Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
46
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 145 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews
Dont wast $400 in a bike store ...Get a Avalon 26"
6/22/2011

Customer review by dewme

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by dewme
by dewme

This bike is great!!! great price!! First lets get it straight.. no I'm not going to go downhill dirt trails flying over jumps at 40 + mph with this bike. YES i understand (you get what you pay for) and this bike is exactly what i wanted comfort,smooth ride,low price. I added a bell computer, and most of all a cloud 9 seat WITH spring post. 7 gears is perfect for street-canal paths-mild dirt trails. YES the chain fell off once,yes the handlebars could be a little wider,yes the peddles are cheap, even with my upgrades or if i have to get new rims/gears i'm still way below your bike store prices. I'm also way more comfortable on this bike then my 1980's 1990's full steel no suspension Huffy bikes. nuf said ... spend the $100 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dewme
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wow! Very nice Cruiser!
8/18/2010

Customer review by maybetomorrow

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by maybetomorrow
by maybetomorrow

I bought a Huffy Black Widow online. It's a full suspension Mountain Bike, and very very nice. It had all the features I was looking for except one.....comfort. It didn't fit me, and was very uncomfortable. I have another Mountain Bike that isn't full suspension, and just decided to keep it and exchange the Black Widow for this Avalon. I went to 7 different Wal-Mart stores until I found one with a single Avalon in stock. I returned the Huffy, and left with the Avalon. I rode it in the parking lot, and found the handlebars were slightly out of alignment with the frame, the brakes were assembled too loosely with too much play, the seat post quick disconnect was loose, and the gears were completely out of adjustment. The front tire was improperly installed in the fork and was leaning a bit. After 45 minutes of adjusting and test riding in the parking lot, the bike was ready! I took it home and rode along with a friend for 45 minutes or so. Her bike is a very nice name brand Hybrid with 21 speeds and she was unable to keep up during a little sprint. I might add, she is very athletic and competitive. At any rate, the bike performs well. It rides well, with great handling and braking and the comfy suspension takes out the hard bumps. I was skeptical about ONLY 7 speeds, but some thought was put into the ratios, and they are more than adequate. The Aluminum frame makes the bike very light weight and manageable. I see other reviewers complaining about failures and non-working features. This is a production item, hastily assembled and shipped. The Wal-Mart bike builder is merely an associate who takes the parts out of the box and assembles them at no extra charge. Some other stores charge a fee. The bike builder does not tune and align the bike! It's the purchaser's responsibility to fine tune the mechanics. One of the reasons bike stores charge so much more than Wal-Mart for bicycles is the time they spend setting up each and every bike. If you're incapable of setting up a bike, then please do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to have someone do it for you, or buy it from a competitor that offers this service. To set up the bike you only need a couple of metric box wrenches, a few Allen wrenches and a phillips screwdriver. This is an attractive bicycle (the paint scheme is really nice, but this is subjective) with good features and performance, and in my opinion....a great value!

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maybetomorrow
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ride Right for the Money
4/10/2011

Customer review by CaptRio

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by CaptRio
by CaptRio

The Avalon by Next Bike sold at WAL-MART a true cross-over cruiser out of the box and few upgrades your ready to go. Lets start for the money its hard to find an all aluminum bike for under 100.00 US dollars. I have seen this bike on the Virginia Beach boardwalk everywhere, some with the Electric Green paint and also the subtle silver and brown that suits my taste. Being one that likes to tinker and improve I do believe I have found the proper set of upgrades that can turn this bike in to a truly comfortable ride. If you notice my Avalon uses a different handle bar configuration, not that there was anything truly wrong with the stock bars. I just prefer the look and feel of 1920s styling on a cruiser. Lets face it most of the time you will be having your hands on the handle bars so grip what you like. One of the short falls on this bike is no braze-on’s to mount a water bottle, but this can be solved with the handle bar mounted cage. You can get one of these for around 6 bucks at most bike shops and don’t want to get dehydrated while you are enjoying your Avalon. The other contact point is the seat, I replaced mine with the Forte Seat from performance bike shop, it was on sale and provided a better shape and fit for my bottom side. The seat change was just for personal preference as well. Now lets look a the unique features of the Avalon that set this bike apart. The Avalon is all about the duel suspension frame and cruising comfort so lets take it another step. If stock duel suspension is good, Then upgraded triple suspension must be even better so that’s what I did. First the fork had to be changed, the stock Avalon fork is way to stiff and heavy. Its made from cheap stamped metal. Hey remember you only paid 98.00 dollars for this bike don’t feel bad. I used a SR Suntour M-2025 w/coil spring, 63mm travel and 1-1/8" threadless, semi-integrated, semi-cartridge bearing headset to replace the stock one. This gives the bike a smoother ride and allows for a better mount for upgraded wheels but we will get to that later on. The rear suspension spring on the Avalon is adjustable and a great design no need to fix it, remember I said triple the addition of an alloy suspension seat post gives you the smooth cruiser ride that cant be match by anything on the bike rack under 300 bucks and lightens up the bike. Wheels are everything for cycling enjoyment so the stock wheels had to go and replaced with a Formula alloy FM21 front hub, FM31 rear hub; Bontrager 550 36-hole rims w/brushed sidewalls and a set of Bontrager LT3, 26x2.0" tires. Hey there are black also and give you that bad boy look. The brake calipers do have a bit to be desired so those were replaced with a set of Tektro V-brakes used with the Avalons original levers. The worst part of the Avalon is the drive system it’s a very cheep bottom bracket system with heave components that are far from smooth. I fixed this problem by removing the rough running bottom bracket with a smooth Shimano 131, only using the 38 ring, a Shimano Cassette 11-34, 7 speed and Wellgo nylon platform pedals. Now you have a pretty nice ride going here and with the price of gas going up lets do the commuter touches like adding fenders and rear rack. I must say the chain guard that comes stock is perfect and with fenders to keep road dirt and water from striping your back your read for a day at the office. So with a few modifications two thumbs up for the Avalon by Next Bike.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptRio
Tidewater VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I'm Impressed...
1/26/2011

Customer review by Flowbuc

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Flowbuc
by Flowbuc

I'm writing this review now, after owning my avalon comfort bike for one month, and I am impressed, I have owned other bikes over the years that cost much more then my avalon but not one of those ever road as good or was as comfortable as my new bike. This 7 speed shifts easy up or down in any gear, I put an average 8 miles a day on my bike, 7 days a week, the handle bar stem adjustment and quick release seat clamp make it very easy to adjust both. The only thing I changed on my bike was the tires, only because I like a wide tire feel on the street, and I put on a noseless comfort seat, it was the tires and the seat off my old bike. I have rode this bike in the dirt and on the street and with the duel suspension it rides good on both and I'm 6' 1'' 250 pounds, If I could give it 6 or 7 stars I would, as for the people that are saying negative things about this bike, Hmmmm! I scratch my head...

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flowbuc
Antelope Valley CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent General Purpose Bike
10/29/2012

Customer review by SCVoldguy

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by SCVoldguy
by SCVoldguy

I bought one of these 6 years ago at $99, and then mounted a cargo rack with a basket on it behind the seat. This has proven to be one of the best investments I ever made. It has been a superb "SUB" (sport utility bike). I run around town almost every day, picking up stuff like groceries, supplies, clothes, mailing packages, etc. The tires and brake pads have given several thousand miles of use and still going strong. As a result of having this bike, I only have to buy 2-3 tanks of gasoline per YEAR now. The 7-speeds are more than enough for any general use, and much more trouble-free than 24-speed bikes. A++

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCVoldguy
Santa Clarita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Avalon just setup
6/23/2010

Customer review by FSUSeminole

5.0 stars 6/23/2010 by FSUSeminole
by FSUSeminole

I purchased the Avalon yesterday in the carton. I assembled it within 2 hours(rum and coke included) The hardest time I had was getting a hold of the 5mm and 6mm allen wrenches. I had to go by ACE HW and pick a set up for $5. The only real issue I had was centering the front wheel between the forks this was not due to the product but my lack of knowledge. After my short test drive I found that I set the seat to high and the handle bar too low. (I am 6' 215lbs)The derailer is off a bit, it does not change well in the higher 2 gears. I will adjust these items today after work. All I need now is a headlight and water bottle. The instructions were a little off base as others have indicated. For the novice I would recommend taking the bike to a bike shop. At this stage I would give the bike 5stars since I am very please with it so far.KOW If that changes I will write back. gonoles

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FSUSeminole
Charleston SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
What do you expect for $100
4/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I probably looked at bikes for a month before I finally gave up and pulled the trigger on this one. Initially, I wanted something a little nicer, and was prepared to spend a lot more money, but it seems like every other bike I liked was out of stock or otherwise unavailable. This bike is, honestly, a $100 bike. I love the style, it's pretty sharp. As far as bikes go, though, It's pretty OK. Assembly was fairly simple. The handle bars are kind of weird. My wife had to point out that they were on backwards, initially. I guess that explains why I thought the brake levers and gear selector were on the wrong side!!! The seat is average, not necessarily what one might expect from a 'comfort' bike, but I have sat on worse. The ride is good. Smooth. Comfortable. The brakes and shifting are quite adequate. This bike doesn't quite blow me away, but for $100, I would be surprised if you could find something better. For the casual rider who doesn't see the point in spending $200+ on a bicycle - you could do a lot worse than this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
North-Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Choice for Beginners
6/17/2010

Customer review by DealMonkey

4.0 stars 6/17/2010 by DealMonkey
by DealMonkey

I haven't ride a bike for ages, but decided to get one this year, although I went to see a Schwinn bike i saw online in store, I fell in love with the design of this bike. I was offered free assembly numerous times by Walmart employees for free. However, I chose to put it together myself. A bit tricky if you don't have the right tools. Suspension is great, design is very catchy. I love this bike over so many other ones i saw, very sturdy, and lightweight. Best part of the bike are the rear suspension, and the seat cushion. Seat is made of soft foam type material and very comfortable. Those looking for great speed may not enjoy 7 speed but for beginners it is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (78) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealMonkey
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Bike for the Buck
9/5/2010

Customer review by IceColdT

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by IceColdT
by IceColdT

I'm a very large man 6ft. 320 pounds. The pounds and lack of stamina are the reasons I bought the bike. The seat that comes with the bike seems to be okay except as with other seats of this style it did cause pain in the "in between area". I bought a noseless saddle sold by Walmart at that took care of that problem. Because of my weight the seat post would slowly move down as I rode. I had to really crank down on the clamp that holds the seat in place. Adjusting the clamp took care of that problem. The bike is very good looking. The decals on mine had some bubbles in them but that's no big deal. I can tell by looking at the chain and gear sprockets that they aren't the best quality. However, the bike only cost $108.00 with tax delivered to the store and put together. All in all I'm completely satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IceColdT
Wylie, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Perfect bike for comfortable cruising.
3/21/2011

Customer review by TheTwymans

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by TheTwymans
by TheTwymans

A highly reccomended bike. My wife and i purchased the Next Avalon cruiser bikes (mens and womens) to use for days out with our children which we also purchased the Schwinn double trailer with stroller capability. I would highly recomend these bikes and the trailer if that's what you looking for. The bikes came disasembled and putting them together was SO easy. The frame, back wheels, gears and brakes where already assembled in the factory all that was needed on both bikes was to put the front wheel on, attach the handle bars and adjust to your comfort, put the saddle on and tighten. The only tricky part was assembling the front brakes. If you have never assembled the V brakes go onto you tube and watch a demo you'll have it done in minutes. You'll need a 5mm and a 6mm allen key and also a 15mm wrench for tightening the front wheels for assembly. The ride is very comfortable with the 3 points of suspension ( front, back and under the sadle). It only comes with 7 gears but that's all you need. Gear one is easy and gear 7 provides plenty of resistance for speed. If you didn't know how much this bike cost and you took a ride on it you would think it was a high end cruising bike. It also fits perfect on bike racks also. Excellent quality, value and a very comfortable ride.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTwymans
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best bike for the money
1/25/2011

Customer review by rayfield

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by rayfield
by rayfield

I have had this bike for 5 weeks now and could not be more pleased. I had not ridden a bike for over 35 years and needed one for exercise and enjoyment. I thourghly research everything I buy and this was no different. I concluded that two bicycles from Wal Mart met my criteria, the Schwinn Link and the Next Avalon. I chose the Next Avalon because I like the looks better that the Schwinn, it had great reviews, and was $70.00 cheaper. I was not sure how long I would stay motivated and didn't want to waste a lot of money. This way I can ride it for a while and if I decide not to ride anymore I can sell it for $50.00 or more and not lose much. The Next Avalon was the perfect bike for me and if you are looking for a bike to ride around town and for exercise it will be for you too. I am going to buy my wife the ladies Avalon in a couple of more weeks. Seven gears are plenty and I might add, I purchased this bike from Wal Mart fully assembled and it was perfect, only needed to adjust the seat and handlebars which took about 2 minutes. I am really pleased with my Avalon but in all fairness would like to ride the Schwinn Link for a month and really compare the two. A lot of people have run down buying a bike from Wal Mart or the box stores, but if you are looking for just a bike to ride around town or for exercise than you need to look no further. If however you plan to ride 40, 50, or more miles a day and really get into bike riding, than by all means go to a bike store and pay the $500, $1000, or more and get a real road bike. Remember you get what you pay for, most of the time. I hope that I continue to ride and will eventually purchase a better bike from a bike shop. Even they have mechanical problems. If you are ever in a bike shop, look in the back and what do you see? A lot of expensive bikes getting repaired. In conclusion, for my purpose, this bike and Wal Mart is all I needed. Maybe it will be for you too. If not go to a bike store and spend the money. I don't mind spending money as I bought my 12 year old granddaughter a Trek for $400 which she rode maybe a dozen times. I was afraid this would happen to me, that is why I went the $100 route.

Was this review helpful? (196) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rayfield
Hill Country, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for its price
7/6/2011

Customer review by slimt74

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by slimt74
by slimt74

Bike arrived quickly and in good shape, partially built. Only had to assemble the front wheel, pedals, seat, & handlebars. Had to adjust brakes. That was it, ready to ride. Bike rides great. The handlebars have multiple adjustment points which lets you get them at any angle and position you like, which is really nice. I have scoliosis so the position of my back is important. With this bike you can adjust it for sitting straight up to ride, or set it so that you lean at an angle. The seat is also very soft and comfy. And of course there's the dual suspension which helps soak up any bumps along the way. I've ridden on pavement and rough gravel, and the bike road great. The one negative: The rear sprocket had several teeth that were slightly bent or twisted. Not enough to affect its function. I only noticed because I looked really close. I only worry that they might wear out early because of this. They could possibly be straightened, but I haven't tried yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slimt74
Selma, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NEXT AVALON
5/29/2010

Customer review by Andover

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Andover
by Andover

I bought this bike to replace my ageing schwinn.Its a smart looking bike,lightweight,yet feels rock solid underneath you.I added a few travel bags and accessories,now I dont care for my schwinn anymore.I think I will purchase the new series avalon as long as there are no bad reviews.

Was this review helpful? (109) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andover
Raeford,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/4/2010

Customer review by tiggy123

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by tiggy123
by tiggy123

Great quality for the money, 290 lbs and it handles me just fine

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiggy123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
more than I exepected
7/27/2010

Customer review by rjmohio

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by rjmohio
by rjmohio

Had the avalon for a few days, and wow what a great bike for the money, I had it shipped to my home and after reading the reviews bought some metric allen wrenches, and it was nothing to put together. watched on you tube how to do simple adjustments and off on a ride I went. I havent rode a bike in several years and when the seat , handlebars , gears are adjusted right, you will have a enjoyable experience

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rjmohio
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike!
10/13/2011

Customer review by amerind

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by amerind
by amerind

I am 83 3/4 and decided I wanted an inexpensive, easy bike to ride. This is it; it comes pre-assembled with an excellent guarantee plus bike has shocks, nice "broad" seat, wide tires, and name brand parts, and a great guarantee...you can't wrong at $99.00!! I have been riding it every day and I recommend it for all "mature" beginners as well as for Seniors who want a comfortable ride at an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amerind
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value for the money
7/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was more than pleased with this bike. I was not sure what to expect for the low price. The bike was easy to assemble - took less than 30 minutes with the correct tools (get yourself a set of metric hex wrenches). I'm 50 years old, 215 lbs and haven't ridden a bike in years. I took the bike on its maiden voyage for a 14 mile round trip ride on Long Beach Island, NJ. The 7 gears was plenty of range for the trip and the seat was reasonably comfortable. Its not a speedster but has enough gearing for the casual riding I do. (And yes, I was pretty tired after my trip)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sparta, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than thought
4/28/2011

Customer review by MissJai

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by MissJai
by MissJai

For $99 it was a great deal. Most of it came already put together in a huge box. I took to bike shop after I put together to adjust, tighten brakes and doublecheck my non-handy work for $20. I got this in the men's and women's version and our first ride was a 12 mile round trip in Queens. Pot holes terrain and all the bike withheld and did great. No problems at all. Nothing fell apart It's not light but not super heavy (we carry down flight of stairs). For the money great bike to start out or replace. Want something to last forever then spend the $700 on a real roadmaster or mountain bike. Great for street or park riding NOT Mountain trails!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissJai
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great starter comfort/fitness bike
7/2/2011

Customer review by Meestaneek

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Meestaneek
by Meestaneek

I purchased this bike to see if I could get into cycling as a fitness activity without spending a bunch of money. There is a lot of bike here for the price. I ride approximately 10 miles per day five days a week. The saddle is moderately comfortable and the handlebars can be raised enough for you to be in an upright position. The gears are entry level but are just fine for this bike. Assembly is fairly easy as long as you have the right tools and tighten everything even if tightened in the factory. This bicycle is fun to ride and I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meestaneek
Hollywood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love my bike.
10/20/2011

Customer review by ftimw

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by ftimw
by ftimw

This bike is an everyday commuter bike for me. I have added cargo bags, a bottle cage, simple computer, and lights. It is very comfortable. I get to the job with a backpack from 5 to 15 miles one way. This bike has not let me down. Of course if you are a more advanced cyclist you may want to upgrade the dérailleur. But for the money, you can't beat this bike. Walmart Customer Service was outstanding and I will be notifying the management.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ftimw
Savannah,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews