Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 239 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
13
1-20 of 208 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
Good for the $$
5/27/2011

Customer review by BakoCaliGuy

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by BakoCaliGuy
by BakoCaliGuy

The overall experience with this system is good (not great). It is designed for iPod so the sound quality coming from the speakers when listening to the radio is not as good as when listening to the iPod or CD. The CD access is a pop-up door style on top of the unit (as found on most boom boxes) so placing this system in a bookcase or area where there will be very little clearance over the top of the unit will hinder CD access. But the iPod access is in a great location (in front of the unit) and when the iPod is in place, it blocks nothing. Overall a Brand name like Sony for 88 bucks is good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BakoCaliGuy
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works perfectly - reliable; just looks 90's
6/11/2011

Customer review by Platinum914

4.0 stars 6/11/2011 by Platinum914
by Platinum914

styling could be better had to getuse to the controls but a few uses later seem like an older system reminded me of an previous model SONY I owned back in 98 as a matter of fact very similar looking just the Ipod charging station was new controls could have been more intuitive and the speakers a bit more quality sounding - sound same a s other cheaper brands but i purchased it beacuse of reliability experiencewith SONY brand I would recommended for the purpose of it and not so much for frills or its looks

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Platinum914
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value, Great Sound, Surprisingly large unit
8/6/2010

Customer review by musicgirl2010

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by musicgirl2010
by musicgirl2010

Purchasd this as a replacement unit for another brand that was dropped and broken. The primary use is for a room that is used as an in home "office/den" where I do my online course work. The price was excellent, the manufacturer very reputable and knownt to produce quality products. The sound does not disappoint. Have to be careful how high I turn the volume because the speakers are so good it becomes loud very quickly. So far no odd noises, just music. I listen to mostly CD's and some radio Normal radio station has a strong signal in my area so it was a little surprising that I could not get it until I connected the antenna but once I plugged in the antenna it was wonderful. no static, very clear sound. Just placed the antenna on top of a speaker and it is fine. Unit is marketed as a mini hi fi but is surprisingly large -- had difficulty finding a place to put it. You need clearance about and behind for the fan unit and the CD's load from the top so putting it on a shelf within a cabinet may not work. The large size is why meets expectations is only 4 stars -- I had hoped for something smaller.In every other respect this is a terrific unit. Would recommend very highly

Was this review helpful? (153) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musicgirl2010
Cranford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!!
1/30/2011

Customer review by AwesomestPossumest

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by AwesomestPossumest
by AwesomestPossumest

I bought this stereo after returning a substandard stereo that did not work properly. I chose this stereo because it looked nice and carried the Sony name, and actually paid half the price for this stereo as the previous one. This stereo is used by the entire family and we love it!!! My kids appreciate that fact that the remote can be used to change songs on the iPod and no contact with the iPod is necessary. It looks great and the sound quality is fantastic. Before purchase, I read some of the other reviews and some people mention that the bass is too loud. I don't think so. I imagine if you cranked the volume on any stereo the bass would be overpowering and the speakers might shake themselves off the shelf. I highly recommend this product!!!!

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AwesomestPossumest
Escanaba, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
11/27/2010

Customer review by shoppingprettyusps

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by shoppingprettyusps
by shoppingprettyusps

I purchased this stereo for my son due to him needing one that he could plug his iPod Touch into. This system is pretty loud & we can hear it downstairs & we're always telling him to "turn it down." When we purchased this one, we got it at our local Wal-Mart for $100.00. Since then my God-daughter has asked for one for Christmas, so I purchased her one online & for $88.00 & free shipping to our home makes the deal even better. If you buy this system you won't be disappointed! Sony has done it again!

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppingprettyusps
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceptional product
12/11/2010

Customer review by oneworld53

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by oneworld53
by oneworld53

For this price, you cannot anticipate the high quality product you will receive. I have had this for several months now and still love it and have not had a single problem with it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneworld53
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/28/2011

Customer review by indyNana411

4.0 stars 5/28/2011 by indyNana411
by indyNana411

Was looking for small system with big sound. 100w delivers. Great value. One con: system has very strong bass. There is some adjustment with the equalizer presets that help. Would prefer manual equalizer but can't find that in a system in this price range. Overall really like the product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indyNana411
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Awesome
2/13/2011

Customer review by Tranly

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by Tranly
by Tranly

This is a great value and worth the $100 i paid for it. I don't regret paying for it at all. I do love this and turn it on everyday when i get home. The sound quality is clear with it's high quality treble and clean, crisp bass. The treble does seem to be louder than the bass but i think the bass just needs to "warm up" til it's get loud. It handles all the types of music I listen to:Techno, Dubstep, Rock, Rap, Hip Hop, Jazz, Classical. The radio has a great signal and practically no static. I do really want some sort of bar visualizer though but everything else is fine with me. I just have to have high quality stuff for my music and this does the music just fine. Don't let this small stereo make you think that the sound won't be heard. The music fills my room and the bass and the treble seem to be just fine. I haven't tried to see how high it will go before the bass gets dirty, but from what I've heard, it sounds great. Worth it definitely and i Recommend this.

Tranly
Fernandina Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/6/2010

Customer review by eleebi

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by eleebi
by eleebi

good quality, high expectations.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eleebi
Woodland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product for the cost
6/9/2011

Customer review by SportPhoto

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by SportPhoto
by SportPhoto

After searching for a small iPod docking system, and one that allows complete control of my iPod along with decent quality sound and a remote control...I finally found it. This Sony model is a superb unit offering EXCELLENT sound! I could not locate an equivalent unit that provided anything near 100w at this cost and I cannot adequately express how great this system sounds. It should serve you very well for practically any type music and it sounds fantastic LOUD. My only complaint is that it is not very portable. I had originally looked for a boom box type unit, but nothing compared to this product in terms of sound quality, options, and cost. Knowing that this was a "Shelf System" before I purchased, I knew it wasn't something easily carried out to the deck or into the garage. That said, I can still easily carry everything in the orig. box wherever I wish without much hassle. I would highly recommend this system to those that are not easily pleased and those that want maximum quality at a very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SportPhoto
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great And Meets Expectations!
7/15/2010

Customer review by Smak304

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Smak304
by Smak304

This product is great, worth all the money I paid for and some more! I absolutley LOVE this product!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smak304
Scott Depot,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NO AUX INPUT
6/10/2010

Customer review by beatrocka

1.0 stars 6/10/2010 by beatrocka
by beatrocka

It says you can connect your off brand MP3 player, or PC. This is not true, there is no AUX input! Only made for apple. What a waste of time!

Was this review helpful? (108) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beatrocka
Would recommend to a friend? No
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
8/26/2010

Customer review by LADYC21

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by LADYC21
by LADYC21

VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE, VOLUME WAS VERY LOUD. WORTH EVERY DIME.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LADYC21
CHGO IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Audio Input
3/3/2011

Customer review by Thump

3.0 stars 3/3/2011 by Thump
by Thump

Incorrect Specifications saying: "Audio-in for use with MP3 player, PC, and more" There is no audion in, wasted a few hours trying to find out why it wouldn't work with one of our netbooks. It also says it has it in the downloadable manual (number 15). Doesn't advertise audio in on the box. Nothing but the headphone which is there.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thump
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
More info
2/19/2012

Customer review by 12Star

4.0 stars 2/19/2012 by 12Star
by 12Star

System is great for the money.. However, it would've been nice to know that it doesn't include the iPod dock adapter with the system. If I'd have known, I could've purchased the piece when purchasing the stereo. Now I have to wait to use it until I get the adapter. Crummy that it isn't included.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12Star
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong sound bass, weak dock base
5/4/2011

Customer review by WiggleandGrow

3.0 stars 5/4/2011 by WiggleandGrow
by WiggleandGrow

The dock for the MP3 connection is cool because it sort of molds out and can be clicked back when not in use. However, when connecting my iphone, it just seemed very flimsy and it makes me nervous to connect a device that cost 4x the amount of the sound system to a flimsy stand. It's supposed to lock into place with a slide but slid either way, I do not always get the device to actually connect. It may be because it's in the otterbox silica cover but I don't intend to take it out. Connecting using a cord may have been the way to go for me. However, the sound on the system is great for the price and the bass is loud and full.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WiggleandGrow
Gaithersburg, maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
people need to pay attention
3/9/2011

Customer review by HateTobethatguy

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by HateTobethatguy
by HateTobethatguy

sorry but i have to be that guy. if you read the specs and look at CONNECTIONS it does NOT say you can connect an MP3 player it has an ipod dock and headphone connection that's all. There is such a thing as an MP3 disk which is the same as a cd only you can fit alot more songs onto one disk. And this stereo will play those types of disks. I myself love this stereo bought it as a throw away knowing at work the cd player will stop working after a few months due to dust had it 2 months now and no problems yet.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HateTobethatguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of Features
7/13/2010

Customer review by R365

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by R365
by R365

This unit is a replacement for use in my garage. I was interested in this unit mainly for ipod (iphone) use and the fact that all controls are on the remote control. Being able to seperate the speakers and place the on both ends of the garage reallys adds to the sound quality (after adding a little more wire to the speakers). Great system!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R365
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Should've listened
12/21/2010

Customer review by reko

1.0 stars 12/21/2010 by reko
by reko

I read the other reviews on this product and bought it primarily due to the overall ratings. However, a few reviews mentioned poor reception and excessive bass response. To say these were issues is an understatement. I could not receive stations where I could see the stations towers, and when I played a cd the bass had far too much gain with no means of adjusting it. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reko
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great first stereo for tweens!
3/1/2011

Customer review by TJCatte

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by TJCatte
by TJCatte

This is a super 'accessory' for the Christmas IPods - and was a perfect birthday present for our 15 year old. Her sister wants a duplicate for her birthday this summer! It was VERY easy to unpack and set up. Without looking at the directions, I think it took about 5 minutes including opening the packing tape on the box! Despite what the box says, Generation 4 IPod touch fits perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJCatte
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews