Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
7
1-20 of 69 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Bad for the LeapFrog brand
1/23/2013

Customer review by MomInNewYork

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by MomInNewYork
by MomInNewYork

The strongest reason why I invested in LeapPads for my two sons (3 and 6) is for the educational benefit tied with today's technology. I am thoroughly disappointed with the Ben 10 game after watching my 6 year old play it for about an hour, on several occasions. It represents exactly what I wanted to stay away from with video games. Learning can be fun and that's what I imagine is one of the primary brand missions of the LeapFrog brand. This game lacks the learning quotient that I expect from LeapFrog. Ben has to morph into different characters in order to defeat or kill the particular beast in front of them. While I understand some of the educational principles that might be at work in this game, it is far too similar to the mainstream video games that I wish to avoid. (Ugly, evil-looking characters, monsters, smashing & killing) I wish there was a "trial-play" feature for parents so I could experience games first-hand before purchasing for my child. I will be much more skeptical and cautious with any future purchases.

MomInNewYork
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
More fighting than expected
8/15/2010

Customer review by fortwaynemom

4.0 stars 8/15/2010 by fortwaynemom
by fortwaynemom

This was my 5 year old's first video game ever. He enjoys the game, but needed some assistance to learn and play it. There is more fighting between the characters than I expected, and the limited "educational" information (mostly matching) is too simplified and brief.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fortwaynemom
Latrobe PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great game but beware!
12/10/2015

Customer review by WarriorMom3

3.0 stars 12/10/2015 by WarriorMom3
by WarriorMom3

This is a fun game for children who like solving puzzles, navigating levels and defeating enemies. It was bought of my son's 6th birthday and is his first proper 'video game' style game. He thinks it is great but we came a cross a big flaw right at the start.... The story option that you have to select in order to reach the start of the game, requires the child to be able to read cartoon style dialogue. Not only is the ability to read necessary, but the level of ability is very high, given that the text is sophisticated and the speed at which you have to read was too fast even for my husband on his first attempt so will probably be challenging for an 8 year old too! It would have been better, had the characters voices been recorded onto the game :/ We have not finished yet, but I am fairly sure we will encounter reading sections like this throughout the game.

WarriorMom3
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not save your level
8/27/2013

Customer review by Spartan30

2.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Spartan30
by Spartan30

My biggest complaint about this game is that it does not remember where you left off when you stop the game and come back. My 5 yo is only allowed to play his leap pad for so long and is often stopping and returning to the game. There appears to be 5 levels of this game and each level has several subsections/tasks to complete. Once you start a level, it doesn't remember where you are in the level, so even if you're 90% through Level 3, if you stop and come back you're back at the beginning of Level 3 with 0% complete. I don't know how many times he has started the same level over and over again because of this. My husband and I even played it a bit for him one night after he went to bed so we could try to complete his current level just to get him passed it, but we gave up after 2 hours. NOT a good set-up for little kids! The Penguins of Madagascar game is designed much better because it remembers exactly what task you're on. I regret buying this game but my son really loves Ben 10 so he does like to play it and turn Ben into the different aliens, but the lack of memory is frustrating.

Spartan30
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inappropriate for rated age; dark and violent.
1/4/2014

Customer review by HealthyHappyKids

1.0 stars 1/4/2014 by HealthyHappyKids
by HealthyHappyKids

Before I bought this I read several reviews, only one of which was negative. After seeing the game, there should be more of those. For the first few minutes I read my 6 year old text he couldn't possibly read himself, and then he spent the next five minutes fighting, attacking, and trying to kill these dragon creatures that were trying to kill him. This is exactly the stuff I bought the LeapPad to avoid! At first he was saying how great it was, but once I took it off his machine, he said he was really relieved. (Kids appreciate their parents censoring things to their level, even if they complain.) This game needs to be rated for much older children; the reading and subject matter are too dark and complicated for any 5-8 year old. Simply being able to push the right buttons and manuver through the game shouldn't be the only criterion in rating these games.

HealthyHappyKids
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
2/4/2011

Customer review by KennieJCT

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by KennieJCT
by KennieJCT

This is a great product. My 4 year old loves it and enjoys playing with this game. I'v gone through a 10 pack of Duracell batteries within one week. It is easy for him to understand and control. If your kid loves Ben 10 they will enjoy this game!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KennieJCT
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Fun-yes Educational-no
1/25/2013

Customer review by Familytreeclimber

3.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Familytreeclimber
by Familytreeclimber

We have been a Leap Frog family since our son was a baby and I bought our first product. While our son loves this game, I am very disappointed by it because I don't see any educational value to the game besides showing what a video game can be like. Although I bought the game because our son wanted it because of the Ben 10 character, I also bought it because it said it would teach geography, map, and animal facts. I really don't see that it's teaching much of these myself. When I asked him why he likes the game, it is because he gets to "fight" aliens. I purchase Leap Frog products for the educational factor, we homeschool and we use some of the products to enhance our studies. I thought this would help with our geography studies but I'm still waiting to see anything to do with it.

Familytreeclimber
Morrilton, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
perfect for my Ben10 fan
6/17/2013

Customer review by mayna

4.0 stars 6/17/2013 by mayna
by mayna

I got this app for my son's 5th birthday. He's just outside the age range but based in what I read was in it, figured it would be something he could grow with. It was his first "video game" type app that required multiple hand motions at the same time, so it took a bit for him to get it. But it did spark some education-y type convos with him to help him think through the game. Especially the geography knowledge needed to get through the maps. He was frustrated more by the game aspect than the knowledge part, but once he started paying attention to the prompts the game gave him & he started progressing he was in love. Its his favorite app now and he's beaten several times.

mayna
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps him wanting more
11/2/2015

Customer review by Oaklee08

4.0 stars 11/2/2015 by Oaklee08
by Oaklee08

My 7 year old likes Ben 10, so he loved this game. I'm glad the game is long so he doesn't defeat the game in an hour. He likes learning while having fun. This game did that for him.

Oaklee08
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/1/2011

Customer review by 1pickymom2

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by 1pickymom2
by 1pickymom2

It is my son's favorite toy from Christmas! Great to find a Ben 10 Product that is educational.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1pickymom2
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Totally addictive
7/12/2015

Customer review by Cabcap

5.0 stars 7/12/2015 by Cabcap
by Cabcap

My 5 year old son loves this game. He wasn't familiar with Ben 10 but a little worryingly has become rather obsessed with it. Any opportunity and the game is on, before school, straight after school so have limited the usage which is a shame as he is now not playing the other games. Certainly feel like I have had my money's worth as don't spend this much on one game usually. He finds each level so exciting, think I will be hard pushed to find a game to beat this one at the moment. Not sure what the educational value is.

Cabcap
Essex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/25/2011

Customer review by Shi38

2.0 stars 12/25/2011 by Shi38
by Shi38

right character wrong game for the system my grandson has.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shi38
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ben 10 leap pad game
9/17/2015

Customer review by RockfireMom

4.0 stars 9/17/2015 by RockfireMom
by RockfireMom

My boys, 4 and 6 love the game. They get obsessed with it! It's hard to pry them away. Anything Ben 10 is a top fav in our house. Definitely a good problem solving game. Ireally like the bit of geography in it thou wish there was much more of that. During the first part of game the story/comic should be read aloud for the kids that are too young to read on their own.

RockfireMom
Kingston, On
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT educational
1/9/2013

Customer review by esjay

2.0 stars 1/9/2013 by esjay
by esjay

I was very disappointed when my son started playing this game and I found that it really is just a video game, not an educational game. The pseudo educational features are few and far between the video game playing which mostly involves maneuvering the character around the board - running, jumping, rolling and kicking and pounding on "bad guys". I bought the LeapPad because I wanted my son to play games that will help him learn to read and do math, not to learn how to play mindless video games. Based on the combination of the game description and previous reviews, I thought this would be a great game that would really engage my son while providing some learning as well. It is engaging, although it has too many words on the screen that aren't read out loud (story intros) and it is frustrating for a 5 year old that hasn't played video games before because he doesn't know how to manipulate the character on the screen very well. The learning is a joke though, I am disappointed in the other parents that have given this game such great reviews. Either they haven't really tried or watched the game to see what it really involves or they are only interested in occupying their children, not educating them. I bought the LeapPad specifically to play learning software, and I don't believe this game has any business being sold for use on the LeapPad.

esjay
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fun and Learning Science
12/30/2011

Customer review by BalancedKidsRHappy

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by BalancedKidsRHappy
by BalancedKidsRHappy

Listen to this. We waited and searched for months to find Ben 10. My son saved his money and he was excited to get this game. I knew I would have to order it and that was not an issue. He was certain this game would be the ultimate fun. It contains Life Science content that introduced DNA language, built on animal facts, and challenged him with geography, logic and reasoning. It is what he liked and I get build on these concepts with books and discussions. BTW we have not watched Ben10 on Cartoon Network. So take that into consideration when reading my review. The game is fine for my six year old.

BalancedKidsRHappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Action Pack!
10/19/2012

Customer review by Raviel

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Raviel
by Raviel

The game is full of action, even the story is told on a comic style and it tackles places and animals. Although it seems kinda advance to kids, the game play levels up with them so your child will have no troubles going through the game, in order for your child to unlock more aliens, the actually need to finish the whole game or finish levels, at first this is confusing, but as you play the game it actually makes sense, and that's to play the game all over again. If you want full action with a twist of science and biology. I recommend getting this game game. Buy it and believe.

Raviel
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I aprrove of this game
2/28/2013

Customer review by DaddyDonuts

4.0 stars 2/28/2013 by DaddyDonuts
by DaddyDonuts

This game was great for my 8 and 6 year old boys. It followed a short and simple story line. Keep there Interest and had enough content to keep them coming back. They did beat the game in a appropriate amount of time, which is nice to see. Aside from simple geography puzzles and critical thinking the education was a bit low. Note: If you let your kids play 3 to 4 hours of video games a day then no amount of content or value will ever be sufficient or good.

DaddyDonuts
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could be 4 or 5 star if it worked properly
5/26/2014

Customer review by JackandKaesMom

3.0 stars 5/26/2014 by JackandKaesMom
by JackandKaesMom

This is the first game that we have downloaded other than the little cheaper games. This game was the regular price of a cartridge the description stated that it had 10 separate villians for Ben to fight. There are only five on this downloaded version, not sure what has happened but have tried loading all the macramodes and everything, it is not working correctly. Will be the last download, we are going to stick with cartridges.

JackandKaesMom
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
challenging for young child, but lots of fun
3/19/2013

Customer review by hrenee

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by hrenee
by hrenee

This is currently my sons favorite, and it has sparked an obsession with Ben 10. Teaches science and geography. It is somewhat difficult for a 5 year old that hasnt mastered hand eye coordination (Ben 10 jumping, rolling, kicking). He is not able to play alone, especially with the DNA sequencing part of the game. Game play directions could be better... I had to play the game myself to figure out how to navigate and teach my son

hrenee
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The basic maneuvers are too complex for my child
1/1/2014

Customer review by RedMomOnBreak

2.0 stars 1/1/2014 by RedMomOnBreak
by RedMomOnBreak

My son BEGGED for this game and finally I agreed. I'm sorry I did. He does not understand the presentation or how exactly to play the game. He fumbles through it and ends up frustrated. I played along with him, and I can easily see how this would not make sense to a child. We bought this solely based on the fact that it was a Ben 10 game; he's my son's current favorite. Total bummer that the game bites.

RedMomOnBreak
Topeka, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews