Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Amazing Value
7/8/2010

Customer review by drillerboy

4.0 stars 7/8/2010 by drillerboy
by drillerboy

I have done a lot of bicycling, quite a few week long rides, over thirty 100 mile days. I have owned a lot of bicycles from very cheap to very expensive. I have read the average bike is ridden a total of 75 miles from door to dump, and is made accordingly. I bought this bike for my grandson when he visits, but I took it for a ride down to the corner to see what would fall off. It felt pretty good, so I kept going, when I got done, I had gone 21 miles. Nothing fell off. For under $100, I was impressed. For three times that I would be impressed. It came fully assembled, I just adjusted the brakes a little. The seat post is a little too short for me, I am 6' 2". The seat was not very comfortable, they never are. It has an aluminum frame and weighs under 30 pounds. I am more overweight than it is.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drillerboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great features at this price
8/24/2010

Customer review by jalban1324

4.0 stars 8/24/2010 by jalban1324
by jalban1324

I chose the Hyper Vortex because, though there are many bikes at this entry price point, this is the only one I found with an aluminum frame AND 21 speeds. I had mine shipped to my home so all the issues I had can be linked to the factory (box looked good). The rear inner tube had a leak before the bike was even ridden (I could not find the cause). The rear brake was difficult to center, and upon closer inspection, I noticed one of the brake arms was slightly misshaped. I was able to bend it to match the other side. The rear derailleur was almost perfectly adjusted, but the front needed more work. I needed to reposition it to get to the largest chain ring. Positives: • Light frame. This bike weighs the same as my steel-framed, rigid fork mountain bike at 33 lbs. • 21 speed Shimano rear derailleur, Shimano twist shifters work well • Saddle actually comfortable. All others I’ve had on bikes in this price range had to be replaced immediately. • Welding of frame is on par with bike shop bikes Negatives: • Some quality issues detailed above • No mounts for water bottle cage • Frame will not allow for rear fender except the type mounted on seat post • Light weight of the frame is negated by the noticeably heavy suspension fork • Unusual bend in top tube causes the bike not to fit on my bike rack (This is also a positive for someone short like me because it lowers the stand over height.) I ride year-round and I wanted this mainly as a bad weather bike and I will be riding it through Chicago winters. Maintenance becomes a challenge in the dead of winter and I wanted a bike I wouldn’t feel guilty about neglecting during sub zero spells. The Hyper Vortex is perfect and I recommend it if you are comfortable with tuning a bike and minor repairs (especially if ordering online). If you are not one to do your own repairs, check it out at a store. Pump up the tires-make sure there are no leaks. Check the brakes to make sure nothing is bent. Spin the wheels to make sure they are true.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jalban1324
Skokie, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Less than expected
6/9/2010

Customer review by nooNameAtAll

2.0 stars 6/9/2010 by nooNameAtAll
by nooNameAtAll

The frame is too small for me. I'm 5'9" tall. I'll have to buy a long seat post to get the seat high enough. The inside of one wheel rim had a sharp edge that punctured the inner tube. The manufacturer sent a replacement tube, but it took ten days to arrive. I modified the rim to prevent another puncture.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nooNameAtAll
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cheap
7/20/2010

Customer review by smrshl

2.0 stars 7/20/2010 by smrshl
by smrshl

The bike looked very good in the store. Took it home and made sure everything was tight and adjusted properly and then took for a short ride. I cannot keep the handlebars tight. No matter what I do after about 10 minutes of riding you can feel the handlebars shifting from right to left as you ride. I've tightened them over and over and they always come loose again. Other than that it looks like a pretty well made bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smrshl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Oh no
9/3/2010

Customer review by Reviewer326

1.0 stars 9/3/2010 by Reviewer326
by Reviewer326

So I brought the bike put everything together and notice a major problem. All the gears do not work. Well one of the main reasons I brought this bike was for at 21 gears vs 18 gears. I would have just fix my old bike if I knew that. When you shift it rubs against the metal that protects the chain. I took it to the bike shop and it was nothing they could do the bike is just poorly made. Do yourself a favor and opt for a more expensive bike. It will save you the headache of having to dissemble the bike and returning it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer326
Syracuse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
bike
6/22/2010

Customer review by abeer888

3.0 stars 6/22/2010 by abeer888
by abeer888

Super fast delivery. Excellent price. Little concerned when I saw the shipping box had the front wheel hub poking thru the box and clear tape pasted over it. The front tire was fully flat while the back tire appeared half full. Its also possible that the back wheel may have a warp in it. Hoping for the best I continued with the assembly and with some more tweaking I should be OK. It is lighter then my last bike. Picking it up and placing it in the back of a pickup truck the taking it back out some 49 weeks out of year, weight was a concern.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abeer888
Traverse City Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice bike for the price
12/28/2010

Customer review by ottis247

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by ottis247
by ottis247

with the exception of one damaged piece ( which was replaced fairly easily) the bike is well made and assembly is limited to a few pieces , if you are handy only about 15 min . i would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ottis247
springfiel pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
a very helpful product
8/8/2010

Customer review by jcarrasquero34

4.0 stars 8/8/2010 by jcarrasquero34
by jcarrasquero34

great value for the price,smooth riding,excelent shimano adcesories

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcarrasquero34
miami,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good bike
9/24/2010

Customer review by bikingmike

4.0 stars 9/24/2010 by bikingmike
by bikingmike

Pros: Light weight frame, good price, Cons: Freewheel wobbles, 3 inch handle bar grip (too small), handle bar to stem is very hard to get tighten, fork is not welded straight, no bolt holes for bottle holder

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikingmike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hyper vortex bike
12/27/2010

Customer review by suziii

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by suziii
by suziii

I was disapointed to find the bike not put together as advertised. The box was ripped on both sides. When we opened it on Christmas morning we found large gouge's on both sides of the frame. I was very embarassed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suziii
martinez,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hyper Vortex bike
8/29/2010

Customer review by Nicksdad1

4.0 stars 8/29/2010 by Nicksdad1
by Nicksdad1

I bought this bike because i needed to exercise, to loose some weight.and this looked like a nice bike. It had a really good price on line ,about $10 cheaper than in the store plus free shipping, it came a day before it was supposed to,which was very good but upon examination the back rim was very badly bent so i took the bike to a neerby walmart and exchanged it for another bike of the same kind with no problem. But after rideing a few times found out it wasn't for me.(i'm 63)so my grandson will get it for Christmas. I went back to Walmart and bought a Schwinn Sidewinder and am satisfied with it,The gearing is smoother.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicksdad1
Pulaski Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good (Phenomenal for Price)
7/20/2010

Customer review by Randomicity

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Randomicity
by Randomicity

I got the bike without really checking it out, and did not realise that it did not have back suspension. So, that was my fault. Regardless, it held up very well and was very good for jumps and whatnot. However, the lack of shock absorption in the back was too annoying and after a week of use, the tire went flat. But still, it's a good bike. Fantastic for the road and pretty good for mountain biking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randomicity
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
could be, price low.
7/19/2010

Customer review by paperstacker

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by paperstacker
by paperstacker

Good: Bicycle is light. Price is low. parts are descent. Bad: no quick release for wheels. bike is low to ground, feels like bmx bike. needs long seat post. rims are not true. wobble for sure. pedals plastic. whoever assembled this thing was a bad mechanic, brake levers were under the gear shifters, the bottom bracket was not screwed in right, thread was crossed. Both tubes were punctured as soon as I pumped them up, I guess there is something sharp inside. Other then that, bike is worth it because of the low price. It looks cool too (for me anyway). Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paperstacker
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Bike
6/30/2010

Customer review by DFAW

4.0 stars 6/30/2010 by DFAW
by DFAW

I purchased this bike pre-assembled from a store. With a few adjustments the bike has been great. The only complaint that I have is the handle bars have broken loose, something I am sure some loc-tite may take care of. Looks good, easy to ride, and excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFAW
One Mile in the Air
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Ehhh
11/26/2010

Customer review by HeyKidMove

3.0 stars 11/26/2010 by HeyKidMove
by HeyKidMove

I got the bike as an alternative to taking the bus to class. I got it pre-assembled from the store, and apparently didn't look at it closely enough as the rear wheel and gear shift were bent. This caused me to not be able to shift gears, as well as causing the bike to make an obnoxious clicking sound. Took it back to the store and got money back, and ended up getting a Next Powerclimber instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeyKidMove
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good bang for the buck, CHEAP PARTS PROBLEMS!!
10/28/2010

Customer review by EddieJimBob

3.0 stars 10/28/2010 by EddieJimBob
by EddieJimBob

I bought this bike after trying the cheaper RoadMaster 26 in. Mtn. bike. The Vortex was a dramatic improvement in brake setup, gearing and frame weight / frame design. I paid $92.00 after getting a discount for some cosmetic damage to the frame graphics. So for the money I will say it is overall a great bike. However it has some SERIOUS parts issues. The day I bought it and took it home to get it ready to ride the rear tube blew out at 35lbs. of pressure. Had a hole you could drive a VW Bug through right by the stem. WalMart swapped the tube for free, I replaced it and went riding. Then the handlebars start loosening, not offroading or real mountain biking, just nice, sedate paths and trails. I tightened them as tight as possible and they loosened again anyway. I only rode about 6 miles total that day so we're talking less than an hour of real use. Then after my ride was over, the front tube decides to blow out as well right along the seam where the spoke mounts make contact with the tube on the inner rim. At least I was putting the bike in the truck and wasn't left stranded. WalMart swapped the tube again and I had to pay a local shop $6.00 to install it as I was not at home with my tools and air at my disposal. Tried to go riding again 2 days later and the handlebar problem went from bad to worse with one of the bolt threads stripping out, no riding that day or anymore until it's fixed. Now I am waiting on a new handlebar and stem assembly from the manuafacturer. If I can't get the new set to tighten and stay that way I'm going to bail out and buy a more expensive bike. IT'S A REAL SHAME FOR A GREAT BIKE LIKE THIS (FOR THE SUB $100.00 MARKET) TO BE THIS RIDICULOUSLY PLAGUED WITH SHODDY, CHEAP PARTS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EddieJimBob
Gardendale, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Scratched Bike
12/26/2010

Customer review by Walmezzie

2.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Walmezzie
by Walmezzie

The bike was shipped quickly. However, this bike arrived scratched. Therefore, I'll be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmezzie
Would recommend to a friend? No