Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 494 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

494 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

494 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
313
4 stars
67
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 stars
74
1-20 of 482 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 482 total reviews
1-20 of 482 reviews
Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!
9/15/2010

Customer review by CurlTwirler

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by CurlTwirler
by CurlTwirler

I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (188) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlTwirler
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of Time/Money!
8/8/2010

Customer review by ShopperMDT

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by ShopperMDT
by ShopperMDT

I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperMDT
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks aren't everything
7/28/2013

Customer review by sparky08360

2.0 stars 7/28/2013 by sparky08360
by sparky08360

Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe. Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot. We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparky08360
SNJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/18/2012

Customer review by BunnyBunns

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by BunnyBunns
by BunnyBunns

I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots. Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BunnyBunns
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the coffee maker
9/20/2014

Customer review by mstewflyr

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by mstewflyr
by mstewflyr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstewflyr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the same as the one in website
12/24/2013

Customer review by ndjg

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by ndjg
by ndjg

The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndjg
long island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I LOVE This Coffeemaker!
9/23/2015

Customer review by NerdPlus

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by NerdPlus
by NerdPlus

To begin with, it looks so good! As if it was designed by Apple Computer. The detachable water reservoir is wonderful and works perfectly even if you don't get it seated just right. The coffee is hot, hot, hot! And it stays hot in the carafe much longer than any other coffeemaker I've ever had with a thermal carafe. It even stays hot enough to drink even after the Fresh Brew Timer has turned off. I did notice that some of the grounds weren't even wet after the first couple of brews, so I took the paper water filter out (we don't need it anyway because we use well water) and after that the grounds were evenly wet. The coffee is tastier than what we got from our last coffeemaker and waking up to the smell of fresh-brewed coffee is such a treat in the morning! I'm just hoping this one lasts longer than the previous one. If you're looking for a great coffeemaker in every respect, definitely get this one! But purchase it online at walmart.com and then go pick it up. It was $14 cheaper for me that way.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NerdPlus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great carafe - poor quality brewer
1/4/2016

Customer review by FreeThinker406

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by FreeThinker406
by FreeThinker406

Bought this at a great price at Walmart. Brewed good hot coffee in around 7 minutes. The carafe is excellent. It keeps the coffee very hot for hours. Love the carafe. The problem is that after three weeks I noticed an electrical smell coming from the coffee pot while brewing one morning. Then the pot shut down and stopped working. I still have the receipt, but no longer have the box so it would be difficult to return it to Walmart, also we are no longer near the actual store that we bought it from. The instructions that came in the box say not to return defective product to the store but to the manufacturer. The postage to do this would be around $15 and I really don't want to spend any more on this. Finally I would hate to loose the carafe because it works so well and it is difficult to find such a good one. I am currently making my coffee with my French Press and using the carafe to keep it nice and hot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/8/2016

We would like the opportunity to change your experience with your coffee maker and would like for you to reach out to our Customer Service Team at 1-800-672-6333. We are available for you Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern, and we look forward to getting you back up and running with your coffee maker.

FreeThinker406
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT BUY
1/14/2016

Customer review by ms0725

1.0 stars 1/14/2016 by ms0725
by ms0725

This is by far the worst coffee pot I have ever purchased, it leaks water and/or coffee grounds every time you brew! I worked with it for a few days thinking the problem may be something I was doing wrong , I got it to brew with out leaking water all over the counter, but it still had the grounds all over the place from overflowing the grounds basket (and no I did not overfill in fact I used less than the amount recommended in the manual) - this happens every time you brew! I called Mr. Coffee and was advised that I had a "lemon" and should return it to Walmart! So much for the warranty! I cleaned the whole pot, basket, carafe, base, water tank, etc - dried it thoroughly and packed it up in its box to return - when I got to the customer service desk to return and the clerk took it out of the box guess what it was covered with coffee grounds !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/20/2016

We would love the opportunity to address your concerns. Please give our Customer Care Team at 1-800-672-6333, and we'll be more than happy to help you. We are here for you Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

ms0725
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.
4/28/2014

Customer review by Brewsalot

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Brewsalot
by Brewsalot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brewsalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BIG BANG, for little buck!!
8/30/2015

Customer review by Michelleluvsdoxies

5.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Michelleluvsdoxies
by Michelleluvsdoxies

I read all the bad reviews before purchasing this pot. Several complained about it leaking. I bought it anyway and read the owners manual completely before using it. Enclosed with the owners manual is a note reading "You MUST empty the Carafe completely, before you begin a new brew, or it may leak." I have not had any problems with it leaking. This is my first thermal coffee maker. I normally buy glass pots but got tired of having to re-heat my coffee in the microwave to warm it up. This pot is amazing. It holds in the flavor, and keeps the coffee hot. For all who complain, my advise to you is to READ the owners manual before hand. I also cleaned it thoroughly before my first pot. Used mild dishwasher soap and cleaned the inside of all the plastic parts. Then ran 3 pots of just water through the pot and I also ran a diluted pot of Isopropyl Alcohol through the pot to get rid of the plastic taste. I have heard Vodka works as well. If you do all of this, I think you will be just as happy with this maker as I am.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michelleluvsdoxies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, so good-Love it!
2/7/2016

Customer review by daena

5.0 stars 2/7/2016 by daena
by daena

A friend bought this coffee maker about 5 months ago and I was impressed with how the coffee tasted and how hot it stayed in the thermal pot for hours on end. So after my last Mr.Coffee maker died, it lasted less then a year, I decided to bite the bullet and buy this model despite some of the negative reviews. Hopefully my decision won't come back and bite me in the rear end. So far it's all good and I really love it. Even after 7 hours my coffee will stay "very warm" and just as fresh as I first brewed it in the morning. It's amazing! Now my friend did say hers did leak but only when she used the charcoal filter. She took that whole thing off her filter basket and she hasn't had a problem since. I decided to try mine with it on first and no leaks as of this moment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied!
7/6/2014

Customer review by Magzie

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by Magzie
by Magzie

I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Misster Coffee
2/6/2016

Customer review by Yagwit

1.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Yagwit
by Yagwit

I was desperately searching for a thermal carafe coffee maker with a hot brew. My mother loves her unit very much. I'm sad to report mine doesn't brew hot coffee. The liquid is lukewarm at best. Sometimes, the brew will be weak, even using the same grounds and measurement. I love coffee and have a few really goid makers. Unfortunately, their pods are much to expensive. I also worry about their impact on the earth. The only plus is the unit creates a tasty brew (when it works). MC also leaks all over the countertop. I wish the receipt and box were still around. I would love a different model. Perhaps the coffee fairies will smile on me, with a better maker recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/8/2016

Please give us the opportunity to ensure that you're completely satisfied with your coffee maker. We encourage you to give us a call at 1-800-672-6333, so that our coffee specialists can get you back up and brewing hot coffee as quickly as possible. We are here for you Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern. We look forward to assisting you!

Yagwit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best cup
10/30/2015

Customer review by rsdinme

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by rsdinme
by rsdinme

My wife purchased this maker for me after I had researched all types, and I am very pleased with it. I have used Bunn makers in the past, along with several types of drip coffee makers. After twenty or so pots I can say it makes one superb pot after another. The robust flavor is constant. The carafe is great you will have piping hot coffee, although the odor is somewhat appalling at first, but it subsidies in time. Even washing didn't help. Time will. The flavor from this maker is something that you must experience by purchasing, no amount of ratings can take the place of tasting that hot robust cup of coffee. I use Folgers, nothing out of the ordinary and I can tell you that I can get great flavor and so hot that in a thermal coffee travel mug will keep it so hot that you must be careful. Bottom line this is by far one of the best ways to make coffee, it has replaced my Bunn maker, and only time will tell if it can out last the Bunn. My hat is off to Mr. Coffee for producing the Optimal Brew, after 20 or more pots I still get the same robust flavor and within five minutes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsdinme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Design
1/9/2016

Customer review by enidstar

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by enidstar
by enidstar

The MrCoffee maker performed great for at least 1 year then it started leaking. I took the PSTX maker appart to see If I could Find the Leak. Who ever designed this decided to put a flimsy Wire Clamp to connect the water supply tube that drops down from the resivor Tank to the bottom of the Heater where the water is heated. When I took the clamp off the water had been seaping for some time and calcium and mineral build up was between the hose and the metal fitting that the hose was clamped on. If a stronger hose clamp would have be use It would not have leaked

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/13/2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like the opportunity to make this right for you, and encourage you to contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 672-6333. We will be happy to help and are available Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

Comment from - 1/13/2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like the opportunity to make this right for you, and encourage you to contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 672-6333. We will be happy to help and are available Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

enidstar
Would recommend to a friend? No
If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another
8/20/2011

Customer review by Bunch123

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Bunch123
by Bunch123

I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down. But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months. The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers). But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bunch123
Shelbyville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome
3/30/2014

Customer review by Avidbowhunter

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Avidbowhunter
by Avidbowhunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avidbowhunter
Tyrone, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
mr coffee
1/9/2016

Customer review by Edward

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Edward
by Edward

I liked this product. You do have to experiment to suit your taste. Makes good coffee and it looks good. Best feature is the thermal carafe which keeps the coffee hot without a heating pad.. Auto shutoff and don't have to worry about burning your coffee. Coffee hot for six hours approx. and end of the day still could reheat the coffee.read the reviews didn't have trouble of leaking any liquids. Satisfied would reccommend the product for the price of 60.00 dollars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edward
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded Expectations
7/24/2010

Customer review by Happymotherof3minnesota

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Happymotherof3minnesota
by Happymotherof3minnesota

What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great! Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happymotherof3minnesota
White Bear Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 482 total reviews
1-20 of 482 reviews