Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 61 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
It's been through the limits and still working.
9/23/2010

Customer review by Dustol

4.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Dustol
by Dustol

The best things about this light set is easy change out of batteries. No screw driver needed. That is real good if you need to change out at night before you get back home. The only thing I had to do with this set. When installing the back light. I found the click in connection did not feel strong enough if going over dumps. So I used some crazy glue then clicked it back in. I had to ride 20 miles in high wind and rain one day. It was getting dark when getting home. The lights held up just fine. I felt real safe and the LEDS kept me noticed and was able to see the road in the dark with rain and wind. Worth the money. Always keep extra batteries with you when you ride. You never know.

Was this review helpful? (112) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dustol
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product, Missing one thing
10/13/2010

Customer review by justsomename

4.0 stars 10/13/2010 by justsomename
by justsomename

Everything about this product is pretty much as I expected. It is a quality product with a fair price. The flashlight is great, great bracket assembly ect. The tail light is what I was a bit disappointed in. I was expecting it to have screw holes to simply replace an existing reflector, but it didnt. It has an elaborate clip system, which makes sense, but it only clips to the provided new post clamp. I ended up getting some aluminum bar stock and built my own bracket assembly to attach to my back carrier rack. It turned out really nice, it just would have been even better if it had screw holes already for attaching. Outside of that, its a great deal, came with batteries and everything.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justsomename
Farmington Hills MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worst lights I have ever owned!
10/14/2011

Customer review by xcracer2008

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by xcracer2008
by xcracer2008

I'm a bike mechanic and avid cyclist and have 7 years of knowledge/experience. The local bike shop had nothing in terms of quality lights and my old CAT EYE lights had seen better days. I needed a new set of lights and chose these Zefal lights since the brand is sold in bike shops. The headlight looked nice, the body was made of aluminum which seemed nice at first. The lights both worked well for about a week. Then the front light would rattle if I rode on anything but the smoothest pavement. It was the battery holder inside; a plastic piece that holds the batteries and it vibrates inside the metal body making this annoying noise. A week later the light beam began flickering on & off and the noise was louder. I returned the lights to WALMART and was given an exchange. I didn't want the same set but just took them anyways as I ride each night and NEEDED lights no matter what. Within a week the headlight began flickering and making the same noise. The threads on the housing are course and it does not open easily to replace batteries or to service as in my case. The clamp which holds the light to the handlebar is one of the worst styles I have used. It has a weird knob on the side that is turned down to hold the light in place and then that piece snaps to the main clamp. It doesn't work very well, the light comes loose and the knob leaves marks on the light body. This piece "snaps" on the handlebar clamp, but the release lever is right at the back where the ON/OFF button is. When you go to turn on the light you constantly hit the realease lever and it goes flying off and hits the ground. Now the metal body is dented! I was able to get a refund and I ended up purchasing 2 basic BELL brand LED lights. They were in seperate packages and were about $10 each. Much better, brighter and reliable!!! I know my review is long, but in all my years working on and riding bikes I have never encountered such a poorly designed and performing product!

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xcracer2008
Lake Geneva, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not too bad
2/13/2011

Customer review by TYDY

4.0 stars 2/13/2011 by TYDY
by TYDY

It's not the light set I wanted, but couldn't afford the "nice" ones the LBS sells. Bought a pair of these from WM. 5 long night rides & very happy. Won't light your way down a dark country road, but WILL make sure cars can see you. I set them both to the strobe effect (3rd setting) & extremely visible. Until I can afford the $65 sets, this is great!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TYDY
SW FLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Unimpressed
3/13/2011

Customer review by huskers555

2.0 stars 3/13/2011 by huskers555
by huskers555

Not a very high powered front light. The rear light is adequate. On a positive note it was easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskers555
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
7/1/2011

Customer review by ctlitch

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by ctlitch
by ctlitch

This is an excellent bike light. Make sure you buy it online because it's cheaper than the stores.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ctlitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked nicely 'til it got glitchy few months later
7/9/2010

Customer review by TSEliot

2.0 stars 7/9/2010 by TSEliot
by TSEliot

This light worked nicely until it started getting glitchy a few months after I bought it. Now, the headlight turns off by itself after about a minute. It's not a battery problem as I have replaced the batteries with new ones; I believe it's because the connection inside is loose inside the housing and so when the connection is lost, the light goes off. If I turn it back on again, it comes back on usually. Sometimes not though and I would have to remove the batteries and reinsert them to get it turn on again. Not worth the hassle. I think I'm switching to a small one-piece light without as many moving parts (like those made by Knog). But when it did work, I was satisfied. The light from the headlight is more to be seen than to see, but if it's totally dark, it does illuminate the ground in front of you. Initially, the front mount securely fastened the light to my handlebar but after the winter passed when I took my bike out again, it is not as secure now and the headlight now makes a slight rattling noise as I ride. I'm not sure what happened, and I've tried to readjust it but cannot get it as secure as before. I've had no problems with the rear light and that works fine. Both front and rear lights have 3 settings: steady, blinking, and even quicker blinking. It uses 3 AAA batteries, which are included.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TSEliot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Great and good for safety
9/27/2011

Customer review by alabama52

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by alabama52
by alabama52

I love the 3 function headlight, the strobe light is great so you will be seen in daylight. tail light works great. I feel much safer rideing with these. Batteries last a long time too. Great product. Price is right too. under 20 dollars

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alabama52
CULLMAN , ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best light set i've found for price.
4/7/2012

Customer review by GHSooner

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by GHSooner
by GHSooner

I bought this a year ago roughly. I like all the settings you can choose from as to how you want it to flash. The headlight really lights up the road in from of you and that will also flash if you like on a few different settings. I really like it, easy to install, and I've had other lights that broke easily. You won't be disappointed with this light set.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GHSooner
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tail light is ok
10/17/2011

Customer review by taylo

1.0 stars 10/17/2011 by taylo
by taylo

I purchased this in August 2011. There seems to be a defect in the button for the headlight. When I hit a bump the light will flicker. Then sometimes it goes out completely. I have emailed the Zefal web site twice asking what I should do. I have had no respnse from them. I will not purchase this product again

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taylo
Ms. Coast
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love these light sets
10/21/2011

Customer review by revcole

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by revcole
by revcole

I originally bought one for a friends birthday. On our first night ride I was impressed. The light options are perfect. Front light on steady beam is bright enough for riding even on the darkest nights. The blinking & strobe options are great for battery conservation & safety. You can easily remove the front light to use as a flashlight which is really cool. I ride mostly vintage cruisers but also have a off road bike.They will mount on almost anything.I have since purchased two more of these sets for my own bikes & plan to buy more. I dig these lights. Lots of bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revcole
Carmichael, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
If you are any bit handy....
3/30/2012

Customer review by HippieFreak

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by HippieFreak
by HippieFreak

Got this for my new bike, it was the best value for the money of all the bicycle light sets that my Walmart had in stock. The lights were brighter, bigger, and the batteries were included. I love the front headlight, love that the little flashlight can easily be popped out if you need a little flashlight to find your keys, etc. Love the settings (constant on, flashing, flashing faster). I have had no problems with the flashlight staying in its holder. I love the back light, love its settings, too...just like the front headlight. These lights really make me feel alot safer when I am riding home through my very dark neighborhood at night. The first time I used them, I kept thinking there was a car behind me because the stop signs HUNDREDS of feet away were illuminating, but it was only me! Cars have no problem seeing me coming. And going. The ONLY downside is.....the clamps are really not that good, you need to rig them on to your bike. At least I did. The front headlight fit on to the handlebars just fine, but the screw that they give you comes right out! I ended up using a zip tie to hold it on, and now it holds tight. I have a basket on the back of my bike and I needed to put the back light on the basket instead of the bike itself since my basket covers up the whole back frame of the bike. And the clamps it came with just did not work with my basket, so we ended up using a bigger screw of our own to hold it on. If you are ready to make a little adjustment to the clamps of this light set, it will work great for you!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HippieFreak
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seems good value
8/18/2012

Customer review by glenncof

4.0 stars 8/18/2012 by glenncof
by glenncof

Got it yesterday for son who needs to be visible early morning, ie. safety. I like the multi-modes for visibility and battery life. Seemed best value at WM for my purpose. Appears not to be brightest available product for front but rear is certainly highly visible. Model # 5650 but same except clamp is "thumb screw", not band like above picture. Included was three piece rubber insert for front mount. This appeared to fix a previous complaint. I broke the rear closure tabs on one side but sealed lens to case with tape, needed to release both sides...not clamshell design. Screws would be my preference for durability but that would make changing batteries on the fly more difficult.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glenncof
NorCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Problem after 2 uses!
10/1/2011

Customer review by Corzak

1.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Corzak
by Corzak

I bought 2 sets, one for me and one for my wife. I really liked the way the ease of install and the way they worked but after only 2 uses the tailight I bought for my bike won't stay on. I thought it might just be the batteries but even after changing them, when I push the button it goes on, when I release the button it goes off! Wife's is still working fine! I really like the product and hope it's just I got a lemon!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corzak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Commuters Light Set
1/10/2011

Customer review by Refrita

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Refrita
by Refrita

We have just received a thick blanket of snow here in Denver and I had to commute to work pre-7AM. I used my new light set and it worked great. Snow accumulated on the housing and I was worried about this. However, I just read on the packaging that this is a waterproof item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Refrita
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this lighting package
11/13/2011

Customer review by Bomberette

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Bomberette
by Bomberette

I bought this to use on a handicapped scooter. I live in a semi-rural area without sidewalks or good pedestrian paths, I have to ride along side of roadways. I felt I needed something to help let others aware that I was present as they go speeding by. After searching the web , the availabilty of equipment and price. I settled on the Zephal light set. It seems to help a lot. I get lots of friendly waves as people go by. I had no trouble isnstalling the front light, it works well on the handle bar. The rear light I was a little bit more of a challenge, I adapted it to fit on the oxygen tank holder. I run them on the third setting which is a rapid strobe. I have not needed to change the batteries yet and have made several trips to the store which is about a mile away and have made three trips to the library which is about 2.5 miles away. I was pleased to see on one of my trips to the library to see a bike in the bike rack with what appeared to be the same light package.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bomberette
Pueblo West, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good purchase
5/10/2012

Customer review by djdembin

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by djdembin
by djdembin

Great light set. Better quality than other similar products at other stores.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djdembin
Junk low light and poor quality
1/19/2011

Customer review by 92sc300tt

1.0 stars 1/19/2011 by 92sc300tt
by 92sc300tt

Would not recommended buying this junk. I have had different kits in the same price range (under 20.00) and the amount of light put out and mounting bracket were of a much better quality. The headlight bracket for this is made of extremely flimsy plastic that doesn't allow you to get a tight enough clamp because it bends when you trying and clamp it down and doesn't provide enough leverage its junk save your moeny and go with something else

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
92sc300tt
Bethlehem,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BUY IT, it's an exceptional quality/value=safe+:)
10/9/2013

Customer review by AgentChange

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by AgentChange
by AgentChange

So I was looking for a reasonable quality setup after heading out at night a few times with minimum quality bug lights (bug lights are tiny led lights that are mounted to a tube on the bike with elastic nylon bands and kind of resemble a keychain) that were totally unacceptable. After i encountered my bug lights turing themselves off randomly i decided to upgrade. I spent a couple hours reading reviews and doing research to no avail. While at walmart I thought let me see what they have to offer and to my astonishment and suprise I found this set. Im going to buy one for each of my bikes and a back up so a total of 4. Cool features: the headlight doubles as a handy compact flashlight when removed from the quick release mount, I take it on my overnight hikes and its so bright I refer to it as my laser. The rear light also quickly dismounts with a tab retainer. I also take it hiking and turn it on when I get close to roads or populous areas where I could get hit. Each light has 3 different modes, continusly on, flash strobe and burst strobe. If you get this light and dont think its blindingly bright at night take it back and get another one because there's something wrong with it. I can't look at mine straight on during the day it's that bright. Each light has o-ring or silicon gasket seals making them virtually water proof under normal conditions. Thanks for reading to the end, you win!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AgentChange
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice light set and inexpensive
6/4/2012

Customer review by Guinness1789

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Guinness1789
by Guinness1789

Great light set gets drivers attention. Battery life if phenominal The attachment for the headlight is not easy but doable for the average tool person

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guinness1789
St Louis Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews