Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 136 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

136 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

136 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
1-20 of 121 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Correction on product
11/12/2010

Customer review by Reddaftermath

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by Reddaftermath
by Reddaftermath

This rice cooker yields 6 cups of cooked rice. When rice cooks, it expands. Cook 3 cups of uncooked rice to yield 6 cups of cooked rice. Just thought I'd help clear that up since two people were upset and felt misguided...

Was this review helpful? (201) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reddaftermath
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Handy Dandy
11/27/2010

Customer review by OHkid

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by OHkid
by OHkid

I have the (3 cup model #RC3303). I use it every morning. Before I go to bed at night I put all of my oatmeal makings in the cooker including the water and raisons. When I get my coffee I plug in my oatmeal. I also use it for rice. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is it doesn't have an On/Off switch. You have to plug it in or unplug it to start it or stop it altogether. It appears the (6 cup model #RC3406) has the same set-up.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OHkid
Columbus Grove, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little cooker!
11/29/2011

Customer review by sherriseri

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by sherriseri
by sherriseri

This rice cooker is great. I make special foods for myself because of food allergies and this keeps my portion separate from my family's food. You can use it for very many jobs from cooking oatmeal, heating soups, making chicken dishes and small batches of stew. When I make chicken tiki masala I put the rice, water, and a couple of spoons of sauce in the cooker. When it is almost cooked, add the cooked chicken and dinner is served! You can also add veggies at the end. Same with stews. Brown meat, place potatoes, beef and sauce in cooker. When almost done add veggies and stew is done. I can't say enough about rice cookers. They are so versatile and NOT just for rice. This cooker yields 3 cups of food, and 6 measuring cups of cooked rice.....enough for 1-2 people. I also have the larger one for my family meals. The improvements I would make are to make an on/off switch and a timer so oatmeal can be ready upon rising.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sherriseri
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Functional and affordable
11/16/2010

Customer review by Valleyburr

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Valleyburr
by Valleyburr

This is the greatest thing I have ever bought for my household. It is simple enough for my kids and husband to use. No more ruined rice.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valleyburr
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great buy for the money
1/10/2012

Customer review by Brentsky

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Brentsky
by Brentsky

We have never made rice this easy before. this beats the old cook in a pot, by a country mile. 1cup rice 2 cups water and a bit of butter, turn on. thats it. it goes to warm when done. the no stick inner pot washs up better than the old pot ever did. I'm sure i will be eating more rice now.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brentsky
Lake Havasu city , AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does the Job
12/6/2013

Customer review by NovaPacBoie

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by NovaPacBoie
by NovaPacBoie

Have had this now since Dec 2011. Still going strong. Good little item for one or 2 people (in terms of single cook quantity). Easy to clean, cooks reasonably quickly, cooks well. (Mild) Con: Every time rice made , have to scrape to prevent sticky and hence burnt rice at bottom of cooking container. Coating coming off even with gentle care over the last 2 years. Overall great product for the price

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NovaPacBoie
Sacramento, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bang for your buck
9/2/2010

Customer review by Chinaman2

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Chinaman2
by Chinaman2

Great product. I thought it was bigger in size from what I saw online. When I got the product from the store I was surprise how compact it is but it gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chinaman2
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6-Cup Cooker
3/26/2011

Customer review by meseahunt

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by meseahunt
by meseahunt

The most important thing here is this WILL NOT cook 6 cups of rice, 3 is the MAX... Other than that if this unit had a detachable cord I would order 100 of them... I use it daily for rice and it does the job quicky and perfectly everytime!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meseahunt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Black and Decker 6 cup rice cooker
12/26/2010

Customer review by YPANGA

1.0 stars 12/26/2010 by YPANGA
by YPANGA

I have been using a rice cooker for the past 3 years and I wanted to have a small cooker with non-stick base that cooks for 2 persons. I wanted to go for a well known brand and chose B&D. I used it only once and the next day I tried to cook it froze. I guess I got a lemon. The only good thing about the purchase is that Walmart refunded me the total cost.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YPANGA
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
don't waste your time
1/20/2011

Customer review by aceamethyst

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by aceamethyst
by aceamethyst

I read all the reviews for this product and thought I would give it a try. It was a big waste of time, money, and effort. The instructions said not to use more than 1 1/2 of their "cups". That equaled to 1 normal cup. I already have a 2 normal cup rice cooker, so this "6 cup" cooker got returned and for $0.96 more, I bought the Black & Decker 16 cup rice cooker. Spend the extra dollar to get the 16 cup cooker that is just a tad bit bigger.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aceamethyst
OPH, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Can only cook a minimal amount of rice
12/16/2013

Customer review by ImaPisces

3.0 stars 12/16/2013 by ImaPisces
by ImaPisces

Purchased this at Walmart. I bought this because of the price and without reading the reviews first. Works great if you are steaming veggies. As for steaming any rice it only can cook enough for 2 - 3 small servings. I tired steaming a larger amount and I had to turn it back on repeatedly to complete the cooking process and then keep checking to make sure it was done properly. BTW --> I use mostly brown rice, the cooking time is longer which is a given. However, using this product it was well over an hour (I kept turning it back on) before 2 servings finally cooked to completion. I finally got frustrated and just used the metal insert on my electric stove top at a medium temperature . . . The results then were great and plus I could finally fill up the thing with a large amount of rice. This work quite well for a few months just using the "ONLY" the metal insert, as I used it about 4 times a week. Then the coating of the insert started to peel away. . . due to the contact of a higher heat source from the stove top no doubt. If you want to steam only a very small amount of veggies get this, otherwise a different product would be more suitable for steaming rice.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImaPisces
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's Really Small
11/13/2010

Customer review by Brizz

3.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Brizz
by Brizz

If you live by yourself, it's probably OK for making small batches, but I was very disappointed by how small it is. I like the basic design, but the "6-cup" designation is confusing. Black & Decker needs to explain that it only accepts a max of 3 scoops of uncooked rice, and produces 6 cups of cooked rice, but if you actually fill this cooker to capacity, I suspect you will have a big starchy mess coming over the top. They need to inform the consumer that this unit is more like a "personal" rice cooker. I returned this cooker, and bought the larger, 16-cup Black & Decker rice cooker, and I am very happy with that unit. With the larger cooker, you can feed more people if you need to, or have leftovers for the next meal. The larger cooker will still cook a small amount, like 2 cups of uncooked rice, and it's easier to control the spitting starch that comes out of the vent hole in the lid (with a wet paper towel or wash cloth), since you aren't pushing the limits of the cooker. Based on my experience with the 16-cup Black & Decker rice cooker, which appears to be the same design, I would predict that this 6-cup B&D rice cooker probably does a great job of cooking a small batch of rice. But it's really small.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brizz
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/29/2011

Customer review by cupcake321

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by cupcake321
by cupcake321

This is a great little product, its not big and bulky and extremely easy to use. The rice comes out perfect everytime and you can add spices if you want. It cooks a decent ammount of rice and fed 3 of us with a good helping on our plate. I followed the instructions for cooking on the rice bag and I have always used a better grain of rice too, jasamine (i think thats how u spell it) is a fragrant rice from India and the best flavor. Wal-Mart does sell it and it does cost a little more but its totally worth it. This rice cooker is easy to use and easy clean up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cupcake321
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Died after a few months
2/3/2011

Customer review by 3dog4cat

2.0 stars 2/3/2011 by 3dog4cat
by 3dog4cat

I have had the rice cooker about 6 months. I use it around once a week. It was much easier to clean than my old one. Yesterday in the middle of cooking rice (for my elderly dog) it just plain died. Poor old Reba has to have her rice, I have to go buy her a new rice cooker....Not Black and Decker though...

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3dog4cat
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Compact Rice cooker
7/5/2014

Customer review by PremBibli

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by PremBibli
by PremBibli

This is perfect choice, when it comes for cooking for 2 people. Very compact and rice gets cooked very fast. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PremBibli
Farmington Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looking for a small rice cooker, this is it!
12/13/2011

Customer review by dakota1967

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by dakota1967
by dakota1967

I bought this rice cooker over two years ago for my wife. It holds 3 cups uncooked rice for a total of 6 cups cooked. Just follow the directions and your rice will be perfect everytime. My wife is from the Philippines and we use it every day. If you need a small rice cooker for your small family, maybe 3-5 persons, this is the one to buy. Im buying one for my mother for Christmas this year. I highly recommend this product. We've had zero problems from this product. Very happy with it. If we ever need a bigger rice cooker, I will definitely buy the larger size black and decker. I think it is 16 cups cooked rice. It looks very similer to this one. I dont know if they are still in the stores, but I paid like 15.00 for ours. It really is the best money ive spent on a small kitchen appliance.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dakota1967
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's good for single people
9/12/2012

Customer review by Kikoli

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Kikoli
by Kikoli

I wanted fresh rice everyday, so I chose this one. Everday I cook one cup of rice, and get rice for lunch and diner for myself, and I am satisfied with the rice quality. I don't eat much, so that's enough for me. If for more than 2 people, it maybe too small. For the steamer basket. I used it once to cook the brocolli and cabbage together with rice, but they were all overcooked. So maybe it's not a good idea to cook vegi together with the rice. So far I didn't find any problem with the rice cooker. Hope it can last for a while.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kikoli
Toledo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for fast pase family
12/6/2013

Customer review by Jckpink

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Jckpink
by Jckpink

This is my first rice cooker, i like it do far. It cookes the rice fast with less water than you would usually use and after is all done it keeps the rice warm. The only down side is that i like to frie the garlic before adding the rice, and i cant do that because the rice cooker turns on only when you add the rice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jckpink
Boynton beach FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/29/2010

Customer review by jessnjon

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by jessnjon
by jessnjon

i got this rice cooker for christmas have had now for almost 8 months i have never had a single issue with it. my wife and i love how easy it makes the job of cooking rice put it in and forgett it next thing you know you have half of dinner done and ready to go if you are looking for a great rice steamer this product is great and i will recommend it to all

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jessnjon
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6 cups is only 3 cup
2/18/2014

Customer review by ckr383

2.0 stars 2/18/2014 by ckr383
by ckr383

The interior of the rice cooker says 3 cups when the box says 6 cups. One must purchase a 12-14 cup rice cooker to get 6 cups of rice. This is not Walmart's fault but it is not clear on the Black and Decker box. VERY FRUSTRATING. Now I have to drive 18 miles round trip to return it since I picked it up at the store.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckr383
Hesperia, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews