Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1394 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1394 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1394 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
784
4 stars
316
3 stars
63
2 stars
57
1 stars
174
1-20 of 1277 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1277 total reviews
1-20 of 1277 reviews
Know your machine.
2/13/2017

Customer review by BobbyR

4.0 stars 2/13/2017 by BobbyR
by BobbyR

3 families use my machine, and it has served us well for over 5 years. To keep it working well, you have to know your machine. 1. Hot tap water is good, but water heated on the stove will overheat the little valve in the bottom of the clean water tank. This is an easy fix but it's 10 bucks. 2. I have a Golden Retriever and she sheds long blond hair 2x a year. Always vacuum very thoroughly before using the Hoover, and clean the hair out of the brushes every time you empty the tank. 3. Pay attention while you are using the machine. Look for powerful suction across the top of the dirty water tank. Make sure you have rotation of the brushes. Know what your machine sounds like and investigate any unusual noise. Make sure the brushes stop when the handle is locked upward. 4. I have repaired my machine several times when parts just wore out. I had to replace the motor, and also the turbine that spins the brushes. Parts are available online and are not expensive. Almost any repair can be done with nothing but a Phillips screwdriver. 5. Once a year, I take the cover off and give it a good cleaning. There's going to be dirt and hair that need to be cleaned out. My second motor and turbine have lasted 2x as long as the originals, I think because I put a little WD-40 on the bearings. I open up the turbine and add a little white lithium grease to the gears. Inspect the first plastic gear that is driven by the steel worm gear to make sure it is not showing any wear. I also like to spray some Elmer's Slide-All (teflon) on the impeller and the inside of the housing. This reduces friction and adds to the life of the turbine. I love my Hoover. So does my daughter and my son. We all know that if you take good care of your Hoover, it will clean your carpets.

BobbyR
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of Money. Terrible Design.
3/12/2016

Customer review by Dan S

1.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Dan S
by Dan S

I have two dogs and two children, so having a good carpet cleaner is essential. My friend has a Hoover Carpet Cleaner we would borrow from time to time when needed. When we finally saved up enough money to buy our own, this is the one we choose. Boy was that a mistake. The design of this cleaner does not have the homeowner in mind. The design looks cool, but it is not practical. The water and cleaning solution tank lock in the middle of the cleaner. The problem with that is sometimes it does not lock down properly. You have to maneuver the tank around but by that time water and cleaning solution has spilt on your floor. The dirty tank locks on the bottom, so well in fact that sometimes is does not unlatch. I have only used this a few times, but each and every time my wife or I have gotten the dirty water on us. This was a complete waste of our hard earned dollars. Like I stated earlier, my friend has a Hoover and it works great, but it is a different model. Stay clear of this particular model.

Comment from Karissa - 3/17/2016

Hi Dan S! Both tanks on your Max Extract® Dual V® WidePath® Carpet Washer should be easy to operate. We want to help. When attaching the clean water tank please ensure the bottom of the tank is pushed in first, then pivot the top forward and push up on the handle to lock in place. As for the dirty water tank, the two latches at the bottom will hold the tank into place. To remove open one latch at a time, then lift the dirty water tank out to empty. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We're here for you!

Dan S
Warren, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this machine
2/1/2017

Customer review by KKgirl

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by KKgirl
by KKgirl

I've had this for several years. Loved it when I first used it and have continued to love it. Used it today to clean my mother-in-law's carpet and we were both excited about the results. I am sure it gets that deep down dirt because the reservoir water was almost black and the carpet definitely looked clean.

KKgirl
Lane County Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad to start off with but now falling apart
6/28/2014

Customer review by Dictation

2.0 stars 6/28/2014 by Dictation
by Dictation

We loved this machine for the first year. I got used every week and was a solid investment. We clean all the parts regularly to remove dog hair and keep the machine looking and smelling fresh and new. But over the part few months parts have started to fall off - one day we notice the machine was leaking clean water. We took the tank off and the water then gushed out all of the floor. It seems the little value that holds it in on the bottom now sticks open as soon as you put the tank in place - meaning it's open if you don't then use all the water. We now how to physically put this valve 'out' before we fill the tank and then make sure its empty before we finish cleaning.  More recently a spring popped off - from where we don't know. We've also had two seals go as well. Has I written this review after just 3 months I would have given the cleaner 5 stars. I fear that my wife and I will soon grow tired of this filling up routine and will consign the cleaner to the dumpster. :-(

Comment from Giselle - 6/30/2014

Hi Dictation, we want you to continue loving your Hoover just like you did for the first year if not more! We sent you an email just now. We want to make this right.

Dictation
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
leaky and difficult to maintain
1/20/2017

Customer review by Honey is dissapointed

2.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Honey is dissapointed
by Honey is dissapointed

Leaks every time I replace the water/shampoo tank and difficult to remove parts to remove rug fibers from cover hood. It does extract and dry quickly.

Comment from Karissa - 1/24/2017

Hi there! Your Max Extract Dual V should not leak when the clean water tank is placed onto the unit. Please remove the tank from the machine to ensure the tank itself is not leaking. If the tank only leaks when it's on the unit, it may need to be serviced. This model carries a one year warranty from the purchase date on the receipt that covers against manufacturing defects. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Honey is dissapointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spinscrub stopped working
9/14/2016

Customer review by SmOoThWoOdY

2.0 stars 9/14/2016 by SmOoThWoOdY
by SmOoThWoOdY

Wife loved it while it worked. Spinscrub stopped working after 7 or 8 uses, I noticed that the brushes weren't spinning the 8th time my wife used. It's not the brush head assembly, it's the round thing with a square hole, that the brush assembly connects to that isn't spinning. Its inside the 12 amp motor assembly. The water/solution tank looked like shattered glass and was leaking very bad, I called customer service and they were great. They sent a new water/solution tank free of charge. These carpet cleaners should last quite a few years, since they only get used 2 or 3 times a year. But I do give Hoover customer service two thumbs-up, very helpful people. By the way my carpet cleaner is the model with 5 spinning brushes, I didn't know the exact model number because they put the sticker on the bottom and the carpet rubbed off every thing. The sticker is now only a silver square with not 1 letter or number.

Comment from Kenya - 9/19/2016

Hi SmOoThWoOdY! We appreciate your honest review. Sometimes, if the SpinScrub brushes are unable to spin freely due to hair and other debris, this can place strain on the turbine causing it to break. Your Max Extract Dual V should stand the test of time. We will pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

SmOoThWoOdY
Alliance, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
3/3/2012

Customer review by Busy! busy! New Mom

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Busy! busy! New Mom
by Busy! busy! New Mom

I agree with some of the above reviews. In the fact that people usually only write reviews when they have something negative to say I looked at a bunch of different sites before I bought this machine and over-all it got two thumbs up. I will say the machine is a bit on the heavy side but that's a really small price to pay for what you get out of this machine. I have a bi-level home which means I'm constantly cleaning steps that are very high traffic areas. In my home I have 3 dogs, an indoor/outdoor cat, a 6 month old daughter, my husband, and myself. Since my husband and I work full-time, we only have time for the daily essentials. Which, more often then not,leaves out shampooing the carpets. This machine drys the carpets super fast so we can get on with our day. There IS a 1 year manufacturers warranty on the machine too so don't be convinced by others that there's not. Overall I give this machine an excellent review and I imagine cleaning my home without it!

Busy! busy! New Mom
Union City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine, but a total loss after about a dozen uses
1/6/2017

Customer review by mpincvil

2.0 stars 1/6/2017 by mpincvil
by mpincvil

Five months after the warranty expired, the machine can't be used because the water tank is shot, leaking all over the floor faster than I can mop it up. I loved the machine when it worked, but no machine of any kind should fail after what amounts to 20-30 hours of service.

Comment from Kenya - 1/9/2017

Hi mpincvil! The clean water tank on your Dual V should be holding up better than that. We want to help. To prevent leaking, we recommend using only the Hoover carpet cleaning solution designed for this unit and also emptying the tanks after each use. The great news is that the tank is replaceable. Replacements are available here: http://bit.ly/1VEr8E6. The tank will not come with the handle so be sure to keep the one from your old tank. Hope this helps!

mpincvil
Collinsville, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just bought not used
1/7/2017

Customer review by Honesty

1.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Honesty
by Honesty

I am afraid to use this machine. The upper tank I am reading about falls off. I have not used mine yet to see if it leaks too... getting sad as my last cleaner, different brand, was good last for 5 years multiple use. Thinking about returning

Comment from Kenya - 1/9/2017

Hi Honesty! We understand your apprehension. As long as the tank is seated properly and the handle locks into the body, the tank shouldn't fall off. To prevent any type of leaking, be sure to empty the tanks after each use and use only the Hoover carpet cleaning solution in the tank. We hope this helps!

Honesty
Would recommend to a friend? No
ONE AWESOME MACHINE!
11/5/2011

Customer review by Ihavescarycarpets!

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by Ihavescarycarpets!
by Ihavescarycarpets!

I've had this cleaner for a couple of years now and it works pretty much like it did the day I bought it. I have 6 cats, a pony-size dog, a construction worker husband and 2 teenagers. I used to only buy Bissel but after my 3rd one blew up, a week after the warranty was out, I switched to Hoover and I'm sure glad I did! It scrubs the carpet REALLY clean and sucks it almost dry! Mine has removed pet stains, axle grease, chocolate milk, spaghetti sauce, jello, mud and clay. I use the upholstery tool and clean my sofa, recliner, even the seats and carpet in my car (even though you really shouldn't use it outdoors). I do take good care of it; rinse it out well when I'm done, clean the brushes out, etc. If I'd have known what a great machine this was, I'd have bought the one that includes the hard floor tool; but, I will just order it from Hoover. Then I can use it in the rest of my house. So, what are you waitin' for??? The holidays are coming...go buy one!

Ihavescarycarpets!
Greensburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a waste of money!
12/3/2014

Customer review by M0mmyof2

1.0 stars 12/3/2014 by M0mmyof2
by M0mmyof2

We purchased this unit to replace an old Hoover I had inherited (which I loved) and I have never been so disappointed in something in my life!  I second the comment from the lady who stated that you cannot carry the clean or empty water container with fluid in it or it will leak from the bottom.  Also, there was a hairline crack in the plastic water tub when we unpacked it an as soon as I turned it on and tried to use it, water started to spew from the sides of the unit. I super-glued it waited for it to dry and when I tried to use it yesterday water was coming out STILL and now the handle that I was trying to clean my stairs from is now leaking everywhere,  I agree with NANA and would like to quote her by saying that "this is a very poorly built machine. I cannot believe the numerous bad reviews this machine has gotten, yet IT IS STILL on the market! SHAME ON YOU HOOVER!"  What a waste of my $200 dollars.  I sure wish I had my old Hoover back!

Comment from John - 12/4/2014

Hi MOmmyof2, We are sorry to hear your carpet washer was damaged when you received it. That is not the quality we pride ourselves in and we want to make this right. We are sending you an email now to get some more information. Thanks!

M0mmyof2
Salt Lake City, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed!!!
5/12/2013

Customer review by Kimmye

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Kimmye
by Kimmye

I had one of the older models for 9 years, it was the best machine!!! No complaints. After 9 years I had cracked tanks, etc... instead of replacing parts I decided to upgrade. Bought this machine and when putting together the onboard tool attachment the plug broke! Had to return to store and re-order. Had second machine now for almost 5 months and I am so disappointed! I have only used it three times. It leaks everywhere! The dirty water tank latches have both broke!!! Within a couple days of each other!!! The machine cleans very well, but I am so disappointed and frustrated with the cheap quality of the parts, especially when paying that amount of money!!! I expected it to perform as well as my first one!!! I can't return it to the store because I am over my 90 day period. I have a friend that has a Bissell that I have borrowed and I prefer the Hoover tank set up over the Bissell. With the performance of my first one, I stuck with them expecting the same performance and quality. I am so disappointed that Hoover let me down!!!

Comment from Ian - 5/14/2013

Hi Kimmye, you're right, this is not acceptable. We're reaching out to you via e-mail so that we can help make this right. Thanks so much.

Kimmye
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Durability? What durability?
11/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this online on November 12, 2012. First model arrived DOA - I had suction but the spin brushes would not spin. The online retailer sent me a replacement on November 19, 2012. Since then, I have used this machine approximately 4 times to clean the carpet in my apartment. Until it stopped working, I would say that it did an admirable job of cleaning the carpet. Not fantastic or mind blowing, but sufficient for my needs. Of course, before using it I would vacuum thoroughly to remove pet hair and whatnot from the carpet. Today, just as I was finishing the main living area the brushes stopped spinning and I smelled the distinct odor of a motor burning out. I do not know what happened or why. I do know that I cleaned the machine before and after each use and made sure to clean all of the filters. On top of thoroughly vacuuming before each use, I can only blame Hoover for selling an inferior product. The machine still has suction, but it's useless without having the motor spin the brushes. Ugh. I expected better from Hoover.

An anonymous customer
Pleasant Hill, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Machine I've purchased EVER!!!
4/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

With the economy struggling, everyone should be checking reviews before purchases. Manufactures need to appreciate and back our purchases. THIS PRODUCT SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN A YEAR!!! I use a Hoover ProHeat (older model) at our family's small business. I recently replaced a similar model with this model at home. It is border on warranty, meaning purchased about a year ago - haven't found receipt yet to see if I'm on the 11 month or 12+month usage. The motor is failing. I use the older one more often at work!!! It is about 2.3-3 yrs. old. Hoover has shutdown the service center in our area (been going there for at least 10 years). Now they want me to travel to the other side of town. The cheap handle notches broke within the first week, but was replaced and worked well - until recently. I am completely disappointed in my options right now. Actually leaning towards exposing my hardwood floors! I do have a hard floor machine that has been a blessing! I've had 15+ years happy with Hoover - until this model. DO NOT BUY THIS ONE!!!!!!

An anonymous customer
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking after 3 uses?@
11/29/2016

Customer review by jmkyseth76

1.0 stars 11/29/2016 by jmkyseth76
by jmkyseth76

I bought this cleaner after our last Hoover started smoking. After only 3 uses it has started leaking from the clean water tank. I've cleaned the gaskets/seals on the tank and ensured there is no residue from the cleaning solution. I've re-seated the tank many times but I always get the same leaky result. Please help me resolve this.

Comment from Karissa - 12/5/2016

Hi jmkyseth76! The clean water tank from your Max Extract Dual V shouldn’t leak. We want to help. Please ensure only Hoover cleaning solution is being used in the tank as other household cleaners or brands can cause damage to the tank and unit. If you hold the tank over the sink and notice it leaks this way, you may need a new tank found here: http://bit.ly/1VEr8E6. If the tank is only leaking when it’s placed onto the unit, this may be something one of our service technicians would need to take a look at. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

jmkyseth76
Bonaire, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty good
11/24/2016

Customer review by Doggiemom5

4.0 stars 11/24/2016 by Doggiemom5
by Doggiemom5

I bought this because I have two dogs who have a tendency to have "accidents" . Used it first time today. 2 things - it did not get the very fresh feces accident out of the carpet. I will try again later. And if you made the clean tank attach with the same type of little hooks you use on the dirty tank - I think even with the cleaning issue I would give it 5 stars. Clean tank very hard to attach.

Doggiemom5
NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Two units. BOTH spinbrush scrubbers failed.
10/29/2016

Customer review by Meowstic

1.0 stars 10/29/2016 by Meowstic
by Meowstic

We bought two units, one back around 2011, and another in 2013. Both suffered the exact same catastrophic failures. After a couple of uses, the Spinbrush stops working. Our second unit's Spinbrush gave out after the second use. The solution/water tank leaks pretty badly, so we have to keep cleaning up after it. So all this unit does is get our carpets wet. So it's just a wet vac now. Why is the Spinbrush so prone to failure? I still don't understand why we had to waste our money to buy a new one for it to go the same way.

Comment from Karissa - 11/4/2016

Hi Meowstic! Your Max Extract Dual V should hold up better than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Comment from Karissa - 11/4/2016

Hi Meowstic! Your Max Extract Dual V should hold up better than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Meowstic
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
My 2nd By Choice!!
11/12/2016

Customer review by JimmyCO

5.0 stars 11/12/2016 by JimmyCO
by JimmyCO

My current machine is a few years old, and is second to the previous one I had for several years prior. I once nearly accosted a couple in line at the store telling them how much they were going to love the machine they were buying. A very reliable machine!

JimmyCO
Aurora, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best one I have owned, except..
10/14/2016

Customer review by cleanfreakmommy

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by cleanfreakmommy
by cleanfreakmommy

Bes carpet cleaner I have owned and the rotating brushes make my burber carpet feel soft. Only problem I have had is in the middle of cleaninf my carpets, i noticed that the spinner brushes just stopped. so I Unplugged the cleaner and thinking something was stuck, i pulled the brushes out *awesome btw to be able to keep them clean*, nothing was in there stopping the brushes, but i looked again and the little plastic piece that makes them spin was broken. still waiting for a response on a replacement part. But, i went ahead and finished the room I was in and it still cleaned just as good.

cleanfreakmommy
MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fragile but does well.
9/14/2013

Customer review by BrandonS

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by BrandonS
by BrandonS

I've had this model for a few years and I have had constant battles with keeping it running. The engine blew out after I rolled from carpet to bare-floor on accident. Luckily it was still under warranty. The clamp that holds the top body to the floor chassis snapped, the bucket latch broke, the clean water reservoir has always leaked but now has a crack, and the attachment hose sprays water everywhere but where you need it. And I need to clean it out regularly or the brush snaps due to build up. All that said, I still love the job it does and how versatile it is. I even used it to clean out my hot-tub! It is obvious by how much it costs that it was built cheaply, but the most expensive part that I've had to replace is the main floor brush at $25. Great steam cleaner for lower budget homes! If you take EXTRA care, treat it like a baby, I am sure you could avoid the side effects of its cheap construction.

BrandonS
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 1277 total reviews
1-20 of 1277 reviews