Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 27 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Perfect for what I needed
8/6/2013

Customer review by comptergear

5.0 stars 8/6/2013 by comptergear
by comptergear

Worked great for me so far - my wife's computer crashed totally (won't boot) last week and not everything was backed up. I bought this device to access the hard drive (a 250 Gb SATA) and it worked like a charm. When I fired it up it scanned the disk for errors and fixed one bad sector. Scanning it on her old computer under the alternative boot options led to a crash but this handled it fine. Buying it was a lot less expensive that getting a company to extract the data! It seems sufficiently good that once my wife's new computer arrives and I have data transferred to it, I will probably continue using it as an extra drive - either with the 250GB drive directly on my desktop, or with a 2 or 4 TB SATA drive connected to one of my network drives (that have USB plugs).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
comptergear
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/27/2011

Customer review by uiuiouoi

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by uiuiouoi
by uiuiouoi

This product gets the job done. No problems with drivers loading. It's hot swappable, and my 2.5" hard drive fits snug on the connections. Only one problem exists. The cover flaps with a spring load - it stays up to cover the extra space left when using a 2.5" drive. My drive (standard 2.5" out of a toshiba laptop) did not fit and the flap stayed down. I actually broke the flap when trying to pull it up. It is easy to break at the hinge ( just plastic). Now I just use the dock with no flap; so it's just open. Not a big deal, but I would like the cover, though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uiuiouoi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
System Backup workes great.
5/15/2011

Customer review by weedwacker

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by weedwacker
by weedwacker

I bought the Startech USB to SATA for a extra hard drive I had so I could backup my windows 7 system and files. My computer has two hard drives, the main drive has windows 7, the other PClinuxOS, which I have set up as a dual boot system. I like the sys backup feature windows 7 has and used the second drive for that until installed Linux on the second drive. Now with the external drive I can backup all my windows files cheap, and this is just as good as one of those expensive external drives. With the Startech USB to SATA I can also use it for other drives I might need to format or use for files.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weedwacker
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Startech USB to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station
4/30/2013

Customer review by ivanho411

5.0 stars 4/30/2013 by ivanho411
by ivanho411
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have purchased numerous other external enclosures and docking stations in the past, with none of them being of a decent quality, with all of them being made of cheap plastic or aluminum. This docking station is open to the air allowing the heat buildup to be dissipated to the atmosphere which is better than being enclosed with no ventilation openings. So far it has worked flawlessly and if it lasts over six or seven months it will beat out all others I have used. These should last for years, so we will see.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ivanho411
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love It
4/15/2011

Customer review by 20belowzero

5.0 stars 4/15/2011 by 20belowzero
by 20belowzero

Works like a charm. I plugged it in and it works. I had to format a brand new 2.5 inch WD Scorpio Blue but it now reads as drive E:. Not a hitch, no drama at all. Construction quality seems as good as I hoped. I have a Toshiba A105 notebook with a 40 gig hard drive. Now I have another 160 gigs. I love it. I also have Ubuntu 10.10 installed under Win 7. This device is supposed to work with that as well, I have not tried it yet. I reserved 60 gigs for Linux and will report back when I test that. My opinion as of this moment is that I made a good decision and would be right to buy it again. -20

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
20belowzero
Central Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than I ever expected!
11/5/2012

Customer review by Patopop007

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Patopop007
by Patopop007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This docking station is perfect for what I needed and at an overwhelmingly low price! The stand is dock is sturdy and feels like it will last. The trap-door feels a little less sturdy, but is holding out alright. This works perfectly for 2.5" and 3.5" drives, although the 2.5" drives are slightly loose. It should be noted that this dock has an LED status light that flashes pink when the harddrive is being accessed and idles at blue. The colors are not disturbingly bright and are actually rather soothing! I would definitely recommend to anybody who needs to read and write data to harddrives quickly and hassle-free.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patopop007
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked perfectly
10/23/2013

Customer review by pickinganicknameishard

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by pickinganicknameishard
by pickinganicknameishard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was able to plug in the hard drive from my old, dead computer and copy off all of the files I needed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickinganicknameishard
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2013

Customer review by Libraximus

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Libraximus
by Libraximus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Western Digital external hard drive got zapped by a lightning strike and I was not able to power it up. So I couldn't tell if the data on it was still o.k. or if it had been corrupted. I pried the case apart and removed the drive. This Startech docking station was the perfect solution to check the drive. The price was good and all you have to do is plug in the drive and connect it to a computer. I've had it for about a month and so far so good. And fortunately, the files on the drive turned out to be o.k.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Libraximus
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Affordable and simply gets the job done.
6/23/2014

Customer review by Greatonez

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by Greatonez
by Greatonez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit was easy plug and play. The price was affordable and it worked great. I overheated my external MyBook external drive, so the MyBook stopped working and would not play the hard drive. I took the hard drive out of the MyBook and used the Startech Docking Station to play the hard drive. Initially the hard drive didn't play, so I left it plugged in the Docking Station for about an hour and Success! I was able to recover all my hard drive information even though I had overheated the MyBook. I would recommend to everyone as a affordable backup hard drive player for 2.5" or 3.5" hard drives.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greatonez
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect solution for unused internal harddrives
12/3/2013

Customer review by reiningldy

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by reiningldy
by reiningldy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We use these docks at the office with internal harddrives of old computers. Great for salvaging data when the motherboard goes bad. I bought this dock to use for storing downloaded movies on some old unused harddrives. The price was terrific and the dock is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reiningldy
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
12/10/2013

Customer review by bored365

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by bored365
by bored365
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found this little adapter to be very useful. I had misread the description and thought it did IDE, but I was mistaken. Great little tool for accessing hard drives/information when there is no operating system installed or if it's corrupted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bored365
mesa, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More bang for your buck.
12/7/2012

Customer review by OU81Ni812

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by OU81Ni812
by OU81Ni812
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works great. It's not as fast as USB 3 but it does what it has to do with no problem. No CD needed to install drivers, your computer system automatically recognizes it and installs drivers for you. Good deal and just what I needed when I needed it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OU81Ni812
Monmouth County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very convenient
3/19/2013

Customer review by Truman2013

4.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Truman2013
by Truman2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product gave me no trouble at all. I simply plugged it in and fixed my old desktop hard drive and recovered my daughter's laptop hard drive. Very easy to plug the drives in and to remove. Worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truman2013
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Startech USB to SATA
9/3/2013

Customer review by PT001

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by PT001
by PT001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Startech USB to SATA did what it had to do with no problems. Great price, fast shipping, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PT001
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/12/2011

Customer review by comp47

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by comp47
by comp47

well build use everyday love it

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
comp47
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Computer could not identify docking station
5/26/2012

Customer review by caugust64

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by caugust64
by caugust64

Computer never could identify or read that the docking station was attached.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caugust64
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
1/25/2012

Customer review by captinkirk

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by captinkirk
by captinkirk

The Startech external hard drive docking station has worked flawlessly since I purchased it. A pat on the back to the good people at Startech. May you live long and prosper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captinkirk
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
just ok
11/1/2011

Customer review by Dissapoint3d

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Dissapoint3d
by Dissapoint3d

it worked just fine for pc use but i bought it to use on the xbox and the xbox wouldnt read it i seen other products just like this that work on the xbox but cost twice as much so i though i would give this a shot but wouldnt work. It did however work just fine on my pc but the flap cover thing broke on the first use so i returned it since its useless to me since it dont work on my xbox

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dissapoint3d
Modesto, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cool gagit
11/9/2014

Customer review by MRGRIZZ

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by MRGRIZZ
by MRGRIZZ

work extremely well it's just what I needed very small easy to use the only thing I would change is the location of the on and off switch it's on the back it should be on the front

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRGRIZZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job.
9/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is what it is and it does what I wanted it for. So I'd have to say that it fits the bill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews