Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 49 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
10/20/2010

Customer review by AuntPool

1.0 stars 10/20/2010 by AuntPool
by AuntPool

We had to return the can opener. It could not be attached to our cabinets--it would only fit on cabinets with a level bottom--ours has an off-set.

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntPool
Grove City, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
awesome w/stainless appliances!
3/26/2011

Customer review by jbrini

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by jbrini
by jbrini

Great product! I am so IMPRESSED with Walmart online! I received my item in the mail the very next day! WOW! Keep up the great work!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbrini
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/1/2010

Customer review by grammytr

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by grammytr
by grammytr

The can opener works well but is really loud. My last Black & Decker space saver wasn't as loud as the new one but hopefully will last as long. I had the other one for at least 10 years.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grammytr
West Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No problem here.
6/2/2011

Customer review by pamlico

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by pamlico
by pamlico

Seen a few reviews on the mounting of this can opener. In the box it has black spacers so if you don't have flush bottom cabinets the spacers allow you to drop to the correct level. There's several different sizes to give you the correct level if you need them. The can opener looks nice easy to clean and matches well with our other Stainless Steel appliances. Plus I love the fact that it's a space saver. My last can opener also was a Black & Decker space saver and gave me 12 years of satisfactory work. The only reason we changed was for the new style for our Kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pamlico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Long awaited and very much needed.
12/18/2010

Customer review by kev0024

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by kev0024
by kev0024

Can not find under cabinet mounts in the stores for some reason but we ordered this from Walmart online and recieved it very quickly. So far it seams to be what we expected and looks pretty sharp.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kev0024
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Can Opener I've Owned...
9/1/2011

Customer review by EleventhHeaven

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by EleventhHeaven
by EleventhHeaven

I take great care to read customer reviews and have found them to be extremely helpful in my decision to purchase an item or not. I almost didn't order this can opener because of some negative comments. Since Wal-Mart has such a great return policy, I decided to take a chance. If you don't drop the cover all the way down to the open position, I could see where someone might have trouble opening a larger can. But that's not a design flaw in my opinion, it's operator error. And I love that it has a cover to hide the actual opening mechanism. It's quiet, looks great next to my space saver toaster oven and also goes great with my stainless steel/black appliances. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EleventhHeaven
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
7/3/2011

Customer review by jeslin

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by jeslin
by jeslin

Love this can opener. Had one for 10 yr always worked good. Moved and didn't take it with me so decided to get another black & decker because of past experiences with my old one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeslin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great product !
3/23/2012

Customer review by QuickRick

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by QuickRick
by QuickRick

Product was exactly as what we expected. Not particuly difficult to install. I'd suggest that prior to drilling the needed holes in the bottom of your cabinet, that you'd affix a stiff piece of poster board to the "pattern" to re-inforce the the pattern. The "patttern paper" is so thin that it will allow the holes to "drift off" center when drilling the holes. I didn't. :( Regarding other "reviews", I see nothing negative with the product, and have recommended it to other family members.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuickRick
Wichita Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall - love it.
10/7/2011

Customer review by Pettits

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Pettits
by Pettits

The only problem we had with the can opener has been stated in several reviews. The template didn't work with the 3/4" overhang that we have on our cabinets. I am fortunate enough to have a husband who worked around that problem and drilled the mounting screws through the actual overhang so that he could mount the can opener flush with the cabinets. This makes it so that everything operates as it was intended to. He did have to create a guide to use to create the screw hole so that he didn't accidentally run the screw through the face of the overhang. If the manufacturer would simply move their screw holes back on the can opener, there wouldn't be so many people having trouble mounting this can opener!! It appears that a 3/4" overhang is not that rare. So, now that we have it mounted correctly, we love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pettits
Manchester, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Flimsy; hard to install correctly
9/6/2011

Customer review by speedo13

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by speedo13
by speedo13

Can opener is not very substantial, but that's about what you expect these days, except that it wasn't exactly cheap to buy. Seems to work OK, but not sure about long-term durability. Bought to replace another B&D under-the-counter can opener, which had worked reasonably well for 6-8 years. (Not many options for under-the-counter items available.) Installation was a pain, because of the 3/4 inch thick overhanging cabinet face frame. Installation assumes nothing thicker than 1/2 inch overhang, which seems outlandishly unrealistic. In order to get proper clearance to operate the lever and remove it for cleaning, you have to suspend the opener below the bottom edge of the overhang. This is a bit unattractive and doesn't provide as steady an installation. (By the way, if you need longer screws for installation, forget about it. Nobody carries longer ones that match the unique threads. I know. I tried. You'd have to alter the body of the can opener, which isn't practical for most people.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
speedo13
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks nice but kind of cheap.
6/22/2011

Customer review by HillGirl

3.0 stars 6/22/2011 by HillGirl
by HillGirl

So far I think this model looks nice under our counter, but I'm afraid it may not last. It seems kind of cheap and when you pull down the front cover it is hard to get certain cans under the cutter. The cans fit depth-wise because you pull down the cover all of the way, but it is quite tight in getting the cans under the blade itself--will not work on little cans like tomato paste--so I had to buy another hand held opener for them. Overall, I couldn't find any other under-the-counter stainlesss can opener and it looks nice with the under-the-counter toaster oven we purchased--they are designed to go together.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HillGirl
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Noicy
12/28/2010

Customer review by CrazyForDiscounts

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by CrazyForDiscounts
by CrazyForDiscounts

I like this product. The only complaint I have, is that it is loud. Can't carry on a conversation when it is running.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyForDiscounts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Installation takes some skill with tools.
10/28/2011

Customer review by Rtann

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Rtann
by Rtann

Once the can opener was installed it did what many others can't do. It actually opens cans with the large rim. So far I am totally satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rtann
Melbourne Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Returned this item
8/14/2012

Customer review by Carolem29

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Carolem29
by Carolem29

Returned this item as size wouldn't fit in under-cabinet space in kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carolem29
Zephyrhills, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/21/2012

Customer review by HeadMathews

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by HeadMathews
by HeadMathews

This can opener is very attractive and a good price, but I wasn't able to use it under my cabinet. The bottom of my cabinet is recessed, but that wasn't the real issue. The width of the cabinet door and the cabinet facing was too wide - 3/4". I could not install the can opener and be able to operate it without hitting the cabinet door when I wanted to open a can. I thought about operating it with the cabinet door open, but decided that wasn't a great idea, as I have too many visitors who wouldn't know what to do. Sadly, I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeadMathews
Richardson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
5/6/2012

Customer review by Colorado9999

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Colorado9999
by Colorado9999

Overall this is a good product that does what is expected and keeps the counter top less cluttered. The only issue I have is with the installation. The template provided only allows for a maximum 1/2 inch overhang on the kitchen cabinet. My overhang is 3/4 inches so I had to drill holes through the overhang and trim the plastic washers to mount the unit. A second set of mounting holes at the front of the unit to accommodate a 3/4 inch cabinet overhang is a needed improvement.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colorado9999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Oh that flip down door
3/9/2012

Customer review by Probablyjennifer

3.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Probablyjennifer
by Probablyjennifer

If you choose this one due to the stainless steel on the flip down door, don't bother. The flip down door won't be there for long unless you have a much higher level of patience with something annoying than I do. Once it's gone, you just have the regular black version of the can opener. Luckily the door is removable if you just tap the little hinge screws with a small nail to push them out. If you opt not to remove it, you'll either be break it off when trying to open a large can, it will stick like mine and bother you. The can opener works fine. The problem really relates more to form than function. I would buy this again, since having an under-cabinet can opener is a life saver in a small kitchen. However, I would opt for the plain black version of the opener. The little bag opener is a bit of a joke. It will take the corner off of a bag, that's about it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Probablyjennifer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A replacement
12/1/2010

Customer review by kathycaz

3.0 stars 12/1/2010 by kathycaz
by kathycaz

It fit under the cabinet just perfect but the quality is not as good as the black and decker one I replaced it with. It gets hung up at the blade sometimes and is annoying. Would buy something else if I had know this prior.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathycaz
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/12/2011

Customer review by dawg3

1.0 stars 11/12/2011 by dawg3
by dawg3

hard to align can ,door takes several trys to get to stay shut this item priced to high for such a poorly designed product very bad for a black and decker i have trusted to build great items. my other opener they built lasted 25 years this one more than likely may last a year

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dawg3
midwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/15/2012

Customer review by Loyal2

1.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Loyal2
by Loyal2

Product looks great in my kitchen; however, after 1 week of use, the cover door doesn't close easily on a consistent basis. We now have to make multiple attempts to get the cover to close. My original space saver can opener worked great and I replaced with this black with stainless steel to match my new kitchen appliances. Totally dissatisfied with this model... Also, if your cabinets have an overhang greater than 1/2 inch, you're on your own with figuring out an installation template.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loyal2
Stone Mountain, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews