Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

30 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

30 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
16
1-20 of 30 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Just Average!
10/24/2012

Customer review by frecklefarm

3.0 stars 10/24/2012 by frecklefarm
by frecklefarm

I hated the way the "pet hair" head was attached. It flopped around on the top of the other one. My husband removed it completely. You can not get under anything with this head on. I had the other model of this same vac that we lost in a recent flood. We loved that one and assumed we would like this one as well. Wrong! 3 stars for the suction and retractable cord.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frecklefarm
lake city, fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just doesn't work
12/8/2012

Customer review by candidq

2.0 stars 12/8/2012 by candidq
by candidq

This vacuum does not, in any way, "erase" pet hair. With the front piece down, it "collects" it, so that you can scoop up the wad of hair and throw it away. With the front piece up, the pet hair will clog up the head, so that you can scoop up the wad of hair and throw it away. A broom is much cheaper, and would probably last longer. There are 2 filters that demand regular cleaning, or a little orange light will come on, alerting me that its not picking up anything. Finally, even after cleaning every piece I could remove, I have the permanent orange "I can't pick up anything else" light. After a year with this thing barely functioning I finally broke down and purchased the Dyson dc23. 2 stars, because it rolls around nicely, and the cord still retracts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candidq
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not as great as I expected
2/22/2013

Customer review by Katherine

2.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Katherine
by Katherine

Let me preface this by saying that I used to own the upright version of the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser and it worked fabulously. When I got wood laminate floors in my house, my mother in law INSISTED that I get a cansiter vacuume so as not to scratch the floors so I got the canister version of the vacuum I was very happy with. The canister version does not clean as well as I expected. I have two dogs and a long haired cat, and I think the level of shedding is too much for this poor thing because it has trouble sucking up the hair, it frequently clogs up (I have to clear at least 2 clogs every time I use it) and it doesn't clean the area rugs any where near adequately. It takes me 2x as long to vaccum my house as it used to (I now have resorted to sweeping and THEN vaccuming because of the clog problems), and I don't even have carpet anymore. After bringing this up with my MIL, apparently these are all common symptoms of a cansiter vaccum, and rather than owning 2 vaccums, I am re-homing this one and getting an upright multi-surface vacuum that actually, well, vacuums.

Comment from Lisa - 2/25/2013

We are sorry for your disappointment. You may be happier with the BISSELL Lift-Off. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/lift-off-multicyclonic-pet-vacuum-18Z61/?icid=ccrr.

Katherine
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
Does the job nicely
12/3/2013

Customer review by Ron050

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Ron050
by Ron050

We have a large house with nearly all hard floors and a dog. This vacuum picks up all the fur no problem. Hair pad on the floor head works well to pull out the fur off the area rugs, however for the bare floor, with the brushes down, it pushes the dirt ahead. Need to pull the head back over the dirt to get it to vacuum it up. I've used better bare floor heads than this one. As with other bagless vacuums we have used, the vacuum itself does need a thorough cleaning once in a while. The handheld turbo brush worked beautifully to remove the fur from the upholstery. The turbo fins need to be cleared out after using; that is a very simply done as the compartment easily opens for cleaning. Only problem after two years of use is with the dirt cup. One of the plastic tabs has broken off and dirt now escapes out the one side. Will need to buy a replacement.

Comment from Lisa - 12/5/2013

Thank you for contacting us. We can help with the part that broke, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Ron050
Ontario, Canada
Gender:Male
Hair-free at last !!
1/11/2014

Customer review by GramaCat2U

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by GramaCat2U
by GramaCat2U

I am Staff to a Main Coon Cat (longhair) and a "Chiranean" (Chihuahua/Pomeranian , also longhair) My house had a central Vac System in it when I bought it ,and I further purchased a "Pet Hair Floor Brush", of course thinking this would be HEAVEN ! I soon discovered it was not even close. I could vac the whole room and go bak with a Swiffer and pick up A LOT more fluff and hair. Rescue friends on Face Book were having a discussion one day about what each thought the best Vac for Pets was and Bissell Cyclonic Pet was mentioned over and over. I thought Dyson had the corner on the Pet market and was very surprised to see it was barely mentioned. Most of the time Dyson came up, the caveat would be, "and then I got the Bissell Cyclonic and I totally prefer it". I bought the Bissell, and it is fantastic ! I don't have to re-Swiffer my floors before I Steam Clean them ! Once over is amazing, the canister is light enough for me to move around ( I have degenerative back disease) most all the attachments are handy under the "hood" on the canister. With the retractable cord and telescoping wand, the great suction and the price point, it is one FANTASTIC little machine !

GramaCat2U
Northern, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Vacuum Graveyard-
2/25/2013

Customer review by stargazer308

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by stargazer308
by stargazer308

Ugh! Another one for my vacuum graveyard! It is so difficult to use-Every time I want to use it I spend at least a half hour troubleshooting. I get so frustrated. I thought when I switched to Bissell I had hit the jackpot-wrong. I am still trying to work out the problems with my Pro heat x2 which is a nightmare also. I remember years ago your vacuum lasted forever. You only had to replace belts and bags and viola! This by the time I trouble shoot the problem of the day with this unit I could have vacuumed my entire house. Hey Bissell-would you like to send me a replacement? Between this and my Pro heat 2 I am just about given up on Bissell which makes me sad as you won me over from Hoover a long, long time ago with the magnificent green machine! What happened? Outsourcing?

Comment from Lisa - 2/27/2013

Hi Stargazer, your machines do include a warranty; please click at the link so we may better assist you with any issues http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.

stargazer308
Dutchess County NY
Gender:Female
Good Design but doesn't vacuum!
8/22/2013

Customer review by sb1229

1.0 stars 8/22/2013 by sb1229
by sb1229

The whole purpose of a vacuum is to suck up dirt and after three uses this vacuum won't suck up the tiniest spec. I opened the manual, checked and replaced all of the filters properly, check the hose, etc. then put the wand near a pile of dirt, turned it up to max....and the dirt just sat there..didn't even wiggle as if it were being teased by the vacuum to get up off my floor. So what did I spend over $100 on??? A giant, cumbersome, overweight, incredibly loud behemoth of a machine that will work just long enough until you can't return it. Then it won't even pretend to do what it claims to. I will give it one star for good design as far as attachment and power plug storage but I take that star away for aggravation and inconvenience.

Comment from Lisa - 8/26/2013

Thank you for your review. Your machine should have great suction; we're sorry you are having trouble. There is a warranty with your machine; please check out the link for a service center location to inspect your machine. http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50

sb1229
Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
clunky and heavy
5/16/2013

Customer review by Bermy Sara

1.0 stars 5/16/2013 by Bermy Sara
by Bermy Sara

With a furry dog and cat, I thought this would be ideal for my tiled floor but it's been very disappointing. The canister part of the vacuum is very heavy and hard to move. The main attachment has poor suction and it's even worse if you put the pet fur pad down, but if you put that up and clean without it, it makes the end so heavy that it just swings round and it's hard to get it back to the right side again. I just used it and now my wrist aches and so does my shoulder from lugging the whole thing around. The pink rubber hair grabber thing is quite good, but obviously I can't use that on my floor, just on the sofas. I just wish it was easier to use and much much lighter to carry, it is very awkward and clunky.

Comment from Lisa - 5/20/2013

Thanks for your review.You may be happier with the BISSELL Powerforce Compact Vacuum. To view, click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/powerforce-compact-bagless-vacuum/

Bermy Sara
Bermuda
Gender:Female
Piece of Rubbish!
5/10/2013

Customer review by Lynda

1.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Lynda
by Lynda

How I wish I had read these reviews before buying and could have saved myself the trouble! We bought it in a hurry when we bought our house, having had to part with all our household electrical items when we moved to Canada. We bought a cylinder vacuum for the first time as we have hard floors and picked this as we have pets. It has now been relegated to removing cat hair from the sofas as using a good old brush on the floors is far less frustrating than trying to use this machine! However, it cannot even cope with that small task. The 'clean filter indicator' comes on EVERY time, SEVERAL times! The dirt cup is never full - I empty it after, and during, every use - and the hose is rarely blocked, although I know that is a problem with cylinder vacuums. It is almost always the pre-motor filter. How BAD must the design of the machine be for the fluff and dust that is supposed to be held in the dirt cup to be outside it and getting onto the pre-motor filter?? Now my Turbo Brush Tool has stopped working, but I admit that was because I threw it on the floor in rage when even cleaning the pre-motor filter YET AGAIN did not turn off the warning light. Just wait until I find a good upholstery brush and will then decide whether taking an axe or a lump hammer to this vacuum would be more fun!

Comment from Lisa - 5/16/2013

We are sorry for the frustration, and we would like to help. The turbo brush is air driven by the machine; therefore, with little suction this won’t work properly as well as the indicator light. There could be a clog in the nozzle or the wand. Please pull off the nozzle and wand to check for clogs. Also, the filters will get dirty; they help to hold onto the dust so it doesn’t get in the motor. The filters should be cleaned every time the machine is used. We hope this helps!

Lynda
Ontario, Canada
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum I ever used1
2/23/2012

Customer review by Lorenzo55

1.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Lorenzo55
by Lorenzo55

There is nothing good about this vacuum. I'm writing this review while I'm waiting for the vacuum to turn back on. It's already been about 40 minutes! I have had it for only about 8 months and it's already over heating. The parts began breaking immediately. The pet hair attachments do NOT pick up pet hair, just move it around. As for the main vacuum head, the hair just accumulates on the bottom; very little gets into the vacuum itself. Every few minutes I have to manually remove the hair before I can begin vacuuming again. It's heavy, the cord is too short, in essence, it is a useless machine. I can't wait to buy a new vacuum. This should be taken off the market!

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Lorenzo55, we are sorry about these issues you are having. It sounds to me like we may have some troubleshooting tips to help resolve your issues. Have you checked to see if the belt was broken or if there is a clog in the hose? Below are 2 convenient videos to assist with these: http://www.bissell.com/how-to-videos/replace-brush-belt-vacuums/?icid=ccrr http://www.bissell.com/how-to-videos/clean-filters-hoses/?icid=ccrr

Lorenzo55
New York, NY
Gender:Female
Very bad don't west your money
10/21/2015

Customer review by Reda

1.0 stars 10/21/2015 by Reda
by Reda

the worst design ever Bissell mead dirt cup is very bad broken easily no matter how you tried to be careful

Reda
North Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Does not pick up anything!!!
8/7/2012

Customer review by Sumi

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Sumi
by Sumi

You've got to be kidding me! I should have left this in the box. This is probably the 5th time I've used this machine. At first I thought I was crazy because I kept going over the same spot and nothing came up. After reading this, clearly I'm not. I have it on the highest suction gage level and it barely picks up anything. I literally have to hold it close to what ever object I want to pick up and if it picks it up, I have to turn the hose upside down so it goes in... What is Bissell going to do about this?? Are we all just out of luck. I'm not the only one dealing with this suction problem. What is the fix here Bissell?

Comment from Joe - 8/13/2012

Sumi, sorry about the difficulty you have encountered. There is a longer hose and attachments with canister vacuums, so there is a greater chance for clogs to develop. Try these troubleshooting steps: 1. Make sure the dirt container is not full. Also, check the pre-motor filter for debris. 2. With the canister open, check for suction behind the pre-motor filter at the motor duct. If there is no suction take your unit to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center by locating one at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50&icid=ccrr 3. If there is suction at the motor duct, unplug the vacuum remove the hose and check for clogs in the suction opening, through the hose, and in the extension wands. The end of a broomstick can be used to push clogs through. 4. Make sure to fully latch the door when reassembling, as the door will not latch without the dirt container fully assembled and properly in place. Here is a link to the user's guide for additional questions: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=7898&icid=ccrr I hope this helps.

Comment from Joe - 8/13/2012

Sumi, sorry about the difficulty you have encountered. There is a longer hose and attachments with canister vacuums, so there is a greater chance for clogs to develop. Try these troubleshooting steps: 1. Make sure the dirt container is not full. Also, check the pre-motor filter for debris. 2. With the canister open, check for suction behind the pre-motor filter at the motor duct. If there is no suction take your unit to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center by locating one at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50&icid=ccrr 3. If there is suction at the motor duct, unplug the vacuum remove the hose and check for clogs in the suction opening, through the hose, and in the extension wands. The end of a broomstick can be used to push clogs through. 4. Make sure to fully latch the door when reassembling, as the door will not latch without the dirt container fully assembled and properly in place. Here is a link to the user's guide for additional questions: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=7898&icid=ccrr I hope this helps.

Sumi
Washington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
Perfect pet hair removal
7/22/2015

Customer review by Lynda52

5.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Lynda52
by Lynda52

I have a cleaning business and this vacuum works perfect. It removes pet hair great. The canister is small, but I clean it out after each house so that's not as problem. This is my second one, and the first lasted 2 years. I like the convience of the attachments being enclosed.

Lynda52
Kilgore Texas
Gender:Female
used one time and it broke
7/14/2015

Customer review by loulou

3.0 stars 7/14/2015 by loulou
by loulou

I used my new Bissell one time and I had to take it to be repaired. Somehow it broke and they had to get me a new one have not received it yet from the company. It worked great when I used it though

Comment from Lisa - 7/22/2015

Thank you for your posting Louise. Your machine has shipped and you should receive this shortly.

loulou
Long Beach, CA, USA
Gender:Female
poor quality
3/13/2014

Customer review by Daphne03

1.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Daphne03
by Daphne03

I wished I had read reviews before purchasing this vacuum. I just received this vacuum on 3/11/14. I was so excited to get it. I opened up the box, read the instructions, and was ready to vacuum. It has good suction, but what highly disappointed me was the brush was not a power brush which is should be. To pick up pet hair was a major chore. It took me 20 minutes just to vacuum my small bedroom and the hair would stick to the brush, but the vacuum would not extract the hair from the brush. I had to shut down the vacuum and pick the hair off the brush and throw it in the trash. I am disabled with major back problems and after vacuuming my bedroom my back hurt badly. I wished I had never bought this vacuum. I was never so disappointed. They should have made the brush as I said a power brush because it certainly doesn't pick up pet hair properly with no power to the brush. I wanted to return the vacuum, but that is hard for me to do. I am sure they expect the customer to clean the vacuum prior to a return, plus having to drive somewhere to have it returned. Not easy for me to do when I am disabled. I have purchased Bissell's for over 30 years and this is the worst I have every purchased. I lost money on this purchase. Money I could have used toward a better model. I was so upset I was about ready to throw this thing in the trash. By the way when I opened up the box I found one of the brushes to be used already. Shows someone else was disappointed and returned it. So I received a used vacuum.

Comment from Lisa - 3/14/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment with your machine. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. You may be happier with the BISSELL Lift-Off, please click at the link to view: http://www.bissell.com/lift-off-multicyclonic-pet-vacuum/?icid=ccrr

Daphne03
Colorado
Gender:Female
My first review ever!
6/3/2012

Customer review by James Andrew

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by James Andrew
by James Andrew

I'm writing this review because of the negative reviews, I have been rescuing cats from a military base for 8 years and have bought countless vacuums"...really. This vacuum was a gift from my mom and it has been awesome.it is easy to empty and it has more suction then any I've owned. Don't believe the reviews I have no Idea how you wouldn't like this vacuum. Also I have never had a vacuum than could run the upholstery rotary tool, this one can! Buy it you wont be sorry.

James Andrew
Olympia, WA, USA
Gender:Male
A regretful purchase
5/6/2014

Customer review by Ness

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Ness
by Ness

I've owned this vacuum cleaner for 2 years, and as soon as I can afford it, I'm going to ditch it. The suction isn't all that great (even on the maximum setting#. It frequently loses suction in spite of me constantly cleaning filters and the dust cup. I often have to trouble shoot #which is what brought me to this website in the first place) just to get it to work. It's high maintenance and low performance. It is very good at picking up human hair though.

Ness
Illinois
Gender:Female
Works great
2/12/2014

Customer review by Randy51

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by Randy51
by Randy51

I have 8 cats and a BIG dog. As you can guess I deal with lots of animal hair. This vacuum has been great. I have been through several vacs in the last couple of years and this is the only one that I have found to work. I really love the attachment for furniture. I did have a problem with the change bag light coming on, what I finally found was that there was something in the hose. I had a hard time getting it out but once I did I have had no more troubles.

Randy51
Elgin, IL, USA
Gender:Male
No power
3/5/2012

Customer review by A-Game

1.0 stars 3/5/2012 by A-Game
by A-Game

This vaccuum has been weak from the start. The suction has been poor and only after a few months did it become entirely useless. I have taken out all filters and either washed or replaced them, checked the hose for anything stuck in it, and nothing has worked. I can hold it only a few inches away from my hand and feel nothing. Very glad it was a gift and I didn't waste my own money on it....and whats with it NOT having a beater bar? It is for hair, correct?

Comment from Joe - 3/6/2012

A-Game, you may want to check the Air Flow Regulator on the handle and the Variable Suction Power Control knob on the canister. They can reduce suction if they are wide open.

A-Game
This vacuum is great
6/7/2012

Customer review by Pebbles

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Pebbles
by Pebbles

I have had this vacuum for several years now and I love it. It has great suction and get get into all those places that hair gets and an upright cannot. It lifts the hair up without getting clogged unlike my previous vacuums. I am about to purchase another one as my original has gotten dirty over the years due to all the pet hair. It is being relegated to the outside mats.

Pebbles
MS
Gender:Female
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews