Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 71 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
A great deal!
10/9/2011

Customer review by Lowry01

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Lowry01
by Lowry01

I rely heavily on customer reviews and so I did some searching for the best rated vacuum cleaners for pet hair. I have two golden retrievers and the pet hair on my area rug and carpet can get pretty bad. My old dirt devil wasn't working and we had to use a hair collecting mit to go over the rugs even after we ran the vacuum cleaner. I ordered this based off of customer reviews I found online and because I wan't going to spend $500 on a Dyson. This thing is amazing! I have a fairly small living room and bedroom and I emptied the canister 9 or more times and collected a 13 gallon trash bag of dirt and dog hair my old vacuum cleaner wasn't picking up!!! I couldn't believe what was in our carpets, and they are only five years old. It picks up dog hair like a dream and I high recommend this to anyone with pets!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lowry01
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Much Better Than Expected
7/9/2010

Customer review by Anglophile53

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Anglophile53
by Anglophile53

I had earlier purchased a vacuum cleaner based on a recommendation from Consumer Reports. Unfortunately, it did not work well at all. This time I was more fortunate. This vacuum cleaner was also recommended by them, but this one does a phenomenal job in cleaning. Especially with the dogs I have in the house (much shedding). By just vacuuming two rooms and a hallway with the Bissell Vacuum, I filled the entire cup and had to empty it for another go-around. And, again, it filled another cup with dirt and hair. Incredible! The rugs look fantastic! And this vacuum is cheaper than most vacuums designed for removing pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anglophile53
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/26/2011

Customer review by walkfarwmn

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by walkfarwmn
by walkfarwmn

I love this vacuum cleaner. The only downside is that the canister is small and has to be emptied more often than most vacuum cleaners, but with the performance of the vacuum it is well worth the extra time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walkfarwmn
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
6/7/2012

Customer review by Danny27

3.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Danny27
by Danny27

I actually bought this vaccum after reading so many raving reviews. The vaccum is not bad at all, the only issue that I have but it is a very big deal for me is the filtering and cleaning. There like 3 or 4 components where dust sticks to it and it causes the suction to deteriorate. The top has this cylinder like things with slits but dust and dirt attaches itself easily and when it gets to stuffed up the suction becomes weak, then the filters have the same problem on the bottom. Overall it becomes very messy to clean when you take it apart so all the HEPA filtration negates when you try and empty the canister and most likely you will have to clean the filters because after a good cleaning all of them pretty much get suffocated. I gave it a 3 star because it vaccums well when you have it clean but after a few vaccums you have to do a thorough cleansing of the filter components and this is where it becomes very messy.

Comment from Joe - 6/11/2012

Thanks for the review Danny27. It can be a bit messy to deal with cleaning the Inner/Outer filters and the HEPA Media filter, but the upside is not having to replace bags. If you are interested in using a bagged unit we offer one. We also have a few models with HEPA filtration and easy empty dirt containers. They are the Healthy Home and PowerClean vacuums and you can view them at this link http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2464,9242&icid=ccrr

Danny27
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Features of this Vac
3/16/2012

Customer review by Sham

2.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Sham
by Sham

Bought this vac 2 weeks ago. Works great as a vacuum but the filters need cleaning constantly. Suppose that's a good thing since they are really doing their job. Performs well on all my carpets and throw rugs. The tools are a nightmare. First no standard vacuum tools will fit this unit. So if you have specialty tools you're out of luck. Not a standard size 1.25 diameter. The double tool is useless since it always turns when you are using it and prevents the suction from the side you want and you can't replace it with any other tool that is better because of the size issue. As you try to use the tools, the hose does not stretch well and the vacuum continually falls over so you are never far from you vac. The connection from the hose to the bottom unit is weak and continually pulls out the socket. Dissappointed in a lot of the features except the floor vac part. Probably would not purchase again.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for the review. The reversible tool should not easily slide out of place. Please contact our Customer Care by phone or email at: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr as the tool may be broken. Additionally, you may be stretching the hose too far so you may want to move the vacuum closer to the areas you plan on cleaning with the upholstery hose. I hope this helps.

Sham
Arizona
Gender:Male
Very good at removing pet hair
6/30/2011

Customer review by Busi26

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Busi26
by Busi26

Very good at removing pet hair

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busi26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sucks it up!
10/19/2011

Customer review by Kstoyks

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Kstoyks
by Kstoyks

We just moved into a new apartment and the amount of junk brought in by our shoes moving in... GROSS. This vacuum definitely took care of it. I read that this was a great buy in Consumer Reports and it seems to be living up to that reputation. It really picks up everything! Of course emptying the canister can be a mess in and of itself, but it is worth it to have such great suction every time I vacuum. Also, it is a bit heavy, so if you have a lot of stairs to go up and down, I would recommend something lighter. The attachments are nice, I wish the hose where you attach them would stretch farther without pulling the vacuum over, but maybe I am too rough! GOod buy, I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kstoyks
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Expectations Exceeded
2/1/2013

Customer review by Ladybug

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Ladybug
by Ladybug

I moved into a studio home 6 months ago and got rid of my poor excuse of a vacuum at that time. It just didn't work well at all and it was old. Financial situations arose and spending money wasn't an immediate option. Cleaning floors with a broom was back tiring and the smell of the dust kicking up was not pleasant. I did a lot of research and after reading the recommendation from Consumers Report thought I'd check out this Bissell; a trustworthy name AND affordable! My retired vacuum cost much more than this one and didn't perform nearly as well even when new. I'm very pleased with the ease in using this vacuum and especially pleased that there are no bad odors anymore. Kudos, Bissell for getting it to me 4 days earlier than than promised and with no shipping fees! Thank you!

Ladybug
Cottonwood Heights
Gender:Female
Great Suction
2/15/2013

Customer review by Rolly SAn

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Rolly SAn
by Rolly SAn

This vacuum has been fantastic! I was a little hesitant to purchase it because I read a few negative comments and wondered if they were true or just a case of someone not reading the instructions, but my fears were dispelled once I used it a few times. I was mostly concerned about the hose detaching from the unit while using it, but found that to be untrue. The hose locks on to the unit and if attached properly does not come out. I did find the hose to be a little short however and you must pull the vacuum cleaner along with you as you move to a new spot, but that is a minor inconvenience considering the way it picks up dirt and hair. I found it easy to clean and love the fact that I don't have to buy replacement bags anymore. Overall, this has been an excellent purchase.

Rolly SAn
Swansea, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Great!, Bad reviews are people that cant understand....
11/27/2012

Customer review by Kelly

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Kelly
by Kelly

It works exactly as advertised, which is great, and it picks up a LOT of dirt and dust. Many of the reviews im reading sound as if they didnt even buy the same vacuum I just used for the last half hour. I believe some dont realize just how dirty their house is, and are either clogging the hose, or totally covering the filter with lots of dust or animal hair. It works fine with just shaking out or washing the outer filter. If it didnt collect so much dirt, the filter wouldnt get be covered and it would instead be STILL in your carpet. I think many are used to a weaker vacuum that simply doesnt pick up much and are shocked to see and smell what is being picked up from their very own carpets. The filters have NO smell of their own, its the dust from your house.

Kelly
Pa
Gender:Female
I am in HEAVEN and LOVING it!!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by Miss Kitty Boo

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Miss Kitty Boo
by Miss Kitty Boo

My old vacuum cleaner died, so my hubby and I (based on several factors) picked out this one to replace it. What a great Christmas gift to me!! This vacuum cleaner showed us how bad the other one was by vacuuming (after we Bissell sweept) the carpet and dug down and picked up stuff we didn't know we possessed!! The attachments work great; we had to search for the edger and discovered it conveniently tucked inside the wand (great protector spot). Sucks up dog hair, everything (including the darkened spots in our carpet); it is easy-to-use (I have a bum knee so straining is out and this machine makes all of it effortless). We love it. Now, we argue over who gets to vacuum (we both have asthma) as we no longer have breathing issues when vacuuming.

Miss Kitty Boo
Beaverton, OR
Gender:Female
Love Bissell
12/24/2011

Customer review by taralyn68

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by taralyn68
by taralyn68

This is the second time I've bought this vacuum so that tells you how much I like it.The suction is good, it's easy to maneuver & the onboard tools are easy to get to. One of the best things about it is the dust cup that empties in a snap. The filters are also easy to clean-just rinse them out. Along with being bagless,-this feature has paid for the sweeper over the years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
taralyn68
Pittsburgh, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
garbage
12/10/2012

Customer review by indylou

1.0 stars 12/10/2012 by indylou
by indylou

I had a Cleanview years ago, and loved it. After it started wearing out, I purchased a new one. This new one was a Cleanview Helix. What a difference. The old one sucked up all of the dog hair, dirt, anything that needed to be cleaned up. This new one still looks brand new, but I can't tell you if it sucks well or not. The darn wheels kept falling off! I ordered new wheels, and had the same problem. I ended up taking all usable parts off of it, and tossed the thing. I now am using the Momentum, but will have to wait and see how it turns out. So far, it seems to work well. At least the wheels are staying on! I've been purchasing Bissell products for quit awhile now, and this is the only one that I would not consider buying again.

Comment from Lisa - 12/12/2012

We are sorry for your trouble. Please make sure to contact us at this link if you have trouble with your new machine. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/. Thank you for your review.

indylou
Carleon, MI
Gender:Female
AWEFUL!!!!
9/26/2012

Customer review by FefeUSA

1.0 stars 9/26/2012 by FefeUSA
by FefeUSA

I bought a Bissell Cleanview Helix Deluxe 6 months ago. I was impressed on the first weeks. So I made the huge mistake of throwing away the box and misplaced the receipt. Within 2 months, YES, 2 months, the vaccuum lost it's suction. I don't know what happened! I've done EVERYTHING to try and fix it but it's just worthless. I've paid $160 and it's a piece of junk. I live in a small apartment. I don't have any pets, so I don't need to vaccuum as much. I wish I knew how to fix it or to get it replaced. But I don't want to spend a penny. I've paid a lot of money for this to brake within 2 months of little use. I am very frustrated and disappointed. I'm stuck with a piece of junk and have no way of getting better.

FefeUSA
Greenwood,IN
Gender:Female
Great job on pet hair
3/13/2012

Customer review by Older mountain man

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Older mountain man
by Older mountain man

We bought this a month ago and use it on carpet and bare floors. We have 2 cats (one is a long hair that sheds constantly). The first time vacuuming the carpet I had to empty the dirt container and clean the filters about every 10 minutes. Amazing what was picked up even though we vacuum regularily. Granted, the filter cleaning process is a bit time consuming; but, I have a tip. Rather than washing the outer (foam) circular filter every time you empty the dirt container, take it outside and brush it off, shake it really well and reinstall it. Then, do the thorough cleaning and washing of the parts when you're done for the day. I think this is a very good vacuum for the money!

Older mountain man
Prescott, AZ
Gender:Male
Poors people vacuum
2/22/2012

Customer review by Desert

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Desert
by Desert

It cleans fairly good when it is new. It requires cleaning of all the filters after every use otherwise you will spent double of time vacuuming. It requires about 20 minutes to wash all the filters and then wait a day or two till it is all dry. Besides all the filter troubles. There's a pipe at the back which you need to unscrew in order to clean, but the trick of using a broom stick as described in care instructions doesn't work. I had to use long knitting needle, fork and spent about 30 minutes trying to clean the clog. I wish at the moment I bought that vacuum a had a bit more money to buy something with the bag. You have to spent lots of personal time on bagless vacuums.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Desert, thanks for pointing out the trick to using a broom to check for clogs. Something that may help you get it into the lower hose easier is unplugging the unit and removing the brush and belt. This will allow you to unscrew the one screw to the lower hose and easily drive a broomstick through it to check for a clog. Another great idea is to have an additional set of filters so one can dry thoroughly while the other is in use. You can find you filter at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=2459&icid=ccrr

Desert
Lancaster, CA
Gender:Female
not happy
6/9/2012

Customer review by abby

3.0 stars 6/9/2012 by abby
by abby

i really like the clearview Vac the one thats purple.Picks up well,however i have to clean the filters too often. The round filter that is foam that goes around another filter,(i think its called an inner and outer filter ).Well the outer foam filter stink so bad im having to purchase another one.Washing and letting it dry for days, it still stink soooo bad.This filter is also super hard to find in stores. I just went to 5 stores and could not find this inner /outer filter.Im not a happy camper right about now. Cant use my vaccum because i threw the foam filter away. It smelled do bad.Now im online to order the product. UPSET !!!!!!!

Comment from Joe - 6/11/2012

Sorry about the issues you are having Abby. If you prefer you can knock the filter out rather than washing it. I've done that and have not had mine smell poorly. We wish more retailers carried our parts, but you can always easily get them on our website. Here is a link to those filters http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=2459&cid=ccsocial

abby
baton rouge la
Gender:Female
Goodbye pet hair!!!!
9/9/2012

Customer review by domaco

4.0 stars 9/9/2012 by domaco
by domaco

I just purchased the Cleanview helix and was totally amazed at how much dirt/pet hair it could pick up. Not too heavy to operate, and cleaning out the filters is a small price to pay for this much suction. A few operating quirks to work through. On the negative side, I have to agree that the attachments are worthless - very little suction from the hose, and even less when you use the "turbo brush". There is NOTHING TURBO ABOUT IT. I didn't find the crevice device until it fell out of the extension rod. Overall, for under $100 it is worth it.

domaco
Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Female
great product
1/17/2013

Customer review by heyjudy_13

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by heyjudy_13
by heyjudy_13

this is my first bagless vacuum and i love it. it is very easy to keep the filter parts clean. it only takes a minute to keep it in perfect working condition. the first time i used it i could not believe how much pet hair and dirt it picked up. it had only been 3 days since i vacuumed with my old one. it's very powerful with an extra long cord. the only complaint is the hose will drop out of its holder at the handle when i run the vacuum into walls, ect. but, the easy way to resolve that is to not bang it into things. love this vacuum.

heyjudy_13
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Ear piercing noisy
4/16/2012

Customer review by LoJ

2.0 stars 4/16/2012 by LoJ
by LoJ

Read all the reviews and bought the Clearview model. The cleaning was fine, but it was so loud that we had to wear ear pads. We finally gave up using the vacuum after a few tries and since our daughter needed a new vacuum, we gave it to her. Her 15 month old toddler was in the same room as she turned it on the first time and the child was so highly startled that she is not able to use the vacuum in her house either. Do we have a defective vacuum? Is there something that we could do to lessen the ear piercing noise? Please help!!

Comment from Joe - 4/18/2012

Thanks for the review LoJ. Please give our Consumer Care reps a call to help you out. 1-800-237-7691 M-F: 8a-10p ET Sat: 9a-8p ET Sun: 10a-7p ET

LoJ
Milton, De
Gender:Female
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews