Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

29 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

29 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 29 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Just Average!
10/24/2012

Customer review by frecklefarm

3.0 stars 10/24/2012 by frecklefarm
by frecklefarm

I hated the way the "pet hair" head was attached. It flopped around on the top of the other one. My husband removed it completely. You can not get under anything with this head on. I had the other model of this same vac that we lost in a recent flood. We loved that one and assumed we would like this one as well. Wrong! 3 stars for the suction and retractable cord.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frecklefarm
lake city, fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just doesn't work
12/8/2012

Customer review by candidq

2.0 stars 12/8/2012 by candidq
by candidq

This vacuum does not, in any way, "erase" pet hair. With the front piece down, it "collects" it, so that you can scoop up the wad of hair and throw it away. With the front piece up, the pet hair will clog up the head, so that you can scoop up the wad of hair and throw it away. A broom is much cheaper, and would probably last longer. There are 2 filters that demand regular cleaning, or a little orange light will come on, alerting me that its not picking up anything. Finally, even after cleaning every piece I could remove, I have the permanent orange "I can't pick up anything else" light. After a year with this thing barely functioning I finally broke down and purchased the Dyson dc23. 2 stars, because it rolls around nicely, and the cord still retracts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candidq
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My first review ever!
6/3/2012

Customer review by James Andrew

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by James Andrew
by James Andrew

I'm writing this review because of the negative reviews, I have been rescuing cats from a military base for 8 years and have bought countless vacuums"...really. This vacuum was a gift from my mom and it has been awesome.it is easy to empty and it has more suction then any I've owned. Don't believe the reviews I have no Idea how you wouldn't like this vacuum. Also I have never had a vacuum than could run the upholstery rotary tool, this one can! Buy it you wont be sorry.

James Andrew
Olympia, WA, USA
Gender:Male
This vacuum is great
6/7/2012

Customer review by Pebbles

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Pebbles
by Pebbles

I have had this vacuum for several years now and I love it. It has great suction and get get into all those places that hair gets and an upright cannot. It lifts the hair up without getting clogged unlike my previous vacuums. I am about to purchase another one as my original has gotten dirty over the years due to all the pet hair. It is being relegated to the outside mats.

Pebbles
MS
Gender:Female
Hair-free at last !!
1/11/2014

Customer review by GramaCat2U

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by GramaCat2U
by GramaCat2U

I am Staff to a Main Coon Cat (longhair) and a "Chiranean" (Chihuahua/Pomeranian , also longhair) My house had a central Vac System in it when I bought it ,and I further purchased a "Pet Hair Floor Brush", of course thinking this would be HEAVEN ! I soon discovered it was not even close. I could vac the whole room and go bak with a Swiffer and pick up A LOT more fluff and hair. Rescue friends on Face Book were having a discussion one day about what each thought the best Vac for Pets was and Bissell Cyclonic Pet was mentioned over and over. I thought Dyson had the corner on the Pet market and was very surprised to see it was barely mentioned. Most of the time Dyson came up, the caveat would be, "and then I got the Bissell Cyclonic and I totally prefer it". I bought the Bissell, and it is fantastic ! I don't have to re-Swiffer my floors before I Steam Clean them ! Once over is amazing, the canister is light enough for me to move around ( I have degenerative back disease) most all the attachments are handy under the "hood" on the canister. With the retractable cord and telescoping wand, the great suction and the price point, it is one FANTASTIC little machine !

GramaCat2U
Northern, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Perfect pet hair removal
7/22/2015

Customer review by Lynda52

5.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Lynda52
by Lynda52

I have a cleaning business and this vacuum works perfect. It removes pet hair great. The canister is small, but I clean it out after each house so that's not as problem. This is my second one, and the first lasted 2 years. I like the convience of the attachments being enclosed.

Lynda52
Kilgore Texas
Gender:Female
It does the job for the money
9/15/2012

Customer review by Katniss

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Katniss
by Katniss

It does the job, vacuums brush a bit big and clunky, cord a bit shirt,but it does picking up a lot of hairs,have lots of nice attachments. I have cats and dogs, and for this money I can buy every couple years a new vacuum, instead spending 300-400 and something that does about the same job.So, it works, if you don't want spend bunch of money on the vacuum.

Katniss
Georgia, USA
Gender:Female
Does the job nicely
12/3/2013

Customer review by Ron050

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Ron050
by Ron050

We have a large house with nearly all hard floors and a dog. This vacuum picks up all the fur no problem. Hair pad on the floor head works well to pull out the fur off the area rugs, however for the bare floor, with the brushes down, it pushes the dirt ahead. Need to pull the head back over the dirt to get it to vacuum it up. I've used better bare floor heads than this one. As with other bagless vacuums we have used, the vacuum itself does need a thorough cleaning once in a while. The handheld turbo brush worked beautifully to remove the fur from the upholstery. The turbo fins need to be cleared out after using; that is a very simply done as the compartment easily opens for cleaning. Only problem after two years of use is with the dirt cup. One of the plastic tabs has broken off and dirt now escapes out the one side. Will need to buy a replacement.

Comment from Consumer Care - 12/5/2013

Thank you for contacting us. We can help with the part that broke, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Ron050
Ontario, Canada
Gender:Male
Works great
2/12/2014

Customer review by Randy51

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by Randy51
by Randy51

I have 8 cats and a BIG dog. As you can guess I deal with lots of animal hair. This vacuum has been great. I have been through several vacs in the last couple of years and this is the only one that I have found to work. I really love the attachment for furniture. I did have a problem with the change bag light coming on, what I finally found was that there was something in the hose. I had a hard time getting it out but once I did I have had no more troubles.

Randy51
Elgin, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Hard to maintain
3/9/2014

Customer review by Jhgavin

3.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Jhgavin
by Jhgavin

Has very small dirt holder, filter clogs easily. Vacuum loses suction due to filter and an added part in the cup that also collects dog hair and clogs easily. Another issue would be the cord is only held into place by wedging it into a clip, this causes it to fall off constantly. Vacuum does a good job if you have a lot of time and patients.

Comment from Consumer Care - 3/11/2014

Thanks for your feedback. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. To ensure all the hair is cleaned from your machine it's best to pull off the floor nozzle to check for debris, and check the upholstery hose for any clogs.

Jhgavin
Grand Rapids, Mi
Gender:Male
used one time and it broke
7/14/2015

Customer review by loulou

3.0 stars 7/14/2015 by loulou
by loulou

I used my new Bissell one time and I had to take it to be repaired. Somehow it broke and they had to get me a new one have not received it yet from the company. It worked great when I used it though

Comment from Consumer Care - 7/22/2015

Thank you for your posting Louise. Your machine has shipped and you should receive this shortly.

loulou
Long Beach, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Good vacuum but not beeter head brush
1/21/2013

Customer review by CaptainShop

2.0 stars 1/21/2013 by CaptainShop
by CaptainShop

When this vacuum came I was surprised that it is advertised as a Pet Hair vacuum but it does not have a beeter head for carpeted areas. I returned the vacuum to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainShop
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as great as I expected
2/22/2013

Customer review by Katherine

2.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Katherine
by Katherine

Let me preface this by saying that I used to own the upright version of the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser and it worked fabulously. When I got wood laminate floors in my house, my mother in law INSISTED that I get a cansiter vacuume so as not to scratch the floors so I got the canister version of the vacuum I was very happy with. The canister version does not clean as well as I expected. I have two dogs and a long haired cat, and I think the level of shedding is too much for this poor thing because it has trouble sucking up the hair, it frequently clogs up (I have to clear at least 2 clogs every time I use it) and it doesn't clean the area rugs any where near adequately. It takes me 2x as long to vaccum my house as it used to (I now have resorted to sweeping and THEN vaccuming because of the clog problems), and I don't even have carpet anymore. After bringing this up with my MIL, apparently these are all common symptoms of a cansiter vaccum, and rather than owning 2 vaccums, I am re-homing this one and getting an upright multi-surface vacuum that actually, well, vacuums.

Comment from Consumer Care - 2/25/2013

We are sorry for your disappointment. You may be happier with the BISSELL Lift-Off. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/lift-off-multicyclonic-pet-vacuum-18Z61/?icid=ccrr.

Katherine
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
Dissappointed
9/2/2013

Customer review by Catwoman

2.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Catwoman
by Catwoman

With cats and dogs in and out of the house, I needed a good vacuum to do the daily chore. In less than a year my Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Cyclonic Canister Vacuum doesn't pick up a grain of litter. We've changed filters, checked hose and also noticed it blows out very hot air after running a couple of minutes. Guess the motor is getting ready to quit.

Comment from Consumer Care - 9/6/2013

Check the hose for any cracks in it. The extension wands can get clogs too, so try using a broomstick and run it through. Also there are several filters, including the post-motor filter on the back. I hope this helps.

Catwoman
georgia
Gender:Female
Pet hair eraser?
12/23/2012

Customer review by Heather59

1.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Heather59
by Heather59

Sorry folks, but I did not find this vacuum very effective. I have mostly bare floors, and it worked ok for those but it did NOT pick up well on the rug. I used it for about 6 months, then purchased something else. I did give it away to a new home.

Comment from Consumer Care - 12/26/2012

We are sorry you were disappointed with your machine. Though, you purchased a different vacuum, please check out this link for other Bissell options. http://www.bissell.com/vacuums/

Heather59
Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Does not pick up anything!!!
8/7/2012

Customer review by Sumi

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Sumi
by Sumi

You've got to be kidding me! I should have left this in the box. This is probably the 5th time I've used this machine. At first I thought I was crazy because I kept going over the same spot and nothing came up. After reading this, clearly I'm not. I have it on the highest suction gage level and it barely picks up anything. I literally have to hold it close to what ever object I want to pick up and if it picks it up, I have to turn the hose upside down so it goes in... What is Bissell going to do about this?? Are we all just out of luck. I'm not the only one dealing with this suction problem. What is the fix here Bissell?

Comment from Consumer Care - 8/13/2012

Sumi, sorry about the difficulty you have encountered. There is a longer hose and attachments with canister vacuums, so there is a greater chance for clogs to develop. Try these troubleshooting steps: 1. Make sure the dirt container is not full. Also, check the pre-motor filter for debris. 2. With the canister open, check for suction behind the pre-motor filter at the motor duct. If there is no suction take your unit to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center by locating one at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50&icid=ccrr 3. If there is suction at the motor duct, unplug the vacuum remove the hose and check for clogs in the suction opening, through the hose, and in the extension wands. The end of a broomstick can be used to push clogs through. 4. Make sure to fully latch the door when reassembling, as the door will not latch without the dirt container fully assembled and properly in place. Here is a link to the user's guide for additional questions: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=7898&icid=ccrr I hope this helps.

Comment from Consumer Care - 8/13/2012

Sumi, sorry about the difficulty you have encountered. There is a longer hose and attachments with canister vacuums, so there is a greater chance for clogs to develop. Try these troubleshooting steps: 1. Make sure the dirt container is not full. Also, check the pre-motor filter for debris. 2. With the canister open, check for suction behind the pre-motor filter at the motor duct. If there is no suction take your unit to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center by locating one at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50&icid=ccrr 3. If there is suction at the motor duct, unplug the vacuum remove the hose and check for clogs in the suction opening, through the hose, and in the extension wands. The end of a broomstick can be used to push clogs through. 4. Make sure to fully latch the door when reassembling, as the door will not latch without the dirt container fully assembled and properly in place. Here is a link to the user's guide for additional questions: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=7898&icid=ccrr I hope this helps.

Sumi
Washington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
plugs up
4/8/2012

Customer review by Kathy

1.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Kathy
by Kathy

If you can keep the hose unplugged it does work well but the curve in the handle with the little things inside catch everything and plug up tight. Takes longer to unplug the hose than it does to vacuum the house.

Kathy
Billings, MT
Gender:Female
No power
3/5/2012

Customer review by A-Game

1.0 stars 3/5/2012 by A-Game
by A-Game

This vaccuum has been weak from the start. The suction has been poor and only after a few months did it become entirely useless. I have taken out all filters and either washed or replaced them, checked the hose for anything stuck in it, and nothing has worked. I can hold it only a few inches away from my hand and feel nothing. Very glad it was a gift and I didn't waste my own money on it....and whats with it NOT having a beater bar? It is for hair, correct?

Comment from Consumer Care - 3/6/2012

A-Game, you may want to check the Air Flow Regulator on the handle and the Variable Suction Power Control knob on the canister. They can reduce suction if they are wide open.

A-Game
1.5 years and motor burns out
2/11/2012

Customer review by Allan

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Allan
by Allan

When it worked, it worked well. But after a year and 1/2 the motor burns out? Cmon...

Allan
Worst vacuum I ever used1
2/23/2012

Customer review by Lorenzo55

1.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Lorenzo55
by Lorenzo55

There is nothing good about this vacuum. I'm writing this review while I'm waiting for the vacuum to turn back on. It's already been about 40 minutes! I have had it for only about 8 months and it's already over heating. The parts began breaking immediately. The pet hair attachments do NOT pick up pet hair, just move it around. As for the main vacuum head, the hair just accumulates on the bottom; very little gets into the vacuum itself. Every few minutes I have to manually remove the hair before I can begin vacuuming again. It's heavy, the cord is too short, in essence, it is a useless machine. I can't wait to buy a new vacuum. This should be taken off the market!

Comment from Consumer Care - 4/2/2012

Lorenzo55, we are sorry about these issues you are having. It sounds to me like we may have some troubleshooting tips to help resolve your issues. Have you checked to see if the belt was broken or if there is a clog in the hose? Below are 2 convenient videos to assist with these: http://www.bissell.com/how-to-videos/replace-brush-belt-vacuums/?icid=ccrr http://www.bissell.com/how-to-videos/clean-filters-hoses/?icid=ccrr

Lorenzo55
New York, NY
Gender:Female
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews