Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 903 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

903 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

903 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
615
4 stars
183
3 stars
32
2 stars
20
1 stars
53
1-20 of 769 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 769 total reviews
1-20 of 769 reviews
8 years and still going
9/3/2010

Customer review by FrugaliestShopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by FrugaliestShopper
by FrugaliestShopper

This product has brewed me a cup of coffee for almost 8 years. To say it has saved me money is a huge understatement! The permanent filter is a great feature too! If it had a timer, this would be perfect for those who just need a cup of coffee on the go in the mornings.

Was this review helpful? (353) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugaliestShopper
Ruston, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sweet one cupper
1/9/2011

Customer review by TexascoffeEdrinker

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by TexascoffeEdrinker
by TexascoffeEdrinker

This thing is a great little coffee maker. If you are looking for a inexpensive one cup maker this is it. YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED. It will even do hot water for tea,coco and instant soup.

Was this review helpful? (229) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexascoffeEdrinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
goodbye kuerig
4/1/2012

Customer review by Jimmyhadnickel

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Jimmyhadnickel
by Jimmyhadnickel

Well, I had bought a kuerig a few months ago and returned it in just a few days. If more people knew what a superb cup of coffee this little B & D makes, people could save alot of money!!! One thing one should do when they buy this coffee maker, is to use #1 coffee filters by Melitta, these are the size that fits this machine. I do not recommend using the permanent filter that comes with it. And when you use a # 1 coffee filter, make sure you put the seem laying against the back of the filter baskest, the front of the basket has the opening where the coffee runs into the coffee mug. I had almost returned this coffee maker, at first, because the permanent filter just was not giving a good flavorful cup of coffee. What a difference the # 1 size Melitta coffee filters make instead. I am very pleased with this coffee maker. It's so easy and quick and H-O-T coffee is made simply--- and your own strenght of brew. And the coolest coffee mug comes with it. What a deal!!!! Love , Love , Love it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (149) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmyhadnickel
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/11/2010

Customer review by Bariforcoffee

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Bariforcoffee
by Bariforcoffee

This is nice little coffee maker. In my house its the best option since my wife likes tea and I prefer coffee before run for office. Normal coffee makers I have to brew several cups of coffee and rest of the coffee is waste. I just need one full cup before the day start. The quality of the product is good and I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for that full mug of coffee in the morning. cheers!

Was this review helpful? (147) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bariforcoffee
Nashua,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coffee Maker
9/28/2010

Customer review by LoveSiteToStore4

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by LoveSiteToStore4
by LoveSiteToStore4

I just got this a couple of weeks ago and I have used it every day, somnetimes several times a day! It seems to work fine, I can use any mug that fits, which is all of mine... i really like this coffee maker. It is compact enough to sit right by the toaster on my counter and not be in the way.

Was this review helpful? (179) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveSiteToStore4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
What a Great Cup of coffee
4/5/2011

Customer review by Chatsycats2

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Chatsycats2
by Chatsycats2

After my soul searching I took a chance and purchased this coffee pot. WOW oh WOW was I glad!!!! I live ona retirement check and really could not afford one of the single serve coffee pots. OMG is this fantastic for the price.! Simple to use, makes a tremendous cup of coffee and you can make tea. hot chocolate etc. I have issues in my hands and the handle on the cup tops all !!!!!!! So happy with this purcahse oh and the filter is just grand also !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chatsycats2
Morris County,New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little coffeemaker.
1/17/2012

Customer review by lesvampir81

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by lesvampir81
by lesvampir81

I got this for Christmas. I had been wanting a 1-cup coffeemaker for a long time but I want to buy a brand I wasn't familiar with. So, my brother got me this Black & Decker one and it works great. It is very simple to operate. The filter is easy to clean. The stainless steel mug that comes with it is great quality. You can also use other mugs with it -- in the picture I used a skull-shaped mug and it fit with no problem. My only complaint would be that the cord is too short. Other than that, this is the best coffeemaker I've owned.

Was this review helpful? (86) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lesvampir81
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
LOVE this Coffeemaker
12/9/2013

Customer review by DuckyIMHO

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DuckyIMHO
by DuckyIMHO

I really wish my relatives would stop buying me Keurigs and Tassimos. I was given a Keurig and a Tassimo 2 different times for presents and tried them both. Since they were presents, of course I used them. Yes, convenient but I had a little Black & Decker (B&D) one cup brewer (I think around $10.00 - including the excellent mug that retains heat!).Here are the factual results of my findings: 1. B&D is seven times cheaper to make coffee (of my choice!) than the cups, 2. no extra garbage for the landfills (recycle coffee grounds in gardens, 3. When making tea, hot chocolate etc., the water is better (hotter) from the B&D, 4. The B&D makes whatever cup size I select -any size in approx the same time as a Keurig or Tassimo, 5. The B&D takes up 2/3 less counter space, 6.Use a $10.00 battery operated Aerolatte to make perfect lattes, etc (with fresh milk - not canned milk or whatever they use - so much better!). 7. The filter is a much better design for better filtration than a Keurig filter. I am not affiliated with B&D in any aspect but I will never give up my fast, quality and economical B&D. Both times I went back to the B&D.

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DuckyIMHO
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets All Expectations
8/29/2011

Customer review by MarylandMiss2011

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by MarylandMiss2011
by MarylandMiss2011

I just recently bought two of these personal coffee makers and so far I'm completely satisfied. Some have said in their reviews that the travel mug supplied gets liquid in the coffee mug when washed,even when it's not submerged in water. However, I haven't found that to be true. In fact I see no way that could happen so unless mine is a newer model that has no kind of opening for water to get in between parts of the mug, I am puzzled. Possibly those that reported that could have defects in their mugs. I use the #2 cone coffee filters as some other reviewer had suggested, as I would rather just throw away the old coffee grounds in the paper filter. The coffee came out hot and I like the idea of putting the cold milk or creamer in the mug before brewing as it gets mixed up good and the coffeee is very hot. I sometimes use the dry creamer in the mug. I use 2 heaping tbsps. of coffee, but you could use less if you want a smaller mug or cup of coffee. i noticed no difference in the taste of the coffee if made in the mug with plastic inside or a ceramic cup

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarylandMiss2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cup of coffee and cheap!
6/6/2011

Customer review by momso1

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by momso1
by momso1

I bought this as a less expensive alternative to a Keureg. I wanted something for my office that would make me one quick cup of coffee. I love it! The coffee is just the way I like it-hot and strong (I suppose that could be the Starbucks extra bold I'm putting in it). I really like the auto shut off feature. I don't want to burn down my office-I need my job. I also like that no paper filter is required. I can't comment first hand on the durability but I know someone that's had this product for 7 years and it's still going strong.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momso1
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little coffee maker
11/26/2010

Customer review by Yinkadink

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Yinkadink
by Yinkadink

This is the perfect little coffeemaker if you like to grind your own beans or use a bag of ground coffee and make one cup at a time. (I've tried the Keurig and it's a watery mess if you use ground coffee instead of pods.) You can use the travel mug or a mug of your own. Just tinker with the amounts of water and coffee grounds so it brews according to your taste and mug size. You can also use small 4-cup coffee filters, if you prefer, instead of the filter that comes with it. It's inexpensive to purchase and use. I use it every day.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yinkadink
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/11/2010

Customer review by tweety088

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by tweety088
by tweety088

I love this little coffee maker. Perfect for the one cup on the go! Just as previous reviews have said though, if you can grind your own coffee beans do and don't do it too finely, cause otherwise you'll have quite a bit of splatter to clean up on the top inside and in the filter! OTher than that, it's been a great econimical product.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tweety088
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Pros and Cons from 1 coffee junkie to another.
9/15/2013

Customer review by SShadowRoy

4.0 stars 9/15/2013 by SShadowRoy
by SShadowRoy

PRO List: Cheap, Functional, Fast, Dependable (So far), Easy to use, Easy to clean, has a nice 15oz mug w/ lid. CON List: If you want more than 2-3 cups of coffee in the morning, then this machine can get a little tedious. The 15oz mug while pretty and handy, shouldn't be referred to as "Insulated" because coffee can and will cool fast if you use a refrigerated creamer. The permanent filter is handy, But, when you empty it, "Rinse it!" If you don't, you will get ground sediment (sometimes even a few grounds) in the bottom of your next mug. The only other drawback I have noticed is that if you want an extra mug for your coffee maker, You have to go to Black and Decker to get it. It's about $10, a replacement permanent filter, another $5. You're better off just buying a new unit. The short version is this, It's a $16 coffee maker than gives you a 15oz mug of coffee in about 1.5 minutes. If you're expecting a lot more, then pay more.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SShadowRoy
North-Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for one fast cup the way you want it.
8/2/2013

Customer review by K7M20

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by K7M20
by K7M20

I like one very strong cup of coffee per day. This is the best machine for the task. I use un bleached filters and 3.5 heaping teaspoons of dark roast medium ground coffee to make what I consider to be a great cup of coffee. I actually maintain three of these machines, one for home, one for the office and one to travel with. My Wife uses this machine occasionally to make coffee and she uses 1.5 table spoons to get the coffee that she likes. This is a versatile machine that is priced appropriately and if used reasonable well, it will last a long time. One caution, if you are rough on the start button, the spring will dislodge and it will not work, the fix is easy for most men to complete, it is simply constructed and easy to repair. It is also easy to avoid this repair by simply pressing the start button and releasing it taking in consideration that it is constructed of plastic. Yes, I will continue to purchase more of these machines as long as B&D continues to manufacture them. These machines have been around a long time and I hope that B&D continues to produce them.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K7M20
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than other single serve
11/6/2011

Customer review by JayJ01

4.0 stars 11/6/2011 by JayJ01
by JayJ01

I'm a stay at home mom now and when I was working I would have loved to have this, too bad I didn't find it sooner. I got tired of making a pot of coffee every day because I may or may not drink more than a cup, and my husband more than likely doesn't drink any when it's a work day (he drinks coffee from home on his days off otherwise he buys it or will bring some from home, but it's not every day). It was a waste. So I was looking at keurig machines with a my k-cup, but I couldn't justify spending $150 on a single serve coffee machine for weekdays only for myself when we had a coffee machine. Then I stumbled upon this and bought it. It's been great so far. Our bigger coffee mugs even fit underneath so I can make a cup and my husband can make some himself if he wants it. It brews extremely fast, which is nice. I also like that I can just heat up water in it to make tea with, no more boiling water in a tea pot which seems to take forever. I'm having the same problem with the filter letting some stuff deposit in the bottom of my cup, I'm going to buy size 2 filters since that seemed to have helped everyone, but the reusable filter works good enough and it's pretty easy to clean. Also, the instructions recommend 2 1/2 tbsp of grounds. I make an entire 12 cup pot with 3 heaping tbsp, so I made a big cup in this machine with just over 1/2 tbsp and it came out perfect, so I'd adjust what you make 12 cups with to reflect what you would need for about 2 cups. Other than that, just a simple coffee pot that you can make single cups with.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayJ01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent little one-cup coffee maker
6/7/2014

Customer review by Iforgotmyname

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Iforgotmyname
by Iforgotmyname

This is an excellent little one-cup coffee maker. It is much cheaper than the k-cup coffee makers and allows you to adjust the amount of grounds you place into the filter and therefore adjust the strength of your cup of coffee. This coffee maker also makes a better tasting cup of coffee. You can use the permanent filter that comes with the machine, or you can use (as I do) the #2 Melita coffee filters. Use of the Melita paper coffee filters makes for easier clean up and a better cup of coffee. With this B&D coffee maker, one cup of coffee comes out very hot and tasty. The coffee cup that comes with the machine is very useful and great to drink coffee from. I highly recommend this product for those who don't want to use those wasteful k-cups and who want one better tasting cup of coffee at a time. It's a great and very inexpensive product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iforgotmyname
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Single Serving Coffee Maker
3/17/2011

Customer review by DannyH143

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by DannyH143
by DannyH143

Bought this for my wife and she loves it. Very simple to use and very simple to clean. Uses cold water to make one cup of piping hot coffee in about one minute. Built in filter is easy to clean and saves money. Filter allows for use of regular coffee grounds, which saves even more money (over "pods" from other brands). Very happy with this product. *It is all plastic, however, and has no fancy features. So if you're looking for a counter ornament, this is probably not for you.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DannyH143
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Coffee maker for a one mug person
11/20/2013

Customer review by BookcasesAreFull

4.0 stars 11/20/2013 by BookcasesAreFull
by BookcasesAreFull

This is my second Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker. I received my first one from a Freecycle post and had it 1.5 years before it died. It worked great for me. I usually only drink one mug of coffee, tea or hot chocolate and this is the perfect size for me. Pros: The mug holds 2 cups and comes with a lid. The reusable/washable filter is great for coffee and is easy to clean. Easily does water only for instant cappuccino, hot chocolate or tea. Smaller machine and doesn't take up much space on my counter. Cons: These are mostly preference if it matters to you. The mug type is shorter than a lot of others, so you won't find most other mugs to be interchangeable with this machine. The handle doesn't make it a great grab and go for taking in the car, depending upon your cup holder. If you want to be scalded by your drink this wouldn't be the appliance for you. It's nice and hot but not boiling. But I have a tendency to forget I've made a cup of whatever and go oh, yeah I made...before I go get my cup so that doesn't help the temperature either, lol.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BookcasesAreFull
Lincoln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good
6/3/2011

Customer review by Sweetta

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by Sweetta
by Sweetta

i really like it .. and i use it for coffee and tea.. and even when i want to boil small amount of water.. its really fast ..it worth the price.. I really recommend it..

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Personal coffee maker
4/8/2011

Customer review by hobbygirl98

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by hobbygirl98
by hobbygirl98

All I can say is I LOVE IT! It makes about 2cups or 1 1/2 mugs. If you leave the lid on, the coffee stays hot a lot longer . I keep the lid off because I don't like the "sippy-cup drinking". Before I can put the coffee can away my morning brew is ready! I love it! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! Going to make a quick cuppa now!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobbygirl98
WA state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 769 total reviews
1-20 of 769 reviews