Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
9
1 stars
20
1-20 of 63 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Great to start... but leaks like crazy
12/21/2011

Customer review by SC

1.0 stars 12/21/2011 by SC
by SC

Bought this the week after I adopted a new puppy. At the start this machine was great, powerful and easy to use, great for spot cleaning after my puppy. However, after about 6months I noticed that when I used it all the water from the clean tank came out of the bottom. I made sure the lids were on correctly, the straws in the tanks weren't obstructed, but it still happened. I took it back to the vacuum cleaner store where I bought it and they said I was doing something wrong. In the end I gave up and left it in the basement. Recently (a year later) I tried it again. Now I realize that it only leaks when it is turned on and after the solution trigger is pressed and released -- Then you get to watch the clean water level drop to nothing as it all drains into the bottom of the machine. I opened the bottom and the connections are just hard plastics, no rubber seals. No wonder it leaks! Cheaply made and now useless as it is out of warranty. Won't buy Hoover again.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/21/2011

We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your cleaner! Please contact our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST for further assistance.

SC
Victoria BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Magic!
3/26/2014

Customer review by Momzers

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Momzers
by Momzers

I bought this machine yesterday to clean up some dingy carpet areas (even though the carpet is to be replaced soon) that I just hated looking at - I did two passes in front of the sofa because it seems to be a particularly naff area, even though we do not wear shoes in the house, desert living can be very dusty and dirty - after the first pass with the cleaner - and yes - on my hands and knees - I could see a difference, and then after the second pass, it was that much cleaner. I did the area in front of the loveseat and that came instantly clean. I then went around to some of the spots on the carpet and got those up as well. Plan to take some before and after photos today of other dingy spots, particularly at the entranceway to the bedroom. It was a good workout, but well worth the effort  The dirty water was just that...DIRTY!!! EWWWW!!!

Momzers
St. George UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Dissapointment
4/23/2015

Customer review by sophie

1.0 stars 4/23/2015 by sophie
by sophie

I purchased this almost a year ago and LOVED it. It was the perfect size for storing in my tiny apartment and worked well. Not only was I able to clean carpet and pet accidents, but it was mobile enough to clean my furniture, stairs, and car interior. HOWEVER, the clean water cap broke recently, Hoover has DISCONTINUED it and the parts are no longer available through them, or a third party. Instead of purchasing a $4 part, I will now be forced to purchase an entirely new unit. I don't have the best income and can not afford to do this every time something breaks. If I had known the product was going to be discontinued I would never have purchased it. I can't even describe how sad and frustrated I am. Why are you still selling this with NO PRODUCT SUPPORT?!

Comment from John - 4/25/2015

Hi Sophie, We apologize for not having that part in stock anymore. We did find a place that has it in stock. http://bit.ly/1JBRv39. The part # is 2VM1119000 if you would like to find an alternate supplier. Hope this helps!

sophie
Chico, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not happy
7/15/2016

Customer review by Brendaff

1.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Brendaff
by Brendaff

I received this item as a gift. The sprayer does not work properly. I did as the instructions said and primed the pump and right off the bat it sprayed once and don't spray anymore. I do like the size and features, however I wish it worked.

Comment from Karissa - 7/18/2016

Hi Brendaff! Oh no, your Spot Scrubber® Multi-Surface Cleaner should run better than this. We want to help. Please ensure the clean water tank has been aligned all the way into the unit otherwise it will not dispense properly. Once aligned pump the trigger 30 times, then hold it down for 30 seconds and repeat. Once completed the unit should begin to dispense. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Brendaff
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
LEAKS
12/29/2011

Customer review by Soaking Wet Carpets

1.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Soaking Wet Carpets
by Soaking Wet Carpets

Very poorly built and basically useless. This worked for a few months then it starting leaking all of the clean water into the bottom of the machine, then on to my carpet. When I took it back to the store where I bought it, they told me I was doing something wrong. I tried again a few times, made sure the straw wasn't blocked, the water wasn't too hot, the lid was on tight - no leaks until I turned on the machine, then all the clean water drained into the bottom. I gave up and stuffed it in the basement. I recently pulled it out to try again before Christmas. I took the bottom off to see what was happening. I turned it on and after a few seconds the clean water came pouring through 3 (or so) various holes. Obviously not operator error! Save your money.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/29/2011

We appreciate the comments about your cleaner and understand your frustration. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty. Visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for listing of local warranty service dealers for assistance or contact our Customer Care Department by calling 1-800-944-9200. Thank you!

Soaking Wet Carpets
BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Undecided
11/4/2012

Customer review by Not Entirely Sold on the Unit

2.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Not Entirely Sold on the Unit
by Not Entirely Sold on the Unit

We purchased this unit with the hopes of being able to clean the interior of my car after having a gallon of pumpkin soup spill on the floor boards. It did fine where the attachments were able to fit, but unfortunately there is no attachment for cleaning the small areas under my seat. We are going to try again next weekend after taking the seat out, but I am not very hopefull. Not sure if I am going to keep it around or not. If there were extra accessories we could purchase that would make this a little more useful around the house, such as a longer hose and different heads, it would be worth it. We are going to give the shower stall a going over, but I suspect that the short hose will make that a challenge as well.

Not Entirely Sold on the Unit
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
does everything a little unit should do!
4/25/2013

Customer review by steveo

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by steveo
by steveo

I think the folks here with negative reviews are a littly nuts either that or they simply expect something to do something it is not intended to do. This is a small unit and is perfect for cleaning small areas, upholstry, and I even cleaned my mattress with it (now was that surprising and gross...I reccomend everyone do that). There is no moveable brushes, its basically a sprayer and a wet vac in one. It does suck the dirt out of what it is intended for and has been a savior for quick cleanups like cat vomit, etc ( I know, gross, sorry!) Either way, I HIGHLY reccomend this product if you need it for small spaces, everyday spills, pet messes, or just dont have the space for a large unit and want to do small areas.

steveo
Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed!!!
5/18/2014

Customer review by AnnieA

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by AnnieA
by AnnieA

I purchased this product over 2 years ago and have had issues from the very first use. It leaks water from the bottom, dribbles water from the hose, leaks water from the hose, sometimes water does not spray from the hose (replacing hose) , The caps on the water canisters crack easily (had to replace twice), and the dirty water dispenser does not hold much water. I am on Hoover's site again ordering my second round of replacement parts hoping this will resolve some of my issues. I wish I read the reviews before purchasing this produce and had not lost my receipt. I have probably only used the cleaner a total of 5 times in the last two years.

Comment from Ian - 5/19/2014

Hi AnnieA, we want to help but we'll need to ask you a couple of quick questions. We've sent you a private email just now so that we can better assist you. Thanks!

AnnieA
York, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great at first.
4/12/2016

Customer review by littlelady15

2.0 stars 4/12/2016 by littlelady15
by littlelady15

I bought this 2 or so months ago and was happy at first (even though it does leak) but now my problem is it will no longer spray. I tried the hot water and vinegar solution as suggested in another comment, it did not work. Can anyone please help on another solution that might help? I am stuck with a cleaner that will not work!

Comment from Karissa - 4/21/2016

Hi littlelady15! Your Spot Scrubber® Multi-Surface Cleaner should release water when the trigger is pressed. We want to help. Please fill the water tank with warm water only and turn the unit on. Next, pump the trigger 30x and then hold it down for 30 seconds. Water should begin to dispense. If not repeat pumping the trigger until a steady flow is established. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

littlelady15
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaked everywhere during first use
8/20/2013

Customer review by DMEngineer

1.0 stars 8/20/2013 by DMEngineer
by DMEngineer

I purchased this portable cleaner yesterday (8/19/2013) and used it last night for the first time. After the first use I noticed it was leaking from the bottom of the unit. Upon further inspection I found the source of the leak to be the clean water tank cap / filler neck. It appears the filler neck of the clean water tank is not perfectly flat and when the cap is screwed on there is a portion of the neck that is not covered by the gasket inside the cap... Presto, instant leaks when inserted into the main unit body. Hopefully the repair center will cover this under warranty.

Comment from Ian - 9/10/2013

Hi DMEngineer, your Spot Scrubber should not be leaking at all during use. We'd like to get some more information on it. We're sending you a private email now so that we can better assist you. Thanks so much!

DMEngineer
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Missing part...no replacement parts or helpful parts photos
1/6/2016

Customer review by Mommy911

1.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Mommy911
by Mommy911

I think one of the parts from this machine was mistakenly thrown out, when we couldn't figure out where it had come from. Now, when I want to purchase a replacement part, I find that it is not available. I can't even find a helpful photo and name of the part, so that I can confirm what part to look for. I would like to send this one back to Hoover, and have them send me a replacement machine, at no cost to me, for my trouble.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/10/2016

Hi Mommy911! Replacement parts should be available and we want to help resolve this matter for you. We'll be reaching out to you privately, we need just a bit more information. Thank you!

Mommy911
Goleta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
What would I have done with out it??
1/12/2013

Customer review by Full house mom

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Full house mom
by Full house mom

I orginally got this product shortly after we got our first puppy 2 1/2 years ago. It works great. A little accident on the carpet or couch.. NO problem clean it up right away and you would never know it was even there. I now have 3 dogs and 3 boys, and a white carpet! You would never know I had dogs and kids!! I love the product it works well. The only problem I have had with it leaking out of the bottom was that the clean water cap had been screwed on to tight and cracked.. I am ordering a replacement for it now. Thanks Hoover!

Full house mom
Marina, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eaxactly as described
4/1/2013

Customer review by steveo

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by steveo
by steveo

Although I need a full size unit, I live in a very small house with no rrom to store it. I figured that something like this I could use inbetween cleans (borrowing a family member's full size) for spot cleanings, and mud by the sliders, as well as upholstry. I couldn't believe that this small unit did so much. Although it can be a little awkward with the hose being a little short and yes the large spray pattern, but the unit does work, and work well. I couldn't believe just how much dirt was hiding on my sofa that I vaccuum off weekly...actually it was kind of gross. I also got on my hands and knees and did the small spots on the floor that were inaccesable to the large hoover unit I borrowed from my folks. I see this strange negative reviews about leaking...NO the prodcut does not leak. I am sure if you sont close the clean water bottle maybe it could leak a little bit but there is not much else that could cause it to leak besides too much soap or overfillling the dirty chamber. Also, why people complain that it takes too much work to get stains out. People, this is a compact unit that sprays and sucks! There are no roating heads, how could there be on a hand held unit so yes, this is what you are buying. Overall I am very happy with the unit and it does everything it promises...the squegee use in the bathroom is a little messy and I think kaboom and paper towels would do a better job there, but for upholstry and small carpet areas, this does the trick!

steveo
Landing, Roxbury Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good, but very flawed
7/14/2013

Customer review by Solphins

2.0 stars 7/14/2013 by Solphins
by Solphins

I have been using this for over two years. I never had it leak from the bottom like other reviews unless you go over the limit it can hold. The biggest problem is that you can not clean it and it stinks. I have sucked bleach into it I have soaked the nozzle in bleach and I can not keep it from smelling like a sewer. I have used everything to clean it out including gun cleaning tools, but still can not reach areas. I would recommend it if you want a great product for about a year tops.

Comment from Ian - 7/18/2013

Hi Solphins, we wouldn't recommend using bleach or any other fume-inducing agent to clean out our products. We'd recommend filling a bucket full of hot tap water and Hoover brand detergent and placing the head of the hand tool into that bucket to extract that water/detergent through the tubing and into your recovery tank. Let us know if you need any more help. Thanks so much!

Solphins
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Replacement parts not available
11/2/2015

Customer review by Helen 07

1.0 stars 11/2/2015 by Helen 07
by Helen 07

Bought this to replace my Little Green Machine, which was also discontinued. Fresh water fill cap cracked on the SpotScrubber, making it impossible to use. Parts are not available. I am pretty irritated to have spent the money on this piece of junk. Also, dirty water reservoir stinks real bad and the tank had always been rinsed out after each use. Save your money......

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/4/2015

Hi Helen 07! We totally understand that replacement parts should be at your disposal and that you're not satisfied with your purchase. We'd like to spare a few tips to help alleviate the smell from your reservoir tank! After each use, it's important to rinse the tank with warm water and allow it to air dry for a complete 24 hours. Failure to do this will cause mildew and other smells to build up which can become hard to get rid of. If you're searching for replacement parts, you may be able to locate them at one of our Authorized Hoover Service Centers. Visit this link: http://hoover.com/locator/ to locate one neareast you. Hope this helps!

Helen 07
New Albany, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smelly Tank
7/21/2014

Customer review by Mandy

4.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Mandy
by Mandy

I am happy with this product overall, but now that it has been used the dirty water tank is nasty inside and smells very bad.  I tried running scalding hot water into it to break up the dirty buildup that is on the inside of the tank; however it will NOT come out.  Now when I turn the unit on to use it it smells!!  I have emptied the dirty water in between each use and I am not sure what can be done. 

Mandy
Cumberland, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
does a good job but has problems
9/30/2013

Customer review by Monica415

3.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Monica415
by Monica415

I am happy with the suction on this machine. It does leak a bit on the hose where I hold it, but I can deal with that. My biggest problem is sometimes the clean water won't spray. I just turned it on and it was working, then I refilled the tank and it was still working fine. Refilled the tank a second time, now it won't spray and I'm in the middle of cleaning my couch.

Comment from Ian - 10/1/2013

Hi Monica415, if you're using detergent with this machine, it is possible that the inner tubing is clogged with some dry suds from previous uses. Give this a try: 1. Add hot water with a little bit of vinegar to the clean water tank 2. Turn the machine on 3. Squeeze and hold the handle trigger for about 60 seconds. This should flush the tubing clean and get your spot scrubber working for you again. Let us know if you need any more help. We're happy to help, always. Thanks so much!

Monica415
NY
Gender:Female
not what I thought It would be
12/31/2011

Customer review by baw

1.0 stars 12/31/2011 by baw
by baw

The steamer is ok as of compact, easy to use, and move around . The machine it self is a very fragile piece . The hose was the first to ware out not even 4 times using it . Needs better parts so it last longer and a parts list that is available and not sold out . This is an F on my list of cleaning products .

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/31/2011

We apologize about the issues you are having with your cleaner and understand your frustration. If for any reason parts are not available online, our Customer Care Department can direct you to the nearest dealer and inform you when parts will be available. Please contact our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200. Thank you!

baw
harrisburg pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
A little disappointed
12/9/2011

Customer review by Angela

2.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Angela
by Angela

My only complaint about this product is that it leaks from the bottom. Finish cleaning a spot to find dirty foam where you had the unit sitting. And no, neither the clean nor dirty containers were overfilled. And no, I didn't use over the recommended amount of cleaning solution.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/9/2011

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your cleaner. When used and maintained in normal household use with Hoover branded solutions and detergents it is warranted against original defects in material and workmanship for 1 year. Please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of service dealers for assistance, or call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200.

Angela
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Somewhat Disappointed...
8/19/2012

Customer review by TennesseeMom

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by TennesseeMom
by TennesseeMom

The suction is not good at all! Nothing like the Little Green Machine I had that got worn out from years of use,I bought this to replace it. The hose is stiff and not flexible much at all. I am considering a refund and going back to what I know works well.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 8/19/2012

No suction can indicate one of several things. It can mean that the dirty water tank was installed incorrectly, that the dirty water tank filter is clogged or that the dirty water tank door was installed incorrectly. Please refer to your manual or call our Customer Care group to see if any of these three things are the issue. Our Customer Care group can be reached at 1-800-944-9200, Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST.

TennesseeMom
South Fulton,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews