Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 340 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

340 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

340 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
239
4 stars
76
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 249 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 249 total reviews
1-20 of 249 reviews
Fantastic
9/18/2010

Customer review by hddvb02

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by hddvb02
by hddvb02

The deep fryer is excellent. It heats quickly & the ready light turns green when the food is finished ... which is very convenient! It's easy to assemble & even easier to clean. The only disappointment that I have is that the basket - 12 cup capacity- is much smaller than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (317) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hddvb02
Van Buren, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Handy
10/29/2010

Customer review by rosFarmer

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by rosFarmer
by rosFarmer

I just love it, it tells you when the oil is hot enough to put your food in. IT has a lid to cover the oil when your not useing it. I just love it.

Was this review helpful? (120) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosFarmer
whitesville ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great deep fryer for a family of four!
10/30/2011

Customer review by Niecee72

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Niecee72
by Niecee72

We purchased this fryer after owning the larger presto deep fryer for two years. This fryer holds as much oil as the Presto fryer, however, this fryer is not as wide, and only contains one basket. As both fryers are great products, this particular fryer is just as practical for a family of four. Not to mention, $20.00 less money. We seem to like this fryer better for it heats the oil quicker, and holds its temperature better once food is added. This fryer is easier to clean, less baskets to deal with and not as bulky as the larger Presto fryer. The basket of this fryer is plenty big enough to handle our needs. We use our fryer at least twice a week on average & Love it! Great product overall!

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niecee72
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
love this deep fryer
11/23/2010

Customer review by cmsheila

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by cmsheila
by cmsheila

this is a wonderful product and you can't beat the price. just wonderful

Was this review helpful? (73) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmsheila
spring lake mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
hamilton beach deep fryer
10/3/2010

Customer review by rcpkling

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by rcpkling
by rcpkling

we have looked for a deep fryer for a long time and saw this one online, It`s perfect for what we need. very very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (73) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcpkling
manheim, pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't work
6/16/2011

Customer review by SBJohnson

1.0 stars 6/16/2011 by SBJohnson
by SBJohnson

I hate to be the only one out of 47 other reviews that has to give this product a bad review, but the facts are the facts. Unlike many other reviews, my unit would not heat up enough to fry as described by other reviewers. When the green light comes on which is to indicate it is ready, the oil is not at all hot. I waited for 15 minutes, and tried to put my fries in. They did appear to start to fry somewhat, but not like you would expect. After 10 minutes of them somewhat sizzling, I removed from the basket, they were a light brown and tough. I tried again to fry okra with the same results. Evidently, I got a dud. Because of all the positive 5 star reviews here, I am going to order another one, and return this one because I really like all the features and the size which is just right for 2 people. I love that it has a lid, and that the container/well is removable and dishwasher safe. Wish me luck on number 2.

Was this review helpful? (63) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SBJohnson
Baton Rouge Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very good design
6/20/2011

Customer review by tonytiger0

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by tonytiger0
by tonytiger0

I particularly love the cover over the cooking oil. It safely allows steam to be released while catching oil droplets and preventing this oil from coating anything nearby. I like the way you can take it apart for cleaning. What needs to be improved are the following. 1. The marking on the knob that you turn to set the temperature needs to be made more visible. It is not easy to see. 2. Also, the timer is an LCD display. That is no problem except that it should be illuminated somehow when the timer is in use.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonytiger0
Port St. Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
just what I was looking for
2/27/2012

Customer review by Nitpicki

4.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Nitpicki
by Nitpicki

I finally got a deep fat fryer that works. It replaces my old baby fryer, which was too small to maintain oil temperature when frozen foods were added. This deep fryer does the job great. It is fast to come to temp. and does a great job. Haven't figured out the timer yet, so have used the oven timer. The maximum oil fill line is hard to see, and I wish there was a more comfortable handle on the lid, but other than that, it is a great product. The handle on the drain basket actually has two levels. When I read complaints that the basket did not completely rise above the oil level when in the drain position, I discovered that instead of putting the handle through the holes in the basket, I placed it below the holes, and the basket rested entirely out of the oil.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nitpicki
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for my needs
1/6/2011

Customer review by GadgetGrammy

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by GadgetGrammy
by GadgetGrammy

It's not often that I deep fry food so I didn't really want to spend a lot of money on one of the fancier fryers. The Hamilton Beach fryer has everything I need. I love the fact that the oil container lifts out and I could put both it and the basket in the dishwasher. That makes for easy cleanup! So far I've only used it once and it was great. It was a good purchase for me. Also loved the free shipping to my home! (received it in about 4 days after placing order)

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetGrammy
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
No Capacity...
8/28/2012

Customer review by Transplantedflatlander

1.0 stars 8/28/2012 by Transplantedflatlander
by Transplantedflatlander

I purchased this fryer as an "upgrade" to my Fry Daddy, to get the much greater capacity advertised and mentioned in reviews. After assembly, I added 3 quarts (12 cups) of oil to bring the level to the MAX mark. With the heating element assembly and basket in the fryer, there was only 1-1/2 inches of oil left in which to fry. This did not appear to be much oil for a DEEP FAT fryer. It turned out that I could only get three (3) battered chicken wings into the fryer at a time, without having the wings "welded" together into one big rectangular clump - which everyone knows is bad, as the outside gets cooked much more than the inside. It also took some effort to keep the wings from getting stuck to the bottom of the basket as they were being put in. I feel that the photo, showing a basket filled to the brim with chicken, is extremely misleading. I can fry more in my little fryer (4 wings) with only 4 cups of oil. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Transplantedflatlander
Oceanside, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
3/13/2011

Customer review by JEKTJK

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by JEKTJK
by JEKTJK

This fryer is a good size for a family of four. It heats up fast and gets hot enough to make things nice and crispy. It's not too large in size. It fits nicely in my cabinet. It's fairly easy to clean. I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JEKTJK
Plainfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
"FOR HOME USE", NOT COMMERCIAL
7/10/2012

Customer review by superdave072

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by superdave072
by superdave072

20 + YRS. OFFSHORE FRY COOKING. PERFORMS AS GOOD ON A RATIO AS A COMMERCIAL FRYER. NOTE COMMERCIAL FRYERS USING AT LEAST 8 GAL. COOKING OIL. THIS UNIT, AS I READ ALL REVIEWS ON SEVERAL SITES WARE SATISFACTORY. ALL IS TRUE. READ INSTRUCTIONS FIRST, TWICE. I, LIKE MOST COMMERCIAL FRYERS KEEP THE TOP OPEN TO LET THE STEAM ESCAPE. WATER WILL KILL YOUR GREASE, BURN IT. YOU CAN USE IT INSIDE. I TRIED. USE OVER THE HOOD VENT, TO LET STEAM ESCAPE. IF NO HOOD VENT, USE THE TOP, WILL WORK WELL, YOU CAN LATER WIPE OUT/ WASH THE CAPTURED MOISTURE.BE SURE TO RUN THE TEMP. UP ABOUT 25 DEG. ABOVE COOKING TEMP., SO WHEN YOU LOAD PRODUCT THE TEMP. WILL LOWER TO ADEQUATE COOKING TEMP. THEN REDUCE TEMP. TO DESIRED DEGREE. SECRET TO THIS UNIT IS THE FAST TEMP. RECOVERY. IT KEEPS THE COOKING TEMP AS THE REQUIRED DEG. DUE TO THE HEAT COILS. BE SURE TO FILTER THE GREASE AGFTER EACH USE. USE A SCREEN, COFFEE FILTER. NOTE: WATCHED MY ELECTR. METER, WAS BETTER THAN AVERG. ON ELECT. CONSUMPTION. YOU CAN USE WITHOUT THE BASKET FOR SMALL ITEMS THAT FLOAT. ALSO USE THE BASKET TO FORCE DOWN TO LOWER THE ITEMS SO EVEN COOKING. A TRICK WE USE OFFSHORE.REMEMBER THE BASKET TAKES AWAY FROM QUANITY COOKING. SO DELETE THE BASKET WHEN YOU CAN. THIS WILL INCREASE YOUR COOKING QUANITY. REMEMBER CLEANING WHILE WARM IS THE BEST. AND "READ THE INSTRUCTUIONS". PLUS REMEMBER THE LESS WATER IN YOUR ITEM. THE BETTER THE FINAL PRODUCT. LASTLY, GIRLS, PUT A DROP OF WHITE FINGER NAIL PLOISH ON THE TEMP CONTROL DOT/ TEMP. BEVEL MARKING. TO HELP SEE TEMP. MARK. LASTLY GOOD FOR ABOUT TWO PEOPLE, MAYBE THREE A COOKING. BEST SMALL FRYER I FOUND. GOOD COOKING, SUPERDAVE

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superdave072
DENHAM SPRINGS,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I like this deep fryer.....but
10/15/2013

Customer review by Tisha07

3.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Tisha07
by Tisha07

I like this deep-fryer, and it have a very nice appearance, but there are several issues I seem to be having with it. I use it often maybe once a week, and usually clean it the second or third week depending on how the grease look in it. It seems like it only last a little over a year because if you wash it too much the words at the top that tell you the degrees will wash off, and also when you pour your food out the handle will come off. The basket is very flimsily, but wasn't like that early on I guess it's just due to wear. They offer a 2yr warranty I would advice getting one because it will cover you. This is the second deep fryer I have bought, so I've been very careful with this one not to wash the top of it too much so the wording don't wash off, but will be going with another next time, I could have used the money I paid for to purchase the two, and bought a really nice one......it's only two of us my hubby & I that's the only reason I went with this one, and I love Hamilton beach products.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tisha07
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fryer
1/31/2011

Customer review by FayeD

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by FayeD
by FayeD

I was quite pleased with this fryer. I have not used a fryer in years, but wanted to use it to cut down on the frying time for a baby shower I was having. My only negative comment is the amount of oil needed. It takes 10-12 cups of oil. Since I have never owned a fryer, this might be normal. Other than that, it fries beautifully and holds a large amount at a time which cut down on my frying time.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FayeD
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
luv it
4/18/2011

Customer review by Eaglessoaring

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Eaglessoaring
by Eaglessoaring

My old more expense deep fryer bite the dust, so this was a replacement. It is big enough for my family. The only thing that I needed to do to the fryer was paint the dial. With out my glasses, black on black had me seeing black. I put a drop of paint on the indent to see where the settings are. I would recommend this to any one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eaglessoaring
Greenback, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So far, so good...
6/13/2012

Customer review by TaylorMade911

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by TaylorMade911
by TaylorMade911

I had a bunch of friends over for the Kentucky Derby and wanted to make a bunch of chicken wings. Unfortunately it was my first time to make wings for more than just my own family and all I had at the time was a fry daddy (and I had to cook 4-5 wings at a time). Needless to say, I didn't get the wings out quick enough. After the party, I immediately started looking for an inexpensive alternative and came across this 12-Cup deep fryer. I was skeptical at first because of the very low price...however, I had to try it. I used it at my last gathering and it exceeded expectations. I was putting the wings out 12-14 at a time (and this time, I got to eat some wings myself instead of watching them get eaten while I cook them...lol). The only reason I gave 4/5 on durability is because I haven't used it enough yet to truly rate that. Every other aspect I was impressed with. It's simple to use, and does the job. Allows different temperature settings for different types of cooking. I truly recommend this product. I bought this product for $35 on rollback, and that's practically a steal at that price!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaylorMade911
Morehead, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good fryer for the money.
2/17/2012

Customer review by BigEric75

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by BigEric75
by BigEric75

We just received this fryer yesterday, but we put it through its paces last night. We have a fairly large family, so there was plenty to fry up in order to feed everyone. We did fish, french fries, and onion rings. First, we filled the unit with canola oil. There are marks on the inner pot which show a minimum and maximum safe oil level. We filled it to the max mark. The unit has a variable temperature setting that goes up to 375. We set it at 350. When its up to temperature, the green light comes on. I immersed the fries first. I held the top cover over the basket to keep grease from splattering up on me. After the initial "flare up" from the food hitting the hot oil, it settled down and went to the task of frying our food. It fries very quickly. We did not use the little digital timer on the unit as we were sitting right there watching the food while it cooked. I can see how it would be useful for someone who was multi-tasking. After the fries, we did some fish, then onion rings, and by that time, we needed to do more fish. For some reason, this unit seems to fry much faster than our old dutch oven filled with oil and it seems much safer. It's nice that this unit is temperature controlled and lets you know when your oil is hot enough. We never used a thermometer with the dutch oven and there were a few times we set the food in too early. Greasy! So, all in all, this is a good unit so far. It does cook a fair amount of food in one batch, although I can see where doing chicken might be a slow process because of the size. You would only get a piece or two to fit at a time. It does do at least 10 pieces of fish at once and two batches of french fries fed 5 people and there was plenty left over. The main question will be, how long will this thing last? Time will tell. But, for the price, if it lasts a couple of years, I won't complain.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigEric75
Wadena, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/22/2011

Customer review by susieq2007

4.0 stars 7/22/2011 by susieq2007
by susieq2007

In the summer I don't like to turn on the oven when it is really hot so I decided to get a deep fryer to use instead of oven. It is quick and easy to use. I wasn't too sure about this after reading some of the reviews from some people having problems with the lid, etc. But it has worked fine for me. I love that I can put things in and in just a few minutes it is done. And if you use the right ingredients and oil you can fry fairly healthy. Just combine your fried foods with fresh vegetables and fruit. Easy to use and easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
susieq2007
clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT FRYER
8/29/2011

Customer review by TOADMAN1

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by TOADMAN1
by TOADMAN1

It is a little smaller than the one i had before but it heats up faster. There is another thing that I liked is that all of the controls are behind and not in front that way when you pull out food from fryer it doesn't get any oil on the controls.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TOADMAN1
Indianapolis, IN`
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/18/2011

Customer review by RealPickyone

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by RealPickyone
by RealPickyone

Cooked chicken strips and french fries in this so far and got excellent results. I was a bit shocked that it took as much oil as it did and that there was no way to strain the oil. It is time consuming to wait till oil cools then strain it through a coffee filter to make sure you get all the flour etc. that is in the oil. A drain spout could improve this item in making it easier to strain oil and expedite clean up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealPickyone
Scranton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 249 total reviews
1-20 of 249 reviews