Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 544 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

544 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

544 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
325
4 stars
124
3 stars
50
2 stars
30
1 stars
15
1-20 of 502 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 502 total reviews
1-20 of 502 reviews
Great product ! I
12/23/2016

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Robert
by Robert

I have had one of these units for over one year and it works and empties out easy. I am going to buy one for my basement and plan on getting two others as gifts. I would like to see a small one for my auto so that I do not have to get the 120 volt vac out. I think it would be a great seller ! thanks, Bob, Michigan

Robert
Michigan
Gender:Male
I use it every day
11/18/2016

Customer review by doctormom

4.0 stars 11/18/2016 by doctormom
by doctormom

It is easy to empty the dirt cups. It sweeps up quite a bit. It saves my vacuum from picking up big things that could get stuck. I can watch TV and clean the carpet at the same time. Very much worth the money.

doctormom
Olympia, WA, USA
Gender:Female
OK Sweeper
8/10/2016

Customer review by barbieq

3.0 stars 8/10/2016 by barbieq
by barbieq

This sweeper is an okay sweeper for as small as it is. It does what I bought it for -- to clean up crumbs from under the dining room table and minor dirt/dust. It won't clean major dirt/messes. The biggest problem I have is the handle. When you're done sweeping and put the handle in the upright position, it leans forward instead of straight up. This causes the sweeper to fall over unless you lean it against something. This is an inconvenience because I really don't want it leaning against my walls. I'm not sure if they are all like this or just mine.

barbieq
MD
Gender:Female
Needed for my pool...
7/27/2016

Customer review by Kevin

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Kevin
by Kevin

Hey Bissell - I hope your listening. I need a hand powered sweeper for my above ground pool. I need it to pick up leaves and small twigs and especially fine dirt. The dirt that just blows around with my current machine. It needs a fine filter to trap the silt-like dirt. I need the unit to be made of water-proof material to provide years of service and to be weighted. There are many pool vacs out there , some use the return to power the system. some are battery operated and some are even electric (ouch). You guys can corner the market with a pool cleaner like your carpet cleaner. I'm waiting...

Kevin
Hazlet, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Bissell sweeper
8/23/2016

Customer review by Teena

4.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Teena
by Teena

I like the sweeper. I do a lot of sewing and my carpets are always with a good amount of little pieces of thread that I track with my walking from one room to the other. I have always used the vacuum every day, but it's getting to be a chore, so with the sweeper I only need to vacuum once a week. It saves me time and back ache. I'm quite pleased with it. Thanks

Teena
NY
Gender:Female
Can't use this product if the handle keeps coming apart
1/7/2013

Customer review by Housewife56

3.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Housewife56
by Housewife56

My elderly parents purchased the Bissell Sturdy Sweep. They were looking for a sweeper to use in between vacuuming. They use it in the family room downstairs so they don't have to lug the vacuum up and down the stairs all the time. The handle keeps coming apart making it a pain in the hind end to use. I am now looking for another sweeper to replace the Sturdy Sweep. I have been looking at different brands and Bissell should revisit their design for the handles. I read a ton of reviews and quite a few customers are now shopping for another brand of sweeper because of the flaw in Bissells handles. Will probably buy a different brand, need something more dependable for my parents. Too bad somebody dropped the ball on the handle design because Bissell has always been a quality product.

Comment from Lisa - 1/8/2013

We are sorry for your trouble. Please click at the link and we will be happy to replace the handle for you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.

Housewife56
Fair Lawn, N.J.
Gender:Female
Sturdy Sweep Carpet and Floor Manual Sweeper
1/28/2016

Customer review by Berni

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Berni
by Berni

My mom owned a Bissell carpet sweeper. As soon as I was on my own, I bought one because I always thought it was the greatest accessory to have in a household. The one that I had for over 40 years finally broke and I immediately ordered a replace one. After trying it out, I was so amazed at what my new one picked up that I ordered two more. One to give my daughter with two small kids and one to take to my cabin in the mountains. The new one is smaller than my original one, but it is unbelievable how effective it is. I can't say enough good things about it. I LOVE it and I never want to be without one. I use it on carpets, rugs and hard wood floors and it works well on all surfaces.

Berni
Auburn, CA.
Gender:Female
Love my two Bissells
9/17/2014

Customer review by Crafty

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by Crafty
by Crafty

Got one for my house as we have friends over for dinner often and I have a turkish rug in my kitchen, not to mention rugs everywhere else, including wall to wall in our lower entry area, off the garage where the cat has his litter box. All I have to do now is grab the bissell and 10 minutes later everything looks great. No getting out the vacuum for spot cleaning. Loved it so much, got one for our vacation home. My grandchildren are now all Bissell whizzes, and cleaning up after a messy dinner or the weekend goes much more quickly ... Now, if there was just a Bissell washer and dryer that could do 8 loads of sheets and towels in no time, we would be set. Am giving one to my daughter and to my daughter-in-law for Christmas.

Crafty
Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT Cleaning
3/5/2016

Customer review by Anavah

5.0 stars 3/5/2016 by Anavah
by Anavah

When I was growing up I remember having a carpet sweeper & I loved it. When I saw Bissell still sold them I could hardly wait to get one. After reading reviews from other consumers I decided on this little beauty. When I opened the box & saw the size I was rather shocked because I remember the one from childhood being a bit larger. After using it the first time I was pleasantly surprised & even grateful because it goes everywhere! The biggest to the tightest. It really does go from bare floor to carpet & back to bare floor! And with it's edge cleaning ability...WOW!! Even dog hair & sand are no match. (Using my broom in a house with three dogs is futile, the pet hair just goes airborn) I have combination floors in my home; wood, tile, area rugs, & linoleum. This little sweeper handles them all with no problem...ever! For everyday cleaning it's perfect & beats dragging out my upright vacuum. It's also as light as a feather so we mature people & even the kids can use it with ease. And emptying out the dirt & hair couldn't be simpler. Just hold the collection bin over the garbage can, lift & empty, you're done! To say the least, I'm in love & highly recommend the Bissell Sturdy Sweep. You will never go wrong owning it & I might add since it's non-electrical, you can still clean when the power goes out or you just want to save a bit more on the ol' electric bill. Thank you Bissell, keep up the great work!!

Anavah
North Central Florida
Gender:Female
Easy Peasy Cleaning
6/10/2016

Customer review by Kay

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Kay
by Kay

It just glides over the carpet and cleans it so effortlessly. It's so much nicer to use than dragging out the big electric vacuum. I highly recommend this product. You'll find that it is worth every penny.

Kay
Charlotte, MI 48813, USA
Gender:Female
Very dependable, really good product!!!
5/19/2014

Customer review by jlefevre

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by jlefevre
by jlefevre

I was first introduced to this product about 30+ years ago while employed by a major restaurant chain. The sweepers were used by everyone working at the numerous stores. The products held up very well then under extremely hard conditions. Over the years I have had several of the same sweepers for home use. My mother owned a really nice boutique/clothing store, and I got her one to keep the floors clean. It has been years since she closed the store. I found two of the sweepers while cleaning the store one day and used both of them to make one good sweeper. That's been years ago when I brought the one I pieced together into my home and started using it. Well, the brush finally wore out. I looked but couldn't fine a replacement brush. I then just took a chance and typed "Bissell.com" into a search engine on the web and found their site. I also found a sweeper much like the ones I had and ordered it and a brush to help keep it clean. So far, the new sweeper performs as good as I remember the old ones. (And, these things are SO handy, lay flat in a hanger and do a REALLY good job cleaning up messes.# I also found a wall hanger for the sweeper #like we used to use in the restaurants# that fits behind a door in the kitchen making it always right within reach. #I found the hanger like I found Bissell.) Good job!!!

jlefevre
Central Texas
Gender:Male
Great sweeper
12/10/2012

Customer review by Allie

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Allie
by Allie

Bought three of these a couple years ago here online, all working still, but my kids developed ownership amnesia. One took one to college (and parts from the one I have remaining) and another took one when he got married. But a great product. My grandmother always recommended Bissell products and so did my father (who had a janitorial supply company); so I am a long time fan of Bissell. Lightweight, easy to empty, brushes last if you take care of them, and you don't have to worry about a belt (like with an electric vac.) It was great to use on the stairs, and to keep on whatever floor I didn't have the vacuum, so I didn't have to lug it around.

Allie
Memphis, TN, USA
Gender:Female
Bissell Carpet Sweeper
2/18/2016

Customer review by Char70

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Char70
by Char70

I was raised using an old carpet sweeper belonging to my great grandmother. I have always preferred a carpet sweeper so decided to try this one. It is fantastic. A bit smaller than I am used to but works perfectly. Easy to use, picks up everything including cat hair and so easy to empty. Impressed my sister in law so much, she is thinking about buying one too. Hate to vacuum but use this sweeper every morning.

Char70
Rancho Cordova, CA, USA
Great sweeper, Fast service
1/30/2016

Customer review by Barbie

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Barbie
by Barbie

Just wanted you to know, this is a great little sweeper. Amazed at how much dirt and detris its picks up. Did I mention we have a cat. Perfect for cat hair on oriental rugs and all carpet. My husband even wants to use it. Go figure. Just a win, win. I'm going to get one for my daughter who has a indoor dog. Thanks Bissell

Barbie
Byron Center, MI 49315, USA
Gender:Female
It's OK.
1/27/2013

Customer review by msellen1

3.0 stars 1/27/2013 by msellen1
by msellen1

I purchased the Sturdy Sweep online and was a bit disappointed when I received it. It was smaller and quite a bit flimsier than expected. I remember the older ones that were a little larger, had a much better roller brush, and picked up so much better. The Sturdy Sweep takes longer to use because it continuously spits out small pieces (like popcorn debris) from the other side, EVEN when the compartment is completely empty. On the other hand, however, it does help to have it when I am rushed and have no time to do a thorough vacuuming.

Comment from Lisa - 1/29/2013

For quick pick-ups a powered small vacuum may fit your needs better. To view, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/stick-vacuums/?icid=ccrr.

msellen1
Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Just what I was looking for
11/20/2013

Customer review by EdOfWV

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by EdOfWV
by EdOfWV

Geeze, it's almost impossible to find these anymore, especially a well built one like this. We plan on using it in our RV for regular spiffing. The unit is well made, the brushes actually pick up about anything and the little side/edge brushes work as noted. Last time I saw one that worked this well was when I worked in a theater and it was there to pick up spilled popcorn and stuff spilled as people moved around. Not understood by many any more as this was a One movie theater with a stage/screen/cry room and gliding seats.

EdOfWV
Palestine, WV 26160, USA
Gender:Male
Got to buy this product
11/25/2014

Customer review by Buddy

5.0 stars 11/25/2014 by Buddy
by Buddy

This is my second sweeper. First one is 20+ years old. Still works perfect. After all these years wanted second one for first story of house. Not optimistic about "plastic" construction. But, after three months I'm sold on this sweeper. First use was a pleasant surprise as the sweeper lifted my thick carpet leaving that un-walked on appearance obtained by using an expensive vacuum. At this point I'd buy another Brissell sweeper if it was made of cardboard! You're here to decide? Buy it, enjoy it, it is an investment.

Buddy
Nashville, TN, USA
GREAT for cat fur!
7/23/2015

Customer review by Fat Cinnamon

5.0 stars 7/23/2015 by Fat Cinnamon
by Fat Cinnamon

Visited my son's one room Brooklyn apartment. I'd sent him this sweeper to use on a rug and hardwood floors. He has a cat, and this sweeper worked great on the carpet and wood floors. Even picked up litter, dust and paper scraps. He likes that it's so easy to use and empty. Stores compactly which is important. When he moves, he can disassemble and take it anywhere. I even ordered one for myself, as it's the only thing that can really remove fine cat fur from our Oriental rugs.

Fat Cinnamon
South Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
Amazing!
6/24/2015

Customer review by Zoomie

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Zoomie
by Zoomie

If it ain't broke, don't fix it might aptly apply to this little sweeper. It's incredibly useful and lightweight. Important to me, as I am disabled and can't man-handle a regular heavy sweeper. Sooo, in between visits from my housekeeper, this is just the ticket to keep my carpet cleaned up. So easy, my 3 1/2 yrs grandson can use it (it's "fun" to him, and I'm keeping it that way!). I have him sweep the area where we eat, before he ends his visits. A real godsend!

Zoomie
San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Not a good product
11/28/2014

Customer review by Larry29

1.0 stars 11/28/2014 by Larry29
by Larry29

I bought this because most of the reviews were good. Well, that was a mistake. I figured I would not have the same bad luck, but I did. First, the rubber that wraps around the base fell off in no time. It was easy to put back on but it kept falling off. I know I could have glued it to keep it in place, but the sweeper did not do a good job. 90% of what it picked up was rug fibers not dirt. This was a terrible mistake. Read the negative reviews first and look for the same repeat issues.

Comment from Lisa - 12/10/2014

We're sorry for your trouble. No worries, please click at the link below for warranty replacement. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Larry29
Gurnee, IL, USA
Gender:Male
1-20 of 502 total reviews
1-20 of 502 reviews