Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

87 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

87 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 stars
27
1-20 of 83 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Not a Cheese Shredder
12/29/2010

Customer review by Livestrong4life

2.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Livestrong4life
by Livestrong4life

I got this for Christmas. I was so happy when I opened the box and seen this beautiful looking piece of equipment. It seemed to do everything. The first thing I try is the slicer, celery sliced with ease. Then I flip the blades over for a bit of cheese shredding.I was for sure this thing would shred cheese fast and easy. Here is where is was wrong. I cut a 1 pound block of cheese into 4 equal pieces which fit nicely into the processor. I turned it on low and slowly pushed the cheese into the blade. The first round went great round two awesome I had shredded cheese. On the third revolution SNAP the piece in the center melted and broke. This motor is way way to strong for its attachments. I was so furious I took it back before trying the blender. I bet you this thing would blend a car engine into lung dust. But if you are looking for a cheese slicing shredding machine, I would look elsewhere. Maybe the old fashion was is just better. Good luck everyone Happy 2011 :)

Was this review helpful? (78) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Livestrong4life
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very pleased
12/5/2010

Customer review by Eilis

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by Eilis
by Eilis

I bought this product after my blender/food processor of a different manufacturer broke. I'm very pleased with it and would buy it again. It's much better than the model it replaced. So far I've used the food processor attachments to make peanut butter, chop veggies, and knead pizza dough. It's performed great for all those tasks. Especially the peanut butter -- it processed the nuts into butter quite a bit faster than my old food processor. I've also used the blender jar to make frozen margaritas. Again, it works great for that purpose. It turns ice cubes into a snow cone consistency very quickly. One note though: the motor is powerful for a blender. If you need just light blending then this is probably more power than you need -- even the lowest setting is quite strong.

Was this review helpful? (105) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eilis
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Motor attachment problem
9/13/2016

Customer review by Marialcf

2.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Marialcf
by Marialcf

I had the same problem as many people here... The plastic motor attachment just stripped with two weeks of constant use. And I was usind mainly for making juices and smoothies. I was really enjoying the product but now I am very unhappy and not satisfy with this problem... Could anyone solve this problem (by calling the service or something else)?

Marialcf
Santa Cruz, CA, Estados Unidos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
No fancy attachments. Best for the basics.
6/27/2013

Customer review by ScratWalMarter

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by ScratWalMarter
by ScratWalMarter

This is a good product in the market, with no fancy attachments to attract customers and push up the price. Does the basic activities that you need to perform in day-to-day kitchen work like, chopping, blending, kneading, slicing, grating and mixing, What else would you probably need. My wife just had one complaint that the belnding jar could have been of poly-carbonate, however, I am just fine with it being of toughened glass. It's a very sturdy machine and has a lot of power. Does all the work in seconds. The worst task for me in the kitchen was to chop garlic into small pieces. It takes a lot of time when done with bare hands and, besides, even though I love garlic, I dont like the smell it leaves on my hands. But B&D PowerPro chops it exactly how I want it, without all the mess. A real good buy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScratWalMarter
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Strong Motor, Weak Bowl
9/30/2011

Customer review by Wesa

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Wesa
by Wesa

This is really a great product for the price. The motor is extremely powerful, and it looks good sitting on the counter. The fact that it is so versatile really makes it a value. However, I would agree with some other reviewers that the plastic parts are too flimsy for the power of the motor. I haven't had anything break yet, but I've heard some creaking plastic so I imagine I'll replace something at some point. The lid of the food processor is extremely difficult to get off too. That being said, I would still recommend it, but I wish Black and Decker would make the accessories more heavy duty.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wesa
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK so far
10/31/2011

Customer review by trainman78

3.0 stars 10/31/2011 by trainman78
by trainman78

Even though I purchased this almost two months ago I haven't done a lot with it yet. My daughter used it to slice and mince veggies and it worked fine. I used it to make pie crust and was dissapointed. The dough blade seems to me to be too short and you end up with a lot of flour spun to the outside of the dish. Once you put in the shortening, again, a lot ends up thrown to the outside and doesn't mix well. My old processor did a far better job. Ourside of that, the unit seems to work well. The only negative I have other than the dough issue is that all of the blades, etc. do not fit inside the unit for storage - my old one did.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trainman78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great processor a couple little quirks
1/2/2011

Customer review by joytosew

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by joytosew
by joytosew

From first use I loved the way this processor works. At first I was worried about the construction but after putting it together I found it to be the strongest one I have ever owned. The center of the shredding/slicing blade is reinforced with a second piece. This made me really happy considering I have broken the plastic middle for a blade in the past on a different brand. Blades are sharp! I wasn't sure how I would like the blender with it but I love it! Oh and wow it is a glass container which is even more fantastic. Dislike: The lip where you feed the food through is to close to the inside lip of the lid. I have to use a butter knife to remove any kind of build up that occurs in that small space. So far I have noticed it to happen every time on vegetables, fruits, and cheeses. I still have a little trouble opening the lid when I have used it, it's like the buildup around the top prevents it from opening easily. I would purchase this product again and I hope the one I have lasts me many years to come.

joytosew
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not what I expected
4/26/2011

Customer review by MommyTo4Boyz

2.0 stars 4/26/2011 by MommyTo4Boyz
by MommyTo4Boyz

This processor/blender combo looks great but it is quite loud and the blender is a joke. I purchased this mainly for the blender and figured having the added processor would be fantastic! I have yet to try the processor unit, but I put the blender to my fruit smoothie test. And it most definitely did not pass. I made a simple banana and strawberry smoothie with the fruit being frozen and orange juice. After having it on for 2 minutes on HIGH, I wound up with pieces of fruit. My little single serve Hamilton Beach does WAYYYYY better than this B&D blender. If you're looking for a good performing blender this one is not it. I will be returning it this week.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyTo4Boyz
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very handy product
1/16/2011

Customer review by Likethisbuy

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Likethisbuy
by Likethisbuy

I purchased this product for the dough blade, it has done te job so far, it is easy and reduces the mess.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Likethisbuy
Alpharetta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
2 in 1
8/30/2010

Customer review by QCopey

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by QCopey
by QCopey

I previously had a B&D food processor which lasted for about 8 years. If I had hand washed I think it would have lasted even longer. When it was time to replace it - I stayed with B&D, but got the food processor with the blender pitcher as well. I have used it as a food processor and it works great - haven't tried the blender functionality yet.

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QCopey
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cheap, cheap, cheap
6/17/2012

Customer review by Chantal

1.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Chantal
by Chantal

I bought this machine not even a year ago and already after 2 month it was broken. Of course, the guarantee was over and I couldn't return it. So, I kind of repair it myself using epoxy. It was the rotor piece that was all eroded so the blades wouldn't turn anymore. It worked out for a while. Then, last week again I try to use it and the blades are not chopping. I check everything to find out that all the piece (in plastic of course!) attached to the motor was broken. Now, I really can't repair that and I will have to throw everything including all the bowls and types of blades in the garbage. I'm frustrated because I believe the company those days are designing machinesl with cheaper and cheaper material so that they will break easily. And we're thinking about environement and sustainability!!!! Bottom line: I won't buy anymore from that company and I'll go to a thrift store buy a used machine: at least I will reuse something!

Chantal
Montreal, Qc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Noisy but powerful
8/26/2014

Customer review by OmaMomma

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by OmaMomma
by OmaMomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works great---I processed 30 cups of shredded zucchini in just a short amount of time--no problems, happy with results. It did arrive without the dough blade that it was advertised with--went online and notified B&D who had me call and arranged for one to be sent to me free of charge.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OmaMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
8/20/2010

Customer review by concernedvet

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by concernedvet
by concernedvet

use this on a daily basis for my CKD Pre Dialysis Diet and love it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
concernedvet
Dixon, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worst food processor and blender
12/10/2011

Customer review by RL

1.0 stars 12/10/2011 by RL
by RL

I really wanted to mention (as I do to all my friends) that this is the worst food processor I ever had. This assertion is based on repetitive bad experiences with it. And I usually like black & Decke products. 1) the processor do not have enough capacity as the middle piece opens too low. 2) the pieces have numerous little corners where food get stuck and where there is no way you can easily go and clean them. 3) when you cut food, the end of what you cut or grate like cheese do not great up to the end but the last half inche turns between the blade and the cover (top part) where with so much luck it get stuck in the little corner mentioned in previous point number 2. 4) There is not enough types of blades, 5) when attempting to use the dough part the plastic blender are not long enough and the dough has a hard time starting to turn and be malaxed; 6) Because it takes so long to finally get the dough being malaxed... the central piece starts heating and I do expect for it to soon be broke. I bought this a year or so ago and will never by anything like this again. Sorry, RL

RL
Quebec City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great buy
7/2/2016

Customer review by bill

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by bill
by bill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good unit

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Misleading Description
9/9/2014

Customer review by lioness2

3.0 stars 9/9/2014 by lioness2
by lioness2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Part of the description of the processor/blender on the website reads " •Stainless Steel Chopping Blade •Dough Blade " This infers to me, two blades; one for chopping and the other for dough. There was only one blade in the package and it was described as a chopping blade in the manual. No mention of dough blade or the ability to work with dough in the manual. I returned the appliance without trying it as I wanted to be able to do both. Will try a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lioness2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth the Purchase
4/11/2012

Customer review by Loves2Cook

1.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Loves2Cook
by Loves2Cook

After 16 years in the kitchen and having used several blenders, I find this model to be the least amongst appliances. While it is extremely user friendly and easy to assemble its many components it just does not produce a favorable final product. I found that due to the size/shape of the blender cup food would become lodged at the very bottom and would not puree or incorporate into the final product. Thus the outcome would often be a not thoroughly pureed salsa, sauce, smoothie, etc.. with the need for re-processing/pureeing. The processor part of this blender faults in much the same way in that it required too many openings of the lid to mix and help along to fully incorporate anything processed in it. While having an extremely powerful motor the shape and blade placements just do not meet up to functionality. I can not in good conscience recommend nor re-consider future use/purchase.

Loves2Cook
midwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
One star, one use: Light is on but nothing happens
8/9/2015

Customer review by RedAnn

1.0 stars 8/9/2015 by RedAnn
by RedAnn

I got this Power Pro II for Christmas last year. I used it once over the holidays on a vat of Guacamole and some salsa. Then I put it away until i would be entertaining more guests. Well, Today is the day- I'm having a lot of people over tomorrow and planned to make several things today using my food processor. Well, its a good thing I planned ahead, because when I set up to grate some cabbage, nothing happened. i had everything "locked in" properly, added some cabbage, pushed pulse, but nothing happened. Then I tried turning it just to on, but that had no positive result either. So, I switched to the chopper ble, thinking that maybe something wrong with the grater, which I hadn't used before. Nothing happened with that blade eithher. I've locked/ unlocked the container, plugged and un-plugged the machine, On, Off, Pi;llse, forget it. Nothing happens. I am NOT happy!

RedAnn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very Tricky Latch
9/3/2012

Customer review by ChefWes

2.0 stars 9/3/2012 by ChefWes
by ChefWes

Getting the top latched takes lots of tries. It has to fit exactly right. There's tiny tabs that look real cheap. My guess is they aren't going to last much longer. I bought this model cause Consumer Reports says this one slices onions better than all the other low priced models. That's true.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChefWes
Fontana, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
ARRRR ARRRRR
10/12/2011

Customer review by HealthiEater

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by HealthiEater
by HealthiEater

I make smoothies every morning for breakfast. This has killed my last 2 blenders of different makes. This makes smoothies in 1/2 the time of other blenders. This is the Tim Allen Home Improvement MORE POWER blender of all time. I love this thing.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HealthiEater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews