Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 935 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

935 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

935 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
514
4 stars
123
3 stars
58
2 stars
66
1 stars
174
1-20 of 923 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 923 total reviews
1-20 of 923 reviews
Cold Coffee
10/25/2016

Customer review by cajuntc74

1.0 stars 10/25/2016 by cajuntc74
by cajuntc74

A friend of mine gifted me this coffee pot after my Hamilton Beach BrewStation started leaking. I loved my HB..this coffee pot is terrible. I get ONE cup of hot coffee. I have the Thermal Carafe and I assumed it would be great like my thermos.. NOT! My first cup is VERY hot.. by the time I get to my second cup it is barely even warm at all. I waste more coffee grounds with this pot. I don't like nuked coffee so I have to brew another pot just to get one more cup. If you brew less than 6 cups it doesn't taste right so I get 1 cup out of 6. I NEED my coffee in the morning. It was a thoughtful gift but a terrible one. My sister has the exact same pot as I do and I asked her if I was doing something wrong. Maybe I have a setting wrong or something. She said she hates her pot for the same reason. I guess until this pot dies, I will have to brew the coffee then pour it into my thermos. I usually only use my thermos to take my coffee when I go fishing. Now I will be using it daily. Very poor product.

cajuntc74
Augusta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Dry grounds, brown tasteless hot water
2/1/2017

Customer review by DarkAudit

1.0 stars 2/1/2017 by DarkAudit
by DarkAudit

On multiple occasions, I would pull the filter basket out of the machine after the beep to find a puddle of water on top of the water filter. Inside the basket, the grounds were mostly dry. What was in the pot was nothing but brown hot water. It didn't taste or smell like anything but hot water. I followed the suggestion from a post with a similar issue to make sure the grounds were level in the basket, but that did not help. The problem is more the water getting to the grounds in the first place. After the first time this happened, I made a pot with the same amount of both water and grounds. It came out fine. So it's not my method or the water. At this point I do not trust the machine to make a proper pot, and I'm not willing to eat the cost of having to toss every third pot or so.

DarkAudit
WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Coffee Maker but Cheaply Made
12/11/2016

Customer review by kemteach

2.0 stars 12/11/2016 by kemteach
by kemteach

I bought this coffee maker 2 years ago. I had to exchange the first one because the basket came broken. At first it was a great coffee maker - it brews very fast, makes very hot coffee that tastes delicious, and the thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot for hours and without burning it. However, the vacuum in the first carafe became compromised after about a year. I thought it was something I did while cleaning so I just replaced the carafe (directly from Mr. Coffee). I treated the second with extreme care and only cleaned with vinegar (no brush). Now that one has a compromised vacuum too which means it won't keep the coffee hot. Over time, the digital display has faded to the point where I cannot read it anymore. You cannot read the time, set the timer, etc. So while the design is pretty good and it starts out being a winning coffee maker, it appears you'll have to start replacing items after not too long.

kemteach
Glen Oaks, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Attractive, but beware
1/22/2017

Customer review by Ferenc

2.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Ferenc
by Ferenc

I had this coffee maker for 3yrs now. The digital display has been broken at least a year now, so so long for programming anything on it. It probably broke from the steam, that was coming up, because the front face of the cofeemaker was all wet after every coffee made. The carafe has a seal problem between the polished metal and the plastic top. It leaks. After 2 years, the inside of the carafe looked gross so I tried to clean it and I noticed, that the inner material (not sure what it is) of the carafe was disintegrating and small chunks would float around inside the coffee. It looks rubber, it could be teflon, I don't know. As of now, I'm buying a replacement carafe , but if it starts to develop the same issues, I will have to look elsewhere for a new coffee maker.

Ferenc
Connecticut, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Water isn't very hot
2/15/2017

Customer review by Jacks

3.0 stars 2/15/2017 by Jacks
by Jacks

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to up the temperature of the water? I've had this machine for maybe 1.5 yrs and lately the coffee is at best, warm. I'm hoping it's similar to the Keurig and the temperature can be adjusted. Using hotter water before brewing defeats the purpose of the delayed brew feature. If the temperature can be adjusted then this machine is 5 GOLD stars.

Jacks
Carlsbad, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Don't buy
2/14/2017

Customer review by Andy19141

1.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Andy19141
by Andy19141

I received this coffee maker for Christmas and it worked great the first few times. Then I went to make a bigger pot of coffee and it flooded over. Now every time I make coffee it's weak and has grounds at the bottom. This has been going on for the past month. No matter how much coffee grounds are in it, it still tastes weak and watery.

Andy19141
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just OK
2/8/2017

Customer review by deadeyedickie

1.0 stars 2/8/2017 by deadeyedickie
by deadeyedickie

This coffeemaker has been a disappointment. After a little more than 1 yr. service, the machine does not brew at the max. temp. anymore, making for poor tasting coffee. The reservoir no longer empties completely so I end up with less coffee than anticipated. Finally, the carafe does not keep the coffee hot for more than thirty minutes, after that we have to heat cups in the microwave. For the money we paid, this is a disappointment.

deadeyedickie
Monroe, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
great coffee maker!!
2/4/2017

Customer review by hermosa

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by hermosa
by hermosa

Love it! We had an old Mr. Coffee maker for almost 4 years, very durable and still works, but we just wanted to upgrade it and this one works awesome, it makes our 6 cups in 5 minutes, and the thermal pot keep the coffee hot a while. plus, no mess on the carafe! Very pleased with this purchase

hermosa
advance nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great design but clock doesn't work long
1/31/2017

Customer review by Island Lover

4.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Island Lover
by Island Lover

I'm on my second with this one! Had to replace the first because you could no longer read the clock to set the delayed brewing. About 3 months after I bought the second one it did the same thing! I love this coffe maker because it loads water on the side not the top which means I don't have to pull it out from underneath the cabinets! Wish they made more with this design! But the clock is an issue! Hopefully MR Coffee will fix this one day!!

Island Lover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
makes my coffee mornings, even better
2/1/2017

Customer review by plant trees for life

4.0 stars 2/1/2017 by plant trees for life
by plant trees for life
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I finally bought a coffee maker with a carafe. No more old, burnt, stale coffee

plant trees for life
Waterloo, Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best one
1/29/2017

Customer review by Seashore

5.0 stars 1/29/2017 by Seashore
by Seashore

This coffee maker is the best designed coffee maker I have come across. The process of making coffee is simple and easy. It makes great coffee. I would definitly give it five stars

Seashore
Rockport, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Keeps Coffee Hot, BUT. . .
1/14/2017

Customer review by JennyL

2.0 stars 1/14/2017 by JennyL
by JennyL

Had this coffee maker for a year or two. Pros: looks nice, the carafe keeps your coffee hot for several hours, delayed start works well. Cons: Needs frequent cleaning cycles and a new filter every two months or the coffee will be very weak. The spring/plunger in the brew basket breaks very easily. The digital readout is almost too dim to see, even at the brightest setting. All in all, I wouldn't spend the extra money for this model again. Quality is not up to par with the cost.

JennyL
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Only owned less than 5 months- doesn't work
1/21/2017

Customer review by sbgee

1.0 stars 1/21/2017 by sbgee
by sbgee

I bought this coffee maker about 5 months ago and now every time I try to make coffee it just beeps at me. I unplug it, rattle it, tap it and eventually after multiple times it will suddenly start to brew.

sbgee
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Loved it for a little bit
1/7/2017

Customer review by Murlas

2.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Murlas
by Murlas

We got this coffee maker for Christmas and happily used it for about a week when it just stopped brewing coffee half way through a brew. Have not been able to get it to brew another drop! Clean light came on (have only used for aprox 7 days!) and even though the clock cycled through 45 minutes and the light eventually turned off after the cycle end chime went off, the full 6 cups of vinegar still sits in my reservoir and the paper filter is bone dry!!! We are bummed : -( We will try to exchange for the sale and start again.

Murlas
Waxhaw, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Really great tasting coffee.
5/18/2014

Customer review by oldbattlax

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by oldbattlax
by oldbattlax

The advantages of this coffeemaker are: 1) The coffee has a much better flavor than my old Mr. Coffee. 2) The thermal carafe keeps the coffee warm enough for another hour after the heater turns off. 3) The water reservoir is removable for filling at the sink rather than pouring a carafe of water into the coffeemaker. 4) The water stops perking into the grounds when the pot is removed, so the filter basket doesn't overflow water and grounds. The drawbacks of this coffeemaker are: 1) The carafe is too small. Changing from a 12-cup to 10-cup means making 1 1/2 pots each morning. 2) The coffee filter holder doesn't sit flat, and with the attached flip up water filter it is hard to empty without getting grounds on the filter. 3) There is no indicator on the carafe as to how much coffee is left, so I have on more than one occasion forgotten to empty the carafe before starting a new pot. 4) Will not restart the heater to keep the coffee warm another 2 hours. There must be water in the reservoir to turn it on.

oldbattlax
Colorado, United States
Gender:Female
Clock won't set
1/10/2017

Customer review by AngIeG

4.0 stars 1/10/2017 by AngIeG
by AngIeG

I just got this last night. My husband set the clock and timer for his coffee to be ready in the morning. When we got up we realized it did not brew. Well we realized the time was still at the same time he had set it at. The colon between the hour and minutes does not stay. It only appears briefly during setting.

AngIeG
Philadelphia, PA, United States
NO BURNT COFFEE!
1/1/2017

Customer review by DETROITEXIAN

4.0 stars 1/1/2017 by DETROITEXIAN
by DETROITEXIAN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our 3rd Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew unit. My wife and I drink several pots of coffee a day. We just wear them out. The feature we like most about he Optimal Brew is the Thermal Carafe. We never have burnt coffee! The unit brews 10 cups of pretty good coffee, the stainless steel carafe keeps the brew hot without the customary burner, is programmable and self cleaning. If it wasn't any good, we wouldn't have bought 3 of them.

DETROITEXIAN
Brighton, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible experience
12/27/2016

Customer review by Blackdawg

2.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Blackdawg
by Blackdawg

We've always used Mr Coffee coffee makers. We purchased this one after the one we used for many years finally quit. From day one the carafe leaked around the top where the metal and plastic are put together. Now when it finishes brewing and we pull the carafe out, the machine drips coffee over the base. The coffee filter basket doesn't completely drain. We should have taken it back but just haven't had the time and didn't want the hassle.

Blackdawg
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great little maker
8/19/2016

Customer review by Dairy Gal

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Dairy Gal
by Dairy Gal

I have been using this style of coffee maker since 2009. The main reason is the thermal carafe doesn’t scorch the coffee and turn it bitter like hot plate varieties do. I wanted something I could brew coffee in and then take to work. I’m lazy, and uncoordinated in the morning so pouring into a thermos was out of the question. I bought this particular one in 2012, and use it at least once a day. This lil guy is perfect. I brew at 6:30am and the coffee stays drinkable until around 10. When first brewed, the coffee is super-hot so I had an ice cube or two. The removable water tank is great. It allows me to fill up the tank without spilling water all over the counter. The timer works fine. All in all, this is one of the best home use coffee makers for the price. Never had a problem with pouring. There is button on the lid that you must push down when pouring, this allows the coffee to flow out easily.

Dairy Gal
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Digital clock dimness
1/4/2017

Customer review by budswing

3.0 stars 1/4/2017 by budswing
by budswing

maker works sufficiently for my needs. Would just like to be able to increase the brightness of the digital clock. any solutions?

budswing
Cedar Rapids, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 923 total reviews
1-20 of 923 reviews