Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 1427 reviews
5 stars
796
4 stars
323
3 stars
65
2 stars
64
1 stars
179
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1310 reviews
1-20 of 1310 reviews
Out Cleaned My Bissell...Love it!
4/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got this carpet washer in today and started using it immediately, my Bissell died about 3 weeks ago and that was the last time I had cleaned my carpet but our dogs went to work. The Hoover is not the easiest machine in the World to figure out if your used to using a Bissell but if you take your time you will get it. My ONLY complaint is the leaking, it leaks more then my Bissell but it also is not a $900-$1,000 machine...I have some pictures posted to show before and after. I would recommend this carpet washer to anyone with little ones, pets or really any kind of stains. I know we are hooked. Thanks Hoover
Was this review helpful?
Yes (196)No (35)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great cleaner before and after pictures!!
4/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Everything works amazing except the attachment hose. It was lack luster but the rest was amazing I got out ground in dirt and old stains from Months ago. The stains were caused by spilled soda food hot sauce you name it. It all came up. I attempted to use the attachment hose it worked well but not as well as the main cleaner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (204)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Concept, Cheap Plastics, Hoover Come on now!
12/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
Very Disappointed in Hoover! I had previously owned a Hoover steam vac for 12 years and it lasted that long with only having to replace the hose. I could tell the motor was giving out so I decided to buy the Max Extract Dual-V, model# F7412900 for $159. Out of the Box I could see it had a hairline crack in the upper water tank and also a large multi-crack in the lower suction channel. It could have been from either the shipping or manufacture but decided to give it a go to see if everything would work anyways. The performance of the carpet cleaning was excellent and it was taking LOADS of dirt out of the carpet but I kept seeing puddles of water under the unit after I was done cleaning. After inspecting the lower tank to see why there was water leaking I saw the rubber seal was split and allowing water and hair to escape. Once I found the third major problem decided to return to Walmart for a no-hassle refund. I thought maybe I would try the previous Dual-V model #F7411900 for $139 and out of the box checked for any cracks and found one of the retainer brackets for the lower tank was cracked and wouldn't hold the tank down properly to ensure an air tight seat over the suction part, which is a major factor in proper function. Instead of wasting my time taking it back to store I decided to glue the retainer piece and install it back in place. I also notice this unit had a broken gasket in which I just put some rubber glue in the gap and let it dry. The third negative part is when I tried the first time it wasn't putting out hardly any water and I had to seat the upper tank just right in order for it to initiate the water check valve. After that it did an excellent job at cleaning the carpets. If not for my ability to fix thing I would definitely not recommend for anyone to purchase this product and if you do make sure and purchase the 2 year no hassle warranty! Good luck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (222)No (57)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Having a hard time finding something wrong
2/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am a long time user of a Hoover rug cleaner. The first served me very well. It traveled to many places (including kids' dorm rooms) and lasted a very long time - probably longer than 15 years. The down side of it - heavy and awkward to carry, its parts were very difficult to clean and, in its last years, it would sporadically loose suction (stopping and removing and reattaching the dirty container would remedy that - at least for a while). I finally gave up on it two weeks ago when the brushes no longer rotated. The Hoover Max Extract Dual V Widepath Carpet Washer as a stand alone gets high marks from me. Relative to its predecessor, it gets extremely high marks because it is, in my opinion, a much improved version of what I once had and liked a lot. First of all it is a bit lighter. Hoover made a truly brilliant move by providing a single hand grasp position on the appliance which enables you to carry it easily with one hand. Missing on my old model, the only way to carry it, that I could manage, with one hand was to grab the handle and carry it on my back. It was too awkward (it hung crooked) and too heavy, to simply pick it up by the handle. The hand grasp on the new model is so positioned that when you use it, the machine hangs straight down. Secondly, the new model versus its predecessor is extremely easy to clean - all parts providing ample openings to get the carpet detritus out. In the dirty tank you can even remove the inside partitioning (again brilliant of Hoover) to completely clean that tank. I have a chocolate lab, and use to have two. It would take me as long, if not longer, to clean the old machine after using it than to use it - NO exaggeration. And if you think, then don't completely clean it out! You have to for if you leave the dog hairs in, they become a dry blockage nearly impossible to remove. As for the new machine's cleaning power - I was very impressed. I'll just post some pictures. I took these to send to my daughters as I knew that they would appreciate what the new machine could do after the many, many years we used and appreciated the old one. The first photo shows the rug after just being cleaned, except for the top left corner to show the difference. The second photo shows it the next day, completely cleaned and dry. Vibrant! I'm simply in love and one of my daughters has already borrowed it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (220)No (59)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing results
10/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I originally purchased this steam cleaner because of my child and pets and wanted to know my carpets were clean! But we had a hair dye bottle explode and land on the carpet and this steam cleaner worked wonders !! So thankful I purchased it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the best choice
7/31/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this carpet cleaner 3 years ago. It has leaked from the beginning. You have to have everything set perfectly or it leaks. Now it has developed an electrical short that flips the GFCI switches as you are plugging it in. Thank heaven I was trying to clean in the kitchen where there are GFCI switches.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE THIS MACHINE!!
1/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so surprised by the poor reviews I see here! However, there aren't many reviews and I've found that most people only want to review something when they have a negative issue with an item, rather than when they are happy with an item. ...I however wanted to submit a review because I absolutely love my carpet washer! I have 9 year old cream colored, berber carpeting that loves to hold onto dirt and stains. I have 3 children all under the age of 7, 2 huge dogs, 2 cats, me, my husband and my mother all living under one roof. Needless to say, our carpets have seen a spill or two and some heavy-duty foot traffic. I hired a professional "chemical based" carpet cleaning company to come do my carpets and I could barely see a difference. My husband was so mad, he demanded a refund. It was terrible. Well, after that, I bought this machine and I am beyond impressed. It quite literally turned my grey, splotchy, stained, berber carpeting to it's original, cream-colored newness again! It is amazing! It got out every single stain - even a stain I had from buffalo wing sauce that I have tried everything to remove it!! This machine is a life-saver and an absolute dream! The drying time is beyond impressive as well. Not even 8 hours after washing the carpets and they are bone-dry. It took 2 days for my carpets to dry when I had them professionally done. This machine has amazing suction. My only "con" was that it is heavy, but I mean, in reality - of course it is! It holds quite a big of water so of course it's going to be heavy. It's also kind of a pain to have to refill the tank with water and empty out the dirty tank constantly while cleaning. I think I had to do it 6 times or more per room. It can be annoying, but given how well this machine cleans and suctions - it's a small price to pay! Thank you Hoover! I love, love, love this machine!! (As a side note, I've owned my machine for a year now, with zero issues with it)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It falls apart in the first month
6/12/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like this machine because of the large capacity tanks and the great job it does. I like the fact that I can take it apart with ease to clean it. But like all Hover carpet cleaning machines, they don't last. I bought mine last November 2013 . Jan 2014 the springs popped out of the handle on the recovery tank. The utility rack will not stay on. March 2014 the release lever for the recovery tank broke off for no reason. Next thing I know I can't get the handle for the recovery tank to stay on right because both springs are now gone. They do not reattach either. The top lever that is used to wrap the power cord around for storage, broke off when I used this machine last month. That did not impress me at all. Now another piece is broken off and I don't even know what it is for. The plastic on these machines is very brittle. The machine Yesterday I discovered that both the water tank and the solution tank leak out of the bottom. I had a mess of solution all over my table before noticing it. I had to put the solution in the water tank. Why is it that every hover carpet cleaner that I have ever had does this?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just as great as my first one!!
7/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my second Hoover spinbrush machine and it's of course even better than the 1st one I purchased 20 years ago. My first one lasted through 13 years of abuse cleaning up after dogs, even puppy birthing on cream carpet. These things make the Bissell's look like child's toys....the difference in cleaning. I was given a Bissell and threw it out to buy this Hoover because there is no comparison. Fortunately, my local Walmart and Fedex branches are awesome so it was delivered without damage and I had it together and running in 2 minutes. These machines work best using them in a certain manner which is NOT flying across the room with it like a vacuum cleaner. Lay the water down solid stream as you SLOWLY inch the machine forward giving the brushes time to actually scrub with the solution it's laying down. Let off the trigger and SLOWLY pull the machine backward as it extracts all the nasty it just scrubbed up. You're going to see some water seepage if it sits after you're done but geez it's a carpet shampooer full of water folks and that has to drain back out of the lines. The tanks are MUCH better than having one tank like a Bissell because no dirty water mixing into the clean. Use your machine like I said and you will see results like the pics I've included which was a HIGH traffic area that hadn't been cleaned in no telling how many years. Expect to go through at least 3 tanks in an approximate 16x16 room. That's normal if you're doing it right and want superb results. Can't say enough good things about this machine!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
7/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A few lil minor things. Leaks a lil ONLY when you put in new clean water tank but nothing major just a few drops. Second the water tank could be bigger but for the size of the cleaner it works out. (Easy tank removal anyways) plus I like how it comes with the lil bottle of cleaner solution. Works perfectly, cleaned my carpets and removed all the stains. Now my carpets have a fighting chance with all the lil kids.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst Machine I've purchased EVER!!!
4/9/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With the economy struggling, everyone should be checking reviews before purchases. Manufactures need to appreciate and back our purchases. THIS PRODUCT SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN A YEAR!!! I use a Hoover ProHeat (older model) at our family's small business. I recently replaced a similar model with this model at home. It is border on warranty, meaning purchased about a year ago - haven't found receipt yet to see if I'm on the 11 month or 12+month usage. The motor is failing. I use the older one more often at work!!! It is about 2.3-3 yrs. old. Hoover has shutdown the service center in our area (been going there for at least 10 years). Now they want me to travel to the other side of town. The cheap handle notches broke within the first week, but was replaced and worked well - until recently. I am completely disappointed in my options right now. Actually leaning towards exposing my hardwood floors! I do have a hard floor machine that has been a blessing! I've had 15+ years happy with Hoover - until this model. DO NOT BUY THIS ONE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do the job pretty nice and easy
7/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After renting an apartment for 3 years and having the office doing multiple carpet wash for free I never got satisfied with the carpet. I decided to buy this machine. I can't explain how satisfied I am to have purchased it. My carpet is clean, soft and smell so fresh. Just the first use and it looks like new. I strongly recommend it! It's so easy and friendly to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WILL NEVER BUY HOOVER AGAIN!!! CHEAP PLASTIC!!!
7/1/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this carpet cleaner as I have bunny rabbits that are about 90% litter box trained, but still decide they want to drop pellets and sometimes pee outside their box. Thought this would be a great product to keep my carpets clean. LESS THAN 3 MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASE IT, I am cleaning and hear a loud crack sound. Come to find out, they use cheap plastic and a piece broke and the bristles wouldn't spin. I was ticked off. I decided to keep using it as it would still be able to "wash" the carpets and suck up all the water. Well I cleaned my carpets yesterday, and just a few minutes ago went to go empty the dirty water, started to pick it up, and the plastic handle snapped, and dumped out dirty, nasty, stinky pee water all over the carpet. They obviously cut corners and use cheap plastic to make their products. Not only that, this one is constantly leaking water and detergent all over which means it doesn't seal properly. On top of that, I had bought a hoover vacuum about the same time. It sounded like a jet engine, and it lasted about 6 months before it broke. Again, garbage, cheap plastic. I bought a bissell vacuum that is a lot quieter and has worked great for over a year. Now that I need a new carpet cleaner, maybe I'll try a bissell one. But one thing is for sure, I will NEVER USE ANOTHER HOOVER PRODUCT AGAIN. Stay away. Cheap plastic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
VERY POOR quality of manufacture
11/1/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This washing carpets cleaned very well, but OMG! is very bad quality, plastic is made with low very low quality, noticing this when you open the box, I decided to give it a try, but two months after parts of it began to break, I could not use the guarantee. Horrible experience. You do not spend your money on it, look for a better quality of manufacture. Attached photos.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy
7/24/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this on clearance on Walmart's website. It is big, but it really worked. It had a big enough water tank and a bigger dirty water tank, I used 3 buckets of clean water and finally had to dump the dirty tank. I did have a problem getting the hoses on the holder but I finally put the accessories on a hook in the closet. I'm not sure if I will use them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not too bad.
2/19/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When I opened the box, the product had some damage, possibly while it was being shipped. Fortunately, it wasn't a piece vital to the operation of the machine. It was one of the latches that secures the dirty water tank to the machine. I called Hoover and they sent the replacement piece to me. I've only used it three times thus far. It seems to clean the carpets fairly well, but not so much the deep stubborn stains that it claims it will clean. Assembly was not too complicated. It's easy to operate. However, the tool caddy for the hose is quite a distraction. Somewhat cheaply designed. It's not very well secured to the machine, so I just leave it off while I'm cleaning. Nice long power cord especially for a smaller home like mine. Would I recommend it? That's the tough part. I don't fault Hoover exclusively, I guess that's the way it is these days with almost all products. They don't make 'em like they used to. For the value it appears to be a worthy purchase. More on this as time goes on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You will love this Machine
3/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Many have pointed out the excellent cleaning of this machine. I can only add to that. I just received mine and cranked it up with the sample cleaner that came with. Cleans like you would not believe and sucks up the water/dirt very well. We have 2 dogs also. This thing is so well engineered it's pretty amazing. I assembled it easily and I was very impressed with the thoughtful design that went into this machine. The tanks are easy to remove, easy to clean and refill, easy to replace on the machine. Of course your are going to get some drips on the floor, you're toting around water tanks (referring to some negative reviews). We happen to have a utility room sink that is large and helps with this process. You will need a filter for a sink drain or use the toilet to empty the dirty tank. The amount of dirt and fuzzy stuff this machine picks up is amazing. The whole cleaning/suction path of the machine can be removed to rinse/clean including the suction "Dual V" part. There are minimal small valves that can leak. I researched two machines before I bought this: the Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer and the Bissell products. I do not like the Bissell design with the collapsible bladder inside the clean water tank. Other have tried this (iRobot) for a cleaner and the bladder does not last. Also looks harder to clean. We have the Bissell Spot Bot for pets and the Hoover FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40160PC. We like both but the Bissell machine started leaking right away from the rubber valves at the bottom of the tanks right away. We have learned to live with this. This Bissell design has 2 separate tanks that are also easy to remove/clean. We also have the Hoover Hard floor cleaner and it uses a similar 2 tanks system and my wife and I love it. No issues with cleaning or maintenance. I am glad I bought this over the Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer as the path is wider=less clean time. All the machines this size and type are going to be heavy (referring to negative reviews). The Power scrub deluxe is lighter, but I (husband) will probably be the one to use this more. I was thinking of the rental machines for carpet cleaning with only the hose to maneuver and clean as you go, as I was using this Hoover. On those machines the motor/tank are all in the unit separate so handling only the hose is easy. What I like about this machine, that those do not have, are the spinning brushes to "scrub" the carpet. It's also more compact and less floor space than the rental machines. Also the tank designs are a plus along with no hose to clean out. I had to look over the Reviewers who posted a "1". Seems the vast majority were from 3-4 years back. Cleaning tips/address some negative reviews: I rinsed out the dirty tanks after every clean tank/area I did. Lot's of dirt and fuzzy stuff that needs to be rinsed out of the dirty tank each time. After 3 areas I removed the brushes to clean. The cleaning is a little tricky as there was fuzzy stuff around the inside of the plastic housing for the brushes. As I rinsed some of this balled up and made it hard to turn the brushes. Some negative reviews said they had been through multiple brushes after breakage. I can see that if this area is not cleaned, it will bind and the brushes will eventually stop>something has to give. I was able to rinse the fuzz balls out and /or pull out with my fingers, but a set of forceps or something else small to reach in and grab might be needed. I tried to open the housing but was not successful. I imagine the green plastic drive shaft is made to give to protect the motor/inner gears. The Dual V housing is removable to clean also. Again some fuzzy stuff gets straddled across the inside reinforcement areas that takes a little patience to clean out. This was not cleaned until the end and before outing away. Beware of fuzzies laying across openings/gaskets as you are removing and replacing tanks. I did have some drainage after parking the machine for tanks rinse/refills, but I use the machine to suction the floor and picked the water right up. One time after being on the carpet during tank refills it did leave some dirty drainage. This came right up when I cranked up the machine again. This is fluid/residue from the suction path and the area just cleaned. Given the long path of the Dual V and the vertical nature of this path, I can see where it came from. Perhaps while the machine is still running you could lift the front a little and suck more air to prevent this. But it came right up again so... Per the instructions I emptied the tanks and let them dry before storage so I have not had a leaking problem. Great Machine. It's a rainy wet day today so I cleaned carpets instead of working in the yard. It is big and slightly heavy, but this allows more cleaning in a shorter period of time. It moves back and forth on the carpet easily. Like other, Hoover has placed the carry handle low so it is easier to lift/tote. We also have a 2 story house. I can't help but wonder when people complain in reviews about this type of machine being too big or heavy, if they are the same people who drive around an extra 5 minutes looking for a closer parking space at the gym so they do not have to walk so far. If you want the convenience of a carpet/rug cleaner that you can crank up whenever you want, and not have to schedule/have strangers in to clean your carpets, this is a great machine. Update 3 March 2015. Just used this on a wool "zebra" rug. Please see photo. I was worried this machine would have trouble with this rug as there are high spots and low spots. I tried to show this in the photo. These high and low spots are substantial for a cleaner like this. This rug is in the den/TV room where we hang out and the dogs chew their bones on this rug. Again the amount of dirt this thing extracts is amazing. I would show you but that would be, well, airing your dirty rugs in public. This machine had no trouble with the hi and low points on this 12X9 rug. Cleaned very well. Again, at the end, clean the brush housing well and remove the fuzz balls.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This machine outcleaned my Bissell steamer.
8/19/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was shocked at the amount of dirt my new Hoover got out of the carpet, especially since my Bissell had been recently used last week, before it quit working after only one year. This machine cleans great, and extracts the water as it advertises, however, the cleaning solution dispenser quit working after only one use, and a lot of water leaks all over the machine and gets on the floor. I had to put the caddy and attachments in the closet since they became a hindrance to getting the machine around tight areas, and now I am having to mix the cleaning solution directly into the water tank since the troubleshooting instructions seemed to be a hassle. It shouldnt have clogged up after only one use! I am a little dissapointed in the functionality of the soap dispenser and how water leaks all over, but the cleaning power and the extraction works very well. My Bissell never cleaned well or extracted half of the water my new Hoover does, so I will keep the machine anyway.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good machine for the price
11/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am a mother of three boys, a dog and cat. We have close to white carpeting in the house. Our kids had a big party and the carpeting was really bad! I did my own spot cleaning with all sorts of concoctions from the internet. I wish I never did because I have bleach spots now. I purchased this machine two weeks ago. I know it would not create a miracle but I am very happy with it. I needed to do two cleanings and spot cleaning in between and then a rinse. The carpet looks really good. I know there is nothing I can do about the discoloring. I dont care about bells and whistles but being able to switch from wash to rinse or just suction is great! I have not noticed any leaking either. Over time I can see the carpet will get cleaner. Very easy to use. Would definitely recommend, great price too. I used the hoover detergent, no smell, works great. Resolve spot cleaner. For really bad spot's there is spray foam that you just blot and then vacuum when dry, they work good too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I am at odds..
9/24/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this carpet washer and was very happy with it for a while. It cleans great, easy to operate, and cleaning capabilities are pretty good for such a price....B-U-T!... and that's a big one! Unless one thinks that buying $160 carpet washer every 2 years is a good investment, I would think twice before bying it. It started to fall apart after couple washes. All the small plastic parts (handles, buttons, attachments, etc.# started to crack--extremely poor craftsmenship! First, both handles broke of the buckets #and they have double use: moving and locking). Then, the spraying button on the furniture attchement broke after 3rd wash. Then, the bottom snap that holds bottom backet broke. All these happened after just 7 washes and 3 upholstery cleaning. Unfortunately, I had used it rarely and this washer has 1 year warranty; boy, am I glad I bought additional warranty. But what am I suppose to do after that? Mind that my $50 spot cleaner that I used and abused has lasted me 3 years and still perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (170)No (51)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642873, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-