Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 41 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
A Good Buy (for kids ages 4-8)
11/2/2010

Customer review by TheRealMw007

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by TheRealMw007
by TheRealMw007

I bought this for my son. Not only does he love it, but it's teaching my great hand-eye coordination. The game is similar to the platform games of old (e.g. Super Mario Bros), so it's pretty fun for me to play, too. There have only been a few times where he's asked me for help with the game (he's 4). Unlike most leapster games, you get to use the directional pad and normal buttons vs the stylus. And most of all, he enjoys playing is /constantly/. I would definitely recommend that you get this game.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealMw007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent game
12/24/2015

Customer review by TOmom17

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by TOmom17
by TOmom17

My six year old son loves it and has been playing it regularly for the past month. The math questions are a bit on the easy side (I've set the level to Grade 2 already) but it's definitely better than nothing. He's already completed all of the missions so it would be nice if had more than 4 main missions (split into four each so 16 mini-missions),

TOmom17
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Way too VIOLENT!!
6/30/2012

Customer review by YankeeFan

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by YankeeFan
by YankeeFan

I purchased this product for my 5 year old and although my son loved this game and it did have some educational attributes, it was very violent. In my attempt to overlook it thinking I was being an overprotective mom, his dad watched him play it one day as did his grandmother and I heard them both comment on how violent the game was and I had NOT said anything about my concern. After a few days he started saying how he had to stop the bad guys which was accompanied by a stomped foot, hands into fists and clenched teeth and when asked how he stopped them he said nothing of karate, just that he had to "kill them dead". Although I can appreciate that he was able to recognize the "good guys" from the "bad guys", had I been aware the game is taught through violence, I would have never purchased it. May be more appropriate for an older child but I feel the packaging was extremely misleading. I had to take the game away from him and hide it. Very disappointed in this game even though every other one purchased rior seemed so accurate.

YankeeFan
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Game!
1/3/2012

Customer review by mc07

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by mc07
by mc07

This is definitely a game for all those little boys who love action! What could be better than a karate chopping penguin??? I love that this game teaches more than the basic math facts. There are regular math problems, but imagine my surprise when number lines came up on the screen, and my child had to figure out which number came between two others! This game is great! My son was so excited to keep "karate chopping" that he happily answered all the math questions. I would recommend this game to everyone who had a child that loves action and you love that he/ she is learning at the same time! My only complaint is that the local stores only carry the cartridges, they don't have a case with them. Which obviously makes losing the game WAY TOO EASY. I'll be making all my game purchasing strait from LF, just so I get the case. Unfortunately there is no price break on those without the case... ???

mc07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of Play Time
12/17/2013

Customer review by semper03

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by semper03
by semper03

This is one of the few games my 4 year old will play over and over again. He beats it every few days, has me wipe the profile, and plays it again from the beginning. The game plays a lot like the original Mario where your character moves left and right in a two demsional world. This game is a little more 'violent' than other leap pad games in that you must punch and kick your enemies as you make your way through the level. The violence is very mild but it is there. As you make your way though the different levels you encounter different puzzles where you must learn to count, do some basic math, and recognize shapes. There is far more play than there is learning. I would estimate that there is 25% learning to 75% play. However, becasue of the replay value in this game, there is plenty of learning going on. I would recommend this game if you are okay with the mild violence.

semper03
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leapster Penguin Game
3/5/2011

Customer review by Baba03

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Baba03
by Baba03

My 3 year old grandsons attend preschool and this helps them review what they are learning.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baba03
Baldwin, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS GAME!!
1/7/2011

Customer review by 1202

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by 1202
by 1202

My 5 yr old son is obsessed with this game. It has the same basic gaming features of his old Gameboy, with MANY math skills added into it. It's like we are tricking him into learning :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1202
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
My daughter's current favorite.
7/31/2015

Customer review by Joylynn

5.0 stars 7/31/2015 by Joylynn
by Joylynn

My 5 year old daughter really likes this game and I was very surprised that it taught her addition and subtraction. It does have a lot of karate chopping and all that but my daughter generally has a low tolerance for violence (we had to leave the Lego Movie) but this doesn't seem to bother her.

Joylynn
Tennesee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This game is okay.
3/3/2011

Customer review by destined4pictures

3.0 stars 3/3/2011 by destined4pictures
by destined4pictures

I have a 4 year old that's a girly girl, so that right there turns her off a little. She said it's for boys. But when playing, this game required more assistance, which I think turned her off as well. I couldn't figure out how to get the penguin to jump really high to get her to the next obstacle. Not sure if she finally figured it out...she plays her other games more than this one. Wasn't a hit with my girly girl.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
destined4pictures
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product
1/4/2011

Customer review by markey

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by markey
by markey

My 4 year old son got this for Christmas and he loves it. Even I started playing the game. I like how you can change grades. He started out on pre-k level and now on a kindergarten level. I just wish it had more activities to do when learning but I guess it helps that it is repetitive. I do like that a child can play a game like a regular game system and also learn at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markey
Savannah, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Game
1/5/2011

Customer review by MidMichiganMom

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by MidMichiganMom
by MidMichiganMom

I bought this game for my 4 year old based on reviews from another site. This is a great game that my son loves and plays alot as well as his 6 & 9 yo siblings. It teaches math and some will be too hard at first but they learn quickly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidMichiganMom
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Game and Great Product!
1/5/2011

Customer review by bball8232

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by bball8232
by bball8232

My son who will be 4 in March loves this game. It was easy for him to figure out on his own. He needs help every once in a while with big jumps, but overall he pretty much does it by himself!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bball8232
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/3/2015

Customer review by Traceface

4.0 stars 5/3/2015 by Traceface
by Traceface

This is great for maths. My 6yr old loves it. Some of the sums are too fast for him to work out

Traceface
England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My son's favorite!
6/18/2012

Customer review by MissMaria88

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by MissMaria88
by MissMaria88

My 4 year old son adores this game. He owns the Spongebob, Cars, and Toy Story games but this is his favorite. I downloaded the demo for him and after seeing how excited he was about it, bought him the full game. Leapfrog, I really like your demo feature, as a mom I find it helpful to "try out" the games before buying. So far I haven't been concerned with the level of "violence" in this game. He's been playing it for months and I've never once seen him try to "karate-chop" anyone or anything. Highly recommend.

MissMaria88
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy this game!
2/13/2011

Customer review by SharkTank

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by SharkTank
by SharkTank

We own all the Leapster Explorer games and this one is never in the box! I'm only at this site now because I'm buying 2 more copies of it. We have three kids and they fight over whose turn it is. It is by far their favorite game! In fact, my middle child hid it in the back of the couch so his siblings wouldn't be able to find it! It has improved my 6 yr old's math skills and I was surprised by how much my 3 yr old has learned. Buy it! Multiple copies if you have more than one child! You won't regret it.

SharkTank
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just not right for our family (a LOT of hitting)!
1/20/2012

Customer review by Madalynnsmom

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Madalynnsmom
by Madalynnsmom

I bought this game for my daughter to work on math skills on her LeapPad. I put the game in to play it before giving it to her and I am really glad I did. There is a lot of education value to the game, but I could not overlook all of the violence in this game. I guess the whole ninja penguin theme just rubbed me the wrong way and was not right for our family. I ended up putting it away and never letting her play with it. This game would be great if they could just get rid of the hitting.

Madalynnsmom
San Ramon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
2/12/2015

Customer review by essieg

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by essieg
by essieg

My daughter enjoys it very much, she loves the games

essieg
Narara nsw Aust.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More video game, less education
1/12/2014

Customer review by LGDV

3.0 stars 1/12/2014 by LGDV
by LGDV

This was a bit violent for my kids. Animals beating each other up isn't usually our thing. I know it's a game, but I didn't realize that WAS the game when I bought it. Simple addition and subtraction skills are tested between levels, so there's that. Most of the game, though, is typical video game style (get past a kangaroo before it beats you, physically & literally). If that's a non-issue for you, kids will enjoy playing,

LGDV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best game we have played so far
6/28/2012

Customer review by Chrissy

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Chrissy
by Chrissy

We got our four year old a Leap Pad for her birthday 2 months ago and this was one of the first games she got (She has quite a bit now) and this game has not disappointed. Though she did get through the levels quickly (about a week) it has great reply ability. So it's not one of those games who loses all it's appeal as soon as it is defeated, which is great! I've played it myself and was pretty amused by it.

Chrissy
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Learning App Not so much
2/1/2012

Customer review by Parent

2.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Parent
by Parent

Like most of the Leappad/Explorer apps I have seen the age age appropriate level is way off. This game says it is for 4 to 7 year old's. I got it for my 6 year old who grew tired of it in about 5 minutes. Money wasted. The game in my opinion is more intellectually appropriate for a 3 to 4 year old. I don't understand their system; the difference in the intellectual capacity from the age of 4 to 7 is vast.

Parent
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews