Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 1077 reviews
5 stars
596
4 stars
274
3 stars
64
2 stars
36
1 stars
107
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1013 reviews
1-20 of 1013 reviews
Hard floor, car, simple vac for kids & adults
8/4/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this as an extra vac for my 5 yr old girl (extra birthday gift), she loves it vs using a fake one for her younger year 2-4 years old. nice to have ur kid enjoying a real vac using something that's not a toy to clean the house ;) paid $19.97 online, free site to store pickup. in stores sells for $25-$26. Overall it converts from a light weight tall vac to a small dust buster, and has a thin siv pipe tool clean the corners of walls, base boards, dust around the fireplace area etc. good for cleaning the couch or car etc. setup as a normal vac its sucktion hole in in the middle so it doesn't get the corners of the walls etc so u may have to brush dirt away with ur foot etc or attach the suv tool after to clean all edges/corners. It has a bag inside, u could try to empty and reuse but better off buying a new bag. It does NOT have a beater brush (roller) for rugs. so it can suck up some fuzz or dust with a few pass overs, but its not going to clean up hairs and other hidden dirt on rugs. An average vac for hard floors like the kitchen or counter crumbs as a hand vac, hardwood, tile. lam floors, car or quick corner cleaner using the tool attachment. and a nice starter real vac for young kids. the cord wraps up nice and the tool attachment stay nicely on the handle when ur ready to attach it. can be a useful vac for adults and older people that need a vac for a quick cleanup in the kitchen etc. There is an on/off switch, and a button/latch to remove the handle so you can use it as a small hand vacuum. but there is no button/latch to change/remove the lower head(siv tool, normal vac head and no-head to use it as a basic hand vac). Removing the wide vacuum normal head to attach the siv tool or just to remove it to use as a basic hand vac needs some strength to pull it off. so for kids and older adults they may need help or just use it as is. because it attaches by forcing it into a hole that narrows to hold it in place. I just wish it had a lock button to easily attach and detach for kids, older adults. so I help my kid when she want to convert it into a siv corner cleaning tool or hand vac and back to a full vacuum. then I wish it had a wider vac head to suck up dirt in the corners or edges of the walls. its a fine vac for the $20 price and if ur usings some online store extra % cashback site too. 3/5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (143)No (34)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The price is good, and This is one of the greatest little appliances I have had!!
10/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Makes for a quick clean up in everywhere (does a very nice job on the throw rugs). So much easier then dragging out the regular vac! Also it's a light weight feather picker-upper and not so mucm noisy. I love that so much:) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just What We Needed!
4/14/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In our work environment we do a lot of shredding of documents containing personal information of our residents, and no matter how careful we are with emptying the shredder bin, bits of paper will inevitably end up on the floor. I ordered this vacuum because I already knew it would be the right choice since I have the identical item at home. It is light weight, easy to use, and grabs the tiny paper bits on the first swipe. The 16 foot cord is also important to us because of outlet placement in our work area. Highly recommend this stick vacuum! It is just right for small, quick pickups both at home and work. The ability to use it as a hand vacuum is a big plus.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS DIRT DEVIL VACUUM ROCKS, ROCKS, ROCKS!!!!!
2/20/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this great little vacuum and it's the best investment I've made in a long, long time, and at a price I couldn't believe. Keep in mind, I'm 80 years old, and pushing my heavy upright vacuum around was about to do me in. I needed something lightweight, but that actually cleans. That was my biggest concern that it wouldn't have enough power to get the dust and lint up. My apt. wasn't "dirty", but I hadn't vacuumed for a while so I figured there was a bit of dust in there. I was absolutely shocked when I cleaned out the canister and discovered a LOT of dust and lint in there. This little machine really works, and it gets into places I could never get to with the big upright. It works great on non-carpeted areas also. And as I read in another review (when I was trying to decide if I wanted to buy it), it doesn't suck your throw rugs into the vacuum. And because it's very lightweight, my back wasn't killing me when I finished. I am one happy camper, and I just love my new toy!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
3/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered the stick vac because I needed something to get dust and dog hair off my vinyl kitchen and dining room floors. I wanted something with a long handle, since I can no longer get underneath the computer desk, chairs, etc. I ordered it online with standard delivery, and received it in 2 days! I absolutely LOVE this item! It's a long-handled dust buster, which is exactly what I needed! I had already swept my floor before using the new vacuum, but within minutes I had nearly filled the dust cup! The crevice tool is perfect for tight areas and corners, and the vacuum "head" rolls smoothly over the floor. Both are easily detachable, as is the long handle, so this can be used as a standard hand-held dust buster. I have an outlet fairly central in the large area, and the cord on this unit is long enough to reach all the corners. It was also VERY inexpensive to buy, and the shipping cost was almost nothing! I'm planning to buy a couple more to give out as gifts and housewarming presents.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (196)No (57)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small and lightweight
11/8/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is small and stores easily. The only thing I would say about storing it is that it rolls when you try to lean it against the wall if it is on a hardwood or tile floor. It is fine on carpet. It works great for pet hair, crumbs, grass and sand. It's incredibly lightweight and makes vacuuming the stairs really easy as it also detaches into a hand-held unit. The cord wraps up quickly and easily but it's not as long as a regular vacuum. However, with its small size and lightweight, it's not a problem at all. The one con it has is that you cannot wash the filter. To clean the filter, you're supposed to dump it into the trash but a lot of the hair sticks to it and it can get quit messy. I use an old toothbrush to get all the dust off it and store the toothbrush in a sandwich bag. Without the toothbrush, it doesn't get very clean. But I can live with it because everything else is really good and it has made cleaning the floors so much easier that I don't mind doing it now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Value and Same Quality As High-End Vacuums
12/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like this little red Dirt Devil. Compact, very light and quiet enough to talk over. It's still powerful enough to easily clean any hard floor in our home, including small-but-visible specks on carpeting (it won't clean lint or hair on carpeted surfaces). It's genuinely a floor vacuum, as there is no brush to clog with hair, and emptying the thing is truly easy and quick; not sure if I want a clear filter can... I suppose not seeing the dirt until I empty it is the most logical versus getting a 400-dollar Dyson where you're looking at dirt the entire time... Speaking of which, ALL vacuums over 200-bucks seem waaay overpriced to me. They use cheap plastic-injected molds to make their parts, so there's absolutely ZERO reason to pay anything near the Dyson-price-range when for 1/20 the price, this and other slightly pricier carpet vacs will do enough for your luxurious life of carpet vacuuming. Seriously, the build quality of all vacs is the same after browsing them in-person at Wal-Mart (so don't overpay).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
about the bagless/filter
6/30/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have one of these vacs. I do love it. I think it is a matter of choice to bag or not. It does require an F-25 filter. You must buy online and they are hard to find but I did and they are pricey. Not the filter itself, but the shipping costs are considering the weight, so I buy 2 at a time. It blows a big hole in 25.00 each time. So if you are not using a filter, and you have dog hair or whatever left on your carpet, (my is very flat) there is the problem. Get the filters. For me, I'm going to step up a level in floor vacs. One that I can buy the filter in the store. Even though I prefer online shopping for most items like this; the pricing on these filters is too high based on the cost of the vac. It is a good vac, for floors and flat carpets. Carpet with a pile to it, no. It is, a floor vac. It will pick up cat hair, but not my old lady hair. So I use my sticky roller for that. The vac will push the human hair into a line and one swipe with the sticky roller and it is done. Being disabled, this is perfect for people who cannot push heavy vacuums.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (126)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME!
10/26/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This evening I reviewed what other people had to say about this product. I could not find it in my local Walmart and wanted something right away for my new 410 s.f. efficiency bare floor apartment, growing dirtier by the day. I went across the street and found it for $5 more than the on-line price, with the box open. Initially I thought it might be a return so I examined the contents, all looked clean, everything there. As the box was opened I asked for a discount and paid $16. It might be because I have not bought any new in appliances or contraptions in ages, but I am thrilled by how this little dustbuster on a wand works. As I have an electric heat wall unit and a 'window' air conditioner, I am receiving A LOT OF DUST! Using this unit is so much easier than a broom and dustpan, not to mention I can clean my tiny air purifier HEPA with it. I really appreciate the on-line reviews. Next time, I am definitely going back to Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Little Vacuum!
6/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product! I bought my first one on black Friday 2008 for less than $20 so I didn't have high expectations but was immediately impressed with how well it worked on both tile and carpet (& now laminate and outdoor vinyl type carpet) to pick up pet hair, dust, ect (& even larger tree leaves outside too!) Now 9yrs later, while I no longer use it in my home and instead in my screen porch, that old vac is still going strong! I actually purchased a new (same) one about a year ago but am now looking for my third to move my second outside and finally get rid of ol' faithful. It does still have suction but old or new, the filter, if you will, becomes caked and as time goes on it gets more and more difficult to clean. The same things happens with the bottom portion where it makes contact with your surface so you have to clean both places out with a disposable butter knife (or equivalent) quite regularly but that's my only complaint. Other than that it works well, is light weight, has a compact design that's easy to store and is well made, meaning it will break on you, loose suction or just stop working like many other products nowadays.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice little vacuum!
3/24/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This little vacuum is NOT what you want to use if you have a huge house or 5 kids, but it is just the ticket for me & my husband & 2 cats in our small apartment! We are retired/disabled and the idea of something lightweight appealed to us, and it is indeed that! With 2 cats in our home, cat hair and litter/sand was something we need to keep on top of, and this little Dirt Devil works even better than I was hoping for... must be cleaned out quite frequently, but this is not a hard thing to do. Today when cleaning out the litter box, the trash bag spring a leak across the floor, onto the carpet and kitchen floor.. This vacuum was up to the task & got ALL the litter up without resorting to using any other method, which impressed me! Not sure how well it would work on shag carpet, but works great on our basic stuff and great on the bare floors too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Great handy vac!
7/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned this for 11 months and no complaints on it! It works great, i know this cause when i go to empty the cup after each use- i see all the pet hair and dust it sucked up!! It's very easy and light to use, and the crevice tool is great for getting in the corners of chairs, couches and floors! I glides on my wood floor and area rugs get so clean quickly without a lot of effort. i'm glad i bought it and will buy another when it quits! I think it's important to dust or wipe off the filter with a brush or a paper towel-, if your picking up pet hair, and they do sell replacement filters on Amazon.com- very cheap for 3 of them in a pack. I also have cleaned the filter with warm soapy water and turn over to dry completely-that really helps with the suction. Maybe the persons saying it doesn't work well, aren't doing that frequently enough or at all. I think it's a great machine and great low price!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a very good buy
7/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The part that sold me to try this was someone had stated it really picks up the kitty litter and cat hairs, I can honestly say yes it does...It picks up the litter and cat hairs on both the carpet and the tile bathroom floor... It really picks up everything without weighing a ton... The convenience of having a hand held vac is an added bonus... I recently had surgery and there is no way I would be able to use a full heavy vacuum or even a broom but this I can use with little pain... It is very easy to empty the cup and the whole thing is so light you can pick it up to take it apart without even having to bend over... The handheld part with its attachment really gets into every corner... The only thing I would want it does not have is a brush attachment for furniture and curtains...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirt Devil Stick Vacuum ROCKS!
10/28/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Oh My! I've had a swiffer sweeper ($40) plus cost of pads to pick up pet hair, etc. from my first floor - wood and ceramic. The swiffer worked, but the Dirt Devil ROCKS! There is no comparison - with a german shepherd and a golden retriever, you can imagine - I swiffer/sweep twice a day - not anymore. 8 minutes, and I was finished with the entire 1180 square feet of the first floor! No battery to run down, didn't even have to empty the canister in between! This is the BEST SWEEPER EVER! Do yourself a favor - stop paying $40 for swiffer, and stop lugging around a big vac, and stop sweeping with a broom! Buy this and make your life easier!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (359)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use
10/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this vac for over a year and really love the lightweight and ease of movement. I have serious back issues and limited arm usage, so for me, this vacuum is an absolute dream to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clever Household Tool
1/19/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have to admit I did not have high expectations for this product. In fact, I figured I would probably end up returning it. However, now that I have owned and used this product for two months I feel it's fair to say this is an exceptionally great product for the price and what it is configured to do. I would recommend this product. PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS NOT A NORMAL VACUUM! It is simply a day to day sweeper that can do small jobs such as corners, small area rugs, entry ways, and some hard to reach areas. THIS IS A "DUST BUSTER" with a floor attachment, handle and corner attachment. The handle is a perfect height/length for me (5'5"). It is not battery operated or rechargeable like a Swiffer Sweeper, but the cord is quite long and I have no trouble reaching the top of the stairs with it. The dirt container is bagless and can easily be emptied with the click of a release button. The floor attachment and corner/crevice attachment are also easily removed or connected as they fit into the end of the main unit (dust buster). It is not extremely loud but it isn't quiet either. The suction power is perfect and powerful for bare floors and small area rugs. I find the suction is greater and does a better job than my swiffer sweeper. I do daily clean-ups with this stick vacuum and it picks up the fur from my two large weimaraners along with all the dirt, sand, and dust they carried in. Many reviews rated this vacuum low but I highly disagree. This product is fairly inexpensive and so for the price (I paid $21 at walmart.com) I recommend you give it a shot. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (418)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for dog hair
8/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I hate housework and am always looking for ways to make it easier & simpler. Dog & cat hair on my hardwood floors are #1 on the chore list. I had purchased a Bissell upright that advertised itself as the total solution for dealing with pet hair. Epic fail. For whatever reason, that vacuum has a downward flow of air so powerful it sent dog hair up and across the room. Customer service at Bissell was a non-starter. So ,with no more than $20 to lose, I sent for this Dirt Devil. I've only just begun to use it but, so far, it is far better than I expected. I want to see the hair being suctioned in and, preferably, from inches away. Check. I want lightweight and easy maneuvering. Check. I want all the hair taken up, even what I can't see under furniture. Check. I want easy to store. Check. True, the chamber for hair and dirt is small but it is so easy to empty it's not a problem. I was impressed by the amount of hair picked up. It must not have missed any and since it does have enough suction to pick up hair a few inches away, it must have gotten hair I hadn't noticed. It is as light as a broom and small enough to fit in my embarrassingly messy storage closet. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
dirt devil
10/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
works great on small clean ups...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for my hardwood floor.
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered this SimpliStik vacuum exclusively for my hardwood floor. I have a couple kitties and I wanted to specifically clean up the pet hair and litter pebbles that spreads off of their feet. It does a great job accomplishing the purpose that I bought it for. I would not recommend for cleaning of rugs, carpets, but it does do a fantastic job at keeping my hardwood floor free from everyday dust, pet hair and general dirt. The only thing that would be a little better would be a longer cord -- I do have to move it to another outlet while cleaning the hardwood floor. Small matter though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very ueseful for retirees in small apartment
1/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I live in a small efficiency and this small Dirt Devil does an excellent joy. As many reviewers have stated, it has its limitations. It has no roller so is not useful on deep carpets, the container should be emptied after each use and the filter lightly brushed (I use a tooth brush). I have vinyl floors in the kitchen and bathroom and carpet in the rest of the efficiency and it cleans it as well as my older vacuum and is much lighter and much easier to use. Again it is a smaller area and the carpet is a low carpet. If you are elderly or have some disabilities in your arms or legs, this is a little gem!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642858, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-