Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 737 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

737 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

737 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
398
4 stars
207
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 stars
67
1-20 of 660 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 660 total reviews
1-20 of 660 reviews
The BEST DVD Recorder with Hard Drive
6/10/2010

Customer review by GmanIV

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by GmanIV
by GmanIV

For 2010, this is simply the BEST DVD Recorder you can buy. It has a massive 320 gig Hard drive, that gives you almost 400 hours on the lowest setting (which looks like a VCR recording) the next setting up looks very good and has almost 300 hours. You can record a tv show to the hard drive and keep it there, EASILY delete out commercials with the Edit feature, then save to a DVD or just keep it in the hard drive, I mean with 400 hours, its not like your gonna fill it up. The manual that comes with it at first seems daunting, but the best way to fig this unit out is just plug it in and play with it. It didn't take me long to figure it out. It was a easy 1 button record (otr) and a quick 1 button Dubbing (Hard drive to DVD or DVD to hard drive). Works much like a old style VCR but just all Digital and much better picture quality. It has a tuner that picks up Digital and old style Analog cable/satellite channels. This magnavox system is a gem! It's a almost like having a Tivo but without any monthly fees. I would deff recommend this unit to a friend or anyone wanting to buy a DVD recorder or to replace a old VCR or just tired of Tivo.

Was this review helpful? (341) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmanIV
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
I have no regrets.
9/25/2010

Customer review by SpockTekkie

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by SpockTekkie
by SpockTekkie

This product is definately the best buy you can find, especially since I got it on sale. The 320GB HDD is quiet and holds as many hours of video as specified. Mine has worked flawlessly. It records and plays everything I throw at it. The HDMI 1080p upconversion is awsome, at least on my 1080P 42 in Vizio LCD TV. The recordings are crisp, clear, and sharp on digital channels and not so bad on analog channels. Surround Sound is awsome on surround sound system. The TV Tuner on this DVR is great. Timer settings record accurately. It has a lot of neat stuff, like recording a timer setting whether on or off. You can do about any type of editing you want, erase sections, hide chapters, etc. Now, lets address some issues. It doesn't record on DL dvds (dual layer - 8.7 gb vs std 4.7 gb discs). But it doesn't claim to and you are not paying for a High End DVR. Maybe you could replace the recorder with a dual layer recorder, but the software probably wouldn't support it. But you can split a 2 hour high quality movie between two STD dvds. One hour on each disc. It doesn't have a usb port for copying or playing usb drives or usb hd drives, but it doesn't claim to have one. Yes, the remote is hard to read in dim lighting, but it is not bad. So are a lot of other remotes. At least it is a good solid remote. Buttons are of various shapes, sizes and positions. Critical buttons are different colors, Red for recording, dubbing and power on/off. At least the layout is nice and buttons are not tiny, but medium sized for easy use. Directions are a little complex, but setup on screen is pretty much menu driven and user friendly. Just go though each option. But I had a Magnavox DVD recorder before, which is basically this machine without a HDD. Even the remotes work with the other machine. It can only record one channel at a time and only view that channel. But you can watch another recording or a DVD while it is recording. It only records in a 4:3 format, not a 16:9 widescreen format. Which is okay for me. It records analog channels fine, digital channels fine, and it records Hi Def channels as digital channels. But they are pretty sharp and at least it pulls them in. It does a fine job of converting analog and digital. It can be a digital converter or you can watch analog channels clearer on a digital LCD screen. Note: For best results watch DVDs through HDMI cable on HDMI Aux channel on LCD TV and watch analog and digital channels through component cables on Component Aux channel on LCD screen. The formatting is better and quality is better. Also, buying this new is a lot better buy than buying something used and cheaper, or used and over the internet. Used electronics, older than 3 or 4 years , are usually a waste of money because they break down or most of the life span is gone. Summary: All in all, even though this is not a state of the art, expensive machine, it is very good quality at a decent price. If taken care of properly (not abused) it should last a long time. But typically, electronics probably have roughly, a 3-5 year good life span if used a lot. I would recommend it to anybody in a heartbeat. I have no regrets buying mine. I am a computer programmer, computer technician, and computer geek and I approve of this message.

Was this review helpful? (369) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpockTekkie
Denison, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BYE BYE TIVO/CABLE DVR
3/12/2011

Customer review by navado2

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by navado2
by navado2

I have been looking for a device to record HD channels as well as SD. I have a Tivo series 2 that only does SD TV and a 160GB philips dvd recorder that also only does SD being they have no HD turner built in. I first thought of upgrading my tivo to their premier box for $479 with lifetime sub. since i have been a customer for years. Then I noticed i would have to get a cable card for a monthly fee and a wireless adapter for $59. The goal was to be rid of any subscription fee and not break the bank in doing it. I also thought of buying a pc tv tuner card for $130 but found this 320gb was selling for only $199 which is $70 less than what i paid for my 160gb years ago. The other reviews posted on this website and others failed to specify that this DVR will record in HD and also pause live HD TV which was the most important feature i wanted. Ordered my unit and recieved it the next day for $22 more and so far it does everything i want. The features are different from the philips unit so I am still getting the hang of it but all I can say is the picture quality is great on both SD/HD TV.

Was this review helpful? (212) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
navado2
ORLANDO FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Almost a great product
6/24/2010

Customer review by Actionjacq

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by Actionjacq
by Actionjacq

Hi Guys, I bought this Magnovax mainly to be able to record my favorite games, world cup soccer. Here are some great things about it: 1- very easy to set up, record, edit, delete 2- This magnovax is by far the best one out there for US consumers. 3- It has a digital tuner (very useful) There's only one thing that I'm not happy about - HDMI supposes to give you a great picture quality (HD upconversion) although it's ok but not as good as I was hoping for. Overall, if you're looking for DVR for home use, this one is very good & affordable. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (83) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Actionjacq
Bloomfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Complicated but worth it!
10/24/2010

Customer review by colodoc

4.0 stars 10/24/2010 by colodoc
by colodoc

This is a remarkable device that does much more than I, and probably most people will use. But, it takes a lot of effort to set it up and solve the inevitable problems that arise. The following are some random comments that I think many will find useful. The supplied manual is very helpful and essential to setup and use, but is lacking in that it is not very detailed and often uses terms that are not defined or are readily understood. Some familiarity with digital tv and computers is essential to setup and problem solving. Some examples: we have Comcast cable and were told by the Magnavox customer service representative that we could only use this unit for over the air signals which is false. After much trial and error, and re-reading the manual, we were able to get the digital and analog signals that Comcast supplied to be viewed. No cable box was needed, though I think that would be an easier setup than ours was. Initially, I set the date and time without carefully reading the manual. It did not work (the time changed incorrectly on a daily basis) and from reading other reviews, they likely did not read the manual either resulting in much frustration and some returns thinking the unit was defective. A couple of minutes reading the manual will reward those who do. This includes proper setting of time zone, daylight saving and auto update and the local channel to update the time. Connection to the TV is easy with HDMI, but not if you use RCA plugs or component input. It is easy to make the connection, but selecting the proper program setting can be a challenge. Recording for time shifting, dubbing recordings to DVD and DVD to the hard drive are relatively easy and the steps are intuitive as are the menus. In summary, this is a full featured unit that will do more than most will ever need, but it takes time and careful attention to the settings to get it right. The manual could be even more detailed but already people have complained about its length. Do not purchase this recorder expecting to plug it in and play it without devoting considerable effort learning how to set it up and use it. There are so many settings and potential for error that it is impossible to predict where another individual will encounter a problem, but likely one will arise. What is important is that the owner solve the problem with help from the manual and much trial and error. Prior knowledge and a little luck would not hurt.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colodoc
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I always wanted. A Great buy!
2/24/2011

Customer review by MajesticWi

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by MajesticWi
by MajesticWi

I always wanted a DVR, but was reluctant to purchase one due to the required monthly subscription fees. I came across this model when I was searching for a replacement for my failing VCR. I couldn't believe someone finally manufactured a stand alone DVR that required NO monthly program fees. A perfect fit to my time shifting T.V. viewing life style. Pros: *Great picture. *Plenty of port options for hooking it up to a variety of entertainment systems. *The 1080p up conversion is great for my setup. I convert the 480i, 720i & 1080i reception & recordings from outdoor antenna to 1080p for an excellent picture on my LCD T.V.. *The option to record to either a DVD or the hard drive is another nice feature. *Really like the feature to pause live shows. If you can't sit down right at the hour to watch a program, just turn on the DVR to your station and let it run. When you finally get a chance to sit down, you can start watching from the beginning of the program and fast forward through commericials. With a VCR you can also record the show, but have to wait till the recording ends in order to watch. *On-screen programming of a T.V. show is quick and easy. Cons: *Would be nice if it had the ability to record more than one show at a time. There are a couple of nights a week where several of our favorite shows are broadcast in the same time slot. Our extra VCR will be around for a while yet. :( Other thoughts: *Personally I like a detailed owner's manual, but I can see where some folks might be overwhelmed by it. Magnavox should consider including a separate quick start guide for setup & using the basic functions so folks can start using it right away. Once they know the basics they can continue learning from there. *Magnavox should also consider doing a little advertising of this GREAT product. I wouldn't have even known it existed if hadn't stumbled across it on Walmart's website.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MajesticWi
Northeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Switched from TiVo
6/14/2010

Customer review by JacksonvilleFL

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by JacksonvilleFL
by JacksonvilleFL

This DVR records great shows. We have it connected to Direct TV via RCA cables and a big screen TV using the HDMI cable. When you record a program you can view, fast forward and reverse like a VCR without the tapes. You can also pause and even rewind LIVE broadcasts. It will play standard DVDs. This unit replaced a Series one TiVo which had was easy to use but required monthly fees. This recorder cost less than $300 without monthly fees, it is no bigger than a VHS video recorder and fits in the entertainment center with room to spare. Cons: Instructions are a bit challanging and require some time to learn the controls. The print on the remote control is hard to see in low light like you'd find in normal living room. The unit shuts down after a period of time not in use. When turning on , the boot up time is bit long (This is really a special type computer). I would consider buying a second unit identicaly to this one!

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacksonvilleFL
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My first DVR
10/12/2010

Customer review by 4everABuckeye

4.0 stars 10/12/2010 by 4everABuckeye
by 4everABuckeye

After reading some of the negative reviews posted about this product, I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing it. However, after nearly a year of looking for a replacement for my broken DVD-writer, I decided to take a chance with the Magnavox DVR and I’m happy I did. I’ve had the DVR for just about two months now and am very satisfied with its performance thus far. I record 1-3 hours of TV each day and have not experienced any problems with the machine’s operation. I suspect many of the negative reviews are the result of the DVR being improperly hooked-up or operated. One reviewer stated they had to program the timer daily to record shows. Confusing, since the DVR is capable of being programmed to record a single event up to 30 days in advance, multiple single events, daily recording, Mon – Fri recording and weekly recording (e.g. every Tues @ 9 PM). The HD drive also allows you to watch a previously recorded program while simultaneously recording another to the HDD. Another reviewer stated the picture quality was milky. I originally used component cables to connect the unit to my TV and the picture was a bit fuzzy, so I bought an HDMI cable and the picture is much sharper. You cannot get digital quality with an analog connection. In order to watch one show while recording another (with an over-air antenna connection), I use the RF input (coax cable) connection on the back of the DVR to receive the incoming TV signal. My output to the TV is from both the RF out (which is simply a signal pass-thru, like being directly connected to the cable input) and from the HDMI out connectors. This connection allows the DVR to split the incoming signal between the DVR and the TV, permitting you to watch one station while recording another. This DVR is not perfect and there are a few quirks that if corrected would improve the product. For example, the unit does not allow you to delete unwanted minor digital channels (e.g. if you have digital channels 5.1, 5.2, and 5.3 you cannot delete just 5.1…all three must stay or go.) But for the price and quality, I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4everABuckeye
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't Beat the Price and preformance!
11/28/2010

Customer review by MJApple

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by MJApple
by MJApple

What attracted me to the Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder was the ability to record to DVD. Also, for years since we went with our cable provider I couldn't record one show and watch another without having to pay extra for their limited storage DVR. My cousin has 6 of these and told me that I could record one show and watch another if connected correctly. Actually, you can record one show and watch another. My genius cousin walked me through a million miles of cables. I also have my combo DVD/VCR hooked up too so I can convert all my old VHS home movies to DVD. The cable companies will tell you that you can't but that is only because they don't want you recording the On Demand shows or the Pay For View movies. It's all in how you hook it up and then use your L1 L2 and then on your TV...oh...I bought a new Magnavox TV from Sam's to go with my new DVR HDD. On the TV I'm using the different HDMI and TV buttons to switch between watch and record. It can be done but not on the old TV that I had. I just wish I could cut down on all the different remotes that it takes to work the TV, cable box, DVR/HDD and the VCR/DVD combo. That will be my next project. To anyone thinking about buying the Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder I would say to you that you just can't go wrong with it at this price! It will do just about anything you can ask it to do provided you have it connected correctly. You have to read the manual or have a genius cousin like mine because neither the cable company or Magnavox will walk you through it. Oh and if you do by the Magnavox TV don't assume if you have a problem you can call just one phone number. The Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder is made by a different company thaN the TV is so you will be dealing with 2 different companies. Just read the manual or if you are lucky you might find someone that knows how to connect everything up at Radio Shack. They are very good at helping you with all the different cables and wires that you will need. Oh, and between the price of the Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder and the extended service plan you can get with it at Walmart, you will not find a better price out there...DON'T FORGET TO GET THAT SERVICE PLAN.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJApple
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustating to use!
7/8/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/8/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product works, but is not easy to use. My previous HDR was a Panasonic DMR-E95H, which was lost to Katrina. The Panasonic was like driving a sports car, while the Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 drives like a truck. The Magnavox does have twice the hard drive space of the Panasonic, and a digital tuner, which the Panasonic lacked. Aside from those pluses, the Panasonic was a superior machine. The Magnavox lacks the TV Guide feature of the Panasonic, which allows easy recording programming. With the Magnavox you must manually input the recording date, start time, stop time, and channel. This is all done automatically with the TV Guide feature in the Panasonic. To title a recording with the Magnavox you must pick out the tiny letters on the non-back-lit remote control. Make sure to turn on a bright light! With the Panasonic this can be done in the dark using an on screen display. The Panasonic method is simpler and MUCH easier/faster! Finally the remote control of the Magnavox is pathetic. The recorder simply fails to respond to the first push of the remote control button at least half of the time. This is not a battery issue or failure to fully depress the button issue. Overall the Magnavox works, but poorly. Currently it is the only game in town, as Panasonic has no USA spec HDRs. I'm going to return mine in the hopes a second unit will have a remote that actually works on the first button push every time.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Big disappointment
10/8/2011

Customer review by bologne

1.0 stars 10/8/2011 by bologne
by bologne

I was so excited to find this for my husband. He wanted to record football games and such and watch when he had time. I set it up with no problem, he was very happy, worked great for about 3 weeks, then froze up. Not even the buttons on the front would do anything. Tried unplugging, then all that came on was the clock. If it would have worked it would have been great! Perfect for our needs! But that doesn't help if it doesn't work!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bologne
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
beware electricity glitches
4/25/2011

Customer review by Bulldawg1234

1.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Bulldawg1234
by Bulldawg1234

this product is extremely sensitive to electricity fluctuations. If you are watching it, and, the lights flicker, it will quit working. The power supply ceases to work. Dont bother calling the manufactures warranty number. they will just call it an "act of god" and refuse to cover the repair. if you buy this product, which you most likely will since there aren't many alternatives, get a UPS with battery backup. And, consider the additional walmart warranty

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bulldawg1234
MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Throw the VCR away, & cancel your DVR subscription
1/27/2011

Customer review by JRBlumpkin

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by JRBlumpkin
by JRBlumpkin

This is the perfect product for people who still have VCRs (believe or not, they are out there), and have read the writing on the wall about the fate of that medium: extinction. It's also perfect for people shelling out twenty bucks a month for their DVR fees through their cable company. This machine is relatively easy to use for the novice, and VERY easy to use for the technically savvy. The hard drive is very large, and can accommodate hundreds of hours worth of programming. The picture quality is great for the recordings, and you have several settings options to choose from (depending on whether you prefer picture quality over quantity of programs it can store). And, unlike any dvr, you can actually dub recordings permanently to DVD. How awesome is that? The downside is that it can only record one show at a time, so some people who have been spoiled by DVR's ability to do more than one show at a time, might not like that. But on the plus side, you can watch a DVD or a recorded program saved to the hard drive while simultaneously recording a program airing at that time. It's a great machine, and I would say buy two b/c anytime something this good comes out, they always stop making them within a year. So GET EM WHILE THEY'RE HOT!! And enjoy yourself, because it's a CELEBRATION.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRBlumpkin
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New Age VCR
3/22/2011

Customer review by SimpleFarmer

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by SimpleFarmer
by SimpleFarmer

I was just looking to replace my worn out vcr as my wife records her soap as she works. they dont really make them, only with dvd players included which I already own 2 of. I came across this, read the reviews and found that the hard drive records as well as being able to burn dvd's..I haven't done any dvds yet and probalby won't. it was real easy to hook up and program and the commercial skip she loves which after some reading of the owners manual which is pretty intense, its called V.SKIP.. I already have DVR with my cable but this saves room on that by being able to put the soaps on the hard drive and the way I have it hooked up I can record 2 channels with the DVR but I have to watch one and now a third with the MAGNAVOX right now I believe she has 3 weeks worth of soaps recorded on it. I love it and highly recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimpleFarmer
oswego, n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Maybe I got a 'lemon'
9/22/2011

Customer review by vitalpaw

1.0 stars 9/22/2011 by vitalpaw
by vitalpaw

Yea, I read all the great reviews for this product. For the first three months that I had this DVR I was transferring about 150 hours of video from my satellite DVR, and recording new shows during that time period. That's all I did with it during that time. After I returned the other DVR, this became my main one. Within the next month, it somehow went from english to spanish, [one day turned it on and everything on screen was in spanish], and I can't read spanish. After weeks of going through the instruction book, and finding no way that would allow me to change back to English that would work, I called for help, and it took the guy 15 min. to get a combination of steps that almost no human being could ever figure out. [FYI - I've helped setup A/V [audio/video] equipment for years for presentations with two groups - [Sierra club & Words of peace global]. Within the next month I tried to do some dubbing and the dubbing link was always dead [unlit and unable to curser to it]. Magnavox help asked what DVD's I was using, I said TDK, and they said that's good, so you should probably send the unit in to be 'checked out'. The next surprise was one day I had over 190 shows when I went to bed, next day when I turned it on I had '0', NADA, NOTHING!!! It was all gone! Since then it has wiped out everything again two more times. The best Magnavox help service could offer was to unplug it for 6 hours and then plug it back in. I'd known to do that, and had done that, only not for that length of time. The other thing it's been doing for a while now is a high pitch 'wirring' sound while playing, sometimes for hours. My suggestion, don't buy this, but if you do, try out ALL of it's 'features' within the first 30 days.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vitalpaw
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not well designed
3/2/2011

Customer review by RepairShop2

1.0 stars 3/2/2011 by RepairShop2
by RepairShop2

This is the 3rd of these to cross my bench. The first two quit within the days of setup. This one is hanging in there but with many short comings. With 2 other older units this is the worst I've used. The remote conflicts with the TV and VCR remotes. It often does not do the function selected and does not work within the stated range. It is very hard to see the labels. The fast forward and rewind seem to have a mind of their own as to how fast they run. Several of the DVDs created will not play in a commercial player and sometimes the eject button will not work. I have had to turn the unit off and back on the get the disk out. If the cable input is used the quality of picture is horrible - worse that my 20 year old VCR. The front panel is barely readable more than a few feet away.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RepairShop2
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally, a Practical, Affordable DVR
11/9/2010

Customer review by EclecticSelectic

4.0 stars 11/9/2010 by EclecticSelectic
by EclecticSelectic

I use it to record from my roof mounted antenna. No subscriptions, no monthly bills. There's no way that I will pay for television, they should pay me to watch! The picture quality is excellent for both viewing and recordings. I plugged my standard Digital TV tuning box into the "Antenna Out" and I can watch one show while I record another. I plugged my old VCR (Yep, I still play tapes) into the back and can use the remote to switch between all of them. It is real easy to schedule recordings (I think it will program 32 different events). Being able to pause live TV, take a break and start where you left of is effortless and surreal. Minuses: - There is no volume control on the remote. - Remote tough to read the controls in darkened room. - Should be able to title the scheduled shows while you are programming them instead of after they're recorded, especially annoying for shows that are recorded daily. - Inadequate internal backup battery, if there is a power outage you loose clock and all schedules within a couple minutes. (Sole reason for 4 stars) There's a really helpful blog that addresses setup and settings and also a bunch of stuff that I haven't tried yet: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12244086&postcount=1 Previously, I was using a Panasonic DVR that only recorded to DVD discs. The tuner wasn't nearly as sensitive (I get more channels on the Magnavox). Also, daily recording onto DVD discs was a pain to maintain and sometimes wouldn't work at all due to it's unreliable formatting scheme. This machine has been reliable, and easy to use. I finally feel like the switch from analog to digital is an improvement. However, I extend my sympathy to everyone with fringe reception who was forced to buy cable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EclecticSelectic
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good---With a Glitch
1/13/2011

Customer review by AJax11

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by AJax11
by AJax11

This product does what I want it to --- records television programs without a monthly subscription fee. A feature I really like it being able to start a recording if I can't watch it live at the time; and, while it is still recording the program, I can go back to the beginning and watch it. By the time I fastforward through the commercials, I basically finish the program when the live broadcast ends (I use it a lot for basketball games). It's also nice to pause and rewind live t.v. When I read the reviews, people indicated that the machine wouldn't keep track of the correct time. I have experienced this same problem - which can be a major problem if you want to set the DVR to record a program at certain times.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJax11
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice
10/30/2010

Customer review by Yam8310

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Yam8310
by Yam8310

I purchased this DVR hoping it would do just what I wanted, and I haven't been let down. I have read that it doesn't record in widescreen, but it does. And playback is sweet. If you set this up properly, you won't be disappointed. I watched a Hi-Def show and used record to see what the difference was between the actual broadcast and playback, (you can watch and playback the same show at the same time) virtually indistinguishable. I put some VHS movies not on DVD yet, to record to DVD, that too was sweet. Quiet and efficient, editing is so easy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yam8310
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
performs as promised--after you update firmware
1/16/2012

Customer review by kurtneus

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by kurtneus
by kurtneus

The first week, this unit kept losing my recorded programs or clock or just didn't record. I found a firmware upgrade and followed the instructions, and installed the upgrade by burning the file to a DVD and inserting it into the unit. It did the rest. Now the unit has worked flawlessly. http://funaiservice.com/Information/firmware/H2160MW9A/Firmware_Instructions.pdf This unit gives me a DVR without paying TiVo or my cable company. I had needed to replace my VCR combo, and a HDD is much better than a VCR. The manual is the most thorough I've seen in years. For some people, this is daunting and they give up. True, some of the manual is a little hard to follow, but that's mainly because there are so many ways to plug things in, and the unit has so many features. NOTE: For the people who mistakenly believed you "have to leave your cable box on the desired channel," THIS UNIT HAS A BUILT IN TUNER! YOU DON'T NEED A CABLE BOX! You only need a splitter! Plug one cable into the unit, the other cable into your cable box! Use a splitter, and the unit records any channel while you watch something else on your TV. You can also chase a program while it's recording (start viewing from the beginning). Just hit Play. You cannot, however, record two channels at the same time. This is probably the biggest disadvantage compared to TiVo. Not an issue for me. The other issue is it only has a 30-second power backup. A power outage will wipe out your schedule and settings (but won't erase any saved programs). This is disappointing and surprising. Even the cheapest VCR of yesteryear did better than that. You can buy a UPS battery backup for about $40. Can't speak to how it displays on HD screens as I don't have a HD screen! :( The box said "Pause Live TV" but there is no entry for that in the table of contents. Turns out it's under "Autostart" meaning it automatically records any channel you view through the unit. You can pause, then play back speeded up and catch back up if you want. Cool! I like the ability to jump past commercials 30 (or 60) sec at a time. I'm sure this is all standard fare if you have a TiVo, but it's new to me! The recorded programs (as I have it set up anyway) don't record titles, so if you had a lot of them, you have to identify them by the date and time. You can add labels, which looks a bit tedious without a keyboard. I just delete them after watching (which does require about 8 key strokes on the remote). Many of the reviews on this site complain about a myriad of different issues, including people who simply couldn't figure out the plugs, but this is not a defect of the unit. It's a fact of DIY. Overall, this unit has done everything I wanted it to do (record TV programs). However, I will monitor its longterm reliability in light of other reviews. But I believe a FIRMWARE UPGRADE would have solved their problems (and shame on Magnavox for not including the instructions for how to do this).

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kurtneus
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 660 total reviews
1-20 of 660 reviews