Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 67 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
It's been a long road.
4/10/2010

Customer review by Breakdancefight

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by Breakdancefight
by Breakdancefight

I have been searching for the perfect gaming monitor for my PS3/360 needs. Have tried nearly every brand on the market with every marketing gimmick on the planet, only to find none of the them lived up the their promise or the price tag. I started with an 22" LG went as high as a 42" Samsung plasma, none gave the desired results. As an avid gamer I need a panel with colors that pop and can handle motion in games without ghosting or color streaking. I have found everything I was looking for in the 2709m. The colors are fantastic and they really pop making the neon lit halls of Mass effect 2 come to life in a way I could not have imagined. There is no sign of ghosting/streaking at all and motion blur is completely natural. If you are a gamer looking for the perfect solution and ever plan on using this for your PC need there are plenty of connection option with VGA/HDMI/DVI it everything you could want.

Breakdancefight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Monitor
1/2/2011

Customer review by Orlando

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Orlando
by Orlando

The HP 2710m is a great monitor It is a huge monitor in the good sense. Just what I wanted. Very easy to install. Terrific HD picture allowing you to pick up tiny details Supports HDMI, and it is beautiful. The monitor speakers are not so great since they are installed at the back of the monitor. Not a problem for me because I have a separate powerful speaker system. But if you don't have a similar one, you will not get a great sound. Well I don't want to be unfair, anyway monitors are not meant to provide a high fidelity sound experience. Removing the HP sticker along the top of the monitor is an annoying experience. I used a hair drier as recommended by some other reviewer and heated the leading edge in order to peel it off slowly. But there is still some glue residue on the bezel. I wonder if HP staff will solve this problem ever since there are three reviews already and the problem persists.This something that can be solved easily by HP and that could give great customer satisfaction. Other than this little cosmetic (non-functional) problem the monitor is great. I love it big time

Orlando
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Clear and Bright
12/3/2009

Customer review by Hammurabi

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by Hammurabi
by Hammurabi

I almost did not purchase the HP2709m as there are some negative reviews on the net. Points taken away because of no web cam, no usb ports, limited resolution low powered speakers, not energy star, etc. After seeing one in person I took the plunge as I have a web cam, usb hub, less than perfect eyesight and I turn the monitor off when not in use. What I can say is that the the 2709 is considerably easier on my eyes than the Samsung 204B that I am now using as a 2nd monitor. It did need adjustment out of the box but less than I was led to expect. One feature totally under reported and under rated is the ambient light sensor which adjusts the monitor to the room light level. I challenge anyone to match the picture quality at a price less than others are charging for a 24" monitor. With what I saved I can buy a web cam, USB hub and quite a bit more.

Hammurabi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
cool monitor
11/16/2010

Customer review by congo1829

4.0 stars 11/16/2010 by congo1829
by congo1829

I use the HP2710m at work on my MAC mini. The Resolution is great, and the picture is great. I am going to get another for my home MAC mini. I have no issues with the monitor.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
congo1829
Columbia MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very very good monitor
8/31/2010

Customer review by HPCust

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by HPCust
by HPCust

It is really a great monitor for video and pictures. Video and pictures were bright and colors were accurate. There are very few monitors out there in 27inch screen size that supports 1920X1080. That means I can see the full HD with the whole screen. Also I don’t have to sit too close to the monitor to read the text on the screen. Other monitors in the market support higher resolutions and that causes characters to appear too small. I noticed a problem when it comes to display of text as I had seen ghost image on some characters like m, j, s etc., in red color. To be fair shadow went away with different font and/or operating system. So I am not sure if I am ready to blame the monitor yet. I called the customer service for the above problem they were good not necessarily excellent. Overall it is a great monitor and you will enjoy it.

HPCust
Salem, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Monitor Ever
8/24/2010

Customer review by crazywoo

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by crazywoo
by crazywoo

I bought this monitor for my wife,even though,she did't want one.I had bought the 2509 for me,due to I have a small area for a monitor,and the 2509 just fit,and the 27" would have been to big for my computer desk.My wife was useing a Viewsonic 22",but when she saw mind,she liked it.I new she wanted one,but she said she was happy with the 22".Well anyway I bought the 27" and set it up on her computer desk,while she was at work.When she saw it,she fell in love with it.Both monitors are the best we have ever owned,no dead pixels like the two Viewsonic's we still have,will keep them for spares,just in case we have any problems.The only problems with these monitors,is the stickers,they put on them,getting them off leaves a little mess,but otherwise,they run great.Thanks HP for another great product.

crazywoo
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Monitor for the Price
9/2/2009

Customer review by macchu

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by macchu
by macchu

I've had the 2709m for a week at my office. After a week of use, I am ordering another one for my home. The image and colors are excellent. Set-up was simple and went without a hitch. I used the DVI cable with none of the issues described by another reviewer here (I suspect his problem is a driver and/or software issue, not one with the monitor itself). The only drawback I see to the monitor, which others have commented on, is red-shift, i.e., when viewed from an angle of more than 45 degrees off center, whites and yellows appear to have a reddish tint. That's not a problem for use as a computer monitor at all, which is how I intend to use it, since you mostly sit right in front of the monitor----it's only an issue for use as a TV/movie monitor for more than 2-3 people, when someone will be sitting off to the side. All in all, not much of a drawback. Others have commented that the monitor does not have all the features of the HP w2558hc monitor with memory card readers, USB ports, task light, 1920 x 1200 resolution, etc. Personally, I don't miss these. I could have bought the HP w2558hc for about $100 more, but I didn't think those extra features were worth the extra cost, at least for me. Overall, a great monitor for the price.

macchu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great display, don't rely on the speakers
1/2/2011

Customer review by blee

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by blee
by blee

I bought this LCD monitor as a television replacement because I live in a small apartment. The display itself is fantastic but the speakers are terrible, don't rely on them if you need sound. To put things into perspective a car driving by outside is enough to drown out the sound from the speakers or a small indoor fan. Whats worse is that if you use HDMI the unit has NO alternative way of outputting the audio signal with RCA or Optical so unless your device has the ability to output a separate audio signal for example PS3 you're out of luck. HP should consider upgrading the speakers to regular television speakers, I would have paid extra or even a way to output the sound from the LCD to powered speakers would have been nice.

blee
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great stuff
8/24/2009

Customer review by crcrc

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by crcrc
by crcrc

Pros: Picture, customizable settings, appearance Cons: Wimpy speakers (oh well), only 1 HDMI input had this about 5 days, i'm extremely satisfied thus far. Using the VGA input from a laptop, running at 1920x1080, picture is very good, especially considering the input. Haven't got to use the HDMI or DVI-D inputs yet. Monitor has a a ton of settings accessible through the on-screen menu, using the buttons to set it up is kind of a pain but definitely worth the time as I really got the picture popping with a little bit of tweaking. Monitor is also very aesthetically pleasing, which is a huge plus since it's basically set up in my living room. Speakers are underwhelming, but who honestly buys a monitor based on sound?

crcrc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice picture, but...
12/3/2009

Customer review by tony56

4.0 stars 12/3/2009 by tony56
by tony56

First off, the monitor works great. But I originally brought it because the specs say 2 HDMI ports. Well this monitor only has 1. I went back and forth with HP on this. They finally after sending me another monitor with just the 1 HDMI port, that it is a marketing error. So if you’re looking for 2 HDMI ports, this might not work. HP did send me a DVI to HDMI cable to fix my issue. So there are ways around this. Other then the HDMI issue, I love the monitor. It is big with great picture quality. I use it with my dv7 HP laptop. Plus it is also used along with my HD DirecTV receiver, to watch TV. I was looking at buying a 28inch HDTV for this use. But for the cost and 1080P quality you can't beat this monitor.

tony56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very nice monitor
12/18/2009

Customer review by sakray

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by sakray
by sakray

-No dead pixels -It's freaking 27", it is HUGE, but not in a bad way. On the first day I thought it was too big, but it's actually not. -It's too bright out of the box, but I have adjusted the brightness to 100%, contrast to 0%, and tweaked the brightness and contrast, and gamma manually through my ati radeon video card's catalyst and now it looks wonderful, just the way I want. -This monitor will make a minor screeching noise under 95% brightness but you shouldn't notice unless the rest of your computer is almost silent (like my computer is). At 100% brightness, it is virtually silent unless your ears are right near the back of the monitor. -The blacks get very black, and the whites are VERYYY bright. You can tell the difference between 96% and 98% black and 2% and 4% brightness if properly calibrated. -1 con is that this monitor is quite susceptible to background lighting, and may produce glares. -This monitor works REALLY GOOD in 720P resolution, in fact I have my desktop running in 720P resolution and everything looks just as good as it does in 1080P (which is its native resolution). The videos look amazing in 720P resolution. (make sure to switch to 1080p resolution before viewing 1080p native videos). But there really aren't that many 1080P videos except for movies on bluray.

sakray
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
wow
3/2/2011

Customer review by npkn

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by npkn
by npkn

I just received my HP2710m. What a lovely product!! I simply cannot understand all the negative stuff about tinge etc. - come on folks, this is unbelievably good. Regarding glare - it is true that the monitor has a glossy finish and so tends to pick up glare from behind the user. But this is very nominal, and doesn't bother me much - and I am very picky about glare (I gave up using my laptop because of it). I also bought a S2031a some time ago, and the difference in quality (only on "no-glare" quality) is 100% for 2031a and 99% for 2710. Will I go back to S2031a because of the glare issue? No way! Although I don't understand why HP didn't use the same S2031a technology on the 2710m ...

npkn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is just plain stunning
7/16/2010

Customer review by MaggieD

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by MaggieD
by MaggieD

I've been using this monitor for many months now, I got my hands on it just before the holiday season last year, I used it in the DVI setting for quite a while, then finally set up an adaptor on my video card (so easy to do, but I just hadn't gotten around to it). I use it for work, including a lot of text and graphics, and everything looks great. I wish my web page end users all had the view I do! Until I saw this monitor, I thought only the folks using those big Apple's monitors could get this beautiful a look. And the price really made it work for me. I don't use it with the monitor speakers, I have a nice set that I already use, this this review covers the look only.

MaggieD
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
As close to perfect as you can get
2/26/2011

Customer review by Crispy207

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by Crispy207
by Crispy207

Amazing display, I bought it on good faith of other HP monitors and really wasn't 100% sure what I was getting until I plugged it in and saw it. From the box to desk this monitor is almost perfect. The only thing even remotely negative that I can say (and I kind of hate to mention it) are the speakers - most people who invest in a 27" monitor aren't really looking for a set of anemic speakers attached to it but I guess they're handy if you're in a bind. *IMPORTANT: the sticker issue that people had mentioned in previous posts has been resolved. The only thing I had to remove from the monitor was static cling packaging and an instruction sheet.

Crispy207
Southern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Monitor...but agree with others
1/2/2011

Customer review by HPproductReviewer

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by HPproductReviewer
by HPproductReviewer

Really nice monitor except I agree with others on "why the extra glue on the sticker?" I carefully pulled the sticker off but it still left glue on the bezel. I carefully used a little "goo gone" on it and then used LCD cleaner. After some time of VERY CAREFUL use of the products It finally came clean. Do NOT get the "goo gone" on the LCD screen itself. Like another reviewer, I gave 4 stars just because of the glue issue. Now days, with all the non-sticky labels there is absolutely no reason to use such a messy solution for a sticker. The good news is that once the sticker is off it is a great value and an awesome monitor.

HPproductReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy
11/29/2010

Customer review by Primo456

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Primo456
by Primo456

I was going to first get the 25-inch, but the rebate and my thoughts of keeping whatever monitor I buy for the next few years changed my mind. I think they fixed the front sticker problem. I slowly peeled them off at room temp with no issues. Yes, the speakers are poor quality, but I have a couple Bose speakers I'm using and love. The picture quality is fantastic. Setup was a snap. My 22-inch Samsung is great, but does not even come close to the 2710m. Very please I dropped a little extra money and got the the bigger display. Use the HDMI connection if you can. A very good choice for an upgrade or companion with a new PC.

Primo456
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good monitor
3/29/2011

Customer review by reddog45

4.0 stars 3/29/2011 by reddog45
by reddog45

I had a HP 22" at home, and a HP 25" at work, and was/am very happy with both. The 25" has a small label/sticker on it, so I know what some people are talking about (although it is too small to bother me on the 25"), but the 27" did not have any stickers at all. Shrug Decided to upgrade my home monitor, and decided to go for the 27". That was probably a mistake, I should have gotten the 25". Not critizing the 27", but my eyes are getting old and I have eye problems in general. So far, I haven't been able to adjust the 27" to suit me. It is definetly BRIGHT at factory defaults. For watching movies, or graphics in general, it is just great. But web pages, with all that white space, way too bright. Again, maybe I'll hit on the right settings after additional tinkering. On HP monitors in general, I love the glossy reflective type screen. But, if you don't, then think again about HP monitors. As far as speakers, I have never cared about quality of speakers, so speakers in the monitor has always been just fine with me. However, all three of the HP monitors I have/had, the volume level is just barely not quite enough. The 25" was the best of the 3 as far as volume goes, btw. In addition to my eyes, my hearing is getting bad also, so thats a factor, but the speakers definetly just don't have enough volume. As an aside, why are some settings available only if using VGA?

reddog45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so great!
9/2/2009

Customer review by Phantasm

2.0 stars 9/2/2009 by Phantasm
by Phantasm

Pros - Size is great and controls are easy enough to get around. HP has excellent customer service even when returning items. Cons - I tried the DVI connector. Very bad picture. Colors are washed out. There are several settings such as a Games setting that automatically sets the colors and such. When I tried this, the screen was way too bright and the colors became even more washed out. I tried tinkering around with the settings but with little success. I was not able to get full-rich colors like I have been reading from other reviews here. The viewing angle is horrible as well. If you move your head even slightly in any direction, The picture quality goes from bad to worse. If you are using this monitor for every day office type stuff or even just surfing the internet, it's fine. If you are a gamer, forget it. The game Crysis seemed okay I guess but Age of Conan looked terrible. The problems I list are not defects but appear to be part of design. I didn't try the speakers. I have since returned this monitor to HP. Other thoughts - I have been in the computer business for nearly 15 years now. I have always purchased (within a certain budget of course) the best of everything so I have a pretty good idea of what to look for. HP usually has excellent products and I have purchased from them before. They just need to do some tweeking for the next round of 27" monitors.

Phantasm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent Monitor
10/27/2009

Customer review by Vishaal

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by Vishaal
by Vishaal

I just got the monitor few days back. This monitor is simply great with crystal clear picture quality and also value for money. I was looking for some other competitors but hp stands out. Other monitors have bright colors and pictures looks artificial. I do a lot of programming and I have to read a lot of code. Wat I think is sharpness of each letters is the real test. I observed and found HP 2709m had the best sharpness and pixel quality. Only drawback is that it should have an inbuilt web cam and the speaker sound is a little low. I think if they add better speakers and a web cam this monitor will rock.

Vishaal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing Productivity Enhancer
8/8/2010

Customer review by RedTulip

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by RedTulip
by RedTulip

I use this monitor when analyzing data and creating reports. It's great because you can easily work simultaneously with two spreadsheets or a spreadsheet and a powerpoint or SPSS/SAS and a spreadsheet (you get the idea). At times, I've even had three active windows I've worked simultaneously. Not only can two or three windows active, but the amount of real estate viewable at anyone time dwarfs a regular monitor. Everything is crisp, clear and solid. The colors are bright and clean. I also have the 2007 and 2159 monitors, which are both excellent, but when I really need to get serious, I go to the 2709.

RedTulip
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews