Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 1002 reviews
5 stars
543
4 stars
130
3 stars
64
2 stars
76
1 stars
189
Sort by: 
1-20 of 990 reviews
1-20 of 990 reviews
Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!
9/15/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (233)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of Time/Money!
8/8/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (76)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaks
3/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would not recommend this product. It leaks everytime:( We have tried everything but I think it is just a product design flaw.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This WAS our favorite, but no more.
8/10/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We found this coffee maker and have loved this model for years. Up until then I was a Bunn gal. WE LOVED this machine. Our first lasted almost 3 years. For us, who brew between 4-6 pots of coffee a day, that was great. Then we bought another it lasted 2 years. We were fine w/ that and we hadn't cleaned it regularly, so OK. Our third, after 6 months the next one started leaking all over the counter, and hubby throws away the receipt because the others have been great. So now he gets another one, and it doesn't work. About 3 cups goes into the carafe and the rest bleeds out. We cleaned it, use bottled water but we're so sad we have to say goodbye to a coffee maker that use to wake us up with the aroma of our fresh brew. 2 Duds in a row, and hubby threw away the receipt AGAIN! Mr. Coffee we are so disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Glad we changed back - a great pot for us!
7/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After 2yrs of Keurig Coffee, I grew tired of the very expensive coffee price and extra plastic pod waste. Tried cutting open used pods to dispose grounds properly while recycling the plastic containers but too much of a hassle. I wanted a regular coffee machine that wouldn't cost this retired couple $40 a month for 4 daily cups of coffee. This Mr. Coffee pot is a great size for 2-4 people. The metal thermal pot keeps the coffee super hot and I don't have to worry about breakage. I use a copper metal basket (bought yrs ago) for grounds. Have no problem with grounds in my coffee, overflow or leaking. I like the display showing how long the brewed coffee has been sitting; and discovered when I don't get up as early as my husband the coffee (he brewed) is still fresh tasting and hot. Glad to be back with Mr. Coffee!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks aren't everything
7/28/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe. Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot. We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots. Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the same as the one in website
12/24/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weak coffee, doesn't brew more than 4 cups
10/24/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Originally I thought this coffee maker was great. I made myself a pot of coffee, filling the water reservoir up to the 4 cup line, and the coffee tasted great and the carafe kept it hot. The first problem I had with this coffee maker was in brewing more than 4 cups of water. If I fill it to the 10 cup line, and add the appropriate amount of grounds to the basket, the grounds overflow into the machine as soon as water is added, it creates a huge mess to clean up and rinse out. And the resulting coffee is trash, as it is weak and full of grounds. This morning I tried to fill the coffee maker up to the 6 cup line, and although the grounds did not overflow, the coffee was extremely weak, looking like tea. I checked the basket and noticed that half the grounds were still dry. I decided to try again, same thing happened. This coffee pot seems incapable of brewing more than 4 cups successfully. What a waste of money and great coffee.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not so awesome
5/31/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this coffee maker a couple months, and started noticing that it never completely empties out the water from the lines! I ran a clean cycle yesterday, with vinegar following exact directions, and made 6 cups afterwards (turned out delicious). However! I turned the whole unit upside down today, and this is how much water drained out and all that nasty black stuff was floating in the water line inside. It's only been used once since the clean cycle! Now I'm scared to use the maker not knowing what's going to end up in my coffee
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the coffee maker
9/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Brewing
3/30/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this at my local Target store about 5 mo ago. Been using it occasionally since. Sadly, I only use it occasionally because it does a poor job of brewing. Major complaints with brewing are a (too) short contact time with the coffee and the drip system doesn't distribute water evenly so the center of the coffee grounds remains dry/unused. Perhaps I should have expected the too short contact time as Mr. Coffee specifically lists this as brewing quickly, but the uneven water distribution is entirely unacceptable. As the water is coming through a filter, I have both used it and not used it; I've also (futilely) tried to shake the filter to change it a bit. None of this improves water distribution. This coffee maker does a worse job than any basic $12 drip machine I've ever used. Definitely go looking elsewhere for you next coffee maker.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great coffee maker!!
2/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love it! We had an old Mr. Coffee maker for almost 4 years, very durable and still works, but we just wanted to upgrade it and this one works awesome, it makes our 6 cups in 5 minutes, and the thermal pot keep the coffee hot a while. plus, no mess on the carafe! Very pleased with this purchase
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
10/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been disappointed in the strength of the brewed coffee. I had to remove the water filter otherwise the grounds are not uniformly brewed. I like the detachable water reservoir and carafe, those work well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BIG BANG, for little buck!!
8/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read all the bad reviews before purchasing this pot. Several complained about it leaking. I bought it anyway and read the owners manual completely before using it. Enclosed with the owners manual is a note reading "You MUST empty the Carafe completely, before you begin a new brew, or it may leak." I have not had any problems with it leaking. This is my first thermal coffee maker. I normally buy glass pots but got tired of having to re-heat my coffee in the microwave to warm it up. This pot is amazing. It holds in the flavor, and keeps the coffee hot. For all who complain, my advise to you is to READ the owners manual before hand. I also cleaned it thoroughly before my first pot. Used mild dishwasher soap and cleaned the inside of all the plastic parts. Then ran 3 pots of just water through the pot and I also ran a diluted pot of Isopropyl Alcohol through the pot to get rid of the plastic taste. I have heard Vodka works as well. If you do all of this, I think you will be just as happy with this maker as I am.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I LOVE This Coffeemaker!
9/23/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To begin with, it looks so good! As if it was designed by Apple Computer. The detachable water reservoir is wonderful and works perfectly even if you don't get it seated just right. The coffee is hot, hot, hot! And it stays hot in the carafe much longer than any other coffeemaker I've ever had with a thermal carafe. It even stays hot enough to drink even after the Fresh Brew Timer has turned off. I did notice that some of the grounds weren't even wet after the first couple of brews, so I took the paper water filter out (we don't need it anyway because we use well water) and after that the grounds were evenly wet. The coffee is tastier than what we got from our last coffeemaker and waking up to the smell of fresh-brewed coffee is such a treat in the morning! I'm just hoping this one lasts longer than the previous one. If you're looking for a great coffeemaker in every respect, definitely get this one! But purchase it online at walmart.com and then go pick it up. It was $14 cheaper for me that way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Satisfied!
7/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome
3/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another
8/20/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down. But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months. The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers). But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-