Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Fullfilled my need
10/14/2010

Customer review by Paintrider

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by Paintrider
by Paintrider

I did not expect to be acquiring a true surround sound system when I bought this. I just wanted to upgrade the sound that the TV speakers provided. I am extremely satisfied with the result. I now have room filling sound, plenty of base, and the ability to tweak with the equalizer. Also, the sound field options allow me to optimize the sound for the type of programming - movie, sports, drama, etc. This purchase was well worth the investment and actually exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paintrider
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good.
7/2/2010

Customer review by S0n0fa

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by S0n0fa
by S0n0fa

I bought this thinking it had a wireless subwoofer. It doesn't. Besides that, it's a great product and worth the buy. 3 hdmi inputs, nice strong sound. It's good for a small room that doesn't need much power. I would recommend it to anybody. One thing is that it doesn't come with hdmi cables, it comes seperate. I got mine on amazon for $2.30 each. Very strong cables. Anyway it's working great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
S0n0fa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Sound System for the price
3/10/2011

Customer review by MrStocks

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by MrStocks
by MrStocks

i have had this item for a few weeks now, i must say im impressed..i live in a townhome and i mean this thing is loud...i read reviews on cnet, did my research for a few weeks, its great, i have my apple tv, roku xds,xbox 360, lg blu ray, and the lg le8500 led tv, blu rays, video games, etc sounds great!! the rumble and bass i can feel it, no its not surround sound 7.1 or true 5.1 but you get ALOT for the value and the price, of course its wayyyyy better than the factory built tv speakers, and it has extra hdmi inputs in the back that allow you to hook up to your tv and the sub which gives you more option, overall im satisfied with it, the sound bar is great, the sub and really good, its loud, and there's even a'night mode' at night if your up like me while my girlfriend is asleep upstairs, i love how video games sound true and in depth, "madden 2011' sound amazing i can here everything, i would recommned this to anyone who doesnt want the cords all over the house, or dont want to speak tons of money on a elite system good job sony this one gets the job done

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrStocks
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/15/2010

Customer review by BuyItRateIt

4.0 stars 9/15/2010 by BuyItRateIt
by BuyItRateIt

not bad at all...I have this in my bed room in my one room apt and it is more than sufficient. it does a real nice job of giving you some full, clean, crisp sound rather than the TV speakers. do not expect surround sound quality, if thats what you want then thats what you need to get. base is good enough to enhance but will not shake the windows. over all very pleased for what i was needing and expecting

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuyItRateIt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Soundbar
12/27/2010

Customer review by ValueShopper2013

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by ValueShopper2013
by ValueShopper2013

Does everything I expected it to do. The HDMI switcher is great the sound is better then I hoped and I love the way the whole set up looks...very sleek and minimal appearance (yet great sound). Much better looking then the samsung soundbar that two of my friends have and it sounds just as good or better and has a lot better remote and you can see the display from your seat (if you can believe it you can't see it on the samsung, you have to stand up and look at the top to see what settings are on). Very happy with my choice!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueShopper2013
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Sound Bar HCT150
12/31/2010

Customer review by KansanLookingForDeals

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by KansanLookingForDeals
by KansanLookingForDeals

This was a Christmas present for my husband and let me tell you he loves it when he watches sports, especially football. If you own a flat screen TV and you feel you have to keep turning up the sound, then this is the item you want. It's a great deal in price and very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansanLookingForDeals
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome
11/3/2010

Customer review by cubston

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by cubston
by cubston

I know this isn't true surround but, mine sounds really awesome. The fact that I don't have anything but a total of 3 hdmi cables & the cable for the speaker (comes with it) is so nice. The first film we watched was Alice in Wonderland, incredible sound, my friend almost flew off the sofa, we kept having to turn it down. Very pleased, I think the HDMI cables make a huge difference, I reccomend them highly. I know no one wants to pay a lot for cables, got mine @ Magnolia 100 each. check it out & enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cubston
RENO, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Sound, Not Surround
5/3/2011

Customer review by SFtaxman

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by SFtaxman
by SFtaxman

I buy all Sony equipment, and I would recommend that to everyone. My room is not designed well for surround speakers and I thought this would be a good solution. Although the speakers are nice and way better than the TV, the surround aspect is non-existent. Sony support gets an A+ for helping me set this up. Sony gets an A+ for the way the Sony devices all just work with each other and everything just works with my TVs remote. No programming required!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFtaxman
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
meets our needs perfectly
11/21/2011

Customer review by drgnstrm

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by drgnstrm
by drgnstrm

we are using it on a 67" samsung, works perfectly with itno issues in hooking it up had it set up in minutes and it has a great sound, way better then our tv speakers. It projects the sound wonderfully. Not as great as surround sound but we find that there are times when we just dont need the surround sound. This doubled the sound of our TV and made it crisp and clear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drgnstrm
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product
10/22/2011

Customer review by shadowguarddog

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by shadowguarddog
by shadowguarddog

I was looking to down-size from a 5.1 surround sound to something like this, mainly to do away with all the wiring, speaker stands, and rear surround speakers. This product somewhat satisfies that need. It"s taking some time to adapt but it's not bad. It even still sounds pretty good for listening to music as well, which was a major concern for me. I still kept part of my orignal surround sound system (the front speakers and sub-woofer) connected for when I really want to crank it up. So...if your looking to up-grade your basic TV sound system, this certainly will do that and then some! Replacing a full surround system, well you'll have to try it for yourself to decide.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shadowguarddog
waterboro,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound Bar
11/4/2011

Customer review by 1AVenthusiast

4.0 stars 11/4/2011 by 1AVenthusiast
by 1AVenthusiast

If you don't want or need a big elaborate multi-speaker surround sound, this simple yet sophisticated unit is the way to go. Especially if you are integrating it with other SONY products. Note, that the sub-woofer is not wireless, it is tethered to both the HDTV with a HDMI cable and the sound bar with a proprietary connectorized length of wire. So it will have to set along side your entertainment system. Other than that it a nice enhancement to the exiting TV speakers. And Walmart's go it for about the best price around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1AVenthusiast
Huntsville, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Almost five star
11/22/2011

Customer review by gsmo51slc

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by gsmo51slc
by gsmo51slc

Just needed at least the option of purchasing a longer speaker cable to soundbar from Sony. The cable was long enough for my install. I tried the Polk SDA soundbar, also purchased on Walmart.com. The Polk's digital amp clipped too soon and would not play as loud as the Sony. Sony also designed its soundbar so that even at maximum volume the digital amp does not clip. It plays louder and therefore can be used in a larger room than the Polk. My Philips LCD only had a coax digital output, so I purchased a coax to optical converter on line for around $16 from Amazon so I could still take advantage of the CEC HDMI automatic control and switching capability. So, when I turn on the TV the Sony system powers up and automatically switches to what ever input you select on the TV. The The TV remote controls the volume and other features depending on the input you select on your TV. CEC HDMI goes by other names on on different brand name TVs (Bravia sync, Anynet, etc.) 3 HDMI, 3 optical and one coaxial digital inputs round this system off. If you can use the CEC HDMI function, you do not need line of sight to the subwoofer to control the system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gsmo51slc
SLC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As Expected
8/10/2010

Customer review by techsavytwo

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by techsavytwo
by techsavytwo

Sound quality is as expected. This not surround sound but for the price a good buy. As expected Sony's instructions are confusing but figured it out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techsavytwo
Southgate, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
2/3/2012

Customer review by CMBuck75

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by CMBuck75
by CMBuck75

This product is exactly what you would expect for a sound bar and woofer priced at this level. It produces excellent sound but crackles a bit if it is turned up too loud. For my little living room, it is more than adequate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMBuck75
Navasota, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
1/22/2011

Customer review by Whitehse

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Whitehse
by Whitehse

I just received my 32" sound bar 2 hours ago! I think it great for he size of my living room. Great sound, crisp and clear. So easy to hook up. I buy only Sony and have never ever been disappointed!!!!!!!!!!

Whitehse
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent option for surround sound
2/13/2011

Customer review by westcoastmike83

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by westcoastmike83
by westcoastmike83

have this hooked up to my 40 inch bravia led/lcd & this little system gives you the theater sound you want!

westcoastmike83
murrieta, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Crisp and Full Sound
12/3/2010

Customer review by GMWSEA

5.0 stars 12/3/2010 by GMWSEA
by GMWSEA

I actually went out to buy a TV and ended up buying this system as well on an impulse without doing any research. I listened to other sound bar systems (some cheaper, some more expensive) in the store and this really sounded the best. I placed it in 30x20 room and it sounds great with my TV and my Ipod.

GMWSEA
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Wonder System
8/17/2010

Customer review by Suze

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Suze
by Suze

We like this system so much that we went back and bought a second one. We've gotten excellent sound quality in a 12x25 ft room and in a 25x25 ft room that opens onto a 15x25 kitchen. The elegant design means the system physically "disappears", unlike bulky multi-speaker systems.

Suze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding option to weak internal tv speakers
2/15/2011

Customer review by mfjacks

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by mfjacks
by mfjacks

After I purchased a Sony 3D tv I realized very quickly that it was very lacking in speaker audio quality. I search for options that I could use that did not require having to run wires around my room to install a traditional surround sound system. I found that this did exactly what I wanted at a great price. It also got very good reviews at every site I found reviews on. First off, if you are purchsing this system expecting perfect surround sound then you need to look further. It is a very good replacement for the internal speakers of your LCD tv speakers but fails to project a complete surround sound field. The sub produces very good bass quality for it's small size. I was most impressed with the fact that the product works great with the Bravia sync feature of Sony's other products that I own (tv, PS3, and 3D Blueray player). It did not want to work correctly when I connected a HD cable box to the system. The system would not switch the output correctly and the sound did not sync with my Blueray player no matter what I selected in setup. I connected the cable box directly to another HDMI input on the tv and ran a fiber optic cable from the tv to the optical input on the system and found that it still performed as I was expecting in that it switched the system on when I turned on the tv and the sound was output through the sound system. Also, when I turned on my PS3 or Blueray player it would automatically switch the system to the correct input and the tv would switch to the correct input for the system and would switch inputs back when I turned them off. I can't vouch wether or not this works with any other device but Sony. The 3D switching works great. I have used it both with my 3D player and with my PS3 3D games without any problems. I would highly recommend this system to anyone looking for a good alternative to typical surround sound.

mfjacks
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is perfect for my needs.
8/3/2010

Customer review by Thom

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Thom
by Thom

This is perfect for my needs. I use it for listening to music CD’s and watching TV and DVD’s. While not a full surround-sound experience, it’s darn good. My base line is the opening scene from Saving Private Ryan; it delivers room filling sound with good dimension. It does quite well with music CD’s too. If you are space constrained this is a great system. Set-up was easy because all you do is hook-up some HDMI cables and plug it into the nearest electrical outlet. Programming my Logitech Harmony remote to recognize this system was a snap too.

Thom
Yorktown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews