Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

110 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

110 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 stars
17
1-20 of 83 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Works very well
2/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wanted to get a meat grinder for a while, and finally bought this one. After following the directions I learned via google, I put the grinder in the freezer for hours before using it. I sliced the meat into strips (don't cube it) and hardened them in the freezer, (don't freeze it, just make it very stiff) Turn the handle until you get the largest opening in the auger, push your product in the gap, and begin grinding. If everything is cold enough you will not have any issues. You will have to tighten the clamp frequently as the nylon shim that protects your counter-top has some 'squish' . As soon as you finish grinding put your product in the fridge, disassemble your grinder, and use hot tap water to rinse out the residual meat. I collected all the residual meat, and it was only enough to make one meatball, so I'd skip the 'put balled up paper towels through to push out leftover meat'. While turning the grinder's handle, you can tighten the front ring (by hand) until everything is smooth, you'll want the blade pressed snugly against the plate, but not so tight it binds up. The coarse plate made for a little concern, but when we made our hamburger patties and cooked them, they held together, and made nice burgers!! I'm very pleased. Just remember, keep everything cold!!!! If you are right handed, you'll want to help steady the grinder with your left. Put a nice thin glove on before your nitrile gloves to help keep from freezing your hand lol. (The first mix I tried was 1.5lb Chuck, .4 Skirt, .2 Bacon...too much bacon, I'd go with just 1oz bacon next time)

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Worthy Grinder
3/9/2011

Customer review by EEMatt

4.0 stars 3/9/2011 by EEMatt
by EEMatt

Overall, I am happy with the performance of this meat grinder. It does a good job of making ground meat. It would probably do a great job if I used completely fat-free meat. If you have fat in the meat, you will eventually plug the strainer. With me, this happens after about a pound of meat. Luckily, it is relatively easy to remove the strainer and unclog it. There is not much support for the grinder. The legs only extend about 2 inches into the table, so it tends to wiggle when you turn the crank after a while. This could be due to the screw clamp on the bottom not wanting to stay tight. An easy fix, when it starts to wiggle, tighten the screw. If you put the meat in the feed ramp just right, the grinder will guide the meat from the feed ramp into the grinder. If you don't, you will have to use something to push the meat in. There is no plunger included. These are all relatively minor inconveniences. As I said before, I am happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EEMatt
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good value for the money
10/7/2010

Customer review by OhWiseMan

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by OhWiseMan
by OhWiseMan

I have used this twice and it works pretty good. The shipping took 5 business days, that's good. The first time I used it, there was some meat that came out gray because I had the plastic bushing reversed and I had metal to metal contact between the auger and housing. Be prepared to throw out some of the first meat coming through the grinder plate because it will be somewhat dirty. The fit between the auger shaft and the hole in the handle is very poor and should be redesigned. I used 2 washers behind the holding screw to fix that. Snug it up tight with a small shaft like a screwdriver and it will not slip. A square key should have been used rather than this cheap design. I was expecting a plunger would be needed, but did not need it after all. I am hoping there won't be any rust the next time I use it..

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhWiseMan
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
No problems ith grinding fat
5/30/2011

Customer review by ConnMack

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by ConnMack
by ConnMack

For those haqving problems with fat clogging the mechanism, you can avoid that by slightly freezing the meat prior to grinding. Yo can also keep the grinder cool by running a few ice cubes through it between loads.

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConnMack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good meat grinder
9/10/2011

Customer review by curious123456

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by curious123456
by curious123456

This meat grinder works as expected and I haven't experienced anything coming out that I didn't put in (no black stuff, no flecks, etc.). It feels solid and it's heavy. I use it for chilled and already cooked meats cut into 1-2 inch cubes. The handle has a nice length for me and it turns smoothly, but it will exercise your upper arm slightly depending on how much you're grinding, but that's to be expected since it's a manual grinder. It fits fine on the countertop, but I'd recommend putting a towel or something under it so as not to leave indentations on the countertop. Taking it apart for cleaning was easy and drying was also easy since there's enough space inside for my hand and towel to fit. I store it in an extra large resealable plastic bag to keep all the pieces together and assembling it before use takes less than 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curious123456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value for the hobbiest
5/31/2011

Customer review by tapco1

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by tapco1
by tapco1

Since retiring last year I have had more time to start a few new hobbies. I had a hard time deciding whether to buy a hand cranked meat grinder or an electric one. After determining that I would only be making 10 to 20 lbs of sausage a year I decided to go with a manual meat grinder. My research pointed me to the Weston site and I determined what model I wanted to purchase. After my review I started to price the Weston # 10 model I wanted, using the internet. Once I found out that Wal Mart was carrying the exact model I had selected my research ended for the following reasons. 1. Great price 2. Met all my requirements (Nice sausage making kit included) 3. Site to Store free Shipping $00.00 Always a nice thing!! 4. The Wal Mart store I use is only 2 miles away. Just made my first batch of Sausage using a very old family recipe and it turned out exactly how I had envisioned using the Prego Weston # 10 hand meat grinder. The taste was wonderful, just as I had remembered, growing up and eating home made Italian sausage. You can’t go wrong, Cleans up nicely and it will last a lifetime. Tom

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tapco1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
it does the job
9/3/2010

Customer review by chisamsr

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by chisamsr
by chisamsr

My mother called me and asked me if i remembered her mothers paminto cheese spread and i remembered the delicious taste and then she gave me the recipe and i thought i want to make this now, but I did not have a hand grinder and mom said you had to make it with the hand grinder only! So i looked around and also looked on line and low and behold Walmart had one and at a very good price in fact it was the lower of all the ones i found. I had it delivered to the Walmart closest to my home and got it before the delivery date. Walmart sent me a text message letting me know it was in and i went down and got it along with the the list of stuff mom gave me and went home and made the spread and it was great. I will also be making deer sausage with it this fall it works great

Was this review helpful? (45) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chisamsr
Wildwood, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It snapped in two while attaching it to the table
3/5/2011

Customer review by Tygerkitt

1.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Tygerkitt
by Tygerkitt

It looks and feels very sturdy, but it snapped in two while we were attaching it to the table. Our family does not work out, we have no muscles to speak of, yet we broke it in half while trying to screw it to the table, so while it LOOKS good, it's flimsy.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tygerkitt
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Terrible idea to buy this product
1/14/2011

Customer review by POedHunter

1.0 stars 1/14/2011 by POedHunter
by POedHunter

This was a terrible buy! I thought it was going to be great. The ring that holds the entire thing together is made out of cast iron and is course threaded, it needed to be fine threaded. The threads wore out after only five minutes. I literally had just pulled it out of the box, put it together, and started using it, and it broke. I had even cut the meat up into small chunks so that it wouldn't be to much strain for it, and it still broke. I would not recommend this product to anyone, espicially hunters who want to process game themselves.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
POedHunter
Valliant, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Old timer
11/11/2010

Customer review by grammyjane

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by grammyjane
by grammyjane

This product is an "old timer". Has been around since I was a little girl and that is a long time ago. The one my Mother passed on to me was lost over the years, so when it came time to make Hamsalad, I tried with my food processor, but didn't care for the texture. So found one at reliable Walmart, and it's back to old fashion Hamsalad. Thanks, Walmart for saving the day.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammyjane
DeBary, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
junk
1/21/2012

Customer review by 5080

1.0 stars 1/21/2012 by 5080
by 5080

The threads on the face plate are junk, and the plate will not screw on right, and then blows off while you are grinding. wish i would of bought a better one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5080
Would recommend to a friend? No
price is good, functions not so good
9/28/2010

Customer review by vikster123

2.0 stars 9/28/2010 by vikster123
by vikster123

Got this product and was disappointed. I was grinding chicken with skin for my special homemade ravioli. The skin was getting stuck in the tunnel and all the grinded meat was coming up from the top. It was a mess. The tunnel is too long i think, my mom has one from 1970 and the tunnel is not as long and the whole thing is not as heavy, easy to operate. Product is very heady and hard to clean. Assembling the product also is not hard but difficult. You need some sort of tool to lock it in place, otherwise it moves on the table.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vikster123
nyc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Won't stay still
9/23/2010

Customer review by GeeelB

3.0 stars 9/23/2010 by GeeelB
by GeeelB

I guess you get what you pay for. I went for the cheapest and although it grinds okay, the fastener that tightens and attaches the grinder to the edge of a table or a counter will not stay tight even with the protector underneath it. I have not tried it without the plastic protector. While grinding the grinder continually becomes loose so that I have to try and hold it still while trying to feed the meat into the grinder all with one hand. Not very convenient or easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeeelB
Auburn, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Prago Weston #10 meat grinder
11/2/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/2/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

works great. clogs fast with fat but other than that it is a great little tool to keep around the house. I use it for deer and use the attachment with the bigger holes first then run it through again with the attachment with small holes and it isn't so bad. Great product for the money

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bad. Pretty Bad
12/21/2012

Customer review by DissatisfiedShopper12

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by DissatisfiedShopper12
by DissatisfiedShopper12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does not work as a meat grinder. It does not work as a sausage stuffer. Was received missing the 10mm grinding plate. This thing should not be sold as a meat grinder. Should be reclassified as rustic relic. and the rust is what happens when you put it in the dish washer for the first time use. Overall rating is the minimum needed to file this review. Should be zero star.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DissatisfiedShopper12
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Breaks easy
8/13/2011

Customer review by DallasPete

1.0 stars 8/13/2011 by DallasPete
by DallasPete

BEWARE: Do not tighten the mounts too tight!!! I had mine less than 30 minutes and it broke, it needs to be tightly mounted or else it moves around while grinding, but too tight it snaps the mounting. So, cannot really rate the performance as it broke during first grinding.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DallasPete
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/5/2012

Customer review by snowfighterswife

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by snowfighterswife
by snowfighterswife

it does the job. Its not my grandmothers old meat grinder however. I really loved that thing, but oh well things just aren't made the way they were before. It does do a fine grind and a coarse grind, I haven't tried the sausage maker yet probably won't until next fall at the earliest that is if my dear husband manages to finally get any wild game. Only drawback is the clamp for clamping it to a surface. I had get a block of wood and use my husbands c clamp to clamp to my countertop and then I was able to clamp the grinder onto the block of wood because the clamp doesn't open far enough. Other than that, for the money its definately worth it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowfighterswife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
12/27/2012

Customer review by Nikoo01

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Nikoo01
by Nikoo01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was disappointed on the grinding meat performance. It worked on grinding vegetables but not for meat. I did follow the instructions but it will still spin the meat without grinding it. You have to open the machine and start over…. If you have used in the past an old style grinder you will be disappointed about this one, but if you don’t know how a grinder should work maybe you can get used to this one. I had to return mine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikoo01
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
absolutely no-fat grinder
10/4/2010

Customer review by whatscool

1.0 stars 10/4/2010 by whatscool
by whatscool

After several attempts, I returned this meat grinder to Walmart. Even with very little fat, the fat will get collected on the surface of the cutting plate and stuck it. So you have to take off the plate and get rid of the fat before you can continue.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whatscool
Salem, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product
1/21/2011

Customer review by john10101

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by john10101
by john10101

I use it to grind 5-6 pounds of meat at a time. I really like it. It works good and easy to Clean.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
john10101
okc, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews