Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 971 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

971 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

971 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
533
4 stars
126
3 stars
60
2 stars
69
1 stars
183
1-20 of 959 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 959 total reviews
1-20 of 959 reviews
Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!
9/15/2010

Customer review by CurlTwirler

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by CurlTwirler
by CurlTwirler

I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (228) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlTwirler
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Waste of Time/Money!
8/8/2010

Customer review by ShopperMDT

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by ShopperMDT
by ShopperMDT

I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!

Was this review helpful? (74) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperMDT
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Leaks
3/4/2017

Customer review by katedunne

1.0 stars 3/4/2017 by katedunne
by katedunne

I would not recommend this product. It leaks everytime:( We have tried everything but I think it is just a product design flaw.

katedunne
Bellingham, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This WAS our favorite, but no more.
8/10/2016

Customer review by BirdieRN

3.0 stars 8/10/2016 by BirdieRN
by BirdieRN

We found this coffee maker and have loved this model for years. Up until then I was a Bunn gal. WE LOVED this machine. Our first lasted almost 3 years. For us, who brew between 4-6 pots of coffee a day, that was great. Then we bought another it lasted 2 years. We were fine w/ that and we hadn't cleaned it regularly, so OK. Our third, after 6 months the next one started leaking all over the counter, and hubby throws away the receipt because the others have been great. So now he gets another one, and it doesn't work. About 3 cups goes into the carafe and the rest bleeds out. We cleaned it, use bottled water but we're so sad we have to say goodbye to a coffee maker that use to wake us up with the aroma of our fresh brew. 2 Duds in a row, and hubby threw away the receipt AGAIN! Mr. Coffee we are so disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/16/2016

We're sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your purchase, and we would love to opportunity to fix this! We set high standards for our coffee makers and it sounds like this one did not meet those standards. Please call us at 1-800-672-6333 Monday - Saturday 9am - 6pm EST. We are looking forward to assisting you!

BirdieRN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Glad we changed back - a great pot for us!
7/1/2016

Customer review by Pattyjean46

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Pattyjean46
by Pattyjean46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 2yrs of Keurig Coffee, I grew tired of the very expensive coffee price and extra plastic pod waste. Tried cutting open used pods to dispose grounds properly while recycling the plastic containers but too much of a hassle. I wanted a regular coffee machine that wouldn't cost this retired couple $40 a month for 4 daily cups of coffee. This Mr. Coffee pot is a great size for 2-4 people. The metal thermal pot keeps the coffee super hot and I don't have to worry about breakage. I use a copper metal basket (bought yrs ago) for grounds. Have no problem with grounds in my coffee, overflow or leaking. I like the display showing how long the brewed coffee has been sitting; and discovered when I don't get up as early as my husband the coffee (he brewed) is still fresh tasting and hot. Glad to be back with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pattyjean46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/18/2012

Customer review by BunnyBunns

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by BunnyBunns
by BunnyBunns

I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots. Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BunnyBunns
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Looks aren't everything
7/28/2013

Customer review by sparky08360

2.0 stars 7/28/2013 by sparky08360
by sparky08360

Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe. Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot. We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparky08360
SNJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not the same as the one in website
12/24/2013

Customer review by ndjg

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by ndjg
by ndjg

The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndjg
long island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Love the coffee maker
9/20/2014

Customer review by mstewflyr

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by mstewflyr
by mstewflyr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstewflyr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Weak coffee, doesn't brew more than 4 cups
10/24/2015

Customer review by Elnoka

1.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Elnoka
by Elnoka

Originally I thought this coffee maker was great. I made myself a pot of coffee, filling the water reservoir up to the 4 cup line, and the coffee tasted great and the carafe kept it hot. The first problem I had with this coffee maker was in brewing more than 4 cups of water. If I fill it to the 10 cup line, and add the appropriate amount of grounds to the basket, the grounds overflow into the machine as soon as water is added, it creates a huge mess to clean up and rinse out. And the resulting coffee is trash, as it is weak and full of grounds. This morning I tried to fill the coffee maker up to the 6 cup line, and although the grounds did not overflow, the coffee was extremely weak, looking like tea. I checked the basket and noticed that half the grounds were still dry. I decided to try again, same thing happened. This coffee pot seems incapable of brewing more than 4 cups successfully. What a waste of money and great coffee.

Elnoka
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great coffee maker!!
2/4/2017

Customer review by hermosa

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by hermosa
by hermosa

Love it! We had an old Mr. Coffee maker for almost 4 years, very durable and still works, but we just wanted to upgrade it and this one works awesome, it makes our 6 cups in 5 minutes, and the thermal pot keep the coffee hot a while. plus, no mess on the carafe! Very pleased with this purchase

hermosa
advance nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Poor Brewing
3/30/2016

Customer review by CoffeeNR

1.0 stars 3/30/2016 by CoffeeNR
by CoffeeNR

Bought this at my local Target store about 5 mo ago. Been using it occasionally since. Sadly, I only use it occasionally because it does a poor job of brewing. Major complaints with brewing are a (too) short contact time with the coffee and the drip system doesn't distribute water evenly so the center of the coffee grounds remains dry/unused. Perhaps I should have expected the too short contact time as Mr. Coffee specifically lists this as brewing quickly, but the uneven water distribution is entirely unacceptable. As the water is coming through a filter, I have both used it and not used it; I've also (futilely) tried to shake the filter to change it a bit. None of this improves water distribution. This coffee maker does a worse job than any basic $12 drip machine I've ever used. Definitely go looking elsewhere for you next coffee maker.

CoffeeNR
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointed
10/23/2016

Customer review by amthiel

1.0 stars 10/23/2016 by amthiel
by amthiel

I have been disappointed in the strength of the brewed coffee. I had to remove the water filter otherwise the grounds are not uniformly brewed. I like the detachable water reservoir and carafe, those work well.

amthiel
Goshen, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I LOVE This Coffeemaker!
9/23/2015

Customer review by NerdPlus

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by NerdPlus
by NerdPlus

To begin with, it looks so good! As if it was designed by Apple Computer. The detachable water reservoir is wonderful and works perfectly even if you don't get it seated just right. The coffee is hot, hot, hot! And it stays hot in the carafe much longer than any other coffeemaker I've ever had with a thermal carafe. It even stays hot enough to drink even after the Fresh Brew Timer has turned off. I did notice that some of the grounds weren't even wet after the first couple of brews, so I took the paper water filter out (we don't need it anyway because we use well water) and after that the grounds were evenly wet. The coffee is tastier than what we got from our last coffeemaker and waking up to the smell of fresh-brewed coffee is such a treat in the morning! I'm just hoping this one lasts longer than the previous one. If you're looking for a great coffeemaker in every respect, definitely get this one! But purchase it online at walmart.com and then go pick it up. It was $14 cheaper for me that way.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NerdPlus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.
4/28/2014

Customer review by Brewsalot

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Brewsalot
by Brewsalot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brewsalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BIG BANG, for little buck!!
8/30/2015

Customer review by Michelleluvsdoxies

5.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Michelleluvsdoxies
by Michelleluvsdoxies

I read all the bad reviews before purchasing this pot. Several complained about it leaking. I bought it anyway and read the owners manual completely before using it. Enclosed with the owners manual is a note reading "You MUST empty the Carafe completely, before you begin a new brew, or it may leak." I have not had any problems with it leaking. This is my first thermal coffee maker. I normally buy glass pots but got tired of having to re-heat my coffee in the microwave to warm it up. This pot is amazing. It holds in the flavor, and keeps the coffee hot. For all who complain, my advise to you is to READ the owners manual before hand. I also cleaned it thoroughly before my first pot. Used mild dishwasher soap and cleaned the inside of all the plastic parts. Then ran 3 pots of just water through the pot and I also ran a diluted pot of Isopropyl Alcohol through the pot to get rid of the plastic taste. I have heard Vodka works as well. If you do all of this, I think you will be just as happy with this maker as I am.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michelleluvsdoxies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied!
7/6/2014

Customer review by Magzie

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by Magzie
by Magzie

I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Absolutely Love It!
5/1/2017

Customer review by GrindinNBrewin

5.0 stars 5/1/2017 by GrindinNBrewin
by GrindinNBrewin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this brewer in April 2017 and after a month's usage, or thereabouts, it has been fantastic. My wife and I love that the coffee brews very quickly and tastes more flavorful than our old brewer we replaced. This brewer stated that it heats the water to 205 degrees and I would believe that, as it comes out exceptionally fast and hot into the thermal carafe. This carafe is what makes all the difference to enjoying the coffee, as I am a slow coffee drinker and don't like the way old, burnt, stale coffee tastes after it's been on a hot plate for more than an hour in a glass pot. Finally, the extra-nice touch is the removable water tank that I can then pour water in so much easier in the tight confines of my limited counter space. The removable reservoir makes it incredibly convenient to get the water in and back on the machine. All in all, I feel this was an incredible purchase experience and other coffee brewers costing more than this for a 10-cup brewer with the speed, heat, and convenience of this brewer will be difficult, in my opinion, to justify purchasing.

GrindinNBrewin
Lampasas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good brewing machine
3/15/2017

Customer review by Javafanatic

5.0 stars 3/15/2017 by Javafanatic
by Javafanatic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this drip brewer to use in our office (20+ coffee drinkers), replacing a Bonavita machine, based on three key factors. First, it performs the primary task of brewing very well, with proper temperature (205F) and positive reviews on taste. Second, Mr. Coffee offers the carafe separately at a very affordable price, so we can be drinking from one while a second is brewing and effectively never run out of brewed coffee (if everyone follows the rule of starting another brew after emptying a pot). Third, the carafe has a brew-through lid so the coffee is thermally insulated after brewing and stays hot until needed. (This was the downfall of the Bonavita machine that does not have a brew-through lid.) We did have an issue with coffee overflowing the basket occasionally during the brew cycle when we were using a metal mesh filter and a half cup of beans per batch (measured before grinding), but that problem seems to have been resolved by switching to paper filters. All in all, I would recommend this brewer highly.

Javafanatic
Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome
3/30/2014

Customer review by Avidbowhunter

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Avidbowhunter
by Avidbowhunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avidbowhunter
Tyrone, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 959 total reviews
1-20 of 959 reviews