Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 424 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

424 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

424 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
271
4 stars
55
3 stars
15
2 stars
20
1 stars
63
1-20 of 412 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 412 total reviews
1-20 of 412 reviews
Love my hot Coffee!!!!
7/1/2010

Customer review by dclark418

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by dclark418
by dclark418

I must say that the other reviewer of this coffee pot must have purchased a defective product. My husband finally got tired of replacing my $20 coffee makers and we bought this. He wakes up 4-5 a.m. and I normally wake up 8-9 a.m. Which means I NEVER got hot coffee with my old coffee makers. With the new Mr. Coffee I always get a nice, hot cup of coffee. The coffee stays steaming hot in the carafe for about 7 hours! And when I empty the pot to set up the coffee for the morning, the coffee inside the carafe is still warm--after about 16 hours! This product is awsome.

Was this review helpful? (153) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dclark418
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!
9/15/2010

Customer review by CurlTwirler

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by CurlTwirler
by CurlTwirler

I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (155) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurlTwirler
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded Expectations
7/24/2010

Customer review by Happymotherof3minnesota

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Happymotherof3minnesota
by Happymotherof3minnesota

What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great! Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happymotherof3minnesota
White Bear Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed!
5/2/2011

Customer review by CoffeeHolic37

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by CoffeeHolic37
by CoffeeHolic37

We needed to replace a great older model Mr. Coffee Thermal Carafe model. (after 4 years it was time). This one is quite unique. Having the removable/fillable water reservoir on one side and the removable coffee filter/grounds container on the other is very nice. This makes the unit much easier for under the counter usage as you do not have to move the unit each time to fill and brew a new pot. Pros: - Obvious/proven improvements on the thermal carafe as the coffee is much hotter upon brew (the carafe is closer to the dispenser so that less air gets to coffee before getting into the carafe) and stays hot longer. - Much easier access to add water and grounds. - Nice looking and simplistic, yet functional, design. - Storage for extra cord length Cons: (not really a con, more of an observation) - For us this wasn't an issue, however, it did cross our minds as something to note for others ... this coffee maker would be harder to work with if put in a corner as the removable pieces on each side would not pull out well. - Complaints about slow pour ... yes, it does take a few seconds to pour a cup. However, this also means you don't have a huge opening for the remaining coffee to get cold. If you require a race car finish pour ... remove lid, and drink directly from the carafe ;) One note: For those that make a full pot every time ... ensure that the carafe has been emptied prior to brewing a new pot or setting up timer function for the next brew cycle. Any complaints you find about overflow are most likely due to this. The only other thing that will cause this is improper filter placement or adding to much coffee grounds (we use 1/3 cup measure/10 cups for our taste). Overall, we are very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend. Also in favor of Mr. Coffee as a company, two years after purchasing our last unit the carafe lid seemed to be losing some of security when attached. Called the company and they had a new lid, free of charge, to our door in 4 days ... Hope this was helpful :)

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoffeeHolic37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Crushing Disappointment
6/27/2010

Customer review by SimpleSins

1.0 stars 6/27/2010 by SimpleSins
by SimpleSins

When the cheapo pot I had was recalled (for overheating, which was somewhat ironic because I loathed the thing for not keeping the coffee hot), I decided to bite the bullet and buy this somewhat pricey coffee pot as the word HOT COFFEE was in big letters all over the packaging and it had a thermal carafe, which in theory should keep it hot. I got it home, thrilled with my purchase. Because it had a timer and the carafe, my ultra hot coffee would be waiting for me whether I was up with the sun or slept in. Sad was I when I woke up the next morning to find no coffee. There was nothing in the carafe. Half of the water was left in the reservoir. I found the other half all over the countertop, hard to face without the benefit of a single droplet of coffee. I then made a pot of coffee. No problems, not a drop of water out of place. And that first cup was great. Even with the cream I add to it, it was piping hot and just what I needed. The second cup was still hot. Not as hot as the first, but still pretty good. However, by the time I got to the last cup (which with the cup size I use, is really about four cups), it was lukewarm at best, and I was again forced to microwave my coffee to get it up to a palatable temperature. Oh, well, I tell myself. I'll just drink faster tomorrow. Silly me. I woke up again to the half pot of water in the reservoir and the other half all over the countertop. Again nuking the last couple of cups to get them hot. For a week I tried it. Obviously I was doing something right because I could make coffee on the normal 'on' situation, but the use of the timer eluded me, and every morning for six days I woke to find a wet countertop. In disgust, I have boxed the whole thing up and it's going back tomorrow. In summary, this is a beautiful looking pot. If you drink your coffee very fast or have multiple people drinking out of the pot, it may be hot enough to get you through to the end of the pot. And if you don't need the auto-on timer, you may actually get your coffee without wiping down the counter first.

Was this review helpful? (74) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimpleSins
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
11/27/2011

Customer review by bbadger187

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by bbadger187
by bbadger187

I bought this in January of 2011. I liked the fact that it had the insulated pot. The stainless also gave it a nice look. It was the most expensive unit on the shelf, so I felt that it should be the best. I was wrong! It came with a water filter, that went above the coffee grounds. We used it for a month, and then went with out it. The coffee was good, and it worked for a a couple months. The clean light came on, and we cleaned it like the instructions stated. The clean light went off, but after about a week, the clean light came back on. We tried cleaning again, even running RO water through it. The clean light never came off. A couple more months went by, and the quality of the coffee it made went down hill. I tried cleaning the unit again, but the clean light never went off. I thought I was drinking bad coffee, so I started switching brands. I recently made the same coffee at a friends house, in a brand new coffee maker, purchased from Walmart. It was actually their cheapest model, on sale. I couldn't believe how good the coffee tasted. I thought maybe the water was different, so I took some water home from the friends house and made a pot. The coffee at my house was still tasting pretty bad. This product is good for a couple of months, but after that it ruins good coffee. Find something different if you are an avid coffee drinker like myself.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbadger187
West Allis, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice product
8/19/2010

Customer review by grob1045

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by grob1045
by grob1045

i bought this for my wife after years of using a stove top peculator and she loves it, i have been trying for years to get her to get an electric one because of the time a peculator takes. This is fast and makes great coffee, we havn`t had any problems with leaks like some people have stated in their reviews, they probably had the reservoir not set in place correctly or a defective product. The reservoir is great, you don't have to move the unit to fill it if you have a cupboard above, the coffee side has a built in water filter. All in all it is a great product, with a timer so u can wake up to fresh coffee and it also has a clean function. I would definitely buy this again or recommend it. just sad that i didn't get the sale price but it was still worth every penny because my wife is a bear before she gets her coffee in the morning. Buy and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (40) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grob1045
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bought another, and another
7/9/2010

Customer review by flyboymaine

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by flyboymaine
by flyboymaine

Very satisfied with coffee maker, so I got another for the Summer place, and will buy another for my Daughter. Shelf price said $79.99, but sale price was $64.00 at checkout. So much easier to take the reservoir to the faucet to fill instead of pulling the coffee maker out to clear the cupboards above. (must set it on accurately and flush on sides. Maybe that is why others stated in their review that it leaked out all over the counter) Coffee basket goes in the side instead of the top. Much more sense. Reasonable footprint fits better on counter than my old one. Delay brew works perfectly. Easy to set time. I wake up to hot fresh coffee pot full. I have not had any problems with leaking as described in other review. I use the coffee maker 1-3 times per day. Fabulous carafe! No worry about buying replacements later, because of broken glass. I made a pot of decaf in PM and didn't finish. Next morning I went to pour it in the "ice coffee jar" and it was STILL very warm after an overnight! I like that it sounds a tone when the coffee is finished brewing and also sounds a tone and will not brew if the carafe is not in place. (to catch the coffee) Lighted bar shows how long ago the pot was brewed in 15 min. increments. I DID have to lubricate the reservoir lid with olive oil, just to make it work smooth. Coffee pot manufacturers could improve by having a temp sensor/contents level-indicator on the lower carafe, but would that compromise the thermal excellence?

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyboymaine
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Waste of Time/Money!
8/8/2010

Customer review by ShopperMDT

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by ShopperMDT
by ShopperMDT

I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperMDT
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/18/2012

Customer review by BunnyBunns

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by BunnyBunns
by BunnyBunns

I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots. Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BunnyBunns
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks aren't everything
7/28/2013

Customer review by sparky08360

2.0 stars 7/28/2013 by sparky08360
by sparky08360

Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe. Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot. We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparky08360
SNJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.
4/28/2014

Customer review by Brewsalot

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Brewsalot
by Brewsalot

This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brewsalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the coffee maker
10/11/2010

Customer review by Frushi

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Frushi
by Frushi

Love it. The coffee maker is very quick, keeps the coffee hot for a long time without cooking it, looks sleek on the counter and it's easy to add coffee to filter basket. Only thing I would have changed is the top for the tank on the side: it flips forward for filling, but obscures the top water fill line.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frushi
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another
8/20/2011

Customer review by Bunch123

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Bunch123
by Bunch123

I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down. But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months. The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers). But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bunch123
Shelbyville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Disapointing coffee maker
9/18/2010

Customer review by shopper332932943

1.0 stars 9/18/2010 by shopper332932943
by shopper332932943

Well after reading the reviews and seeing far more positive reviews than negative, we decided to buy this coffee maker. Needless to say, we returned it after only 4 uses. Every time we brewed a pot, over half of the pot had leaked all over the counter. We tried re-aligning the pot carefully under the spout, and had the same results every time...half of the pot ended up on the counter. Very disappointing for an $80 coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper332932943
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't get rid of metallic taste in caraffe
1/6/2012

Customer review by linetoolong

1.0 stars 1/6/2012 by linetoolong
by linetoolong

I thought I would love this machine b/c of my good history with Mr. Coffee products and the nifty features like the removable reservoir (I love this and the one on this machine is nice and easy to use.) But I can't get rid of the strange metallic/adhesive smell in the caraffe, and the coffee comes out taking like spiced metal no matter what I do. I prepared the machine as instructed and did some additional cleaning, but to no avail. I'll be taking it back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linetoolong
Would recommend to a friend? No
One of a kind
7/5/2010

Customer review by hologram

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by hologram
by hologram

Finally found a model that doesn't have to be pulled out on the counter to clear the above cupboards, to fill. Makes SO much more sense than pouring water under a lid on the top. No other coffee make on the market has this set up. Lid on reservoir was not smooth, but I just (carefully) sprayed it with PAM olive oil and it worked great. Nice looking, durable carafe that is NOT glass inside. Easy to take to the table with company. Indeed other customer must have had a defective carafe. This one keeps coffee hot for a good 2+ hrs. easily. Nice that it sounds a tone when brewing is done. Nice looking unit but a bit pricey @ $80.00 for Mr Coffee

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hologram
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Coffee Maker
11/13/2013

Customer review by grammy1205

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by grammy1205
by grammy1205

After shopping for a coffee maker, I decided to try this model of Mr. Coffee. I really like the ease of filling the removable water tank. The first couple of pots of coffee had a "plastic" taste, but now the coffee tastes great. The carafe keeps the coffee hot for hours--there is no hot plate under the carafe. Clean up is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grammy1205
Madison, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The worst coffee pot I have ever owned!
12/3/2013

Customer review by Mokie13

1.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Mokie13
by Mokie13

Please read all negative reviews of this coffee pot and seriously consider them before you spend your hard earned money on this coffee pot! It is not worth it. The name Mr Coffee is very deceiving and would lead you to believe they know coffee. I too have experienced a mysteriously leaking unit, cold coffee within 30 minutes of being brewed and terrible tasting coffee. I have had my pot for less than a year and it is on it's way to the trash heap. For the price go with the Cuisinart you will not be unhappy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mokie13
seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/31/2011

Customer review by ggc1

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by ggc1
by ggc1

I've had this coffee maker for about two weeks and can't be happier. I can't stand cold coffee and earlier posts indicated there may be an issue with getting the coffee hot enough. I haven't found that to be a problem. If you're tired of replacing numerous glass pots that need constant heat to keep the coffee hot, this insulated pot works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggc1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 412 total reviews
1-20 of 412 reviews