Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Great Sound System for the price
3/10/2011

Customer review by MrStocks

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by MrStocks
by MrStocks

i have had this item for a few weeks now, i must say im impressed..i live in a townhome and i mean this thing is loud...i read reviews on cnet, did my research for a few weeks, its great, i have my apple tv, roku xds,xbox 360, lg blu ray, and the lg le8500 led tv, blu rays, video games, etc sounds great!! the rumble and bass i can feel it, no its not surround sound 7.1 or true 5.1 but you get ALOT for the value and the price, of course its wayyyyy better than the factory built tv speakers, and it has extra hdmi inputs in the back that allow you to hook up to your tv and the sub which gives you more option, overall im satisfied with it, the sound bar is great, the sub and really good, its loud, and there's even a'night mode' at night if your up like me while my girlfriend is asleep upstairs, i love how video games sound true and in depth, "madden 2011' sound amazing i can here everything, i would recommned this to anyone who doesnt want the cords all over the house, or dont want to speak tons of money on a elite system good job sony this one gets the job done

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrStocks
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fullfilled my need
10/14/2010

Customer review by Paintrider

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by Paintrider
by Paintrider

I did not expect to be acquiring a true surround sound system when I bought this. I just wanted to upgrade the sound that the TV speakers provided. I am extremely satisfied with the result. I now have room filling sound, plenty of base, and the ability to tweak with the equalizer. Also, the sound field options allow me to optimize the sound for the type of programming - movie, sports, drama, etc. This purchase was well worth the investment and actually exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paintrider
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good.
7/2/2010

Customer review by S0n0fa

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by S0n0fa
by S0n0fa

I bought this thinking it had a wireless subwoofer. It doesn't. Besides that, it's a great product and worth the buy. 3 hdmi inputs, nice strong sound. It's good for a small room that doesn't need much power. I would recommend it to anybody. One thing is that it doesn't come with hdmi cables, it comes seperate. I got mine on amazon for $2.30 each. Very strong cables. Anyway it's working great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
S0n0fa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/15/2010

Customer review by BuyItRateIt

4.0 stars 9/15/2010 by BuyItRateIt
by BuyItRateIt

not bad at all...I have this in my bed room in my one room apt and it is more than sufficient. it does a real nice job of giving you some full, clean, crisp sound rather than the TV speakers. do not expect surround sound quality, if thats what you want then thats what you need to get. base is good enough to enhance but will not shake the windows. over all very pleased for what i was needing and expecting

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuyItRateIt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost five star
11/22/2011

Customer review by gsmo51slc

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by gsmo51slc
by gsmo51slc

Just needed at least the option of purchasing a longer speaker cable to soundbar from Sony. The cable was long enough for my install. I tried the Polk SDA soundbar, also purchased on Walmart.com. The Polk's digital amp clipped too soon and would not play as loud as the Sony. Sony also designed its soundbar so that even at maximum volume the digital amp does not clip. It plays louder and therefore can be used in a larger room than the Polk. My Philips LCD only had a coax digital output, so I purchased a coax to optical converter on line for around $16 from Amazon so I could still take advantage of the CEC HDMI automatic control and switching capability. So, when I turn on the TV the Sony system powers up and automatically switches to what ever input you select on the TV. The The TV remote controls the volume and other features depending on the input you select on your TV. CEC HDMI goes by other names on on different brand name TVs (Bravia sync, Anynet, etc.) 3 HDMI, 3 optical and one coaxial digital inputs round this system off. If you can use the CEC HDMI function, you do not need line of sight to the subwoofer to control the system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gsmo51slc
SLC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fair
10/17/2010

Customer review by dbbm

3.0 stars 10/17/2010 by dbbm
by dbbm

The size and look of this sound bar is superb. The bar is not obtrusive. You can view the screen entirety of the tv without noticing the sound bar. It can be hooked up with multiple devices, e.g. dvd, ipod, etc. It is loud, especially the bass sound. So if you are like the cranking up the volume type of tv watcher, you can do so with gusto. However, the sound of the equalizer is boring. The different settings all have the same sound. It is difficult to discern one from the others. For example: Standard is no different than that of the Movie equalizer no matter how you change the bass and treble settings and the center and subwoofer levels. Only the 2-CH setting for playing music device sounds different. Like what other reviewers have mentioned, it is no 5.1. Do not expect sounds being thrown to the side walls all the time even when watching with the Movie setting. Though the sound is of course better than the tv speakers. It is perfect for a small bedroom if you want to hear that oomph coming from the subwoofer. The price went down after I purchased mine so I need to complain to my credit card company.

dbbm
Clifton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Soundbar
12/27/2010

Customer review by ValueShopper2013

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by ValueShopper2013
by ValueShopper2013

Does everything I expected it to do. The HDMI switcher is great the sound is better then I hoped and I love the way the whole set up looks...very sleek and minimal appearance (yet great sound). Much better looking then the samsung soundbar that two of my friends have and it sounds just as good or better and has a lot better remote and you can see the display from your seat (if you can believe it you can't see it on the samsung, you have to stand up and look at the top to see what settings are on). Very happy with my choice!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ValueShopper2013
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Sound, Not Surround
5/3/2011

Customer review by SFtaxman

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by SFtaxman
by SFtaxman

I buy all Sony equipment, and I would recommend that to everyone. My room is not designed well for surround speakers and I thought this would be a good solution. Although the speakers are nice and way better than the TV, the surround aspect is non-existent. Sony support gets an A+ for helping me set this up. Sony gets an A+ for the way the Sony devices all just work with each other and everything just works with my TVs remote. No programming required!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFtaxman
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Sound Bar HCT150
12/31/2010

Customer review by KansanLookingForDeals

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by KansanLookingForDeals
by KansanLookingForDeals

This was a Christmas present for my husband and let me tell you he loves it when he watches sports, especially football. If you own a flat screen TV and you feel you have to keep turning up the sound, then this is the item you want. It's a great deal in price and very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KansanLookingForDeals
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product
10/22/2011

Customer review by shadowguarddog

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by shadowguarddog
by shadowguarddog

I was looking to down-size from a 5.1 surround sound to something like this, mainly to do away with all the wiring, speaker stands, and rear surround speakers. This product somewhat satisfies that need. It"s taking some time to adapt but it's not bad. It even still sounds pretty good for listening to music as well, which was a major concern for me. I still kept part of my orignal surround sound system (the front speakers and sub-woofer) connected for when I really want to crank it up. So...if your looking to up-grade your basic TV sound system, this certainly will do that and then some! Replacing a full surround system, well you'll have to try it for yourself to decide.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadowguarddog
waterboro,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
11/3/2010

Customer review by cubston

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by cubston
by cubston

I know this isn't true surround but, mine sounds really awesome. The fact that I don't have anything but a total of 3 hdmi cables & the cable for the speaker (comes with it) is so nice. The first film we watched was Alice in Wonderland, incredible sound, my friend almost flew off the sofa, we kept having to turn it down. Very pleased, I think the HDMI cables make a huge difference, I reccomend them highly. I know no one wants to pay a lot for cables, got mine @ Magnolia 100 each. check it out & enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cubston
RENO, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not very happy
1/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Unit would not synch with Bravia TV without a great deal of frustration and effort, as it is not designed to work with any cable boxes. As Comcast forces me to use a box, this caused a lot of trouble. Managed to get around that and found that using the fibre optic cable produced an echo that would not go away regardless of synch settings. Did not matter as the unit would not produce enough volume to hear. Finally resorted to using an analog hook up to my Bravia so O could at least her something but the volume is so minimal I cannot tell if the unit is on or off. Have volume set to MAX but cannot hardly hear anything. Unit has no volume at all regardless of analog or fibre optic inputs. Do not purchase; you will be disappointed. I at least expected to hear a difference of sorts but I hear nothing at all.

An anonymous customer
Houston, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sound Bar
11/4/2011

Customer review by 1AVenthusiast

4.0 stars 11/4/2011 by 1AVenthusiast
by 1AVenthusiast

If you don't want or need a big elaborate multi-speaker surround sound, this simple yet sophisticated unit is the way to go. Especially if you are integrating it with other SONY products. Note, that the sub-woofer is not wireless, it is tethered to both the HDTV with a HDMI cable and the sound bar with a proprietary connectorized length of wire. So it will have to set along side your entertainment system. Other than that it a nice enhancement to the exiting TV speakers. And Walmart's go it for about the best price around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1AVenthusiast
Huntsville, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
meets our needs perfectly
11/21/2011

Customer review by drgnstrm

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by drgnstrm
by drgnstrm

we are using it on a 67" samsung, works perfectly with itno issues in hooking it up had it set up in minutes and it has a great sound, way better then our tv speakers. It projects the sound wonderfully. Not as great as surround sound but we find that there are times when we just dont need the surround sound. This doubled the sound of our TV and made it crisp and clear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drgnstrm
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Misleading!!!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Lance20wm

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Lance20wm
by Lance20wm

item description clearly says "delivers immersive audio without running wires across the room" giving the impresion that this is a wireless system--don't be fooled. Navigating through Sony's website when you select Electronics>TV & Home Ent.>Home Theater Systems it brings you to a page with 2 featured items one blu-ray player? or Sound Bars#with wireless subwoofer# if you select shop now under sound bars it brings you to this system which clearly misleads you to believe that this system is wireless. Far From-you get a nice clunky custom cable which will not reach above a mantle. I guess if you have a tv on a stand this might be a tacky option for you but not for wall instilation. I asked for this item for Christmas and could not believe my spouse could be fooled into this so decided to look for myself. I can see how clear and obviously misleading this is. Not only should I not have purchased a $3k 3D tv which has the most horrible sound ever and have no option but to get external speakers but now I have deal with another let down by Sony... I have been an avid Sony fan my entire life, phones, laptops,dvd players, surround, desktop pc, Sony CCard however I have been increacingly unsatifsied with Sony and the quality they used to be know for over past several years. Thanks for ruining Christmas Sony...

Lance20wm
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than Bose
6/28/2010

Customer review by Mikematel

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Mikematel
by Mikematel

I bought the Sony HT-CT150 as a replacement for the speakers on my TV. The sound improvement was outstanding. I was told that Bose blows away the competition, so I decided to run a head to head comparison between the Sony system and the Bose CineMate II speaker system. The Bose system sounded great in the store, but couldn't compare to the Sony system in my home. I spent quite a lot of time trying to optimize speaker placement and subwoofer level on the Bose system, but I couldn't get it to sound as good as the Sony system. Sorry Bose, but Sony wins this one!

Mikematel
Hewitt, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is perfect for my needs.
8/3/2010

Customer review by Thom

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Thom
by Thom

This is perfect for my needs. I use it for listening to music CD’s and watching TV and DVD’s. While not a full surround-sound experience, it’s darn good. My base line is the opening scene from Saving Private Ryan; it delivers room filling sound with good dimension. It does quite well with music CD’s too. If you are space constrained this is a great system. Set-up was easy because all you do is hook-up some HDMI cables and plug it into the nearest electrical outlet. Programming my Logitech Harmony remote to recognize this system was a snap too.

Thom
Yorktown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bravia Sync = Magic
1/18/2012

Customer review by FishHead

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by FishHead
by FishHead

I bought this sound bar after watching a video recommendation on CNET and I am glad that I did. The best part of this thing is the HDMI switch. Run all of your HDMI components to the subwoofer, one HDMI cable to the TV and watch the magic. I have a new 55" Sony LED-LCD and it works flawlessly with it. The Bravia Sync works perfectly with my Sony Blu-Ray play and Direct-TV HD DVR box. The satellite controller will change the volume so I pretty much use one remote. I only need to get the soundbar remote to change the pre-set sound "types".

FishHead
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Speakers, Terrible Design
8/25/2010

Customer review by kerks28

3.0 stars 8/25/2010 by kerks28
by kerks28

If you are looking for a soundbar, this is a great one with very good sound and it looks good. But, you have to point the remote at the very front of the Sub (angles barely work). Since this is on the floor and often not next to the TV or in a cabinet, this won't work for most people. Spend a little less and get the CT100 (previous model) and you won't be disappointed. I now have both (selling this one) and the sound is very comparable and you get to point the remote at the sound bar instead of the sub.

kerks28
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not with Comcast
10/28/2010

Customer review by BigUncleJohn

2.0 stars 10/28/2010 by BigUncleJohn
by BigUncleJohn

This system delivers good quality sound, but softly. It is definitely for small rooms where you sit on top of the TV and its speaker. While it has a wide range of distinctive audio styles, and provides good audio quality, none of them are very loud. An improvement over the TV speakers but, meh, not so much. If you are worried about keeping the neighbors awake, this is the system for you. As for connecting it to the components you have, hope you like having lots of remotes unless of course you have a Sony Bravia system. But, not all Sony Bravia systems -- some are more equal than others. The Comcast remote is clever enough to control the TV and the cable box. Adding the sound bar should have been a snap, but no. There is no AUX code for the Comcast remote. Older Sony Bravia TV's do not support "Bravia Sync", and the TV cannot control the HT150 audio. Unless you have the correct Sony Bravia, this will not become apparent until you are trying to figure out how to make the sound work. If you want to adopt the Sony remote, sorry, but no codes available for the Motorola/Comcast set-top box. The manual is obtuse, written in a higher form of Japanglish I suppose, grammatically correct but not very clear. No support for the system on Sony Website other than pdf files of the manual. Evidently no one at Sony has bothered to connect this to a Comcast or Direct TV system since it is silent on the instructions and not important enough to be in the "sony configurator". While it works, it is less than I wanted and less than I expected.

BigUncleJohn
Windy City.
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews