Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 471 reviews
5 stars
318
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
43
Sort by: 
1-20 of 445 reviews
1-20 of 445 reviews
I just had to replace the best hand sweeper
2/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays. Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (114)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible product
7/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vacuum on Sunday. It is Now Tuesday, July 4th! (Happy Independence Day!) I used it not even for 5 minutes Sunday night and it cut off on me. I charged it and tried using it again today and it worked great...for about 15 minutes if even that. And turned off again! So I cleaned it. This vacuum is not worth the risk of buying--hence reading everyone's reviews. I thoughts shark had high quality products. This is not one of them. Thankfully when I bought the vacuum I got the $4 2 year warranty too. So this will be going back of course. But I don't think I'll even get it again. I might, in hopes that there was just something wrong with the one I got. So after the second time, if it still doesn't work properly I will be switching to a different product. It sucks because I was so excited to clean with it! And feel like it's so low quality and money definitely wasted. I would not recommend this product. I would just go with something else entirely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
YOU pay for THEIR faulty products!
7/29/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought a Shark cordless vacuum in February. In July it totally stopped working. It was past the 60 day return, so I called company. They said they would send me out a new battery. Send a charging cable instead. Said to try it, if it didn't work, call back. It didn't work. I called back. They finally sent out a battery. I charged it as per their instructions. Still did not work. I called again. They said I had to pay $12.95 to get it returned. HMMMMMMMMM seems a little unfair to me. If THEIR product stops working after only 5 months, shouldn't THEY pay to ship a new one?!?!?!? Its their issue, why should I have to pay more? I already spent so much time on the phone trying to get the issue taken care of....spent so much time waiting on parts....all the while I am out of a vacuum!!!!! But send us some money and we will replace it for you! UGH No matter how much I like the vacuum.....I don't think I will purchase from them again. Even tho it does specify the shipping cost on the warranty (fine print).....I still find it very bad business practice to make me pay anything at all for their faulty product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stopped Charging
4/28/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this hand-held vacuum for a year now. We only used it here and there...mostly to clean out the car (no kids so not a lot to clean) and around the house when we didn't want to break out the big Dyson for something. Overall it was used maybe once a week. It ran for about 15 minutes before needing charged again, but I understood that before purchasing. However, a week ago it stopped charging completely. The charging indicator light doesn't even come on. I have tried different outlets to make sure it wasn't something other than the vacuum. I was planning on contacting Shark to complain about the quality of their product, but after reading several online forums, I am not even going to waste my time. I just ordered myself a new hand-held Dyson. I should have done that in the beginning instead of wasting $60 on this. Shark wants to try to compete with Dyson, but they will never be able to do so with garbage like this sporting their name.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't last 15 minutes
6/18/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail! I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BUYER BEWARE! SHARK RETURN/WARRANTY POLICIES
8/13/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit worked well and my 90 year old mother was thrilled with it for approximately 95 days. The unit quit charging and we were just beyond the 90 day return to the store. Shark's first step was to replace the battery free of charge. The battery sent was completely in error and did not resemble the battery in the unit. After a second call to Shark, a second batter was sent and this did not resolve the problem. After my third call, a replacement charger will not be sent (free of charge) If the charger does not solve the problem, my options are 1) send the unit back for repair or replacement with me paying the shipping. Return shipping costs from Shark are 16.00 so total cost could be 32.00 or more. 2) Buy a new unit at 42.35 (includes the shipping). In calling local vacuum repair stores in my area of Erie , PA, they cannot service this unit because the cannot get replacement parts from Shark. Long and short, I am sitting with replacement parts for this product that likely exceed the cost of the entire unit and Shark does not want them back (TWO BATTERIES AND LIKELY A CHARGER). ARGHHHH!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of money
7/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this unit less than a year ago because of the need to clean up behind our two cats. The vacuum had very good suction from the start and I was pleased with the performance until the other day. I was in the middle of cleaning a blanket when the unit stopped (it doesn't lose power when the battery is drained, it just quits). I put the unit in its recharge unit, the light came on and I gave it sufficient time to charge. I pulled it off the charging rack and NOTHING. After trying several times to get it to charge I am of the opinion it won't, especially after reading reviews of other owners. I am not surprised that attempting to contact and work with Shark is a waste of time and/or money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not keep it plugged in all the time
8/25/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
If you read the bad reviews they all seem to be based on early battery failure and the cause is having it plugged in all the time. You would not know that from the instructions. That said, this is a very good product. For years we had used a B&D dust buster and it performed miserably. Maybe the newer ones are better. I wondered one day if all hand vacs were that bad and did some research and found this unit. Just so much better than the dust buster. It pics up cat litter from the carpet probably better than the full sized vac. I wonder how it would have done with the mess of BBs that got spilled on the floor at work once. Maybe not so well but probably better than the bush and dustpan we used.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked well, but only for 6 months.
8/22/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My second Shark Pet Perfect II has just stopped working out of the blue. Have only had this unit for 6 months! I chatted with their customer service and was told that we over charge the battery. I think it's user unfriendly to have a base which charges, but should only charge for 7 hours max, and otherwise the unit should not sit in its base or be unplugged. However, I thought I'd suck it up and look to buy a new battery instead of buying an entirely new (non-Shark) vacuum, I found that the battery only costs $2 less than a brand new unit! Will not be buying Shark again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I have to say, Shark shocked me again.
5/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I originally bought a Shark Upright, after seeing a infomercial compare it to dysons no loss of scution power and other features such as allergen eliminators. The vacuum ROCKS, and I was in dyer need of a cordless hand vac to clean up small messes and cat hair around the house without needing to get out the vacuum, so I turned to shark again and bought this. It is the most powerfull hand vac ever!! you can see it suck a hair ball up from over a foot away with precision. :) it has a charging base that also holds the accesories which i love. It also features a brush attatchment and unlik the ones we been seeing that are powered by the suction to spin a fan that spins the brush mechanisim, this one accually plugs into the hand vac and is self powered by its own motor allowing for superior power. My only down fall on the item is yet again the powered brush, it seems to get easily stuck when it pulls up the couch fabric into the brush head pinching it. That is typical for all these wouldnt you say? but still works better than the air operated ones by far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent cordless product
2/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (196)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/23/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is probably the 5th or 6th Shark hand vac I've owned over the last dozen years. Replacement batteries were priced at nearly the cost of a new unit so I merely replaced the units when they died. Luckily, I saved all my assessories. All I wanted was a reasonably priced cordless hand vac with extension tubes so I could sweep in corners, clean up small accidents WITHOUT BENDING OVER and vacuum the occasional spider on the ceiling without dragging out the shop vacuum. IMPORTANT - This particular model doesn't have the extension tubes but I was able to adapt two of the older ones from my past purchases. With my specially adapted extensions, it works perfectly for me. The batteries last longer per charge and it seems to have a bit more power than the older units. This is the best one so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I agree with Consumer Reports
4/5/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (207)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Got stung two times, perhaps three.
8/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first one I bought worked fine (for approximately one year, before giving out). I bought two for a rental property. All three cut out after minimal usage. Not worth returning for the postage as I believe these vacuums are defective to begin with. Into the trash.,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works great
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
great suction. works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great little vacuum, BUT BATTERY SUCKS!
2/6/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At first, I loved this little hand-held vacuum. Lottsa power, I thought it was great. Now that I've owned it for 5 months. NOT SO MUCH LOVE ANYMORE. The vacuum will not hold a charge. I have read reviews on several different sites and now come across SO MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. When I first bought this, I checked reviews, and almost all showed 4 stars, so I didn't look into it any further. I am learning this lesson the hard way. Another big turn-off, this vacuum only has two attachments- 1 rotator brush, and 1 short flat head. No way to use it for anything like cleaning a car, or to attach a tube, etc so I can get to hard-to reach places.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY ANY SHARK PRODUCTS!
5/28/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After doing much research and finding positive reviews for the Shark Hand-Held Vacuum SV780, I purchased one. What a mistake! It has been used all of five times and the on/off switch continually turns off. I called Shark and received NOTHING but a run around about the problem. After telling the Customer Service person, Shamas, what the problem was he told me that I would have to pay shipping to and from Shark repair service once it was fixed. He did say if it couldn't be repaired they would replace it. So, I told him it would be returned to Walmart where it was purchased, even though on the vacuum's box, in BIG writing it says, "Do Not Return to the Store!" "Call us. We are here to help with our hassle-free return service." The number I called was the number printed on the box with the "Hassle-Free" instructions! I will recommend to my family and friends to NEVER purchase any SHARK products due to their very poor customer service.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
love it, but that roller...
2/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
One of these days there will be an amazing handheld vacuum with a brush roller that is completely removable so that I don't have to spend 20 minutes with the tiny scissors getting out the hair. That is the only problem I have with this vac, and it's a problem I have with every vac I've ever owned. I love this one though..the suction was great, the attachments are awesome, and this things powered over an entire set of filthy carpeted basement stairs (dust, dirt, cat hair, litter tracks, etc) without missing a beat or losing power. Worth every penny..if you don't mind taking the tiny scissors to the roller to remove the hair) But, it is also brand new. I use it on average once a week on stairs now, so I will update this review if anything happens to change my opinion of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great looking hand vac
9/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works like it should and is powerful enuff picking up almost everything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I wish I bought this sooner!
8/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was exactly what I was looking for. If you have pets and want to keep your furniture hair free without using your huge vacuum cleaner, than you won't regret this purchase!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641750, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-