Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

135 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

135 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
47
1-20 of 130 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
They WILL leak and soon
1/23/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

They will leak , even when relatively new. Even when store on a shelf so you will have them when needed. Do Not Buy.

Disappointed
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Coppertop Batteries leak
1/14/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/14/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased a number of multi packs of AAA batteries. When I went to use them found that some had leaked in each package. Will never buy again. USED to be a great product but not any longer.

An anonymous customer
Stratford, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking batteries
7/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have almost always used Duracell batteries and have never had any regrets about spending a little extra for them. In fact, the only regret I've ever had has been the few times I tried using cheaper batteries. But today I pulled two leaking AAs from my two year old son's toy. Fortunately they had not ruined the toy, but since they were installed less than a year ago (dated 2017) in a toy my son rarely plays with, I was shocked to see such a mess in the battery department, which prompted me to search for reviews from other Duracell users. I'm quite dismayed by all the recent negative reviews regarding leaking Duracells, and I'm questioning why the quality of these batteries has declined. I do not like Energizer or Rayovac batteries whatsoever so PLEASE, Duracell, fix the problems with your product or I will be forced to find a brand that does not leak, even if they don't last as long. Having to change batteries more frequently sure beats having to buy new products that have ruined by leakage!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking Duracell AA Batteries
12/5/2015

Customer review by DavidJ

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by DavidJ
by DavidJ

I have had a recent rash of leaking Duracell batteries from 3 different production lots. It would appear either the production site or production process has changed -- for the worse. I have never experienced this situation with so many batteries leaking in such a short period of time. I am not even sure all of the leaking batteries actually went into devices! The dates on the batteries are Mar 2017, Mar 2018, and Dec 2022. Fortunately no devices have been ruined; I was able to carefully clean everything. What is going on?

DavidJ
St. John, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
protecting your devices from battery leaks
11/27/2010

Customer review by Duke

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Duke
by Duke

I have used Duracell Coppertop (alkaline) batteries for years. Dependable as they are, they can still fail. Duracell offers a generous guarantee against defects in materials and workmanship. Should any device be damaged due to a battery defect, Duracell will repair or replace it at their option if it is sent (postage paid) to Duracell with the batteries. However, not everything is repairable or replaceable. I stored batteries with a vintage board-game (Mystery Mansion). I knew not to store batteries in a device, such as this game's little computer. I removed them but, alas, stored them loose in a plastic bag with other game parts for several years. When all four batteries leaked, paper components in that sealed plastic bag absorbed the liquid and were ruined. Lesson learned: always store batteries separate from other items, in a sealed plastic container that can be relied uppon to hold liquids and will not be affected by corrosive liquids or salts.

Duke
Key Largo, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They're fresh batteries - from a trusted brand.
7/7/2014

Customer review by skatsev

4.0 stars 7/7/2014 by skatsev
by skatsev

Well, we signed up for this promotion and received some sample batteries. I'd like to say that I learned how amazing Duracell batteries are and how they last so much longer than the competition... but I can't -- I didn't learn anything -- I already knew it! Duracell batteries are the only brand we buy if there's a choice... we know that they'll last as long or longer than other batteries, and they don't leak like many other (lesser) brands do. There's just one piece of new information with these Durablock batteries -- now I don't need to worry about storing them for too long, since the batteries are guaranteed to work for 10 years. Now I can buy them and throw them in the closet with the rest of the batteries... and know that they'll work when they're needed.* *(I'll have to take Duracell's word on this... I haven't actually waited 10 years and then tested them. Once I've perfected my time machine, I'll update this posting.)

skatsev
Pleasant Valley, NY
Not reliable anymore!!!
12/30/2012

Customer review by celcdl

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by celcdl
by celcdl

Duracell used to be our battery of choice, even paying more for them. In the last year or so, we've had at least 8 instances of new batteries corroding and leaking all over our devices. We lost a NEW big LED flashlight because there was so much leakage we couldn't clean it all out and make it useable. We didn't even get a chance to use the flashlight, just loaded it and set it aside for almost a month when we bought it. I found another leakage in a battery just this morning - it says 2015 for the date. This is unacceptable. What 's happened to your product? They used to be so reliable, but I'm becoming afraid to use them - I don't want to lose more devices. I keep checking them (and we have a lot of battery powered devices - using from AAA to D's) - we're seriously thinking of not buying this brand anymore since the quality has dropped dramatically. Please fix whatever you changed because IT'S NOT WORKING!!!

celcdl
Springbrook WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Always Leak
10/13/2015

Customer review by bologdl

1.0 stars 10/13/2015 by bologdl
by bologdl

Very Disappointed in these Duracell AA batteries. You cannot leave them in any item for a extended period or you will find them leaking and contaminating the inside of your electronics

bologdl
CT New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad batterie
10/4/2015

Customer review by tamassuri

1.0 stars 10/4/2015 by tamassuri
by tamassuri

One of a batteries, which are guaranteed to use to 2017, run off his acid liquid, and my radio alarm went off. :-(

tamassuri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Duralock Must Be Locking That Power In
8/13/2014

Customer review by lanie3261

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by lanie3261
by lanie3261

I am extremely happy with my Duracell Coppertop Alkaline Batteries with DuraLock. I use a mini personal air conditioner to keep cool in this Texas heat and its constant use drains batteries quickly. The air conditioner is my go-to when taking my students to recess or enjoying time out mini golfing with my son. Due to Lupus, I have sun sensitivity and must try to stay as cool as possible. I need long lasting reliable batteries to power my air conditioner. It takes 4 batteries and I generally go through 4 AAs every 5 school days with 30 minutes of daily usage. I am still on my first 4 Duracell Coppertop Alkaline Batteries with DuraLock which Duracell provided me to try out, though it is in no way influencing my review. 17 solid "days" of usage [30 minutes/day] and my fan isn't fading out or slowing its purr like it normally does. I am very pleased with these batteries.

lanie3261
Floresville, TX
Nothing like they used to be
2/20/2014

Customer review by bummer

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by bummer
by bummer

I have used Duracell exclusively for 20 years and have not had an issue in the literally thousands that I have used over the years. In just the past three months I have had three devices ruined including a very expensive laser and all three used batteries from different packages. In very poor english I was told the list if things the batteries should not be exposed to and I will not bore you with the details however it seems to me that Earth is a very unsuitable habitat in general for the fragile things. I thought I had a lifetime brand but instead I am pulling them out of anything that I value or that I cannot afford to be without for two and a half months for evaluation to maybe or maybe not be compensated for under warranty and claims. This is a premium priced household alkaline and I was happy to pay the premium for trust but have lost all faith.

bummer
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Batteries leak when inactive
9/1/2015

Customer review by Tim31416

1.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Tim31416
by Tim31416

These batteries will leak when the device is turned off or inactive - guaranteed. I have three ruined phones, a ruined keyboard, and a ruined expensive clock to prove it.

Tim31416
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy Energizer Instead.
8/26/2015

Customer review by Disappointed277

1.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Disappointed277
by Disappointed277

DO NOT BUY Duracell batteries. Had them in a desk clock. After clock stopped, opened clock to replace AA battery. Battery leaking everywhere with liquid and white crust. New clock is ruined. Never had this happen with Energizer. Will Never Buy Duracell.

Disappointed277
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Duracell keeps us gaming on.!
8/13/2014

Customer review by mom1320

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by mom1320
by mom1320

Duracell oh Duracell where have you been? Im so happy to have opened our doors to you. Night lights, flashlights and remote controlled toys are lasting longer and making this parent a happy one. We LOVE Duracell! This battery works longer then the competing brands for gaming remotes. My teenagers are not constantly bothering me about NEW BATTERIES every min of the day. Maybe they play to much? Its possible. But its so quiet and less stinky in my space..so I LET THEM! Thank you Duracell for air freshness and keeping the "Loud" away for months on end. Lets talk about price. At my local grocery store they were 1 entire dollar cheaper then the "other" battery brand. Yes and YES! I do officially recommend this product to any parents trying to fight off board children. And to anyone who may own a flashlight. ;0)

mom1320
Mount Vernon, WA
My Go-To Battery Brand
8/13/2014

Customer review by nvobluedevil

4.0 stars 8/13/2014 by nvobluedevil
by nvobluedevil

For many types of products, I don't feel that the brand makes a big difference in the utility and/or satisfaction I derive. In the case of batteries, I learned the hard way that the brand *does* make a difference. Over the years, I've tried a number of cheaper brands but they haven't measured up to Duracell Coppertops. I use Duracell AA batteries in my TV remote and computer mouse and am very impressed with the long life that I get out of these everyday-use items. I'm also impressed with the long shelf life of these batteries; i can store them for years without worrying that they'll be ineffective when I do need them. Full Disclosure: I received a complimentary package of Duracell batteries but I've been buying them as my preferred brand for most of my adult life.

nvobluedevil
Sunnyside, NY
Best on the Market
7/17/2012

Customer review by DisableGuy

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by DisableGuy
by DisableGuy

Price and Power, don't buy the cheap ones. you get what you pay for. If you want the best then buy these or you'll buy twice as many of the cheaper ones. Just a heads up. Save Money with the Copper Top. I got mine for the smoke alarms, do you want cheap batteries in your smoke alarm? They could save your life. Don't pinch pennys when it comes to your life. What more can I say?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisableGuy
Milford, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
_Formerly_ leak free.
4/14/2013

Customer review by MikeZ

1.0 stars 4/14/2013 by MikeZ
by MikeZ

I am sad to report how disappointed I am with the quality of this formerly superior product. Up until 3-5 years ago, I had _NEVER_ experienced a leak from a Duracell battery. I didn't care how much they cost, I didn't care what the competition's performance or warranty was, in my experience Duracell _NEVER_ leaked. With all the failures I've seen in the last several years, that's clearly changed now, and with a couple recent failures I had decided to start tracking a lengthly list of all the devices I own with batteries, when the batteries were put in the device, and what the 'fresh until' date was. My hope is to minimize the risk of damage due to leakage by replacing batteries long before they are exhausted. I was willing to continue to still consider Duracell BUT, right now I am staring at a package of bulk (40 count) AAs, purchased in the last year or so, labeled 'best before 2022' and 'guaranteed for 10 years in storage' and in it is a battery WHICH HAS ALREADY LEAKED. That's right, a never used battery, labeled "Dec 2022", has already failed. I was about to swap all of these batteries into various devices, but why would I put these batteries in anything? You would be wise to consider going back to whatever it was you were doing 5+ years ago.

MikeZ
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery popped and no support
9/25/2011

Customer review by ahorber

1.0 stars 9/25/2011 by ahorber
by ahorber

I have been buying Duracell batteries for as long as I have owned my house. I have tried others but always come back to Duracell because of their quality. I placed a battery on my kitchen counter about a week ago to replace a battery in my smoke detector. While I was working around the kitchen today I heard a loud pop and found the battery somehow exploded, the bottom of the battery case can be see to be popped out. I tried to contact Duracell but their web site does not seem to allow for an email to be sent and the phone number on their site only goes to an automated system with no way to speak with anyone. Since this is the serivce that Duracell provides I will have to look to use another battery manufacturer.

ahorber
Ronkonkoma, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
These batteries are great!
8/13/2014

Customer review by MrGreen

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by MrGreen
by MrGreen

We go though a ton of batteries at our house. It's seems like we are always replacing them. My 5 year old has a Leap Pad that chews through batteries so fast it seems like we are changing them out at least once or twice a week. We usually buy the cheaper batteries in bulk and they just don't last. When I received these batteries I thought the Leap Pad would be the perfect "test" for them to see just how good they are. They have been in there for longer than usual and are still going strong. The cheaper alkiline batteries just don't last nearly as long as the Duracell batteries. The 10 yr guaranty on the batteries is great, but something we'll never even get close to testing.

MrGreen
Kaysville, UT
Lasting Power
8/13/2014

Customer review by nwfireman

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by nwfireman
by nwfireman

I was very excited to receive batteries from Duracell. Being a firefighter I really depend on my flashlight. I use it very regularly. With all the use my flashlight gets it still turns on just with the same brightness as it did when I first put the batteries in. I know that I can depend on Duracell to come through with a battery that will last and go the distance. I also use Duracell batteries in my other electronics like my game controllers. They outlast the other leading brands when it come to power. I would recommend Duracell batteries to all my friend and co-workers. Thanks Duracell for make a long lasting product.

nwfireman
Lacey, WA
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews