from Karissa - 4/27/2016

Hi Big AL! Your Gator 10.8V Cordless Bagless Handheld Vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger if you're not receiving this run time. Please give this a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Big AL
Fort Worth, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
2/23/2012

Customer review by Kindy126

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Kindy126
by Kindy126

Works well, lots of power! Battery lasts about 20 minutes. Very light and easy to use. Great price and well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kindy126
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
satisfied
4/15/2016

Customer review by Auggie

3.0 stars 4/15/2016 by Auggie
by Auggie

The crevice tool is especially helpful at carpet edges. I use it for most pick ups that are fine, such as thread, as it does a better job than without it. I haven't really noticed the "extra" power but the machine is satisfactory.

Comment from Karissa - 4/19/2016

Hi Auggie! We appreciate hearing from our customers. We strive to provide the best products and services. Your comments for the Gator 10.8V Cordless Bagless Handheld Vacuum will be passed along for further implementation. Thank you for your time!

Auggie
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost perfect!
4/3/2016

Customer review by BrandyY

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by BrandyY
by BrandyY

My husband and I received this as a gift, and we're excited to try it out in several places. I like the powerful suctioning, but it is frustrating trying to use that crevice tool, and it keeps sliding back in! It would have been a better idea to make it so that it would snap into place, then release with a squeeze of the two sides or buttons (whatever they come up with!). Other than that, I really have no other complaints (we DID just get it).

BrandyY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum !
4/17/2016

Customer review by 3Cat Lovers

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by 3Cat Lovers
by 3Cat Lovers

This vacuum has more power than my old one had. I love it !

3Cat Lovers
Denham Springs, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery is junk
6/7/2013

Customer review by louye

2.0 stars 6/7/2013 by louye
by louye

When this would keep a charge (for a few charges) the suction would work great for a little vacuum. Its a pain to clean the filter because any dirt in there sticks to the filter and it has to be cleaned out very often (small size). The other bad thing is it can't be used with ac power while plugged in,only battery so that means if the battery is junk so is this thing. It turns out the battery junks out after only a half dozen charges. I don't use this often so i didn't know it was going to do this or i would have returned it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louye
denver co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very displeased
12/13/2015

Customer review by Customer

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Customer
by Customer

I want to rate this product two stars but that means it was fair. However, the one that I picked up was not. We followed the instructions for new buyers and charged it for 24 hours and then turned it on before we went down three stories to vacuum our cars. Unfortunately when we turned it on I immediately had a bad feeling because how weak the suction was. I figured maybe it was all in my head so we tried it out anyway. At first it sucked up a little pile of crumbs and I thought great! then I tried to get a deeper clean with the nozzle and it spit everything back out. I figured I will try a different area to see if it could pick up some dirt and the suction went down even more as if the battery was dying within 10 minutes if your lucky. I would just recommend you keep a receipt on hand because $30.00 is a lot of money for something a lent roller may have done.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews