Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

36 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

36 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 35 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Super Doghair Removal
4/11/2011

Customer review by PIEMAN54

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by PIEMAN54
by PIEMAN54

We bought this vacuum for one reason alone. To remove Bailey's (our long haired, shed like crazy, terrier mix, dog) hair from our couch! We recently bought a new, fabric upholstered, sectional. It is lovely and it is brown. Bailey is mostly white! The sofa has magnetic powers when it comes to Bailey's hair. We are not dog whisperers nor do we have the time to train her to stay off the couch. I have a very powerful shop vac and we have several other vacuums with many attachments that could not do the job. My wife was using three rolls of lint tape per week to keep up with Bailey. This was also causing the couch to pill. Today we went to Walmart and bought the SHARK. I cannot begin to tell you how amazed I was immediately!! The motorized brush, combined with the powerful suction removed every single strand of Bailey from our couch. I cannot tell you how happy we are. I chose the corded model because it is a huge sectional. Thank you for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PIEMAN54
Rochester, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome so far....
12/10/2012

Customer review by BonkersforGreyhounds

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by BonkersforGreyhounds
by BonkersforGreyhounds

The Shark seemed like the best model for me (a handheld with a cord) and thus far it has lived up to its name. I read several reviews before purchaing. One lady said this vacume does the one thing it is supposed to do really, Really well. I totally agree. Another review mentioned that most of his frustration and issue(s) were from user error - particularly the overheating, etc. He cautioned people to be sure to empty the the lint-collection chambers often. I have followed his directions and have had ZERO problem. In fact, this little vacuum has been amazing so far. I'm just hoping it doesn't suddenly die, as some users suggested it has. At present - I have cleaned every cusion, pillow and bed mattress in my house - just seeing the gunk that came out, even if the vacuum is "disposable" as one reviewer suggested, it has more than paid for itself (in my home) with what it has done thus far. Absolutely amazing. Fingers crossed that it continues....

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonkersforGreyhounds
Norman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke on first use
1/3/2011

Customer review by boston05

1.0 stars 1/3/2011 by boston05
by boston05

I specifically wanted this for the stairs and our entry way - as it was too much to drag the upright vacuum up and down the stairs. This item worked wonderfully on the carpeted stairs. I then proceeded onto the entry way - and it immediately broke. I used it for a total of 10 minutes and it overheated and died. I cleaned it out, let it cool down and attempted again - nothing. We returned it to Wal-Mart later that afternoon and the associate at customer service chuckled when she saw us place the vacuum on the counter. She pointed behind her and stated that this particular vacuum was the 4th one returned today. Everyone that had returned it today all stated that it broke on first use. Obviously, there is a defect with this particular brand or model - spend your money on something else.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boston05
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Shark Handheld Vacuum Cleaner
1/5/2014

Customer review by KingOfFun

1.0 stars 1/5/2014 by KingOfFun
by KingOfFun

I bought this vacuum because the belt on my Dirt Devil handheld broke and I didn't have any spares with me. Anyway, the box says that it's good for pet hair. If you use it for pet hair, expect the hair to get wrapped around the rotating bar and jam, then melt the belt, which Walmart doesn't carry. The instruction manual doesn't even describe how to access the belt. You have to go to Shark's web site for that information. In addition to the problems with the belt and bearings on the rotating bar, the filter is extremely small, and needs to be emptied at least once during every use. Then, the flexible cable is way too short. Do yourself a favor and buy a Dirt Devil handheld vac. The hose is much longer, the bag holds much more dirt and the belts are available at Kroger. I have a few Dirt Devils that are at least 1 years old. I doubt if the Shark lasts more than a year...

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingOfFun
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beware!
12/13/2010

Customer review by GrannyElen

2.0 stars 12/13/2010 by GrannyElen
by GrannyElen

I purchased a Shark hand held from Walmart and loved it UNTIL the belt broke. Replacement parts are not available for Shark products anywhere, not Walmart, not even vacuum stores. I was able to get a substitute belt but if the filter goes bad, I will have to throw my machine away as there are no substitutes for that. This machine works good, but beware, it is a disposable item. Like a previous review, the dirt container is small, and it over heats easily, but is great for animal hair!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrannyElen
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Power, A little heavy, too short of hose.
12/26/2013

Customer review by jayhawkinomaha

2.0 stars 12/26/2013 by jayhawkinomaha
by jayhawkinomaha

Received as a Christmas gift, used it right away, thought a little heavy for hand held, but, has great power. Used on an area rug and picked up cat hair and fuzz great, used on apholstry did a great job. After using for about 20 minutes emptied the container, then used again, and then 5 minutes later the belt for the roller broke. Now I am very disappointed, as the parts list that came with the Vacuum with the instrucations does not show a belt for it, and after looking at the vacuum closer it does not appear to be very easy to change without taking the whole thing apart. Less than an hour of use, and the belt breaks and don't know where to get one, and disappointed. Initial thought was this thing is great, was going to look into purchasing a new upright to take the place of my Kirby, but having second thoughts now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jayhawkinomaha
Tekamah, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Kids love this product
11/26/2010

Customer review by Mdwstshpr

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Mdwstshpr
by Mdwstshpr

Our dirt devil died and I needed another hand held as our kids use it to vacuum the steps...I wasn't sure what to get and someone at the store when I was looking loved her Shark. The kids had suggested getting it to. It picks up TONS of stuff WOW..need to empty the filter often but we are OK with that. It means it's working!!! Kids use it all the time and LOVE it...Long cord is great when doing stairs you can reach the top and bottom without having to replug back in. Kids are able to empty vacuum and get it going all on their own.Easy to use...We love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mdwstshpr
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I've had this vacuum for over a year...
2/23/2014

Customer review by ArcticHokie

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by ArcticHokie
by ArcticHokie

with no problems whatsoever. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats...the vacuum works as advertised. I've read where people have had problems changing the belt but actually it's fairly easy. First you can buy the belts online from several different vendors. Just do a google/bing search for a Shark V1510 belt (EU-10045). Replacing the belt is simple. You just need to remove 3 screws with a Philips head screwdriver. Take the bottom cover flap off. Looking at the front of vacuum take off the roller screw on the left side. Also on the left side above the roller on the housing where the hose connects remove that screw. Then pull the housing apart. The roller will just slide out. If the belt is broke it will just fall out. Now if you look at the front of your vacuum you'll see the flap that has Shark written on it. What holds it in place is a screw located above the housing on the left side. Once that screw is loose the front cover pops right off and gives you clear access to the axle to connect the belt on the brush. Place the new belt on the roller bar and place the roller bar back in the housing...then replace the screws into the housing. Now place the new belt over the axle...I've found that using the screwdriver to place the belt over the axle is the easiest way. Pop the cover back on. The whole thing takes about 5 minutes. I've replaced 2 belts so far on our vacuum that we've had for almost 1½ years.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArcticHokie
Marion, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of time
1/29/2011

Customer review by JohninIndy

1.0 stars 1/29/2011 by JohninIndy
by JohninIndy

Decent suction, good filtration. The problem with it is that it constantly overheats. If you vacuum a couch with it, it overheats about 1/2-3/4 of the way through. It will almost vacuum a loveseat without shutting off on you. We bought it to clean up pet hair and it really won't work for that. The brushes just don't pick up pet hair. You can vacuum over the same spot 10 times and it will still leave some behind. It never gets fabric what I would consider clean. Move on. This thing is a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohninIndy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Good Vacuum That Is Serviceable
7/31/2012

Customer review by StoicKitty

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by StoicKitty
by StoicKitty

I purchased the Shark Bagless Cyclonic Handheld Vacuum Cleaner Model V1510. So far so good. The vacuum as good suction power and picks up everything. The dust cup could tripled in size as the filter can quickly fill up on a dirty carpet. Emptying the dust cup is very easy so no problem when it gets full. I read a complaint that the replacement belts were not available. I found replacement belts for this vacuum cleaner online. Web search EU-10045. The replacement belts come in a package of two. I have not yet located instructions for best to replace the belts. I believe that if I have to I can figure belt replacement on my own. I might even make a video of the job and upload on youtube.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StoicKitty
Chamblee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a bad vacuum for the price
1/2/2011

Customer review by PanteraRawks

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by PanteraRawks
by PanteraRawks

Product is big for a handheld and tends to overheat if used for long periods (like using on stairs)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PanteraRawks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Horrible product
7/27/2012

Customer review by Keonli

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Keonli
by Keonli

I had this vacuum for less than 2 weeks. During the first few uses, it worked wonderfully with a very strong suction. I use it to get the cat fur off my sectional and off our beds. We have only hardwoods in my house, with one small carpet in my son's room. It hasn't even been used daily, and I always make sure to empty the canister after each use and rinsing out the filter. The other day, the belt stopped spinning. Then the suction was non-existent. I took out the HEPA filter, and the suction through the hose came back stronger than ever. But it only works through the hose and without the filter. The whole point of my buying this was to have a good vacuum with a HEPA filter. I am going to have to return this product after using it less than 10 times. Horrible horrible horrible!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keonli
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Short Lived
6/3/2012

Customer review by Hawkgrl

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by Hawkgrl
by Hawkgrl

When I first bought this, I loved it! It had great power for cleaning our carpeted stairs, touching up heavy drapes, cleaning the couch. After five uses, the belt assembly quit turning and the engine started smelling like it was burning up. I turned it in for warranty work and they sent me another brand new unit. It lasted two times before breaking. Don't waste your time on this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawkgrl
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Really like it!
1/18/2011

Customer review by swtbysmommy

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by swtbysmommy
by swtbysmommy

Vacuum is great, has lots of suction power. Works awesome on stairs and to vacuum out car. Only draw back is that you have to clean filter often or it will lose suction. Other than that we love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swtbysmommy
Cortez, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow!
2/8/2014

Customer review by ContentMomOf6

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by ContentMomOf6
by ContentMomOf6

I went from a Dirt Devil (w/bag) to this Shark Bagless. What an unbelievable difference! Very lightweight compared to the Dirt Devil and extremely powerful! I love that it's so easy to empty, also. I have 5 cats and a dog with corduroy furniture so I was definitely skeptical but with just one swipe of the vacuum cleaner, the hair was gone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ContentMomOf6
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/17/2013

Customer review by Charsammy

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Charsammy
by Charsammy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use with strong suction for such a small vacuum. It is exactly what I hoped it would be. It does a great job of removing pet fur from carpeted stairs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charsammy
Nellysford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for getting pet hair off couches!
12/8/2012

Customer review by apletch1

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by apletch1
by apletch1

This vacuum makes quick work of removing pet fur off the couch - good suction, and the hose gets into the nooks and crannies well. I have never had it overheat on me, but I do need to stop to empty the dust bin often. Also, the "tap clean" system really should be called the "pound clean" system - to remove the dust, I have to take it outside and slam it on pavement, and then I rinse the filter clean and allow it dry 24 hours. It is very loud, though - I just wore noise-cancelling ear protection while using it today, which helped tremendously.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apletch1
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed
5/6/2013

Customer review by Iris323

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Iris323
by Iris323

Don't rely on the see-through dust cup to know when it's time to clean the filter! Very little passes into the cup, so you don't realize that your air filter is hopelessly clogged until your unit overheats, at which point it will not turn back on for many hours. So, your guests are coming and you still can't do that quick last-minute vacuuming that was one of the reasons for buying a hand-held. Now that I know to clean the air filter every 15 minutes even if the cup is empty, I guess it's OK...suction is decent...but this thing is also hurt-your-eardrums loud. Honestly, it's just a pain and I wish I'd bought something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iris323
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Vacuum, Horrible Support
12/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this thing. It cleans my car very well and I have always been impressed. As others have stated, finding replacement parts for this model is near impossible and getting harder. I through my old filter away before realizing this because it got worn out from so much "tapping" clean. After it was gone, I realized the pain of finding a replacement. I just ordered two filters off a vacuum website and will use them until they literally fall apart because I really like this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The Worst Product Ever
4/3/2014

Customer review by Walmarter243

1.0 stars 4/3/2014 by Walmarter243
by Walmarter243

The Shark handheld I bought from Walmart is probably the worst product I have ever owned. Unfortunately I didn't try it till more than 30 days after purchase so couldn't return it. It barely works, very weak suction, makes so much noise I needed hearing protection. I threw it away after trying it a couple of times.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmarter243
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews