Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

115 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

115 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
39
1-20 of 106 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Best Buy for the money
2/3/2016

Customer review by arty

5.0 stars 2/3/2016 by arty
by arty

My old one quit and I no longer could find filters. New one is great only thing I wish is that it could be hooked by hanger ring at the end of the handle. Now I at times must hunt the new one Down! new features are a definite Plus! 8 am very pleased.

arty
Uncasville ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Bad design
9/27/2015

Customer review by eereviewer

1.0 stars 9/27/2015 by eereviewer
by eereviewer

I do not normally review items but this one was so bad in design I just had to take my time to review it. The main issue here is the built-in Lithium batteries discharge very fast in about 15-20 minutes of using so you can not finish the task on hand,. Charging it again takes a full 6-8 hours which is pointless. Now If you leave the unit unplugged for a while the batteries will drain so much that plugging back the wall charger will not charge the unit! Why? because the wall charger over-current protection cuts off charging! I had to use another stronger linear wall charger to charge the unit for 15 mins before re-plugging its small weak 130ma wall charger. I finally gave up on this item entirely, but being an electrical engineer I opened it and wired it to 10 feet fire and a plug to use it with a car 12V cigarette lighter socket so I would not throw it away. Now I have a corded hand vacuum i could have purchased at half the price and not spending time fixing it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eereviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
A very handy product
1/25/2016

Customer review by Deep G

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Deep G
by Deep G

I use this product to clean my car and sofa & Bed. It works very well. The suction is excellent, but the battery life is small, per use could be a little longer. It lasts about 10 to 15 minutes then it's done.

Deep G
Irving, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very displeased
12/13/2015

Customer review by Customer

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Customer
by Customer

I want to rate this product two stars but that means it was fair. However, the one that I picked up was not. We followed the instructions for new buyers and charged it for 24 hours and then turned it on before we went down three stories to vacuum our cars. Unfortunately when we turned it on I immediately had a bad feeling because how weak the suction was. I figured maybe it was all in my head so we tried it out anyway. At first it sucked up a little pile of crumbs and I thought great! then I tried to get a deeper clean with the nozzle and it spit everything back out. I figured I will try a different area to see if it could pick up some dirt and the suction went down even more as if the battery was dying within 10 minutes if your lucky. I would just recommend you keep a receipt on hand because $30.00 is a lot of money for something a lent roller may have done.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent hand vac
6/24/2011

Customer review by KatieinPA

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by KatieinPA
by KatieinPA

Looking to buy a cordless hand vac, I did a lot of reseach and found this Dirt Devil to have a very high rating. I'm very happy with this purchase - this hand vac is so easy to use, lightweight, and very effective at picking up dirt and lint. Walmart had the best deal and fast service.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatieinPA
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lightweight, excellent handle, crevice tool very handy
1/6/2016

Customer review by Gr8Accountant

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Gr8Accountant
by Gr8Accountant

My review title says it all but I can add that this appliance charges quickly and the charge lasts for a reasonable amount of time. The suction is excellent and I really appreciate the built in crevice tool. I have no complaints.

Gr8Accountant
Arvada, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little vac
5/18/2011

Customer review by ausableriverkayaker

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by ausableriverkayaker
by ausableriverkayaker

I can't believe the power of this little vac. It came at just the right time when all the little buds are falling off the trees and getting tracked into the mud room. I just grab it an clean up the mess and plug it back in. What convenience, and it is really a breeze to empty. It was delivered a couple days after I ordered it, and I couldn't be more pleased. My daughter just bought her first house, and I think I will get one for her.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ausableriverkayaker
Fairview, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wont charge
12/19/2015

Customer review by knewyou01

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by knewyou01
by knewyou01

this unit charged a couple of times, and after the 2nd time, it wont charge

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/19/2015

Hi knewyou01, Hmm, this seems strange and you should be receiving a runtime of 8-10 minutes on a full charge. Try this helpful battery reset procedure below we've put together. After completing these simple steps, you should be back in business in no time! 1. First, unplug the charger from the outlet for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, power on the hand vac and let it run until the battery drains. 3. Lastly, return the unit to the charger and let it charge for 24 hours. On your next use, the run time should be anywhere from 8-10 minutes. We can be reached at 1-800-321-1134, on Facebook, or Twitter if you need any assistance. Thank you!

knewyou01
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
used them for years
12/11/2015

Customer review by charlie o

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by charlie o
by charlie o

does a fine job, saves getting out the big one for smaller hard to get at areas. bought a second one for our sons birthday we really like it

charlie o
mcminnville or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Total waste
11/29/2015

Customer review by GeorgiePorgie

1.0 stars 11/29/2015 by GeorgiePorgie
by GeorgiePorgie

I bought the forerunner to this model (BD10085), 9.6V, and it is totally worthless. Went through two of them. If you leave it plugged in so it will be charged when you need it, it overcharges the useless NiCad batteries and they fail. If you don't leave it plugged in, the useless NiCad batteries discharge and you can't use it. I see this model is a 10.8 volt version, which it uses one more NiCad cell and it will be totally worthless, also.l

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/2/2015

Hi GeorgiePorgie! You should be able to use your Gator without any problems and we would like to share a few tips with you! Most of our hand vacuums will have an occasional maintenance charge to help keep the vacuum fully charged. During this period, you may notice the light on the charger come back on periodically for a few hours after the vacuum has been fully charged. With continued usage, the battery power will diminish and must go through a reset procedure to help maximize the run time. Try these steps below and reach out to us at 1-800-321-1134, leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @Dirt Devil, if you have further questions or concerns. Thank you!! 1. Unplug the charger from the outlet. You must leave it unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Power on the hand vac and let the battery completely run down. 3. Finally, let the unit charge for a full 24 hours. After it has charged, we recommend turning on the Gator and letting it run. You should receive a run time of 8-10 minutes. That should do the trick!

GeorgiePorgie
Carlsbad, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good little hand Vac...
10/11/2011

Customer review by TonyAGC

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by TonyAGC
by TonyAGC

Just started using this hand vacuum and it works great...Has good power for it's size and it is lightweight and easy to empty once full.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TonyAGC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/10/2011

Customer review by JSV333

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by JSV333
by JSV333

Perfect for little jobs around the house... especially with two cats running rampant.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSV333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wont hold the charge.
11/19/2015

Customer review by Gordo

1.0 stars 11/19/2015 by Gordo
by Gordo

I purchased this Vacuum in April of this year. It worked fine for 5 months. I used it about once a week. It suddenly slowed down after running for about 30 seconds. It wont recharge now. The red light comes on and off about every three seconds. After three days of recharging it only runs very slow for about ten seconds and stops.

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/19/2015

Hi Gordo! Surely, your Gator should be holding up to its standards! We've put together this battery reset procedure that will improve the performance and get you back well on your way! Please give these steps below a shot: 1.First, unplug your charger from the outlet. Leave it unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2.Then, power on the Gator and let run until the battery completely drains. 3.Lastly, return the unit to the charger and allow it to charge for 24 hours in full. After the charging period, please turn on the unit and keep track of how long it runs for. The average run should be anywhere from 8-10 minutes. If you still need us, please call us at 1-800-321-1134 and we'll be happy to assist you! Thank you.

Gordo
Warren, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful Hand Vac
8/15/2011

Customer review by willievester

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by willievester
by willievester

This is the best hand vac I've ever had. Real good power and lasts a long time on a charge. So easy to empty, I find myself using it so much more than I ever used other ones. I just wish it mounted on a wall plate like the old ones did for charging.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willievester
Bell, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/2/2012

Customer review by delicia28

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by delicia28
by delicia28

This unit is a little powerhouse! It works well on carpeted stairs and those hard to reach places - also works well after you've swept the floor and you don't want to haul out the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delicia28
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
2/23/2012

Customer review by Kindy126

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Kindy126
by Kindy126

Works well, lots of power! Battery lasts about 20 minutes. Very light and easy to use. Great price and well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kindy126
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
STINKS
10/22/2015

Customer review by uncharged

1.0 stars 10/22/2015 by uncharged
by uncharged

This is only one year old and it will not hold a charge.....pretty crummy

Comment from Kenya - 10/22/2015

Hi uncharged! You should be getting a run time of at least 8-10 minutes with your Gator 10.8V. We have some tips to restore the run time. Try this: Unplug the charger from the wall for 1-2 minutes. Let the hand vac run down until it completely shuts off and then re-charge for 24 hours. On your next use you should notice the difference. If not, keep in mind your Gator comes with a 36 month warranty. We are here for you. Please feel free to reach out to us! Thanks

uncharged
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery is junk
6/7/2013

Customer review by louye

2.0 stars 6/7/2013 by louye
by louye

When this would keep a charge (for a few charges) the suction would work great for a little vacuum. Its a pain to clean the filter because any dirt in there sticks to the filter and it has to be cleaned out very often (small size). The other bad thing is it can't be used with ac power while plugged in,only battery so that means if the battery is junk so is this thing. It turns out the battery junks out after only a half dozen charges. I don't use this often so i didn't know it was going to do this or i would have returned it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louye
denver co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Not worth the money and time
8/4/2015

Customer review by Backyardgarbages

1.0 stars 8/4/2015 by Backyardgarbages
by Backyardgarbages

I bought this vacuum to keep next to my parrot's cage to suck up the little bit of bird seed shells and crumbs that fall outside the cage each day. This vacuum lasted one year almost to the day. Even when it was working, it was as light duty as anything could possibly be but even less than I would expect. Even after owning this vacuum just a few months, when I would turn it on you could immediately hear the motor sound like its going to stop working which it did lose its charge completely but gradually over the next two minutes. I have to buy another vacuum. Today is August 4, 2015 and it stopped working today. I was able to look in my order history and see that I bought it on August 7, 2014. Luckily, I had not written a review for this item yet because if I had then Walmart wouldn't even allow me to update that review. That needs to change or I will stop making good reviews because I don't want to mislead anyone after I realize a product I love is actually junk. I like to review items almost immediately after using them the first time but if I can't update that good review if the item turns out to be a bad buy then I'll have to stop all good reviews period.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Backyardgarbages
Would recommend to a friend? No
great deesign and power
11/8/2011

Customer review by piscator

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by piscator
by piscator

Well designed for maintenance. Good power for a battery powered vacuum

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
piscator
New Fairfield ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews