Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 59 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Product is great...but
1/30/2011

Customer review by Sandibeaches

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Sandibeaches
by Sandibeaches

We received our grill and extra plates this week and cannot be more pleased with the product. It cooks steaks perfectly and they came out tender and delicious. This morning, we attached the omelet plates so we could fix breakfast. Since there are no suggestions or recipes that include these plates we were somewhat at a loss as to how to fix omelets (temperature, time, etc.). I used the settings for scrambled eggs (350, 20 minutes) and proceeded to cook. I checked the omelets every few minutes to see if they were done and after about 10-12 minutes, they appeared done and, in fact, were perfect. This would certainly have been easier if there were some suggestions as to temperature and time for these plates. Also, the Evolve instruction manual lets you know how long to cook many foods but does not give you suggestions as to temperature. This would be a big improvement in the manual since the cost of the product is so much. Other than that, we love the product and have already recommended it to others.

Sandibeaches
Ruidoso, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE THIS GRILL
6/1/2011

Customer review by Luvstogrill

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Luvstogrill
by Luvstogrill

Bought this grill in January and have used it so much that I keep it out on the island. It cooks so well, saves time, and is so versatile. It makes Paninis so fast and they are delicious! I also use the grill to re-heat food, such as wings. They come out so crispy this way that they were better than original. I have heard many complain about cleaning the top plate with the slant marks on it. I have no problem at all. My husband and I use a nylon brush that allows you to put detergent in the little stubby handle and it cleans it beautifully every time. I would recommend this to anyone. Next time it's on sale, I'll be getting one for my parents. They make sandwiches in the toaster oven all the time, so this will save time as well. Oh, quick note- When making Paninis, use olive oil instead of butter to save calories. I thought it would ruin the taste of sandwich, but it does not at all.

Luvstogrill
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
TERRIBLE QUALITY!!!
2/24/2011

Customer review by Sean

1.0 stars 2/24/2011 by Sean
by Sean

I purchased this grille about 6 weeks ago, full retail from Target. I did my research and read many negative reviews about this product including comments about it being difficult to clean as well as comments about the "nonstick" coming off after a period of time. I ignored those comments. I should not have. This product is terrible, at any price. I've never seen a worse "nonstick" product in my life. not only does it ruin all fish fillets as they stick to the plates, it's impossible to clean. It does not come clean no matter what you try. Dishwasher does not clean it suffeciently. I've tried soaking the plates for hours, with no help. It's just terrible quality of coating. I've used this thing probably 8 times, and the coating is starting to come off. I have pans in my cubbord that I've used for 10 years that still have the coating. I would take this back to Target immediately if I had the receipt, which I have lost. I did notice that they no longer carry this model, only 6 weeks after I bought it. Maybe a sign... It's sad this product is so bad, I had expected more from the George Foreman name. See pick attached of the final piece of fish I will cook on this grille. A $6 Halibut fillet ruined by this product.

Sean
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very useful product!
1/8/2011

Customer review by aliza

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by aliza
by aliza

I bought this Evolve Grill 6 months ago, and we use it everyday. Cooks great and it leaves a grill line on meats! I like the fact that you can adjust the temperature and has the option of getting it high temperature for cooking steak! It cooks fast, very hot and even! And you need that for cooking meat. We don't have the waffle plate, and I would like to get one to replace our old messy waffle maker because the grill plate is so easy to wash by hand or putting it in dishwasher. When I bought this grill, we use to live with my parents house. Now me and my kids finally got our own home, I cant break my mothers heart to take it away from her because she uses it everyday too. Its so easy to cook on it I need it.

aliza
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This grill ROCKS!!!
1/14/2011

Customer review by lvs2cookh8s2cln

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by lvs2cookh8s2cln
by lvs2cookh8s2cln

Options Options Options! This GF is by far my fav I have used! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you can remove both the top and bottom plates for easy clean up as well as to make waffles or muffins or a bake. I also love that you can adjust the tilt of the grill. I would always make kabobs without the stick and load my meat and veggies with sauce, with the old grill it would often slide right off, but with this beaut you can have the grill flat til you get your goodies on there, then close the lid securing the meat and veggies, and THEN tilt it. It is pretty awesome...and it is extremely easy to cook food to perfection with this grill. Thanks again GF :)

lvs2cookh8s2cln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love this appliance... but
3/18/2012

Customer review by Shutterbug

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Shutterbug
by Shutterbug

...PLEASE offer a cookbook or at least a recipe booklet. The instruction booklet is not very helpful. We have tried it for many things and we truly love this, but it has been a struggle to find what temperature or time to use. You offer temps for certain foods but no time suggestions... on other things you put the time but no temperature suggestions. Can be very frustrating. A better instruction booklet at the very least could get a person started off much better. Please consider this improvement. But we do love it for bacon, waffles, pizza, pork chops, hamburgers, chicken breasts... and we are still experimenting. Thank you!

Shutterbug
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Cooks Quickly and retains the moisture of the food
5/18/2012

Customer review by Cooking Diva

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Cooking Diva
by Cooking Diva

This is my second George Foreman. My husband gouged the plate of my old George Foreman and the nonstick is gradually coming off of that grill. I liked the new grill so much I bought one and all the plates as a wedding gift for a friend. I love most of the features of the grill. The directions advise us to not use nonstick spray so, I spray a light coating of oil from my cooking oil mister when I notice foods are sticking a little. This is pure oil without any chemicals and it seems to do the trick. The nonstick is easier to clean including the cross hatch plate. I use a plastic brush with a little dishsoap on it. The food easily comes out of the corners of the upper cross hatch plate. I bought all the plates and am gradually using each set of plates to learn the grill. It does an excellent job most of the time. I am frustrated in that the directions are insufficient. I use common sense for the temperature setting. The directions for the plates state not to overload the plate. Well, I have tried the omelet plate twice now. Since I do not have a recipe to follow, I do not know what amount of beaten egg to place in the plate. I have overflowed twice now. Please, Please, Please give us some recipes with our plate purchases. This is the reason I can not give 5 stars. Also, the recipes on the website were a good start for us. Please bring the blog back.

Cooking Diva
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product, one problem!
1/21/2011

Customer review by Forman4Life

3.0 stars 1/21/2011 by Forman4Life
by Forman4Life

I enjoy this product. I have been using it for a few months now. I have all of the 11 plates that are available. The problem that I have found is when I am using the grill plates that it is a real pain to clean the top grill plate. If they had a top plate that matched the bottom plate I would buy that for sure. I do not need a fancy design on my steak I would prefer to have straight lines which would allow the cleaning process to be much easier. I still enjoy the product and use it a few times a week however that would be my suggestion would be to get a top grill plate that is easier to clean.

Forman4Life
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
We are enjoying our Evolve grill !!!
4/1/2011

Customer review by Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer
by Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer

(A) My first "Evolve" came with lightweight hinges that were loose and wobbly and wouldn't allow the top to sit squarely on the base. However, I was sent a replacement that had improved, much stronger hinges. Wonderful!! P.S. I baked some brownies in the deep dish pan @ 350° for 20 minutes – they were super!! (B) Instructions say the plates are dishwasher safe. The plates themselves, yes, but the coating a definite no. NEVER put non-stick coated cookware in a dishwasher (sorry, George!!). Dishwasher heat and detergent are too strong for non-stick coating. Over a period of time, the heat and soap will dry the coating and cause it to wear off prematurely. Anytime you need to wash the plates, use only warm water and light dish soap. Soak if need be. Rinse, then pat dry with a soft absorbent cloth or paper towel. Then take a drizzle of vegetable oil and rub it in. This will keep your plates seasoned, the way they should be, and ready for the next use. (C) Please replace the cross-hatch plate, or offer a substitution. It is the ONLY reason I didn't give the grill 5 stars. The cross-hatch plate is difficult, tedious, and frustrating to clean - too many tiny corners that need attention. (Again, the dishwasher is not the way to clean plates with non-stick coating.) After I wash it, I have to use a basting brush coated with vegetable oil to get into the corners, which takes quite a bit of time. Including a regular grill plate for the top instead of the cross-hatch would be a much better choice for the grill/plates package.

Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer
Clarkton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
We Love This Grill!!
1/14/2011

Customer review by hate2cook

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by hate2cook
by hate2cook

This grill is so easy to use and the removable plates make it a snap to clean up. I hate to cook but this makes it fast and easy. We've only had it a week but I've made lots of things in it, steak, chicken, fish, cookies, fried eggs, toast and lasagna. I've used it so much that when I told my mother I was making banana bread she asked if I was making it in the George Foreman. My only complaint is the cord could have been a little longer.

hate2cook
Estacada, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Wish the plates were ceramic, but still great.
2/22/2011

Customer review by laura

4.0 stars 2/22/2011 by laura
by laura

We're trying to stay away from using teflon in our cooking and replaced all our teflon pans with non-stick ceramic coating pans that are PFOA and PTFE free. In my opinion they work even better than teflon with their non-stick properties and they are healthy to cook on. We've been unable to find a grill of this quality with removeable plates that is not teflon so we went ahead and bought it and we're happy with the purchase.

laura
new york, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy and Convenient
1/30/2011

Customer review by Dalia

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Dalia
by Dalia

I just got this grill and love it. It is so easy to use and convenient. It saves me time in the kitchen. Cooking time is perfect, the steaks come out tasteful. I am still learning how to use the grill, I made waffles but they stuck a little. I have 6 plates and I like that and I can't wait to bake in it. I would recommend this grill to everyone. I had the original George Forman grill and this one is the best.

Dalia
New York, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just got it a few weeks ago.
2/7/2011

Customer review by Bea

3.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Bea
by Bea

I think I will like this when I figure it out. Not enough information for all the plates. ie: temps for waffles, eggs, etc. I would like to know the pre-heat/cooking temps for all the plates. The directions are not well done. Waffle plate w/o waffle instructions. I have owned several grills and thought this one would be a step up. How about a cookbook and soon.

Bea
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This can be a great product IF:
1/20/2012

Customer review by EnjoyGrilling

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by EnjoyGrilling
by EnjoyGrilling

Although I enjoy this grill, it's a pain in the neck to clean especially the top part where they have this new design! I baked on this grill and it has accumulated the sugars. So it has caramelized and its so hard to clean around those edges. I'm thinking of doing a you-tube on this to show how complicated it is to clean the top part of this grill! I purchased it in June and I've been trying to clean it while the grill is still hot and unplugged with hot paper towels and a butter knife to try to get into the grooves of their so called "new design." If there is another design made for the top insert then I'd say it was a genius design. Allow the clients to pick the top as you allow the different plates for the bottom. Its just as easy to design a plain top portion and this way, we would not have to ask for product replacement for the top piece. For those who grill a lot and would love to use it for baking.. get ready for ongoing and continuous cleaning of the top portion. There will always be black stuff stuck to to top of the grill. I don't know the result of having blackened stuff on your food is good or not... but be prepared to really giving it ongoing cleaning if you are an avid user of the grill. Don't get me wrong.. I do enjoy it but I'm careful and have to use parchment paper. Do we want this or can we ask the designers to design a new top piece? Please ask people who really use the grill to test out your products because baking was a great concept but cleaning that top grill is ridiculous and in my case is impossible and need a new replacement piece. I'd love for someone from the company to address this issue and respond.

EnjoyGrilling
Edison,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
We love our grill! Quick and easy to use!!
1/11/2011

Customer review by freida

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by freida
by freida

Our old Foreman Grill finally kicked the bucket, after years and years of faithful service. We stopped by our local kitchen goods store and this sleek beauty waiting for us. Oh boy, it works like a charm! I am not the best cook in our house and even I can cook chicken breasts to perfection. :)

freida
lake oswego, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it but...
10/28/2013

Customer review by Grandmadi

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Grandmadi
by Grandmadi

Certainly is not for 5 servings except maybe hot dogs. Booklet does not give required temps and that would be very nice to know. The grill itself is great and so far everything we have tried has been very good. Had a really old grill that was difficult to clean but this on is a snap. Love it

Grandmadi
Kern County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product
1/26/2011

Customer review by T-T

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by T-T
by T-T

i found this product to be great for my first year of college in my dorm room. The contemporary look and performance makes this the hottest indoor grill on the market today. Simple touch temp controls make it so easy to use.

T-T
Austin,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful grill
6/27/2011

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Chris
by Chris

I noticed many reviews condemning this grill for cleaning methods and yet with a little common sense I have thoroughly enjoyed mine.. I find it very easy to clean and a joy to use.

Chris
Matthews NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no error codes
11/18/2014

Customer review by sadman

1.0 stars 11/18/2014 by sadman
by sadman

trying to find out why my grill does not work and can not find anything and no one can tell me what the error code means i like the grill but customer servers is bad

sadman
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
manuel is no help
5/22/2011

Customer review by gunner

2.0 stars 5/22/2011 by gunner
by gunner

no info no cooking times or tempeture except for baking. but if you go by there times and temps it is overcooked and dryed out with burnt edges

gunner
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews