Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
103
3 stars
36
2 stars
26
1 stars
10
1-20 of 388 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 388 total reviews
1-20 of 388 reviews
Just What I Needed
2/24/2013

Customer review by Shopper826

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Shopper826
by Shopper826

I love this little carpet sweeper for keeping the crumbs etc off my dark green area rug in my living room, two or three times each day and for a better sweep-up in my kitchen, works on bare floors too. For those of you who are reading about the loose end on the handle. WE SOLVED IT. It took a man's strength, but if you hold the handle firmly and press hard, you can SCREW ON the top end and it's solid and will never come off again. The first turn is the hardest, three more and it's on forever. Oh, and don't push where it says push to empty until you are over the trash can because otherwise you'll have to use the handy sweeper to sweep those crumbs off the floor again. I totally disagree with the person who called this a "toy". It might not be suitable for a very big home's family room, only because it would be slow going, but crumbs around the table, scraps from kids projects, even fluff from my sewing project all came right up with ease and without dragging out the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (147) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper826
Twin Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
GREAT
11/12/2010

Customer review by zipzoo

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by zipzoo
by zipzoo

This sweeper is great. I don't always want to get the electric vacuum out and this does the same thing and is easy to hide when not using. it picks up dirt great!

Was this review helpful? (158) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zipzoo
largo, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent cleaning product
11/20/2010

Customer review by WrestlingWife06

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by WrestlingWife06
by WrestlingWife06

My toddler is terrified of our vacuum, so I ordered the Bissell Sturdy Sweep to help me keep up with all of the crumbs and pet hair. It does a fantastic job for being non-electric. The Sturdy Sweep takes care of the crumbs on the kitchen floor and pet hair and other misc. fuzzies on both the kitchen floor and the carpet. It even leaves vacuum 'marks' on the carpet! Best of all, my toddler loves to play with it, which means there's a bit more cleaning going on each time he does!

Was this review helpful? (127) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WrestlingWife06
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Have been battling with this thing for years...
2/12/2014

Customer review by audchild

2.0 stars 2/12/2014 by audchild
by audchild

When I was younger, I used a carpet sweeper that was much heavier than this one...but it did such a wonderful job on both carpet and floors that I decided to purchase this Bissell Sturdy Sweep, hoping it would be sort of like the older, heavier one. Not even close! After a very long time, and stroke after stroke after stroke, I would give up and pull out my broom and dust pan. And I would always kick myself for not just pulling out the broom in the first place. Anyway, I have been battling to get my floors clean with this sweeper for years, and have finally given up in favor of the newer Natural sweep from the same manufacturer. Maybe the fact that the Natural Sweep has TWO roller brushes, moving in opposite directions, instead of only one, sad little brush that can't do the job, will make all the difference. I hope so. As for sweeping carpets, it does a somewhat ok job...but nothing to get excited about. I could do a better job on the carpet with a plain broom...and with fewer strokes too.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
audchild
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
good little sweeper
11/26/2010

Customer review by mysecondhome

3.0 stars 11/26/2010 by mysecondhome
by mysecondhome

nice little sweeper, it does the job The only con is the handle keeps coming off

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mysecondhome
Henderson NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Handy Tool
3/11/2011

Customer review by BearScout

4.0 stars 3/11/2011 by BearScout
by BearScout

The kids love it and think it is fun to use...so Mom really loves it. The handle is poor design but I glued it to keep it together. Works fine. Smaller than other models I have seen. Very easy to clean out. Interesting/almost scary to see all the stuff it picks up but that is a good thing! Do need to clean the hair off the brushes occasionally but then I have four daughters and a dog. Lots of hair. Much handier than hauling out the vacuum every day.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearScout
Kaysville, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
1/2/2011

Customer review by Cozy70

2.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Cozy70
by Cozy70

This product is not durable. The handle keeps falling off and the rubber that's around the base, keeps coming off as well. The sweeper picks up the dirt, but too many problems with the parts. This is not a sturdy sweeper.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cozy70
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
DYNAMITE LITTLE SWEEPER!
4/15/2014

Customer review by luvelvis

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by luvelvis
by luvelvis

Well....after reading reviews pro & con, I decided to buy this sweeper. Was expecting a bit of problems since reading some of the cons. I put the handle sections together using a rubber gripper so they would be tight. Worked great! Since I only wanted the sweeper for light clean up between my vacuuming, I started using it & was I ever surprised. What a delight to see that it really worked. I didn't have to run it over & over bits of dirt, it picked it up immediately. Used it in dining room & living room & when dumping out the dirt was glad to see it picked up the pet hair along with the dirt. I use a small whisk broom to clean out dirt collectors. Immediately fell in love with this efficient little sweeper! It does just what I was hoping...quick clean ups. What a great price too!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvelvis
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
QUIET CLEANING
1/28/2012

Customer review by karensnext

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by karensnext
by karensnext

I use three of these in out large thrift store in Milford DE to keep up with what we don't do with major cleaning using our Orecks. These Bissells help us keep up without noise that distracts and repels customers from the area we are cleaning.We work behind several counters and have many small hard-to-access areas and this unit does them well. I recommend this low-priced high quality item for all cleaning jobs.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karensnext
Milford DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A throwback gem
3/10/2014

Customer review by 6787543228943479543886525

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by 6787543228943479543886525
by 6787543228943479543886525

I forgot about the carpet sweeper until my vacuum broke and I needed a cheap quick fix. I thought back to the days my parents always had this brown metal carpet sweeper and wondered if they still made them. Very hard to find in stores but online there were a fair share of choices. I bought this Bissel for the price and how closely it resemble the one I remembered. I had it for a few weeks and it's been everything I need. It picks up all the crumbs and dog hair without much dificulty. It's not a vacuum so it does take a bit more passes to get everything up and I'm always surprised at just how much gets picked up when I empty it over the garbage. I know a vacuum is better at cleaning the carpet but with my Bissel I only need the vacuum for my big cleaning day not every time the carpet gets something on it. I don't know how the other sweepers compare but this one is fine with me.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6787543228943479543886525
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable sweeper without electricity
12/20/2013

Customer review by DFWGrandma

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by DFWGrandma
by DFWGrandma

I remember using this as a kid. It sweeps up lots of small things on floors, without dragging out a heavy vacuum cleaner. If it is a larger item, such as a big leaf it doesn't do as well. But it is a great way to pick up little pieces of dirt and dust in a hurry to clean up the floor. My grandchildren can use it too without them having to use electric plugs. They enjoy being helpers.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFWGrandma
Dallas Ft Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
smaller than it used to be but still very good.
1/23/2012

Customer review by laneysweet

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by laneysweet
by laneysweet

Great for quick clean-ups. Especially for short nap carpet. Must keep brushes cleaned of hair but comes with a comb for that purpose

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laneysweet
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small, convenient and does a great job.
10/31/2013

Customer review by Cannotfineonenottaken

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Cannotfineonenottaken
by Cannotfineonenottaken

An excellent floor sweeper. Inexpensive, easy to use. Exceptional pickup. No problem to use daily. Gets the job done quickly.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cannotfineonenottaken
Indianola, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well
11/4/2013

Customer review by WHS13

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by WHS13
by WHS13

Beats the heck out of having to get the vac out for every little thing. Does a nice job, particularly on pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHS13
frederick, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
7/9/2012

Customer review by mammyred2000

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by mammyred2000
by mammyred2000

Lightweight and easy to use....picks up all the dog hair in between vacuumings. have owned two of these in the past and always loved them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mammyred2000
Rochester, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quick and effective
12/11/2013

Customer review by BasementOrganizer

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by BasementOrganizer
by BasementOrganizer

Great for handling the challenge of getting late teens to clean up after themselves or a quick fix for tracked in leaves - the Bissell Sturdy Sweep is light, fast, hangs up right next to the broom, and handles all surfaces. Even the kids were surprised at how much filth the little sweeper collected in their rooms!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BasementOrganizer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
1/4/2014

Customer review by pitbull2013

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by pitbull2013
by pitbull2013

This works great. Picks up everything off my carpets. I will be using this in the house and in the 5th Wheel this summer. I had no problems with the handle, putting it together or anything else. I will recommend this to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pitbull2013
Yelm, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great carpet sweeper!
1/24/2014

Customer review by AmyNC

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by AmyNC
by AmyNC

This carpet sweeper works well on both my area rugs and my hardwoods. It picks up on the forward and backward motion. The only complaint I have is that it is SMALL. It looks like a child's toy. I originally purchased the Oreck carpet sweeper and I was very disappointed with it. This Bissell is less than half the cost of the Oreck and is exactly what I wanted...something to spot clean between dragging out my heavy Kirby for deep vacuumings. It picks up the little crumbs and dog and cat hair like a dream. If it were larger, I would give it five stars.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyNC
Burlington NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed emotions
7/28/2014

Customer review by starfishlbi

3.0 stars 7/28/2014 by starfishlbi
by starfishlbi

It's kind of cheaply made; definitely not the product my mother and grandmother used. But then again, nothing at all is made to last anymore. I bought a Swiffer Sweep and Trap. I didn't even assemble it because it looked like such junk. The Bissell costs less, has no extra cost at all and really does work well. It is fantastic for quick pickups and in between vacumming. If you think this is made to clean your carpets replacing vacumming, it is not. My biggest complaint is the handle. Real bad. I'll see how that goes. Is it worth the $30? Yes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starfishlbi
LBI, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Carpet sweeper
8/11/2014

Customer review by Snowman5050

5.0 stars 8/11/2014 by Snowman5050
by Snowman5050

Works just as well as my vacuum cleaner but is much easier to handle just a smooth push around the floors/carpets and I'm finished. Would recommend. Thanks Wal-Mart for the option to place orders on line it's very convenient and quick.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snowman5050
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 388 total reviews
1-20 of 388 reviews