Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 914 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

914 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

914 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
495
4 stars
244
3 stars
64
2 stars
48
1 stars
63
1-20 of 838 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 838 total reviews
1-20 of 838 reviews
Not for the beginner or someone wanting basics
9/27/2010

Customer review by BlueAngele

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by BlueAngele
by BlueAngele

After MUCH research on cameras, I decided on this one and I couldn't be happier, however, for the person wanting a basic point and shoot, or for a begininer who does NOT want to learn photography basics, I would say this is not for them. CONS lousy instruction manual, there is one on kodac.com you can download since camera is fairly new, not much on-line guides or resources available no way to 'add' flash, what you have is what you get. I knew all of this going in though, so I don't feel like I was cheated out of anything PROS great pictures, with great color, depth, etc the ability to adjust the camera to do what you want it to do SLR capabilities without the huge price tag burst mode, 9 pictures in 1-2 seconds for those action shots clear video many more. Again, I highly suggest that anyone considering this camera read all the reviews and find all the sample pictures they can before buying, if a basic throw in your pocket camera is what you are looking for, you will be dissapointed, however if you want to start a new hobby, or even for a professional who wants a smaller camera to take with them, this is definately for you!

Was this review helpful? (195) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueAngele
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Crystal Clear Pictures
10/10/2010

Customer review by AlanisChick

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by AlanisChick
by AlanisChick

I bought this camera because our older Kodak Easyshare 10 megapixel was on its last leg. I was kind of skeptical to go with another brand, since we were so used to the Kodak brand, and I wanted a higher-quality camera. I am VERY impressed! The picture quality of the photos is crystal clear. We stood from about 20-25 feet away and zoomed in on a greeting card on the counter and you can read every single word. The colors produced are very vibrant. The settings are easy to use, but for first time digital camera users (or even Kodak users), they can seem a bit overwhelming. We take action pictures, close-up pictures, portrait pictures, and scenery photos and they have all came out great! I am VERY satisfied with my purchase of this product!

Was this review helpful? (135) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanisChick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
3/13/2011

Customer review by nharbin

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by nharbin
by nharbin

I am very happy with this camera. I have 2 small children who are always on the move. Prior to this camera I had a Cannon Power Shot XS130 and I returned it within 30 days. The Cannon took such blurry pictures and took 15-20 seconds to reload the flash settings between shots. By then I missed many shots. The Kodak EasyShare Z981 allows me to take quick pictures one after the next. If I rush the picture and do not wait for full focus I sometimes get blurry pictures. But overall I have more pictures that I cherish than blurry ones. The indoor coloring tends to have more red tints than I prefer. I have found to use all natural lighting and the flash auto setting for more clear pictures. I have found this to be a great digital camera if you do not have the DSLR in your budget. I read many poor ratings about the batteries not charging. I have not had any issues with replacing the batteries due to not charging. The Cannon went through batteries very quickly and I could not make it through one event without changing the batteries. The Kodak EasyShare Z981 batteries last much longer, even when I have been playing with the camera in the beginning. I also found the software to be easy to use and load. I had no issues with the software. I highly recommend this camera if you are not able to afford a DSLR. It is easy to use and takes great pictures. I will also add that I spent months researching many cameras from all brands and this is by far the most superior camera.

Was this review helpful? (83) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nharbin
Alpharetta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kodak Easy Share981 Digital Camera
10/27/2010

Customer review by lucky51

4.0 stars 10/27/2010 by lucky51
by lucky51

NICE camera! I've only had it for about two weeks, but I like it. Takes beautiful pictures. The 26x optical is great, other cameras I've had don't zoom in like this, it always seemed like I could get close enough with them, only to find out when they were developed, I couldn't tell what I had taken a picture of, not so with this one. Pictures are very clear and the colors are beautiful.Anti-shake warning is nice to have. The camera is larger than most cheaper ones but the quality and clarity is worth it. This won't be one that I use for a couple years and have to update to a new one!

Was this review helpful? (82) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lucky51
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent camera,if you are semi Intelligent
11/29/2010

Customer review by spudler

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by spudler
by spudler

I seen so many reviews suggesting camera was no good I had to test it out. First thing this camera is not for the person who is not willing to learn a minor amount about its features and proper usage and expects it to be a magic camera and erase all the operator errors and create flawless pictures. There are certain things you have to do to get good pics as you get into the higher megapixels as the HD can also enhance all the flaws of the user. I would recommend a much lower quality camera if you want to get decent pictures without an knowledge or desire to gain knowledge about the camera and how to use it correctly. If you do just a minor bit of research in the features, functions and proper usage this camera is absolutely amazing and I cannot believe a camera with these features and quality is selling for this low of a price, Zoom is amazing 26X is huge most cameras are 3X 5X or maybe 10X. You don't buy a Ferrari and then complain about the high insurance, gas milage and the inability to tow a travel trailer, You should not complain about a camera you are not using correctly and are not willing to spend a minor amount of time to get the basics down and make it seem that the camera is to blame. A camera is only as good as the operator.

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spudler
Milwaukie, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great zoom
6/27/2010

Customer review by butternut1

4.0 stars 6/27/2010 by butternut1
by butternut1

Great value for the price, and it was substantially discounted at walmart.com. The 26X zoom lens is terrific. Just wish it came with the extended instructions that are only available on line. The camera is capable of doing a lot, but the small instruction book that comes with it is very minimal.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
butternut1
Monroe WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
best kodak i ever owned
12/23/2010

Customer review by moparsforever

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by moparsforever
by moparsforever

this kodak z981 is my 3rd easy share kodak my last kodak was a dx7590 i thought that was good but was getting a littler old so i looked at kodak first... this was only $199.00 at walmart but best buy and circut city wants $299.00 on sale for the same z981 model... the zoom is 26x and 14mp and does video in 720p all my friends are blown away with this z981...if your looking for a new camera check this out first then check out the rest you will like this one best

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moparsforever
rio rancho new mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
lens
6/18/2010

Customer review by fotonut

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by fotonut
by fotonut

Performance equal to or may even exceed other super zoom cameras, such as Canon SX 10, especially in low-light situations. This camera's lens quality is absolutely first class- possibly a shade better than Canon or Fiji.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fotonut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it 4 the money
4/16/2011

Customer review by mikefromjersey

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by mikefromjersey
by mikefromjersey

Had my older EZ share stolen out of my truck and bought this to replace it . This is a bit of a step up. 14 Mp vs 5 MP 26x zoom vs 5x zoom. and twice as expensive. So far works great. The only complaint I have is that it does not have a manual focus. Would just like to have that control. Close-ups are incredible and long distance zoom with the image stabilization is excellent. Check out the photos of the moon and flowers.(Both hand held) I think they're pretty good for an amature.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikefromjersey
Atlantic City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Camera
2/22/2011

Customer review by karlaj2482

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by karlaj2482
by karlaj2482

I purchased this camera hoping that it would meet or exceed the quality of my previous camera. It has done a stellar job so far and I don't think it will fall short of anything that I wish to put it through. It is a very simple to use camera with extra features for those that want to take their photography interest a bit further. A++

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karlaj2482
Concord, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
very nice camera
5/19/2011

Customer review by ladybugrx

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by ladybugrx
by ladybugrx

Image quality of the zoom is great, we ordered this to take on a vacation and we got some great shots of both the scenery and our family. We put lithium batteries in the camera before we left on our trip, and never had to replace them during a week of heavy shooting. We shot over 800 pictures while on vacation on the same set of batteries. Our previous camera would have had to have 2 or 3 changes. Quick photo capture as well, my children are actually looking at the camera in some shots instead of blurry figures running away. Camera is very light.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladybugrx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new Easyshare!!!!
6/29/2010

Customer review by nanabillie

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by nanabillie
by nanabillie

This is the 3rd Easyshare I have purchased!!! There are just no words needed except....it is simple and takes the best pictures!!!! I have had my camera for 2 weeks....love it!!!! I will be a Kodak Easyshare customer from now on!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanabillie
Mount Airy NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
My Best Camera
7/30/2010

Customer review by homerhoghead

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by homerhoghead
by homerhoghead

The Kodak Z981 is the best camera I have ever owned. Its 14 mp can produce a fine print, even after you crop the raw shot. I was amazed at the videos it will shoot. The NMH rechargeable batteries haven't proven their worth yet. I've been using lithium cells so far with no sign of discharging. It's a great "point & shoot" but has all the options to handle all situations. Controls are convenient. I doubt if I ever buy another camera.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homerhoghead
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best Kodak
10/18/2010

Customer review by gaulois

4.0 stars 10/18/2010 by gaulois
by gaulois

Probably the very best in its class. Love the vertical grip, love the built in panorama software, kudos to a real macro. However, I hate the 4 battery system, why not a flat lithium like the old 6490 ??? Also the charger is a step back since it gives no visual of optimum charge by turning the lights from red to green.( probably so you buy a different one...) Also I regret that the SD card is located inside the battery compartment, which forces you to remove the vertical grip every time you need to put the card in your PC.( I just don't like to connect the camera directly, just in case...)It is now my 3rd Kodak ( 6490 and Z712) and will be THE camera until I can afford a true SLR. Overall an excellent product with a price you can't beat. Hey ! Mr Kodak, now give us a hot shoe for a real flash, thank you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaulois
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I was hoping for
11/27/2010

Customer review by phins73065

3.0 stars 11/27/2010 by phins73065
by phins73065

Well, for starters, the picture quality is wonderful. The problems I'm having are: When using the zoom, it doesn't like to focus. Sometimes I have to try a few times before it will, and sometimes it just won't focus at all. Also, when holding the button halfway down for a long period of time to wait to catch the right moment, it keeps re-focusing. I tried changing the settings for one time focus, but still does it. It's not really user friendly either. Very difficult to learn all the ins and outs.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phins73065
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Camara I've ever had!
7/12/2011

Customer review by PbsandCamsMom

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by PbsandCamsMom
by PbsandCamsMom

This camara is wonderful especially for the price. We were about to go to Disney World. This was the first time for my 5 yr.old and 3 yr. old girls. And I wanted to catch ever moment I could. I have a small digital camera that takes good pictures but that is if I hit and hold the button at the right time. When I found this one and it was on sale for a great price, I thought I can try it, if it don't work return it. I ordered it and got it in less than a week. I have had it for about a month now and have been to Disney. We were only there for 3 days and I took over 900 pictures. And for the most part I was very pleased. I loved that it took pictures without a long pause. I could turn it on and it was ready in like 2 seconds. There is a pause between pictures but it is only like a second or less. The zoom on it is great! But like with any camera the further you zoom it picks up on movement but that is human error not the camera. I did not use the rechargable batteries in it because I am not a fan of recharables. I just used the batteries that are for electronics. I usually get the 8X but could only find the 4X before my trip and they have lasted. I even took video while I was there and that turned out great as well. I used the Auto setting the majority of the time but played around with the flash and other settings to see what took better pics. I like the wheel on top for settings better than having to go to the menu. At one time I am taking pics of the girls and decided to take video, turned the wheel and I was ready. I had to play around with the flash a lot due to looking through glass at animals and displays but the button is right on top and was easy to change. I used the alternate shutter button on the side a couple times. I thought it was a neat thing to have but need to remember it is there. I thought the camera was overall easy to navigate and use. I have got some great pictures from our trip and other family events since. It is by far the best camara I have ever had!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PbsandCamsMom
Hartselle, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
6/26/2010

Customer review by Truck22c1

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by Truck22c1
by Truck22c1

I love my camera. I have been picture crazy from the time I opened the box.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Truck22c1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
12/20/2010

Customer review by Hutchi

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Hutchi
by Hutchi

The camera is a little heavy and wish it came with a wrist strap for it. I did order one but the strap was too wide. The pictures come out great. I do have to get use to this camera. I was so use to the Z1012 IS. For those of you that are wanting an extended User guide you can get one and print it out. Just make sure you have plenty of paper and ink before you start as it is 79 pages. I print them out because I find it easier to look up things than it is on the computer in a pdf format. All in all. I haven had it all that long. But I do like it. I think it takes best scenery and outdoors pictures so far. Walmart also delivered it very fast. Sooner than what I was expecting. The compartment that holds the batteries also holds the SD card. Not liking that too much. It is hard to close. here is the link for the User Guide for the Z981. I got it from the Kodak.com: http://resources.kodak.com/support/pdf/en/manuals/urg01118/Z981_xUG_GLB_en.pdf

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hutchi
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
takes great pictures
7/28/2010

Customer review by sammesgirl

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by sammesgirl
by sammesgirl

so far, it's a great camera...I've been getting some super pictures with this camera...the close-ups are amazing..and the action shots are super...I've only had it for 2 weeks and still have not mastered all the functions..It would be so much easier if I had a manual...the manual that comes with the camera only has basic info..so you have to keep referring to the on-line manual or you can print it...there must be 90 pages!!! there goes my entire ink cartridge :(

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammesgirl
muncy, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excelent pictures
8/31/2010

Customer review by Scoundrel

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by Scoundrel
by Scoundrel

It takes very good pictures in all lighting with or without flash. Very nice camera. One sample picture was from about 60 ft. in a church, the other was taken from about 5 ft.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scoundrel
Ft. Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 838 total reviews
1-20 of 838 reviews