Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1017 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1017 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1017 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
738
4 stars
184
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 stars
52
1-20 of 913 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 913 total reviews
1-20 of 913 reviews
Love
12/7/2013

Customer review by Terridiane

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Terridiane
by Terridiane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (117) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terridiane
Tampa, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saved Thanksgiving! :)
12/14/2013

Customer review by ChefTell2

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by ChefTell2
by ChefTell2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful! I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChefTell2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Roaster!
11/29/2015

Customer review by Sweetpea1

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Sweetpea1
by Sweetpea1

This is and without any doubt the perfect roaster! I purchased this after reading reviews due to my regular oven door broke as a heavy casserole dish was dropped on it. With no time to get fixed, I searched for the best solution quickly! I ordered this and received it within a few days. To my surprise our turkey turned out the best ever! All commented on how tender and juicy it was! This oven cooks faster than my electric convection oven even did! I will use this toaster for all turkeys to ensure they turn out the best ever! Easy to use n clean, just perfect and I can't wait to cook other foods like hams and other roasts as my expectations were surpassed! Very economical too as entire oven is not needed ! I wish I had purchased this many years ago! Great all around toaster for perfect and easy cooking that all rave about!!! Don't hesitate to purchase this gem of a roaster! I cook all the time and finally found a fantastic appliance that's the best ever!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetpea1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Temperture Control off by 25 degrees
7/28/2014

Customer review by Alamobrady

2.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Alamobrady
by Alamobrady

Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program. Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972! Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing! Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alamobrady
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Money Well Spent
12/4/2011

Customer review by RecipeFan

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by RecipeFan
by RecipeFan

Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.

Was this review helpful? (356) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RecipeFan
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
nice little oven.
11/17/2012

Customer review by SHELLLS

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by SHELLLS
by SHELLLS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.

Was this review helpful? (134) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHELLLS
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great Product!!!
11/29/2013

Customer review by sewvegas

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by sewvegas
by sewvegas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)

Was this review helpful? (221) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewvegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
huge capacity
7/20/2014

Customer review by mamawithfourkids

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by mamawithfourkids
by mamawithfourkids
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamawithfourkids
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE SOONER
11/27/2012

Customer review by LittlDuck15

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LittlDuck15
by LittlDuck15
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great appliance to have around for large items or quantities of food. One thing, though, BEWARE the first time you try to use it. The instructions say that smoke and smell are a normal part of the first time heating process. WELL! They rathe understated that. When I turned this on first time to heat up, smoke was so bad it set off the smoke alarm and smell drove us to put the whole unit outside. We wound up cooking our turkey outside. It worked EXTREMELY well, have to say. Never had a turkey cook so fast. The unit says it doesn't brown the food. Well, our turkey was brown. A tad over done too, but that is only because it was our first time, i was not feeling well and with the unit being outside, I could not check on it as often...again because I was ill. My husband did all the checking...and, well, he is not much of a cook. LOL Dispite the fumes issue, I am extremely happy with this purchase. Have seen other, smaller units offered at sale prices for more than I paid for this unit. Gotta love it!!! You will not be sorry buying this roaster. Happy Cooking!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittlDuck15
Southern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Household Kitchen Tool
12/1/2015

Customer review by Cooking1With1Heart

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Cooking1With1Heart
by Cooking1With1Heart

First I would like to say you can not argue about the price & free shipping when you purchase Two of them! The truth is that I have never cooked a turkey in it. Only on my barbecue. But! It sure does wonders when I'm making my pasta sauces, soups, stews, chilies, pickling & using it as a food warmer for parties. It makes 18 Liters (37 oz) jars when hot filling & more containers to allow for when freezing. The downfall is that it is not made to be used constantly only sparely. The benefits from it out weigh the cost of it when replacing it. Also! Spare parts. A little self maintenance will add more life to it. A lite coat of oil applied to liner & lid with aluminum foil on the inside (remember to punch the holes in the tinfoil & wash out the oil after 2 weeks not using it. Oil oxidizes & will ruin your dish) when using it steady. It would be nice that a company came out with one that is made to be used constantly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cooking1With1Heart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent size.
8/23/2016

Customer review by Audrey

4.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Audrey
by Audrey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We used it for the first time this past Saturday for our church dinner and having a 22 quart size roaster was wonderful. Very nice appearance, with the stainless steel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audrey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned without use due to defects in the pan
5/6/2014

Customer review by GAcooker

2.0 stars 5/6/2014 by GAcooker
by GAcooker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant. The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning. The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future. I did not even attempt to use the product. I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable. I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections. I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/8/2014

We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with your Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.

GAcooker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected or hoped for!!
11/13/2013

Customer review by KTZHelm

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by KTZHelm
by KTZHelm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have wanted a roaster for so many years, my husband bought me this for my birthday this year. I was so WOWED by it's size. I am able to put 2 chickens in it side by side, not that I need this. It is so much bigger than I thought it would be. I can hardly wait to do a turkey or ham in it. Trust the booklet the manufacture supplied, the cooking times are right on. I hate heating my house up in the summer time, so this is great, does not heat up the house at all. If you were thinking about getting one, stop thinking and go for it!

Was this review helpful? (295) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KTZHelm
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great roaster for a great price!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Gazelle30

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Gazelle30
by Gazelle30

I ordered this for Thanksgiving this year to cook my turkey. I did this because it freed up my oven for the other sides that require time in the oven- green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, rolls, etc. Also, I had been to Thanksgiving at a relatives' where they had used a big roaster similiar to this one, and the turkey was soooo moist. The only negative, if it really is one, is that the turkey does not brown in the roaster as it would in the oven- minor, I know. But, you can rectify this by using a small propane blow torch! Yes- I did :) Obviously, you must be careful, but it is easy and doesn't take long. I believe I have started a new tradition for our house- The Torching of the Turkey! :)

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gazelle30
Big Timber, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Don't Waste Your Money
10/27/2013

Customer review by blahblahmom

1.0 stars 10/27/2013 by blahblahmom
by blahblahmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have double ovens but thought this would be great since we host a large Thanksgiving and cook a ham as well with all the sides. My mom said these were very handy in the 50's. I bought the large one because I cook a 20+ lb. Turkey. I tested it this weekend to make sure I liked it. It takes longer to cook than the instructions recommend. It takes longer to heat up. The heating element is not consistent. One side of my turkey was 20 degrees colder than the other side. I cranked the thermostat to 450 and it was still weak. I will NOT use this ever again. I won't even give it to charity, it's so worthless. It goes in this week's garbage. Don't waste your money!!! Also, it's so large it won't fit in your kitchen sink to clean. It barely fits in our mud sink to clean. A turkey roasting pan will not fit inside either, even though the instruction booklet says it will.

Was this review helpful? (123) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blahblahmom
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
10/17/2013

Customer review by Donna85

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Donna85
by Donna85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a big roasting pan for a church event, It shipped super fast & works wonderfully! I look forward to using it again in the future, I plan to throw my turkey in it for Thanksgiving!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna85
Dawsonville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Additional Oven
1/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased the Hamilton Beach 22-qt. roaster oven. So far, we have used it to cook a turkey, a spiral-sliced ham, and baked ziti. Every time, the results came out perfectly. We had no problems with anything baking more or less quickly than expected. The turkey did not brown, but we did not expect it to. It was extremely helpful to have this additional oven as a kitchen helper. I gave it a 5-star rating for everything except features. I saw an 18-qt. roaster oven at Sears that came with the three-compartment buffet server insert, which is an option to buy for the model I purchased, so it would have been a nice included feature. The buffet server can be purchased through Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great product, heated soup very efficiently.
10/17/2013

Customer review by MTBowls

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by MTBowls
by MTBowls
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased product for a soup fund raiser. Heated soup quickly and maintained the temperature for our event. Did not have to worry about soup scorching like it would on a stove top. Was also good to serve from.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTBowls
Coastal North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/9/2011

Customer review by Verna57

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Verna57
by Verna57

I ordered this right before Thanksgiving because we never have enough oven space. I cooked the turkey in it and it came out perfectly. I put the turkey in the oven for 30 minutes at 375 to brown it and then transferred it to the Roaster. It was great! The turkey came out moister than in the regular oven. Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Verna57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
delaware nation AOA
8/10/2016

Customer review by Dora

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Dora
by Dora
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dora
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 913 total reviews
1-20 of 913 reviews