Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1008 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1008 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1008 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
681
4 stars
193
3 stars
33
2 stars
26
1 stars
75
1-20 of 874 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 874 total reviews
1-20 of 874 reviews
Great little coffeemaker.
1/17/2012

Customer review by lesvampir81

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by lesvampir81
by lesvampir81

I got this for Christmas. I had been wanting a 1-cup coffeemaker for a long time but I want to buy a brand I wasn't familiar with. So, my brother got me this Black & Decker one and it works great. It is very simple to operate. The filter is easy to clean. The stainless steel mug that comes with it is great quality. You can also use other mugs with it -- in the picture I used a skull-shaped mug and it fit with no problem. My only complaint would be that the cord is too short. Other than that, this is the best coffeemaker I've owned.

Was this review helpful? (92) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lesvampir81
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
goodbye kuerig
4/1/2012

Customer review by Jimmyhadnickel

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Jimmyhadnickel
by Jimmyhadnickel

Well, I had bought a kuerig a few months ago and returned it in just a few days. If more people knew what a superb cup of coffee this little B & D makes, people could save alot of money!!! One thing one should do when they buy this coffee maker, is to use #1 coffee filters by Melitta, these are the size that fits this machine. I do not recommend using the permanent filter that comes with it. And when you use a # 1 coffee filter, make sure you put the seem laying against the back of the filter baskest, the front of the basket has the opening where the coffee runs into the coffee mug. I had almost returned this coffee maker, at first, because the permanent filter just was not giving a good flavorful cup of coffee. What a difference the # 1 size Melitta coffee filters make instead. I am very pleased with this coffee maker. It's so easy and quick and H-O-T coffee is made simply--- and your own strenght of brew. And the coolest coffee mug comes with it. What a deal!!!! Love , Love , Love it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (175) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmyhadnickel
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets All Expectations
8/29/2011

Customer review by MarylandMiss2011

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by MarylandMiss2011
by MarylandMiss2011

I just recently bought two of these personal coffee makers and so far I'm completely satisfied. Some have said in their reviews that the travel mug supplied gets liquid in the coffee mug when washed,even when it's not submerged in water. However, I haven't found that to be true. In fact I see no way that could happen so unless mine is a newer model that has no kind of opening for water to get in between parts of the mug, I am puzzled. Possibly those that reported that could have defects in their mugs. I use the #2 cone coffee filters as some other reviewer had suggested, as I would rather just throw away the old coffee grounds in the paper filter. The coffee came out hot and I like the idea of putting the cold milk or creamer in the mug before brewing as it gets mixed up good and the coffeee is very hot. I sometimes use the dry creamer in the mug. I use 2 heaping tbsps. of coffee, but you could use less if you want a smaller mug or cup of coffee. i noticed no difference in the taste of the coffee if made in the mug with plastic inside or a ceramic cup

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarylandMiss2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Pros and Cons from 1 coffee junkie to another.
9/15/2013

Customer review by SShadowRoy

4.0 stars 9/15/2013 by SShadowRoy
by SShadowRoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

PRO List: Cheap, Functional, Fast, Dependable (So far), Easy to use, Easy to clean, has a nice 15oz mug w/ lid. CON List: If you want more than 2-3 cups of coffee in the morning, then this machine can get a little tedious. The 15oz mug while pretty and handy, shouldn't be referred to as "Insulated" because coffee can and will cool fast if you use a refrigerated creamer. The permanent filter is handy, But, when you empty it, "Rinse it!" If you don't, you will get ground sediment (sometimes even a few grounds) in the bottom of your next mug. The only other drawback I have noticed is that if you want an extra mug for your coffee maker, You have to go to Black and Decker to get it. It's about $10, a replacement permanent filter, another $5. You're better off just buying a new unit. The short version is this, It's a $16 coffee maker than gives you a 15oz mug of coffee in about 1.5 minutes. If you're expecting a lot more, then pay more.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SShadowRoy
North-Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Coffee maker for a one mug person
11/20/2013

Customer review by BookcasesAreFull

4.0 stars 11/20/2013 by BookcasesAreFull
by BookcasesAreFull
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker. I received my first one from a Freecycle post and had it 1.5 years before it died. It worked great for me. I usually only drink one mug of coffee, tea or hot chocolate and this is the perfect size for me. Pros: The mug holds 2 cups and comes with a lid. The reusable/washable filter is great for coffee and is easy to clean. Easily does water only for instant cappuccino, hot chocolate or tea. Smaller machine and doesn't take up much space on my counter. Cons: These are mostly preference if it matters to you. The mug type is shorter than a lot of others, so you won't find most other mugs to be interchangeable with this machine. The handle doesn't make it a great grab and go for taking in the car, depending upon your cup holder. If you want to be scalded by your drink this wouldn't be the appliance for you. It's nice and hot but not boiling. But I have a tendency to forget I've made a cup of whatever and go oh, yeah I made...before I go get my cup so that doesn't help the temperature either, lol.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BookcasesAreFull
Lincoln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE this Coffeemaker
12/9/2013

Customer review by DuckyIMHO

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DuckyIMHO
by DuckyIMHO

I really wish my relatives would stop buying me Keurigs and Tassimos. I was given a Keurig and a Tassimo 2 different times for presents and tried them both. Since they were presents, of course I used them. Yes, convenient but I had a little Black & Decker (B&D) one cup brewer (I think around $10.00 - including the excellent mug that retains heat!).Here are the factual results of my findings: 1. B&D is seven times cheaper to make coffee (of my choice!) than the cups, 2. no extra garbage for the landfills (recycle coffee grounds in gardens, 3. When making tea, hot chocolate etc., the water is better (hotter) from the B&D, 4. The B&D makes whatever cup size I select -any size in approx the same time as a Keurig or Tassimo, 5. The B&D takes up 2/3 less counter space, 6.Use a $10.00 battery operated Aerolatte to make perfect lattes, etc (with fresh milk - not canned milk or whatever they use - so much better!). 7. The filter is a much better design for better filtration than a Keurig filter. I am not affiliated with B&D in any aspect but I will never give up my fast, quality and economical B&D. Both times I went back to the B&D.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuckyIMHO
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent little one-cup coffee maker
6/7/2014

Customer review by Iforgotmyname

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Iforgotmyname
by Iforgotmyname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent little one-cup coffee maker. It is much cheaper than the k-cup coffee makers and allows you to adjust the amount of grounds you place into the filter and therefore adjust the strength of your cup of coffee. This coffee maker also makes a better tasting cup of coffee. You can use the permanent filter that comes with the machine, or you can use (as I do) the #2 Melita coffee filters. Use of the Melita paper coffee filters makes for easier clean up and a better cup of coffee. With this B&D coffee maker, one cup of coffee comes out very hot and tasty. The coffee cup that comes with the machine is very useful and great to drink coffee from. I highly recommend this product for those who don't want to use those wasteful k-cups and who want one better tasting cup of coffee at a time. It's a great and very inexpensive product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iforgotmyname
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for one fast cup the way you want it.
8/2/2013

Customer review by K7M20

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by K7M20
by K7M20
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like one very strong cup of coffee per day. This is the best machine for the task. I use un bleached filters and 3.5 heaping teaspoons of dark roast medium ground coffee to make what I consider to be a great cup of coffee. I actually maintain three of these machines, one for home, one for the office and one to travel with. My Wife uses this machine occasionally to make coffee and she uses 1.5 table spoons to get the coffee that she likes. This is a versatile machine that is priced appropriately and if used reasonable well, it will last a long time. One caution, if you are rough on the start button, the spring will dislodge and it will not work, the fix is easy for most men to complete, it is simply constructed and easy to repair. It is also easy to avoid this repair by simply pressing the start button and releasing it taking in consideration that it is constructed of plastic. Yes, I will continue to purchase more of these machines as long as B&D continues to manufacture them. These machines have been around a long time and I hope that B&D continues to produce them.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K7M20
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after one use
11/16/2013

Customer review by DigIt09

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by DigIt09
by DigIt09

I am very disappointed that my coffee maker stopped working after one use. I went through the instructions and used the cold water to run through the machine once before making coffee. It worked fine. The water sputtered a little, not a solid stream, BUT it was pouring hot water. I then measured out the 2 1/2 tablespoons, poured in the water, and then ... nothing. It would not work. I thought maybe it was my outlet (it was worth a try, the machine wasn't working), so I picked up the machine with the water and coffee grounds and tried another outlet. Still not working. I was really excited to try this machine. It has great reviews for a small and cheap coffee maker. I really did not want to spend the money on a Keurig, and this seemed to be a great find. I'm going to let the machine cool down, and hopefully it will work. Otherwise, back to Walmart it goes. Hopefully this is just a poorly made random machine; I would like to think this is a good product for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DigIt09
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not perfect, but really close!
9/9/2015

Customer review by ResuMAYDAY

5.0 stars 9/9/2015 by ResuMAYDAY
by ResuMAYDAY

I'm really happy that I purchased this. I usually only drink 1-2 cups of coffee a day so it's perfect for me. I don't make more coffee than I'll drink and it's really quick. That being said, there are three small changes I would make: 1) I wish the travel mug had a bit of a lip somewhere to make pouring water easier. I've been using my pyrex measuring cup because I hate making a watery mess. 2) The 'fill' mark should be more obvious. It's virtually invisible so I have to feel where it is with my finger before I pour in the water. 3)The filter should be easier to grasp when removing it. As it it, I remove both the filter and the filter holder. The problem with that is the filter holder is always wet, so it drips. I just want to remove the filter to dump out the grounds before refilling it. Those are the things I would change, but I know they are fairly minor. For that reason, I still give this 5 stars. The good outweighs the bad and I am mostly delighted with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResuMAYDAY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bargain on personal 1 cup coffeemaker
8/14/2013

Customer review by RetiredRanger

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by RetiredRanger
by RetiredRanger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am on disability and frequently get up at 2:00 or 3:00 am, take my meds and like to have one cup of coffee, watch some TV and go back to sleep for a couple more hours. I am an avid coffee drinker and am very picky about my coffee. I hated to make a whole pot and let the rest go to waste. After reading reviews and seeing the great bargain on this pot, I had to buy one. I love this pot. It has a permanent filter, is easy to clean, makes it fast and brews at the proper temperature to release the flavor without the bitterness. It also shuts off when done. The insulated cup is also a great idea. The only improvement I would suggest is to have a insulated cup that holds the coffee hot longer. I preheat and pour the coffee into my 12 hour thermos cup to hold the heat. This is still a great bargain and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredRanger
Walhalla, North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a Great Cup of coffee
4/5/2011

Customer review by Chatsycats2

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Chatsycats2
by Chatsycats2

After my soul searching I took a chance and purchased this coffee pot. WOW oh WOW was I glad!!!! I live ona retirement check and really could not afford one of the single serve coffee pots. OMG is this fantastic for the price.! Simple to use, makes a tremendous cup of coffee and you can make tea. hot chocolate etc. I have issues in my hands and the handle on the cup tops all !!!!!!! So happy with this purcahse oh and the filter is just grand also !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chatsycats2
Morris County,New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quickly makes a great cup of coffee!
8/25/2015

Customer review by BigBadRooster

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by BigBadRooster
by BigBadRooster

I had this same coffee maker for over 5 years. It quickly makes a great cup of coffee for the fraction of the cost of a K-cup. Plus you can add as much or as little coffee as your taste desires...can't do that with a K-cup. I use a paper coffee filter because it makes the clean-up fast and simple. The insulated, stainless steel coffee mug that comes with it is very nice. I was so happy to find this same brand and model for sale at Wal-Mart that I bought two of them...one for work and one for home. I feel this particular coffeemaker consistently makes the best tasting coffee around very quickly and at a great price. I found that I do not waste coffee by making a large pot and it sits around and eventually some gets thrown out. If I want a 2nd cup I just make a fresh one. This coffeemaker does not take up much space on the counter top either. I refuse to stop at Starbucks (or other retail stores) wasting time & money when in little time and fuss I can make my own fresh cup that I think tastes better. Over a years time it saves me $100's of dollars! Great price at Wal-Mart and they were shipped and received in just a few days.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBadRooster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome coffeemaker
2/9/2014

Customer review by coffeeman007

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by coffeeman007
by coffeeman007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a caffeine fiend. I own a 12 cup, 10 cup, 4 cup automatic drip pots, 12 cup, 8 cup and 4 cup electric percolators and 2 stove top pots. I got this coffee maker for times when i just want 1 quick cup without wasting any. This little inexpensive pot is now my favorite. I use this one all the time now. I even put my others back in the closet. It is really fast, coffee comes out nice and hot. The permanent filter is really easy to rinse out. The taste is nice and the cup that comes with it is cool. Every cup I drink now is freshly brewed. I highly recommend this pot to anyone looking for a more inexpensive alternative to expensive single serving brewers ( those cup ones )

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeeman007
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/11/2010

Customer review by Bariforcoffee

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Bariforcoffee
by Bariforcoffee

This is nice little coffee maker. In my house its the best option since my wife likes tea and I prefer coffee before run for office. Normal coffee makers I have to brew several cups of coffee and rest of the coffee is waste. I just need one full cup before the day start. The quality of the product is good and I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for that full mug of coffee in the morning. cheers!

Was this review helpful? (157) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bariforcoffee
Nashua,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great cup of coffee and cheap!
6/6/2011

Customer review by momso1

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by momso1
by momso1

I bought this as a less expensive alternative to a Keureg. I wanted something for my office that would make me one quick cup of coffee. I love it! The coffee is just the way I like it-hot and strong (I suppose that could be the Starbucks extra bold I'm putting in it). I really like the auto shut off feature. I don't want to burn down my office-I need my job. I also like that no paper filter is required. I can't comment first hand on the durability but I know someone that's had this product for 7 years and it's still going strong.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momso1
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
sweet one cupper
1/9/2011

Customer review by TexascoffeEdrinker

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by TexascoffeEdrinker
by TexascoffeEdrinker

This thing is a great little coffee maker. If you are looking for a inexpensive one cup maker this is it. YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED. It will even do hot water for tea,coco and instant soup.

Was this review helpful? (244) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexascoffeEdrinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8 years and still going
9/3/2010

Customer review by FrugaliestShopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by FrugaliestShopper
by FrugaliestShopper

This product has brewed me a cup of coffee for almost 8 years. To say it has saved me money is a huge understatement! The permanent filter is a great feature too! If it had a timer, this would be perfect for those who just need a cup of coffee on the go in the mornings.

Was this review helpful? (372) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrugaliestShopper
Ruston, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Single Serving Coffee Maker
3/17/2011

Customer review by DannyH143

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by DannyH143
by DannyH143

Bought this for my wife and she loves it. Very simple to use and very simple to clean. Uses cold water to make one cup of piping hot coffee in about one minute. Built in filter is easy to clean and saves money. Filter allows for use of regular coffee grounds, which saves even more money (over "pods" from other brands). Very happy with this product. *It is all plastic, however, and has no fancy features. So if you're looking for a counter ornament, this is probably not for you.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DannyH143
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tasty coffee
12/15/2014

Customer review by JacqBr

5.0 stars 12/15/2014 by JacqBr
by JacqBr

I received this coffee maker as a Christmas gift last year. It is wonderful. I haven't had any issues with it. I use it once a day, sometimes twice. My coffee always tastes good. I use a coffee (2 tablespoon) measuring spoon for my coffee and always use 12 oz of water. After brewing my coffee I open the top and let it air out. I clean it once a month by using 8 oz of vinegar (let vinegar sit 15 min.s to get the stuff out of the bottom) and adding water to the fill line, run. After it cleans I add water to the fill line again and let it run again (per instructions). I then just wipe everything down (sometimes I use a tiny baby bottle scrub brush made to clean bottle filters in the right hand corner of the water reservoir). It also takes up little to no space on my counter.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JacqBr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 874 total reviews
1-20 of 874 reviews