Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 1192 reviews
5 stars
875
4 stars
211
3 stars
29
2 stars
21
1 stars
56
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1087 reviews
1-20 of 1087 reviews
Saved Thanksgiving! :)
12/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful! I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love
12/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (145)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!!!
12/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It was great to have my oven free all day! We were very skeptical, but glad we tried it! The 21 lb.. stuffed turkey cooked in just over 3 1/2 hours and was sooo good, just put it under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp the skin. I highly recommend this and the price was reasonable, ordered it on Monday and it arrived on Wed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Roaster!
11/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is and without any doubt the perfect roaster! I purchased this after reading reviews due to my regular oven door broke as a heavy casserole dish was dropped on it. With no time to get fixed, I searched for the best solution quickly! I ordered this and received it within a few days. To my surprise our turkey turned out the best ever! All commented on how tender and juicy it was! This oven cooks faster than my electric convection oven even did! I will use this toaster for all turkeys to ensure they turn out the best ever! Easy to use n clean, just perfect and I can't wait to cook other foods like hams and other roasts as my expectations were surpassed! Very economical too as entire oven is not needed ! I wish I had purchased this many years ago! Great all around toaster for perfect and easy cooking that all rave about!!! Don't hesitate to purchase this gem of a roaster! I cook all the time and finally found a fantastic appliance that's the best ever!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Temperture Control off by 25 degrees
7/28/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program. Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972! Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing! Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cooked/Dried a 26 pound turkey in just 3 hours.
12/2/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I received mine just before Thanksgiving so I didn't have a chance to do a trial run before turkey day. I cooked a 26 pound turkey at 325° using a digital thermometer so I wouldn't burn or dry out the meat. I was amazed that the timer went off in only 3 hours. The problem is that this roaster cooks way too fast and so even using a digital thermometer the entire bird was pretty dry which was a bummer because I am known to always cook a perfect moist turkey. This thing was huge and I am sure I could have easily fit a 28 pound turkey in it. The problem with this roaster from my experience as well as most of the reviews I read is that the thermostat has issues. I decided to return mine because meat is expensive and I don't want to waste more time and money experimenting with this thing. I almost forgot to mention that I also brined the turkey for about 28 hours so it should not have dried it out in only 3 hours. This thing just cooks too darn fast which is a bummer because I really liked it and it's size.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Money Well Spent
12/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (387)No (94)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Roaster, but thermostat is 50 degrees low
10/4/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Despite the fact that the thermostat on my unit runs 50 degrees lower than the dial settings say, this is a fantastic roaster. It's huge, so I can make a TON of something at once for parties or guests. I've made perfectly roasted roasts (great carmelization all around the roast), carnita beef for a crowd, roast beef stew for a crowd, and 128-degree internal temperature roasts for sandwich meat. All-around, I love this thing, and despite its size, I've found a nice corner of the counter where it lives as a permanent resident. We bought this when our kitchen was being built and we didn't have a stove/oven yet. It was a perfect substitute. I almost baked a cake in it once using the internal rack, but the stove was installed before I got to it. I'm sure it would have handled it beautifully. If you need a supplemental oven at home or away, this is wonderful. Just make sure that you get an oven thermometer and test your temperatures before you use it. If you know your oven, it will serve you well. 4 stars for not calibrating the thermostat well, but would have been 5.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice little oven.
11/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 500 contributer
I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (156)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A superb value
1/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We did a lot of cooking during this past Christmas holiday - for over 150 people - including 7 full prime rib roasts. In retrospect, we needed more oven space to keep everything warm. We will probably do it again, so decided to start planning. A friend had loaned us a couple of these old-fashioned countertop roasters, and they were great for keeping massive amounts of vegetables hot, along with holding the roast at temperature without continuing to cook it. Also garlic toast, potatoes and even plates warmed so the food doesn't instantly get cold. We went on Walmart's website and found these very nice roasters - at an excellent price that included free shipping as well. Search we did, but nothing came close to the value Walmart offered. We ordered 8 of them, and they arrived a day EARLIER than promised. We have used a couple of the roasters already, and they are perfect - exactly what we hoped for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!!!
11/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (260)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super Happy with the Roaster!
12/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Each Thanksgiving my turkey seems to get bigger and bigger. This year, we planned on cooking a 24-pound turkey and I wanted to be able to use my oven during the day for baking (I also didn't want to have drippings all over my brand new oven). I read the reviews on several roaster ovens, but I chose this one because of its size and the many positive reviews. I ordered it the week before Thanksgiving and it was delivered on time. Several of the comments mentioned an odor when plugging in for the first time, so I plugged mine in over the weekend for a few minutes so that we wouldn't experience the odor on Thanksgiving day (it turned out to be minimal). This Hamilton Beach Roaster ended up cooking my 24-pound turkey in 3 hours and it was absolutely delicious! The only thing I would have liked was for the skin on top of the turkey to be crispier, but that is a non-point, considering how stress-free my Thanksgiving day ended up being! My family was skeptical about the roaster when I purchased it, but they ended up being quite impressed! I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
huge capacity
7/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great roaster for a great price!
12/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this for Thanksgiving this year to cook my turkey. I did this because it freed up my oven for the other sides that require time in the oven- green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, rolls, etc. Also, I had been to Thanksgiving at a relatives' where they had used a big roaster similiar to this one, and the turkey was soooo moist. The only negative, if it really is one, is that the turkey does not brown in the roaster as it would in the oven- minor, I know. But, you can rectify this by using a small propane blow torch! Yes- I did :) Obviously, you must be careful, but it is easy and doesn't take long. I believe I have started a new tradition for our house- The Torching of the Turkey! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a Turkey
11/24/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered 2 (!) Nesco's which never arrived, FedEx problems, not Walmart's. And then the offer for this one came into my email box from WM. It arrived early, and I experimented with potatoes first. Even though it doesn't recommend it, I strongly DO suggest you try to find an outlet in your garage or outside to do the initial heating period. It is pungent and would totally stink up the house. Taters cooked well and so I bravely cooked a small test turkey. Used a recipe from online that suggests an olive oil rub with poultry seasoning, S&P on outside. I stuffed it, and used the online article's timeline. No peeking, it came out just right, with browning on most of the bird. It is an appliance that because of its size and my small kitchen, won't live on the counter, but will use as much as possible at this house. The gas oven here doesn't work well, and love having this option to do roasting of all sorts. There are recipes for much more than turkey roasting out there. Happy purchase. Hope yours is also!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Returned without use due to defects in the pan
5/6/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant. The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning. The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future. I did not even attempt to use the product. I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable. I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections. I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected
10/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried it for the very first time and didn't disappoint me. Great price for great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected or hoped for!!
11/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have wanted a roaster for so many years, my husband bought me this for my birthday this year. I was so WOWED by it's size. I am able to put 2 chickens in it side by side, not that I need this. It is so much bigger than I thought it would be. I can hardly wait to do a turkey or ham in it. Trust the booklet the manufacture supplied, the cooking times are right on. I hate heating my house up in the summer time, so this is great, does not heat up the house at all. If you were thinking about getting one, stop thinking and go for it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (308)No (40)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Household Kitchen Tool
12/1/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First I would like to say you can not argue about the price & free shipping when you purchase Two of them! The truth is that I have never cooked a turkey in it. Only on my barbecue. But! It sure does wonders when I'm making my pasta sauces, soups, stews, chilies, pickling & using it as a food warmer for parties. It makes 18 Liters (37 oz) jars when hot filling & more containers to allow for when freezing. The downfall is that it is not made to be used constantly only sparely. The benefits from it out weigh the cost of it when replacing it. Also! Spare parts. A little self maintenance will add more life to it. A lite coat of oil applied to liner & lid with aluminum foil on the inside (remember to punch the holes in the tinfoil & wash out the oil after 2 weeks not using it. Oil oxidizes & will ruin your dish) when using it steady. It would be nice that a company came out with one that is made to be used constantly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't Waste Your Money
10/27/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have double ovens but thought this would be great since we host a large Thanksgiving and cook a ham as well with all the sides. My mom said these were very handy in the 50's. I bought the large one because I cook a 20+ lb. Turkey. I tested it this weekend to make sure I liked it. It takes longer to cook than the instructions recommend. It takes longer to heat up. The heating element is not consistent. One side of my turkey was 20 degrees colder than the other side. I cranked the thermostat to 450 and it was still weak. I will NOT use this ever again. I won't even give it to charity, it's so worthless. It goes in this week's garbage. Don't waste your money!!! Also, it's so large it won't fit in your kitchen sink to clean. It barely fits in our mud sink to clean. A turkey roasting pan will not fit inside either, even though the instruction booklet says it will.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (128)No (72)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-