Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
38
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 127 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Stunned by how well this worked
7/5/2011

Customer review by intern2

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by intern2
by intern2

I submitted a review for the shampoo as well, as I bought them together. I am literally stunned at how well this conditioner has worked. I've tried so many brands in the last few years, including other Pantene lines, and I never repurchased any of them. My hair is fine, fragile, and damaged from heat and past coloring. Most conditioners for volume don't add enough shine or slip or cover damage, they basically do nothing. And other conditioners that do add shine, defrizz, or add strength are too heavy for my thin hair. But then I discovered this shampoo & conditioner set. This conditioner is amazing. It adds a ton of shine, detangles, covers the old unhealthy ends and damaged areas, and still leaves my hair feeling light and airy and fluffy. I'm kicking myself for wasting so much money on really expensive salon brands not to mention countless other drugstore brands only to discover that this is the greatest product line out there. I should've listened to my grandmother...

intern2
kansas city, ks
DO NOT BUY--New Formula is Awful
4/22/2017

Customer review by JH

1.0 stars 4/22/2017 by JH
by JH

There's a reason this product went from 5 star reviews to 1 star--the new formula is terrible. It leaves hair greasy, flat and it smells terrible. My wife used to buy dozens of bottles every shopping trip. The only alternative now is the store brand that still has quaternium. Still looking for a better alternative.

JH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good conditioner.
3/23/2017

Customer review by Popcorn nut

5.0 stars 3/23/2017 by Popcorn nut
by Popcorn nut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have thin, only/dry hair. This product does what it says. As long as you leave it on for a few minutes, and rinse very well, you will be very happy with your purchase.

Popcorn nut
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor now reformulated
2/5/2017

Customer review by Kieran

1.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Kieran
by Kieran

Quaternium is listed here in the ingredients but is no longer in the new bottle. It WAS a winning formula and I WAS a fan.

Kieran
Would recommend to a friend? No
Should not have changed the product
12/13/2016

Customer review by Tonia

1.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Tonia
by Tonia

I agree with other reviewers -- I used to love this product, but recent changes have made it feel greasy. It seems to now weigh down my fine hair and I don't like the new fragrance. I wish they would go back to how it used to be.

Tonia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
12/12/2016

Customer review by BBL91

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by BBL91
by BBL91

Love the feeling of cleanest in my hair. Perfect for thin hair as it doesnt feel heavy or greassy. Smells great. Best combined with the conditionner.

BBL91
Campbellton, NB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The new smell is cloying like rotting flowers!
7/6/2016

Customer review by Kimberwitch

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Kimberwitch
by Kimberwitch

I loved Pantene. I loved how it made my thick, fine hair shiny & full.Then I bought this bottle with the "new" tag on it. I cannot believe how disgusting the scent is! It smells of rotting flowers.It is also a lot heavier. It's for sheer volume, not smelly gunk that weighs your hair down.As soon as this bottle is gone, sooner if I can’t stomach this stench, I am going to have to find new products

Kimberwitch
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
What happened???
7/6/2016

Customer review by Josie73

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Josie73
by Josie73

I've been using this product for years and loved it. Finally a shampoo and conditioner that worked for my fine hair. I have no idea why Pantene changed the formulation, but now it smells wretched, has a greasy feel, and weighs down my hair. What the heck were they thinking?!? So sad, but I'll need to find something new.

Josie73
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Scent change is horrible
5/9/2016

Customer review by TJean

1.0 stars 5/9/2016 by TJean
by TJean

Hi Pantene folks, I've been using this product for years and loved the old scent. The new scent is overwhelming and made me not enjoy my shower at all. I'm going to have to search for a new conditiner now. I've always talk about how great your products are but can no longer recommend this conditoner. Please Please go back to the old formula!

TJean
San Antonio TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Why did the scent get changed?
4/12/2016

Customer review by JenniferB

2.0 stars 4/12/2016 by JenniferB
by JenniferB

I have been a loyal Pantene customer for over 20 years and have loved their products! But, I just bought a new Sheer Volume conditioner and used it for the first time today. The scent is overwhelming and 6 hours later it's still surrounding me! Unfortunately, I am not going to be able to continue using it because it gives me a headache. I'd love to know why Pantene made this huge change.

JenniferB
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just threw away a brand new bottle of conditioner
5/5/2016

Customer review by FormerPanteneUser

1.0 stars 5/5/2016 by FormerPanteneUser
by FormerPanteneUser

The smell is horrendous. I have been using and recommending Pantene to everyone I know for over 10 years, but that all changed today. The smell is so nauseating I had to go back and take another shower. I do not plan to buy any more Pantene products moving forward and I plan to let everyone else I know to avoid them as well.

FormerPanteneUser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pantene fo life.....until now
4/8/2016

Customer review by JLRtxRN

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by JLRtxRN
by JLRtxRN

I've used Pantene for years. I usually stock up when I get a coupon, or there is a good sale so I haven't bought conditioner in several months. I just bought a bottle of conditioner, and the smell is AWFUL. It's overwhelming. PLEASE get rid of the new fragrance!!! I don't want to have to find a new shampoo & conditioner, but I will if the smelly conditioner stays.

JLRtxRN
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
what is going on?
3/27/2016

Customer review by fafdsafdsa

1.0 stars 3/27/2016 by fafdsafdsa
by fafdsafdsa

I have used pantene conditioner for ten years. A few months ago, I started noticing that occasionally I would pick up a bottle of the volumizing conditioner, and it would smell different, and also perform differently - making my hair look heavy, weighed down, and greasy - really awful. Now, it seems that the “new” version is the only one available. Why? Why "fix" what's not broken?

fafdsafdsa
oakland ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
What happened to the conditioner?!
4/12/2016

Customer review by jco83

2.0 stars 4/12/2016 by jco83
by jco83

Pantene Sheer Volume has been my go to for years as it has worked best for my hair type however I am not so certain it will remain my go to since purchasing my latest bottle of conditioner. The formula is obviously changed. The scent is extremely overwhelming and the overall feel has changed. My hair now looks weighed down - not a fan.

jco83
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? No
You took a great product and made it disgusting!
5/9/2016

Customer review by Gregpf

1.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Gregpf
by Gregpf

This is the most disgusting scent I have ever smelled. You obviously changed the product for some reason (probably a cost factor or something). I was a loyal user for years. This product is so bad and the sent lingers with you all day and I just can't stand the smell.

Gregpf
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
hate the new fragrance
3/22/2016

Customer review by Mom3456

1.0 stars 3/22/2016 by Mom3456
by Mom3456

I have used this product for years. Whatever changes they made in the fragrance are horrible, It is too strong and not a fragrance I like, nor does anyone else close enough to smell it.. The fragrance gives me a headache. I've bought 3 bottles from 3 different stores and the problem is the same. After years of satisfaction I have to find another unscented brand.

Mom3456
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
The new scent is obnoxious
3/13/2016

Customer review by MyReview

2.0 stars 3/13/2016 by MyReview
by MyReview

I've been using Pantene sheer volume shampoo and conditioner for a few years. I always liked it until now. The scent has recently changed and is now obnoxious and so incredibly strong. I feel like I'm putting cheap fruity perfume in my hair instead of conditioner. This product would have gotten a full 5 stars but the new scent alone makes me want to try something else.

MyReview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Flat to Volume Conditioner
4/15/2014

Customer review by PetalumaMama

2.0 stars 4/15/2014 by PetalumaMama
by PetalumaMama

I have what's called Fine Hair Solutions "Flat to Volume Conditioner", probably a predecessor to this product. Though I was sufficiently happy with how well it conditioned and hydrated, I didn't necessarily notice a difference in volume, and parts of my scalp, all over my neck, and back I broke out in huge zits. Once I stopped using this product new break outs immediately stopped but the existing ones took a very long time to heal. I've never had this happen with any type of hair product before. Yuck.

PetalumaMama
Petaluma, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great conditioner, wish it was thicker.
1/31/2016

Customer review by Jeccabones

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Jeccabones
by Jeccabones

This conditioner made my hair super shiny and bouncy, but when I used it in the shower it seemed kind of thin and I had to use more than I normally would to ensure it coated my hair well. I assume it's supposed to be that way because it's "lightweight". But it does work wonders for limp or frizzy hair. *I received this product free from Influenster for testing purposes. All opinions are my own.*

Jeccabones
Shepherdsville, KY
Better than the shampoo that goes with this.!
2/2/2016

Customer review by KattZombiee

3.0 stars 2/2/2016 by KattZombiee
by KattZombiee

This conditioner on it's own is a good product, it makes my hair feel nice and it smells good. But when using this conditioner with the Sheer Volume shampoo, it dries my hair out so bad I can't even run a brush thru it! I recommend the conditioner, but I am immediately getting rid of the shampoo! I received this product for free in exchange for my honest review, all of my opinions are my own.

KattZombiee
Florida
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews