Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
45
3 stars
20
2 stars
18
1 stars
35
1-20 of 222 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews
I cannot tell you how awesome this product is
12/14/2016

Customer review by Lala

5.0 stars 12/14/2016 by Lala
by Lala

I have had the Bissell Steam Shot for 2 years and it is incredible. It cleans stainless steel, granite countertops, black appliances, you name it because it uses ONLY STEAM!!! There's no harse chemicals involved. I'm not one to believe in the whole hippie "no chemical, only natural stuff" sort of thing but if I can get a WAYYYYY BETTER clean from a product that uses only water then I'm all for it! If you buy this product you will not be disappointed

Lala
I LOVE THE STEAM ShOT!
5/30/2015

Customer review by steamgirl

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by steamgirl
by steamgirl

I wondered if I can sterilize my dishes without breaking them by using this? Right now my dishwasher is broken so I'd love a way to sterilize them without boiling water. The steam that comes out is HOT and POWERFUL. So powerful, that I am concerned using it on windows or mirrors because I don't want to break them! Here are some of my successes: I cleaned my Jacuzzi tub - the nozzles etc. I used it for a mysterious odor in one bedroom. I cleaned the wooden walls (I have a log cabin# and the smell is gone. It also cleans out dust between the panels. Love cleaning with it, knowing that it sterilizes. I also have the Bissell Symphony and it vacuums AND steams! One of the reviews had mentioned that this steamer doesn't suck up stuff, so to use a cloth to follow the steam to wipe things up. Well, the Symphony does! Its a great machine! Thanks Bissell for both items - good designs #except the hand held steamer falls over and won't stand up)

steamgirl
Hudson Valley, NY
Gender:Female
Steam Shot Steamer
11/30/2016

Customer review by Tiff7499

4.0 stars 11/30/2016 by Tiff7499
by Tiff7499

I ordered this steamer to use to clean my dirty grout on my tiled kitchen floor, and I was shocked how well it worked. If you are buying this to clean grout, I would recommend ordering an extra hose & grout brushes. I'm looking forward to see what else this magical steamer can do.

Tiff7499
A must have for grout and hard water build up!
10/28/2015

Customer review by Mychael

5.0 stars 10/28/2015 by Mychael
by Mychael

I've had my Steam Shot for just at a year now. I can't tell you how much I've used this and my Bissell Steam Mop. The Steam Shot, with the Red Brush attachment, or the Grout Brush, is the absolute best for cleaning grout. I was completely shocked to find out the grout in my kitchen floor was not very dark brown, but grey after using the Steam Shot on all the grout. I have full glass shower doors, and we have very hard water, and the calcium builds up on the doors quickly. It also builds up on all the tile work. I use the Steam Shot to easily remove the hard water build up and make my glass doors sparkle. TIP: After cleaning glass doors with the Steam Shot, dry well with lint free free cloth. Then apply Rain-Ex, the stuff you put on your auto windshield, to the glass doors as directed on the bottle. This makes the water run off and hard water build up takes a lot longer to build up. I like this product, and the steam mop, so much, I purchased both for my best friend when he purchased a new house with all tile floors. I highly recommend the Bissell Steam Shot for large and small hard to clean areas.

Mychael
Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Works fine so far...but....its a little floppy
6/1/2014

Customer review by Man who knows how to clean

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Man who knows how to clean
by Man who knows how to clean

I have had one other steamer which was not a Bissell and it stopped heating and had to be discarded. I missed having a steamer which I primarily use for hard surfaces in the bathroom. So, I replaced my steamer with this Bissell model. It heats really quickly which is good. I do not have to wait too long to get some steam. I have used it 2 or 3 times in the first month that I have had it. So, its not like I used it once and now it won't work like other reviews here. I would be angry if that were the case. When cleaning the bathroom, I used a rag to sop up water from the steam and occassionally have to set the steamer down which becomes a little unwieldy. There is the long rubberized hose and when that is on the steamer, the steamer won't sit upright and it can fall off any where you set it down. It would seem that designers could imagine that at some point in cleaning, the product needs to be set down for a minute or two and it should be able to stand upright, even if the hose is on but this is not the case. For this reason alone, I took off one star because it is difficult to secure if one has to set it down while cleaning.

Man who knows how to clean
Hicksville, OHIO next town over from Podunkville & OneStopLightVille
Gender:Male
LOVE IT BUT USER GUIDE IS NOT VERY USEFUL
4/11/2015

Customer review by katz

4.0 stars 4/11/2015 by katz
by katz

I came on line to see if there was a user guide that had more information, with no luck. In both the user guide and on the box it says the brushes are color coated for specific use, however nowhere on the box, in the user guide, or on line do they explain which color is for what use. It would also be helpful if there were examples of things it cleans or even a video. Extremely disappointed in the information in the user guide and would have tried a different brand had I known the user guide was useless and less than informational. I have had a steamer in the past it also worked great but was very heavy - this one is light, easier to use, and worked just as well. I've only had it a day but it did a great job on my windows and in the bathroom. Have yet to try it on my grill but that is next on my list.

katz
Iron River, WI
Gender:Female
Heavy
8/12/2016

Customer review by Sola

2.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Sola
by Sola

Used it once, tried to like it and finally I am returning. This thing is really heavy & just nit practical for cleaning purposes at all.my wrist is still hurting from carrying the steamer around .am really disappointed cause I really needed such a tool.

Sola
Alexandria ,VA
Gender:Female
Delightful Little Tool
3/13/2015

Customer review by ejvmev

4.0 stars 3/13/2015 by ejvmev
by ejvmev

I got my SS today and am cleaning my patio doors. I tried cleaning them yesterday with a rag and that just left a streaked mess. Now the glass is starting to look like it's not even there, which is the way I like it. I don't even have the window attachment, BTW. Still, the difference is amazing. I used it to clean the gross door tracks too. And while releasing the pressure to prep for a refill, I aimed it at the stove control knobs which I had previously tried cleaning with chemicals to no effect, It was working! I can see why some people wish the tank were larger, but if it was, it might be too heavy to comfortably hold for long. PS: Don't take a chance with your tap water. Only use distilled water. At a dollar or less a gallon it is worth protecting your investment.

ejvmev
Manhattan, KS, USA
Gender:Female
Worth the money
11/19/2012

Customer review by JoJo

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by JoJo
by JoJo

I recently bought the Steam Shot cleaner from Bissell and am quite happy with it. I feel it helps sanitize things and get hard to come off grime. Also good for getting wrinkles out of clothes. The one thing I really don't like is that if you have the hose attachment on it makes it "top heavy" and is easily knocked over, so you have to be very careful where you set it down. I'm afraid I could bump the cord and it could fall off the counter, for instance. Falling could break something or could cause a burn. Otherwise, I am very happy with the product. A lesser problem is it seems it could be easier to open the top (where you pour the water in). Closing it is easy, but as you have to push down as you turn it, it can be hard to know if it is closed as far as it goes or not.

JoJo
Brookings, SD
Gender:Female
Slightly Disappointed
10/20/2012

Customer review by Larry

3.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Larry
by Larry

I own other Bissell products, and I'm completely satisfied with them. One is the Bissell upright beater bar vacuum and the carpet cleaner with the hard floor adapter. My disappointment lies in two things, the size of the water container and the force of the steam. What I mean by the force of the steam,it seems like you have to wait a few seconds before the steam comes out again after continued use. Like the steam coils in the tank cannot keep up with the use. Seems to have highs and lows with pressure. As far as the cleaning goes,I'm satisfied with that,but you have to be patient when cleaning,the dirt doesn't come off as fast as the ad shows. In the final analysis,is it worth the money?? Yes...Just be patient

Larry
Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Need to use a few more times.
3/10/2015

Customer review by Hope492

4.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Hope492
by Hope492

I have only had time to use the product one time. But I do like the ease of using it. I could not get all of the spots off of my shower doors. Don't understand why. Was dissappointed about this. If anyone has an answer to this please let me know. I had a problem with how to use the attachments and the book was no help. I called customer support and was very pleased with the guy that answered my call. He was very nice and very helpful. He answered all my questions. Maybe after I use it some more then I can give it 5 stars. Customer support has been very helpful about helping me to choose the right products that I needed.

Hope492
Asheville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Good little steamer
3/1/2013

Customer review by msdemeanor

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by msdemeanor
by msdemeanor

I have the Bissell yellow canister steamer which is great for big jobs. I wanted this for the small kitchen and bath jobs and it's great for that. I didn't get the clothing steamer attachement so I'll have to order that. I have asthma so don't like to use scented or aeresol cleaners and this steamer lets me avoid them. I'm very pleased. I did notice the red light coming on as I used it but see several others mentioned it might be from not letting it heat long enough. It is great for dirty switch plates, glass stove top, fridge gaskets and windows. A great investment if only for that.

Comment from Lisa - 3/4/2013

The light will turn off once the machine is ready to steam.

msdemeanor
Central Florida
Gender:Female
Doesnt do much
4/27/2012

Customer review by anastasia

1.0 stars 4/27/2012 by anastasia
by anastasia

I bought this to clean the hard to reach places in the bathroom. This machine puzzles me as I find that there is not enough pressure to help clean, and the steam is not hot enough to sanitize. This machine does not make cleaning easier I can put my hand in front of the steam and it is only barely warm. Basically, the steam just makes things wet from condensation (like after you take a shower) and then you have to wipe everything down. I dont need a machine for that. I dont understand all the rave reviews. I really had high hopes for this but I think I will have to return it.

Comment from Joe - 4/30/2012

I'm sorry you are having issues with your Steam Shot Anastasia. You should never put your hand in front of the steam path. You could seriously injure yourself as the unit should get extremely hot. The red indicator light will go on when the unit is first plugged in. When the steamer is ready to use, the light will turn off. At this point you can steam. Make sure that you don't tip the unit more than 45 degrees as water can leak out of the unit. Here is a link to the user's guide for any additional questions: http://www.bissell.com/assets/0/132/134/228/2b2ba377-895a-481a-872c-a3fd1d41b958.pdf?icid=ccrr

anastasia
New York, NY, USA
Clogged...won't produce steam
7/28/2013

Customer review by HailzMama

3.0 stars 7/28/2013 by HailzMama
by HailzMama

I have a question...it's been YEARS since I used my steam shot, because I forgot I had it. I decided to give it a try to clean my shower today. I noticed there was a lot of build up in the machine. So I rinsed it out, and tried to fill it back up, and once the light went off, I pulled the trigger and nothing happened. So I opened it back up and thought I could get the build up out by putting distilled vinegar in it. Is this ok to do? I'm going to let it sit in there for a while, and then try to turn it back on...I hope it works. Has anyone else ever tried this before?

Comment from Lisa - 7/30/2013

Thanks for your review; we are sorry for the no spray. We wouldn't recommend using vinegar. Here, check out this link for our easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1279

HailzMama
Prescott, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Need More Information
4/2/2013

Customer review by quietone616

4.0 stars 4/2/2013 by quietone616
by quietone616

I love using my Steam Shot1 I love the idea of using steam instead of strong cleaners or the muscle required to do my daily cleaning. I really wish though, that more information was available as to how to use my Steam Shot. Techniques as to using the different brush ends & when it's better to use the extension hose or not & how to use it on sinks, tubs, stoves, ovens, & cupboards would really help. It's easy to handle & so far does what I want it to do, but, the more help you can give me the more I can use it. Thanks for making such dependable & well made products.

quietone616
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Gender:Female
Junky
3/1/2015

Customer review by Bizle Fizle

2.0 stars 3/1/2015 by Bizle Fizle
by Bizle Fizle

I gave the Steam Shot 2 stars because when it worked it cleaned well BUT even when it works properly you truly only get one shot of steam and then you have to wait several seconds to use it again, as you can imagine, it takes a while to clean when you are having to wait after every shot of steam. Secondly, I had this item for less than a year, and it is already broken. The handle that shoots out the steam is broken so nothing comes out--it's special! I didn't use this item often so it should definitely be working. I won't be buying this again, wah wah!

Comment from Marie - 3/3/2015

Thank you for your review. What you described your SteamShot wasn't working properly. You have a one year warranty, and we will be happy to replace your machine for you. Please click at the link to proceed: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Bizle Fizle
not the best
7/14/2014

Customer review by phylmar

2.0 stars 7/14/2014 by phylmar
by phylmar

I really had high hopes for this Steam Shot, its ok, not bad enough to return, but it drips a lot of water you have to be sure the attachments are on really good and they never seem to snap on correctly. I like it for steaming clothing once you get it to stop dripping, it works pretty well on the outdoor grill with the little wire brushes. I used it to clean the inside of my windowsills, did an ok job. The light on it never worked at all I think it is supposed to turn red when it is ready to use, but it never did.

phylmar
Scranton, Pa
Gender:Female
Steam Shot
2/16/2014

Customer review by Nola

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Nola
by Nola

This baby steamer really does a good job . I do have another steamer and much bigger one and it is only 900 watts for a small steamer and 1000 watts . I do recommend this product . The steam that comes out from this baby is awesome. It does the job it heats very fast and it has too many attachments . Price range is not cheap nor expensive. I did rate it 4 stars just because when I used the squeegee attachment it dripped water maybe I use it wrong. Bissell please post a clear video how to use each attachment .

Nola
San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
It's a lot of work and grout brush didn't last thru one cleaning
2/13/2014

Customer review by CEG1

2.0 stars 2/13/2014 by CEG1
by CEG1

Its not my favorite. Quite a bit of water left behind. I used it to clean grout in kitchen and it worked when the brush was at its best but that did not last long. The attachments are flimsy and cheaply constructed. It did the job but I have a sore arm and thumb because you have to keep the pressure down for steam to release. It took several refills of water and that process is cumbersome. Not sure if Bissel is coming up with a better design but I would wait to purchase unit until kinks are worked out.

Comment from Lisa - 2/14/2014

Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the Steam Shot. Perhaps the Steam Sponge will fit your needs more. To view, please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/steam-sponge/?icid=ccrr

CEG1
San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Works very well
2/17/2016

Customer review by Bun49

4.0 stars 2/17/2016 by Bun49
by Bun49

Love the results of this steam cleaner, but find the water runs out a little too soon. Maybe this won't be a problem if I use it on a regular basis and don't need to stay in the same area as long.

Bun49
Largo, FL, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 222 total reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews