Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 804 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

804 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

804 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
453
4 stars
104
3 stars
48
2 stars
51
1 stars
148
1-20 of 792 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 792 total reviews
1-20 of 792 reviews
Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!
9/15/2010

Customer review by CurlTwirler

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by CurlTwirler
by CurlTwirler

I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (207) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlTwirler
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of Time/Money!
8/8/2010

Customer review by ShopperMDT

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by ShopperMDT
by ShopperMDT

I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!

Was this review helpful? (62) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperMDT
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Glad we changed back - a great pot for us!
7/1/2016

Customer review by Pattyjean46

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Pattyjean46
by Pattyjean46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 2yrs of Keurig Coffee, I grew tired of the very expensive coffee price and extra plastic pod waste. Tried cutting open used pods to dispose grounds properly while recycling the plastic containers but too much of a hassle. I wanted a regular coffee machine that wouldn't cost this retired couple $40 a month for 4 daily cups of coffee. This Mr. Coffee pot is a great size for 2-4 people. The metal thermal pot keeps the coffee super hot and I don't have to worry about breakage. I use a copper metal basket (bought yrs ago) for grounds. Have no problem with grounds in my coffee, overflow or leaking. I like the display showing how long the brewed coffee has been sitting; and discovered when I don't get up as early as my husband the coffee (he brewed) is still fresh tasting and hot. Glad to be back with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pattyjean46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks aren't everything
7/28/2013

Customer review by sparky08360

2.0 stars 7/28/2013 by sparky08360
by sparky08360

Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe. Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot. We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparky08360
SNJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/18/2012

Customer review by BunnyBunns

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by BunnyBunns
by BunnyBunns

I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots. Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BunnyBunns
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not the same as the one in website
12/24/2013

Customer review by ndjg

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by ndjg
by ndjg

The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndjg
long island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the coffee maker
9/20/2014

Customer review by mstewflyr

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by mstewflyr
by mstewflyr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstewflyr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE This Coffeemaker!
9/23/2015

Customer review by NerdPlus

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by NerdPlus
by NerdPlus

To begin with, it looks so good! As if it was designed by Apple Computer. The detachable water reservoir is wonderful and works perfectly even if you don't get it seated just right. The coffee is hot, hot, hot! And it stays hot in the carafe much longer than any other coffeemaker I've ever had with a thermal carafe. It even stays hot enough to drink even after the Fresh Brew Timer has turned off. I did notice that some of the grounds weren't even wet after the first couple of brews, so I took the paper water filter out (we don't need it anyway because we use well water) and after that the grounds were evenly wet. The coffee is tastier than what we got from our last coffeemaker and waking up to the smell of fresh-brewed coffee is such a treat in the morning! I'm just hoping this one lasts longer than the previous one. If you're looking for a great coffeemaker in every respect, definitely get this one! But purchase it online at walmart.com and then go pick it up. It was $14 cheaper for me that way.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NerdPlus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.
4/28/2014

Customer review by Brewsalot

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Brewsalot
by Brewsalot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brewsalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Satisfied!
7/6/2014

Customer review by Magzie

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by Magzie
by Magzie

I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
BIG BANG, for little buck!!
8/30/2015

Customer review by Michelleluvsdoxies

5.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Michelleluvsdoxies
by Michelleluvsdoxies

I read all the bad reviews before purchasing this pot. Several complained about it leaking. I bought it anyway and read the owners manual completely before using it. Enclosed with the owners manual is a note reading "You MUST empty the Carafe completely, before you begin a new brew, or it may leak." I have not had any problems with it leaking. This is my first thermal coffee maker. I normally buy glass pots but got tired of having to re-heat my coffee in the microwave to warm it up. This pot is amazing. It holds in the flavor, and keeps the coffee hot. For all who complain, my advise to you is to READ the owners manual before hand. I also cleaned it thoroughly before my first pot. Used mild dishwasher soap and cleaned the inside of all the plastic parts. Then ran 3 pots of just water through the pot and I also ran a diluted pot of Isopropyl Alcohol through the pot to get rid of the plastic taste. I have heard Vodka works as well. If you do all of this, I think you will be just as happy with this maker as I am.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michelleluvsdoxies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
7/11/2016

Customer review by alynnnelson

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by alynnnelson
by alynnnelson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this coffee maker! I love that it reminds me to get the coffee ready, tells me when it is finished brewing, and how quickly it brews. I don't know how I lived without this pot. I can brew coffee from BED! On the weekends I don't always have a set time that I wake up so it is nice to be able to wake up, push a button on my phone, and have the coffee ready within minutes. Yes, I said MINUTES. It only takes a little over 5 minutes to brew 10 cups. LOVE LOVE LOVE The ONLY thing I would do differently would be to make the carafe either clear or have some kind of window on it so I can tell when I am running low and need to make another pot. The stainless steel is so nice and insulated but makes it hard to tell when the pot is running low.

alynnnelson
Uvalde, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great carafe - poor quality brewer
1/4/2016

Customer review by FreeThinker406

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by FreeThinker406
by FreeThinker406

Bought this at a great price at Walmart. Brewed good hot coffee in around 7 minutes. The carafe is excellent. It keeps the coffee very hot for hours. Love the carafe. The problem is that after three weeks I noticed an electrical smell coming from the coffee pot while brewing one morning. Then the pot shut down and stopped working. I still have the receipt, but no longer have the box so it would be difficult to return it to Walmart, also we are no longer near the actual store that we bought it from. The instructions that came in the box say not to return defective product to the store but to the manufacturer. The postage to do this would be around $15 and I really don't want to spend any more on this. Finally I would hate to loose the carafe because it works so well and it is difficult to find such a good one. I am currently making my coffee with my French Press and using the carafe to keep it nice and hot.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/8/2016

We would like the opportunity to change your experience with your coffee maker and would like for you to reach out to our Customer Service Team at 1-800-672-6333. We are available for you Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern, and we look forward to getting you back up and running with your coffee maker.

FreeThinker406
Would recommend to a friend? No
If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another
8/20/2011

Customer review by Bunch123

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Bunch123
by Bunch123

I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down. But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months. The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers). But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bunch123
Shelbyville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coffee Maker
3/2/2016

Customer review by jillyCC

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by jillyCC
by jillyCC

This coffee maker performs better than I expected it would. After we went through several cheaper makes and models, including a couple Mr. Coffee's, I decided that I needed to step up to something that, hopefully would last longer. I did not like the Keurig models as I thought the price of coffee was too high and you can only brew one cup at a time. This new Mr. Coffee can make a entire pot in under 7 minutes. There is no warming plate because the sealed insulated carafe keeps the coffee hot. I have poured a cup that was sitting in the pot for just over 4 hours and it came out steaming. Obviously not as hot as the moment it was brewed but hot enough to still have steam. If I had to list any negatives about this machine it would be that it will only make 10 cups at one time. However, the flip side of this is that it can brew another 10 cups in 7 minutes. The only other thing is that being the carafe is stainless steel, you can see how much coffee is left in the pot, but again,, if you run out, it only takes 7 minutes to make 10 more cups. I would highly recommend this product for anyone who is looking for a coffee pot that really works.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jillyCC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome
3/30/2014

Customer review by Avidbowhunter

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Avidbowhunter
by Avidbowhunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avidbowhunter
Tyrone, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brews Fast
4/23/2014

Customer review by kddp

4.0 stars 4/23/2014 by kddp
by kddp

I am happy with my new Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew Thermal coffee maker. I have had the coffee maker for about 6 weeks and I have not had any leaks as others have posted. I have used the delay brew as well and no leaks. This brews a lot faster than my old coffee maker and will beep when finished brewing. This uses regular coffee filters and a water filter which is a nice added benefit but the water filters are hard to find. I will have to order off of the Mr. Coffee web site-looks like they are about $3.99 each and have to be replaced each month. This could be a bit too much for some to pay but I am willing to pay it for the great tasting coffee. The machine is a bit big so make sure you have a spot big enough on your counter to hold it. If you have a smaller space I would not recommend. The stainless steel color goes well with my stainless steel appliances. Pouring from the carafe is less of a mess than my old coffee pot (the old one always dribbled)

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kddp
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks good but....
6/22/2016

Customer review by J9john

3.0 stars 6/22/2016 by J9john
by J9john

My past 2 coffee machines have been expensive. I wanted a grinder built in so I bought a Cuisinart 650 and after that the Breville you Brew. Neither one lasted more than 2 years. I decided to get a regular coffee maker and a grinder separately. I researched and really loved the look of this one. It got pretty good reviews so I got it. Set up was easy, looks great. I will say if you need a coffee maker under your cabinet it's a bit awkward but if you don't mind pulling it out from under the cabinet everyday you're good. My disappointment came when I tasted the coffee. I was used to the slow brewing Breville which makes a really strong,great tasting cup of coffee. This one brews way to fast and doesn't take time to develop flavor. So I would say if your used to a fast brewing machine you will like this but if not beware.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
J9john
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exceeded Expectations
7/24/2010

Customer review by Happymotherof3minnesota

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by Happymotherof3minnesota
by Happymotherof3minnesota

What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great! Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happymotherof3minnesota
White Bear Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worst design coffee maker
7/11/2016

Customer review by maddog

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by maddog
by maddog

I purchased this coffee maker in Febuary of 2016 , did not brew hot got a replacment three weeks later still not brewing hot , got a third one . It brewed hot ,then the coffee grounds started to over flow in the brewing basket, followed the troubleshooting guide no change. To me it in the design, with the water draining from the corner of the brew basket instead of the middle cause it to back up in the basket

maddog
Denver, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 792 total reviews
1-20 of 792 reviews