Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 465 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

465 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

465 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
279
4 stars
108
3 stars
41
2 stars
27
1 stars
10
1-20 of 423 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 423 total reviews
1-20 of 423 reviews
Just What I Needed
2/24/2013

Customer review by Shopper826

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Shopper826
by Shopper826

I love this little carpet sweeper for keeping the crumbs etc off my dark green area rug in my living room, two or three times each day and for a better sweep-up in my kitchen, works on bare floors too. For those of you who are reading about the loose end on the handle. WE SOLVED IT. It took a man's strength, but if you hold the handle firmly and press hard, you can SCREW ON the top end and it's solid and will never come off again. The first turn is the hardest, three more and it's on forever. Oh, and don't push where it says push to empty until you are over the trash can because otherwise you'll have to use the handy sweeper to sweep those crumbs off the floor again. I totally disagree with the person who called this a "toy". It might not be suitable for a very big home's family room, only because it would be slow going, but crumbs around the table, scraps from kids projects, even fluff from my sewing project all came right up with ease and without dragging out the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (206) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper826
Twin Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Have been battling with this thing for years...
2/12/2014

Customer review by audchild

2.0 stars 2/12/2014 by audchild
by audchild
Top 250 contributor

When I was younger, I used a carpet sweeper that was much heavier than this one...but it did such a wonderful job on both carpet and floors that I decided to purchase this Bissell Sturdy Sweep, hoping it would be sort of like the older, heavier one. Not even close! After a very long time, and stroke after stroke after stroke, I would give up and pull out my broom and dust pan. And I would always kick myself for not just pulling out the broom in the first place. Anyway, I have been battling to get my floors clean with this sweeper for years, and have finally given up in favor of the newer Natural sweep from the same manufacturer. Maybe the fact that the Natural Sweep has TWO roller brushes, moving in opposite directions, instead of only one, sad little brush that can't do the job, will make all the difference. I hope so. As for sweeping carpets, it does a somewhat ok job...but nothing to get excited about. I could do a better job on the carpet with a plain broom...and with fewer strokes too.

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audchild
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Bissell Sturdy Sweep a great choice!
1/3/2016

Customer review by PowerhouseKeen

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by PowerhouseKeen
by PowerhouseKeen

I pulled this out of the box, easy to put the handle on, used it right away both on hardwood floors and on low pile carpet. Picked up everything quite well. Easy to just grab and get the little stuff up that accumulates when you have dogs too. Very easy to empty and also picked up hair quite well and just pulled it off the brush without any problems. A Win Win situation!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PowerhouseKeen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dissapointing
1/18/2016

Customer review by auntierob

2.0 stars 1/18/2016 by auntierob
by auntierob

Bought this as it was on sale instead of the silver one. Has 1 brush instead of 2. very flimsy brush. Very small only about 7 to 8 inches wide. I would skip this and buy the sweeper in the silver color. It has 2 rows of brushes. Works ok but wont last long does not pick up on floors, for carpet only.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auntierob
Would recommend to a friend? No
met my expectations
1/16/2016

Customer review by Annie

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Annie
by Annie

I've had my sweeper for 2 years now and I am very happy with it. Don't expect it to replace your vacumn, it's not for that. Great for little touch ups. Never had a problem with the handle. I'm thinking about getting another because I suspect the brushes are wearing down which I can understand. Great deal for a great price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy clean up
1/10/2016

Customer review by jeranimo

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by jeranimo
by jeranimo

My dog leaves crumbs where ever she takes her treats to eat them, this sweeper make it super easy to clean up after her and not have to drag out the vacuum. I am pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeranimo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bissell sweeper
1/31/2016

Customer review by penpen

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by penpen
by penpen

love it works well for quick clean up

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
penpen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy Sweep Carpet and Floor Manual Sweeper
1/28/2016

Customer review by Berni

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Berni
by Berni

My mom owned a Bissell carpet sweeper. As soon as I was on my own, I bought one because I always thought it was the greatest accessory to have in a household. The one that I had for over 40 years finally broke and I immediately ordered a replace one. After trying it out, I was so amazed at what my new one picked up that I ordered two more. One to give my daughter with two small kids and one to take to my cabin in the mountains. The new one is smaller than my original one, but it is unbelievable how effective it is. I can't say enough good things about it. I LOVE it and I never want to be without one. I use it on carpets, rugs and hard wood floors and it works well on all surfaces.

Berni
Auburn, CA.
Gender:Female
DYNAMITE LITTLE SWEEPER!
4/15/2014

Customer review by luvelvis

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by luvelvis
by luvelvis

Well....after reading reviews pro & con, I decided to buy this sweeper. Was expecting a bit of problems since reading some of the cons. I put the handle sections together using a rubber gripper so they would be tight. Worked great! Since I only wanted the sweeper for light clean up between my vacuuming, I started using it & was I ever surprised. What a delight to see that it really worked. I didn't have to run it over & over bits of dirt, it picked it up immediately. Used it in dining room & living room & when dumping out the dirt was glad to see it picked up the pet hair along with the dirt. I use a small whisk broom to clean out dirt collectors. Immediately fell in love with this efficient little sweeper! It does just what I was hoping...quick clean ups. What a great price too!

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvelvis
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A throwback gem
3/10/2014

Customer review by 6787543228943479543886525

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by 6787543228943479543886525
by 6787543228943479543886525
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I forgot about the carpet sweeper until my vacuum broke and I needed a cheap quick fix. I thought back to the days my parents always had this brown metal carpet sweeper and wondered if they still made them. Very hard to find in stores but online there were a fair share of choices. I bought this Bissel for the price and how closely it resemble the one I remembered. I had it for a few weeks and it's been everything I need. It picks up all the crumbs and dog hair without much dificulty. It's not a vacuum so it does take a bit more passes to get everything up and I'm always surprised at just how much gets picked up when I empty it over the garbage. I know a vacuum is better at cleaning the carpet but with my Bissel I only need the vacuum for my big cleaning day not every time the carpet gets something on it. I don't know how the other sweepers compare but this one is fine with me.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
6787543228943479543886525
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy Tool
3/11/2011

Customer review by BearScout

4.0 stars 3/11/2011 by BearScout
by BearScout

The kids love it and think it is fun to use...so Mom really loves it. The handle is poor design but I glued it to keep it together. Works fine. Smaller than other models I have seen. Very easy to clean out. Interesting/almost scary to see all the stuff it picks up but that is a good thing! Do need to clean the hair off the brushes occasionally but then I have four daughters and a dog. Lots of hair. Much handier than hauling out the vacuum every day.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearScout
Kaysville, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
QUIET CLEANING
1/28/2012

Customer review by karensnext

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by karensnext
by karensnext

I use three of these in out large thrift store in Milford DE to keep up with what we don't do with major cleaning using our Orecks. These Bissells help us keep up without noise that distracts and repels customers from the area we are cleaning.We work behind several counters and have many small hard-to-access areas and this unit does them well. I recommend this low-priced high quality item for all cleaning jobs.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karensnext
Milford DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Convenient - You'll use it and so will your kids!
9/7/2014

Customer review by Tennesseeds

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Tennesseeds
by Tennesseeds
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have been implementing a chore system for our kids. Part of the recommendation was to invest in tools for cleaning. Tools that are preferably fun and easy to use for kids. So, indeed we have and it is paying off. They don't mind using the sweeper since it is kind of fun and very easy. The sweeper itself does good in open areas on our vinyl and medium pile carpet. It doesn't get right up to the edge going forward but the side edges get most everything. It does pick up on forward and reverse sweeps making it a handy tool. The biggest issue I have had with it is the rubber bumper is "grippy" so when you're moving along the edges it will grip on the cabinets acting like a brake. I will probably try some silicone spray lubricant on that. My youngest son has managed to knock the rubber bumper off twice as well but it is easy to pop back on.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tennesseeds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT
11/12/2010

Customer review by zipzoo

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by zipzoo
by zipzoo

This sweeper is great. I don't always want to get the electric vacuum out and this does the same thing and is easy to hide when not using. it picks up dirt great!

Was this review helpful? (178) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zipzoo
largo, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mixed emotions
7/28/2014

Customer review by starfishlbi

3.0 stars 7/28/2014 by starfishlbi
by starfishlbi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's kind of cheaply made; definitely not the product my mother and grandmother used. But then again, nothing at all is made to last anymore. I bought a Swiffer Sweep and Trap. I didn't even assemble it because it looked like such junk. The Bissell costs less, has no extra cost at all and really does work well. It is fantastic for quick pickups and in between vacumming. If you think this is made to clean your carpets replacing vacumming, it is not. My biggest complaint is the handle. Real bad. I'll see how that goes. Is it worth the $30? Yes.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starfishlbi
LBI, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable sweeper without electricity
12/20/2013

Customer review by DFWGrandma

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by DFWGrandma
by DFWGrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I remember using this as a kid. It sweeps up lots of small things on floors, without dragging out a heavy vacuum cleaner. If it is a larger item, such as a big leaf it doesn't do as well. But it is a great way to pick up little pieces of dirt and dust in a hurry to clean up the floor. My grandchildren can use it too without them having to use electric plugs. They enjoy being helpers.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DFWGrandma
Dallas Ft Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
smaller than it used to be but still very good.
1/23/2012

Customer review by laneysweet

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by laneysweet
by laneysweet

Great for quick clean-ups. Especially for short nap carpet. Must keep brushes cleaned of hair but comes with a comb for that purpose

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laneysweet
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent cleaning product
11/20/2010

Customer review by WrestlingWife06

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by WrestlingWife06
by WrestlingWife06

My toddler is terrified of our vacuum, so I ordered the Bissell Sturdy Sweep to help me keep up with all of the crumbs and pet hair. It does a fantastic job for being non-electric. The Sturdy Sweep takes care of the crumbs on the kitchen floor and pet hair and other misc. fuzzies on both the kitchen floor and the carpet. It even leaves vacuum 'marks' on the carpet! Best of all, my toddler loves to play with it, which means there's a bit more cleaning going on each time he does!

Was this review helpful? (149) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WrestlingWife06
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works well
11/4/2013

Customer review by WHS13

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by WHS13
by WHS13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Beats the heck out of having to get the vac out for every little thing. Does a nice job, particularly on pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WHS13
frederick, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
7/9/2012

Customer review by mammyred2000

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by mammyred2000
by mammyred2000

Lightweight and easy to use....picks up all the dog hair in between vacuumings. have owned two of these in the past and always loved them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mammyred2000
Rochester, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 423 total reviews
1-20 of 423 reviews