Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 53 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 45 reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Poor quality
11/15/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pc tech for 20 years, used to solving device problems, and this device sure has them. Poor quality scans on color photos as well as black and white photos, difficulty getting it to pull photos through straight, does NOT scan all negatives. After several hours of wasted time, I returned mine to the store as junk. It does scan fast, and was a nice idea to be portable and scan images to an included memory card, but that was the only good thing I could say about it. VERY dis-satisfied with it's quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Scanned Hundreds of photos and negatives.
11/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works good enough for me as I didn't want to spend hundreds more on a high end scanner. Old photos scan fast and easy. My old flat bed scanner takes a long time placing photos on the glass then waiting for the thing to scan. Scans 35mm film with an adapter inserted in the front. Will also do 35mm slides only if you remove them from the sleeve holding the film which is OK with me because I won't be dragging out the old projector ever again anyway.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too good to be true
7/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I first read about this scanner in a magazine, I thought this is too good to be true. When I found it online at walmart.com and saw the price I was still in doubt that it would do what it said. I received it a very short time after I ordered it and began scanning my parents old wedding photos. It was true!! Every good thing I read was right. It scans in a matter of seconds...scans both photos and negatives...and saves it to a memory card (that's included with the scanner). I was able to transfer all of my parents wedding photos to my computer where I could then adjust the color and imaging to create what looked like brand new photos!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
just ok
7/5/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this primarily to convert slides to viewable photos for my mom. Unfortunately, for this product to work perfectly the slides need to have the "filmstrip" look on the edges, which of course you can't know until you start removing the cardboard from the slide itself, which you need to do anyway for the conversion to work. The slides that don't have the holes up and down the edges will work if you have the perserverence to continually feed them in AND have a converting photography program. You need this program to convert the negative look that some of them are converted to, to a viewable picture. In the end, out of 90+ slides, there were approx. 15 that either couldn't be converted or were converted into black and white instead of color. Not a bad % but it took FOREVER to get them just right.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A product that doesn't do as advertised.
7/1/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In the product description, it is broadly proclained that it converts slides. So I ordered it to convert my inventory of slides. It does not work with slides. It only works with FILM. If you want to process a slide, you first have to remove the carrier or frame of the slide, (ruining the slide in the proces) then taking the piece of film extracted and running it through the scanner. This is not mentioned in the product description. This thing des NOT handle slides. Only photos and film.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
helpful product
7/3/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product works well with photos and negitives but you have to take the slides out of the frames which takes time and they are hard to put back in the frame. I have some old family pictures which I've already done but my Dad liked to take slides which I have a couple hundred of.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!
4/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This does exactly what it says it will! I have over 3000 photos that I want to digitize, and this saves me a lot of money! I have both negatives and photos of many of them, so tried both to see which came out best. Negatives were fast (about 8 minutes for a 24-roll) but sometimes I had to rotate, and my old negatives (1985) often skipped the first one, which slowed it down considerably. Photos did well but I had to check more often for dust on the photo or sleeve provided, so it ended up about the same. It depends more on quality of your photo and how much correction was done at developing. I didn't have any problem with lines as long as I cleaned and calibrated every 75 photos as recommended, which only takes a few minutes. I highly recommend scanning to your computer so you can view quickly to see if there are any problems. I have done nearly 600 and am very pleased. Only 2500 more to go!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pandigital Negative Scanner
5/8/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall, this thing is cool. Very small, and simple to use. I like that you don't have to connect it to the computer to use it, since it comes with a MicroSD card. But you can if you want to. It works great. My only problem with it is that I have some older negatives, and they are too big to fit into the negative guide that comes with it. The guide is basically for 35mm film strips. I was really hoping to scan those. It scans slides great, but you do have to tear them open to get the negative out. So for these two reasons, it gets a 4 star rating. For actual usage and how well it works, it gets a 5 star. Plus, sometimes 'photo shops' won't print out every photo on a negative strip because the machine doesn't deem the photo printable. This scans every one, so now you can try to fix your prints from negatives if you have a photo program.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!
2/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been wanting to digitalize my old negatives and photos for a long time but I thought scanners were out of my price range. I found this scanner and was happy with the price. The reviews were mixed but I decided to try it anyway. It works great! For those who read the reviews about white lines appearing in the digital files and are concerned about it: the instructions VERY CLEARLY state that this will happen if the scanner is used too much without being cleaned. If you clean it every 50 to 100 scans, it works just fine! Don't return the product...read the instructions! It comes with everything you need to clean and calibrate. I like that it can scan directly to a memory card (which was not very clear in the listing but IS included in the package) so you don't have to worry about computer and software compatibility. It also comes with a USB cable so you can bypass the memory card function and scan directly to your computer if you wish. The software need for this is included on the memory card in the package. The versatility is great. I read a review that said it does not work for black and white film. I tried my black and white 35mm negatives and they made beautiful scans. I can see how removing the casing around a slide would be annoying but I have no slides so that is not an issue for me. I have literally scanned many hundreds of pictures and it is working great! It is light, compact and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4+6 Taker
7/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is very easy to work and carries well to reunions and places where you might find old photos. Have enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT ENOUGH INFO IN ADD
6/29/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
HAD I KNOWN I WOULD HAVE HAD TO TAKE MY SLIDES APPART TO SCAN THEM, I COULD HAVE SAVED A LOT OF TIME ORDERING AND RETURNING THIS PRODUCT .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/16/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
after reading all the good reviews i purchased this scanner. i had to scan each picture 3 different times to hope that one of them would be good enough to use. there were white lines that would appear on each of my scans in different spots each time. very frustrating, and the ones that did work the quality was awful. purchased a new scanner printer does not have the convience but quality is a lot better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't do what I hoped
7/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is great for doing photos, slides and negative strips. I wanted to do larger negatives that were around in the 40's. It will not work for that and I think I will be returning it. It works so well for 4x6 or smaller photos and small negatives that I am tempted to keep it. It's so fast too. You could do a whole box of pictures in an afternoon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent scanner!!!
8/11/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is wonderful. I scanned about 50 pictures in less than 10 minutes. It is easy to set up and easy to use. I had the scanner out of the box and scanning pictures in no time. There is nothing to it. I was also impressed with the scan quality. I went with this scanner because it could do negatives also, but I have not scanned any yet. It was worth it just for the pictures. I am so impressed that I will probably go back and order the scanner that can do 8 1/2 x 11 size sheets. This will be perfect to take to family dinners to scan other peoples photos. I love that it scans right to the supplied SD card. Excellent scanner!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Consumer beware - does not have slide capability
8/28/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In spite of the description on the website, this scanner/converter does not do slides. It was a waste of my time to order and then return. I bought to do photos and slides and I was most surprised when I received it. It does not process slides.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product has flaws
7/2/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product has flaws that require extensive material preparation before scanning, especially positive slides which have to be removed from the pasteboard jacket in order to scan. Similar products do not require the removal and will scan with the jacket intact. Otherwise the product performs well and a positive attribute is the ability to scan 4x6 photographs. The product could be improved significantly if the scanner was designed to scan positive slides withoput the necessity of removing the pasteboard jacket from the film. So far I have used the product satisfactorily with good results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Old pics
7/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The picture scanner was a snap to set up, just plug in and turn on and after glancing over the instructions run a picture thru just like you were laminating something. It goes thru quite quickly and after reviewing the SD card that it writes to you find that you have a perfect duplicate of an old picture or new whichever you scanned with superb quality ready to upload to any site and have it printed or just save on the SD card or if you run it to a computer you can burn the pictures to a disk to be saved. It is a marvelous piece ot technology.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy and Great Quality
11/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product was so easy to use and I scanned about 200 photos so easily while I was watching tv. The negative scanner works great too, but I learned that you can't pull the negative strip through too quickly or it won't scan properly. Just a learning curve thing for me to remember for next time. The scanner works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great scanner! Fast!
6/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had other photo scanners but the software was slow and clunky. This thing will zip thru a photo and be availe to email in less than 10 seconds for most photos that will fit into it. I love it! Helping me archive all my mom's old family photos to distribute to my siblings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
solid product
6/30/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We found this to be solid product. It was able to copy pictures which I was going for. However, if some negatives were too light or dark it had a diffcult and would only copy slides out of cardboard. But if your goal is to make sure to keep old treasured photos I recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-