Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
33
1-20 of 124 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews
will not hold a charge
1/31/2017

Customer review by grandmasue

1.0 stars 1/31/2017 by grandmasue
by grandmasue

Don't waste your money Can not get help on phone Will not hold a charge

grandmasue
Grayslake, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't hold a charge
1/23/2017

Customer review by Batman

1.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Batman
by Batman

This handheld won't hold a charge for 24 hours! Even a full charge discharges in a matter of minutes when being used. It also cannot be plugged in and used while charging. Charging takes an extremely long time to complete. Full charge doesn't last a day even if not used at all.

Batman
Honolulu County, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't hold a charge after a few months
1/25/2017

Customer review by devadawn7

2.0 stars 1/25/2017 by devadawn7
by devadawn7

Its a great little hand vac when it actually stays charged. After a few months it ran out of battery very quickly. Now it won't charge at all. :(

devadawn7
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery life drops drastically after only a few months
12/19/2016

Customer review by HI Husband

2.0 stars 12/19/2016 by HI Husband
by HI Husband

Bought this for simple cleanups in the kitchen after making meals, like for crumb cleanup. Works well for this type of job but I have to downgrade the score because the battery life has dropped drastically after only a few months of use. Used to be able to get about 15 to 20 minutes of suction, which was enough to cleanup the kitchen. Now I'm lucky to get about 5 min.; just enough to barely clean around the baseboards. Worse is that I bought a second vacuum based on the first two months of service and now both have only limited battery life.

HI Husband
Honolulu, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great invention
12/13/2016

Customer review by jennio

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by jennio
by jennio

This is just the perfect size for vacuuming up small messes that have been made, and we do not have to bring out the regular vacuum.

jennio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needed replacement after 2 years
11/25/2016

Customer review by Ed R

3.0 stars 11/25/2016 by Ed R
by Ed R

I purchased my gator 12-16-2014 After 2 years would not run longer than 3-4 min. Contacted customer service and item was replaced and shipped to me free of charge. Hope this one last longer. Great warranty. The power of email Thanks Dirt Devil Ed [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Ed R
Mokena, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
11/8/2016

Customer review by djw1

5.0 stars 11/8/2016 by djw1
by djw1

My first one of these died after more than 10 years, the battery finally gave out. I bought the same model again and it works as well as the first one. I'm counting on it lasting as long too!

djw1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Design
10/12/2016

Customer review by flygirl308

4.0 stars 10/12/2016 by flygirl308
by flygirl308

I purchased this vac a year ago. It has a great warranty. Unfortunately the one I purchased quit in less than a year. Dirt Devil replaced it for free and I have been using the replacement (which was the same model as the first one) and it has performed very well, the same as my first one. I would recommend Dirt Devil hand vacs for those quick pick up jobs and cleaning a car. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

flygirl308
John Day, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replaced my grab and go
10/12/2016

Customer review by Doodles

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Doodles
by Doodles

Had to replace my grab and go because it would not hold a charge. Called in and representative handled the issue from start to finish in a most professional manner. The company replaced my unit in a timely fashion with very explisit instructions that were easy to follow. The entire process only too a few days. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Doodles
Franklin Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleans well!!
10/17/2016

Customer review by Russell

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by Russell
by Russell

This replaced my previous Dirt Devil hand vac. Works great,and charge lasts well.

Russell
St Louis County MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well but doesn't hold charge
10/12/2016

Customer review by Vikingpb

2.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Vikingpb
by Vikingpb

I have had 4 of this model. All but 1 has been replaced under warranty. They only work for about 6-months after which they will not charge.

Vikingpb
Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great
10/2/2016

Customer review by JimJames

3.0 stars 10/2/2016 by JimJames
by JimJames

It lasted 1 year of regular use but the battery is now officially dead. I tried the battery reset mentioned in many reviews but that finished off the battery and now it won't charge at all.

JimJames
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy
10/5/2016

Customer review by Old and Grumpy Tiger

4.0 stars 10/5/2016 by Old and Grumpy Tiger
by Old and Grumpy Tiger

I am on my 3rd and 4th after 1 & 2 replaced under warranty. Good product but a little short on run time.

Old and Grumpy Tiger
Mountain Brook, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good!
9/17/2016

Customer review by et3et

4.0 stars 9/17/2016 by et3et
by et3et

I bought this mainly for my car. After a few uses, I am satisfied with the performance. I can use it twice before recharging. I wish it would last a little longer, but I can live with it. I also noticed the charging light issue. It does go out when it is charged. You should note that in the instructions. It is a good value and a decent product.

et3et
Clarendon Hills, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
COMPACT AND AFFORDABLE
9/19/2016

Customer review by RETIREDTECH2010

4.0 stars 9/19/2016 by RETIREDTECH2010
by RETIREDTECH2010

I bought this vacuum over a month ago and I use it daily for small particles that appear daily on my laminate floor. Great product, the only drawback is that it doesn't come with a mounting stand to put on a wall. My Black and Decker came with one for the same price.

RETIREDTECH2010
SYLMAR, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean Car
9/23/2016

Customer review by Sam70

5.0 stars 9/23/2016 by Sam70
by Sam70

I bought the Dirt Devil after I got a new car. Needed to leave the original floor mat in place, so I wanted something that was dependable and would do a good job.

Sam70
Swansea, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Will be returning it
9/10/2016

Customer review by Grandma Beazer

1.0 stars 9/10/2016 by Grandma Beazer
by Grandma Beazer

My Dirt Devil does not hold a charge. Doesn't work properly.

Grandma Beazer
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor
9/4/2016

Customer review by Ectjr20

1.0 stars 9/4/2016 by Ectjr20
by Ectjr20

The stability of the battery is no good once charging and when I use it it dies too fast

Ectjr20
Bronx, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery does not hold charge!
1/24/2015

Customer review by dawnape

1.0 stars 1/24/2015 by dawnape
by dawnape

I bought this product a year ago in preparation for my little one and crumbs. I was also hoping to use it to quickly clean stairs as it seemed much easier to use than a huge vacuum.  I can say I have only used it twice with a full charge.  Any other time the battery only lasts about a minute before wasting away to nothing.  Each time it had been on the charger for more than 24 hours.  Like others I got on this website to possibly see if there was a replacement battery and was VERY disappointed that this was not an option.  Being a new mom, I misplaced any paperwork for registering my product, but honestly did not think it would be necessary after only a year of use.  So now I have a $40 vacuum that truly cannot be used!  I will be thinking twice before purchasing any other Dirt Devil product.  

dawnape
Holly Springs, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Threw mine away...no power
8/17/2016

Customer review by Bbbb

1.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Bbbb
by Bbbb

Went rapidly from 8 minutes of power to about 3 minutes to unable to hold a charge at all. Threw it out.

Bbbb
Corvallis, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews