Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 461 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

461 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

461 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
314
4 stars
87
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
40
1-20 of 435 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 435 total reviews
1-20 of 435 reviews
I just had to replace the best hand sweeper
2/2/2014

Customer review by pasdandelion

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by pasdandelion
by pasdandelion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays. Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.

Was this review helpful? (107) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pasdandelion
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stopped Charging
4/28/2016

Customer review by Sandy

1.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Sandy
by Sandy

I have had this hand-held vacuum for a year now. We only used it here and there...mostly to clean out the car (no kids so not a lot to clean) and around the house when we didn't want to break out the big Dyson for something. Overall it was used maybe once a week. It ran for about 15 minutes before needing charged again, but I understood that before purchasing. However, a week ago it stopped charging completely. The charging indicator light doesn't even come on. I have tried different outlets to make sure it wasn't something other than the vacuum. I was planning on contacting Shark to complain about the quality of their product, but after reading several online forums, I am not even going to waste my time. I just ordered myself a new hand-held Dyson. I should have done that in the beginning instead of wasting $60 on this. Shark wants to try to compete with Dyson, but they will never be able to do so with garbage like this sporting their name.

Was this review helpful? (57) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? No
BUYER BEWARE! SHARK RETURN/WARRANTY POLICIES
8/13/2015

Customer review by Bestolar

1.0 stars 8/13/2015 by Bestolar
by Bestolar

This unit worked well and my 90 year old mother was thrilled with it for approximately 95 days. The unit quit charging and we were just beyond the 90 day return to the store. Shark's first step was to replace the battery free of charge. The battery sent was completely in error and did not resemble the battery in the unit. After a second call to Shark, a second batter was sent and this did not resolve the problem. After my third call, a replacement charger will not be sent (free of charge) If the charger does not solve the problem, my options are 1) send the unit back for repair or replacement with me paying the shipping. Return shipping costs from Shark are 16.00 so total cost could be 32.00 or more. 2) Buy a new unit at 42.35 (includes the shipping). In calling local vacuum repair stores in my area of Erie , PA, they cannot service this unit because the cannot get replacement parts from Shark. Long and short, I am sitting with replacement parts for this product that likely exceed the cost of the entire unit and Shark does not want them back (TWO BATTERIES AND LIKELY A CHARGER). ARGHHHH!

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bestolar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't last 15 minutes
6/18/2010

Customer review by KountryKat

1.0 stars 6/18/2010 by KountryKat
by KountryKat

Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail! I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.

Was this review helpful? (66) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KountryKat
CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
I have to say, Shark shocked me again.
5/11/2011

Customer review by Loudside20

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by Loudside20
by Loudside20

I originally bought a Shark Upright, after seeing a infomercial compare it to dysons no loss of scution power and other features such as allergen eliminators. The vacuum ROCKS, and I was in dyer need of a cordless hand vac to clean up small messes and cat hair around the house without needing to get out the vacuum, so I turned to shark again and bought this. It is the most powerfull hand vac ever!! you can see it suck a hair ball up from over a foot away with precision. :) it has a charging base that also holds the accesories which i love. It also features a brush attatchment and unlik the ones we been seeing that are powered by the suction to spin a fan that spins the brush mechanisim, this one accually plugs into the hand vac and is self powered by its own motor allowing for superior power. My only down fall on the item is yet again the powered brush, it seems to get easily stuck when it pulls up the couch fabric into the brush head pinching it. That is typical for all these wouldnt you say? but still works better than the air operated ones by far.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loudside20
48042
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Excellent cordless product
2/1/2014

Customer review by Hillbillies

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Hillbillies
by Hillbillies
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!

Was this review helpful? (191) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hillbillies
Pocahontas Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I agree with Consumer Reports
4/5/2014

Customer review by Rustinif

3.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Rustinif
by Rustinif
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.

Was this review helpful? (198) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustinif
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charger problem
3/12/2017

Customer review by babydoc

3.0 stars 3/12/2017 by babydoc
by babydoc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does have adequate suction and not too heavy for a cordless. However instructions state that you cannot leave the unit on charger except when charging it. This means that you do not know how much charge is left until it stops ! I don't remember when I could not buy a cordless device that could be left in charger without over charging.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babydoc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/23/2012

Customer review by halmann

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by halmann
by halmann

This is probably the 5th or 6th Shark hand vac I've owned over the last dozen years. Replacement batteries were priced at nearly the cost of a new unit so I merely replaced the units when they died. Luckily, I saved all my assessories. All I wanted was a reasonably priced cordless hand vac with extension tubes so I could sweep in corners, clean up small accidents WITHOUT BENDING OVER and vacuum the occasional spider on the ceiling without dragging out the shop vacuum. IMPORTANT - This particular model doesn't have the extension tubes but I was able to adapt two of the older ones from my past purchases. With my specially adapted extensions, it works perfectly for me. The batteries last longer per charge and it seems to have a bit more power than the older units. This is the best one so far.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
halmann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Lightweight and good suction
3/21/2017

Customer review by SunnyD

5.0 stars 3/21/2017 by SunnyD
by SunnyD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Indispensable for quick cleanups ... good suction and sooo handy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great little vacuum, BUT BATTERY SUCKS!
2/6/2016

Customer review by MatthewR

1.0 stars 2/6/2016 by MatthewR
by MatthewR

At first, I loved this little hand-held vacuum. Lottsa power, I thought it was great. Now that I've owned it for 5 months. NOT SO MUCH LOVE ANYMORE. The vacuum will not hold a charge. I have read reviews on several different sites and now come across SO MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. When I first bought this, I checked reviews, and almost all showed 4 stars, so I didn't look into it any further. I am learning this lesson the hard way. Another big turn-off, this vacuum only has two attachments- 1 rotator brush, and 1 short flat head. No way to use it for anything like cleaning a car, or to attach a tube, etc so I can get to hard-to reach places.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MatthewR
Would recommend to a friend? No
I wish I bought this sooner!
8/24/2011

Customer review by aus123

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by aus123
by aus123

This was exactly what I was looking for. If you have pets and want to keep your furniture hair free without using your huge vacuum cleaner, than you won't regret this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aus123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Nice item
2/24/2017

Customer review by MsRJ

4.0 stars 2/24/2017 by MsRJ
by MsRJ

this is my 2nd hand vac by Shark. I had to replace the 1st one only because I lost the charge cord for it when I moved. I've had the this one, the second one for a year and now the battery is dead and it will not charge anymore. I brought one for each one of my 5 children and myself as well so I invested a lot of money on these hand vacs. When they work, they are just what you need for small pickups or for a small rug. I am sorry this one didn't last as long as the first one and also, this one was more powerful than the 1st one. I don't think I'll buy another even though they work very well because I expected more than a year use of it. I'll try a different brand this time. Oh, I also brought one as a gift for a friend in August 2016. I hope her's lasts longer than a year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsRJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love it
5/1/2017

Customer review by Bonita

5.0 stars 5/1/2017 by Bonita
by Bonita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just what I needed. I love the attachments changes fast has the power I need I almost got one without attachments An less power. That would have been a mistake [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bonita
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY ANY SHARK PRODUCTS!
5/28/2015

Customer review by valueis4me

1.0 stars 5/28/2015 by valueis4me
by valueis4me

After doing much research and finding positive reviews for the Shark Hand-Held Vacuum SV780, I purchased one. What a mistake! It has been used all of five times and the on/off switch continually turns off. I called Shark and received NOTHING but a run around about the problem. After telling the Customer Service person, Shamas, what the problem was he told me that I would have to pay shipping to and from Shark repair service once it was fixed. He did say if it couldn't be repaired they would replace it. So, I told him it would be returned to Walmart where it was purchased, even though on the vacuum's box, in BIG writing it says, "Do Not Return to the Store!" "Call us. We are here to help with our hassle-free return service." The number I called was the number printed on the box with the "Hassle-Free" instructions! I will recommend to my family and friends to NEVER purchase any SHARK products due to their very poor customer service.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valueis4me
Would recommend to a friend? No
love it, but that roller...
2/11/2016

Customer review by pyrewoman

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by pyrewoman
by pyrewoman

One of these days there will be an amazing handheld vacuum with a brush roller that is completely removable so that I don't have to spend 20 minutes with the tiny scissors getting out the hair. That is the only problem I have with this vac, and it's a problem I have with every vac I've ever owned. I love this one though..the suction was great, the attachments are awesome, and this things powered over an entire set of filthy carpeted basement stairs (dust, dirt, cat hair, litter tracks, etc) without missing a beat or losing power. Worth every penny..if you don't mind taking the tiny scissors to the roller to remove the hair) But, it is also brand new. I use it on average once a week on stairs now, so I will update this review if anything happens to change my opinion of it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pyrewoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
11/27/2016

Customer review by RellBarbie

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by RellBarbie
by RellBarbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. It's powerful and easy to use. Would give this as a gift to anyone. Very pleased with Shark product. Will continue to purchase more in this brand.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RellBarbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Lejgirl71

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Lejgirl71
by Lejgirl71

This is the best little vacuum!!! I bought it to keep up with the hair from my 2 cats and it by far, does that. I think the previous customer got a bad unit because, for a cordless vacuum, this thing has amazing suction and handles pet hair with ease! It holds its charge for a good amount of time and I have even used it for light cleaning of my carpeted stairs with great results.

Was this review helpful? (105) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lejgirl71
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Best little handheld!
10/21/2016

Customer review by CaptainSteve

5.0 stars 10/21/2016 by CaptainSteve
by CaptainSteve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had a Dyson handheld for years. The vacuum was alright, but cost a ton and never held a charge very long. A call with Dyson said they had lifetime warranty on all vacuums BUT mine! We purchased the Shark cordless handheld and it blows the Dyson away. Has long run time on single charge and great suction. We now have one on boat and one in house.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainSteve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Little Vacuum That Couldn't (hold a charge)
5/22/2016

Customer review by NotSoCleverAfterAll

1.0 stars 5/22/2016 by NotSoCleverAfterAll
by NotSoCleverAfterAll

Bought this 7 months ago because it was listed by Consumer Reports as its top-rated small vacuum despite its stringent requirements for battery care (must fully discharge battery before charging, must charge for no more than 6 hours). CR had this to say: "A number of our user reviews for this model cite run-time and battery issues. We note on this page that while you must avoid overcharging, there's no full-charge indicator--a clear drawback. Overcharging, should it occur, gradually diminishes the battery's ability to charge, which results in run-time issues. (We summarize negative experiences for high-scoring models with at least 10 user reviews.)" To ensure that I complied with those requirements to protect my battery I bought a fairly sophisticated electronic timer and set up a 6-hour program after which the flow of power to the unit would be cut off. I was, I must admit, pleased with myself for being so clever. Over the course of half a year I used the vacuum a dozen times, maybe, and was very satisfied. Then two weeks ago it simply wouldn't charge anymore. I set the timer, the light comes on, and when I return the unit's completely dead. Tried that several times. I took it off the timer and moved it to my office where I could 'babysit' it while charging. The light comes on and then turns off after 30 minutes ... nothing. Based on the other reviews I've seen here, I suspect I would be -- in the long run -- wasting my time trying to get a fair resolution to this. At the very least, however, I plan to give them a very good dressing down over this. It's clearly a flawed product that shouldn't be on the market. Don't waste your hard-earned money and precious time on it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotSoCleverAfterAll
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 435 total reviews
1-20 of 435 reviews