Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 173 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

173 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

173 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
34
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 131 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Disappointing
12/11/2011

Customer review by Waggoneer

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Waggoneer
by Waggoneer

First, this model is better than any of the George Forman or GE models that I have used over the years. My disappointment is that it is not as good as the marginally smaller model that I purchased and use in Canada. The larger unit has excellent grid patterns and is very easy to clean after use. Another plus is the unique grease and fat draining system. For some reason it does not seem to cook as quickly as the smaller unit and the timer quit after two uses so I returned it. To this point, WalMart does not stock the unit in the stores where I am in Florida for the winter and does not carry the smaller unit. I did find one of the latter from an on-line company and expect delivery shortly. For those of you new to using such grills, I highly recommend getting a unit with removable grill plates. Also, Walmart's free delivery to a nearby store is an excellent service and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waggoneer
Ruskin Florida in the winter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/18/2010

Customer review by SingingNut

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by SingingNut
by SingingNut

This was actually purchased as a Christmas gift, however, owning one myself, I know how great the unit is. Not only that, but both my sister and I have worn these out over the past few years, each of us having to replace them!! Only after many years of use!! We use the HB indoor grill for EVERYTHING, including grilled sandwiches! It's a great product, especially if you're watching your weight. One word of warning, however. Don't put the grids in the dishwasher after every use. Over a period of time, they will lost their non-stick coating. I recommend hand washing except for those times when you're really in a hurry to get out of the kitchen!!

Was this review helpful? (70) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingingNut
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent product
2/19/2011

Customer review by raps86

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by raps86
by raps86

This is a vry good cooker, I love the fact that you can take the grill plates out to wash them. This one is also the right size for a family of 4 but convenient for the empty nesters who both want a steak. It is also much cheaper than others with similar features and size, as for durability, this is our 5th on to buy - not because they broke but we keep giving them to our kids as they move out. We love it as you can tell.

Was this review helpful? (60) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raps86
Jacksboro, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best indoor grill
10/19/2010

Customer review by dabav

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by dabav
by dabav

I had a smaller Hamilton Beach grill years ago. When it finally gave out (after years of use) I purchased a George Foreman - bad choice. It was hard to clean so didn't get much use. I went back to Hamilton Beach & couldn't be happier. Cooking surface fits 4 large burgers ( 8 if you open flat) The grill plates are removable for easy cleaning. This unit heats evenly too. I'm very pleased with my purchase !

Was this review helpful? (87) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dabav
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Appliance
2/19/2011

Customer review by Gadget52445

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by Gadget52445
by Gadget52445

You will never be sorry that you chose this grill--I have owned the smaller version of this grill and used it for years--I bought this one because we have company and would like to cook all the food on the grill at the same time. We have owned other grills but had horrible trouble with grease getting all over everything -----This is not a problem with this grill-Plates snap off for easy cleaning and the grease drawer slides under the unit and collects all the grease as long as you empty it after each use. I hope maybe Hamilton beach decides to bring out a pancake griddle for this unit thus making it the all purpose kitchen tool..You will be happy with this choice

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gadget52445
Mid-Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
9/19/2010

Customer review by Nutri

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by Nutri
by Nutri

We own one of these grills, and loved it so much we bought 3 of our 4 kids one for Christmas last year, this year we are getting the 4th one his...since he pouted (ha ha). We have cooked everything from panni sandwiches to grilled hamburgers, steak, chicken to grilled cheese with excellent results. Wonderful design, the plates come off and into the dishwasher. Occasionally something sticks and you have to hand wash or presoak, but the product is the best kitchen appliance we have ever had. Would highly recomend.

Was this review helpful? (133) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nutri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
6/15/2011

Customer review by AbsolutelyPerfectforPets

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by AbsolutelyPerfectforPets
by AbsolutelyPerfectforPets

If you live in an area with unpredictable weather or limited outdoor cooking space like an apartment, this item is the answers to your prayers to the grilling gods. First let me say that I purchased on Monday night and it arrived on Wednesday morning (FedEX)! So the shipping cost (less than $5) was well worth it. This grill has double the cooking space because both the top and bottom heat up. And yes, both top and bottom drain into the cup for easy cleanup. The grill plates are heavy so you get those nice grill marks. They snap and hold into place with those little tabs you see around the outside. I research every indoor grill from every retailer and chose this based on the product reviews. I am so happy I purchased item. Let the grilling begin!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AbsolutelyPerfectforPets
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Smaller than I thought
10/1/2011

Customer review by Julinoe

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Julinoe
by Julinoe

After trying one of the larger G.F. grills which did not have a removable grill, I knew that if the purchase I made didn't have removable grills, I wouldn't be happy with it as it is REALLY hard cleaning them if you can't. So I tried to find the largest one possible that the grills came out to clean it easier. After reading the reviews and specs here, I decided on the Hamilton Beach 185" Indoor Grill with Removable Grids. When it arrived, I was kind of disappointed to find that it was a bit smaller than I had imagined. There are two grills yes but the actual cooking space on each is around 12 1/2 X 7 when you take away the space where the juices run out and the side where you cannot cook. Yes, it's great and cooks in less time in a much healthier way but if you are cooking a large meal, you are going to have to cook it in parts and keep the rest warm until you are done. I would say that only 2 large steaks would fit on it at a time and 4 chicken breasts. And yes, it is easier to clean thus you will use it more. All in all I am very happy with it. I just wanted something a lot bigger.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julinoe
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Easy to use
3/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love the removable plates. They are easy to clean. Heats up quickly. Used it for steaks, chicken, burgers, asparagus etc, and have been very pleased

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Powell, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Well Designed Grill !
6/7/2012

Customer review by nogeekneeded

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by nogeekneeded
by nogeekneeded
Top 500 contributor

First one (white) lasted a few years til the teflon coating began to peel. The grill arrived at my local Walmart (site to store) within approx. 72 hrs after placing order. It was well packaged too. I looked at the George Foreman grills, but there were a few things I noticed: 1. The grills were not removable so cleaning would be a hassle 2. The drip pan was not attached to unit, it set in front of it 3. It seemed the grill angle was really steep I like the features this grill has, the removable grills, slide in drip pan and its slightly angled grill. You really need to use some kind of spray on oil coating the grill surfaces evenly and be sure to always set the timer for five minutes letting the oil prime itself onto the grills before actually cooking anything. I love being able to cook steaks in under 15 minutes. Thanks walmart.com!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nogeekneeded
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
8/21/2011

Customer review by indalu

2.0 stars 8/21/2011 by indalu
by indalu

I have an extra large Sanyo indoor grill that works very well but is too big and cumbersome for everyday cooking. I thought the Hamilton Beach grill would be the perfect size for everyday meals and I especially liked the idea of being able to remove the grill surfaces for easy cleaning. But there are 2 major flaws with it. First it does not get hot enough to sear meat. Despite the fact that I pre-heated it for over 20 minutes, there was no sear. Also I hate the automatic timer device. Have to get turning it back on if you want to keep cooking. I won't use this for meats. Will be an expensvie grilled cheese sandwich maker. Back to searching for a grill that does it all. Bummer.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indalu
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Product - Great Price
6/4/2011

Customer review by Ohio78422

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by Ohio78422
by Ohio78422

Works great and is a good price. Use grill several times a week for chicken breasts, turkey burgers, hamburgers and stir-fry veggies, easy clean up. Better if meat is not frozen even though you can put frozen meat on the grill, lid covers better if meat is not frozen. Timer & auto shut-off are great features, does not have temperature control but so far has not been an issue.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ohio78422
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What an amazing grill
12/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this grill form my wife for christmas and it is absolutely amazing,we have used it 5 times since wife opened it on christmas day,we haven't grilled five time in the past year outside.follow the inst. about preheating it and using a little non stick spray on the grills and it will be much easier to clean,we placed the grids in the dishwasher and they came out sparkling clean..We use to not pay any attention to reviews till the past few years,am glad we decided on this one,it is well worth the money,and i think i ordered it on December 19th,kinda a last minute thing and once i ordered it delivery was suppose to be on Dec.24th,guess what we got it on the 21st.and that was with free shipping from the headquarters in Bentonville,Ar.Now that is what i call delivery,we pay for some shipping when we order and it takes a week most of the time..Delivery on this was quick..I would reccomend this product to anyone,it is Great..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bossier City,La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Indoor Grill
6/12/2011

Customer review by activitydir

4.0 stars 6/12/2011 by activitydir
by activitydir

Absolutely love this grill. Great features; such as the timer, the drip pan beinging underneath the grill, removeable grates. Plus it has a longer cord than other grills.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
activitydir
Mena, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
OK---but
1/3/2011

Customer review by Muskiebark

3.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Muskiebark
by Muskiebark

OK for the price, but is lacking in features of some other grills. The timer is OK, but only has one setting, the lower grill seems to cook slower than the upper, the depth of the lower grill gets deeper toward the drip tray and makes it more difficult to clean. I do enjoy not having to heat up the outdoor grill in the cold weather. I had a George Foreman and like it except for the cleaning. This grill would be nicer if they would incorporate a bun warmer like George. All and all the size is an improvement and the removable grills make clean-up a whole bunch better. So, bottom line I guess I am satisfied with this, and will continue to use it. The question on durability will have to be answered later. Bark

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muskiebark
Yorkville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does a good job.
7/6/2012

Customer review by greenfrogfairy

4.0 stars 7/6/2012 by greenfrogfairy
by greenfrogfairy

Originally ordered one of the George Foreman grills, got my money back because the top element did not work. This one works. The one thing I noticed that seems a slight design flaw, is the bottom heating plate is made on an incline for drippings to run off. That means the food on the far left comes in contact with the upper element, while that on the far right (lower end) never quite gets as hot on the top side. I have compensated for this by moving food from left to right about half way through the selected time. Also, when closed (the only way I have used it so far) the food seems to "steam" a good bit. Unlike on an open grill, I have not been able to get a good crisp coating on fish. I guess one advantage to this, is the food is always moist - never dried out. Plan on cooking items longer than suggested in the instructions. Just a few minutes more than recommended. Overall, this one beats the Foreman.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenfrogfairy
Venice, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Hamilton Beach Indoor Grill Satisfies
9/22/2011

Customer review by unitedstatesresident

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by unitedstatesresident
by unitedstatesresident

Purchased and received in 3 days. Used right away. Very pleased with ease of use and the extra long cord. The grill has removable plates which is a great feature. Also like the built in timer which has auto shut off. The fold down option on lid allows for cooking twice the amount of food. I have used damp paper towels to do quick cleaning, but with removable grill plates cleaning is no problem. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unitedstatesresident
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome grill
10/30/2011

Customer review by consumer2be

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by consumer2be
by consumer2be

I have gone through several different models and brands of indoor grills and I am so satisfied with this one. Hamilton Beach has done a nice job in design and functionality. I love that the drip tray slides into the bottom of the unit so it doesn't take up extra room nor can it slip away and have grease on your counter. I love that the grate has a slope design into the drip tray so it doesn't stay in the grill and burn as some other models I have tried. My mom has an old and slightly smaller version of this where the plates don't come out but until I found this one I would still use the old one over any new G.F. model or GE model I have tried. I would love to get one for my mom too, just need to save some money first. You will love this grill.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
consumer2be
Clearwater,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great item!
12/9/2010

Customer review by DKBDA

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by DKBDA
by DKBDA

When my old grill broke down I could not find a replacement. I looked around and found this grill on Walmart.com and read the great reviews. I will add that this grill has now been used about 4 times and I just love it. Heats well on both sides or just one, and the clean up is so very fast. You just push a plastic tab (only thing I think could be made a bit better) and the grill releases. I would recommend this to all....I love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DKBDA
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it! And so simple to use!
2/18/2011

Customer review by LSmall

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by LSmall
by LSmall

We used this for years in our Coffee Shop, and I still use one of these at home all the time. Preheat for 5 minutes; then cook any meat for 6 to 8 minutes - excellent! You can even cook frozen meats. You can also cook vegetables on it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSmall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews