Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1406 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1406 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1406 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
788
4 stars
319
3 stars
63
2 stars
61
1 stars
175
1-20 of 1289 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1289 total reviews
1-20 of 1289 reviews
Amazing results
10/18/2014

Customer review by Pompom23

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by Pompom23
by Pompom23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I originally purchased this steam cleaner because of my child and pets and wanted to know my carpets were clean! But we had a hair dye bottle explode and land on the carpet and this steam cleaner worked wonders !! So thankful I purchased it!!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pompom23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VERY POOR quality of manufacture
11/1/2016

Customer review by Pintafun

1.0 stars 11/1/2016 by Pintafun
by Pintafun

This washing carpets cleaned very well, but OMG! is very bad quality, plastic is made with low very low quality, noticing this when you open the box, I decided to give it a try, but two months after parts of it began to break, I could not use the guarantee. Horrible experience. You do not spend your money on it, look for a better quality of manufacture. Attached photos.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/9/2016

Hi Pintafun! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. For further assistance in this matter feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 between 8am-6pm M-F. We look forward to hearing from you! - Michael, Hoover Customer Care

Pintafun
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
7/26/2014

Customer review by Oregonmomma89

4.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Oregonmomma89
by Oregonmomma89
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A few lil minor things. Leaks a lil ONLY when you put in new clean water tank but nothing major just a few drops. Second the water tank could be bigger but for the size of the cleaner it works out. (Easy tank removal anyways) plus I like how it comes with the lil bottle of cleaner solution. Works perfectly, cleaned my carpets and removed all the stains. Now my carpets have a fighting chance with all the lil kids.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oregonmomma89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do the job pretty nice and easy
7/28/2016

Customer review by Aga383

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by Aga383
by Aga383

After renting an apartment for 3 years and having the office doing multiple carpet wash for free I never got satisfied with the carpet. I decided to buy this machine. I can't explain how satisfied I am to have purchased it. My carpet is clean, soft and smell so fresh. Just the first use and it looks like new. I strongly recommend it! It's so easy and friendly to use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aga383
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am at odds..
9/24/2013

Customer review by TheCreativeHomeOfMine

1.0 stars 9/24/2013 by TheCreativeHomeOfMine
by TheCreativeHomeOfMine

I bought this carpet washer and was very happy with it for a while. It cleans great, easy to operate, and cleaning capabilities are pretty good for such a price....B-U-T!... and that's a big one! Unless one thinks that buying $160 carpet washer every 2 years is a good investment, I would think twice before bying it. It started to fall apart after couple washes. All the small plastic parts (handles, buttons, attachments, etc.# started to crack--extremely poor craftsmenship! First, both handles broke of the buckets #and they have double use: moving and locking). Then, the spraying button on the furniture attchement broke after 3rd wash. Then, the bottom snap that holds bottom backet broke. All these happened after just 7 washes and 3 upholstery cleaning. Unfortunately, I had used it rarely and this washer has 1 year warranty; boy, am I glad I bought additional warranty. But what am I suppose to do after that? Mind that my $50 spot cleaner that I used and abused has lasted me 3 years and still perfect.

Was this review helpful? (164) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheCreativeHomeOfMine
Seattle, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Machine
11/21/2013

Customer review by Justmeb2

4.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Justmeb2
by Justmeb2

After reading at least 100 reviews good and bad, I decided to purchase this cleaner. Ordered on a Monday nite and received it that Thursday, almost a week before I was told I would get it. (nice) Waited a week and just two days ago I took it out of the box and did a sample cleaning. I have 5 rooms of beige carpet and at least 4 had ground in dirt. Doing a project in the attic and they had to bring all material thought the house, I had black spots that could be seen even in the dark. Use the cleaner and after a good wash and rinse my carpet is beige again. The machine was easy to put together and use, Love the big tanks for clean and dirty water. The tank for the cleaner leaks a little but not a lot to be a problem. Some reviews stated the machine broke after so many uses. I hope that not the case here. I plan on cleaning my carpet every two months. Will come back after second use and post again. But for now! this is one great machine.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justmeb2
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Don't be fooled by the name brand
11/25/2013

Customer review by MommyRN8123

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by MommyRN8123
by MommyRN8123

At first, I was in love with this product and it worked great. The longer I used it, the worse my experience became. I am currently on my second carpet cleaner and both cleaners have had the same, identical issues. The soap dispenser just decides to dispense soap into the clean water and it leaks right onto the floor. So, when spending $20 per bottle for the hoover detergent and having it go all over the floor, it gets old really fast. I have read the product manual from front to back several times thinking I missed something, or I was doing something wrong and have yet to find anything leading me to believe so. Even the troubleshooting in the manual does not mention anything if the soap dispenser is leaking. I bought the extended warranty on this product and I am glad that I did, but I have yet to own one for a full 90 days without a problem. I am looking to take my replacement back to my local store and invest my money elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (40) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyRN8123
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Awesome Carpet Cleaner
7/1/2014

Customer review by goddesslinky

4.0 stars 7/1/2014 by goddesslinky
by goddesslinky

This machine is a gem! I had an older Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted more than 12 years. When it finally gave out, I replaced it with this one...granted I read a lot of reviews..and yes, the parts are a bit flimsy...you have to be careful that you don't drag it around and pull it in ways that you aren't supposed to, but as long as you take care of it, and use common sense, it should last you just fine. Did an EXCELLENT job of cleaning the carpets. So much so that it far exceeded my expectations. This is a great machine, and well worth the price, as long as you take care of it. It is not like the TV commercials...it will not magically leave your carpets like new on the first sweep...but if you put a little bit of elbow grease into it, this will do an excellent job for you. Am even going to purchase a 2nd one for my house, as the first one stays at my moms house, as I am the one that has to keep her house upkept and clean.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goddesslinky
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
10/13/2013

Customer review by ARLT

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by ARLT
by ARLT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to put together out of the box. I was very impressed with the drying time. I got off work at 5, home by 5:30 and had this thing together by 6:30. I cleaned some areas in my living room where my toddler had spilled previously in the week and it cleaned it up no problem. By 8:30 the carpet was dry. I used my sisters carpet cleaner previously and it did not have a separate tank for dirty water and clean water. I was constantly running back and forth to the sink and I could never get the inside of the bag clean. With the Hoover Max Extract Dual V you get two separate tanks for dirty water and clean water so it makes it much easier to get the tiny dirt particles out of the dirty water tank. The only thing that keeps me from rating it 5 stars is the accessory attachment. It doesn't stay in the back well and there's an interference with power cord.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARLT
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Concept, Cheap Plastics, Hoover Come on now!
12/29/2013

Customer review by nate75

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by nate75
by nate75
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Very Disappointed in Hoover! I had previously owned a Hoover steam vac for 12 years and it lasted that long with only having to replace the hose. I could tell the motor was giving out so I decided to buy the Max Extract Dual-V, model# F7412900 for $159. Out of the Box I could see it had a hairline crack in the upper water tank and also a large multi-crack in the lower suction channel. It could have been from either the shipping or manufacture but decided to give it a go to see if everything would work anyways. The performance of the carpet cleaning was excellent and it was taking LOADS of dirt out of the carpet but I kept seeing puddles of water under the unit after I was done cleaning. After inspecting the lower tank to see why there was water leaking I saw the rubber seal was split and allowing water and hair to escape. Once I found the third major problem decided to return to Walmart for a no-hassle refund. I thought maybe I would try the previous Dual-V model #F7411900 for $139 and out of the box checked for any cracks and found one of the retainer brackets for the lower tank was cracked and wouldn't hold the tank down properly to ensure an air tight seat over the suction part, which is a major factor in proper function. Instead of wasting my time taking it back to store I decided to glue the retainer piece and install it back in place. I also notice this unit had a broken gasket in which I just put some rubber glue in the gap and let it dry. The third negative part is when I tried the first time it wasn't putting out hardly any water and I had to seat the upper tank just right in order for it to initiate the water check valve. After that it did an excellent job at cleaning the carpets. If not for my ability to fix thing I would definitely not recommend for anyone to purchase this product and if you do make sure and purchase the 2 year no hassle warranty! Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (218) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nate75
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Out Cleaned My Bissell...Love it!
4/9/2014

Customer review by CoconutsMom86

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by CoconutsMom86
by CoconutsMom86

I just got this carpet washer in today and started using it immediately, my Bissell died about 3 weeks ago and that was the last time I had cleaned my carpet but our dogs went to work. The Hoover is not the easiest machine in the World to figure out if your used to using a Bissell but if you take your time you will get it. My ONLY complaint is the leaking, it leaks more then my Bissell but it also is not a $900-$1,000 machine...I have some pictures posted to show before and after. I would recommend this carpet washer to anyone with little ones, pets or really any kind of stains. I know we are hooked. Thanks Hoover

Was this review helpful? (190) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoconutsMom86
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Having a hard time finding something wrong
2/15/2014

Customer review by tpycnu

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by tpycnu
by tpycnu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a long time user of a Hoover rug cleaner. The first served me very well. It traveled to many places (including kids' dorm rooms) and lasted a very long time - probably longer than 15 years. The down side of it - heavy and awkward to carry, its parts were very difficult to clean and, in its last years, it would sporadically loose suction (stopping and removing and reattaching the dirty container would remedy that - at least for a while). I finally gave up on it two weeks ago when the brushes no longer rotated. The Hoover Max Extract Dual V Widepath Carpet Washer as a stand alone gets high marks from me. Relative to its predecessor, it gets extremely high marks because it is, in my opinion, a much improved version of what I once had and liked a lot. First of all it is a bit lighter. Hoover made a truly brilliant move by providing a single hand grasp position on the appliance which enables you to carry it easily with one hand. Missing on my old model, the only way to carry it, that I could manage, with one hand was to grab the handle and carry it on my back. It was too awkward (it hung crooked) and too heavy, to simply pick it up by the handle. The hand grasp on the new model is so positioned that when you use it, the machine hangs straight down. Secondly, the new model versus its predecessor is extremely easy to clean - all parts providing ample openings to get the carpet detritus out. In the dirty tank you can even remove the inside partitioning (again brilliant of Hoover) to completely clean that tank. I have a chocolate lab, and use to have two. It would take me as long, if not longer, to clean the old machine after using it than to use it - NO exaggeration. And if you think, then don't completely clean it out! You have to for if you leave the dog hairs in, they become a dry blockage nearly impossible to remove. As for the new machine's cleaning power - I was very impressed. I'll just post some pictures. I took these to send to my daughters as I knew that they would appreciate what the new machine could do after the many, many years we used and appreciated the old one. The first photo shows the rug after just being cleaned, except for the top left corner to show the difference. The second photo shows it the next day, completely cleaned and dry. Vibrant! I'm simply in love and one of my daughters has already borrowed it.

Was this review helpful? (217) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tpycnu
Portsmouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can be deceiving
7/13/2011

Customer review by afuerst

2.0 stars 7/13/2011 by afuerst
by afuerst

I bought this about 6 months ago to replace a hoover my inlaws gave me that was just too old and finally gave out. I was extremely impressed at first. After a few uses (not long w/4 dogs and 2 kids plus a husband that works outdoors) I noticed dripping from the back. The seals for the fresh water tank was leaking. Hubby took care of it so we thought but before long it did it again and nothing would fix it. Today I was using it and noticed the brushes weren't spinning. The little plastic pieces in the bottom broke that spins the brushes. The leaking got worse and I found myself having to go over the carpet again where i started and stopped to get excess water. Now I have to spend more money on another machine. I was very disappointed especially when it replaced a model at least 10 years old that worked great in 2 houses w/a lot of animals and kids.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afuerst
holland twp, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great cleaner before and after pictures!!
4/27/2013

Customer review by Starr25

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Starr25
by Starr25
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything works amazing except the attachment hose. It was lack luster but the rest was amazing I got out ground in dirt and old stains from Months ago. The stains were caused by spilled soda food hot sauce you name it. It all came up. I attempted to use the attachment hose it worked well but not as well as the main cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (201) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starr25
Austin,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very sorry machine
5/2/2011

Customer review by peskyfeller

1.0 stars 5/2/2011 by peskyfeller
by peskyfeller

I have been a big fan of Hoover Steamvac machines based on the F5914-900. The reason I bought this new F7412900 was because the old machine was worn out. I thought the newer model would be better and the store no longer stocks the old model. This new model is nowhere near the quality of the older machine. The tanks are very flimsy and this thing leaks like crazy. The water tank valve on the bottom sticks open when you fill the tank letting water pour out all over the floor. The tank is secured by pulling up on the carrying handle. It doesn't lock well and the tank will fall off the machine. The dirty water tank has a flimsy handle that also is suppose to hold the top on. It is spring loaded but the springs are anchored to brittle plastic. It broke the first time I tried to empty the tank. The hose with the furniture brush leaks badly spraying solution when you don't want it to. In addition they changed from the two rotating brushes used on the 5914 model to a single rotating brush that barely turns. The new machine is pretty but that's about it. It is made of thin brittle plastic. It has a "removable hose caddy". What they don't tell you is the thing has to be removed because it falls off! I returned the machine after one miserable day of trying to use it. If you want a good machine get the model F5914. It is much better.

Was this review helpful? (136) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peskyfeller
Rockingham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Terrible Design
6/22/2015

Customer review by JmomJ

1.0 stars 6/22/2015 by JmomJ
by JmomJ

While at first there were a few features about this machine that I liked- having two separate containers for clean & dirty that were clearly visible, great suction, easily removable brushes- there is one feature that makes it an absolute no. The clean water/solution tank is a completely poor design. To get the clean tank on, you have to absolutely get it positioned correctly, or it will leak a tremendous amount of water, sometimes without your knowledge (unless you know to check for it). Since it sits on a small ledge that also holds water, when you go to remove the clean water tank and tilt back the machine, say to also remove the dirty tank, all of the water that was sitting in that ledge (which is not visible) will run from it (so you have to be ready with a towel or it will add another mess to clean). I've had the water tank pop off the ledge, even if I had it sitting correctly initially, and spill water everywhere down the back. At first I thought it was just a lemon unit, and we had it replaced with a new unit from Hoover since it was still under the product warranty. However, the replacement unit does the exact same thing. This product makes me absolutely wary about buying any other Hoover products.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JmomJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hoover SteamVac Dual V Wide Path F7412900
1/30/2011

Customer review by kidsrmonekys

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by kidsrmonekys
by kidsrmonekys

This was a good cleaner except that when you use the hand brush there is dirty water that comes out of the bottom of the floor brush. I put a piece of cardboard under it. Also, it leaks where you wind the cord up at the bottom. It did dry the carpets very fast. I just am upset because it leaks when you tilt handle back when shampooing carpets.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kidsrmonekys
Grand Island, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Product
10/4/2010

Customer review by GeoPeachy

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by GeoPeachy
by GeoPeachy

I had a Bissell Shampooer for 4 years and it worked okay but kept having a part on the motor go out. After three times I decided to get the Hoover. So far, I love it and hope it is as good in the future with no parts to replace for awhile. It cleans very well on old stains and new ones. I would recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? (486) (109)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeoPeachy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
DO NOT BUY THIS!
12/23/2016

Customer review by Sabrina

1.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Sabrina
by Sabrina

I ordered this product a little over a year ago. It worked fine for the first few months, but then all the sudden basically everything started leaking onto the floor. Using the pet tool water leaked through the main machine and any soap I put into the container leaked all out onto the floor immediately. I had only used this thing a few times of the first few months too. I did not use it every day or even every week. This thing is just not built to last for any time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sabrina
Would recommend to a friend? No
DON'T BUY IT!!
8/8/2012

Customer review by jkwf

1.0 stars 8/8/2012 by jkwf
by jkwf

The first one I bought worked great for about a day and then started spewing water from the bottom whenever I used the hand held attachment cleaning device. I couldn't find what exactly was leaking, so I figured it was just the one I had and took it back to the store to trade it in. The new one I got was leaking a little within the first day. I tried it again a few days later and while I using the hand held attachment the trigger for spraying the cleaning fluid would not turn off. So I turned off the steam vac to remove the attachment. In the time it took me to walk to the next room to put the attachment in the sink and come back, half of the cleaning canister had emptied on the floor. I still have no idea why it was leaking. I checked connections multiple times. It is going back to the store today.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkwf
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
1-20 of 1289 total reviews
1-20 of 1289 reviews