Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
23
1-20 of 79 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Awesome Product
7/15/2010

Customer review by DogLover1971

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by DogLover1971
by DogLover1971

We have 3 puppies to to try to control. Working Great on house Training....

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogLover1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/12/2012

Customer review by rescueworker

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by rescueworker
by rescueworker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased my Zoom trainer several yrs ago when I started fostering rescue dogs, most of which had no or little training. It was great, easy and did not hurt the dogs. Within the last year, I have loaned the trainer to friends who had barking dog issues( one had spent over $100 for other products that did not work). Each person returned my trainer after they purchased one for themselves. All were amazed that it worked so well and quickly. So far 5 of my friends now have a trainer of there own and another friend now has mine to try. The product is great, easy to use, does not harm the animal and is very reasonably priced. All you have to do is choose a command word, point and press and be consistant. The trainer is very useful in various types of training issues from barking, house breaking, jumping up on people and many more. It is a good idea to use a generic command such as "stop" or "no" if you may need to address more than one problem. This is the 1st ever that I have done a product review. Too bad I don't own any stock.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rescueworker
Fremont, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
huge bang for the buck
8/30/2013

Customer review by spsanman

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by spsanman
by spsanman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I work around a lot of parks where owners take their dogs for walks. There have been times when the owners could barely control their animals and our office complex was concerned these scenes would eventually lead to someone being injured. One day during lunch young guy was walking his pit bull as an older lady approached in the opposite direction with her poodle. The table my friend and I were eating at was between the two. I reached in my pocket and took out the pet zoom feeling quite uneasy hoping both animals would pass without reacting to each other. Well, they didn't. The poodle barked first, then the pit bull began to growl and it was all its owner could do to hold it back. I pressed the button yelling STOP and both animals sat down. The lady with the poodle was so happy she tried to pay me and both owners wrote down the Pet Zoom name and said they would be visiting walmart.com to purchase a device of their own. Thanks for a great product. The only drawback is the battery cover easily comes loose, but if you have a pet, this is a must have item.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spsanman
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money.
1/25/2012

Customer review by vizualpro

1.0 stars 1/25/2012 by vizualpro
by vizualpro

This product claims it works for both cats and dogs, I wish I'd have read the reviews before spending $11 on it. I purchased this device having seen similar products like it on the market and not knowing what to expect. Recently adopted a cat that needed some training and would have loved if this item worked as described, however it has had no effect on her as a kitten or even now, a year later. Unfortunately it doesn't have any effect on the occasional dog passing through my yard either. Having now read the reviews, it's interesting to see how some customers claim this is the greatest thing ever made, while others have a pretty blue paper weight; is it a defect in the product, or are some animals just stubborn and or deaf to it? This is one of the cheaper models I've seen, not completely sure if that may have something to do with it not working, or if I saved myself even more money by not buying an expensive one only to have my cat ignore it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vizualpro
Altamonte Springs, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great tool for training your dog or CAT!
6/24/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Pet Zoom Sonic Trainer may look or seem like just another one of those "as seen on tv" useless or silly gadgets but it's NOT! This product doesn't just work, it works great and it works the first time you use it. I bought it to help me get my dog's attention when I am walking him or trying to get him to learn something new in a distracting environment ( like at the dog park / pond ). I tried it out right away inside the house and not only did I get my dog's attention, but I had the attention of my three cats as well. Depending on how you follow up the sound the Sonic Trainer emits, it can be used for positive reinforcement or as a behavior deterrent. For example, when my dog hears the Sonic Trainer he sits at attention and waits for a command to follow to recieve a treat or praise. My cats however, stop whatever they are doing ( like scratching my furniture ) and scurry from the "scene of the crime". I have even used the Sonic Trainer to stop another dog from it's aggressive approach to my dog and myself. I love this product and would recommend it to anyone who has pets. It is not a painful trainer like a shock collar, but more like a " clicker " on steroids. The Pet Zoom Sonic Trainer is perfect for getting your pet's attention so that you can follow up with a command. Other training products sell for upwards of $50. The Sonic Trainer was less than $12!! That is less than the cost of a bag of dog food! Try this product and not only will you love it, you will love having the dog ( or cat ) of your dreams, who listens when you give a command.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No perfect solution but has some value
1/30/2011

Customer review by OldTennisGuy

3.0 stars 1/30/2011 by OldTennisGuy
by OldTennisGuy

Before I bought I read lots of reviews and decided that it works for some dogs and not for others. And dogs can ignore it. That turned out to be exactly true. Don't expect to trust this device to deter dog attacks. Don't expect to have a perfect training tool either. My dog DOES notice it, DOESN'T much care, but DOES do better when this is added to other behavior molding methods. Your mileage WILL vary. Small investment worth trying.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldTennisGuy
Warrenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing!
6/4/2012

Customer review by munchkinmom95

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by munchkinmom95
by munchkinmom95

My pitbull-mix dog is a hyper dog who, despite going to obedience classes, did not walk/heel well AT ALL on walks. She pulled SO badly that I actually got bruises and leash burn from her pulling. We tried every type of training collar. We even tried an electric shock collar. After all of this, she still had not learned what she was supposed to do on walks. Keep in mind she is very smart. She knows lots of other commands and obeys them very well (sit, stay, come, wait, speak, etc). I ordered this remote thinking "this will probably never work, but I'll try anything at this point". Within 10 minutes of training using this remote she got it. We would walk with her and as soon as she pulled at all we would say "heel", if she continued to pull we said "no" and pressed the button at the same time so she would associate the unpleasant noise with the word "no". After about 10 minutes of repeating this process if she pulled we said "no" and she stopped pulling. AMAZING! After another 10 minutes of training she didn't pull anymore. HOLY COW!!! It's like having a new dog. I'M SO GLAD I ORDERED THIS PRODUCT!! One thing to note, it seemed to work much better from close up and not very well from 20 feet away. From the 20 feet distance she just sort of looked at me like "huh?" and tilted her head. It didn't seem to get her attention enough to make her obey. We were careful to make sure she didn't "notice" the remote so she didn't associate the training with the remote but rather our command words. All in all, I am SO glad I invested the money to buy this product!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
munchkinmom95
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best invention ever!!!!
8/14/2010

Customer review by Sydeny

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by Sydeny
by Sydeny

It's the best. I trained my dog with it, he get's complements on he's behavior everyday.. I take it on walks and a dog was running after use i pushed the botton and the dog stopped and ran back home. It's an inexpensive idem that actually works.. I defiantly recommend this product..

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sydeny
Valencia, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pet sonic trainer
4/24/2012

Customer review by kidteachmunsell

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by kidteachmunsell
by kidteachmunsell

My maltese puppy has a horrible habit of snitching things like my insulin syringe before I can inject it and any paper towel or tissue she sees lying around, not ot mention pens or markers, crayons, etc because as a teacher they are plentiful. When I click this sonic trainer she immediately stops and i tell he r "No or Stop" and she is learning not to snitch things. She has a habit of talking and barking when I try to go to sleep at night, especially if she has had a nap during the day, so I click the sonic trainer and she immediately lays down and is quiet. It is a wonderful product and does exactly as the advertisement says.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kidteachmunsell
Witt, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it works...
3/14/2012

Customer review by countrygirlSuzy

3.0 stars 3/14/2012 by countrygirlSuzy
by countrygirlSuzy

Thought at first this thing was not working. My puppy totally ignored it. But then I tried one more time and noticed this time that my other older dog ran to the other side of the yard and my cats also ran for the hills (so to speak). I was so focused on trying to stop my puppy's unecessary barking that I didn't see the other animals reactions. I was just about to throw it away, but it does work.. just not working on my puppy. But popping a flyswatter against the wall shuts him up,(Would never hit him with it or anything else). I have some stray tomcats that like to visit and cause problems..all my cats are spayed and neutered. Maybe this will help keep them away. I did test it inside the house with the window down and my cats could hear it outside in the yard. So glad I did not trash it and gave it one more chance..

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countrygirlSuzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reasonable Trainer
12/22/2010

Customer review by BargainShopperJen101

3.0 stars 12/22/2010 by BargainShopperJen101
by BargainShopperJen101

This product is worth the $11.88 I paid for it. It is better than the "Bark Off" because you control it. We have a yellow lab who likes to bark. It has helped deter his barking, but if he is in a playful mood, it triggers the barking more. It's a great product if you use it wisely and don't over do it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainShopperJen101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish there were a yes and no catagory
2/1/2013

Customer review by willybmp2

2.0 stars 2/1/2013 by willybmp2
by willybmp2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The reason I wish there were a yes and no catagory is that it worked much better than I had anticipated by reading reviews before I made the purchase. I had my dog, a previously abused Westie, only a couple of months and especially wanted her to leave my "scaredy cat" cats alone, so everyone kept telling me I should get the Zoom Sonic Pet Trainer. I did and don't know if it was the right thing for my sweet girl. Some reviews said it didn't work at all..others that it was perfect..I want to say that it nearly scared my dog to death..she was frantically trying to get out under the gate, with only a few inches of clearance under it.......I don't know if she had, previous to my acquiring her, had a bad experience with the same thing...I don't know, only that I won't be using it on her again, only under the most dire circumstances..my cats will have to let her know the boundries..I won't!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willybmp2
Eureka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/4/2013

Customer review by Andi73

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Andi73
by Andi73
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I rate this product as excellent but the thing wouldn't let me rate it. took my dogs on a walk for the first time in our new neighborhood. They wanted to pull and run in every direction. I pushed the button and told them to heel. pushed the button and told them to sit. Happened like magic. (-: Also worked on the barking neighbor dog. While I was walking past someone's yard they had a big barking dog behind the fence that was trying to eat my dogs which are big also, my dog tried to back up and his collar came off. I was almost frantically pushing the button trying to get my other dog away from the fence and told the collarless one to lay down. It worked. The dog behind the fence quit trying to eat my dogs and my one dog laid down and the other one sat. I was just happy that I could control them. My dogs are 100 lbs and 60 lbs. So happy that I bought this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andi73
Albany, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprised!
9/13/2010

Customer review by Ellelovesherbaby

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by Ellelovesherbaby
by Ellelovesherbaby

I got this product because i didn't want to spend to much money that i was unsure about but I am pleasantly surprised that it works. I have a dog that barks and tries to eat people when you come to my home... lol one touch and he's stops dead in his tracks...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ellelovesherbaby
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product!
6/9/2012

Customer review by robgurl

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by robgurl
by robgurl

I bought this for my golden retriever, who jumps up on people and the first time we used it, he immediately stopped jumping! Now all I have to do is bring it out and show it to him and he won't jump up! This was well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robgurl
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your money
10/30/2010

Customer review by tarmei

1.0 stars 10/30/2010 by tarmei
by tarmei

This device claims to be audible to cats. If that's true, both of my cats must be totally deaf because they don't respond to it at all. And neither does my neighbor's dog.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tarmei
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/5/2012

Customer review by Gigi38

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Gigi38
by Gigi38

My son's two dogs came to visit for three weeks and one of them whined the first few days until I began using the Pet Zoom. At first touch (and it only takes a small push not an extended hold) he stopped whining. All the dogs (mine included) were outside barking at the yard man next door. I called them and to no avail. Punched the Pet Zoom and the dogs zoomed into the house. When my son returned to pick up the dogs he was amazed. I had actually purchased this one to give to him for use in the future.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gigi38
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not a very good product
2/24/2011

Customer review by Koalabare

2.0 stars 2/24/2011 by Koalabare
by Koalabare

Please don't waste your money on this training aid! Cons: The cover for the battery does not stay closed. The dog thinks it is a toy and tries to sniff it when in use Pros: Pretty blue case, if that means anything

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Koalabare
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not work for me
1/11/2011

Customer review by kele5353

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by kele5353
by kele5353

A friend of mine ranted and raved about this product. I thought there was hope of sanity around the corner only to find out that it has little to no affect on my dog.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kele5353
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
pet zoom
4/23/2011

Customer review by momcheeta

1.0 stars 4/23/2011 by momcheeta
by momcheeta

it would have been a good product but my dog got vey mean and attacked me when i tryed to use it

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momcheeta
cumberland md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews